View Full Version : looks like Neil Lennon

Mrimbetween
18-10-2022, 06:29 PM
Got the sack

18-10-2022, 06:59 PM
Any other team in green and white looking for a manager?

18-10-2022, 07:01 PM
Don't know but there might be a team in maroon looking for one soon :greengrin. He and Budge together would make some fine viewing.....

Clarence
18-10-2022, 07:06 PM

Blyth Spartans look to be struggling a bit.

18-10-2022, 07:08 PM
The aeroplane-****in brilliant scenes.

18-10-2022, 07:12 PM
Don't know but there might be a team in maroon looking for one soon :greengrin. He and Budge together would make some fine viewing.....

Hearts would be a shout if Replay gets the boot.

18-10-2022, 07:16 PM
Hearts would be a shout if Replay gets the boot.Nae chance since Replay will be kept on as ghost of xmas past like they did with Potter after the fandans thought Mrs doctor Budge had listened to them and "sacked" him but kept him on as some sort of faith healer/football adviser.

18-10-2022, 07:16 PM
Only been there 7 months and though he won the cup they sit 7th with 9pts from 6 games, not great for his CV.

Steven1985
18-10-2022, 07:18 PM
Don't know but there might be a team in maroon looking for one soon :greengrin. He and Budge together would make some fine viewing...... There might be a team that plays in Purple. Ask anyone I know. Or anyone outside of Edinburgh for that matter. No one can remember their name but they totally play in purple. :-)

18-10-2022, 07:23 PM
Only been there 7 months and though he won the cup they sit 7th with 9pts from 6 games, not great for his CV.

I’d say the cup win and getting them to the Europa League group stages will enhance his CV. Six games is nothing in terms of the league and lasting 7 or 8 months over there is quite good going most of the time.

18-10-2022, 07:27 PM

:greengrin Aye..
You can just picture the jambos 🎶 "There's only one Neil Lennon " just after a rendition of the bigoted hello hello number.

18-10-2022, 07:34 PM
I’d say the cup win and getting them to the Europa League group stages will enhance his CV. Six games is nothing in terms of the league and lasting 7 or 8 months over there is quite good going most of the time.

Yeah, indeed, massive win for his CV. The club sounds a of a shambles and most of their fans online blaming owners and recruitment.

18-10-2022, 07:37 PM
Spectacularly over rated manager who lucked into having the best midfield in Scotland (and still dismantled it). Looking forward to hearing whose fault it was, Anyone but him.

18-10-2022, 09:03 PM

:faf: Imagine if Lennon got the Hearts job, if and when it comes available. He would be in danger of serious physical assault from his own fans.

Paloschi
18-10-2022, 09:07 PM
Spectacularly over rated manager who lucked into having the best midfield in Scotland (and still dismantled it). Looking forward to hearing whose fault it was, Anyone but him.

Shut up, eh.

18-10-2022, 09:12 PM

I’m no NL cheerleader, but how the hell can you say he dismantled the best midfield in Scotland? What a bizarre statement. Allan wasn’t our player, SJM was heading south and McGeough got more money elsewhere.

18-10-2022, 09:41 PM

Born winner though 🤣

18-10-2022, 09:42 PM
I’m no NL cheerleader, but how the hell can you say he dismantled the best midfield in Scotland? What a bizarre statement. Allan wasn’t our player, SJM was heading south and McGeough got more money elsewhere.

I’m pretty sure you’d have got Neil Lennon being prepared to give his right arm, his right testicle, his eye teeth and a good bit more to keep that midfield together.

He was also the one who turned it from great to exceptional with the addition of Scott Allan.

Hibee Daft
18-10-2022, 09:42 PM
I didnt mind Neil Lennon only issue i had was i knew hed be off to Celtic if he done well... and thats exactly what happened

That was the issue with Maloney as well, im glad we have a manager now that isnt associated with them or Rangers

18-10-2022, 10:01 PM
I didnt mind Neil Lennon only issue i had was i knew hed be off to Celtic if he done well... and thats exactly what happened

That was the issue with Maloney as well, im glad we have a manager now that isnt associated with them or Rangers

Lee Johnson would drop us in a second for Rangers or Celtic.

18-10-2022, 10:09 PM

Interestingly he actually went-on to Celtic after doing poorly with us (not withstanding doing well previous to that). He then went on to bring Celtic down to a relatively very poor level as well.

18-10-2022, 11:02 PM
Good Manager and loved his time with Hibs. A bit of a rollercoaster but enjoyed the ride.

All the best Neil, you'll not be short of offers for your next job.

Donegal Hibby
18-10-2022, 11:05 PM
Good Manager and loved his time with Hibs. A bit of a rollercoaster but enjoyed the ride.

All the best Neil, you'll not be short of offers for your next job.

Totally agree with this. :agree:

18-10-2022, 11:55 PM
Neil Lennon usually has a pretty decent spell followed by a car crash. Happened in almost all of his jobs. Impact manager with no longevity once players switch off to his tantrums.

19-10-2022, 06:19 AM
For six months he gave us the best fitba since Mogga McLeish and Turnbull

When the going got tough he did tend to over think things in his own head Hearts Aberdeen- remember all the whacky lineups - when the answer was keep it simple

Worked his ticket when Celtic came a calling

Was glad when he left - didnae want to be here

Thanks for the memories

19-10-2022, 06:28 AM
Done well here till he had to sign his own players. Then it was ugly. Also at least partly to blame for losing 2 of our cup winning midfield for nothing.

19-10-2022, 06:32 AM
He was a bit toxic near the end of his time with us.

He gave me the impression that he thought Hibs were ‘below’ him.

Wish him well,but don’t think he’ll be inundated with offers from any clubs of significant standing and wouldn’t surprise me if he ends up in Oz.

19-10-2022, 07:11 AM
Lee Johnson would drop us in a second for Rangers or Celtic.

No doubt, but it wouldn't be a running question.

19-10-2022, 07:21 AM
That 3/4 months was one of the most exciting times I can remember as a Hibs fan. So for that I’ll never forget his tenure.

It’s a shame it ended the way it did.

19-10-2022, 08:32 AM
No doubt, but it wouldn't be a running question.

He'd also need to earn it, rather than getting it after Hibs binned him. Still funny Celtic took a guy we didn't want and he cost them 10.

19-10-2022, 08:45 AM
Wish him well,but don’t think he’ll be inundated with offers from any clubs of significant standing and wouldn’t surprise me if he ends up in Oz.

Wasn't he on his way to sign for an Australian team when Celtc approached him?

Hibs4185
19-10-2022, 08:49 AM

Instead of aeroplanes flying over for Robbie Replay they’d have gallows on the piazza for Lennon.

Mrimbetween
19-10-2022, 11:15 AM
Dont get the NL hearts patter

The Scruff is on a 4yr deal and no way would that lot accept lennon

HendoDelivered
19-10-2022, 11:37 AM
Probably get shot down in flames for this but I wouldn’t be against having him back as manager again one day in the future. I feel like he has unfinished business here.

OldEast
19-10-2022, 11:42 AM
Probably get shot down in flames for this but I wouldn’t be against having him back as manager again one day in the future. I feel like he has unfinished business here.

Which players does he still have to abuse?
I'm joking, but he wouldn't survive the first blow up with Ron and Ben.

GRA
19-10-2022, 11:49 AM
Don't understand the NL hate. Defeating Hearts, Celtic & Rangers under him were more regular occurrences than we had historically. Plus got us out the Championship first time & made proper progression in Europe. And he wasn't afraid of speaking his mind & sticking up for the club/his players.

His toxic attitude was always going to catch up with him, as it has done at all his clubs, but don't regret his management at all.

19-10-2022, 11:52 AM
Don't understand the NL hate. Defeating Hearts, Celtic & Rangers under him were more regular occurrences than we had historically. Plus got us out the Championship first time & made proper progression in Europe. And he wasn't afraid of speaking his mind & sticking up for the club/his players.

His toxic attitude was always going to catch up with him, as it has done at all his clubs, but don't regret his management at all.

Those things began under Alan Stubbs, though. Lennon carried them on and then struggled to replace the players who left. He probably inherited the best situation of any Hibs gaffer ever.

