View Full Version : why are season ticket holders denied free PPV?

familyman
01-11-2022, 08:41 PM
I see ABERDEEN ON RED TV grant free access to ppv for season ticket holders who cannot attend this weeks game,why are Hibs not doing similar for our home games ..I asked before renewing but got no respose...
any thoughts?

01-11-2022, 08:45 PM
Coz season ticket or not some folk look out the window see it's raining and go bugger that .... probably increase that number by about 20% if folk can just log on and watch the game on their laptop, I presume Hibs prefer to have folk actually in the stadium to support the team.

01-11-2022, 08:55 PM
I see ABERDEEN ON RED TV grant free access to ppv for season ticket holders who cannot attend this weeks game,why are Hibs not doing similar for our home games ..I asked before renewing but got no respose...
any thoughts?

They are only doing it as it's Friday night.

They don't do it every week.

01-11-2022, 08:59 PM
any thoughts?

Where are you seeing that?

Left it a bit late renewing did you not?

01-11-2022, 09:04 PM
any thoughts?Can we buy the game then?

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

01-11-2022, 09:10 PM
Can we buy the game then?

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

I'm not sure where the poster has their information from. I can't see this advertised anywhere.

01-11-2022, 09:29 PM
Looks to be audio only for those based in the UK regardless of whether they hold an ST at Pittodrie or not.

01-11-2022, 09:31 PM
any thoughts?

Because our season tickets are for us to attend games and support the team in person.

I probably miss 6-8 games each season and don't expect Hibs to do anything to make it up to me.

01-11-2022, 09:41 PM
I'm not sure where the poster has their information from. I can't see this advertised anywhere.

Yeah. Looks like duff info. No upcoming ppv events.
https://i.ibb.co/ZNQ1tq9/Screenshot-20221101-223207-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/R7X4ZR8)

monarch
01-11-2022, 09:45 PM
Is it not a Sky directive that prevents PPV for home based residents ? They hold the exclusive contract for broadcasting of SPFL premier league games. They relaxed this rule during Covid but as far as I am aware it was reimposed once things settled down.
Maybe Aberdeen are just announcing it to overseas based supporters.

01-11-2022, 09:59 PM
I thought the rules were relaxed due to Covid bans on attending matches.

01-11-2022, 10:07 PM
I thought the rules were relaxed due to Covid bans on attending matches.

That stopped but then at the end of Sep it was announced each club could do 5 ppv matches, that are not being broadcast on Sky.

https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/sky-sports-confirm-new-spfl-25115073

01-11-2022, 10:09 PM
any thoughts?

Because we actually want people to be attending games. It was clearly a short term thing due to Covid, was never going to be here for the long haul.

01-11-2022, 10:10 PM
Is it not a Sky directive that prevents PPV for home based residents ? They hold the exclusive contract for broadcasting of SPFL premier league games. They relaxed this rule during Covid but as far as I am aware it was reimposed once things settled down.

I watched Hibs v St Johnstone last week on PPV. It cost £10.

01-11-2022, 10:12 PM

Each club can show up to 5 home games per season on PPV under the new TV deal that was announced a few weeks ago as long as the game isn't being played at 3pm on a Saturday and hasn't been picked by Sky.

In theory Friday's match meets the above criteria but it's not been picked yet.

02-11-2022, 06:01 AM
Each club can show up to 5 home games per season on PPV under the new TV deal that was announced a few weeks ago as long as the game isn't being played at 3pm on a Saturday and hasn't been picked by Sky.

Would assume Aberdeen would possibly wait until nearer kick off time so people buy tickets rather than watch on ppv.

02-11-2022, 07:33 AM
Would assume Aberdeen would possibly wait until nearer kick off time so people buy tickets rather than watch on ppv.

Yep possibly although Kilmarnock are playing Livingston on Friday night too and they have already said the match won't be on PPV.

