View Full Version : Dylan McGeouch

1875Sean
19-10-2022, 09:44 AM
Good interview on open goal, some interesting stories about Lennon at Hibs

https://youtu.be/65GnTzHfxkA

19-10-2022, 12:56 PM
Thanks for posting - Dylan is one of my all-time favourites in a Hibs jersey (and I've been around a while, I'm not part of the Young Team before anyone starts:greengrin)

He's a guy who should always feel he's a part of the history of the club, for his role in 2016 and beyond.

My favourite Dylan McGeough Hibs anecdote though is the great quote from Kenny Millar, after the 2-0 Natural Order derby. He wrote:

"21 footballers came to Easter Road tonight to play an Edinburgh Derby. Dylan McGeough came to play football".

A real Hibs midfielder, it was just a pity we couldn't match the money elsewhere (and it's a short career) as Easter Rd is a Baller like Dylan's spiritual home.

19-10-2022, 01:10 PM
He’s training with Livingston

HTD1875
19-10-2022, 01:43 PM
Interesting that hibs were reluctant to give him a new deal due to his injury record, Didn’t know that.

Some brilliant stories about a great time to support this club.

1875Sean
19-10-2022, 04:36 PM
Interesting that hibs were reluctant to give him a new deal due to his injury record, Didn’t know that.

Some brilliant stories about a great time to support this club.

Yeah I always thought Hibs wanted him to stay, saying that I think his injuries improved in his last year when he moved over to Edin and I think we tried to make him a offer.

Liked the story hearing about his Dad on the cup final, saying he hasn’t gave his a cuddle since he was a child but he seen him on the pitch and grabbed him, his dad also lifted some hampden turf!

Would be good to see him and Leigh sign for livvy, not sure playing on that pitch every other week will do for his injures

19-10-2022, 04:46 PM
Decent listen. Some good stories although I don’t think his memory is the best.

Paulie Walnuts
19-10-2022, 06:16 PM

To be fair I think near enough everyone in football has that issue.

Stubbs kept saying in the Currie Club that hearts hadn’t beat us the season we won the cup. Whilst he’s correct, he didn’t seem to realise we hadn’t played them that season so he was presumably talking about the previous season.. where they had beat us :greengrin

19-10-2022, 06:32 PM

Stubbs kept saying in the Currie Club that hearts hadn’t beat us the season we won the cup. Whilst he’s correct, he didn’t seem to realise we hadn’t played them that season so he was presumably talking about the previous season.. where they had beat us :greengrin

We played Hertz twice !
The "10 minutes to go"game and The Moneyspinner !!:greengrin
The jumbos chased oot Robbie for us winning the cup!

Like SJM,Dylan says his spell with Hibs was his favourite time in football.
However,he does have a memory lapse.:greengrin
He said Ross County beat us in the final of the, his words, "Mickey Mouse " Petrofac Cup.!?
He also had SJM and not Hendo standing beside the ref,then his mad dash as the full time whistle went against the hun .

19-10-2022, 06:50 PM
He’s training with Livingston

Wouldn’t have thought training on that poor excuse of a pitch would help him. Hibs should offer him training facilities and have a good look at him imo.

19-10-2022, 07:35 PM
Wouldn’t have thought training on that poor excuse of a pitch would help him. Hibs should offer him training facilities and have a good look at him imo.

I think he’s just been offered training facilities. Probably via Bartley

19-10-2022, 07:58 PM

He struggled to get a game at Aberdeen. Way below the level we need now.

19-10-2022, 07:59 PM
These type of open goal interviews are really good, wish they would stop all the pish Inuendos tho , totally spoils it

19-10-2022, 08:00 PM
Proper football player

19-10-2022, 08:07 PM
I'm really not sure how he doesn't have a club. He was a fantastic player for us, absolutely rock solid in possession. The 2-0 natural order game v Heart was up there with the best performances I have seen from a Hibs player, he absolutely strolled it and I'm sure his Scotland call up came not long after.