Lennon done well but he made a real mess of things at the end

19-10-2022, 11:55 AM
He's an average manager at best.

Decent at Celtic first time round, absolutely horrendous the second time round. Overall he was decent at Hibs but it was a disaster towards the end.

Sacked from both Bolton and now this Cypriot job.

It's not exactly a glowing CV.

19-10-2022, 12:03 PM
Those things began under Alan Stubbs, though. Lennon carried them on and then struggled to replace the players who left. He probably inherited the best situation of any Hibs gaffer ever.

Lennon done well but he made a real mess of things at the end

Lennon inherited a very good team that had just won the cup BUT they were still in the Championship. Lennon got us up at first time of asking and then a 3rd place finish with thrills aplenty. Fair enough it didn't end well but he was very good for Hibs and I remember him fondly.

19-10-2022, 12:18 PM
Lennon inherited a very good team that had just won the cup BUT they were still in the Championship. Lennon got us up at first time of asking and then a 3rd place finish with thrills aplenty. Fair enough it didn't end well but he was very good for Hibs and I remember him fondly.

4th not 3rd

Mcbizz1998
19-10-2022, 12:23 PM
One of my favourite hibs managers.

Good luck to him, unless he comes back to manage in Scottish Prem.

19-10-2022, 12:24 PM

He probably felt like that with Celtic and look how that turned out.

19-10-2022, 12:52 PM

IIRC our points total in our Championship winning season was 1 more than Stubbs gained in his 1st season. Stubbs started with 8 players and no keeper and we had our Tiny neighbours and The Rangers in the league with us. I quite enjoyed the ride under Lennon but we were such long odds on to be promoted it would have been a sackable offence if he had failed.

Highwayman
19-10-2022, 03:25 PM
He's an average manager at best.

Decent at Celtic first time round, absolutely horrendous the second time round. Overall he was decent at Hibs but it was a disaster towards the end.

Sacked from both Bolton and now this Cypriot job.

It's not exactly a glowing CV.

Agree with this.

He has a good media presence and talks a good game.But that doesn’t cover up the flaws in his managerial skills.

Can’t see any clubs currently rushing to take him on.

Looks like he’ll have to spend some time in the managerial wilderness with Messrs Maloney,Ross and Stubbs.

Now whatever happened to that Hecky we got rid off ?

19-10-2022, 04:12 PM
Agree with this.

He has a good media presence and talks a good game.But that doesn’t cover up the flaws in his managerial skills.

Looks like he’ll have to spend some time in the managerial wilderness with Messrs Maloney,Ross and Stubbs.

I don’t think getting sacked in Cyprus will be too much of a black mark against him. It’s just what happens over there.

Can you imagine Hibs appointing a manager with a couple of months of the season to go and him winning the cup and then getting us in to the group stages of the Europa League only for us to sack him on the back of winning 3 out of 6 games at the start of the league season.

No that I think he’s going to walk in to a top job on the back of it, far from it, but I’d say he’s actually enhanced his reputation over there.

Donegal Hibby
19-10-2022, 04:29 PM
I don’t think getting sacked in Cyprus will be too much of a black mark against him. It’s just what happens over there.

Can you imagine Hibs appointing a manager with a couple of months of the season to go and him winning the cup and then getting us in to the group stages of the Europa League only for us to sack him on the back of winning 3 out of 6 games at the start of the league season.

No that I think he’s going to walk in to a top job on the back of it, far from it, but I’d say he’s actually enhanced his reputation over there.
When he was at Bolton ,weren't they in a complete mess as well ?

HendoDelivered
19-10-2022, 05:33 PM

Yep

19-10-2022, 06:57 PM
Agree with this.

correctly. Hecky could have absolutely no complaints about losing his job at Hibs

19-10-2022, 07:07 PM

The 3 previous managers to Lennon and the 1 following him all had better win percentages than him with Bolton. Bolton are a bit of a basket case, but Lennon done worse than his peers.

Hibiza
19-10-2022, 07:22 PM
Poor message sur.

