View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v Motherwell
08-10-2022, 04:48 PM
Usually the sign of a good team, when they can still win while not playing so great.
Just how good is big Porto, soccerscene will not be liking what this young star player is now doing.
08-10-2022, 04:49 PM
2015 last time we won 5 on the trot
in the championship though
Last time in the prem was 2011
Also as an aside, last time we did 6 in the prem was in the 60s
🤯
08-10-2022, 04:50 PM
Ryan didn’t need to go off the pitch. The game had stopped for a goal, different story had it been during a live spell, such as a corner.
08-10-2022, 04:51 PM
Decent win today and another clean sheet. Also good to see yet another opponent red carded. Maybe things are starting to "even out" for all the times we've been shafted by refs - thoroughly enjoying playing against 10 hammer throwers rather than 11.
Definitely something strange going on at ER. Team spirit, genuine bite in midfield and steely determination to get results is strange, and long may it continue. Full credit to LJ and his team for that.
08-10-2022, 04:52 PM
Really enjoying going to ER right now.
This is a team to enjoy watching with a bit of everything.
We were really good for 25 mins then Motherwell came into it a bit.
Youan could have had a few goals today - he does look dangerous at times just needs a goal to give him confidence. Not sure how we didn’t score the offside chance.
It’s going have a central striker who causes issues with physical threat but we also need strikers to chip in with goals.
2nd half felt we defended well and Marshall made at great low down save which some keepers would have let in.
Motherwell are decent enough but felt we just had more quality and didn’t think the ref was great but glad he got red card right.
We are still a work in progress but it’s building nicely and once a few players get up to speed we will be even better.
Porto absolutely outstanding today.
ZitellZeTime
08-10-2022, 04:55 PM
Very sparse crowd
Aye im gutted, wish I was there to see Sauzee the day but a got ma wee man full time last year, Last game we were at was beginning of September against Killie. He's got quirks to say the least and one of them is that he wears just his hibs strip and nothing else to games, only started last year when he was 7 so hopefully grow out of it cos im basically a summer and boring preseason games like norwhich supporter just now.
Can't even get hibs tv now unless abroad, only radio. Not sure if a vpn would work, clubs still getting money so its no harming anyone.
I've told hin all about Sauzee, he's watched vids and read some of my old pprgrammes from when I was wee but still would only go the day in his short sleeve hibs strip the wee ****.
Did he speak on a mic or anything, imagine the reception for him would have been amazing. I'd imagine he'll be glad with the win and now in third.
If someone told me 6 months ago we'd be 3rd in October this season no way id have believed them.
I've no even heard it on the radio or read updates just update with the goal and sending off, were we the better team before they went down to ten men? Lol we must be on the road to a record of red cards against us in a season surely.
Porteous again, hope we pull out all the stops to try and get him on some kind of deal. I googled the other day and it had a headline abour him signing a contract extension, turned out to be some Ryan Porteous from Newtongrange Star or somin lol.
Still a bit worrying none of the forward knocking them in, id have Youan on bench next week, play Mckirdy on the left. not seen how he did today but he's always looked a live wire and can make something from nothing kind of player aswell as a player. Would like to see Melkerson get a shot through the middle of the wide two aswell, he seemed decent there last year just starved oof any service at all but would get much more this season, big Myko must be looking good in training though as he's started pretty much from the minute he landed.
Edit: When I last registered and stayed registered with Hibs TV im sure we could watch all home matches, is there a reason they stopped that and its just commentary any time i check unless an expat now?
08-10-2022, 04:58 PM
Exactly. Melkerson has been out for about 6 years with concussion. The medical team don’t take chances.
It was certainly more than 10 days which meant the medical team thought he still had signs or he himself reported some side effects. I had a concussion recently so I got familiar with some of the protocols. If the med team had time to assess Porto (I was working today so didn’t make the game so didn’t see the incident so don’t know what kind of time was spent on him) and decided he wasn’t concussed and it was a contact injury, the protocols don’t come into play. So unless English has information we don’t he’s just guessing and talking out of his hole.
He's here!
08-10-2022, 05:01 PM
2015 last time we won 5 on the trot
in the championship though
Pretty sure Lennon won his first 5 league games at the start of the 2016/17 season? Should have been 6 but we threw away a lead against whoever we were playing.
08-10-2022, 05:02 PM
Seemed the crowd came in late (traffic ?)
Sauzee didn’t say much - but looked happy to be back.
Nice Le God banner. Well done who sorted that.
Also definitely noticed the ball kids are well trained - very quick helping Hibs and slowing it down when Hibs winning.
Seemed 1st half wet pitch - quite a few over hit passes.
08-10-2022, 05:03 PM
Really enjoying going to ER right now.
This is a team to enjoy watching with a bit of everything.
