View Full Version : Manager needs to go

Pages : 1 [2]

09-11-2022, 02:11 PM
Who got hyped when LJ was appointed?? I don't remember that at all.

No hype from me, and I’m a certified happy clapper. Of the three options (Johnson, Keane maybe, the guy that went to Blackburn) he was the least palatable for me.

09-11-2022, 02:45 PM
I like Lee. He thinks about the game the right way. He has good experience at a decent level. He should be a fit here but something isn't working.

Of late I've found his subs bizarre but perhaps he is a bit hamstrung by fitness and form of what is available to him.

He needs to find answers quick because you don't get given time here.

Hibiza
09-11-2022, 03:05 PM
He's just a chancer. Talks so much drivel.

09-11-2022, 03:36 PM
I like Lee but feel he's been let down. Jack Ross was let down badly in the summer of 2021 and Lee has been let down too, not in the same way, but with all the "ones for the future" players we've signed. I don't think we signed enough first team ready players. It's a strange one as there have been games we have lost that i've taken positives from. First half against Aberdeen and St Johnstone, second half against Livingston etc. Not so long ago we were battening teams and regularly having 20 odd shots on goal albeit without taking our chances. I don't think it's all doom and gloom but i think we are starting to see the issues from the summer (again). In Scotland when you get to this time of year you need players in the team with a bit of balls about them, not projects. The games after the WC are giving me the fear. Like i said, i like Lee and i do believe he has something about him but for the love of god give him the tools to work with!

09-11-2022, 04:47 PM
:nlgwa

:thumbsup::aok:

Colinton Hibby
09-11-2022, 04:53 PM
I’ve been impressed with Lee so far and it’s far too early to talk about sacking him. We are only 12 games in, so time to settle down and see where we are after the World Cup break. Opinions, eh?

Paulie Walnuts
09-11-2022, 04:56 PM
I’ve been impressed with Lee so far and it’s far too early to talk about sacking him. We are only 12 games in, so time to settle down and see where we are after the World Cup break. Opinions, eh?

We’re 15 league games and 19 games in total in…

09-11-2022, 05:02 PM

He has 2 more points than Maloney did after the same number of games and he also has the added bonus of being punted out of the league cup group stages.

Colinton Hibby
09-11-2022, 05:29 PM
We’re 15 league games and 19 games in total in…

apologies - you’re right enough. Get him out and get that weegie clown martindale in. I’m convinced.

09-11-2022, 05:34 PM
What’s concerning is his post match thoughts on Mitchell, citing recent birth of his child and being ill recently. If that’s the case, and unless the player has been disingenuous and told LJ he’s ready to play, he shouldn’t have started.

I’m hoping the addition of a fit McGeady will add much needed experience and winning attitude, because that midfield in particular is drifting and lacking a leader. There’s not one player in that area that’s an organiser, leads by example - that’s unacceptable at this level. Joe Newell is the classic example of a player who hides and can’t dictate a game despite having the technical ability to do so - he lacks heart, and for me, he’s the first of around four that need shipped out as soon as possible. His only consistent attributes are his inconsistency.

09-11-2022, 10:42 PM
Arteta out!

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

09-11-2022, 11:32 PM
He's just a chancer. Talks so much drivel.

He'll get even better at that the more he reads Hibs.net.

Donegal Hibby
10-11-2022, 12:09 AM
He'll get even better at that the more he reads Hibs.net.
:faf:. :top marks

10-11-2022, 12:20 AM
Cannot keep sacking managers. At some point you need to look beyond the man in charge and question the quality, commitment of the players and then the recruitment team. Going by what we've seen this season, there are more questions around the quality of the players we've brought in than how LJ uses them. What ever perm, this looks like a squad that's no better than mid-table, likely to be inconsistent, so maybe we need to reset our expectations.

Ron Gordon talks a good game but unable to back it up with good decisions. Until that changes, we're treading water.

10-11-2022, 05:35 AM

We have one more game to find that out as we will be in the same position after the WC break as we are at the end of this weekend.

If you mean after the festive period… don’t hold out too much hope with the games we have.

10-11-2022, 07:11 AM
Roughly in the last 12 years we have had .
Fenlon = sacked.
Butcher= sacked.
Stubbs = couldn't wait to leave (personally reasons maybe).
Lennon= left by mutual consent.
Heckingbottom= sacked .
Ross = more or less sacked too .
Maloney= sacked .
Johnson = ? ( Hope not ) but probably get the sack if some fans get there way after only a few months in job.
New manager= starts of well , hits bad run, fans want him gone , new guy sacked.
Repeat and rinse. Lennon seems to be our longest serving manager in 12 years if I'm right at near 3 years at us and even him some off our fans wanted him gone too now some want him back . I use to laugh at other teams like Sunderland and Watford for going threw managers willy Nilly but my God what a complete Basket case of a club we have become if we are going down the route of sacking managers under a year into the job . Clubs badly in need of some stability on the manager front imo

It's about time we gave a manager a chance and not sack them after their first run of bad results. That is always going to happen at a club like Hibs. Maloney was hopelessly out of his depth and shouldn't have been appointed in the first place so not counting him but Ross should have been given more time, Johnson should be given more time as well. Heckingbottom has proved he's a pretty handy manager too. Can't always be the managers fault at Hibs.

10-11-2022, 07:15 AM
I think the last couple of managers show how much we rely on Boyle.

The defeats and inability to score really mount up as soon as he’s unavailable.

Johnson, Maloney and heckingbottom all found that out the hard way

10-11-2022, 07:58 AM
I think the last couple of managers show how much we rely on Boyle.

The defeats and inability to score really mount up as soon as he’s unavailable.

Johnson, Maloney and heckingbottom all found that out the hard way

Again down to recruitment, bring in players 1st team ready to cover would help.

10-11-2022, 08:05 AM
Again down to recruitment, bring in players 1st team ready to cover would help.

It's not cover we need, if they brought in better 1st team players so we didnt need to rely so much on Boyle, and give us more than 1 option.

10-11-2022, 08:12 AM
I remember it.

I also remember thumping Celtic and Rangers.

Yes, that was great but look at the team he inherited. He wouldn't be thumping Celtic and Rangers with this group of players. More than likely go on a long winless streak and send his poor assistant out to do the post match interviews.

10-11-2022, 08:14 AM
He has 2 more points than Maloney did after the same number of games and he also has the added bonus of being punted out of the league cup group stages.

That's not true. He has 5 more than Maloney. And double the number of wins.

10-11-2022, 08:16 AM
It's not cover we need, if they brought in better 1st team players so we didnt need to rely so much on Boyle, and give us more than 1 option.