Donegal Hibby
19-10-2022, 07:48 PM
The 3 previous managers to Lennon and the 1 following him all had better win percentages than him with Bolton. Bolton are a bit of a basket case, but Lennon done worse than his peers.
Celtic \ played 227 *** wins 159*** draws 29*** lose 39 *** win % 70.4.
Bolton \ played 79 *** wins 18 *** draws 26 *** lose 35 *** win % 22.78.
Hibs \ played 123*** wins 59 *** draws 40 *** lose 24 *** win% 47 .97.
Celtic \ played 110 *** wins 77 *** draws 17 *** lose 16*** win% 70.00
Omonia \played 29 ***wins 11 *** draws 8 *** lose 10 *** win% 37.93

In total he's managed 568 games *** wins 324 *** draws 120 *** lose 124.
With a overall win percentage of 57.04 . Take out the Bolton one and it's quite a impressive record he's got imo

19-10-2022, 08:21 PM
Celtic \ played 227 *** wins 159*** draws 29*** lose 39 *** win % 70.4.
Bolton \ played 79 *** wins 18 *** draws 26 *** lose 35 *** win % 22.78.
Hibs \ played 123*** wins 59 *** draws 40 *** lose 24 *** win% 47 .97.
Celtic \ played 110 *** wins 77 *** draws 17 *** lose 16*** win% 70.00
Omonia \played 29 ***wins 11 *** draws 8 *** lose 10 *** win% 37.93

In total he's managed 568 games *** wins 324 *** draws 120 *** lose 124.
With a overall win percentage of 57.04 . Take out the Bolton one and it's quite a impressive record he's got imo

Is it? He managed Celtic with the biggest wage budget in the league, Hibs in the Championship with the biggest budget in the league.

I'm not sure you can simply just say "take out" Bolton. If you took out Celtic what would it look like?

zitelli62
19-10-2022, 08:30 PM
Problem with neil lennon is he is old school not that im against that I was brought up with that so fine by me but the modern player commands more respect don't know if that's good or bad but that's the way it is.

Greenwich_Hibby
19-10-2022, 08:44 PM
Over rated dinosaur. No thanks.

Donegal Hibby
19-10-2022, 09:03 PM
Is it? He managed Celtic with the biggest wage budget in the league, Hibs in the Championship with the biggest budget in the league.

I'm not sure you can simply just say "take out" Bolton. If you took out Celtic what would it look like?
It's fine ,leave Bolton in though it's hard to judge him at a club that was a complete shambles is what I meant . Other managers at Celtic failed there to with a big budget you know? And I'm glad we got him as he got us out of championship on our third year in it on his first year in charge .Now I get some don't like him on here and that's fine though apart from Bolton he's had success at 3 different clubs big budgets or not that makes him a successful manager what ever way you look at it

shetlandhibee
19-10-2022, 10:05 PM
4th not 3rd
were they not in contention for 2nd with just a few weeks to go that season tho ? would have him back some day as well, nearly every time his teams played the but oks you felt you had at least a 50 50 chance of doing them(especially rankers)good memories good manager IMO :aok:

19-10-2022, 11:10 PM
It's fine ,leave Bolton in though it's hard to judge him at a club that was a complete shambles is what I meant . Other managers at Celtic failed there to with a big budget you know? And I'm glad we got him as he got us out of championship on our third year in it on his first year in charge .Now I get some don't like him on here and that's fine though apart from Bolton he's had success at 3 different clubs big budgets or not that makes him a successful manager what ever way you look at it

Hibs winning the Championship without Hearts or Rangers in it was not success, it was the bare minimum required.

Donegal Hibby
20-10-2022, 12:10 AM
Hibs winning the Championship without Hearts or Rangers in it was not success, it was the bare minimum required.
It might have been the bare minimum required but how on earth can you say it wasn't a success with Falkirk in it I will never know?

20-10-2022, 04:41 AM
It might have been the bare minimum required but how on earth can you say it wasn't a success with Falkirk in it I will never know?

We had better players in every position than Falkirk and finished well above them.

20-10-2022, 05:41 AM

And where are Falkirk now?

20-10-2022, 05:52 AM

Falkirk, seriously?

Or is that a bit of dry humour that's maybe went over my head?

