View Full Version : Hibs club
percy veer
22-10-2022, 07:52 AM
First time in the hibs club this season due to work commitments, not really sure what's going on with it tbh great new decor in the big hall but are they having problems?, had to wait an age for a pint and I think the games room and upstairs were closed equally big queue for scran, people being turned away aswell even though members. The hibs club was always bouncing before games seemed flat.
DIXIHIBS
22-10-2022, 07:58 AM
Lack of staff seems to be the main problem. I turned up at 6pm and was initially refused entry but eventually allowed in. There was a function upstairs. Also a lot of non members got in earlier in the day so when members turned up later, the place was full. Well done to the staff who done well in the circumstances.
22-10-2022, 07:59 AM
First time in the hibs club this season due to work commitments, not really sure what's going on with it tbh great new decor in the big hall but are they having problems?, had to wait an age for a pint and I think the games room and upstairs were closed equally big queue for scran, people being turned away aswell even though members. The hibs club was always bouncing before games seemed flat.
In line with it being the biggest home support in 33 years, it was always going to be very busy last night. When everyone wants a drink 45 minutes before kick off, the queues at the bars will always be big. No doubt they are toiling for staff like every hospitality venue in the country too.
The atmosphere is horrendous though and that is unforgivable. Why not have the tunes on, classic games on the tellies, even live singers or bands etc. A mate of mine applied to be their manager a wee while ago. He had plans to make the place fun again. Had lots of ideas for improving the atmosphere on match days, getting more footfall on non March days etc. he was basically told that the committees wasn’t interested, they just wanted a bar manager to do the orders and rotas. Shame.
percy veer
22-10-2022, 08:05 AM
In line with it being the biggest home support in 33 years, it was always going to be very busy last night. When everyone wants a drink 45 minutes before kick off, the queues at the bars will always be big. No doubt they are toiling for staff like every hospitality venue in the country too.
The atmosphere is horrendous though and that is unforgivable. Why not have the tunes on, classic games on the tellies, even live singers or bands etc. A mate of mine applied to be their manager a wee while ago. He had plans to make the place fun again. Had lots of ideas for improving the atmosphere on match days, getting more footfall on non March days etc. he was basically told that the committees wasn’t interested, they just wanted a bar manager to do the orders and rotas. Shame.
Never knew there was a function upstairs, but totally agree with the points about music and tvs
22-10-2022, 08:09 AM
We chucked it recently to join the Albion. Hibs club is poorly managed which is a real shame.
22-10-2022, 08:18 AM
I think every pub was hit last night.
I was in the Iona for 4.45 and it was busy but manageable then. Had to move outside fairly early doors though as it was rammed and roasting by not long after 5. By 6.15 we hit Lidl for 4 cans and stood outside drinking them. Getting served was nigh on impossible.
Stairway 2 7
22-10-2022, 08:21 AM
They are stuck in 1960s, its like phoenix nights with the committee. They are hard working good people, but they think as long as its making a profit it doesn't matter.
They should take a look at an epl fan zone to see what could be done. With hibs looking like they will reopen behind the goals, they might need to think in the future
22-10-2022, 10:52 AM
Do they still make you carry your beer from the bar in a tray like they didin the early 70’s?
22-10-2022, 02:19 PM
Do they still make you carry your beer from the bar in a tray like they didin the early 70’s?
Much less strict than they used to be, even worse than tray failure was the cardinal sin of attempting to take drinks between lounge & Famous Five suite.
22-10-2022, 05:28 PM
Much less strict than they used to be, even worse than tray failure was the cardinal sin of attempting to take drinks between lounge & Famous Five suite.
If it’s good enough for onion it’s good enough for me (he was in after the game)
22-10-2022, 05:56 PM
The physical fabric of the Hibs Club is top notch. Although I’m a member, it’s not somewhere I’d go pre or post match though. I drink in Robbie’s which was actually not as busy as I thought it might be on Friday.
There may be trouble ahead as it was mentioned at the St Pat’s Branch meeting last Monday that the club had been quoted £73K for an energy contract/bill.
23-10-2022, 09:01 AM
Back in 74 they said it was to prevent spillage ruining the carpet.
Fast Forward48 years and I have been in many bigger, huge even, establishments throughout the world with many, many more customers, and they have discovered that floorings for licensed premises have moved on a bit and trays are not required.