Sunderland was a bad career move. Maybe injuries have caught up with him but I really struggle to believe a club somewhere in the top 2 leagues in Scotland couldn't find a use for him. Can only assume he's pricing himself out of a deal currently.

zitelli62
19-10-2022, 08:17 PM
Don't see what we would lose having him training with us if he's no good fair enough if he's good probably save us some money no brainer to me.

19-10-2022, 08:35 PM
I'm really not sure how he doesn't have a club. He was a fantastic player for us, absolutely rock solid in possession. The 2-0 natural order game v Heart was up there with the best performances I have seen from a Hibs player, he absolutely strolled it and I'm sure his Scotland call up came not long after.

Sunderland was a bad career move. Maybe injuries have caught up with him but I really struggle to believe a club somewhere in the top 2 leagues in Scotland couldn't find a use for him. Can only assume he's pricing himself out of a deal currently.

As much as I liked him and as good a player as he was for us, I’ve always got the feeling he had an overinflated sense of his own worth.

He only seems to make moves after leaving a pretty long time for the best possible offer to come along (which he’s perfectly entitled to do) and even then I don’t think his choices are always that great.

19-10-2022, 09:35 PM
Very good interview but amazes me how players can’t remember certain moments in their own careers

#2 Double Tap
19-10-2022, 10:11 PM
Very good interview but amazes me how players can’t remember certain moments in their own careers

nobody remembers anything correctly, eye witnesse statements always differ greatly.

https://nobaproject.com/modules/eyewitness-testimony-and-memory-biases

19-10-2022, 10:13 PM
These type of open goal interviews are really good, wish they would stop all the pish Inuendos tho , totally spoils it

And there's always at least one bit where they've talked for a minute or two and I've not understood a single word.

20-10-2022, 05:46 AM
A two hour weedgie love in

Struggled to understand a word

Even the subtitles could not keep up

Worth watching and waiting for Hibs content Lenny and SJM

Should never have left

20-10-2022, 05:50 AM

We played them in the cup run, twice.

Paulie Walnuts
20-10-2022, 07:06 AM
We played them in the cup run, twice.

Sorry, should have been clearer, I meant before the cup game as Stubbs was talking about why he was happy to get them in the cup, and that was apparently because they hadn’t beaten us that season. At that point, we hadn’t played them.

20-10-2022, 07:39 AM
The bit when he says it was Scott Allan saying before the Aberdeen game how they must fear Hibs and referring to Hibs as ‘us’ must be wrong. Scott Allan never signed until the month after I don’t think

20-10-2022, 07:39 AM

Should never have left

Grass isn't always greener. Sometimes better staying where you're happy.

20-10-2022, 08:16 AM
Grass isn't always greener. Sometimes better staying where you're happy.

No loyalty nowadays

I suppose he had injuries ?

Spoiler Alert

Kevin Kyle couldnae wait to leave when they started talking about Hibs

OldEast
20-10-2022, 08:16 AM

Should never have left

The weedgieness was too much for me. Didn't make it to the end.

20-10-2022, 08:20 AM

Yip !

Did ma heid in

Noticed a lot of players / Managers from the West do not realise how big a deal Hibs actually are ?

20-10-2022, 08:32 AM

Same with me. Was listening whilst cooking and found it unbearable. As I couldn't see the screen, I was never sure who was actually talking.

I liked Ferri's interviews, but he's obviously decided that working with Slane and Kyle is the way to go, a big mistake as the chat is often pish.

Paulie Walnuts
20-10-2022, 08:39 AM
Same with me. Was listening whilst cooking and found it unbearable. As I couldn't see the screen, I was never sure who was actually talking.

I liked Ferri's interviews, but he's obviously decided that working with Slane and Kyle is the way to go, a big mistake as the chat is often pish.

Same.

It was brilliant when he first started it up. The introduction of Paul Slane and Kevin Kyle has absolutely ruined the whole thing.