20-10-2022, 06:01 AM
And where are Falkirk now?That's really irrelevant though isn't it?

Aberdeen under fergie must've been rank cause did you see them last season?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

20-10-2022, 06:07 AM
That's really irrelevant though isn't it?

Aberdeen under fergie must've been rank cause did you see them last season?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Hibs finishing above Falkirk is now seen as an achievement? Doesn't say a whole lot for our club if that is some people's thinking.

Again, finishing above Falkirk should be the bare minimum for a club like Hibs, not championed as some success. I'm genuinely shocked people think otherwise tbh. Although, I have a suspicion the poster who mentioned it was maybe being tongue in cheek.

20-10-2022, 06:12 AM
Falkirk might not have been the finest side the country has ever seen but they were nightmare opponents for us when we were in that division. Houston made them a side worth much more than the sum of it’s parts.

They’d finished above us the season before, above a Hibs side that was crammed with good players and enjoys legendary status.

20-10-2022, 06:44 AM

Not finishing above Falkirk is an embarrassment for Hibs in any situation.

Donegal Hibby
20-10-2022, 10:03 AM
Hibs finishing above Falkirk is now seen as an achievement? Doesn't say a whole lot for our club if that is some people's thinking.

Again, finishing above Falkirk should be the bare minimum for a club like Hibs, not championed as some success. I'm genuinely shocked people think otherwise tbh. Although, I have a suspicion the poster who mentioned it was maybe being tongue in cheek.
Was making a point actually . You said winning the league without Ranger's or hearts wasn't a success ? The point being if Rangers hadn't been in it we still wouldn't have got automatic promotion as we finished behind Falkirk with a far bigger budget than them .First two years we were in it we were inconsistent and lost 8 games both years.Some right bad results too.First year we loss to hearts ,Falkirk 2 , Alloa , Q of S 2 , rangers and raith rovers .21 points behind hearts in all . Unacceptable imo . Second year lost to Dumbarton 2 , rangers 2 ,Morton , raith rovers ,Alloa ,Q of S , 11points behind rangers and finished 3rd in league behind Falkirk , who btw beat us in play off . Unacceptable again maybe ? Neil Lennon became manager and we lost just 3 games that season St mirren and Dundee Utd twice .3 games were away ones too.we were consistent and hard to beat and won the league finishing ahead of Falkirk which we had failed to do previous year . Now I know you said it wasn't a success cause hearts and rangers weren't in it but Neil Lennon could only beat what was in it and that's what he did consistently over 36 games . successful season ? Damn right it was .

20-10-2022, 10:08 AM
Was making a point actually . You said winning the league without Ranger's or hearts wasn't a success ? The point being if Rangers hadn't been in it we still wouldn't have got automatic promotion as we finished behind Falkirk with a far bigger budget than them .First two years we were in it we were inconsistent and lost 8 games both years.Some right bad results too.First year we loss to hearts ,Falkirk 2 , Alloa , Q of S 2 , rangers and raith rovers .21 points behind hearts in all . Unacceptable imo . Second year lost to Dumbarton 2 , rangers 2 ,Morton , raith rovers ,Alloa ,Q of S , 11points behind rangers and finished 3rd in league behind Falkirk , who btw beat us in play off . Unacceptable again maybe ? Neil Lennon became manager and we lost just 3 games that season St mirren and Dundee Utd twice .3 games were away ones too.we were consistent and hard to beat and won the league finishing ahead of Falkirk which we had failed to do previous year . Now I know you said it wasn't a success cause hearts and rangers weren't in it but Neil Lennon could only beat what was in it and that's what he did consistently over 36 games . successful season ? Damn right it was .

Not for me.

Hibs winning the Championship is not an achievement or a successful season, it would have been if it we'd won it with Hearts or Rangers in it. It was,IMO anyway, the minimum expectation, I don't think many people will look back on that season as successful in years to come (or indeed at this moment in time).

20-10-2022, 10:11 AM
Not finishing above Falkirk is an embarrassment for Hibs in any situation.

And the reason a good few were turning against Stubbs, the cup win was saving him but he left anyway due to personal reasons.

