View Full Version : Most successful footballer to play for Hibs

10-10-2022, 01:20 PM
Seeing Franck on Saturday got me thinking of who was the most successful player to play for us after winning trophies with other teams.

Of course, players have won things with other clubs having started their careers with us.

Franck won the Champions League and Intertoto Cup, beating George Best in that department.

So, has anyone more successful than Franck ever played for us? There is bound to be someone glaringly obvious that I have forgotten lol

10-10-2022, 01:23 PM
According to Wiki, Steve Archibald had a Scottish league title, two FA cups, a La Liga title, a Spanish league cup and a UEFA cup. Decent haul.

SON OF PADDY
10-10-2022, 01:25 PM
Archie, must be right up there !

Kevvy1875
10-10-2022, 01:27 PM
George Best.

Stairway 2 7
10-10-2022, 01:29 PM
Des bremner had English league, European Cup and super cup

10-10-2022, 01:30 PM
See, that’s the glaringly obvious one although Franck did win 3 French titles, two of the French National Cup competition and one UEFA European Under 21 Championships thereby possibly edging out Steve Archibald

So anyone better than those two lol

10-10-2022, 01:31 PM
Bertie Auld?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Jakhog1
Going by the title, Lewis Stevenson is the most successful player to play for Hibs, cup double, over 500 appearances, played under evey manager and still going, Legend and nice guy to go along with the tag.

Kenny Dalgleish

10-10-2022, 01:32 PM
George Best.

Bestie didn’t actually win that much with Man U

Ronnie Simpson

Matt Busby if managerial achievements included.

badabing67
What about Ronnie Simpson not sure what he won but he could be up there along with Bertie Auld

badabing67
10-10-2022, 01:33 PM
Ronnie Simpson

Matt Busby if managerial achievements included.

You could include Jock Stein with that

Des bremner had English league, European Cup and super cup

That was after he played for Hibs, I’m thinking about players who came to Hibs with trophies in the cabinet

Patrick Viera.

10-10-2022, 01:34 PM
You could include Jock Stein with that

Stein didn’t play for Hibs.

10-10-2022, 01:35 PM
Going by the title, Lewis Stevenson is the most successful player to play for Hibs, cup double, over 500 appearances, played under evey manager and still going, Legend and nice guy to go along with the tag.

No league wins though, didn't Gordon Smith get three of those?

10-10-2022, 01:35 PM
What about Ronnie Simpson not sure what he won but he could be up there along with Bertie Auld

10-10-2022, 01:36 PM

Ok, I’ll give you that especially after Lewis lifts the Champions League Cup next season. Mind you, it’s nearly the same size as him!

10-10-2022, 01:39 PM

Again, Ronnie won those trophies after leaving Hibs.

Just ones who arrived at ER with their medals already

badabing67
10-10-2022, 01:45 PM
Stein didn’t play for Hibs.

Busby only played once as far as i was aware but a poster did mention Management.

10-10-2022, 01:47 PM
Jim Leighton
Joe McBride

10-10-2022, 01:49 PM
Busby only played once as far as i was aware but a poster did mention Management.

Busby played 37 times for Hibs.

10-10-2022, 01:50 PM
Ray Wilkins?

Stairway 2 7
10-10-2022, 01:56 PM
Bertie auld had European cup, 1 runner up, 5 Scottish leagues, 3 Scottish Cup, 4 league cup, English league cup

10-10-2022, 01:59 PM
Jim Leighton is a great shout and again, obvious!

Two Scottish League titles, four Scottish Cups, one Scottish League Cup, European Cup Winners Cup, European Super Cup and an FA Cup with Man U (technically speaking lol)

I should have put more thought into this before posting, Jim may be the winner

10-10-2022, 02:00 PM
In terms of domestic football it will be Scott Brown by a considerable distance I'd have thought.

10-10-2022, 02:01 PM
Or Bertie may be lol

Franck’s way down the list now!

10-10-2022, 02:02 PM
Robert Pires.

10-10-2022, 02:02 PM
In terms of domestic football it will be Scott Brown by a considerable distance I'd have thought.

He won those AFTER he left Hibs, I was thinking of ones who came to Hibs with the medals

As my old school teachers used to say to me often “read the question” lol

10-10-2022, 02:12 PM
Good question. Struggling to think of anyone from 2000 onwards.
Shefki Kuqi has a finnish league and cup double to his name :greengrin

And infact David Marshall has league, 2 x scottish cup, league cup and English championship winners medals

McGeady!!