To be fair to Andy Halliday, he’s actually not too bad.

HendoDelivered
20-10-2022, 09:05 AM
Good watch. What a player and what a great time to watch Hibs. Miss it!

GreenGray
20-10-2022, 09:06 AM
Yip !

Did ma heid in

Noticed a lot of players / Managers from the West do not realise how big a deal Hibs actually are ?

Many of them don’t think a world exists out with Glasgow that’s why.

Tbf to McGinn on the other interview with Daryl Currie he seemed to understand how big it was.

20-10-2022, 09:07 AM
Ferry's interviews were unique and insightful.

The panel format has been really disappointing, like listening to a bunch of dafties down the pub. I like halliday, think he generally comes across well but half the chat isn't about football and half the time it's just rumours and forgetting teams results, where they are in the league and mostly amateur level insights which doesn't hold up well considering they all were/are professional!

20-10-2022, 09:15 AM
Many of them don’t think a world exists out with Glasgow that’s why.

Tbf to McGinn on the other interview with Daryl Currie he seemed to understand how big it was.

👍

20-10-2022, 09:22 AM
The bit when he says it was Scott Allan saying before the Aberdeen game how they must fear Hibs and referring to Hibs as ‘us’ must be wrong. Scott Allan never signed until the month after I don’t think

I thought that too. Sure this game was before the January window

20-10-2022, 09:24 AM
I was mightily pissed off after getting relegated v Hamilton and although I had a season ticket I didn't go to any games at the start of the following season for a variety of reasons.

The first game I went to was a Wednesday night game and Dylan was head and shoulders the best player on the park, as much as anyone he was the reason for my full re-engagement.

No mean feat as he was pretty inexperienced at that time.

One of the top 20 best players I have seen playing for Hibs in my lifetime.

His control of a game and ability to take in and retain the ball in close contact was great to watch and a throwback to decades before.

That midfield was easily the 3rd and with a shout of being the second-best Hibs midfield I have ever seen with only the Tornadoes and Mowbray's team bearing any comparison.

20-10-2022, 02:31 PM
I thought that too. Sure this game was before the January window
It was in December 100%

LewysGot2
20-10-2022, 02:53 PM

Aye, I'd be not taking anything he says as 100% after seeing how poorly he recalls his time at the club.

We lost the Diddy Petrofac final apparently
We played 2 finals and lost a playoff in less than a fortnight
SJM is interchangeable with Hendo

Nothing deliberate or malicious but frighteningly inaccurate...

LewysGot2
20-10-2022, 02:57 PM
Same.

It was brilliant when he first started it up. The introduction of Paul Slane and Kevin Kyle has absolutely ruined the whole thing.

To be fair to Andy Halliday, he’s actually not too bad.

It's the constant talking over each other at 90 mile an hour in accents that are hard to follow at the best of times.
It's an old boys thing too. All connected somehow.

Hibees1973
20-10-2022, 07:50 PM
Fabulous player when at Hibs. Was injured a lot but think it was season 2017-2018, McGeouch was great.

When you think of some of the tosh we have in the squad just now, Jair, Bojang, Henderson and McKirdy and are picking up a wage from Hibs, none of them could lace Dylan's boots.

As others have said there was a bit of resentment when he left and has not got to the same level again. I was gutted when he left. However, he was only doing what was best for him and his family at the time. Something that Porteous may do.

20-10-2022, 07:56 PM
Fabulous player when at Hibs. Was injured a lot but think it was season 2017-2018, McGeouch was great.

When you think of some of the tosh we have in the squad just now, Jair, Bojang, Henderson and McKirdy and are picking up a wage from Hibs, none of them could lace Dylan's boots.

As others have said there was a bit of resentment when he left and has not got to the same level again. I was gutted when he left. However, he was only doing what was best for him and his family at the time. Something that Porteous may do.

On the flip side there a fair few players just picking up a wage from Hibs when Mcgeouch was playing. It's a bit of an unfair comparison

21-10-2022, 05:25 AM

Can you not praise Dylan without the needless comments about current players, especially kids that are just in the door.

