View Full Version : Dead ball expert

25-10-2022, 07:43 PM
Is there any reason why we struggle to pick up a dead ball expert? I know these guys are rarely available, but we've struggled to have one for a few seasons now. Who was our last one?

I rarely get too excited when we have a free kick just outside the box. When was the last time scored direct from a free kick that wasn't deflected.

25-10-2022, 07:44 PM
Pa Kujabi or Leigh Griffiths eh?

25-10-2022, 07:46 PM
I've always really liked Joe Newell's corners.

Not sure why we ever let anyone else take them when he's in the team.

25-10-2022, 07:48 PM
Mallan?

Think Magennis is meant to be quite handy at set pieces too.

25-10-2022, 07:53 PM
Mallan was good at them. His average/poor play otherwise made him not worth it.

It's really difficult for Hibs to get a quality player who is also excellent at dead balls.

25-10-2022, 07:59 PM
Malian without a doubt was the most recent.

Edit-damn even autocorrect references Amadou Konte. True legend.

25-10-2022, 08:00 PM
Best corner taker I ever saw in a Hibs top was David Zitelli. None of this floating the ball in nonsense, it came in like an Exocet missile and it was a brave bloke that tried to head it

25-10-2022, 08:10 PM
Best corner taker I ever saw in a Hibs top was David Zitelli. None of this floating the ball in nonsense, it came in like an Exocet missile and it was a brave bloke that tried to head it

They were truly phenomenal.

That's the benchmark.

25-10-2022, 08:17 PM

You genuinely felt like he could score with every one

Fergos
25-10-2022, 08:23 PM
Joe McBride

25-10-2022, 08:30 PM

You genuinely felt like he could score with every one

Aye, with a rebound off some poor sod who didn't realise how quickly it came in!

25-10-2022, 08:39 PM
On a separate note why is it that after 3 seasons we’ve only now seemed to realise Joe Newell has a long throw ?

25-10-2022, 09:02 PM
On a separate note why is it that after 3 seasons we’ve only now seemed to realise Joe Newell has a long throw ?Guessing down to the Hibs way. His final game for us Mark Milligan unleashed a bullet from a throw in. Sort of ball we'd been missing with some decent forwards who could take advantage. It's almost like it was beneath us. LJ clearly doesn't care.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

25-10-2022, 09:09 PM
Guessing down to the Hibs way. His final game for us Mark Milligan unleashed a bullet from a throw in. Sort of ball we'd been missing with some decent forwards who could take advantage. It's almost like it was beneath us. LJ clearly doesn't care.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

Find that a bit strange-he had quite a few on Friday.

25-10-2022, 09:10 PM
Mallan was good at them. His average/poor play otherwise made him not worth it.

It's really difficult for Hibs to get a quality player who is also excellent at dead balls.

Why do you always have to have a dig about Mallan?:hilarious

25-10-2022, 09:30 PM

Funny that he scored a screamer in a game we conceded a goal direct from a corner.

Tsartas, Luna's last min header, extra time, hey baby, Colgan flapping at things. That AEK game had it all.

25-10-2022, 09:42 PM
Funny that he scored a screamer in a game we conceded a goal direct from a corner.

Tsartas, Luna's last min header, extra time, hey baby, Colgan flapping at things. That AEK game had it all.

Everything apart from Hibs coming away victorious unfortunately. A glorious failure, I've never understood why some people have it as there favourite Easter Road experience.

Getting back to set piece specialists we had a good period of them from Sauzee signing in 1998, carried on by Riordan & Zemmama through 00's and Griffiths for a spell in early 10's. Mallan apart its been dissapointing since then. Can't remember too many pre Sauzee, maybe have to go back to Joe McBride in the 80's.

McSwanky
25-10-2022, 09:57 PM
Zitelli wasn't bad when someone else took the corners either....

https://youtu.be/X4BDhwReAIc

25-10-2022, 09:59 PM
Everything apart from Hibs coming away victorious unfortunately. A glorious failure, I've never understood why some people have it as there favourite Easter Road experience.

Getting back to set piece specialists we had a good period of them from Sauzee signing in 1998, carried on by Riordan & Zemmama through 00's and Griffiths for a spell in early 10's. Mallan apart its been dissapointing since then. Can't remember too many pre Sauzee, maybe have to go back to Joe McBride in the 80's.

First european game in about 10 years, so a new experience for the bulk of people currently in their 30s.

Full house 'under the lights' and looked like winning the tie with momentum growing throughout the game.

Inches away as normal play ended. And still won on the night as a consolation.

Was a great night. Admittedly, at the time, I didnt realise away goals counted in injury time too so it felt like we were still in the tie for longer.

25-10-2022, 10:53 PM

A bizarre obsession.

cameronw-hfc
25-10-2022, 11:04 PM
Magennis is handy at set pieces, we've just not seen much of it yet. Has a cracking free kick on him

Donegal Hibby
25-10-2022, 11:15 PM
Pa Kujabi or Leigh Griffiths eh?
This is right up there with any free kick taken in the SPL .Did he not score two for Scotland against England too ?
https://youtu.be/J0-_MPKiCiA

26-10-2022, 12:16 AM
Magennis is handy at set pieces, we've just not seen much of it yet. Has a cracking free kick on him

Not sure if using the word cracking with Magennis is tempting fate 😁

26-10-2022, 04:36 AM
A bizarre obsession.

Not at all.

26-10-2022, 04:37 AM

What have I said that is wrong? Think it's a pretty good point actually? It's difficult to find a quality player who is also good at free kicks. Rare at this level.

26-10-2022, 05:55 AM
On a separate note why is it that after 3 seasons we’ve only now seemed to realise Joe Newell has a long throw ?

Apparently Miller has a long throw which is a real weapon, but obviously he’s hardly featured.

zitelli62
26-10-2022, 08:55 AM

As my username says I thought he was great I even called my son David after him though that's cause the wife wasn't keen on mixu.

26-10-2022, 09:02 AM
As my username says I thought he was great I even called my son David after him though that's cause the wife wasn't keen on mixu.

[emoji119][emoji1787][emoji1787]

Yorkshire HFC
26-10-2022, 09:21 AM
Why wouldn’t any one of the team just spend 30 minutes after training practicing taking free kicks and become an expert in a couple of months? Presumably that’s what Beckham, Ronaldo etc. did? I’ve never really understood what all the coaches do.

26-10-2022, 09:26 AM
We should bring in Maulary Martin

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

26-10-2022, 12:12 PM

Rumble de Thump
26-10-2022, 12:25 PM
McGeady

26-10-2022, 06:55 PM
Why wouldn’t any one of the team just spend 30 minutes after training practicing taking free kicks and become an expert in a couple of months? Presumably that’s what Beckham, Ronaldo etc. did? I’ve never really understood what all the coaches do.

Yes, that's what I can't understand.

I'd have thought that footballers would have spent ages perfecting their technique. But, on matchday, up pops one of our players to then ping the ball into the upper tier of the south/FF stand. It's a bit like watching a professional golfer on the 1st tee slicing it miles out of bounds or topping it along the ground.

I know Mallan was mentioned earlier, but I don't recall him scoring that many. Deeks and LG were pretty decent though.

26-10-2022, 07:32 PM

Beckham definitely did, used to spend an extra 30 mins+ just taking free kicks from different angles, made him an expert.

26-10-2022, 07:38 PM

I'd have thought that footballers would have spent ages perfecting their technique. But, on matchday, up pops one of our players to then ping the ball into the upper tier of the south/FF stand. It's a bit like watching a professional golfer on the 1st tee slicing it miles out of bounds or topping it along the ground.

I know Mallan was mentioned earlier, but I don't recall him scoring that many. Deeks and LG were pretty decent though.

Mallan was a much better free kick taker than Griffiths

cameronw-hfc
26-10-2022, 10:01 PM

I'd say better than Deeks as well. Deeks was 5x the overall player, but Mallans the only guy I've seen in a Hibs shirt that would shoot from inline with the centre circle and you'd half expect a goal. Remember he tried it vs Hearts from the best of 40 yards out and forced the keeper into a great save.

There was a period when he just arrived that a free kick within 30 yards was as good as a penalty, seemed to score everytime he took one for a while.