10-10-2022, 02:23 PM
Good question. Struggling to think of anyone from 2000 onwards.
Shefki Kuqi has a finnish league and cup double to his name :greengrin

And infact David Marshall has league, 2 x scottish cup, league cup and English championship winners medals

McGeady!!

Sorry, got side-tracked into looking up “The Tank’s” achievements. Not a lot to report back lol

10-10-2022, 02:27 PM
Seeing Franck on Saturday got me thinking of who was the most successful player to play for us after winning trophies with other teams.

Of course, players have won things with other clubs having started their careers with us.

Franck won the Champions League and Intertoto Cup, beating George Best in that department.

So, has anyone more successful than Franck ever played for us? There is bound to be someone glaringly obvious that I have forgotten lol

Scott Brown, nobody else will come close.

10-10-2022, 02:28 PM

I refer you to the answer given previously

hibeg
10-10-2022, 03:03 PM
Peter Cormack at Liverpool, he must have won a few medals before coming back to us
UEFA CUP and league for sure

Jakhog1
10-10-2022, 03:06 PM
No league wins though, didn't Gordon Smith get three of those?

I think he did, way before my time though, have been reading up on the famous five of late, wow wow wow, goals galore and what a treat that must have been to see these guys play week in week out.

10-10-2022, 03:11 PM
Bertie Auld by a mile

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bertie_Auld

One game at ER, Bertie was playing for Hibs in a reserve game. Possibly coming back from injury.
Anyway,when taking shys or near the enclosure wall he could here the same guy giving him dogs abuse.
Soon fed up,Bertie jumped the wall and said to the guy "me and you efter the game,pal"

The small crowd burst oot laughing and Bertie jumped back on to the park and continued with the game.
No record of what the guy did!

Stairway 2 7
10-10-2022, 03:40 PM
I think Frank is still up there. You need to count major leagues much higher than getting a Scottish league. He has 3 league 1 titles and two French cups, champions league, intertoto and European under 21s with France. Plus 40 French caps 9 goals.

Put it another way next year if we signed a player who previously had 50 Scottish caps and 3 Scottish titles it wouldn't be big news. I'd be totally surprised if we signed an ex French captain with 9 captancies to his name.

10-10-2022, 03:44 PM
I think Frank is still up there. You need to count major leagues much higher than getting a Scottish league. He has 3 league 1 titles and two French cups, champions league, intertoto and European under 21s with France. Plus 40 French caps 9 goals.

Put it another way next year if we signed a player who previously had 50 Scottish caps and 3 Scottish titles it wouldn't be big news. I'd be totally surprised if we signed an ex French captain with 9 captancies to his name.Was the French League more prestigious than the Scottish League when Bertie Auld was playing?

10-10-2022, 03:47 PM
McGeady must be there or there abouts

10-10-2022, 03:50 PM
Ronaldo when he finally leaves Man Utd and he realises his career will be a failure if he doesn't spend a season being fed crosses by Chris Cadden :greengrin

10-10-2022, 03:51 PM
Was the French League more prestigious than the Scottish League when Bertie Auld was playing?

Certainly wasn’t. Celtic were streets ahead of French teams of that time.

10-10-2022, 03:57 PM
Gordon Smith

10-10-2022, 03:58 PM
Bertie Auld by a mile

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bertie_Auld

One game at ER, Bertie was playing for Hibs in a reserve game. Possibly coming back from injury.
Anyway,when taking shys or near the enclosure wall he could here the same guy giving him dogs abuse.
Soon fed up,Bertie jumped the wall and said to the guy "me and you efter the game,pal"

The small crowd burst oot laughing and Bertie jumped back on to the park and continued with the game.
No record of what the guy did!

Probably not alot :greengrin

Stairway 2 7
10-10-2022, 04:11 PM
Was the French League more prestigious than the Scottish League when Bertie Auld was playing?

Comparison would probably Scottish league in the 60s v French in 90s, but I'd agree with your point. I think it was more usual for provincial clubs to win in Europe pre TV money and greed killed it, but Frank might have been pre the money Killing it also mind you

10-10-2022, 04:16 PM

Depends really. If all trophies are worth the same sure. Really doubt any of our European cup winners are trading that for however many SPL titles Brown won by default.

OsiersHibs
10-10-2022, 04:26 PM
Depends really. If all trophies are worth the same sure. Really doubt any of our European cup winners are trading that for however many SPL titles Brown won by default.
Yep. You could say that Brown took the easy option racking up Trophies with Celtic (no Rangers to compete with for years) instead of testing himself in England or a top league abroad.

10-10-2022, 04:30 PM
But he never came to play for Hibs after winning all those medals. That is the question!