21-10-2022, 07:26 AM

Why the need to have a pop at current players?

21-10-2022, 10:19 AM
Aye, I'd be not taking anything he says as 100% after seeing how poorly he recalls his time at the club.

We lost the Diddy Petrofac final apparently
We played 2 finals and lost a playoff in less than a fortnight
SJM is interchangeable with Hendo

Nothing deliberate or malicious but frighteningly inaccurate...

My jaw nearly hit the floor when he referred to League Cup Final as being the Challenge Cup- how on earth can you play in a major national final and forget what it was a few years later?

He seems quite intelligent but that just made me doubt absolutely everything else he said.

21-10-2022, 10:41 AM
My jaw nearly hit the floor when he referred to League Cup Final as being the Challenge Cup- how on earth can you play in a major national final and forget what it was a few years later?

He seems quite intelligent but that just made me doubt absolutely everything else he said.

He didn't play. If he had we'd probably have won it.

21-10-2022, 10:42 AM

He didn’t play in that final although I still couldn’t quite believe they couldn’t remember that the other competition in Scotland is the League Cup between them.

21-10-2022, 11:17 AM
He didn't play. If he had we'd probably have won it.

Our midfield that day was so weakened. Bartley, McGinn, Henderson and Thomson.

We also had Hanlon out injured. Add Hanlon, Fyvie and McGeouch to that team and we win comfortably. We battered RC even without them.

21-10-2022, 11:22 AM
I wonder if we'd won the LC would we have also won the SC? It's hard to tell whether it would have impacted it in anyway.

21-10-2022, 12:00 PM
He didn’t play in that final although I still couldn’t quite believe they couldn’t remember that the other competition in Scotland is the League Cup between them.

Yeah he said that he didn't play in the final so I worded that badly, but he certainly played in the semi at Tynecastle etc so surely must have had a better handle on what competition he was referring to.

To be fair to the rest of the guys on the podcast he made it quite clear at the outset he believed it was the Challenge Cup hence their trains of thought on it.

21-10-2022, 12:25 PM
I wonder if we'd won the LC would we have also won the SC? It's hard to tell whether it would have impacted it in anyway.

Wondered this myself and i don't think so. The LC final defeat gave us that fire in our bellies.

NC1875
21-10-2022, 12:27 PM
Yeah he said that he didn't play int he final so I worded that badly, but he certainly played in the semi at Tynecastle etc so surely must have had a better handle on what competition he was referring to.

To be fair to the rest of the guys on the podcast he made it quite clear at the outset he believed it was the Challenge Cup hence their trains of thought on it.

Ross County were also a premiership side at the time and wouldn’t have been in the petrofac cup. And not one of them picks up on it.

21-10-2022, 01:01 PM
Tried to listen to the podcast and honestly struggled with the hysterical banter early door. Absolute torture. Si Ferry should get back to doing individual interviews and dump his hangers on imo.

Si Ferry had a really good podcast that done interesting interviews. Then he added Slaney and Kevin Kyle and I just can't listen to it. Their 'patter' is cringeworthy stuff.

Ditto :agree:

21-10-2022, 01:06 PM

It's a tricky one to answer.

I still argue Stubbs deserves huge credit for lifting the players to go and beat ICT in the SC replay only a couple of days after that final. I went up to Inverness that night fearing the worst but we were on it from the very 1st whistle. It's easy to forget they were a Premiership team, finished 7th that season and were SC holders at that point. Obviously the players deserve credit as well but it can't have been easy to lift them after such a sickener at Hampden.

We are getting some way off topic here but I still argue the 3rd place finish behind Falkirk (and there is plenty mitigation for why we dropped of that season) clouds peoples judgement of just how good a job Stubbs did for us. There were plenty lows as well as highs but I was heart sick of Hibs after relegation. Stubbs along with guys like McGeouch, Allan, Fontaine and the like totally got me (and I'm sure many thousands of others) right back onside again.

