View Full Version : Favourite view of Easter Road

28-10-2022, 12:53 PM
What is everyone's favourite view or picture of Easter Road?

I'm up Salisbury Crags at the moment and I love how our stadium proudly rises up above the buildings surrounding it. When you look west all you can see of Tynecastle is a few white beams in the shadow of a huge Murrayfield.

My second favourite is looking out of the plane when coming into Edinburgh airport but the stadium looks pretty decent from all angles these days

28-10-2022, 01:25 PM
From my seat, when we score.

28-10-2022, 01:31 PM
I've always thought it looks great while walking up St Clair Street. FF and East Stand look massive.

28-10-2022, 01:51 PM
I've always thought it looks great while walking up St Clair Street. FF and East Stand look massive.

That’s one of mines too.

You used to be able to see the stadium from Hawthorn Vale, that was my favourite view.

ClermistonGreen
28-10-2022, 02:00 PM
From the bottom of my empty lager glass after 8 pints in the Hibs club !
:thumbsup: :flag:🍻

28-10-2022, 02:10 PM
I love looking out from the east stand, and seeing the forth bridge, the northern lights and of course the castle. :greengrin

St Clair street always gives me a tingle when walking up. :top marks

28-10-2022, 02:15 PM
It used to be from the top of the huge east terracing, but now for the same view you need a aeroplane.

Any balcony will do now.

OldEast
28-10-2022, 02:16 PM
Another vote for St Clair street

28-10-2022, 02:18 PM
I like all the views you get where a bit of the stadium pokes out of the urban landscape. The vue from Carlton Hill is great too

Fuzzywuzzy
28-10-2022, 02:21 PM
Thing that would make a massive difference is a mural of the famous five on the wall space between the ff and the west.

stuart-farquhar
28-10-2022, 02:29 PM
Thing that would make a massive difference is a mural of the famous five on the wall space between the ff and the west.

The view from the John Lewis cafe is good.

28-10-2022, 02:29 PM

:top marks Good idea, and it would be less cost than a statue.

Wonder if HSL could fund this?

28-10-2022, 02:44 PM
My favourite view is an empty away end after humping Hearts

BS44
28-10-2022, 02:59 PM
Cracking views from Arthur's Seat.

headshrinker
28-10-2022, 03:11 PM
When I was a kid way back in the mid sixties and after a close season that seemed to last forever. I remember the excitement of going to the first game of the season at Easter Road. It didn’t matter if it was a friendly, the league cup or a league game, as far as I was concerned I was going to the best place in the world on match day one. My pals and I would be at the turnstiles in the car park at the back of the East Terracing before they opened. I remember the noise of the key turning and then the turnstile door opening yessssss. Once through I would run up the stairways all the way to the top. I would stand and look down on a perfect green football pitch, the main stand, the cave and the empty terracing.
I did this several times while the table top was there. It is my favourite view of Easter Road especially the first game of a new season and thankfully still vivid in my mind. Oh the nostalgia :flag::flag::flag:

He's here!
28-10-2022, 03:31 PM
The ground was a dump but I used to like being able to see Arthur's Seat from the East terracing.

My dad used to like this old frontage, with the harp:

https://www.change.org/p/reinstate-the-harp-at-easter-road-stadium

zitelli62
28-10-2022, 03:37 PM
The view from the John Lewis cafe is good.

Great view Sticks out like a beacon.

28-10-2022, 03:51 PM
Coming into land at Edinburgh Airport as the plane turns left over the Forth. Especially if in the evening and the lights are on.

28-10-2022, 04:02 PM
When walking to game through Lochend Park midweek and the juxtaposition of the old warehouse with the “Dunbar” lettering and the tops of the illuminated modern stands is always a sight to behold and never fails to excite.

itslegaltender
28-10-2022, 08:08 PM
I love picking out Easter Road when you fly back into Edinburgh coming in over the Forth. Magnificent sight.

28-10-2022, 08:15 PM
The flashes down the colonies streets when you're going along London Road.