That's what I meant by 1st team ready and not development.

stalbanshibby
10-11-2022, 01:21 PM
Teams who have less talented players than us know that if they sit tight and push us wide we'll struggle to score. Kevin Harper called this out before the kick off on Tuesday, and then also said that Ross County would come at us just before half time, and that's exactly what happened. We're pretty one dimensional, don't have a plan B and the players don't have the nous or quality to work out what to do differently by themselves in the heat of the battle. What we've seen is that Hibs players let their heads go down when something goes against them unless they're against less than 11 men. The exception recently was the ST Mirren game - but St Mirren tried to play football and gave us lots of space, and when that happens and we're on our game we can look quite convincing (and also get false hopes up amongst the support). Most of the other so called lesser teams, just come to frustrate, and they also know that as Hibs supporters, if we're not seeing our side slice open defences every 5 minutes we'll turn on our own players

So LJ can coach crossing till he's blue in the face. We all want Hibs to play super slick, intuitive football and that's sort of what's on offer up until the box, but if you're up against a stubborn defence where players are prepared to throw themselves in the way of any shooting we do, we'll struggle - and to be fair most teams will struggle (St J did it to Rangers recently too) , and no amount of splashing the cash on quality players will necessarily fix that. I'm thinking the Dundee United, St Johnstone and Ross County games all of which were lost in more or less the same way - we more or less battered them up to the penalty box, dominated possession, and then got done by rare opposition attacks and defensive lapses, and early or well-timed goals against. Teams know how to do a job on us, and they've worked us out psychologically. I can just imagine someone like Martindale saying - `OK Hibs up next - you all know how that one runs - let them come at us as fancy as they like up to the box, stop them at all costs, and then we'll sucker them just before half time and we'll go home with the 3 points'. Same goes for most other SPL managers, I'm pretty sure. The way through this is to work out how to counteract that set up, and I for one am not sure what the answer is. Whether it's more physicality we need or whether it's a more brutish attitude to the game - which is of course not the 'Hibs way'. Neil Lennon didn't call us 'Boy Band' for nothing.

Maybe it's that the players are too well paid - sitting on a cushy number where it doesn't matter whether we win or lose. I've no idea how the footballers contracts work, but if there's not enough incentive to win games, the why would they bother? Soft underbelly - or just lazy, complacency and lack of passion?? I really don't know - you'd hope they weren't just motivated by money, but maybe they are in this day and age.

The only team that's immune to this in the SPL is Celtic, and their players are a level above in terms if skill, speed of thought, fitness, will to win, and wages.

So it's a conundrum.

Getting rid of LJ isn't the answer. In fact I think LJ has the intelligence to realise what's happening but it'll take time for him to fix it - maybe a couple of seasons even - because this has been a Hibs problem for quite a few years

HFC93
10-11-2022, 01:25 PM
Regardless of what any us think, Lee Johnson will get launched in January if the terrible form continues. That's the way Ron Gordon operates. Johnson knows that and so do the players.

CentreForward
10-11-2022, 01:38 PM
Regardless of what any us think, Lee Johnson will get launched in January if the terrible form continues. That's the way Ron Gordon operates. Johnson knows that and so do the players.

Well looking at the run of fixtures that we have after the WC it’s quite hard not to see the dismal form continuing.

10-11-2022, 01:48 PM
Well looking at the run of fixtures that we have after the WC it’s quite hard not to see the dismal form continuing.

That's why a defeat against Killie is unthinkable. If we are only 5 points off bottom after Saturday then it could turn very nasty over the festive period.

Paulie Walnuts
10-11-2022, 01:54 PM
That's not true. He has 5 more than Maloney. And double the number of wins.

That’s removing cup games.

His overall record is only ever so slightly better having played easier games.

Maloney had to play Celtic twice, Hearts three (two of them away from home), Rangers once (away), Aberdeen twice. LJ has only played each of them once other than Aberdeen. He also only got two games against lower league sides to Johnson’s 4.

His overall record really isn’t any more impressive than Maloneys.

10-11-2022, 01:58 PM
Tell you what, Johnson's going to have some job on his hands if we can only judge him on certain games (big ones, again), games against eleven men, and only league games.

CentreForward
11-11-2022, 12:35 AM
That's why a defeat against Killie is unthinkable. If we are only 5 points off bottom after Saturday then it could turn very nasty over the festive period.

Absolutely correct. 3 points on Saturday is vital.

Crunchie
11-11-2022, 05:33 AM
I remember it.

I also remember thumping Celtic and Rangers.

I remember drawing half our league games in the championship.

11-11-2022, 05:39 AM
Here is a novel thought why don't we support a manager when going through a poor run. He has imo shown enough in his previous jobs and also his short time here to earn that.

11-11-2022, 10:26 AM
Here is a novel thought why don't we support a manager when going through a poor run. He has imo shown enough in his previous jobs and also his short time here to earn that.

Yep. You can’t support the guy indefinitely if things never improve but this constant bloodlust to sack managers and change things is not helpful.

11-11-2022, 10:54 AM
Yep. You can’t support the guy indefinitely if things never improve but this constant bloodlust to sack managers and change things is not helpful.

Absolutely

11-11-2022, 11:03 AM

The state we're in just now is the state that most clubs in the league were in last year. Spell of picking up decent points, a poor spell, rinse, lather and repeat. Dundee United and Motherwell both qualified for Europe despite some horrific runs last season.

We were behind teams like that by some distance. As long as we start a run of picking up points we'll still be in the mix, and the goal for next season needs to be rising above that inconsistent mid table pack.

hughio
11-11-2022, 11:20 AM

OK maybe I will go down to Killie tomorrow after all and support the team.My boy wants to go cos hes never been to rugby park yet.

However if I have to witness the stuff served up against St Johnstone and Ross County I will be fuming.

Maybe away from home with opposition attacking there will be a difference I dunno.

However if we go one down and then continue looking like we will never score .......:brickwall:brickwall

11-11-2022, 11:25 AM
Utterly ridiculous to consider sacking him no matter what happens tomorrow. Who would be next? And for another few months? Managers can improve teams - it's not a given that once we go on a slump it becomes terminal. It's only a few weeks ago we were excellent against St Mirren.

We've got to get some stability.

OstKurve Hibs
11-11-2022, 11:39 AM

That's to much to ask of a fair percentage of our support that cant even be bothered to stay to end of a match, even games we win comfortably or when games are on a knife edge to many just up sticks and leave. Some dont know the meaning of the word support.
I'm not tryin to start a debate here and I'm not interested in hearing anyones excuses cos it been done to a death, just giving my opinion
I highly doubt half the stadium is leaving early to catch the 4.45 train to wherever.

11-11-2022, 11:40 AM
I'm bored. Let's have another managerial merry-go-round.

GreenGray
11-11-2022, 11:49 AM
Utterly ridiculous to consider sacking him no matter what happens tomorrow. Who would be next? And for another few months? Managers can improve teams - it's not a given that once we go on a slump it becomes terminal. It's only a few weeks ago we were excellent against St Mirren.

We've got to get some stability.

Exactly, it is genuinely laughable that everyone's reaction to a few poor games is to sack the manager. It is unsustainable. Just have to look at other clubs who stuck by their manager through rough patches, it can pay off.

