View Full Version : NHC Jimmy Millar

21-10-2022, 11:34 AM
Another player has passed away, Jimmy Millar of Rangers, being the age I am, I saw him play both for Scotland and Rangers, when I was a boy. A decent player and person, played football in a different age which I probably enjoyed more than today's game.

He's here!
21-10-2022, 11:41 AM
Another player has passed away, Jimmy Millar of Rangers, being the age I am, I saw him play both for Scotland and Rangers, when I was a boy. A decent player and person, played football in a different age which I probably enjoyed more than today's game.

He was from Edinburgh I believe. Signed for Rangers from Dunfermline.

21-10-2022, 11:49 AM
He was from Edinburgh I believe. Signed for Rangers from Dunfermline.

He was.

My Granny and Grandad were friendly with Ralph Brand and his wife for years and met Millar on a few occasions.

chippy
21-10-2022, 11:52 AM

Didn’t he run the Coburg bar in Coburg St back in the 80s?

onemcnamara
21-10-2022, 11:55 AM

Don't know. But he had the Dukes Head in Duke Street. He had it for years. Good guy.

21-10-2022, 12:00 PM
Aye
Some player with his strike partner Ralph Brand in a very good side .
He had the Dukes Head pub in Duke Street for many years.
Although a rAngers legend, a boyhood jambo .

RIP Jmmy

I remember this terracing song from back in my schooldays.
It was sung often and Hibs players name would change from time to time.

Tune? the sash !!

:singing:
Oh i dont know why the rAngers say that they always hate the Green
For Green's the finest colour, that they have ever seen
Ye kin talk about yer Ralphy Brand's and yer Jimmy Millar's too
But we've got Eric Stevenson, he's a bobby dazzler too :singing:

Some reading for younger fans who won't maybe have heard of him.
He could play !

https://www.scottishdailyexpress.co.uk/sport/football/rangers-hero-jimmy-millar-reckoned-28288530

21-10-2022, 12:01 PM
Jimmy Millar and his strike partner, Ralph Brand, both from Edinburgh, used to give me nightmares when I was a kid. They were both at Ibrox from the mid 50s to the mid 60s, and regularly put Hibs to the sword over the years when they played against us.
Jimmy owned (or managed) the Duke's Head on Duke Street for many years. Seemed to be a good guy from what I've been told.

linlithgowhibbie
21-10-2022, 12:06 PM
Both Jimmy and Ralph Brand used to play golf with my dad on a sunday morning, usually at Craigentinny golf course. No posh private clubs for them.
Occasionally I was allowed along to "Caddy" for my dad. I was totally in awe at being in the presence of 2 Rangers players. Absolute gents, the two of them. RIP Jim.

21-10-2022, 12:11 PM

A guy named Alex Laidlaw ran the Coburg in that era.
One of the 1st early morning boozers in Leith.
Hun bus left from there.
I dont think Jimmy Millar would have stood for their nonsense and bigotry.
A lot of Hibby's drank in the Dukes Head when Jimmy had it .Well liked man.

He's here!
21-10-2022, 01:06 PM
Both Jimmy and Ralph Brand used to play golf with my dad on a sunday morning, usually at Craigentinny golf course. No posh private clubs for them.
Occasionally I was allowed along to "Caddy" for my dad. I was totally in awe at being in the presence of 2 Rangers players. Absolute gents, the two of them. RIP Jim.

Along with Millar and Brand there have been a fair few well kent Rangers players from Edinburgh. Lawrie Reilly talked about how the Famous Five era Hibs team would often meet up in Edinburgh with the likes of Willie Woodburn and the Rangers players would moan about the bigger win bonuses the Hibs team were getting back then.

John Greig's from Edinburgh, while Colin Stein joined Rangers from Hibs during that era (think he was a big Rangers fan despite being from the Edinburgh area). There was also Graeme Souness...

21-10-2022, 01:12 PM
Along with Millar and Brand there have been a fair few well kent Rangers players from Edinburgh. Lawrie Reilly talked about how the Famous Five era Hibs team would often meet up in Edinburgh with the likes of Willie Woodburn and the Rangers players would moan about the bigger win bonuses the Hibs team were getting back then.

John Greig's from Edinburgh, while Colin Stein joined Rangers from Hibs during that era (think he was a big Rangers fan despite being from the Edinburgh area). There was also Graeme Souness...

Sandy Jardine also I think. Greig used to stay at Little Road when playing at Rangers.

21-10-2022, 01:17 PM
Sandy Jardine also I think. Greig used to stay at Little Road when playing at Rangers.

In the late 70’s, I used to see Greig, Jardine and I think Chris Robertson, get on a train most week days at Haymarket, around 8.15am or so
No idea where Rangers trained in these days

21-10-2022, 01:23 PM

Sandy Jardine lived at the foot o the brae

Always used to see him out for a jog long after he retired from playing

Fanforlife
21-10-2022, 01:28 PM
John Greig was brought up in Prestonfield,sure Jimmy Millar and his brother Tam who played for Dundee United came from there as well.

leith lynx
21-10-2022, 01:52 PM
In the late 70’s, I used to see Greig, Jardine and I think Chris Robertson, get on a train most week days at Haymarket, around 8.15am or so
As well as being a great player, Sandy Jardine was a gentleman RIP. Wee Robbo's brother Chris is a great guy.

21-10-2022, 02:16 PM
That's a shame, he was good mates with my dad and I used to frequent his pub in Duke St many times, top bloke too.

Donegal Hibby
21-10-2022, 02:19 PM
Aye
Some player with his strike partner Ralph Brand in a very good side .
He had the Dukes Head pub in Duke Street for many years.
Although a rAngers legend, a boyhood jambo .