20-10-2022, 10:15 AM
Did we not end up with 14/15 draws in the championship under Lennon? Turgid stuff. A season I've pretty much erased from my memory.

20-10-2022, 10:15 AM

Yes. In fact I’m pretty sure there would be posters on here making it their life goal to make sure everyone knew how poorly they thought of the manager.

20-10-2022, 10:47 AM
Not for me.

Hibs winning the Championship is not an achievement or a successful season, it would have been if it we'd won it with Hearts or Rangers in it. It was,IMO anyway, the minimum expectation, I don't think many people will look back on that season as successful in years to come (or indeed at this moment in time).

You really need to put things into perspective. As I said earlier Stubbs inherited a team and a club in disarray. We had 8 players and no keeper when he arrived. Lennon inherited a team that was on a high after 21/5/16 and enjoyed the benefit of much bigger crowds. Despite that we earned 70 points in both Stubbs' seasons and 71 in Lennon's. We scored more goals in both seasons under Stubbs than under Lennon in the Championship.
Finally, you say we were inconsistent under Stubbs, nothing could be further from the truth, certainly in season 1.
1. Of the 8 games we lost, 4 were in our 1st 6 matches when we were trying to assemble a team. Ye Gods, Mickey Nelson was playing!
2. We then lost 1 game in 6 months beating The Rangers 3 times in succession by an aggregate of 9 1 along the way! That's consistent!
3. We then lost our final game to The Rangers and 2 other games. The last 2 were pretty meaningless as we were going to play The Rangers (or Q of S) in the play off regardless.
4. We then lost the play off 2 1 to The Rangers thanks to an offside goal!

You can make a case for Lennon being a decent Hibs manager in the Premiership but his man management issues unfortunately, IMO, will always prevent him being a top manager.

Donegal Hibby
20-10-2022, 12:02 PM
You really need to put things into perspective. As I said earlier Stubbs inherited a team and a club in disarray. We had 8 players and no keeper when he arrived. Lennon inherited a team that was on a high after 21/5/16 and enjoyed the benefit of much bigger crowds. Despite that we earned 70 points in both Stubbs' seasons and 71 in Lennon's. We scored more goals in both seasons under Stubbs than under Lennon in the Championship.
Finally, you say we were inconsistent under Stubbs, nothing could be further from the truth, certainly in season 1.
1. Of the 8 games we lost, 4 were in our 1st 6 matches when we were trying to assemble a team. Ye Gods, Mickey Nelson was playing!
2. We then lost 1 game in 6 months beating The Rangers 3 times in succession by an aggregate of 9 1 along the way! That's consistent!
3. We then lost our final game to The Rangers and 2 other games. The last 2 were pretty meaningless as we were going to play The Rangers (or Q of S) in the play off regardless.
4. We then lost the play off 2 1 to The Rangers thanks to an offside goal!

You can make a case for Lennon being a decent Hibs manager in the Premiership but his man management issues unfortunately, IMO, will always prevent him being a top manager.
Stubbs did build us back up no doubt about that and Lennon probably did have a better team too but he still had to guide them to winning it didn't he ?.Its even been said it doesn't count as a success.Seems to be a anti Lennon group on here .As one poster said it was a turgid season under him with so many draws and best forgotten., personally I'd rather a draw to a defeat every day of the week but that's maybe just me . I can accept first year stubbs had to build a team and can accept finishing behind rangers the 2nd year but come on to finish behind Falkirk was really poor and we still had some poor results too . You say Stubbs teams scored more goals both seasons too? Stubbs 2nd season played 36 , won 21 ,drew 7 ,lost 8 ,GF 59 ,GA 34 ,GD 25 ... Lennon played 36 ,won 19 ,drew 14 ,lost 3 , GF 59 ,GA 25 ,GD 34 . Same amount scored ,better goal difference and less games lost too. As to me making a case as to Lennon being a decent manager I don't think I have to , his record speaks for itself. Yes the guys got issues ,most people have at sometime or another seem to remember there was talk of Stubbs having them to before he left for Rotherham anyhow imo two very good managers and I'm glad we had both.