We were really good for 25 mins then Motherwell came into it a bit.
Youan could have had a few goals today - he does look dangerous at times just needs a goal to give him confidence. Not sure how we didn’t score the offside chance.
It’s going have a central striker who causes issues with physical threat but we also need strikers to chip in with goals.
2nd half felt we defended well and Marshall made at great low down save which some keepers would have let in.
Motherwell are decent enough but felt we just had more quality and didn’t think the ref was great but glad he got red card right.
We are still a work in progress but it’s building nicely and once a few players get up to speed we will be even better.
Porto absolutely outstanding today.
After a relatively poor start to the season Porteous has been absolutely brilliant.
08-10-2022, 05:08 PM
Loads to work on in the forward areas, we weren't great other then the first 20 mins. But at the back we are transformed, Porto has had all the praise and rightly so but Paul Hanlon has been a new man since his op, man of the match today.
08-10-2022, 05:14 PM
First time seeing McKirdy, presumably he's not really as poor as he looked today?
08-10-2022, 05:18 PM
Just had a gander at kb's 'other games' thread... and the pure vitriol aimed at Porto both for the red card and the goal is epic... absolute condemnation... without one of them having seen either. He's totally living rent free in their wee heids :greengrin
loanheadhibby
08-10-2022, 05:19 PM
Stephen Craigan asked about Hibs and starts talking about the St Mirren game from weeks ago and mocking Johnson and his "philosophy". Arse.
What a pathetic post.
He stated the last time he saw Hibs was at St Mirren. Hibs had all the ball but were a bit negative with their passing.
As already stated he was good on the radio today.
Am I the only one that gets fed up with all the perceived anti Hibs hysteria from Sportscene and Radio Scotland.
And to finish Willie Miller basically said Goodwin got what he deserved.
08-10-2022, 05:22 PM
First time seeing McKirdy, presumably he's not really as poor as he looked today?
Funny, I thought he was a handful and pulled Motherwell about a bit when he came on. He’ll be good for us.
08-10-2022, 05:23 PM
I’m afraid he is.
08-10-2022, 05:24 PM
Was thinking the same to be honest.
Pretty sure Lennon won his first 5 league games at the start of the 2016/17 season? Should have been 6 but we threw away a lead against whoever we were playing.
That was against Ayr. We were winning 1-0 till Bartley got a ludicrous red (which was later downgraded to a yellow) and lost two soft goals.
08-10-2022, 05:29 PM
That was against Ayr. We were winning 1-0 till Bartley got a ludicrous red (which was later downgraded to a yellow) and lost two soft goals.
A certain Nick Walsh the referee that day...
Trinity Hibee
08-10-2022, 05:33 PM
Biggest let down was the little we saw of Franck.
Great going and enjoying games again. Not the best performance we’ve had recently but deserved the win. The use of the ball is so much more effective now compared to last season and we have so many options in the squad with players returning from injury.
Really like the Ukrainian guy up top and hope we can look at getting him long term. He’s the type who would thrive playing upfront in Europe next season 🤞
08-10-2022, 05:35 PM
Just had a gander at kb's 'other games' thread... and the pure vitriol aimed at Porto both for the red card and the goal is epic... absolute condemnation... without one of them having seen either. He's totally living rent free in their wee heids :greengrin
That's fantastic reading.
One of them claiming Porteous must have faked having a head injury....immediately after scoring
Another fuming for some reason at how much time he apparently spends in the opposition half, wodering why opponents don't simply pass the ball past our defense in his absence
08-10-2022, 05:38 PM
Big step up for him. Youans place isn't in danger just yet. I don't want to put too much pressure on McKirdy as it'll be a big learning curve training and playing at the intensity Hibs demand.
supermcginn
08-10-2022, 05:42 PM
Funny, I thought he was a handful and pulled Motherwell about a bit when he came on. He’ll be good for us.
He'll be playing from the start next week. Looks rapid and eager to run at defenders.
GreenGray
08-10-2022, 05:43 PM
Biggest let down was the little we saw of Franck.
Great going and enjoying games again. Not the best performance we’ve had recently but deserved the win. The use of the ball is so much more effective now compared to last season and we have so many options in the squad with players returning from injury.
Really like the Ukrainian guy up top and hope we can look at getting him long term. He’s the type who would thrive playing upfront in Europe next season [emoji1696]
To be fair what did you expect, I think he was there just to deliver the match ball.
But aye agree, it’s fun going to ER again
08-10-2022, 05:43 PM
Two Halves
08-10-2022, 05:49 PM
Seemed the crowd came in late (traffic ?)
Sauzee didn’t say much - but looked happy to be back.
Nice Le God banner. Well done who sorted that.
Also definitely noticed the ball kids are well trained - very quick helping Hibs and slowing it down when Hibs winning.