10-10-2022, 04:38 PM
But he never came to play for Hibs after winning all those medals. That is the question!

Does it really matter if the player won it before or after his time at Hibs? It wasn't won at Hibs regardless.

10-10-2022, 04:46 PM
Does it really matter if the player won it before or after his time at Hibs? It wasn't won at Hibs regardless.

As the OP, I wanted to know who was the most decorated player to sign for Hibs, it clearly says that in the first sentence of my post so yes, it does matter that the player won the titles BEFORE coming to Hibs!

It really is that simple

10-10-2022, 04:54 PM

It does when the OP has stated so several times!

I probably would have guessed Franck as a starting point, interesting to read some of the older shouts though.

10-10-2022, 05:02 PM

Scott left Hibs to win those medals. He has not returned!
The question is players coming to Hibs with medals already won.
Who had the most ?
I say Bertie Auld

10-10-2022, 05:03 PM

If that’s the actual question the aye it prob does matter

10-10-2022, 05:14 PM
Some foot stamping and hair pulling going on :grr::fuming::sairhead:
Awfy pernickity some are on here.
Methinks the "game's up the pole" now.

The Winner is BERTIE AULD!! :greengrin

Mark05
10-10-2022, 05:14 PM
Murdo Macleod popped in my head as he played in Germany, but I looked it up and didn't win anything there.Still won a few medals at celtic but I think Frank and others beat him,good player though

Renfrew_Hibby
10-10-2022, 05:17 PM
Gordon Smith? Was it 5 league titles? 3 with us, 1 with Hearts and 1 with Dundee. A hell of an achievement being league champion with 3 different clubs neither of which were Celtic or Rangers.
Also won both domestic cups in his career.

10-10-2022, 05:21 PM
Bertie Auld was before my time supporting Hibs but I saw both Steve Archibald and Jim Leighton play so I really should have thought about them!

I think I was just bowled over by seeing Franck again lol

Mark05
10-10-2022, 05:24 PM
Edit Murdo Macleod won the German Cup and super cup at dortmund,I must do better in my research :rolleyes:

10-10-2022, 05:32 PM
Does it really matter if the player won it before or after his time at Hibs? It wasn't won at Hibs regardless.Start another thread, bud.

10-10-2022, 05:38 PM
Is it quantity over prestige? Patrick Viera and Robert Pires both have world cup winners medals...

Donegal Hibby
10-10-2022, 05:38 PM
Anthony stokes?

10-10-2022, 05:45 PM
Scott left Hibs to win those medals. He has not returned!
The question is players coming to Hibs with medals already won.
Who had the most ?
I say Bertie AuldI smelled it Bertie straight away and without doing any research it still smells like him. Medals won at a time when Scotland was far from being a footballing backwater, like what it is now.

Scott Brown vs Bertie Auld?

10-10-2022, 05:46 PM
Anthony stokes?

Stokes won 4 League titles, 2 Scottish Cups and a League Cup with Celtic before he came back to us and won another Scottish Cup :)

10-10-2022, 05:46 PM
A wild card would be Bobby Johstone.

10-10-2022, 05:51 PM
A wild card would be Bobby Johstone.

Bobby only won one FA Cup final when with Man City but he was the first player to score in successive FA Cup finals, losing one (against Newcastle) and winning one (against Birmingham)

10-10-2022, 05:53 PM
Bobby only won one FA Cup final when with Man City but he was the first player to score in successive FA Cup finals, losing one (against Newcastle) and winning one (against Birmingham)Yeah, but he had won three League titles before he (re-)signed for Hibs, with Hibs.

10-10-2022, 05:56 PM
Yeah, but he had won three League titles before he (re-)signed for Hibs, with Hibs.

Good shout, hoisted by my own petard to misquote William Shakespeare (and no, he didn’t play for us!!)

10-10-2022, 06:34 PM
Graham Fyfe

10-10-2022, 06:38 PM
Graham Fyfe

You should be flogged for even mentioning that name. F**** sake, I won't sleep tonight now.

10-10-2022, 06:43 PM
You should be flogged for even mentioning that name. F**** sake, I won't sleep tonight now.

He must be bananas if he thinks i'll open the link

Liam978
10-10-2022, 06:46 PM

Obviously not such a high standard, but when John Parke signed for us, it was on the back of Linfields all conquering season 7 trophies. I dont know if he won any more in his previous seasons with them or with Cliftonville.

10-10-2022, 06:47 PM
You should be flogged for even mentioning that name. F**** sake, I won't sleep tonight now.I'll raise you Ally Scott[emoji6]

Doubt he ever won anything but was part of that abysmal deal....