20-10-2022, 12:10 PM
Stubbs did build us back up no doubt about that and Lennon probably did have a better team too but he still had to guide them to winning it didn't he ?.Its even been said it doesn't count as a success.Seems to be a anti Lennon group on here .As one poster said it was a turgid season under him with so many draws and best forgotten., personally I'd rather a draw to a defeat every day of the week but that's maybe just me . I can accept first year stubbs had to build a team and can accept finishing behind rangers the 2nd year but come on to finish behind Falkirk was really poor and we still had some poor results too . You say Stubbs teams scored more goals both seasons too? Stubbs 2nd season played 36 , won 21 ,drew 7 ,lost 8 ,GF 59 ,GA 34 ,GD 25 ... Lennon played 36 ,won 19 ,drew 14 ,lost 3 , GF 59 ,GA 25 ,GD 34 . Same amount scored ,better goal difference and less games lost too. As to me making a case as to Lennon being a decent manager I don't think I have to , his record speaks for itself. Yes the guys got issues ,most people have at sometime or another seem to remember there was talk of Stubbs having them to before he left for Rotherham anyhow imo two very good managers and I'm glad we had both.

Why does it need to be anti Lennon rather than just an honest opinion of his career as a manager?

I've nothing against the guy at all, I just don't think he's a particularly good manager, it's nothing personal and posts like yours claiming it is add absolutely nothing to the debate.

His record does speak for itself. Done well at Celtic with no Rangers in the league, absolute horror show in his second stint costing them 10 in a row, average at Hibs first season, good second season then disaster again in his third season, absolutely woeful at Bolton, good first season in Cyprus then a downward spiral again.

There's a recurring theme here with Lennon and managerial roles.

20-10-2022, 12:15 PM

We finished behind Falkirk by 1 goal in between getting to 2 finals for the 1st time in our history and winning the big one for the 1st time in 114 years. Finishing behind them meant very little anyway, we still had to meet them in the play off and Alan Muir made sure we didn't reach that final. FWIW I agree with you that it was an accomplishment for NL to win the league but we were odds on to do so. In doing so he actually won less games than Stubbs.

20-10-2022, 12:19 PM
Did we not end up with 14/15 draws in the championship under Lennon? Turgid stuff. A season I've pretty much erased from my memory.

It wasn't turgid.

20-10-2022, 12:28 PM
Overall I enjoyed his time as Hibs boss. We should have won the cup, at least got to the final, but his team selection to start the semi was all wrong. My biggest memory is the last 3 home games of his first season. Beat celtic 2-0, beat Kilmarnock 5-3 and drew 5-5 with the hun. I'd take watching that at ER every season. The away games v sheep and hearts I'm happy to forget tho!!

Donegal Hibby
20-10-2022, 01:10 PM
We finished behind Falkirk by 1 goal in between getting to 2 finals for the 1st time in our history and winning the big one for the 1st time in 114 years. Finishing behind them meant very little anyway, we still had to meet them in the play off and Alan Muir made sure we didn't reach that final. FWIW I agree with you that it was an accomplishment for NL to win the league but we were odds on to do so. In doing so he actually won less games than Stubbs.
I remember Alan Muir's performance alright , absolute shocker it was .we could have done with VAR on that one :greengrin. Glad somebody's got a bit of sense btw ,saying that winning a league or any league for that matter isn't a achievement or a success and we were turgid and is best forgotten can really only be described as mind boggling imo . Both managers done good things for the club and should be remembered in a good way. Sadly I found both departures quite sad . Lennon's ending badly over kamberi stuff and maybe other issues and Stubbs for me made one of the biggest mistakes of his career in leaving Hibs for Rotherham at that time.Though two very good managers in their own right .

20-10-2022, 01:15 PM
I don't think being sacked by a Cypriot team is a negative reflection on a manager, as they seem to be a bit trigger happy over there.

They won a cup last season and, for a club of their size, they had some great results in European competition this season. Beating Gent 4-0 on aggregate tops the list on that side.

Sacking him after only six league games is totally mad.

20-10-2022, 01:43 PM

Seems typical NL. Makes them believe they are world beaters and has them playing out their skin, then, when they fail to maintain that standard, he bullies them and they down tools.