Yorkshire HFC
02-11-2022, 09:25 AM
The future is a screen on a mobile phone - it's not losing +4 hours sitting in a freezing concrete stand. Football will need to wake up to this at some point.

I wish every game was available live on the internet - it will happen.

But clubs need to get ahead of the game and work out how they can prosper in that scenario.

02-11-2022, 09:42 AM
The future is a screen on a mobile phone - it's not losing +4 hours sitting in a freezing concrete stand. Football will need to wake up to this at some point.

But clubs need to get ahead of the game and work out how they can prosper in that scenario.

The future is football without a live audience?

Yorkshire HFC
02-11-2022, 09:57 AM
The future is football without a live audience?

Hopefully not - but I think that's where the growth of the game is.

02-11-2022, 10:15 AM

There is no future for football when that happens. You may as well just watch AI games in the metaverse.

02-11-2022, 10:29 AM

I agree to an extent. The explosion of the EPL has largely been driven by the huge overseas markets. The days of football clubs at the top level being reliant on local fanbases and bums on seats is gone and as always there will be a trickle down effect (largely that will be young fans remotely 'supporting' PSG, Real Madrid or Man City rather than Aberdeen, Hearts or Hibs).

I'm not sure we will ever see football played without fans as standard but I do think clubs will increasingly look to play games outwith their traditional homes. Would anyone be that surprised if a Champions league Final was played in Saudi Arabia or Dubai in the next decade? I'm sure there was also talk of the EPL adding an additional overseas round of fixtures, it didn't advance at the time but I'm certain it will be revisited. You only have to look at the International Series in the NFL with teams giving up home games to play in Mexico, England or Germany. The latter 2 provide all kinds of disadvantages due to time zones and travel time but teams evidently feel it's worthwhile.

I think the issue is that whilst there is huge demand for international PPV to watch Man Utd, Liverpool, Barcelona or Bayern Munich that doesn't drop down to our place in the pecking order. It's a huge additional revenue stream for these clubs through their media partners and if it was opened up to UK subscribers it would be even more so, for clubs like us it just means a few people who might have paid £28 or whatever to watch us live pay £10 to watch us on their couch instead. There's no market either at home or overseas to watch Hibs on PPV (the current small number of HibsTV international subscribers excepted).

I agree though that clubs have to look at the direction of travel and look to mitigate the impact (or looking at it positively exploit the opportunities) of the changing nature of football. It's not something unique to football; the way people consume their entertainment has changed and continues to change and 'real fans turn up regardless' isn't going to slow that change and the realities that come with it.

02-11-2022, 10:37 AM
Id pay the same price as a season ticket if it guaranteed I could stream game in England if I couldn't make it to the ground.

I accept offering this looks awful when everyone is watching it at home plus got issues with 3pm blackout in England.

02-11-2022, 11:41 AM
I agree to an extent. The explosion of the EPL has largely been driven by the huge overseas markets. The days of football clubs at the top level being reliant on local fanbases and bums on seats is gone and as always there will be a trickle down effect (largely that will be young fans remotely 'supporting' PSG, Real Madrid or Man City rather than Aberdeen, Hearts or Hibs).

I'm not sure we will ever see football played without fans as standard but I do think clubs will increasingly look to play games outwith their traditional homes. Would anyone be that surprised if a Champions league Final was played in Saudi Arabia or Dubai in the next decade? I'm sure there was also talk of the EPL adding an additional overseas round of fixtures, it didn't advance at the time but I'm certain it will be revisited. You only have to look at the International Series in the NFL with teams giving up home games to play in Mexico, England or Germany. The latter 2 provide all kinds of disadvantages due to time zones and travel time but teams evidently feel it's worthwhile.