11-11-2022, 12:06 PM
If it ever came to change Would Steve Kean step into Role
Doing well with the Under 19s

Some talent in there

All the meddling has seen Ross And Maloney go albeit Maloneys reign wasn’t the greatest

Trinity Hibee
11-11-2022, 12:44 PM
That's to much to ask of a fair percentage of our support that cant even be bothered to stay to end of a match, even games we win comfortably or when games are on a knife edge to many just up sticks and leave. Some dont know the meaning of the word support.
I'm not tryin to start a debate here and I'm not interested in hearing anyones excuses cos it been done to a death, just giving my opinion
I highly doubt half the stadium is leaving early to catch the 4.45 train to wherever.

Another one where the fans are in the firing line. Fans leaving early has nothing to do with the thread and then say you don’t want to start a debate. Start a new thread or go to the various other ‘folk leaving early’ threads to post this stuff.

11-11-2022, 12:45 PM
that's to much to ask of a fair percentage of our support that cant even be bothered to stay to end of a match, even games we win comfortably or when games are on a knife edge to many just up sticks and leave. Some dont know the meaning of the word support.
I'm not tryin to start a debate here and i'm not interested in hearing anyones excuses cos it been done to a death, just giving my opinion
i highly doubt half the stadium is leaving early to catch the 4.45 train to wherever.

wtaf?

11-11-2022, 12:51 PM
Another one where the fans are in the firing line. Fans leaving early has nothing to do with the thread and then say you don’t want to start a debate. Start a new thread or go to the various other ‘folk leaving early’ threads to post this stuff.

Apart from anything else, the support have been really good this season.

Considering the start he got off to, I don’t think LJ has come in for too much stick. The last week has the potential to have been a turning point. He could really be doing with a win tomorrow.

Trinity Hibee
11-11-2022, 12:54 PM
Apart from anything else, the support have been really good this season.

Considering the start he got off to, I don’t think LJ has come in for too much stick. The last week has the potential to have been a turning point. He could really be doing with a win tomorrow.

Agreed the turnouts and uptake in ST’s this season has been positive. After the week we’ve had it’s not a surprise fans are peeved. I’m sure it will calm over the next wee while.

11-11-2022, 01:05 PM
I'm bored. Let's have another managerial merry-go-round.
Yes, I'm for that. How about Leanne Crighton for the job?

OstKurve Hibs
11-11-2022, 01:45 PM

A previous poster said, would it be to much to ask to support the manager ?
My answer was how can you expect that when folk cant support the team for a whole game ? Or just stop going to games when we arent playing well.
That's not the definition of support is it ?

11-11-2022, 01:48 PM
A previous poster said, would it be to much to ask to support the manager ?
My answer was how can you expect that when folk cant support the team for a whole game ? Or just stop going to games when we arent playing well.
That's not the definition of support is it ?
Yep. But paying money entitles you to be a tool, so yeah, first bad pass, **** it, booooooooo

HibeeHibernia
11-11-2022, 01:54 PM
i think we need a clear out and have done for a number of years. The same old faces who have lost more than they have ever won keep getting rewarded for being mediocre and living off a cup final win that should have happened decades ago. It is time for change, new faces around the place, everything is stale and it shows. It doesn't matter who we get in the dugout if the same faces are still in and around the changing room nothing will change. We will see how wise Ron Gordon is after this season in regards to the clubs footballing department set up and if he changes it, if he doesn't we can assume he has bought this club as a toy for his lad to play real life football manager but with this current set up and with this current squad expect the status quo to continue.

11-11-2022, 02:21 PM
I remember drawing half our league games in the championship.

You wouldn't fancy Lennon back in charge at some point?

hibeerealist
11-11-2022, 02:32 PM

Aye they are all glory hunters that's why they support Hibs!

11-11-2022, 02:33 PM

I certainly wouldn't.

11-11-2022, 02:35 PM

The guy that went missing when things were tough and ****ed off back to Celtic as soon as he could?

Not for me thanks.

11-11-2022, 02:49 PM
The guy that went missing when things were tough and ****ed off back to Celtic as soon as he could?

Not for me thanks.

And turned the club into the Neil Lennon show, still attending a Celtic event and the "sit down" comment at it, being great at taking credit for victories but not so much for losses, signing the likes of Brian Graham, Slivka, Mavrias, Nelom, Watson, Big Dave etc.

Nope, nope, nope, and nope again. Lucked out on Celtic wanting Scott Bain which allowed us to get Scott Allan back which turned a turgid brand of football into a genuinely enthralling one for five months, before going back to what it was.

11-11-2022, 02:51 PM
And turned the club into the Neil Lennon show, still attending a Celtic event and the "sit down" comment at it, being great at taking credit for victories but not so much for losses, signing the likes of Brian Graham, Slivka, Mavrias, Nelom, Watson, Big Dave etc.

Nope, nope, nope, and nope again. Lucked out on Celtic wanting Scott Bain which allowed us to get Scott Allan back which turned a turgid brand of football into a genuinely enthralling one for five months, before going back to what it was.

That’s a very good point that I’ve never even considered.

I like Brian Graham though 😂 did he kick a ball for us in the premier league?

11-11-2022, 03:04 PM

It definitely wasn't turgid football.

OstKurve Hibs
11-11-2022, 03:05 PM

What you on about ? Makes no sense

11-11-2022, 03:11 PM

Lennon wasn't perfect, but the idea we were turgid after promotion until January is just rubbish. That whole season was good.

11-11-2022, 03:14 PM
Lennon wasn't perfect, but the idea we were turgid after promotion until January is just rubbish. That whole season was good.

100% we weren't turgid.

Never have been, never will be.

HibeeHibernia
11-11-2022, 03:24 PM

we certainly do have a glory hunting element that only turn up for hampden

11-11-2022, 03:26 PM
100% we weren't turgid.

I wish someone would explain to me what turgid football is.

11-11-2022, 03:28 PM

Its what we played against Ross County :greengrin

11-11-2022, 03:31 PM

It is pretty much the way the jambos play, we have also played this way before it is not nice, a wee bit ****tty in fact, yes ****tty football would be a better expression.

11-11-2022, 03:33 PM
Its what we played against Ross County :greengrin

The meaning of the word must have changed since I was a lad to now signify utter pish :greengrin

hibeerealist
11-11-2022, 03:42 PM
What you on about ? Makes no sense

Whooooooosh!

Stop having a go at the fans they are by far the best thing about our club!

Can't think of any other support that would put up with what we have over many years.

hibeerealist
11-11-2022, 03:44 PM
we certainly do have a glory hunting element that only turn up for hampden

Would you rather 15-16,000 turn up at hampden for finals?

11-11-2022, 03:46 PM
It definitely wasn't turgid football.

It really was. First handful games after promotion were fun, granted, but it soon nosedived after that before picking up with the Allan signing.

SickBoy32
11-11-2022, 03:50 PM

What was the sit down comment ?

11-11-2022, 03:55 PM

That would be swell.

HibeeHibernia
11-11-2022, 03:56 PM
Would you rather 15-16,000 turn up at hampden for finals?

Well we only had 12k against rangers last season which proves my point that a big chunk of our support only turn out when they think we have a chance of winning.

Paulie Walnuts
11-11-2022, 03:58 PM
What was the sit down comment ?

Apparently he told Gary Parker to sit down when celebrating a goal we scored against Celtic.