RIP Jmmy

I remember this terracing song from back in my schooldays.
It was sung often and Hibs players name would change from time to time.

Tune? the sash !!

:singing:
Oh i dont know why the rAngers say that they always hate the Green
For Green's the finest colour, that they have ever seen
Ye kin talk about yer Ralphy Brand's and yer Jimmy Millar's too
But we've got Eric Stevenson, he's a bobby dazzler too :singing:

Some reading for younger fans who won't maybe have heard of him.
He could play !

https://www.scottishdailyexpress.co.uk/sport/football/rangers-hero-jimmy-millar-reckoned-28288530
Another good read about a player I knew nothing about if I honest with you . Your article got me curious so I done some checking up on him .He was 3 years at Pars , 43 played , goals 22 . 12 years at rangers and 197 played with 91 goals scored .He certainly knew were the goal was that's for sure . Funny how he ran a pub in Leith with him growing up a jambo and having played for rangers . Different times though I suppose anyhow I'm sorry to here of another really good players passing .RIP JIMMY

21-10-2022, 02:54 PM
Another good read about a player I knew nothing about if I honest with you . Your article got me curious so I done some checking up on him .He was 3 years at Pars , 43 played , goals 22 . 12 years at rangers and 197 played with 91 goals scored .He certainly knew were the goal was that's for sure . Funny how he ran a pub in Leith with him growing up a jambo and having played for rangers . Different times though I suppose anyhow I'm sorry to here of another really good players passing .RIP JIMMY
DH
Edinburgh is a very Presbyterian city and that includes Leith.:greengrin

https://www.scotsman.com/news/people/crossing-great-divide-2466149

A lot of Jambos in Leith back in the day and huns.
Although Jimmy and his pub was well got by all.

21-10-2022, 03:06 PM
Sad to hear this. I remember Jimmy well and admired him as a player. RIP.

21-10-2022, 03:06 PM
Sad to hear, we always just used to refer to the Dukes head, as Jimmy Millars pub. Him, Brand and Wilson battered a few teams during the 1960's with Baxter behind them. Different world then for sure.
A few great battles wi the hun in that decade, Hibs done not bad for a few years.

21-10-2022, 03:08 PM
Remember watching him play back in the 60's. Those were the days when you could reel off the names of all the Rangers, Celtic, Hearts players unlike now when I struggle to keep up with Hibs signings never mind some of the other clubs . Rangers had some great players at that time Baxter, Brand, Henderson, Greig , Wilson etc which made our achievement of beating them 3 times in the 1964/65 season all the sweeter.

21-10-2022, 03:09 PM

Think they trained across the road from Ibrox may be wrong in that but think they had a training ground there

21-10-2022, 03:11 PM
Sandy Jardine lived at the foot o the brae

Always used to see him out for a jog long after he retired from playing

Yep can remember seeing him doing some individual training at the pitches at Kirk Brae when playing for Hearts

21-10-2022, 03:57 PM
Sad to hear, we always just used to refer to the Dukes head, as Jimmy Millars pub. Him, Brand and Wilson battered a few teams during the 1960's with Baxter behind them. Different world then for sure.
A few great battles wi the hun in that decade, Hibs done not bad for a few years.
It was a different world and a different football world, I miss it.

21-10-2022, 04:09 PM

I worked in the early seventies with Mickey Weir's uncle, Matty Hunter ,who was good pals with Jimmy and a regular in the pub.
Matty was on Hibs books early 60s. A good guy .

Bridge hibs
21-10-2022, 04:20 PM
I lived next door to Jimmys Daughter Elaine Smith, her Son and Jimmys Grandson Darren was just a kid and was a wee hibby if I remember and Im sure he was with hibs youth team, he is now with Gala I think

21-10-2022, 04:23 PM
The clip i have linked below is the Pathe News highlights of the 1964 SC Final .
Only a couple of minutes long. Dundee v rAngers
Interesting the Dundee goalie ,Bert Slater,had a Conrad Logan blinder of a game, but alas Jimmy Millar and Ralph Brand beat him with late goals.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EWBdd5AKTGo

Aye, it was different times as already said, but the blue hordes were just as bigoted.

21-10-2022, 04:30 PM
Hard as nails and good in the air. Could do a stint at right half if needed.

Peanut Shaz
21-10-2022, 04:34 PM
Greig used to drink in the Buckstone bar at the Braids Hotel. Was friends with Joe McClelland ex Hibs.

He's here!
21-10-2022, 05:21 PM
DH
Edinburgh is a very Presbyterian city and that includes Leith.:greengrin

https://www.scotsman.com/news/people/crossing-great-divide-2466149

A lot of Jambos in Leith back in the day and huns.
Although Jimmy and his pub was well got by all.

Hard to fathom why folk from Leith back then would support Hearts or Rangers with ER on their doorstep but then I guess Lawrie Reilly grew up in Gorgie and before the stands were built at Tynecastle there were always Hibs fans hanging out the windows of the tenements behind the Gorgie Road end at derbies.

21-10-2022, 06:18 PM
Hard to fathom why folk from Leith back then would support Hearts or Rangers with ER on their doorstep but then I guess Lawrie Reilly grew up in Gorgie and before the stands were built at Tynecastle there were always Hibs fans hanging out the windows of the tenements behind the Gorgie Road end at derbies.

It went a bit deeper than that
There was an anti Irish /Catholic political movement/party that won a lot of support in Leith at local elections back before WW2
So i guess it took some time for subsequent generations of Leithers to see the light! :greengrin

I remember the Hibs fans at windows overlooking tiny back in the day !

Like the song "Where have all the good times gone ?"

loanheadhibby
21-10-2022, 11:11 PM
Jimmy was I'm pretty sure a member at Prestonfield for a while.
Not sure if you'd call Prestonfield a posh club but it is private.