Donegal Hibby
28-10-2022, 11:22 PM
Everyone of your suggestions on the view of Easter Road are brilliant .I've always loved being in Easter Road for a match at night with the lights on , it's really is something special though I've always quite liked this one too with the clown Hibs must have got in to entertain us during the game .

https://images.app.goo.gl/xB2QBpFCmxNd9jq59

28-10-2022, 11:41 PM
The ground was a dump but I used to like being able to see Arthur's Seat from the East terracing.

I love the FF upper for that same reason

29-10-2022, 08:47 PM
I’ve posted this dozens of times before, but the sight of ER from Calton Hill is pretty much the reason I’m a Hibs fan

My favourite view though is as you follow the bend in Albion Road and the FF Stand comes in to view. Even better when it had the massive David Gray banner

Lendo
30-10-2022, 08:42 AM

Mine
Available on Etsy 😏

vuefrom1875
31-10-2022, 08:04 AM

I'm up Salisbury Crags at the moment and I love how our stadium proudly rises up above the buildings surrounding it. When you look west all you can see of Tynecastle is a few white beams in the shadow of a huge Murrayfield.

My second favourite is looking out of the plane when coming into Edinburgh airport but the stadium looks pretty decent from all angles these days

Craig Gordon picking the ball oot the net.

I'm Spartacus
31-10-2022, 01:46 PM
When I worked in town I would take my scooter up Arthurs Seat at lunch time, park and walk up and look over while scoffing my lunch. An absolute beauty of a view.

UPDATE: What a memory. My scooter was temperamental and about 100 yards from where I would park it it gave up the ghost, so I pushed it and parked up, this had happened quite a few times and was always a pain to get it looked at. It looked retro as **** and I would always get folk asking about it, anyway, I'm sitting on the grass having my lunch and wondering what to do, when I notice a lad having a look at it, obviously fancies a bit of a theft, I just sit and watch as he's got no chance and I don't fancy getting into a scrap with over a bike that will need put into a van and repaired, easily 15 minutes go by and he's trying to look like a concerned owner, next thing he gets it started! I've never moved as fast in my life :) I managed to get there and save the bike and was able to keep it going to get myself back to work.

Sorry for the random story.

31-10-2022, 02:57 PM
I’ve posted this dozens of times before, but the sight of ER from Calton Hill is pretty much the reason I’m a Hibs fan

My favourite view though is as you follow the bend in Albion Road and the FF Stand comes in to view. Even better when it had the massive David Gray banner

The view at the turn from Albion Road into Albion Place. Feels like coming home, every single time. And on a weekday night...spine tingling.

31-10-2022, 05:11 PM
The excitement when you climb stairs etc and you see the pitch for the first time.

31-10-2022, 09:16 PM

Standing at the top of the huge terrace you'd get a rare view of the Forth. It was frequently better than the play on offer down below! The old stand was great when the Hibees chant got going.

I'm not keen on the new concrete and steel stadium but it obviously had to be done.

31-10-2022, 09:31 PM
Standing at the top of the huge terrace you'd get a rare view of the Forth. It was frequently better than the play on offer down below! The old stand was great when the Hibees chant got going.

I'm not keen on the new concrete and steel stadium but it obviously had to be done.

I remember the din of the feet drumming on the wooden stand floors ( especially coming from the North Stand) when Hibs began the down the slope onslaught.

31-10-2022, 09:44 PM
Top 3 for me would be

Arthur's Seat
Calton Hill
And one of the side streets with the steps on London Road, not sure the name.

I didn't get a tiny glimpse of Tynie on the train today but wasn't much to talk about.