11-11-2022, 03:59 PM
That would be swell.

HibeeHibernia
11-11-2022, 04:01 PM

couldn't agree more mate.

11-11-2022, 04:01 PM
Slivka was decent to be fair. Just never hit the heights he potentially could have.

11-11-2022, 04:42 PM
That would be swell.
I see what you did there :greengrin

11-11-2022, 04:44 PM
Feeling up for tomorrow now and getting behind the manager and the team.

Sioux
11-11-2022, 05:00 PM
Whooooooosh!

Stop having a go at the fans they are by far the best thing about our club!

Can't think of any other support that would put up with what we have over many years.

But the 'fans' don't put up with it do they?

They come on here and fling abuse at everyone and everything, shout abuse from the stands and strop off in the huff when the result's not in our favour.

Recently a manager's life span is less than 6 months before demands are made for his removal. God help the sanity of those fans if we were ever to appoint a female manager. Hibs were first to............................and all that good stuff.

11-11-2022, 06:58 PM
Feeling up for tomorrow now

Tmi

Keyser Sauzee
11-11-2022, 07:19 PM

Slivka had some very good games for us, wasn’t a bad player at all and doesn’t get the credit IMO

cameronw-hfc
11-11-2022, 07:24 PM
100% we weren't turgid.

I do think we were saved by the Jan window with Lennon though. He seemed to start off alright ish, then by Jan we would bring in a few that would really kick on for he rest of the season and finish strong.

I think people also conveniently forget the chucking 2-0 leads and losing a cup games we should have been winning under Lennon, but I also agree it's probably the best time in recent memory of Hibs, going back to probably Mowbray.

I don't think Lennon would do a thing now, he was suspended/sacked for the way he was speaking to players, a few of those players are still at the club. If it was a whole new squad id get it, but it's not. I can't remember who it was but remember seeing a player doing an interview saying he basically lost the dressing room at the end and the players genuinely found his raging behaviour after that derby pretty comical rather than scary.

Crunchie
12-11-2022, 05:35 AM

The Hibs team the majority of the 80’s

12-11-2022, 06:19 AM
I do think we were saved by the Jan window with Lennon though. He seemed to start off alright ish, then by Jan we would bring in a few that would really kick on for he rest of the season and finish strong.

I think people also conveniently forget the chucking 2-0 leads and losing a cup games we should have been winning under Lennon, but I also agree it's probably the best time in recent memory of Hibs, going back to probably Mowbray.

I don't think Lennon would do a thing now, he was suspended/sacked for the way he was speaking to players, a few of those players are still at the club. If it was a whole new squad id get it, but it's not. I can't remember who it was but remember seeing a player doing an interview saying he basically lost the dressing room at the end and the players genuinely found his raging behaviour after that derby pretty comical rather than scary.

The January window definitely changed the dynamic of the team. Before that we'd had the usual insipid home defeat to St Johnstone and Hamilton Accies. Pumped 4-1 at Aberdeen and a splattering of meh draws. After the January window we were electric before reverting back to type (and then some) the following season.

loanheadhibby
12-11-2022, 07:15 AM

Probably says as much about the players mentality to be fair. Losing at Tynie and then have a chuckle because the manager had high demands on them. It’s a pity the players did not put the same demands on themselves for that game. We went down that night with a whimper.

I’m not advocating a return for Lennon but we’ve not had a better period since he left. We played some great football and had some lows as well.

12-11-2022, 08:55 AM
A photo of Anthony Costa from Blue has just come up on my Instagram feed for some reason. I had to take a double look as I thought it was Lee Johnson. They are like twins.

He should be sacked purely for looking like that abomination to music! :wink:

12-11-2022, 08:58 AM
Probably says as much about the players mentality to be fair. Losing at Tynie and then have a chuckle because the manager had high demands on them. It’s a pity the players did not put the same demands on themselves for that game. We went down that night with a whimper.

I’m not advocating a return for Lennon but we’ve not had a better period since he left. We played some great football and had some lows as well.
Lennon blew it at Tynecastle. We were doing just fine - better than that - then he inexplicably changes for that game. It was a bizarre decision.

12-11-2022, 09:09 AM
The Hibs team the majority of the 80’s

Nope. Definitely not turgid.

loanheadhibby
12-11-2022, 09:32 AM
Lennon blew it at Tynecastle. We were doing just fine - better than that - then he inexplicably changes for that game. It was a bizarre decision.

I’m not disagreeing but there’s not much Lennon can do when they players crossed the line. You can’t blame him for Lewis giving away a ridiculous penalty and Hanlon a stupid foul in lead up to the winners. That’s on the players.

12-11-2022, 09:46 AM
I’m not disagreeing but there’s not much Lennon can do when they players crossed the line. You can’t blame him for Lewis giving away a ridiculous penalty and Hanlon a stupid foul in lead up to the winners. That’s on the players.

If you’re going to that level though you could look at a lot of the crazy goals we’ve lost this season and probably spin it in a way to absolve the manager of
much of the blame.

Donegal Hibby
12-11-2022, 10:06 AM
Lewis Stevenson and Paul Hanlon two Hibs legends :flag:

12-11-2022, 10:20 AM
Lewis Stevenson and Paul Hanlon two Hibs legends :flag:

100%

But everyone has a shelf life, sell by date. Unfortunately theirs have come.

Donegal Hibby
12-11-2022, 10:45 AM
100%

But everyone has a shelf life, sell by date. Unfortunately theirs have come.
Actually disagree with you there , Stevenson is a handy player to have even at 34 , you can always take him on as a sub , experienced , gives his all and very rarely lets you down . Paul Hanlon is only 32 and by no means our worse defender in recent weeks and again a solid dependable centre half that gives every thing he's has for the cause that's green and white. Legends both who still have apart to play at Hibernian fc . GGTTH

12-11-2022, 03:47 PM
That peg is about to fall off.

A experienced manager and this is where he has, we are fighting it out in the bottom 6 already, and things are certainly not improving..

cameronw-hfc
12-11-2022, 03:50 PM

Tbf it was more to do with him throwing his toys out the pram saying he's quitting as manager to them that made them laugh rather than mentality, as he was being petulant, but I agree with the sentiment

12-11-2022, 03:51 PM
That peg is about to fall off.

A experienced manager and this is where he has, we are fighting it out in the bottom 6 already, and things are certainly not improving..

Yep I think so. Another poor management appointment coupled with shocking transfer windows leaving us with players with no backbone, skill, pace or tactical nous. What a mess

12-11-2022, 03:54 PM
If LJ is the latest to take the blame then there absolutely must be changes behind the scenes too. If RG comes out of hiding again after sacking yet another manager and tells us recruitment has been fantastic he’ll lose a whole lot of support.

The last 3 windows we have added JDH, Henderson & Kenneh to Campbell & Newell. Just how many managers will those 5 see off.

If LJ is the latest to take the blame then there absolutely must be changes behind the scenes too. If RG comes out of hiding again after sacking yet another manager and tells us recruitment has been fantastic he’ll lose a whole lot of support.