Strange that the council still cling to this outdated, redundant practice….I know most of them are well meaning and are not daft, so why?
23-10-2022, 09:59 AM
Back in 74 they said it was to prevent spillage ruining the carpet.
Fast Forward48 years and I have been in many bigger, huge even, establishments throughout the world with many, many more customers, and they have discovered that floorings for licensed premises have moved on a bit and trays are not required.
Strange that the council still cling to this outdated, redundant practice….I know most of them are well meaning and are not daft, so why?
Hi Fred
Its likely still on the cooncil statute book that brewery draymen delivering beer can freely pee alongside the wagon when caught short !
Another old club rule was a signed in non member could not go to the bar to buy drinks.
Had to be a member to get served.
But a rule sometimes ignored.
You'll mind when the club was up at Carlton Terrace.
iI slightly mind the bairns Christmas Party and also going in with ticket money to get juvenile free travel on the St Giles.
Bernie Glancy or Jimmy McClory,St Giles stalwarts and legendary men would be there.
Takes me back. Bernie stayed up the West Port ,no far fae may Grannies hoose in the Market.
LustForLeith
23-10-2022, 10:30 AM
If you’d started to queue in the seventies you’d probably be getting served right now
DIXIHIBS
23-10-2022, 11:33 AM
Strange that the council still cling to this outdated, redundant practice….I know most of them are well meaning and are not daft, so why?[/QUOTE]
They dont.
23-10-2022, 11:41 AM
Used to love going in there with my Dad when I was a bairn.
Playing football on the dance floor with a tied up scarf , the wee pontoon cards and the fact i got a coke and packet of crisps with every round. Many happy memories sitting with my Dads pals.
I'm Spartacus
24-10-2022, 10:50 AM
I've not been there for years, one memory from Sunnyside was the 2 bar maids knocking lumps out each other! The younger one was having a laugh with some guys about 'something', it was all a bit cryptic, the other was asking what it was all about, she told her but on the promise of not telling a soul "Do you know X?" "Yeah, what about him?" "I've been seeing him for months now".
The girl being told was his daughter, who wasn't scared of a pagger. It was like a scene from a cartoon.
Could have been an unreal spot, but the committee rule ruined it.
24-10-2022, 07:50 PM
https://youtu.be/y_7o1pAwhDA
I've not been there for years, one memory from Sunnyside was the 2 bar maids knocking lumps out each other! The younger one was having a laugh with some guys about 'something', it was all a bit cryptic, the other was asking what it was all about, she told her but on the promise of not telling a soul "Do you know X?" "Yeah, what about him?" "I've been seeing him for months now".
The girl being told was his daughter, who wasn't scared of a pagger. It was like a scene from a cartoon.
Could have been an unreal spot, but the committee rule ruined it.
25-10-2022, 12:12 PM
They are stuck in 1960s, its like phoenix nights with the committee. They are hard working good people, but they think as long as its making a profit it doesn't matter.
They should take a look at an epl fan zone to see what could be done. With hibs looking like they will reopen behind the goals, they might need to think in the future
That will be news to me mate ... The last I heard it was falling to bits and the word 'mothballed' was being kind to it, with shamefully neglected being the more accurate description.
It seems the Hibs club possibly have the same issues as the rest of the boozers around ER ... no problem getting folk through the door on match days because of the number of pubs that have closed around the stadium, but issues with staffing ... Though Edinburgh City ( Nee the Loch Inn ) seems to be ok on that front.
Stairway 2 7
25-10-2022, 12:34 PM
That will be news to me mate ... The last I heard it was falling to bits and the word 'mothballed' was being kind to it, with shamefully neglected being the more accurate description.
It seems the Hibs club possibly have the same issues as the rest of the boozers around ER ... no problem getting folk through the door on match days because of the number of pubs that have closed around the stadium, but issues with staffing ... Though Edinburgh City ( Nee the Loch Inn ) seems to be ok on that front.
Kensell told us all going well we will hear the plans for behind the goals near the end of the season. West stand has been a roaring success and need more space now
25-10-2022, 01:01 PM
Kensell told us all going well we will hear the plans for behind the goals near the end of the season. West stand has been a roaring success and need more space now
Ah right, thanks mate hadn't heard that, might not have started the thread I have just now if I'd known :aok: