View Full Version : Coming soon, 50yr anniversary

02-11-2022, 05:47 PM
The 50th anniversary of our 7-0 hammering of the jambos is on the 1st of January 2023.
I'm hoping the lucky fans who have tickets for the next Derby will take some comfort in reminding them at the game. :thumbsup:

mikefadge
02-11-2022, 06:45 PM
Has that sale already happened??

02-11-2022, 07:01 PM
The 50th anniversary of our 7-0 hammering of the jambos is on the 1st of January 2023.
I'm hoping the lucky fans who have tickets for the next Derby will take some comfort in reminding them at the game. :thumbsup:

This has us making a c*** of it, written all over it.

02-11-2022, 07:11 PM
Remember the next game after the 7 0 game guys with 7 0 flags and banners getting arrested. Guy next to us got arrested for having a 7 0 flag, police were completely out of order that day.

02-11-2022, 07:23 PM

Loving the optimism:flag:

02-11-2022, 07:30 PM
Reminds me of the time Ian Murray dyed 7-0 on the back of his head for a derby we went on to lose.

02-11-2022, 07:32 PM
Reminds me of the time Ian Murray dyed 7-0 on the back of his head for a derby we went on to lose.

No we never 😩But we did manage to be 4-2 up in stoppage time and no win 🥴

02-11-2022, 07:34 PM

Was 4-4. it was “1973” he had in his hair

02-11-2022, 08:20 PM
Remember the next game after the 7 0 game guys with 7 0 flags and banners getting arrested. Guy next to us got arrested for having a 7 0 flag, police were completely out of order that day.

was that the next derby when we lost 4-1?

02-11-2022, 08:21 PM

hahaha. Probably.

who cares. They won’t beat us 7-0 that’s for sure.

02-11-2022, 08:52 PM
was that the next derby when we lost 4-1?
Yes it was that one. Even the Hearts fans beside us on the terracing thought the police were out of order.

02-11-2022, 08:59 PM
I’m 52, so because I have no memories of the momentous occasion, it felt as far back in the past when tormenting Hearts fans at school about the scoreline 10 years later, as it does now 50 years down the line!

02-11-2022, 09:04 PM
https://youtu.be/ppM_MbCh4cA
For those who were not there. Watch and enjoy.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

ClermistonGreen
02-11-2022, 09:08 PM
Fortunately, I was there at 13 years if age lol :thumbsup:

02-11-2022, 09:11 PM
https://youtu.be/ppM_MbCh4cA
For those who were not there. Watch and enjoy.

should have been at least eight, if not double figures. That Stanton shot.., I’ve no idea how he kept it out.

02-11-2022, 11:18 PM
Best ever 7-0 banner was at Tynie.

After The Hurricane came back from 7 nil doon to defeat The Nugget in the 83-84 UK Championships.

It read.... At least Higgins can come back from 7-0

cocteautwin
03-11-2022, 05:53 AM
How very appropriate that it's the number 50. The same number of £ millions that Hearts will have spent of fans and Anderson's extra money before they can win a trophy (if they don't win the Scottish Cup this season).

03-11-2022, 12:22 PM
Toasts at 3.09, 3.15, 3.26, 3.35, 3.37, 4.11, 4.30.
P*shed!

03-11-2022, 12:28 PM
50th anniversary of the League Cup win on December (the 9th) comes up first, that's worth commemorating too. I was 8 years old and in Hibees heaven, damn shame my auld man didn't take me to the game though. My youngest laddie's birthday too, aptly named Patrick Stanton Taylor (sorry for mentioning this for about the hundredth time, still can't believe I got away with it with the ex)

G15 Hibs
03-11-2022, 01:02 PM
Was 4-4. it was “1973” he had in his hair

The fact that that game was the 30th anniversary is terrifying enough in itself. 20 years??

03-11-2022, 02:59 PM

time to tear up the script but many of us have seen those movies over the year… crap state of affairs

Power
21-12-2022, 07:41 PM
https://youtu.be/J3_uhMX2DQo

Nil Seven

A special feature-length documentary to mark the 50th anniversary of Hibernian's famous Edinburgh Derby victory over Hearts on New Year's Day, 1973.

21-12-2022, 09:07 PM

Nil Seven

A special feature-length documentary to mark the 50th anniversary of Hibernian's famous Edinburgh Derby victory over Hearts on New Year's Day, 1973.

Thanks for posting

Really enjoyed that

The best brand of football the world’s ever seen

What a team that was totally different gravy

My auld man used to say the same about the Famous Five

Trinity Hibee
21-12-2022, 10:01 PM
Enjoyed that. Oh to have been a Hibs fan in those days. If there was one team I could go back to watch it would be that one.

