View Full Version : Time to act

12-11-2022, 04:02 PM
Ron Gordon has to go, now. He’s the problem, he’s the recruiter of managers, he’s the person responsible for the recruitment team, buck stops at him.

He’s killing our beloved football club, hasn’t the football acumen required, caused a complete disconnect and created division. He’s assembled a second hand dealer type senior management team who are more concerned with sponsors than creating a really competitive football team.

We need to act now, he needs to go and we need to put constructive pressure on him to sell.

Until he goes, I’m out. When are folk going to wake up to the fact he is the overriding problem at our club.

BegbieHSC
12-11-2022, 04:06 PM
Ron is putting money in unlike previous owners. He isn’t the problem.

Those who he employs however are the ones causing us to be where we are. His son and Kensell are out their depth beyond belief and need emptied.

What we need is a sporting director more than anything else

12-11-2022, 04:06 PM
Were you "in" under Farmer ?

12-11-2022, 04:11 PM

Those who he employs however are the ones causing us to be where we are. His son and Kensell are out their depth beyond belief and need emptied.

If Ron was just a fountain of money with his name on the door, then fair enough, but he’s not. He makes full use of his executive powers, Ian and Kensell being out of their depth is every bit to do with Ron. He put them there. He makes the call on managerial appointments and sackings. He’s influenced the whole structure of the club. The senior leadership of the football department looks the way it does because of Ron’s decision making.

The staff turnover since Ron took control is a massive red flag. We can’t pretend he’s not a significant factor in this.

12-11-2022, 04:19 PM

Every season since he took over 👍

Ron Gordon is turning us into a laughing stock with his inept, rash, and thoughtless decision making.

It’s absolutely fine for others to disagree and of course put forward constructive arguments for a DoF (which I agree with btw)- but they’ll work under Ron, and he’s only in this for his pound/dollar - too many decisions behind the scenes convince me of this.

Bet he’ll be liking the word ‘persevere’ when he wants fans to persevere spending good hard earned watching this assembled dross.

12-11-2022, 04:21 PM
Bet he’ll be liking the word ‘persevere’ when he wants fans to persevere spending good hard earned watching this assembled dross.

*Mic drop*

Paulie Walnuts
12-11-2022, 04:36 PM

The same Farmer we won 3 trophies under? The same Farmer we watched the likes of Franck Sauzee, Russel Latapy, Derek Riordan, Scott Brown, John McGinn etc under?

We sure as hell won’t be doing that under Ron Gordon.

12-11-2022, 04:37 PM
Have we got any midfielders who know how to pass it forward?
Lump, long throw lump, long throw lump, long throw. The fact that’s our most creative assets it’s a shambles
We don’t have a midfielder who can drive us forward and create anything.
Been a huge recruitment issue for years. The GORDON’S have to take blame for this shambles

12-11-2022, 04:39 PM
Get a DoF/head of football operations whatever it’s called in the door. Look what it done to hearts when Savage was appointed.

Can transform a club.

There’s no-one behind the scenes at hibs just now who has a clue how to run that side of the club

12-11-2022, 04:44 PM
Get a DoF/head of football operations whatever it’s called in the door. Look what it done to hearts when Savage was appointed.

Can transform a club.

There’s no-one behind the scenes at hibs just now who has a clue how to run that side of the club

The first thing Savage did was to bring in Lancefield (Kensal would have known him from Norwich and he was previously at Brighton) to run the analysis department. They also ditched the Chief Scout / Trusted Agent nonsense so beloved of LeVain.

12-11-2022, 04:46 PM
The same Farmer we won 3 trophies under? The same Farmer we watched the likes of Franck Sauzee, Russel Latapy, Derek Riordan, Scott Brown, John McGinn etc under?

I wasn't having a dig at Farmer.
I mistakenly thought the op was "out" under Farmer too.

Apologies to the OP.

Rick Rude
12-11-2022, 04:51 PM
Sell to who? 😂 The club was essentially for sale to anyone willing for the best part of 30 years and no one was forthcoming.