21-10-2022, 01:15 PM
It's a tricky one to answer.

I still argue Stubbs deserves huge credit for lifting the players to go and beat ICT in the SC replay only a couple of days after that final. I went up to Inverness that night fearing the worst but we were on it from the very 1st whistle. It's easy to forget they were a Premiership team, finished 7th that season and were SC holders at that point. Obviously the players deserve credit as well but it can't have been easy to lift them after such a sickener at Hampden.

We are getting some way off topic here but I still argue the 3rd place finish behind Falkirk (and there is plenty mitigation for why we dropped of that season) clouds peoples judgement of just how good a job Stubbs did for us. There were plenty lows as well as highs but I was heart sick of Hibs after relegation. Stubbs along with guys like McGeouch, Allan, Fontaine and the like totally got me (and I'm sure many thousands of others) right back onside again.

David Gray was an inspired signing

As soon as I saw him I thought ‘ He’ll do! ‘

Kept driving forward and put his body on the line for the cause

Sorry Sir David Gray

21-10-2022, 02:05 PM

No Chance.

Squad would have celebrated on the Sunday night and probably struggled fitness wise for the ICT replay.

Stokes and Boyler would probably still have been out by the time the bus left for Inverness!

21-10-2022, 02:07 PM

Last time we won the LC we then had a good chance of progressing further in the SC but couldn’t be ersed.

I agree with others - the near misses and disappointments that season gave us the fire in the belly to get the big one.

patlowe
21-10-2022, 02:21 PM

We didn't know it at the time but there were a few players in that team who operated briefly at their absolute peak that season - McGeouch, Hanlon, Allan...even Kamberi? With SJM being SJM, Boyle starting to reach heights we didn't think he was capable of and Efe strutting his stuff, it all coalesced into something really special in that last six months, but it was just one step too far to get that 2nd place. We were the best team in the league in the second half of that season and while I wish Lennon and the team had a 2nd place on the record to show for it, I still contend it's the most fun period I've had supporting Hibs in my lifetime.

21-10-2022, 02:33 PM
Maybe its because i am probably very much older than most who would watch Si Ferry's show in this format with his mates.
But i thought it was shambolic and that doesn't even take into account Dylan's memory of crucial moments in his Hibs career .
Older people do get forgetful and memory loss of times past.
But this is a young man who can't correctly recall some events of possibly the only two major finals he has played in just a few years ago.
Now i have said that, I hope his health is ok.
Maybe the other guys did recall it was the League Cup ,but just kept quiet,so not to embarrass Dylan.

21-10-2022, 02:38 PM
He played the sitting midfield role to perfection in our cup winning team. No doubt he could do a job for us assuming he's clear of the all too frequent injuries that plagued him at Hibs. Kenneh is filling that DM role for us and is an excellent prospect but still has plenty to learn as indicated vs Celtic. If Hibs had a limitless player budget McGeough would be a no brainer. Sadly we dont.

21-10-2022, 03:12 PM
Dylan was a very good player for Hibs at the time, not so sure if he could still do the same today, although he would be a great sub to bring on when we needed to control a game, someone who can put his foot on the ball and keep it.
Lovely wee player.

21-10-2022, 04:02 PM
It's easy to forget how close we were to winning the SC the season before too. McGeouch beaten in the air for the header v Falkirk at Hampden, pummelled them but couldn't score. They lost to ICT in the final.

And I agree about the Open Goal, really enjoy some of the stories you get but it's hard wading through the pish of them talking over each other. It was better when it was just Ferry doing the interviews although this one was far from the worst.

PeckythePenguin
21-10-2022, 04:11 PM
Dylan’s on A View From The Terrace tonight

21-10-2022, 10:15 PM
Dylan’s on A View From The Terrace tonight

Came across really well

21-10-2022, 10:18 PM
Could have done wi him tonight.

churchie16
22-10-2022, 06:36 AM