Seemed 1st half wet pitch - quite a few over hit passes.
Later on in second half, Porto was shouting to the East Stand ball boys to put their match balls behind the electronic hoardings to prevent Motherwell trying to hurry and take quick throw ins! Found it quite amusing! [emoji23]
08-10-2022, 05:51 PM
Big step up for him. Youans place isn't in danger just yet. I don't want to put too much pressure on McKirdy as it'll be a big learning curve training and playing at the intensity Hibs demand.Not in the least convinced by Youan. Had one good game when he linked up well with Martin on his return. He's slow to react, and I lost count today of how many attacks broke up after he got the ball... either through tackles, poor passing or ball control. He works hard, no question, but that doesn't equate to end product or skill. I was thinking he had to be replaced just before it happened
Trinity Hibee
08-10-2022, 05:55 PM
To be fair what did you expect, I think he was there just to deliver the match ball.
But aye agree, it’s fun going to ER again
I just thought he’d come over from France and hasn’t been here for 20 years they could have got him back out again at HT or we could have heard more from him pre match. Was a bit to ‘Hi and Bye’
08-10-2022, 05:56 PM
Crichton, Craigan and English are still obsessed with how many red cards Hibs' opponents have been given, and Ryan's 'reputation'. Zero intelligent comment or insight.
Bloody hell, bunch o ' choobs, Hibs dont send the players off, numptys
08-10-2022, 05:58 PM
What a pathetic post.
He stated the last time he saw Hibs was at St Mirren. Hibs had all the ball but were a bit negative with their passing.
As already stated he was good on the radio today.
Am I the only one that gets fed up with all the perceived anti Hibs hysteria from Sportscene and Radio Scotland.
And to finish Willie Miller basically said Goodwin got what he deserved.
The latest complaint being that we are 'always last on Sportscene". I remember saying that sort of thing to my mum on a school night when i wanted to stay up late.
I think I probably stopped saying it by the time I left primary school.
GreenGray
08-10-2022, 06:00 PM
I just thought he’d come over from France and hasn’t been here for 20 years they could have got him back out again at HT or we could have heard more from him pre match. Was a bit to ‘Hi and Bye’
I think today was a tease to advertise the game in November
08-10-2022, 06:11 PM
Aye, but what's our identity?
Aye, but did Porto concentrate
08-10-2022, 06:12 PM
McKirdy will assist and chip in with a few goals.
He had some nice touches and you can tell he’s a character.
The thing is though once you bring him and Melkersen on there is no real aerial threat / physical presence up top.
Mykola headed a few corners away and was definitely an issue for Motherwell. He’s got good work rate and we are better with him than Doidge.
08-10-2022, 06:15 PM
McKirdy will assist and chip in with a few goals.
He had some nice touches and you can tell he’s a character.
The thing is though once you bring him and Melkersen on there is no real aerial threat / physical presence up top.
Mykola headed a few corners away and was definitely an issue for Motherwell. He’s got good work rate and we are better with him than Doidge.
The big forward looks decent, better than Doidge of this season, but not better than Doidge pre injury. Obviously plenty time to change that. Boyle going off side for zero reason cost him a goal today.
08-10-2022, 06:20 PM
He didn't look too great in his first appearance, when he came on as a sub. He missed a really good chance to score and, IIRC, he actually apologised after the game and promised to improve.
Hibees1973
08-10-2022, 06:21 PM
Well done Hibs...another great 3 points.
Roll on.
dchibs
08-10-2022, 06:52 PM
Tom English asking why he was allowed to stay on the park after a head knock, questions need to be asked of the medical team
Well Tom us Hibs fans have been asking why you have been allowed to spout all the pish on the radio for 2-3 years, questions need to be asked of sportsound BBC.
Trinity Hibee
08-10-2022, 06:53 PM
Well Tom us Hibs fans have been asking why you have been allowed to spout all the pish on the radio for 2-3 years, questions need to be asked of sportsound BBC.
Well said
GonzoReturns
08-10-2022, 06:55 PM
👏👏👏
08-10-2022, 07:19 PM
Totally deserved the win today against a really decent Motherwell team off the back of a 5-0 away win.
Wasn't a classic by any stretch of the imagination but still pretty enjoyable in spells.
Think the red was absolutely spot on (haven't seen it again) and we should have scored more. Youan will probably get pelters for a few things today, but honestly thought he was much better than McKirdy. Do think Harry will come good though, just takes time to adjust to the step up and how were playing, just think it's interesting that so many folk pre-game wanted Youan out for McKirdy.
Porto and Hanlon though. Outstanding. Dealt with everything in the air and we're constantly looking to drag us up the pitch.
08-10-2022, 07:51 PM
Where is JDH these days? Injured?
08-10-2022, 07:52 PM
Where is JDH these days? Injured?