The owner can sell the club and his son can **** off

12-11-2022, 03:55 PM
He’s got to go

hibeesjoe
12-11-2022, 03:56 PM
I just see Gordon as our Romanov era now. He's improved the stadium facilities but that doesn't get us points in the league.

Sent from my Pixel 6a using Tapatalk

12-11-2022, 03:56 PM
Recruitment team and the management can leave now - simply FAILING and under performing.

We have now lost to

Celtic - 6-1
Livi
Aberdeen - 4-1
St Johnstone
St Mirren
Ross County
Kilmarnock
Dundee Utd

8 out of 12 teams in league and we aren't even in December.

Add in part time teams...

Morton
Falkirk

Absolutely shocking - wouldn't trust any of them with a January transfer window.

Players have chucked it and simply not good enough. Manager is clueless and the recruitment team have recommended some absolutely awful players.

I still don't want Ron to go but the club must make changes - what we are doing over and over isn't working. I'm convinced as bad as these players are another manager would still get more out of them. But until we address the recruitment we will continue to fail.

12-11-2022, 03:59 PM
Trying to beat Killie at their own game was ridiculous, you can’t go there and invite pressure especially when they lost 4-0 a couple of days ago.

I really don’t want another manager sacked as 4 in 12 months is ridiculous and doesn’t give them an oppertunity to build anything

But 6 defeats in 7 games?

Celtic, rangers, hearts and Livi the first 4 games after the break? Not in that order but still.

I wouldn’t be surprised if he’s gone by this time tomorrow

swin82
12-11-2022, 04:02 PM
I do think the players need to take a lot of the blame! Recruitment has just been football manager, If he does go martindale would get my vote.

12-11-2022, 04:03 PM
Sack Lee.

Sack Ian.

Appoint an experienced sporting director and head of recruitment via a third party technical recruiter or consultant with industry expertise.

Let the new SD and HoR shortlist the next manager.

12-11-2022, 04:06 PM
Without Boyle we are a much poorer team. That's down to recruitment with not enough quality and no real leaders. That said I think we do need to seriously consider LJ's position. We've had the stuffing knocked out of us after the Celtic game and LJ doesn't seem to know how to turn it round. I think the break maybe makes a change more likely.

12-11-2022, 04:07 PM
With a few weeks off the club now has a decision to make: sack Johnson and get someone in to work with the players ahead of the next game, or allow him to re-group, in the hope he can turn this around. A new manager would immediately have games against Celtic, Rangers and Hearts, and is that really fair, given it's likely he would make a losing start?

Three points from seven games is terrible. He will do very well to survive this.

12-11-2022, 04:11 PM
With a few weeks off the club now has a decision to make: sack Johnson and get someone in to work with the players ahead of the next game, or allow him to re-group, in the hope he can turn this around. A new manager would immediately have games against Celtic, Rangers and Hearts, and is that really fair, given it's likely he would make a losing start?

Three points from seven games is terrible. He will do very well to survive this.

Why wait ? Sticking with LJ and this mess...

Celtic will beat us.
Huns are awful - but may have a new manager or will see it as must win as can't lose any more ground on Celtic.
Hearts away - this group of players not good enough to win at Tynie. Too soft.
Livi - who knows - but don't expect much.

chippy
12-11-2022, 04:14 PM
Trying to beat Killie at their own game was ridiculous, you can’t go there and invite pressure especially when they lost 4-0 a couple of days ago.

I really don’t want another manager sacked as 4 in 12 months is ridiculous and doesn’t give them an oppertunity to build anything

But 6 defeats in 7 games?

Celtic, rangers, hearts and Livi the first 4 games after the break? Not in that order but still.

I wouldn’t be surprised if he’s gone by this time tomorrow

I’d imagine he’ll be getting his jotters about now. Malky Mackay or Mike O’Neill plus 3 midfield players and we’ll be fine

Paulie Walnuts
12-11-2022, 04:15 PM
The owner can sell the club and his son can **** off

He’s ****ing hopeless when it comes to the football side of things.

CL0762
12-11-2022, 04:19 PM
Said it before, said it a hundred times before.

Daddy is letting his baby boy play football manager with a real life club, with real life people who have a serious emotional attachment to it.

They are ruining our club, at the expense of ****ing hospitality suites and big screens. Ron, take an almighty backseat, sack your hopeless wine seller son and get an experienced HEAD OF RECRUITMENT to oversee ALL football matters.

12-11-2022, 05:02 PM
Don’t know how many people said … it was a sign of things when they started getting rid of long service staff from all over the club

Graeme Mathie was made a scape goat to allow Ron to bring in his son

paddy1875
12-11-2022, 05:35 PM
The fact his boy was brought it through the back door and on the sly was a big concern.

Now we’re seeing what a huge mistake it was. If it’s not addressed now then we’re on a slippery slope.

The other thing is I haven’t even heard any pundits flagging it up whilst discussing hibs after the 2 managers previous have been sacked.

Hibiza
12-11-2022, 06:34 PM
A photo of Anthony Costa from Blue has just come up on my Instagram feed for some reason. I had to take a double look as I thought it was Lee Johnson. They are like twins.

He should be sacked purely for looking like that abomination to music! :wink:

:top marks:LOL:

Fergos
12-11-2022, 06:45 PM
The fact his boy was brought it through the back door and on the sly was a big concern.

Now we’re seeing what a huge mistake it was. If it’s not addressed now then we’re on a slippery slope.

The other thing is I haven’t even heard any pundits flagging it up whilst discussing hibs after the 2 managers previous have been sacked.

Totally.

The Baldmans Comb
12-11-2022, 06:57 PM
The arrogant little wideo tried to save his job by putting out that confused defensive muck of a team devoid of width but all he achieved was lining up man for man with the Killie formation.

After that the games a bogey as kicking, biting and scratching is what a Macinnes team does for a living.

He hasn't a clue about Scottish football and has looked down on Scottish opposition teams from a great height ever since he took the piss v Clyde or thought toe to toe with Celtic was a sensible game plan.

Ross and Maloney didn't survive this run of results and neither should this absolutely condescending "barrow boy".

12-11-2022, 07:14 PM
The arrogant little wideo tried to save his job by putting out that confused defensive muck of a team devoid of width but all he achieved was lining up man for man with the Killie formation.

After that the games a bogey as kicking, biting and scratching is what a Macinnes team does for a living.

He hasn't a clue about Scottish football and has looked down on Scottish opposition teams from a great height ever since he took the piss v Clyde or thought toe to toe with Celtic was a sensible game plan.

Ross and Maloney didn't survive this run of results and neither should this absolutely condescending "barrow boy".

His managerial ability is certainly questionable, but some of your constant comments about him are weirder than him, that’s for sure.

12-11-2022, 07:56 PM

So we are starting on the personal insults now?

Classless.

Surely we all know LJ did not sign these new players - or the ones he inherited. My guess is McKirdy is the only signing identified by LJ.

Changing manager does not change things with that squad of players.

Greenwich_Hibby
12-11-2022, 07:58 PM
So we are starting on the personal insults now?