26-10-2022, 10:22 PM
I'd say better than Deeks as well. Deeks was 5x the overall player, but Mallans the only guy I've seen in a Hibs shirt that would shoot from inline with the centre circle and you'd half expect a goal. Remember he tried it vs Hearts from the best of 40 yards out and forced the keeper into a great save.

There was a period when he just arrived that a free kick within 30 yards was as good as a penalty, seemed to score everytime he took one for a while.

After a really good, productive start, he did go cold with the free kicks though and his free kicks weren’t anything special for a good few years towards the end of his time with us (acknowledging that he didn’t play much or take all that many).

First few months he was deadly.

Paulie Walnuts
26-10-2022, 10:24 PM

Not a chance imo.

27-10-2022, 04:17 AM
Not a chance imo.

Did Griffiths even score more than one for Hibs?

27-10-2022, 04:20 AM

Mallan scored a few to start with but was nearly 2 years without one when he left. Riordan scored more than anyone I've seen for us. 8 or 9 free kicks.

27-10-2022, 04:35 AM

Definitely more than one. I can think of two off the top of my head, throw in the Hearts ghost goal for three, and I'm probably missing one as well. A rough four.

27-10-2022, 04:55 AM
Definitely more than one. I can think of two off the top of my head, throw in the Hearts ghost goal for three, and I'm probably missing one as well. A rough four.

One against Dundee as well. So 2, technically 3. Fair enough. He scored a real cracker at Tynie and the 2 for Scotland but I think Mallan was much more a specialist. It basically made his career.

Riordan scored more for Hibs than both combined.

Yorkshire HFC
27-10-2022, 05:11 AM

There was an interview with Liam Henderson saying that's what he did with corners when he was at Hibs - and that turned out okay.

But then he said that he doesn't practice them as much now, so he's not as good at them any more!

I don't understand footballers.

27-10-2022, 05:17 AM
There was an interview with Liam Henderson saying that's what he did with corners when he was at Hibs - and that turned out okay.

But then he said that he doesn't practice them as much now, so he's not as good at them any more!

I don't understand footballers.

Liam took 2 great ones in the final, but wasn't especially great at them otherwise.

To be fair, do you stay 30 minutes after work to practice? I definitely don't. Not all footballers care that much, some don't even like football, some get kicked off the training pitch by the u13s dodgeball team.

27-10-2022, 07:02 AM
One against Dundee as well. So 2, technically 3. Fair enough. He scored a real cracker at Tynie and the 2 for Scotland but I think Mallan was much more a specialist. It basically made his career.

I'm not arguing one way or the other but don't forget the 2 against England. 1 at home to Dundee I recall kicking towards South Stand. There must be more for Hibs.

Yorkshire HFC
27-10-2022, 07:37 AM
Liam took 2 great ones in the final, but wasn't especially great at them otherwise.

To be fair, do you stay 30 minutes after work to practice? I definitely don't. Not all footballers care that much, some don't even like football, some get kicked off the training pitch by the u13s dodgeball team.

Good point.

But you'd think that even as part of normal training, one of the coaches might think it would be worthwhile spending a bit of time practicing free kicks so that a couple of players got good at them. I'm assuming they sometimes practice taking penalties.

Paulie Walnuts
27-10-2022, 07:42 AM

2 for Hibs (although it should have been 3). 11 (should have been 12) over his career.

Riordan scored 4 career free kicks apparently and Mallan 2. I’m not sure how accurate these stats are now that I’m typing them though as they seem really low for those 2?

27-10-2022, 07:53 AM
2 for Hibs (although it should have been 3). 11 (should have been 12) over his career.

Riordan scored 4 career free kicks apparently and Mallan 2. I’m not sure how accurate these stats are now that I’m typing them though as they seem really low for those 2?

Mallan scored at least 4 for hibs and 2 against Hibs so that's false. All Riordan's career goals for Hibs are on YouTube, at least 8 or 9 free kicks in there.

Paulie Walnuts
27-10-2022, 09:11 AM
Mallan scored at least 4 for hibs and 2 against Hibs so that's false. All Riordan's career goals for Hibs are on YouTube, at least 8 or 9 free kicks in there.