I think the issue is that whilst there is huge demand for international PPV to watch Man Utd, Liverpool, Barcelona or Bayern Munich that doesn't drop down to our place in the pecking order. It's a huge additional revenue stream for these clubs through their media partners and if it was opened up to UK subscribers it would be even more so, for clubs like us it just means a few people who might have paid £28 or whatever to watch us live pay £10 to watch us on their couch instead. There's no market either at home or overseas to watch Hibs on PPV (the current small number of HibsTV international subscribers excepted).

I agree though that clubs have to look at the direction of travel and look to mitigate the impact (or looking at it positively exploit the opportunities) of the changing nature of football. It's not something unique to football; the way people consume their entertainment has changed and continues to change and 'real fans turn up regardless' isn't going to slow that change and the realities that come with it.

Of course the difference when it comes to the NFL is that the Green Bay Packers playing the New York Giants at Wembley for example is an attempt to promote and grow awareness of their game to a UK audience, what it is not doing is encroaching on support for UK professional American Football teams that don't exist .... though there have been growing calls for a London 'franchise' on the back of these games.

The difference here is that the likes of the EPL are encroaching on the turf of already established professional clubs and leagues. Liverpool packed out Murrayfield not too long ago for a friendly against Napoli .... In my opinion that game should never have been allowed by the SFA / SPFL or if that was not within their power at the very least they should have voiced their objection to it. This is not Thailand or Australia, the EPL is right on our doorstep with 5 of the biggest clubs based within a few hours travel of the vast majority of our population .... We cannot compete with them financially, the least we should be doing is everything we can to mitigate their aggressive promotion of their product which can be nothing but detrimental to our domestic game.

I wonder what a Liverpool or Arsenal fan would think if went to his local sports shop to find he could buy a Hibs or Aberdeen shirt, but was unable to purchase his own clubs shirt .... That's what happens in Scotland, unless you want an ugly sisters shirt. I can take a 10 minute walk from my house and buy a Man Utd shirt, it's a 90 minute drive to Easter Road if I want a Hibs shirt.

If as one poster has stated the future of football is as a televised product with live crowds becoming a thing of the past the likes of Hibs might as well pack up and go ... if who you support ceases to be a geographical choice and becomes like Eastenders v Coronation Street on the telly all we will be left with is a single European league with 30 odd clubs, not unlike the aforementioned NFL. We have already seen a foiled attempt to do that.

02-11-2022, 12:37 PM
Of course the difference when it comes to the NFL is that the Green Bay Packers playing the New York Giants at Wembley for example is an attempt to promote and grow awareness of their game to a UK audience, what it is not doing is encroaching on support for UK professional American Football teams that don't exist .... though there have been growing calls for a London 'franchise' on the back of these games.

The difference here is that the likes of the EPL are encroaching on the turf of already established professional clubs and leagues. Liverpool packed out Murrayfield not too long ago for a friendly against Napoli .... In my opinion that game should never have been allowed by the SFA / SPFL or if that was not within their power at the very least they should have voiced their objection to it. This is not Thailand or Australia, the EPL is right on our doorstep with 5 of the biggest clubs based within a few hours travel of the vast majority of our population .... We cannot compete with them financially, the least we should be doing is everything we can to mitigate their aggressive promotion of their product which can be nothing but detrimental to our domestic game.

I wonder what a Liverpool or Arsenal fan would think if went to his local sports shop to find he could buy a Hibs or Aberdeen shirt, but was unable to purchase his own clubs shirt .... That's what happens in Scotland, unless you want an ugly sisters shirt. I can take a 10 minute walk from my house and buy a Man Utd shirt, it's a 90 minute drive to Easter Road if I want a Hibs shirt.

If as one poster has stated the future of football is as a televised product with live crowds becoming a thing of the past the likes of Hibs might as well pack up and go ... if who you support ceases to be a geographical choice and becomes like Eastenders v Coronation Street on the telly all we will be left with is a single European league with 30 odd clubs, not unlike the aforementioned NFL. We have already seen a foiled attempt to do that.

I agree, I don't like what I envisage but I think the direction of travel is clear.