Classless.

Surely we all know LJ did not sign these new players - or the ones he inherited. My guess is McKirdy is the only signing identified by LJ.

Changing manager does not change things with that squad of players.

But he said he was happy with them.

Stokesy's on fire
12-11-2022, 08:16 PM

Branding Barker and Ofir Marciano weren't bad signings though. Also Lennons one of the few managers to bring on attacking players at places like Parkhead with the aim of going for it. I enjoyed Hibs under lennon for a large period of his tenure.

12-11-2022, 09:00 PM
Recruitment team and the management can leave now - simply FAILING and under performing.

We have now lost to

Celtic - 6-1
Livi
Aberdeen - 4-1
St Johnstone
St Mirren
Ross County
Kilmarnock
Dundee Utd

8 out of 12 teams in league and we aren't even in December.

Add in part time teams...

Morton
Falkirk

Absolutely shocking - wouldn't trust any of them with a January transfer window.

Players have chucked it and simply not good enough. Manager is clueless and the recruitment team have recommended some absolutely awful players.

I still don't want Ron to go but the club must make changes - what we are doing over and over isn't working. I'm convinced as bad as these players are another manager would still get more out of them. But until we address the recruitment we will continue to fail.

We have lost 7 of our 14 matches played against non-Old Firm sides so far this season and with that average we'll have lost around 13 or 14 of such matches by the time we get to the split.

The 4 non-Old Firm sides from last season's top six had the following number of losses vs other non-Old Firm sides by the time the split came about;

Hearts - 4
Ross County - 8
Motherwell - 9
Dundee Utd - 9

For bottom six teams it was;

Hibs - 8
St Mirren - 8
Livingston - 11
Aberdeen - 11
St Johnstone - 11
Dundee - 12

So in 14 games we've lost almost double the amount of games v non-Old Firm teams that Hearts managed last season in 27 games and only 1 less than Ross County and 2 less than Motherwell and Dundee Utd. For the bottom six teams from last season we're only 1 behind our record and St Mirren's record and on track to exceed Livingston and Aberdeen and even St Johnstone and Dundee's record.

Based on this season's record;

Hearts - 2
Aberdeen - 4
Livingston - 4
St Johnstone - 5
St Mirren - 5
Motherwell - 6
Ross County - 6
Dundee Utd - 7
Hibs - 7
Kilmarnock - 7

I'm not sure that Morton or Falkirk are part time though but we definitely should not be losing to them and the above figures are shocking and should be a major cause for concern for absolutely everyone within the club.

thebausburst
12-11-2022, 09:41 PM
LJ has done nothing to suggest he’s the man, time to cut our losses and for once get a decent manager we can all get behind not another Maloney experiment. Michael O’Neill the obvious contender and ex player to boot, what are we waiting for.

12-11-2022, 09:43 PM
If the board have any sense they will hold fire till after the World Cup. Any replacement would have no chance facing the tough run of fixtures over the festive period with this squad so the chance of any new manager bounce would be gone.
I’d give LJ those fixtures and if he manages to turn things around then he will have earned the right to keep his job, but if things go as badly as we fear , then the axe could justifiably fall.

HibeeHibernia
12-11-2022, 09:46 PM
LJ has done nothing to suggest he’s the man, time to cut our losses and for once get a decent manager we can all get behind not another Maloney experiment. Michael O’Neill the obvious contender and ex player to boot, what are we waiting for.

Whilst I agree we shouldn't be jumping the gun and sacking every manager who goes on a losing run the O'neill appointment does excite me like he is box office and already apart of our wonderful clubs history as a player, I'd have him in a heartbeat mate. :flag:

12-11-2022, 10:18 PM
I don’t care who they get, so long as he moves on Newall and Campbell.

12-11-2022, 10:20 PM
I don’t care who they get, so long as he moves on Newall and Campbell.

🙏

12-11-2022, 10:26 PM
If the board have any sense they will hold fire till after the World Cup. Any replacement would have no chance facing the tough run of fixtures over the festive period with this squad so the chance of any new manager bounce would be gone.
I’d give LJ those fixtures and if he manages to turn things around then he will have earned the right to keep his job, but if things go as badly as we fear , then the axe could justifiably fall.

I agree that, for the reasons you give, now would be an unwise time to get rid of him. We are probably going to lose all the difficult games after the World Cup break, which will take us to early January. LJ will almost certainly be off, leaving the new manager a few weeks of window to release players and bring in new faces. I just hope that the clowns running the club are meanwhile doing a bit of scouring the market. The new guy will have a hell of a job keeping us afloat till the end of the season but hopefully the bounce will see us survive. I admit that sounds a bit dramatic and depressing, but, frankly, I can’t envisage any other scenario.

12-11-2022, 11:14 PM
I think a manager deserves time, but when formations start to become a bit weird and personnel in positions that are uncalled for is a real worry.

A guy I have a season ticket with has been convinced for weeks that LJ has chucked it and wants out, hard to argue with him after that today.

HFC93
12-11-2022, 11:20 PM
He won't survive our 4 post World Cup games. Rangers win, brutal eye bleeding Livi win, maybe sneak a draw against Celtic, and pumped at Tynecastle. Ross County, Dundee Utd and Killie pick up some points and we're in trouble. We'll be managerless and rudderless going into the transfer window. Happy days.

12-11-2022, 11:54 PM
Think LJ is in a really lucky position wherein we got slaughtered in the press for sacking JR then Maloney after about two weeks.

Think regardless of results he'll get to the end of the season at least, I'm not even sure that isn't the right thing to do. It was always going to take a few windows to fix the mess we're in. I dunno, so scunnered with it all just now.

#2 Double Tap
13-11-2022, 01:37 AM
Think LJ is in a really lucky position wherein we got slaughtered in the press for sacking JR then Maloney after about two weeks.

Think regardless of results he'll get to the end of the season at least, I'm not even sure that isn't the right thing to do. It was always going to take a few windows to fix the mess we're in. I dunno, so scunnered with it all just now.

Did it need a few windows, im sure I was thinking at the end of last season we needed 2cb, 2cm, a left winger n a striker. 6 players.

We signed 2gk. 4defenders, 5midfielders, 4 strikers

I think I’m. Right with those numbers but I’ve had a few rums so probly shouldn’t be posting.

MagicSwirlingShip
13-11-2022, 05:07 AM
Did it need a few windows, im sure I was thinking at the end of last season we needed 2cb, 2cm, a left winger n a striker. 6 players.

We signed 2gk. 4defenders, 5midfielders, 4 strikers

I think I’m. Right with those numbers but I’ve had a few rums so probly shouldn’t be posting.

And doesn’t play many of them. Gonna be a long rebuild if we keep signing players to continue to play the old ones.

13-11-2022, 06:36 AM
Problem can't always be the manager. It's recruitment. We either sign sick notes or a teenager.

Ludicrous that we are so defensively unsound even though our centre mids are rarely in front of the ball. Newell was anonymous in that game and Campbell...least said the better. What changes can we make? Literally none as we have no options in midfield.