Yeah I did think that sounded wrong. Who knows what Griffiths stats are then!

27-10-2022, 11:59 AM

Deek’s stayed behind after training most days and practiced his free kicks and shooting, plenty managers and Tam McCourt would joke that they couldn’t get him off the training ground, and he was never two footed, when young he got a injury (nerve damage) on his right leg which meant he practiced and learnt to kick the ball with his left foot.

27-10-2022, 12:48 PM
Deek’s stayed behind after training most days and practiced his free kicks and shooting, plenty managers and Tam McCourt would joke that they couldn’t get him off the training ground, and he was never two footed, when young he got a injury (nerve damage) on his right leg which meant he practiced and learnt to kick the ball with his left foot.

Interesting you say that, as I don't really remember him being a free kick taker early in his time with us. It was more later on that he seemed to take them, but he was definitely the Hibs player I trusted most with the free kicks.

Riordan was better with the close range ones - within 5 yards or so of the box. I'd have said that Griffiths was probably more likely to score from 30 yards out or so.

I remember Sauzee and Zemamma as being hilariously hit and miss. They both scored some but there were a good few either scuffed into the wall or ballooned into the stand as well. As I remember it there would be times when folk would almost be losing patience with them both as they lined up another one and after a bit of muttering before the kicks were taken, they'd inevitable be the ones that were planted quite beautifully in the net.

27-10-2022, 01:59 PM
Interesting you say that, as I don't really remember him being a free kick taker early in his time with us. It was more later on that he seemed to take them, but he was definitely the Hibs player I trusted most with the free kicks.

Riordan was better with the close range ones - within 5 yards or so of the box. I'd have said that Griffiths was probably more likely to score from 30 yards out or so.

I remember Sauzee and Zemamma as being hilariously hit and miss. They both scored some but there were a good few either scuffed into the wall or ballooned into the stand as well. As I remember it there would be times when folk would almost be losing patience with them both as they lined up another one and after a bit of muttering before the kicks were taken, they'd inevitable be the ones that were planted quite beautifully in the net.

Sauzee especially, his strike rate from direct free kicks wasn't actually that great, when they went in they were beautiful, but the truth is there weren't that many of them.

As for the here and now, Newell should never be let near a free kick again, I think even my 62 year auld right peg can hit a ball harder, most of his free kicks have been tantamount to pass backs to the opposition keeper. McGeady had a couple out in Portugal and they were pish. Until such time as we get a real honest to goodness dead ball expert I think the best policy is to find the guy who hits the ball hardest, give him a 10 yard run at it and blast the bloody thing as hard as he can at the wall :greengrin

27-10-2022, 03:19 PM
Sauzee especially, his strike rate from direct free kicks wasn't actually that great, when they went in they were beautiful, but the truth is there weren't that many of them.

As for the here and now, Newell should never be let near a free kick again, I think even my 62 year auld right peg can hit a ball harder, most of his free kicks have been tantamount to pass backs to the opposition keeper. McGeady had a couple out in Portugal and they were pish. Until such time as we get a real honest to goodness dead ball expert I think the best policy is to find the guy who hits the ball hardest, give him a 10 yard run at it and blast the bloody thing as hard as he can at the wall :greengrin

Pa Kujabi Fail - YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Qk_ucUIwws)

Rumble de Thump
27-10-2022, 04:23 PM
Mallan scored four free kicks for Hibs. Two against Runavik, one against Motherwell and one against Kilmarnock.

Rumble de Thump
27-10-2022, 04:25 PM
Griffths scored two for Hibs and also had one disallowed against Hearts that was about three metres over the line.

27-10-2022, 05:11 PM
Griffths scored nine for Hibs and also had one disallowed against Hearts that was about three metres over the line.

He didn't score 9 free kicks for Hibs.

27-10-2022, 09:44 PM
Griffiths isn't an expert with dead balls... His balls are very much alive and in full working order.

27-10-2022, 10:08 PM
Find that a bit strange-he had quite a few on Friday.Think you have misinterpreted my point. It looks like we now have a manger prepared to use the tactic versus one who approves only of walking the ball into the net.

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

28-10-2022, 01:18 PM

If it was as easy as that almost every footballer would be a dead ball expert.