View Full Version : That will be 8th Ron

Hibees1973
12-11-2022, 05:06 PM
Yes, another Ron thread from me.

Still anyone out there backing him?

If you do still back him, surely now it's only due to the lovely Hospitality suites he has developed. I was in them for the first time last Tuesday and yes, they are nice and plush. Mind you, I nearly choked on my lukewarm pint after watching the debacle on the park against Ross County.

Ron now has a bit of thinking time before we face The Hun after the World Cup break. Does he:

A. Hide over the next 4 weeks hoping all will be right come the next 4 fixtures (Rangers, Livingston, Celtic & Hearts) after the World Cup break when in all likelihood on the 50th anniversary of our glorious 7-0 victory we will be in the bottom 2.

B. Sack Johnson, get his wee laddie and Kensall to appoint another muppet and waffle on that recruitment is fabulous.

C. F off back to America, with his son, put the club up for sale and hope we limp through the rest of the season and not get relegated.

I'll go for C.

12-11-2022, 05:13 PM

If you do still back him, surely now it's only due to the lovely Hospitality suites he has developed. I was in them for the first time last Tuesday and yes, they are nice and plush. Mind you, I nearly choked on my lukewarm pint after watching the debacle on the park against Ross County.

Ron now has a bit of thinking time before we face The Hun after the World Cup break. Does he:

A. Hide over the next 4 weeks hoping all will be right come the next 4 fixtures (Rangers, Livingston, Celtic & Hearts) after the World Cup break when in all likelihood on the 50th anniversary of our glorious 7-0 victory we will be in the bottom 2.

B. Sack Johnson, get his wee laddie and Kensall to appoint another muppet and waffle on that recruitment is fabulous.

C. F off back to America, with his son, put the club up for sale and hope we limp through the rest of the season and not get relegated.

I'll go for C.

C would be a revelation but only wishful thinking.

Hibiza
12-11-2022, 05:14 PM

I'll go for C.

C

HibeeHibernia
12-11-2022, 05:18 PM

I'll go for C.

it is mental to think we have lost that many games, sitting 8th and we are still well in the mix for 3rd, we maybe pish but so is everyone else bar celtic

12-11-2022, 06:00 PM
it is mental to think we have lost that many games, sitting 8th and we are still well in the mix for 3rd, we maybe pish but so is everyone else bar celtic

Yep. Everyone is pi*h this season so far. Look at Hearts, as bad as we've been they are 1 point ahead of us, and that point came today with 10 seconds left scrapping a point at home to Livingston. Our recent form is what's killing us and absolutely horrific. However the last 11 league games Hearts have won 3.... we've won 5. It just shows you let's not let them and anyone else kid anyone on, everyone's been utter crap this season, not just us.

Now of course, we need to get our own house in order first. As has been pointed out, we're literally only a few points off 3rd, I'm not in complete panic mode yet, however the last 2 games have certainly upped the worry.

Our next 4 fixtures literally couldn't be any harder either.... although we've faired better against the likes of Rangers, Hearts and Aberdeen than we have Ross County Kilmarnock and Dundee United 🤦*♂️

HibeeHibernia
12-11-2022, 06:13 PM
Yep. Everyone is pi*h this season so far. Look at Hearts, as bad as we've been they are 1 point ahead of us, and that point came today with 10 seconds left scrapping a point at home to Livingston. Our recent form is what's killing us and absolutely horrific. However the last 11 league games Hearts have won 3.... we've won 5. It just shows you let's not let them and anyone else kid anyone on, everyone's been utter crap this season, not just us.

Now of course, we need to get our own house in order first. As has been pointed out, we're literally only a few points off 3rd, I'm not in complete panic mode yet, however the last 2 games have certainly upped the worry.

Our next 4 fixtures literally couldn't be any harder either.... although we've faired better against the likes of Rangers, Hearts and Aberdeen than we have Ross County Kilmarnock and Dundee United 🤦*♂️

:top marks- the fact there is only a couple of points between 3rd and 10th tells you all you need to know mate what i dont understand is why we can't outcompete teams that are so smaller than us! aye am never worried about the games against the big clubs mate its the small clubs i worry about as we are forced to impose our game onto them and those teams know if they just sit in and nick a goal they'll 9 times out of 10 win thats what has been our undoing recently that and some pretty dreadful var decisions, that one today was an absolute disgrace how they thought that was offside i will never know mate

12-11-2022, 06:18 PM
Let’s hope the 5 week break gets everyone fit and we’re raring to go.

6 defeats out of 7 is pathetic but I really don’t want another manager to be sacked and to start again.

The league is tight and everyone looks capable of losing to anyone.

Hopefully Nisbet, Boyle, McGeady, McKirdy, JDH, Mitchell and Magennis all being fit after the break massively improves us.

When you look at those players it’s not much wonder we struggle to score, they’re all our biggest threats and most likely starters for us, if not one of the first subs on

HibeeHibernia
12-11-2022, 06:20 PM
Let’s hope the 5 week break gets everyone fit and we’re raring to go.

6 defeats out of 7 is pathetic but I really don’t want another manager to be sacked and to start again.

The league is tight and everyone looks capable of losing to anyone.

Hopefully Nisbet, Boyle, McGeady, McKirdy, JDH, Mitchell and Magennis all being fit after the break massively improves us.

When you look at those players it’s not much wonder we struggle to score, they’re all our biggest threats and most likely starters for us, if not one of the first subs on

mon the cabbage pal :flag:

12-11-2022, 06:31 PM

Our next 4 fixtures literally couldn't be any harder either.... although we've faired better against the likes of Rangers, Hearts and Aberdeen than we have Ross County Kilmarnock and Dundee United ��*♂️

I think with Hearts, to be fair to them have been playing european football where as we couldn't even get out our League cup group, Hearts will get more consistant now they are out of europe. Their game against Celtic show they have heart and desire that we can only dream of.

I don't think they are as good as some folk make them out to be though.

Trinity Hibee
12-11-2022, 06:37 PM

I'll go for C.

It would be very Hibs to lose 7-0 in the derby on the 50th anniversary wouldn’t it?

To think Ron had a vision of us being a Sevilla type club, consistently challenging in Europe. Laughable the way things are going. He needs to go now

12-11-2022, 06:39 PM
I think with Hearts, to be fair to them have been playing european football where as we couldn't even get out our League cup group, Hearts will get more consistant now they are out of europe. Their game against Celtic show they have heart and desire that we can only dream of.

I don't think they are as good as some folk make them out to be though.

What the Jambos also have in their favour, as well as a game in hand, is they have already played both Celtic and Rangers in this 2nd round of fixtures, we have still to play both.

There are currently 10 points between 3rd and 10th/11th if Aberdeen beat Dundee Utd and we're slap bang in the middle. Unfortunately, we are also bottom of the form guide so with those tough games coming up after the breakm form would suggest the gap between Hibs and 3rd will likely get bigger whilst the gap between Hibs and 11th will get smaller.

HibeeHibernia
12-11-2022, 07:03 PM
It would be very Hibs to lose 7-0 in the derby on the 50th anniversary wouldn’t it?

To think Ron had a vision of us being a Sevilla type club, consistently challenging in Europe. Laughable the way things are going. He needs to go now

it would be very hibs if that happened but it also would be very hibs to turn up at that dive and pump them 7-0 it is a shame however it's not the hibs of 1973 turning up because even those guys in their mid 70s today have more fight and desire than half of the imposters currently in our squad.

12-11-2022, 07:05 PM

Yeh like that is going to happen

Trinity Hibee
12-11-2022, 07:07 PM
Yeh like that is going to happen

I don’t think it but we could get a right doing them way things are going. We don’t have the fight for a derby

12-11-2022, 07:08 PM
I don’t think it but we could get a right doing them way things are going. We don’t have the fight for a derby

Of course we do. Hearts are bang average. We will get better.

12-11-2022, 07:11 PM

Fingers crossed, but that looks decidedly doubtful just now.

12-11-2022, 07:15 PM

I think we'll probably lose but Hearts aren't capable of beating any side in this league 7-0.

Mikey_1875
12-11-2022, 07:20 PM
I don’t think Ron has many options apart from improving our recruitment. If we sack Lee then the fans will be coming for him. If he sticks and the poor form continues then the fans will still be coming for him as well.

Realistically I don’t think he will sell the club or sack Ian. So he will need to find a way to improve the quality of players that the manager has available. Whether that’s more money, a radical improvement in the current recruitment team or hiring a de-facto sporting director with the fancy title still held by IG.

12-11-2022, 07:22 PM

F uuuuuu ccccc kkk off pal.

Trinity Hibee
12-11-2022, 07:24 PM
F uuuuuu ccccc kkk off pal.

Brilliant

12-11-2022, 07:58 PM

To think Ron had a vision of us being a Sevilla type club, consistently challenging in Europe. Laughable the way things are going. He needs to go nowSevilla go into the World Cup break in one of the relegation places and relegated to the Europa League from CL .Their much lauded technical director Monchi who was responsible for many of the signings which led to their fantastic last decade has come under more fire than their recently departed manager ( Lopetegui about to start at Wolves ) . Time will tell how this season ends . I`d guess they won`t be relegated but won`t qualify for Europe for the first time in a decade or so (I`m guessing here ) but it wouldn`t surprise me if they end up in a relegation dog fight either . Sevilla , like their neighbours Betis , Valencia , Atletico Madrid and a couple of other big Spanish clubs hope to challenge big two ( RM and Barcelona )
but have all been relegated fairly recently . These clubs are the equivalent of us , Hearts and Aberdeen in Scotland - big stadiums and supports but find it very hard to show they are stronger than supposedly smaller clubs . Will be the same in other countries . Ron Gordon picked Sevilla because they`ve had great success this century despite not having a huge support by standards of biggest Spanish or European clubs but can also have years of failure .

HibeeHibernia
12-11-2022, 08:25 PM
I don’t think Ron has many options apart from improving our recruitment. If we sack Lee then the fans will be coming for him. If he sticks and the poor form continues then the fans will still be coming for him as well.

Realistically I don’t think he will sell the club or sack Ian. So he will need to find a way to improve the quality of players that the manager has available. Whether that’s more money, a radical improvement in the current recruitment team or hiring a de-facto sporting director with the fancy title still held by IG.

Ron only gets the fans on side with him if the laddie goes but as you say there is no way he'll do it and that will probably be his downfall mate.

Paulie Walnuts
13-11-2022, 06:15 AM

Will we?

We seem to be getting worse and worse so I’m not sure how you can definitively say we’ll get better.

SON OF PADDY
13-11-2022, 11:03 AM

Sensible reply, Mon the Hibs !