If we sack another manager I'm done with Hibs for a while. For me it would prove that Ron Gordon isn't a good custodian. Especially if he sacks another manager without a serious audit of the recruitment department.

Nothing wrong with scattergun approach but must be proven with data, and players should be physically fit without injury records. Magennis and Mitchell, throw in McGeady. We've had some players with terrible injury records. We signed Magennis when he was injured...

13-11-2022, 06:53 AM
We have lost 7 of our 14 matches played against non-Old Firm sides so far this season and with that average we'll have lost around 13 or 14 of such matches by the time we get to the split.

The 4 non-Old Firm sides from last season's top six had the following number of losses vs other non-Old Firm sides by the time the split came about;

Hearts - 4
Ross County - 8
Motherwell - 9
Dundee Utd - 9

For bottom six teams it was;

Hibs - 8
St Mirren - 8
Livingston - 11
Aberdeen - 11
St Johnstone - 11
Dundee - 12

So in 14 games we've lost almost double the amount of games v non-Old Firm teams that Hearts managed last season in 27 games and only 1 less than Ross County and 2 less than Motherwell and Dundee Utd. For the bottom six teams from last season we're only 1 behind our record and St Mirren's record and on track to exceed St Mirren and even St Johnstone and Dundee's record.

Based on this season's record;

Hearts - 2
Aberdeen - 4
Livingston - 4
St Johnstone - 5
St Mirren - 5
Motherwell - 6
Ross County - 6
Dundee Utd - 7
Hibs - 7
Kilmarnock - 7

I'm not sure that Morton or Falkirk are part time though but we definitely should not be losing to them and the above figures are shocking and should be a major cause for concern for absolutely everyone within the club.

Relegation stats those. That’s what it’s going to take for Ron Gordon to wake up unfortunately.

13-11-2022, 07:03 AM
I agree that, for the reasons you give, now would be an unwise time to get rid of him. We are probably going to lose all the difficult games after the World Cup break, which will take us to early January. LJ will almost certainly be off, leaving the new manager a few weeks of window to release players and bring in new faces. I just hope that the clowns running the club are meanwhile doing a bit of scouring the market. The new guy will have a hell of a job keeping us afloat till the end of the season but hopefully the bounce will see us survive. I admit that sounds a bit dramatic and depressing, but, frankly, I can’t envisage any other scenario.

As others have said we will probably lose next 4 games so why wait

Paulie Walnuts
13-11-2022, 07:48 AM
As others have said we will probably lose next 4 games so why wait

With this squad of players we will lose them regardless.

I don’t agree with sacking LJ but if we do I’d wait till after those 4 games. There’s no point in having the new guy start off with 4 defeats.

13-11-2022, 07:56 AM

Didn’t we hump Clyde 5-0?

13-11-2022, 07:56 AM

I don’t agree with sacking LJ but if we do I’d wait till after those 4 games. There’s no point in having the new guy start off with 4 defeats.

Why wouldn’t we sack him? He’s signed a team of duds and is still playing last seasons team? He hasn’t changed the midfield even though it would be obvious to even a semi competent manager that it needed to be done. For that alone he needs to go.

13-11-2022, 08:01 AM
He won't survive our 4 post World Cup games. Rangers win, brutal eye bleeding Livi win, maybe sneak a draw against Celtic, and pumped at Tynecastle. Ross County, Dundee Utd and Killie pick up some points and we're in trouble. We'll be managerless and rudderless going into the transfer window. Happy days.

The last point is worrying.. if he struggles in those 4 games then we have a transfer window and no manager so relying on recruitment team / strategy !

13-11-2022, 08:02 AM
Why wouldn’t we sack him? He’s signed a team of duds and is still playing last seasons team? He hasn’t changed the midfield even though it would be obvious to even a semi competent manager that it needed to be done. For that alone he needs to go.

Wasn’t he screaming out in the press for a midfielder at the time around St Mirren away? Very thinly veiled references to it?

It all depends how much influence you actually believe the manager has.

What we hear and what we got doesn’t add up for me.

13-11-2022, 08:24 AM
Wasn’t he screaming out in the press for a midfielder at the time around St Mirren away? Very thinly veiled references to it?

He was asking for ready made signings to come straight into the team (including an attacking midfielder) and he got two strikers and a centre half. Fish will probably never start a game for us.

Our summer recruitment was a mess. Fifteen signings and we are lucky if five of them have made an impact.

13-11-2022, 08:25 AM

If he’s the type of manager who can’t get what he wants out of the board then he has to go. We need a manager with the strength of character to make sure the board give home what he needs. Johnson clearly isn’t that guy.

13-11-2022, 08:29 AM
If he’s the type of manager who can’t get what he wants out of the board then he has to go. We need a manager with the strength of character to make sure the board give home what he needs. Johnson clearly isn’t that guy.

Ditch the scapegoat, keep the issue. Got it.

13-11-2022, 08:30 AM
He was asking for ready made signings to come straight into the team (including an attacking midfielder) and he got two strikers and a centre half. Fish will probably never start a game for us.

Our summer recruitment was a mess. Fifteen signings and we are lucky if five of them have made an impact.
Will Fish was a massive red flag for me (and that’s one of so, so many). No way would a manager want a defender who couldn’t even get any serious game time in non league.

13-11-2022, 08:37 AM
Will Fish was a massive red flag for me (and that’s one of so, so many). No way would a manager want a defender who couldn’t even get any serious game time in non league.

He’s looked fine mind you in his two short cameo appearances

13-11-2022, 08:38 AM
He’s looked fine mind you in his two short cameo appearances

He’s had very little to do in them, to be honest. He may be good.

Hes also certainly not the first team ready player that we were needing.

13-11-2022, 08:39 AM

Also remember we sent a good prospect in McClelland out loan to bring a worse young player in Fish.

13-11-2022, 08:40 AM

4 games that would allow a new manager to see what the players are and are not able to achieve, we cant simply throw away 4 games to keep someone in a job until transfer window opens

13-11-2022, 08:40 AM
He’s had very little to do in them, to be honest. He may be good.

Hes also certainly not the first team ready player that we were needing.

That’s fair…but looks comfortable at our level….I’d be happy to see him start if required

13-11-2022, 08:41 AM
Ditch the scapegoat, keep the issue. Got it.

The issue owns the club. The only way you get rid of him is if you boycott. You up for that?

13-11-2022, 08:41 AM

Is he a more credible option than a 36 year old who has tried to retire though?

If so, he's an upgrade (no disrespect to McGregor who I don't think wants to be in this position but whose excellent attitude to doing what it takes when called upon leaves him in it).

And remarkable improvements can happen in young players who get a change of scenery within a year. Has Nathan Wood not gone from being a youthful no hoper with us to starting every week for Swansea in the Championship?

13-11-2022, 08:42 AM
The issue owns the club. The only way you get rid of him is if you boycott. You up for that?

Not far off, and I’d imagine that we’ll soon see with attendances that others may follow.

Either way, whether or not you like LJ, the same people who appointed him and Maloney will be likely recruiting the next manager. After the way our last two appointments we’ve got, they won’t be picking from a very good pool of talent.