Yeah. Having a minor op.
08-10-2022, 07:56 PM
Later on in second half, Porto was shouting to the East Stand ball boys to put their match balls behind the electronic hoardings to prevent Motherwell trying to hurry and take quick throw ins! Found it quite amusing! [emoji23]
I noticed that. The wee guy just threw the ball over his shoulder over the electronic board. 😂
CentreForward
08-10-2022, 07:58 PM
Just noticed that today’s crowd was only just slightly less than their Fiorentina crowd and quite a bit more than they got for their game against Istanbul. Considering those 2 euro games were far bigger games than ours today that really is quite something! Big team not !
john rossi
08-10-2022, 08:01 PM
Yohann works hard but end product is missing until Mcgeady is fit or Mitchel we have no natural left sided attacker.
08-10-2022, 08:03 PM
Tom English asking why he was allowed to stay on the park after a head knock, questions need to be asked of the medical team
Did English question the Motherwell player whose head was bashed at the same time was allowed to stay on the park ?
I thought not.
Donegal Hibby
08-10-2022, 09:55 PM
One thing that worried me today was Mckirdy . Even after he's been booked he's mouthing away at the referee (sorry know there's a lot of Mckirdy fans on here ) .Got away with it today but on another day with some one like Beaton or Walsh he might not and specially if we are playing the old firm . Needs to be smarter when he's already on a yellow card imo.
I_Love_Latapy
08-10-2022, 09:56 PM
Well said
+1
Paulie Walnuts
08-10-2022, 10:17 PM
One thing that worried me today was Mckirdy . Even after he's been booked he's mouthing away at the referee (sorry know there's a lot of Mckirdy fans on here ) .Got away with it today but on another day with some one like Beaton or Walsh he might not and specially if we are playing the old firm . Needs to be smarter when he's already on a yellow card imo.
I said the same at the game but more based on kicking/throwing the ball away.
He got away with it once, then he got booked for it, then he done it again.
08-10-2022, 10:22 PM
The Motherwell player also got a yellow in 2nd half and chucked ball away and ref didn’t do anything.
Donegal Hibby
08-10-2022, 10:41 PM
Was worried a 2nd yellow was going to get shown between what you said and him giving it to the ref verbally it could of happened imo.Not knocking the guy ,looks a lively player though needs to work on that side of his game , He's already had problems with refs in England in the past too.
08-10-2022, 10:56 PM
Yeah, thought that myself at the game. Lee Johnson will have to have a word with him about that. Could easily see McKirdy picking up a red (2 yellows) up here if he winds up the refs.
Donegal Hibby
08-10-2022, 11:47 PM
Yeah, thought that myself at the game. Lee Johnson will have to have a word with him about that. Could easily see McKirdy picking up a red (2 yellows) up here if he winds up the refs.
Something our manager has to work on with Mckirdy imo
Donegal Hibby
08-10-2022, 11:59 PM
Anyhow we have won again against not a bad team imo . Happy with the progress that's been made so far just need to get our strikers to get there shooting boots on which has been a bit frustrating at the times though DO think things will click soon .
Paulie Walnuts
09-10-2022, 12:01 AM
The Motherwell player also got a yellow in 2nd half and chucked ball away and ref didn’t do anything.
Yup. Should have been another red imo. Sure someone down south got sent off for similar recently.
09-10-2022, 04:50 AM
Judging by his online persona he’s not going to change for anyone. Might just be one of those characters who you accept is going to miss one or two through suspension.
09-10-2022, 06:40 AM
Big step up for him. Youans place isn't in danger just yet. I don't want to put too much pressure on McKirdy as it'll be a big learning curve training and playing at the intensity Hibs demand.
A lot of money to spend on a player who needs to get up to speed with this level. On the positive side Kenneh, Porto and Hanlon were exceptional
09-10-2022, 08:42 AM
Did English question the Motherwell player whose head was bashed at the same time was allowed to stay on the park ?
I thought not.
No he didn't and it was a bizarre take to be honest. Craigan imo should have been highlighting a very good game with two improving teams yet chose to go on about LJ promising loads of things on Hbs tv which was bizarre. Then went on about the head knock and medical attention which really was completely irrelevant imo. Seem like we aren't allowed to be praised unlike other teams.
Kavinho
09-10-2022, 10:54 AM
McKirdy needs to do better to establish himself in the team. Wasn't a great cameo. Might start him in the cup game for minutes, but he's not in my starting 11 based on that performance.
Youan doesn't convince me though.
All round we just need to be sharper and more clinical in attack.
Really like Kenneth & what he brings.
Cabraja has brought the most improvement to the team since joining.
Mcgennis - have high hopes he'll strengthen the midfield further.
We are doing really well though and things are looking very positive for me just now