You only have to look at the disintegration of the fanbases of clubs like Dunfermline and East Fife to see how quickly it can happen. Hibs and Hearts both celebrate their 150th anniversaries in the next couple to years, would I be willing to put money on us, and many other clubs like us, seeing a 200th anniversary at the rate the globalisation as football is happening? I'm not sure I would.

02-11-2022, 01:16 PM
I agree, I don't like what I envisage but I think the direction of travel is clear.

You only have to look at the disintegration of the fanbases of clubs like Dunfermline and East Fife to see how quickly it can happen. Hibs and Hearts both celebrate their 150th anniversaries in the next couple to years, would I be willing to put money on us, and many other clubs like us, seeing a 200th anniversary at the rate the globalisation as football is happening? I'm not sure I would.

Sadly I have to agree mate. This is a sport ruled by money and greed and unless a way is found to change that it's only going to go one way. If folk think that's not possible just try to imagine Hibs trying to get involved in a movement that could damage the future of the most successful league in the world, a league they were part of, and yet that is exactly what some of England's biggest clubs got themselves embroiled in just last year. In a scenario where huge clubs like Newcastle United and Everton were seen as an afterthought, what hope would there be for the likes of us?

When you have clubs like Real Madrid and Juventus only too willing to see the demise of the leagues they have played in for a hundred years anybody who thinks the globalisation of football isn't a curse and the biggest threat it faces is kidding themselves .... this is not going away.

02-11-2022, 01:23 PM
I watched Hibs v St Johnstone last week on PPV. It cost £10.
I think Hibs only opened up this option once the game was heading for a sell out. I assume it is one of our 5 games.

02-11-2022, 01:24 PM
On the PPV tv thing, I (and some others) were at a Hibs Fans "focus group" thing a while back (might have been pre covid, how time flies when you get auld........) and the marketing guys doing the work for Ron were talking about this very thing.

They reckoned that - EPL deals excepted - many leagues around europe were open to the idea of PPV at normal game time.

The example used was (iirc?) Italy where its been in use for years, and there was no drop off in the "in stadium" attendance.

I guess that where they are coming from is that, while "fans" will always want to go for the experience, some - maybe older, maybe not local - will want to watch on TV.

It was an interesting chat, no idea if it will go anywhere................but I have to say that you would think that the advent of IPTV would perhaps make clubs look closer at cheap PPV deals at game time.

I guess some people might say it devalues the Season Ticket - one of the things these guys said was that our STs (in Scotland, not Hibs) were too expensive anyway, and that obviously the solution to that was improved commercial deals for the league and tv.

monarch
02-11-2022, 01:38 PM

Didn’t realise that. Thanks for the info.

Sheep_Nae_Mair
02-11-2022, 03:06 PM

Aberdeen PPV now available for Friday at £13.99.

02-11-2022, 03:08 PM
Iptv

02-11-2022, 05:16 PM
Aberdeen PPV now available for Friday at £13.99.

Great thanks for the update.

familyman
02-11-2022, 09:31 PM
Thanks guys,just to say i would always try to go to game of course but due to other factors sometimes cannot go hence question as Aberdeen season ticket holders seem to get it on streaming ,surely all clubs should be same re this type of thing ,but hey it is what it is at least a few ppv will be coming up for away matches

02-11-2022, 09:52 PM
Thanks guys,just to say i would always try to go to game of course but due to other factors sometimes cannot go hence question as Aberdeen season ticket holders seem to get it on streaming ,surely all clubs should be same re this type of thing ,but hey it is what it is at least a few ppv will be coming up for away matches

You haven't clarified where you saw it was free for Aberdeen ST holders. You just complained about Hibs not doing it too when it actually appears you were talking nonsense. Now you're complaining that all clubs should be the same as Aberdeen re this type of thing which seems to be more nonsense because Aberdeen aren't doing anything different. Unless you can show us otherwise.