13-11-2022, 08:43 AM
Didn’t we hump Clyde 5-0?I don't favour sacking the manager just now as I believe the problem currently lies elsewhere whoever the manager is but I can't believe our slick CEO and marketing machine haven't announced the DVD of the immortal 5-0 humping of Clyde. Xmas is coming.

13-11-2022, 08:58 AM
Not far off, and I’d imagine that we’ll soon see with attendances that others may follow.

Either way, whether or not you like LJ, the same people who appointed him and Maloney will be likely recruiting the next manager. After the way our last two appointments we’ve got, they won’t be picking from a very good pool of talent.

I actually think Johnson could have been decent. He has done better with that midfield than I thought he would so fair play to him. Nothing against the guy at all. He may go on to do well elsewhere but he’s made his bed here. He failed on sept 1st when he didn’t sign a couple of centre mids.

13-11-2022, 09:02 AM
We will still be quoting 15000 crowds even if most of us don't bother turning up.

Ron won't see the problem, as we have increased revenues on the commercial side - which, I now think, is all he is interested in.

13-11-2022, 09:03 AM
I actually think Johnson could have been decent. He has done better with that midfield than I thought he would so fair play to him. Nothing against the guy at all. He may go on to do well elsewhere but he’s made his bed here. He failed on sept 1st when he didn’t sign a couple of centre mids.

And again, that comes down to how much you believe that was his fault, and how much a wine salesman can know about recruitment in the Scottish Premiership.

13-11-2022, 09:12 AM

What I can't get my head around, is that pretty much our entire fan base can see the problems, but those in charge can't.

How is that even possible? RG's been here for 3 or 4 years. He must have a better understanding of the game now than when he arrived. He must see what we see?

Previously, he said that we carried out a thorough process to identify LJ, had a 6 hour interview, and that he was 100% the right man for the job.

Now he needs to get us out of this mess without totally losing face. That means splashing the cash in January or, more likely, shifting the blame to someone else and ditching BK and LJ.

Either way, it doesn't look good for us for the next few years unless he brings someone in to help with recruiting LJs replacement. Or they might just promote Steve Keane as he's done ok with the youths.

chippy
13-11-2022, 09:14 AM

Correct

13-11-2022, 09:18 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IkK_PxeoQ2g

13-11-2022, 09:21 AM
And again, that comes down to how much you believe that was his fault, and how much a wine salesman can know about recruitment in the Scottish Premiership.

I don’t believe or disbelieve anything about how signings are made. It’s all speculation.
All I know, is that the manager and the chairman agree that the manager has final say on the signings. They have both stated this publicly. So the manager has to go.

13-11-2022, 09:24 AM
I don’t believe or disbelieve anything about how signings are made. It’s all speculation.
All I know, is that the manager and the chairman agree that the manager has final say on the signings. They have both stated this publicly. So the manager has to go.

You think the manager would call out the owner’s son for being a ****ing idiot?

Reality has to line up with what’s said, and I don’t believe that Maloney then Johnson would have been delighted with our business.

13-11-2022, 09:29 AM
You think the manager would call out the owner’s son for being a ****ing idiot?

Reality has to line up with what’s said, and I don’t believe that Maloney then Johnson would have been delighted with our business.

They haven’t said they weren’t? Until someone comes out and says something then people are just guessing. If Johnson is too scared to say anything then he’s no good to us anyway. Someone that lacking in backbone is never going to be a successful manager.

13-11-2022, 09:40 AM
They haven’t said they weren’t? Until someone comes out and says something then people are just guessing. If Johnson is too scared to say anything then he’s no good to us anyway. Someone that lacking in backbone is never going to be a successful manager.

He’s probably be fired for this unfortunately
Privately probably would love to say it though

13-11-2022, 09:43 AM

He should be resigning over it. No manager worth his salt accepts the working conditions that people on here are describing.

13-11-2022, 09:44 AM

Depends on why he's scared to say it.

If it's because we have an idiot owner who only knows hire and fire and he knows that speaking out of line will get him his jotters then he'd be justified to be scared.

That's different to being lacking in backbone.

Paulie Walnuts
13-11-2022, 09:59 AM

He’s not signed a team of duds. There’s another ****ing idiot at the club that’s done that for numerous windows now.

13-11-2022, 10:01 AM
He should be resigning over it. No manager worth his salt accepts the working conditions that people on here are describing.

Probably, but maybe he thinks he can fit it

13-11-2022, 10:07 AM

None of them say a word, probably have some NDA clause in their termination agreement. Like so much in football its about cash.

It would be nice if someone came out and said something. At the moment there are too many rumours about what does and doesnt go on at Hibs and its really unhealthy.

The only area in the football side that seems to be vaguely functioning as it should is the Academy under SK.

13-11-2022, 10:11 AM

Was he screaming out our was it thinly veiled?

13-11-2022, 10:45 AM

If what was said on the private board, then Maloney spoke out against him and you know what happened there.

13-11-2022, 10:46 AM
Probably, but maybe he thinks he can fit it

There are also quite a lot of dysfunctional football clubs out there.

Any manager sitting waiting on the perfect job coming along will be waiting a long time.

Every job they take they'll realise that there will be frustrations and countless imperfections and that if they fail there they will do their future career prospects great harm.

13-11-2022, 11:14 AM

Wideo - Dirk Lehman saying video?

13-11-2022, 11:18 AM

Come on Ozy, the manager new exactly what system he was coming in to. There’s not a chance in hell he come here otherwise.

13-11-2022, 11:19 AM
Also remember we sent a good prospect in McClelland out loan to bring a worse young player in Fish.

I'm betting you have that the wrong way round

13-11-2022, 11:21 AM
The good thing is if you don't like Johnson's replacement you won't have to wait long until the next next manager.

I think the Johnson era is drawing to a close. I just hope whoever appointed him and whatever robust process we had in place is nowhere near the next appointment. Maybe the Deloitte guys who prepared the report on Scottish football could be engaged again by Gordon to do some work a wee bit closer to home. Something is far wrong when you are churning through 3 managers in a year. When the managers office had a revolving door under Petrie there was near universal agreement there were issues and he belatedly rectified some of them. It's worse than ever now but it just seems a litany of excuses for the owner and his failing system.

13-11-2022, 11:27 AM
Relegation stats those. That’s what it’s going to take for Ron Gordon to wake up unfortunately.

Add in the other stat of points won in 90 minute matches v 11 men and it's pretty sobering;

Celtic - 39
Rangers - 29
Livingston - 22
Hearts - 21
St Mirren - 20
Aberdeen - 19
St Johnstone - 18
Ross County - 15
Kilmarnock - 14
Dundee Utd - 12
Motherwell - 11
Hibs - 7

02-01-2023, 04:05 PM
Anyone actually still wanting him?

Take several of the players with you. Soft as anything and simply not good enough.

Hibernian need to grow a back bone. Mentally we are so weak.

Feels like our club has been taken away from us.

02-01-2023, 04:16 PM
considering LJs comments about recruitment recently I reckon hes gone tomorrow and has lined up his excuses