Halmyre Hibee
21-12-2022, 10:07 PM
Great memories of a fantastic era to watch Hibs. Just wish I hadn’t went to the New Year parties in our stair and missed the game. Listened to the second half on the radio after a neighbour chapped our door to say it was 5 nil. Didn’t believe him so went to his party. What a day. Couldn’t find any of my Hearts pals for days.

h1bs4life
21-12-2022, 11:00 PM

Nil Seven

Thanks for posting the link , fantastic memories of a great day.
Like one of the guys interviewed my 1st Derby was 1968 incredible to think there were only 2 derby defeats in the next 15 years.
Didn't realise that was the last time the Tornadoes played together .
Some great stories about how close they were as a team great characters.
Spoiled as that was the team I was brought up with thought it was always going to be like that.
Was at an audience with the Tornadoes during the festival and then at the 50 year anniversary dinner at Easter Road , had a good chat with Stanton, Blackley and Brownlie and some cracking photos .
Great in house production from the Hibs media team

CL0762
22-12-2022, 09:41 AM
Can remember phoning my Grandad from the pitch at Hampden that day in May, trying to find him in the crowd.

‘We’ve done it, we’ve finally done it’.

‘Aye, it’s no 7-0 at Tynecastle though is it?’

Nothing topped this game for him, absolutely nothing.

22-12-2022, 09:53 AM

Nil Seven

Thanks for posting. That was a joy to watch over again. Was in their enclosure under the main stand that day, but missed wee Jimmy's first goal because of the queues waiting to get in. Absolutely magnificent performance from us that day. Never to be forgotten.

22-12-2022, 11:24 AM
:sofa:

I dread to think what will happen if our current team go two-nil down at Tiny early on.

22-12-2022, 12:41 PM

That's the spirit

22-12-2022, 03:58 PM

Nil Seven

Just watched this. Really is fantastic, well worth a watch and class to hear from the players.

22-12-2022, 04:53 PM
Just finished watching it. Absolutely fantastic, brilliantly put together. I'm 34 so it was before my time, but having seen so much footage and heard so many stories I probably feel as big a part of it and proud of it as if I had been there.

Just watching that documentary has brought it all to the fore and it was fantastic hearing some of the little stories about the day and game and seeing footage I hadn't before. It genuinely looked like it could have been about 11 or 12 that day!

Few favorites in particular were the Hibs fans singing to their 'we are the Gorgie boys'.....🎵ah 1, ah 2, ah 3 ah 4 ah 5, ah 1, ah 2, ah 3 ah 4 ah 5, we'll beat the Jam Tarts any day as sure as you're alive🎵

And then the referee having a word with Pat Stanton and telling him he better have a word with Alex Edward's because if he continues to sing the Jingle Bells song along with the Hibs fans he's going to have to book him 😂😂

🎵Jingle Bells Jingle Bells Jingle All The Way, Oh What Fun It Is To Beat The Hearts On New Years Day Oh🎵

22-12-2022, 08:01 PM
https://youtu.be/y3KEhWTnWvE
As BILLYHIBS says those were the days my friends we thought they'd never end.
Best month watching Hibs rounded off with a wee victory at the dump

zitelli62
22-12-2022, 10:47 PM
Just watched it one of the best hibs films in fact the best hibs film I've ever seen the content and the interviews were brilliant well done to whoever made this brilliant.

23-12-2022, 07:25 AM
Really enjoyed watching the greatest game in history in glorious technicolour

Their camaraderie and humour reminded me of a Beatles movie

Highly recommended

23-12-2022, 10:56 AM

Nil Seven

Fantastic thanks for sharing.

31-12-2022, 07:02 PM

Nil Seven

Just a wee bump again for this

Fifty years ago today (in a few hours) the greatest game in history took place

Happy New Year a’body

31-12-2022, 07:16 PM
Just a wee bump again for this

Fifty years ago today (in a few hours) the greatest game in history took place

Happy New Year a’body
Eddie Turnbull thought he was in heaven when Alan Gordon made it number seven.

31-12-2022, 07:31 PM
Eddie Turnbull thought he was in heaven when Alan Gordon made it number seven.

Aye that morning the New Years Day Movie was Zorro starring Tyrone Power

Z

https://youtu.be/lQnle_3KuOE

h1bs4life
31-12-2022, 08:05 PM
Can mind on the way home some of the older Hibs fans signing Daniel Boone Beautiful Sunday changing the day to Monday , the 2nd line being ‘ I think I’ll take a walk in the park hey hey hey what a beautiful day ‘

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DwjuKhBIIIQ

Where has the last 50 years gone ?

Up-the-slope
31-12-2022, 10:56 PM
just watched that and got a bit teary ..... hope to see even a performance close to that monday

01-01-2023, 12:03 AM
Just watched this. Really is fantastic, well worth a watch and class to hear from the players.

Fantastic watch. Happy 50th anniversary.

01-01-2023, 12:13 AM
Fantastic watch. Happy 50th anniversary.

So good eh!! I'll be (foolishly) watching it again before Monday!

01-01-2023, 09:46 AM
It was New Year’s Day babe
Across at Tynie
An old man said to me, won't see another one
And then he sang a song
The Glory Hibees tune
I turned my face away
And dreamed a win for him

Then Jimmy scored the first
Came in at seven nil
Oh what a feeling