10-10-2022, 06:52 PM
George Best for me.

1 European Cup

2 England League wins

Ballon D'Or winner, certainly the only one of them to have played for Hibs.

Stairway 2 7
10-10-2022, 07:00 PM
George best won the ballon d'or and came third. Individual trophy but I doubt anyone else was close to that.

Only three Scots have came in the top 3. Jimmy Johnson 3rd, Kenny Dalglish 2nd, Dennis law 1st

Stairway 2 7
10-10-2022, 07:00 PM
George Best for me.

1 European Cup

2 England League wins

Great minds

10-10-2022, 07:06 PM
George best won the ballon d'or and came third. Individual trophy but I doubt anyone else was close to that.

Only three Scots have came in the top 3. Jimmy Johnson 3rd, Kenny Dalglish 2nd, Dennis law 1st

It is an individual trophy but it's a tad better than being the Premiership player of the month:greengrin

For a player to have been voted the best player in the world says it all for me.

10-10-2022, 07:45 PM
The first most successful player to play for Hibs must have been our own Darling Willie Groves who won the Scottish Cup with Hibs, runner up with Celtic , FA Cup with West Brom, English League Division One with Aston Villa The first footballer to be transferred for £100 ( 12k ) score a hat trick for Scotland ( eighth) Score for Scotland at Easter Road whilst a Hibs player only to return to Hibs to play against Hearts in the first Scottish Cup Final to be held outside of Glasgow

10-10-2022, 07:47 PM
Russel Latapy?

10-10-2022, 07:52 PM
Scott brown

10-10-2022, 08:18 PM
Russel Latapy?

I’ve just learned that his middle name is Nigel!

Wonder where he be watching the game in Trinidad……

10-10-2022, 08:20 PM
I’ve just learned that his middle name is Nigel!

Wonder where he be watching the game in Trinidad……

In Oz

Assistant Manager to Dwight Yorke with Macarthur FC

10-10-2022, 08:28 PM
In Oz

Assistant Manager to Dwight Yorke with Macarthur FCNice

10-10-2022, 08:58 PM
In Oz

Well he was a wizard!

Stairway 2 7
10-10-2022, 09:03 PM
Well he was a wizard!

And was on the balon dor shortlist, well number 99 or something, but still

loanheadhibby
10-10-2022, 09:10 PM

What are you talking about ?
Gordon Smith won 5 league championship medals, 3 with Hibs.
Have a look at his appearances for our club and from what I hear he was also a nice guy.

He's here!
10-10-2022, 09:13 PM
Ray Wilkins been mentioned?

Maybe not when it comes to club honours (he was at Man U pre-Ferguson) but he must be up there as one of the most-capped players. Think he played for England nearly 100 times.

10-10-2022, 09:16 PM
And was on the balon dor shortlist, well number 99 or something, but still

Equal 33rd on the FIFA list whilst a Hibernian player

No too shabby

Up there with Alan Gordon playing for a World XI

10-10-2022, 09:27 PM
Did Oli Gottskalksson not have some basketball medals maybe? 😁

hibby rae
10-10-2022, 09:50 PM

That would be Joelle Murray

10-10-2022, 11:45 PM
George Best for me.

1 European Cup

2 England League wins

And $hagg3d how many Miss Worlds. That has to be a trophy in its own right.

11-10-2022, 12:23 AM
Kenny Dalgleish

Dalglish…….. FFS at least get the name of the King right.

Stairway 2 7
11-10-2022, 05:41 AM
Equal 33rd on the FIFA list whilst a Hibernian player

No too shabby

Up there with Alan Gordon playing for a World XI

Higher than I thought, Russell was absolutely tremendous for us

11-10-2022, 07:14 AM
Higher than I thought, Russell was absolutely tremendous for us

Tied with Denis Bergkamp Andy Cole and Roy Keane

🤔

11-10-2022, 10:07 AM
The first most successful player to play for Hibs must have been our own Darling Willie Groves who won the Scottish Cup with Hibs, runner up with Celtic , FA Cup with West Brom, English League Division One with Aston Villa The first footballer to be transferred for £100 ( 12k ) score a hat trick for Scotland ( eighth) Score for Scotland at Easter Road whilst a Hibs player only to return to Hibs to play against Hearts in the first Scottish Cup Final to be held outside of Glasgow

Brilliant mate, did you see all these games? :wink:

11-10-2022, 10:09 AM
Brilliant mate, did you see all these games? :wink:

Yip ! :greengrin