03-11-2022, 02:22 PM
I've had an idea for a photo project for a while but have been too busy to start it. The idea is to get Edinburgh Landmarks viewed from different points of the City. Basically a glimpse of a recognisable structure or building. My daughter and I go the same way to ER for every game and she always excitedly points out our first view of ER as we drive along Paisley Crescent. This thread and a day off got the project started today. Not sure if any of the shots will end up in the final cut but I quite like the Dunbar image. Anyways here is an album if anyone is interested. Quite a few of the views mentioned on this thread feature and a few more abstract shots.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/192612307@N07/albums/72177720303384490

03-11-2022, 03:00 PM
I've had an idea for a photo project for a while but have been too busy to start it. The idea is to get Edinburgh Landmarks viewed from different points of the City. Basically a glimpse of a recognisable structure or building. My daughter and I go the same way to ER for every game and she always excitedly points out our first view of ER as we drive along Paisley Crescent. This thread and a day off got the project started today. Not sure if any of the shots will end up in the final cut but I quite like the Dunbar image. Anyways here is an album if anyone is interested. Quite a few of the views mentioned on this thread feature and a few more abstract shots.

Some great shots in there - thanks.

e2los
03-11-2022, 06:17 PM

Brilliant photos, very impressed!
Thanks.

03-11-2022, 06:49 PM

Beautiful those. Thanks for sharing

04-11-2022, 05:00 PM
Wonderful Wookie
The St Clair Street pic really shows size when you see the tenement below the stand
The final pic overlooking the Forth ?
Where was that taken from and which church spire is in the middle ?:greengrin

Very original and unusual views there :aok:

cameronw-hfc
04-11-2022, 06:01 PM
Albion Road as you see the FF and West come into view. Feels like a homecoming every single time.

St Clair street a close second. ER feels massive coming up it

DIXIHIBS
04-11-2022, 06:01 PM
Wonderful Wookie
The St Clair Street pic really shows size when you see the tenement below the stand

The church spire looks like leith st andrews at the bottom of easter road/lochend road?

04-11-2022, 06:05 PM

What a great idea for a thread :aok: I agree, the view from the Crags is tremendous. It also looks great from a few of the seven hills; certainly the Braids and Blackford Hills provide a nice view of the stadium from a distance .

hibstag
05-11-2022, 06:22 PM

At the st Johnstone game the wee one remarked how good sir David would look lit upd
For nightgames

05-11-2022, 07:28 PM
Wonderful Wookie

The final pic is what gave me the idea for the project. That is my first glimpse of ER as I travel to games. Just as you go into Paisley Crescent after Parsons Green Primary is where it is taken from

05-11-2022, 07:50 PM
The church spire looks like leith st andrews at the bottom of easter road/lochend road?

I looked up other pics of St Andrews
looks a wee bit different Its a great photo though, isnt it?

05-11-2022, 07:55 PM
The final pic is what gave me the idea for the project. That is my first glimpse of ER as I travel to games. Just as you go into Paisley Crescent after Parsons Green Primary is where it is taken from

Cheers pal
Reading other comments. your pics are certainly popular and the different view points/locations other posters mention makes it appear that wherever you are above the city, you can see The Holy Ground.
Even from the Castle that can also be seen from the skylounge at tiny :greengrin
If its not cloudy and you are fairly tall !!

I use to walk up Clerry woods (Corstorphine Hill!)a lot when younger and fitter. Use to sneak into Zoo !!
There is a great spot top of the hill above the golf course/zoo's outer fence ,where you can see right down the east coast and the stadium can clearly be seen from there.
Super views .

05-11-2022, 09:06 PM
What a great idea for a thread :aok: I agree, the view from the Crags is tremendous. It also looks great from a few of the seven hills; certainly the Braids and Blackford Hills provide a nice view of the stadium from a distance .

Thought it would be nice to have a positive thread for once! Nice to see folk sharing their viess

Donegal Hibby
05-11-2022, 09:28 PM
There's class , There's top class, And then there's Hibs class.
https://images.app.goo.gl/PpspKX5eKYK6FbBy8

https://images.app.goo.gl/fbiyYABngWMCMqma7

05-11-2022, 09:33 PM

I love this collection of photos, brilliant idea.

My favourite view is the one I’ve got from my kitchen, next to the fridge.