12-11-2022, 04:52 PM
I wasn't having a dig at Farmer.
I mistakenly thought the op was "out" under Farmer too.

Apologies to the OP.

No apology required buddy, all good 👍 it’s all opinions and yours is as valid as mine 👍

I’ve never hidden my thoughts on Ron, and I’m personally fed up hearing about how good off field is - I want a good team to watch and we’re not going to get that with Ron’s wee experiment and his lack of knowledge and football acumen.

12-11-2022, 04:52 PM
If Ron was just a fountain of money with his name on the door, then fair enough, but he’s not. He makes full use of his executive powers, Ian and Kensell being out of their depth is every bit to do with Ron. He put them there. He makes the call on managerial appointments and sackings. He’s influenced the whole structure of the club. The senior leadership of the football department looks the way it does because of Ron’s decision making.

The staff turnover since Ron took control is a massive red flag. We can’t pretend he’s not a significant factor in this.

Have to agree. For all he was Tom Farmer never even pretended to be involved in football matters, even in the times when many of us thought maybe he should, he had absolute faith in Petrie and left him to it.

Ron Gordon is a totally different kettle of fish. He influences every aspect of the club when it comes to hiring and firing staff whose decisions dictate every football matter, from sourcing players to hiring the manager and in that regard when these folk fail then it's also his failure. No matter what his justification of it nepotism is never a good look, when that nepotism is part of failure it looks even worse.

The big question surrounding our owner at this stage is does he have the ability to recognise when he is getting it wrong and the the ability to put his ego to one side and fix it by binning folk he appointed, including his bairn.

zitelli62
12-11-2022, 04:53 PM

I honestly don't think we would have a club today if it was not for farmer, I also think Ron gordon is great for the club he's just got the wrong people in the wrong jobs.

12-11-2022, 04:53 PM

What we need is a sporting director more than anything elseI agree with this, a good root and branch review of every one between Ron and Lee is required and very few should remain.

HibeeHibernia
12-11-2022, 04:54 PM
Ron Gordon has to go, now. He’s the problem, he’s the recruiter of managers, he’s the person responsible for the recruitment team, buck stops at him.

He’s killing our beloved football club, hasn’t the football acumen required, caused a complete disconnect and created division. He’s assembled a second hand dealer type senior management team who are more concerned with sponsors than creating a really competitive football team.

We need to act now, he needs to go and we need to put constructive pressure on him to sell.

Until he goes, I’m out. When are folk going to wake up to the fact he is the overriding problem at our club.

it's hard to disagree with any of that the man is a clown.

12-11-2022, 04:54 PM
Sell to who? 😂 The club was essentially for sale to anyone willing for the best part of 30 years and no one was forthcoming.

That’s 100% untrue on every level and if you believe that you’ve been totally misinformed 👍

12-11-2022, 04:56 PM
I go every week home and away but at present I'm not buying a ticket for the game at Ibrox on 15th Dec because I'm so scunnered right now. Will be the first game I've missed in years.

Rick Rude
12-11-2022, 05:01 PM
That’s 100% untrue on every level and if you believe that you’ve been totally misinformed 👍

Well by all means set me right. Who were the multimillionaires that Farmer was turning down? Only one I remember was that Kennedy boy.

Hibiza
12-11-2022, 05:03 PM
Have we got any midfielders who know how to pass it forward?
Lump, long throw lump, long throw lump, long throw. The fact that’s our most creative assets it’s a shambles
We don’t have a midfielder who can drive us forward and create anything.
Been a huge recruitment issue for years. The GORDON’S have to take blame for this shambles
Been like that for at least the last 2-3 seasons ,midfield is a joke
. One game in a while from any of them then that's it. Just crap.

12-11-2022, 05:05 PM

Nah, it's definitely the fans fault. We're all bed wetters who hate the club. According to some on here at least.

Victor
12-11-2022, 05:05 PM
We are just going through a bad spell. I am sure it will all turn out fine! At the end of the season we can all look back and laugh about how we wanted another manager sacked. ( I was going to put an emoji at the end of this, but cannot find anything suitable. Maybe this [emoji33])

Tully
12-11-2022, 05:08 PM
How can anyone stick up for ron Gordon he is turning our club into a laughing stock, no doubt he'll stick his head above the parapet to sucker all the believers that we're going in the right direction

12-11-2022, 05:08 PM
Well by all means set me right. Who were the multimillionaires that Farmer was turning down? Only one I remember was that Kennedy boy.

Sir Tom always held the position that unless someone came forward with the right motive and proposition- not necessarily the best offer - he’d consider it. He was in no rush to sell us nor did he want to. It’s only because I know the family of one of the current Board (long serving) that I know approaches were made at various times under his ownership and he rebuffed them.

I also think his health and family were a major contributory factor in selling to Ron.

12-11-2022, 05:13 PM
it's hard to disagree with any of that the man is a clown.

What made you come back with a different user name?

12-11-2022, 05:14 PM

What money is Gordon putting in?
Genuine question.

12-11-2022, 05:21 PM
What money is Gordon putting in?
Genuine question.

He didn’t want to invest properly in a new pitch I know that 👍

Has he ever been asked how much it took to pay off Jack and Shaun and their backroom teams ? My understanding is we pay up to 6 months salaries for managers replaced (minimum).

12-11-2022, 05:29 PM
He didn’t want to invest properly in a new pitch I know that 👍

Has he ever been asked how much it took to pay off Jack and Shaun and their backroom teams ? My understanding is we pay up to 6 months salaries for managers replaced (minimum).

Yes, WE PAY, the Club, after his initial investment to buy the club, then dilute the shareholding (devaluing the rest of the shareholding), I'd like to know how much (if any) of his personal funds are being put into the club on an ongoing basis.

12-11-2022, 05:32 PM

Have been in two finals under him

12-11-2022, 05:36 PM
Have been in two finals under him

Jim we’ve been in a fair few under numerous managers - Ron is a huge huge problem and until others see it, we’ll sink.

It’s as much off the field as on that’s my major concern. And you know me over my posts how much I love this club - I wouldn’t be saying it lightly or with any glee either mate.

hibsforeurope
12-11-2022, 08:54 PM
Yes, WE PAY, the Club, after his initial investment to buy the club, then dilute the shareholding (devaluing the rest of the shareholding), I'd like to know how much (if any) of his personal funds are being put into the club on an ongoing basis.

Director/owner investment ( can’t remember official phrasing) was less than hsl contributions in last accounts. His financial input has been minimal to none since the takeover, if that was even his own personal money.

12-11-2022, 09:11 PM

Can transform a club.

There’s no-one behind the scenes at hibs just now who has a clue how to run that side of the clubWhat has it done to Hearts ? 1 point more than us , also out the League Cup , outclassed in Europe except against a team which scraped past Linfield . How much are Savage and his assistants being paid ? Noone at the club ? Have you looked at Steve Kean`s CV for example ?

PolmontHibby
12-11-2022, 09:21 PM

The answer to that based on financial statements published is Ron Gordon has put in virtually nothing since the orignal asset purchae (a small amount probably related to some US related savings on Mueller deal I believe in latest accounts). Though I have no issue with this.

I expect we shall see loans provided in the next set of financial statements, but if they are at the BofE +4% charges I see lodged I view that as way too high for a related parry loan. Do I have an issue with this - maybe not if improved hospitallity etc profits pay for it.

What I do have a major issue with is as you say WE PAY (and to a lesser extent Scottish Government loans and insuranxe proceeds) for the pile of mediocrity we are now seeing.

Ron wanted a football club and it just tunred out that we were the one he could purchase - based on what has happened so far he cannot rely on my next season ticket purchase (29th year I figure) to fund his and his sons side interest.