It’s only a glimpse, but it’s part of the reason I’m bringing up a family in a 2 bedroom flat a wee bit longer than I probably should be.

A good few years ago I was at a function at the Royal College of Surgeons. The canteen there was quite high up the building and had a surprisingly good view of ER.

05-11-2022, 11:25 PM
Cheers pal
Reading other comments. your pics are certainly popular and the different view points/locations other posters mention makes it appear that wherever you are above the city, you can see The Holy Ground.
Even from the Castle that can also be seen from the skylounge at tiny :greengrin
If its not cloudy and you are fairly tall !!

I use to walk up Clerry woods (Corstorphine Hill!)a lot when younger and fitter. Use to sneak into Zoo !!
There is a great spot top of the hill above the golf course/zoo's outer fence ,where you can see right down the east coast and the stadium can clearly be seen from there.
Super views . I have that spot marked for future shoots. Need my very long lens for that

06-11-2022, 08:32 AM
I have that spot marked for future shoots. Need my very long lens for that

Aye its a great spot. Been up there countless times over the years. I miss going up there nowadays.

I remember a few years back visiting my brother when he had his holiday home at Pettycur Bay nr Burntisland,over looking the Firth of Forth.
On a clear day,with binoculars,its amazing what landmarks you can identify (in detail) in Leith and the City, including of course ER
You might need NASA equipment to get a good photo shot from there,though !!

Once again,enjoyed the pics and they brought back memories with a smile :greengrin

06-11-2022, 09:28 AM
Aye its a great spot. Been up there countless times over the years. I miss going up there nowadays.

I remember a few years back visiting my brother when he had his holiday home at Pettycur Bay nr Burntisland,over looking the Firth of Forth.
On a clear day,with binoculars,its amazing what landmarks you can identify (in detail) in Leith and the City, including of course ER
You might need NASA equipment to get a good photo shot from there,though !!

Once again,enjoyed the pics and they brought back memories with a smile :greengrin

I'm too late this year but the view from Inchkeith is brilliant but no landings at this time of year. I have equipment that would get a shot from there.

I've also got to try the shots from the other high points in Edinburgh. Getting the conditions to line up with availability is hard. I'm desperate to get a reallly nice shot when the lights are on and darkness is just starting to fall. Even better if there was a bit of colour in the sky. These two are the best I have done so far.

https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/51165939685_d09f890491_h.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/2kXmPgT)Easter Road Semi Final Sunrise (https://flic.kr/p/2kXmPgT) by Simon Wootton (https://www.flickr.com/photos/caughtinamber/), on Flickr

https://live.staticflickr.com/3776/33465430271_50e83f9f5a_h.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/SZe5v6)Easter Road under the Lights (https://flic.kr/p/SZe5v6) by Simon Wootton (https://www.flickr.com/photos/caughtinamber/), on Flickr

LewysGot2
06-11-2022, 09:38 AM
The view at the turn from Albion Road into Albion Place. Feels like coming home, every single time. And on a weekday night...spine tingling.

This. :thumbsup:

06-11-2022, 09:47 AM
I'm too late this year but the view from Inchkeith is brilliant but no landings at this time of year. I have equipment that would get a shot from there.

I've also got to try the shots from the other high points in Edinburgh. Getting the conditions to line up with availability is hard. I'm desperate to get a reallly nice shot when the lights are on and darkness is just starting to fall. Even better if there was a bit of colour in the sky. These two are the best I have done so far.

https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/51165939685_d09f890491_h.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/2kXmPgT)Easter Road Semi Final Sunrise (https://flic.kr/p/2kXmPgT) by Simon Wootton (https://www.flickr.com/photos/caughtinamber/), on Flickr

https://live.staticflickr.com/3776/33465430271_50e83f9f5a_h.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/SZe5v6)Easter Road under the Lights (https://flic.kr/p/SZe5v6) by Simon Wootton (https://www.flickr.com/photos/caughtinamber/), on Flickr

First Class !

:singing:
While the Chief sets Sunrise on Leith :singing: