View Full Version : Goodwin

h185forever
06-10-2022, 02:09 PM
8 match ban …2 suspended

https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish-fa/football-governance/disciplinary/disciplinary-updates/

1875Sean
06-10-2022, 02:10 PM
Well deserved

Ha.

Hahahaha **** you Goodwin.

06-10-2022, 02:11 PM
8 match ban …2 suspended

https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish-fa/football-governance/disciplinary/disciplinary-updates/

Should have been longer fud that he is.
Hefty fine I hope as well, giving his next 6 game wages to charity would be a nice touch.

JamesHFC
06-10-2022, 02:14 PM
Kyle Lafferty next please.

06-10-2022, 02:16 PM
Get it up him

06-10-2022, 02:17 PM
Justice.

06-10-2022, 02:18 PM
Good. Makes an example of him.

Going about calling people cheats is for fans. Managers need to have a bit more about them than that.

h185forever
06-10-2022, 02:22 PM
Hefty fine I hope as well, giving his next 6 game wages to charity would be a nice touch.

Doesn't mention a fine, tho I agree with you.

The club should at least distance themselves from it by fining him the maximum they can under their own rules, given the Strathclyde FA didnt.

Again ….a local charity is a great idea. And should happen more often…or at least publicised more.

shamo9
06-10-2022, 02:22 PM
Delighted :hahaha:

:applause:

06-10-2022, 02:24 PM
Good. Makes an example of him.

Going about calling people cheats is for fans. Managers need to have a bit more about them than that.

I wouldn't have minded if Porteous had actually dived to be honest, but it was a wrestling match and the ref made a decision when he saw the arm around Portos back. That's it.

06-10-2022, 02:24 PM
**** him. :bye:

Mainstandman
06-10-2022, 02:26 PM
Will BBC website now remove reference to the words 'Blatant Cheat' in this article based on Goodwin's remarks.

Ryan Porteous: How Hibs centre-back delivered Scotland 'debut to remember' - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/63054105)

Can’t wait until we play them at Pittodrie

Poisoned Dwarf lol

The_Sauz
Does that ban include from the dressing room and any communications with the dug out on match day's?

06-10-2022, 02:27 PM
Ooft, well done the sfa. Something that you don't normally hear!! Get it up him.

06-10-2022, 02:28 PM
Delighted . Pr1ck of the highest order

Edinburgh Green
06-10-2022, 02:30 PM
In his interview he said that he wasn't bothered about what happened to him so not doubt this news will be water off a ducks back. :faf:

EskbankHibby
06-10-2022, 02:34 PM
GIRFUY Blake Carrington

06-10-2022, 02:35 PM
Classless player
Classless manager

Engels74
06-10-2022, 02:36 PM
Glad to see some common sense 😎

Stubbsy90+2
06-10-2022, 02:37 PM
Hahahaha

06-10-2022, 02:39 PM
Grade A dumbass getting what he deserves.

06-10-2022, 02:40 PM
Will BBC website now remove reference to the words 'Blatant Cheat' in this article based on Goodwin's remarks.

Ryan Porteous: How Hibs centre-back delivered Scotland 'debut to remember' - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/63054105)

Why would they?

sadtom
06-10-2022, 02:50 PM
The least he deserved.
The unfortunate part is that it will probably improve Aberdeen’s chances having that tw@t absent from the dugout.

06-10-2022, 02:54 PM

Why? that’s what he said.

The dalmeny
06-10-2022, 03:04 PM
Nae luck

snedzuk
06-10-2022, 03:22 PM

https://fleecehaven.org/

06-10-2022, 03:34 PM
Hmm… what will come first: Godwin’s return to the dug out, or his sacking?

06-10-2022, 03:35 PM

They quoted Goodwin.

If Goodwin retracts those comments as he should then there would be no need to quote them again.

06-10-2022, 03:35 PM
https://fleecehaven.org/

What has a farm on exmoor got to do with Goodwin?

snedzuk
06-10-2022, 03:36 PM

Posted in response to the suggestion he make a contribution to a charity.

06-10-2022, 03:37 PM
Why? that’s what he said.

Did he actually use those words? I thought he said conning of the referee

snedzuk
06-10-2022, 03:38 PM

"Sheep arrive at Fleecehaven from across the UK, many having experienced significant neglect"

06-10-2022, 03:52 PM
In his interview he said that he wasn't bothered about what happened to him so not doubt this news will be water off a ducks back. :faf:

He'll no doubt complain about it. Either that or the shill media will do it for him.

JGS56
06-10-2022, 03:53 PM
8 match ban …2 suspended

I see that he admitted the offence. See the last line of the SFA notice - as follows.

Outcome: Admitted; Suspension of eight matches applied as follows: Six matches immediate, and two matches suspended until the end of season 2022/23.

Mcbizz1998
06-10-2022, 03:54 PM
Fantastic news. Get it right ****ing round you, Goodwin!!

-Jonesy-
06-10-2022, 03:59 PM
GIRUY you bitter ********

06-10-2022, 04:00 PM
Much harsher ban that I thought he’d get.

Well played SFA. See, not everyone there hates us.

Renfrew_Hibby
06-10-2022, 04:06 PM

Rodders still stalking the corridors and pushing his pen?

06-10-2022, 04:13 PM

I think it sets a dangerous precedent for them so they had to throw the book at him really.

06-10-2022, 04:14 PM
Wow, is this the kind of thing they could / should have done when slippy Steve launched his assault on Ryan?

06-10-2022, 04:15 PM
He’ll be suspended for our game up there . Probably better oot the road for that game

06-10-2022, 04:18 PM
He’ll be suspended for our game up there . Probably better oot the road for that game

His punishment should include being made to sit in amongst us.

DinkyTwo
06-10-2022, 04:25 PM
Delighted with the harshness of the ban. Wasn't what I was expecting but hopefully it starts to wipe the target off of Ryan's back

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk

06-10-2022, 04:27 PM

Superb idea . Forget the 8 games just do that instead

Scotty Leither
06-10-2022, 04:39 PM
Wonder if Mikael Stewpot will still be pressing his case on Soccerscene on Saturday?

06-10-2022, 04:40 PM
Could be sacked before the ban expires, which would be pleasing.

06-10-2022, 04:48 PM
I guess Ryan will have his "do i look happy" face on today :greengrin

So Ryan,make us happy too,and sign a new contract :aok::greengrin

06-10-2022, 05:01 PM
This is certainly what I'd call a Good Win 🤣

hibbydog
06-10-2022, 05:06 PM
Wow, is this the kind of thing they could / should have done when slippy Steve launched his assault on Ryan?

That’s a great suggestion but SFA bylaws specifically disallow applying the rules to The Old Firm, and they are definitely not allowed to upset The Rangers.

06-10-2022, 05:11 PM
Does that ban include from the dressing room and any communications with the dug out on match day's?

I think that’s how it works. On match day he goes to the stand and no contact until after the game.

06-10-2022, 05:12 PM
He’ll be in the stand for the next Hibs game v Aberdeen

JamesHFC
06-10-2022, 05:16 PM

They are 5th (2 points off 3rd) and in the quarter final of the league cup in which they will probably reach the semi final due to playing Partick at home.

Don't think he's under any sort of pressure.

Donegal Hibby
06-10-2022, 05:21 PM
Very happy with this . Feel the punishment fits the crime .Might hopefully teach him a lesson to conduct himself a wee bit better when his team get a doing rather than throwing his toys out of his pram. Aberdeen fans fuming and want to appeal :crazy: . Didn't like the article in Football Scotland about it , really bad piece of journalism imo.

06-10-2022, 05:25 PM
I think it sets a dangerous precedent for them so they had to throw the book at him really.

Yep cos by inference, he was also criticising Scottish referees and the beaks won’t have that. However, I’m sure Sportsound will spring to his defence

06-10-2022, 05:36 PM
8 match ban …2 suspended

Goodwin was correct here
Common sense did prevail

06-10-2022, 05:43 PM
Now watch Jambo McGlaughlin ask Ryan what he thinks of the ban the first chance he gets!

06-10-2022, 05:45 PM
An excellent outcome and a statement of intent from SFA that such accusations of cheating and besmirching opposition players without foundation won’t be tolerated.

What’s the betting though that the subject of Goodwin’s censure will be a topic of debate on Sportsound tomorrow and the narrative of combing through Porto’s “misdemeanours” will continue in the media, and particularly the BBC.

It’s a start at least.

06-10-2022, 06:49 PM
Aberdeen are appealing the ban. Wonder if it can get increased?

Green Reaper
06-10-2022, 06:54 PM

Surely our appeal for Porto and subsequent increase in ban time has set a precedent.

06-10-2022, 06:56 PM
Surely our appeal for Porto and subsequent increase in ban time has set a precedent.

:agree: It's certainly the outcome I'm expecting.

06-10-2022, 06:59 PM
Hope so.

06-10-2022, 07:10 PM

Maybe easier to get shot of him, if he’s in the dugout

06-10-2022, 07:12 PM
Why are they appealing it when hes held his hands up and guilty as charged. No chance it will be reduced. I suppose they think its worth a try. Well done the tache for ensuring we get fair treatment. Im not holding my breath for any fair coverage from the scottish football media.

06-10-2022, 07:12 PM
Goodwin and Aberdeen are thick as ****. There was never a hope of them getting away with Godwin's rant post-match. He should have apologised long before now. The fact that they couldn't bring themselves to accept they were wrong is part of why they got hammered. And rightly so.

Enjoy the 8 games, you plum.

The only downside, is Aberdeen will likely play better without him.

LunasBoots
06-10-2022, 07:14 PM

Wouldn't be surprised if they reduced it by a game or something, but they need to send a message to others that it's not on.

06-10-2022, 07:35 PM
Unfortunately, this ban benefits Aberdeen.

Donegal Hibby
06-10-2022, 07:37 PM
Why are they appealing it when hes held his hands up and guilty as charged. No chance it will be reduced. I suppose they think its worth a try. Well done the tache for ensuring we get fair treatment. Im not holding my breath for any fair coverage from the scottish football media.
I take it they think the ban is to severe and that's why they are appealing it though I wonder if it could be increased if they lose appeal. Makes things into a farce if they even cut his ban by a game imo .He was out of order and punishment is appropriate.

06-10-2022, 07:42 PM
I take it they think the ban is to severe and that's why they are appealing it though I wonder if it could be increased if they lose appeal. Makes things into a farce if they even cut his ban by a game imo .He was out of order and punishment is appropriate.
Not to mention that he admitted the charge.

JammyDoidger
06-10-2022, 07:46 PM
Get it right round you mr Goodwin, pleasing.

06-10-2022, 08:01 PM
I'm still coming to terms with reading "Aberdeen appealing"! :wink:

LewysGot2
06-10-2022, 09:07 PM
Outstanding outcome, for once :agree:

06-10-2022, 09:47 PM
Should be another 8 game ban for trying to influence the ref before the match imo

06-10-2022, 09:50 PM
Well deserved, but what's the appeal all about?

06-10-2022, 10:40 PM
Mind when we always used to win when Lennon was suspended and in the stand. The players were more relaxed and played better.

06-10-2022, 11:00 PM
What about their goalkeeper, who made similar remarks, why was he not up before the beaks ?

07-10-2022, 12:32 AM
Very, very funny.

07-10-2022, 01:35 AM

He will be gone within the month.

07-10-2022, 05:39 AM
He will be gone within the month.

Do you really think so? Think there's zero chance of that. They'll be there or there abouts for 3rd come the end of the season.

07-10-2022, 05:41 AM
I'm still coming to terms with reading "Aberdeen appealing"! :wink:

What on earth can they appeal? He implicated himself on national TV. Trying to sway the referee before the game even started. Hopefully they extend it for being stupid enough to appeal and wasting everyone's time.

07-10-2022, 06:06 AM
Should be another 8 game ban for trying to influence the ref before the match imo

Tbf I think that’s already part of one of the charges.

07-10-2022, 06:32 AM
The Sheep would be better off just sucking this one up and getting on with things. Porto is now flavour of the month after his showing for the National team, so the story is now all about Goodwin.

07-10-2022, 07:25 AM
What on earth can they appeal? He implicated himself on national TV. Trying to sway the referee before the game even started.

The length of the ban? :dunno:

07-10-2022, 07:27 AM
Tbf I think that’s already part of one of the charges.

I didn't see anything in the charges to suggest that. What did they say?

07-10-2022, 07:29 AM

It can only be this, particularly as Goodwin admitted the offences at the hearing.

I dont know how they do these things though, he maybe thought by putting his hands up he would get a more lenient ban?

If, on the other hand, they explained why the ban was going to be 8 matches with 2 suspended - and he accepted all that - then their appeal would probably be deemed a waste of time and increased.

I am just speculating, of course !

07-10-2022, 07:32 AM

They want it to be longer 🤣

07-10-2022, 07:57 AM
Maybe if the appeal fails the two suspended games will be added to the 6.

Heres hoping the gob***** does end up out for all 8.

I think we snubbed him for the Hibs job when Ross was sacked ad thats whats got him so riled up.

Fuzzywuzzy
07-10-2022, 08:35 AM
So it was 8 games reduced to six so if they lose they will get the 8?

07-10-2022, 08:44 AM
So it was 8 games reduced to six so if they lose they will get the 8?

Don't know what'll happen if they lose but the extra 2 are suspended so they'll kick in if he's a naughty boy any time between now and the end of the season.

07-10-2022, 08:58 AM

Or apologise to Porto in the centre circle before taking his seat in the stand.

07-10-2022, 08:59 AM
Don't know what'll happen if they lose but the extra 2 are suspended so they'll kick in if he's a naughty boy any time between now and the end of the season.

Guaranteed to be enacted then.

07-10-2022, 09:45 AM
A deserved punishment. I’m amazed by the number of comments online, not just from Aberdeen fans, saying “punished for just telling the truth”. These people can’t have seen the incident.

Stubbsy90+2
07-10-2022, 10:07 AM
A deserved punishment. I’m amazed by the number of comments online, not just from Aberdeen fans, saying “punished for just telling the truth”. These people can’t have seen the incident.

I’ve even seen people arguing that he was right because it was a foul on Scales before.

Even if you believe that, I’m not quite sure how anyone can claim that the referee not giving the foul for that one but rightfully giving a foul for the Porteous one makes Porteous the cheat. At worst he got away with a foul seconds before being fouled himself. That doesn’t make him a cheat unless we’re going to call everyone who commits a foul a cheat.

hibby rae
07-10-2022, 10:21 AM

That's because they've adopted a certain narrative about Ryan

07-10-2022, 12:24 PM
That's because they've adopted a certain narrative about Ryan

Which is being eroded by his Stallar performance for Scotland last week.

Dare I say it, Porto may well become the SFAs darling.

GRA
07-10-2022, 12:58 PM

That's because they choose to believe the narrative of their ears (i.e. the 'journalism' of the agenda driven bluenose press) rather than their eyes. He's only won 2 penalties in his career. One was stonewall, the other was soft, in fact if you review past incidents he's had clear fouls against him in the box not given and goals chopped off for nothing!

Goodwin went way OTT in his criticism, attempting to deflect from a lame Dons performance by questioning a players character and integrity, hence why the SFA need to set a strong precedent here. Like they probably will for Lafferty's sectarian comments.

07-10-2022, 01:08 PM
Which is being eroded by his Stallar performance for Scotland last week.

Dare I say it, Porto may well become the SFAs darling.

Said it before, it resembles how it was with Darren Jackson. Hated by fans everywhere else until he executed that dummy for John McGinley to score for Scotland. After that, along with his general effort and energy, he was liked a whole lot more than he had been.

07-10-2022, 02:04 PM
That's because they choose to believe the narrative of their ears (i.e. the 'journalism' of the agenda driven bluenose press) rather than their eyes. He's only won 2 penalties in his career. One was stonewall, the other was soft, in fact if you review past incidents he's had clear fouls against him in the box not given.

Not in the box but there was an incident against Ross County last week where a midfielder poleaxed him as he was running into the last third. Nothing given, no replay on the telly.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Hibees1973
07-10-2022, 04:15 PM
What on earth is their appeal based on. He was on camera when he spouted his piece.

The ban was based on this evidence. It cannot be debated like an unclear tackle.

Extraordinary.

07-10-2022, 04:29 PM

Mostly Hearts and Rangers fans no doubt so their biased opinions can't be taken seriously.

07-10-2022, 04:34 PM
What on earth is their appeal based on. He was on camera when he spouted his piece.

The ban was based on this evidence. It cannot be debated like an unclear tackle.

Extraordinary.

Probably the severity of the punishment opposed to being guilty or not is what will be challenged.

07-10-2022, 04:57 PM
https://twitter.com/ee_sport/status/1578410232207794177?s=20&t=qf4oWck5725LaM4vXuC9dw :hilarious

07-10-2022, 05:01 PM
https://twitter.com/ee_sport/status/1578410232207794177?s=20&t=qf4oWck5725LaM4vXuC9dw :hilarious

We should wear them the next time we play Aberdeen.

Donegal Hibby
07-10-2022, 05:02 PM
Probably the severity of the punishment opposed to being guilty or not is what will be challenged.
That's exactly what they are appealing .Dons fans are saying even a stamp or leg breaking tackle wouldn't get this kind of punishment .different issues totally imo .Think the ban was always going to be severe as we can't have another situation like this again.

Few years back my rugby teams coach got banned. He was screwed over to be fair.

We played Widnes away on TV and he was not allowed in the ground. Every away fan turned up with a mask of his face to which every single person had to be checked before entering the ground. Masks removed etc.

He was there in the pub before hand with the fans having a laugh.

Hope Easter Road is full of them tomorrow [emoji23]

Donegal Hibby
07-10-2022, 05:09 PM
Hope Easter Road is full of them tomorrow [emoji23]

That would be a laugh.Though scary thought having that Gobs***e being cloned :worried:

08-10-2022, 08:06 AM
See McMoist & Sutton jumping in now saying Goodwin has been harshly punished. :faf:

08-10-2022, 09:59 AM
See McMoist & Sutton jumping in now saying Goodwin has been harshly punished. :faf:
Also Boyd saying same and he has said that porteous conned the ref into giving the wrong decision. Boyd is another slaver.

08-10-2022, 10:04 AM

Bit weird

08-10-2022, 10:08 AM
Bit weird

That says to me that they want him banned? 🤣

08-10-2022, 10:10 AM
We should wear them the next time we play Aberdeen.

Porto should wear one during the warm up when we play them!!

08-10-2022, 10:11 AM
That says to me that they want him banned? 🤣

Yep. If they weren't so dim they'd have "not guilty" on it.

08-10-2022, 10:38 AM
Yep. If they weren't so dim they'd have "not guilty" on it.

Didn't Goodwin accept his guilt though? Having not guilty, when Goodwin has already conceded his guilt, would be dim.

08-10-2022, 11:01 AM

That is Scottish football tin-pottery at its finest.

08-10-2022, 05:15 PM
Goodwin is just as classless as a manager as he was a player.

An absolute walloper of the highest order

08-10-2022, 05:49 PM
Apparently being on the touchline IS important 😂

Ray Donovan
08-10-2022, 05:58 PM
Looks like it will be another badloss for Badloss. What a shame.

08-10-2022, 06:10 PM
https://twitter.com/simpsonsspfl/status/1578809978814492674?s=46&t=w5IDwTqSG_8gJG8hiGjRJA

08-10-2022, 06:29 PM
Goodwin lol.
More like badloss

08-10-2022, 06:32 PM
https://twitter.com/fitbatweets/status/1578809867254788096?s=46&t=hw_f9B9uaT81bepy8UNRLA

ElginHibbie
08-10-2022, 06:32 PM
https://twitter.com/fitbatweets/status/1578809867254788096?s=20&t=rfBm0_bZsYN4b7LsuOyxuQ (https://twitter.com/fitbatweets/status/1578809867254788096?s=20&t=rfBm0_bZsYN4b7LsuOyxuQ)

08-10-2022, 06:36 PM
https://twitter.com/fitbatweets/status/1578809867254788096?s=20&t=rfBm0_bZsYN4b7LsuOyxuQ (https://twitter.com/fitbatweets/status/1578809867254788096?s=20&t=rfBm0_bZsYN4b7LsuOyxuQ)

Keep up lol

08-10-2022, 06:37 PM
Out his depth.

His outburst about Porto was an attempt to cover up his own players stupidity at picking up 2 bookings so close together and his own shortcomings as a manager.

I thought he looked a promising manager at St Mirren but I'm glad it's Aberdeen who gave him a chance at a bigger club rather than us. He's got Falkirk job written all over him.

08-10-2022, 06:39 PM
Out his depth.

His outburst about Porto was an attempt to cover up his own players stupidity at picking up 2 bookings so close together and his own shortcomings as a manager.

I thought he looked a promising manager at St Mirren but I'm glad it's Aberdeen who gave him a chance at a bigger club rather than us. He's got Falkirk job written all over him.
Or Hamilton

08-10-2022, 06:39 PM
Can we get Porto masks for Aberdeen away - nice one of Ryan cheesing 😀

ElginHibbie
08-10-2022, 06:40 PM
Keep up lol

Haha, it so good think it deserves to be posted twice

08-10-2022, 06:42 PM
Out his depth.

Said the exact same thing. A manager desperately clutching at straws and using deflection tactics. clown.

I_Love_Latapy
08-10-2022, 08:11 PM
Can we get Porto masks for Aberdeen away - nice one of Ryan cheesing 😀

I like this idea

08-10-2022, 08:16 PM
Out his depth.

Last time I seen his big daft coupon it had BANNED written all over him.

08-10-2022, 08:45 PM
Out his depth.

Said it a few times after the game but he said once they went down to 10 men it was impossible for them to get anything from the game. At the time I thought that was mental but even more so after today when you saw how hard Motherwell made us work for the points.

Kilmarnock the same when they had 10 men.

08-10-2022, 08:53 PM
Goodwin really lowered himself by approaching Porteous.

Deal with the manager, not the player, you bearded scrote.

08-10-2022, 09:07 PM
Said it a few times after the game but he said once they went down to 10 men it was impossible for them to get anything from the game. At the time I thought that was mental but even more so after today when you saw how hard Motherwell made us work for the points.

Kilmarnock the same when they had 10 men.

Yep 2 or 3 of the Aberdeen players basically chucked it. Motherwell were the complete opposite. Doesn't say much for Goodwin.

Stokesy's on fire
09-10-2022, 05:46 AM
Thank goodness we didn't end up with Ross Mccrorrie at Hibs what a disaster of a signing he has been for them

09-10-2022, 06:01 AM
Thank goodness we didn't end up with Ross Mccrorrie at Hibs what a disaster of a signing he has been for them

Good midfielder, dodgy centre half.

09-10-2022, 07:51 AM
I'm absolutely loving Aberdeen's current form. Karma in action I think!

09-10-2022, 08:00 AM
What a lot of pundits seem to be forgetting is that calling Porteous a cheat was only one part of his offence.

The reason I think he'll have received such a harsh punishment is that he also admitted to approaching the referee before the game to warn him about Porteous. That is an absolutely scandalous thing to have done, never mind publicly admit to and he deserves all he gets.

I sincerely hope and expect his ban to be increased now that it's being appealed.

09-10-2022, 08:01 AM
Out his depth.

Agree complete deflection from actually how poor they were on the day including two stick on penalties not given against them or even discussed on radio or tv. Hibs could have beaten them 6 1. They are horrific defensively. Motherwell are a far better team

09-10-2022, 08:04 AM
What a lot of pundits seem to be forgetting is that calling Porteous a cheat was only one part of his offence.

The reason I think he'll have received such a harsh punishment is that he also admitted to approaching the referee before the game to warn him about Porteous. That is an absolutely scandalous thing to have done, never mind publicly admit to and he deserves all he gets.

I sincerely hope and expect his ban to be increased now that it's being appealed.

Agree i am absolutely sure many managers will have done it to referees before a game but to admit it is arrogance and stupidity in equal measure

09-10-2022, 08:15 AM

He hasn’t really. He had a shocker yesterday but overall he’s been a very good signing for them and won their POTY award last season. Posts like these are no different to the uniformed pish opposition fans write about Porto based on their dislike of something he’s done in the past and a couple of lowlights they’ve seen on Sportscene.

09-10-2022, 08:27 AM
Maybe if the appeal fails the two suspended games will be added to the 6.

Heres hoping the gob***** does end up out for all 8.

I think we snubbed him for the Hibs job when Ross was sacked ad thats whats got him so riled up.

Badloss will be binned before the suspension is finished.

Stokesy's on fire
09-10-2022, 11:00 AM
He hasn’t really. He had a shocker yesterday but overall he’s been a very good signing for them and won their POTY award last season. Posts like these are no different to the uniformed pish opposition fans write about Porto based on their dislike of something he’s done in the past and a couple of lowlights they’ve seen on Sportscene.

Mccrorrie has 100% been cow dung. Everytime I watch them he looks hopeless.

09-10-2022, 11:36 AM

They played him at CB midweek in a good home win. Moved him back to midfield because Scales returned yesterday and they got well beat. You think they'd have been stronger for having everyone back and playing in their 'preferred' positions.

They don't seem to be a good away side but get results at home.

I suspect mccrorie is the least of their problems.

Hibiza
09-10-2022, 11:49 AM
Goodwin , Goodwin ,for Dundee Utd

11-10-2022, 04:56 PM
https://www.scottishdailyexpress.co.uk/sport/football/lee-johnson-sfa-rap-escape-28212899

Another incredible take here 😂

11-10-2022, 05:02 PM
https://www.scottishdailyexpress.co.uk/sport/football/lee-johnson-sfa-rap-escape-28212899

They'll still be printing this crap until their doors close for the last time and they'll all be scratching their heads and balls and wondering why they closed down. Just garbage journalism.

11-10-2022, 05:13 PM

It's incredibly hard to do the correct thing and just ignore this pish.

Genuinely inexplicable. You'd think his 'cheating' was football's ten most outrageous dives all rolled into one, rather than two guys grappling and falling over.

11-10-2022, 05:16 PM
It's incredibly hard to do the correct thing and just ignore this pish.

Genuinely inexplicable. You'd think his 'cheating' was football's ten most outrageous dives all rolled into one, rather than two guys grappling and falling over.

That’s the thing.

It’s debatable whether it was a penalty or not, there’s no way it could be considered a dive though.

As for them not understanding Lee Johnson’s point about good play leading to a penalty, that’s just ****ing stupid 😂

11-10-2022, 05:33 PM
They'll still be printing this crap until their doors close for the last time and they'll all be scratching their heads and balls and wondering why they closed down. Just garbage journalism.

Genuinely believe that we should be consulting our lawyers and look to take legal action against Conroy and Roach if possible. That’s the second time they have publicly accused Porteous of cheating and have now dragged Lee Johnson into it as well with malicious personal slurs.

Completely unacceptable.

11-10-2022, 05:39 PM
The writer of the scandalous article in the express is their Sports Editor, Lindsay Herron,who has a relationship with the hun fc going back 25 years.
He was, or has been in charge of rangers media,rangers website, rangers tv and assorted PR and commercial stuff for that mob.
So no bias there then !
Like the magic hat, still be raging at our Hampden Exuberance.
Journalist ? Sports Editor,even !
Re hashing old comments from two ex,below average,3rd rate refs,who chose to slander our player and gaffer.

Our media person at ER should be putting this liar in his place.
As for the two ex refs?
Dont suppose they have any intention of attending a Hibs game at ER anytime soon. Pair of cowards.
Lee could invite them to explain their comments,though.

11-10-2022, 05:45 PM
The Daily Mail. Convoy and Roach. FFS surely no one is taking that trio of **** ups seriously. Its like the Beano asking someone who once owned a Meccanno set to comment on the design of the new Queensferry crossing!! Best ignored and probably has a lower readership than the Beano as well.
Younger viewers may need to ask about the Beano and Meccanno!!

11-10-2022, 05:45 PM
I assume people know that posting a link to a story actually helps these people as they get more clickthrus etc?

11-10-2022, 05:54 PM
I assume people know that posting a link to a story actually helps these people as they get more clickthrus etc?

I certainly do and i guess most on here do also.
The article does need discussing.
It reports accusations and lies about our manager.
I wouldnt even call it "lazy journalism".
It is a deliberate attempt to blacken the name of Lee Johnson,written by a guy who clearly detests Hibernian FC.

The club need to contact the Express for a full explanation.
I will be surprised if they have not already done so.

11-10-2022, 06:01 PM

Definitely some kind of agenda at play.

11-10-2022, 06:01 PM
The Daily Mail. Convoy and Roach. FFS surely no one is taking that trio of **** ups seriously. Its like the Beano asking someone who once owned a Meccanno set to comment on the design of the new Queensferry crossing!! Best ignored and probably has a lower readership than the Beano as well.
Younger viewers may need to ask about the Beano and Meccanno!!

With the nature of the accusations, it can’t just be dismissed as something to ignore in my opinion. The club has a duty to defend our player and manager in the strongest possible terms in this instance.

11-10-2022, 06:04 PM
Genuinely believe that we should be consulting our lawyers and look to take legal action against Conroy and Roach if possible. That’s the second time they have publicly accused Porteous of cheating and have now dragged Lee Johnson into it as well with malicious personal slurs.

Completely unacceptable.
If that's what they actually said and it wasn't embellished by the reporter (which is what I would expect to have happened).

11-10-2022, 06:05 PM
I certainly do and i guess most on here do also.
The article does need discussing.
It reports accusations and lies about our manager.
I wouldnt even call it "lazy journalism".
It is a deliberate attempt to blacken the name of Lee Johnson,written by a guy who clearly detests Hibernian FC.

The club need to contact the Express for a full explanation.
I will be surprised if they have not already done so.They want Hibs to kick up a fuss as it's clicks galore for them, which is why the club is canny and is circumspect.

If its was me I'd ban any representative of that paper until they retracted. Don't even enter a dialog until the swallowed it.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

11-10-2022, 06:06 PM
If that's what they actually said and it wasn't embellished by the reporter (which is what I would expect to have happened).

I think they’re on a podcast maybe and the paper is quoting them directly

They must be at it and just looking for clicks/attention. Surely can’t be this stupid.

11-10-2022, 06:09 PM

Spot on. He’s a very good player and would have been excellent for us.

11-10-2022, 06:11 PM
I think they’re on a podcast maybe and the paper is quoting them directly

They must be at it and just looking for clicks/attention. Surely can’t be this stupid.
Oh OK, I thought it was just an article....

11-10-2022, 06:16 PM
It's ex-refs talking amongst themselves on a ref's podcast. They can't have much to talk about on each show so this came up again on the back of the SFA action against Goodwin.

As with their original comments, nobody cares about them. They're ex-refs ffs, there is nobody less important in Scottish football.

Absolutely no way should Hibs be engaging with them in any shape or form. Don't pay them any attention. Talk of legal action sounds like something Budge would do.

11-10-2022, 06:31 PM
It's ex-refs talking amongst themselves on a ref's podcast. They can't have much to talk about on each show so this came up again on the back of the SFA action against Goodwin.

As with their original comments, nobody cares about them. They're ex-refs ffs, there is nobody less important in Scottish football.

Absolutely no way should Hibs be engaging with them in any shape or form. Don't pay them any attention. Talk of legal action sounds like something Budge would do.

Isn't it mostly ex refs who are going to be manning the 'VAR
trucks' and making the crucial decisions once it's introduced??

If it is I'd be seriously concerned about comments like those.

11-10-2022, 06:48 PM

Totally agree

11-10-2022, 06:59 PM
This part in particular had really riled me - completely unacceptable tone and choice of words

"Goodwin was hit with an eight-match ban, two suspended until the end of the season, for breaching association rules after calling out*Porteous*as a cheat"

11-10-2022, 09:14 PM
Isn't it mostly ex refs who are going to be manning the 'VAR
trucks' and making the crucial decisions once it's introduced??

If it is I'd be seriously concerned about comments like those.

Think they was both very stoned, as everyone knows that bad Loss is a phanney.

Hibiza
12-10-2022, 02:39 PM
Goodwin loves his own voice .

Donegal Hibby
12-10-2022, 05:17 PM
Goodwin loves his own voice .
" Very boring " Jim Goodwin speaks of ban .. Story in the scotsman

13-10-2022, 08:14 AM
" Very boring " Jim Goodwin speaks of ban .. Story in the scotsman

Jim is the real victim here. They had no right to remove his right to abuse players, lobby officials pre-match, and make up his own facts during interviews.

Donegal Hibby
14-10-2022, 04:59 PM
Goodwin back in dugout tomorrow and rangers game .

14-10-2022, 06:53 PM

Why is that?

14-10-2022, 07:07 PM
Why is that?
They have appealed so he is in the dugout until the appeal is heard on Oct 31st.

Donegal Hibby
14-10-2022, 07:08 PM
Why is that?
He's appealing it which apparently allows him back in dugout

14-10-2022, 07:09 PM

He’s in dugout for the next 4 games till the hearing at end of the month.

14-10-2022, 07:09 PM
They have appealed so he is in the dugout until the appeal is heard on Oct 31st.

Appealed? They are a shower.

Donegal Hibby
14-10-2022, 07:14 PM
Yes , four games . Hearts ,rangers ,Motherwell, Partick thistle I think .story in the scotsman

14-10-2022, 07:17 PM

We would have done the same

14-10-2022, 07:24 PM
We would have done the same

Aye, but I like us!

Even then I'd question doing it given the lack of a defence and expect the suspended 2 matches to become actual plus a financial loss for the club.

14-10-2022, 07:26 PM
They all need a shower too. Well dipped I suppose.....

15-10-2022, 01:49 PM
He’s in dugout for the next 4 games till the hearing at end of the month.

Bizarre there is such a gap before appeal. Hope he gets hammered with a higher ban

29-10-2022, 06:29 PM
Might have been mentioned already but Leanne Crichton had a right go at Goodwin on the radio before the game, saying that he was focussing far too much on Rangers' problems and what the sheep were going to do to them. I know she gets a bit of stick but she was spot on.

Could have been 9 or 10 apparently.

29-10-2022, 06:33 PM
Might have been mentioned already but Leanne Crichton had a right go at Goodwin on the radio before the game, saying that he was focussing far too much on Rangers' problems and what the sheep were going to do to them. I know she gets a bit of stick but she was spot on.

From what I can gather he made the same mistake Johnson did at Celtic Park and tried to take the game to Rangers, inevitably they got picked off at will.

I think it's dangerous to look at both that pair struggling in Europe and think they are vulnerable. Losing to Napoli, Liverpool and even Leipzig or Shakthar is different from playing Hibs or Aberdeen. There's not really a comparison to be made.

Fans don't like it but the only way to get a result against that pair is to shut up shop and hope to nick a couple on the break. That maybe wasn't the case at Ibrox for a few years but even though they are some way behind Celtic it's probably back to being the sad truth again now.

29-10-2022, 06:36 PM
From what I can gather he made the same mistake Johnson did at Celtic Park and tried to take the game to Rangers, inevitably they got picked off at will.

I think it's dangerous to look at both that pair struggling in Europe and think they are vulnerable. Losing to Napoli, Liverpool and even Leipzig or Shakthar is different from playing Hibs or Aberdeen. There's not really a comparison to be made.

Fans don't like it but the only way to get a result against that pair is to shut up shop and hope to nick a couple on the break. That maybe wasn't the case at Ibrox for a few years but even though they are some way behind Celtic it's probably back to being the sad truth again now.

You'd think Goodwin would have known better. I despise the Huns but it was great to hear that he got things so spectacularly wrong today.

Donegal Hibby
29-10-2022, 06:42 PM

Was just going to post on this.Today sevco had 70% possession, 36 shots and 13 on , Dons 30% ,5 shots with 1 on target . Here's what he said afterwards "whatever criticism comes my way for setting the team up in the fashion I did , I'll take it.with the group of players I have put together in the summer I don't want us going anywhere and being negative.we need to take this one on the chin , it's a very sore one ( good ) .There was also this that happened today as well . Could there be a fine for this ?
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/aberdeen-fans-aim-sick-message-28360825

29-10-2022, 06:46 PM
Was just going to post on this.Today sevco had 70% possession, 36 shots and 13 on , Dons 30% ,5 shots with 1 on target . Here's what he said afterwards "whatever criticism comes my way for setting the team up in the fashion I did , I'll take it.with the group of players I have put together in the summer I don't want us going anywhere and being negative.we need to take this one on the chin , it's a very sore one ( good ) .There was also this that happened today as well . Could there be a fine for this ?
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/aberdeen-fans-aim-sick-message-28360825

Hate crime and sectarian abuse says one on the Daily Ranger website...they don't do irony do they!?

29-10-2022, 06:48 PM
Goodwin is a right phanney, the longer he gets banned for the better.

29-10-2022, 06:49 PM
D

Who would be fined? Not the club. There’s no liability.

29-10-2022, 06:54 PM
How is he in the dugout? Thought he was banned

29-10-2022, 06:58 PM
Another Badloss for Goodwin, has a kind of poetic justice to it.

ChilliEater
29-10-2022, 07:03 PM

He's appealed against his ban, so he can sit in the dugout until his hearing is done. Don't know when that is.

He can be in the dugout until the appeal is heard.

He's appealed against his ban, so he can sit in the dugout until his hearing is done. Don't know when that is.

October 31st I believe

Donegal Hibby
29-10-2022, 07:05 PM
D

Who would be fined? Not the club. There’s no liability.
FIFA fine clubs in Europe for offensive banners from there fans do they not ?

29-10-2022, 07:15 PM

They have strict liability in terms of their disciplinary code.

29-10-2022, 07:16 PM
No UEFA do and the clubs have to sign up to be responsible for their fans if they want to play in the competitions. The clubs in Scotland do not want to be responsible for the behaviour of their fans in domestic competitions so there is no regulation.

Donegal Hibby
29-10-2022, 07:20 PM
They have strict liability in terms of their disciplinary code.
Question , Is there not some ruling on offensive banners in the SFA rule book ?

29-10-2022, 07:23 PM
Question , Is there not some ruling on offensive banners in the SFA rule book ?

I’m sure there is in a token manner but the clubs are not responsible so no disciplinary process can be started against them.

After the Scottish cup final in 2016 we ran a train through the SFA disciplinary constitution. Well rather our Lawyer did who happened to be the SPFL lawyer at the time as well - all very complicated.

Donegal Hibby
29-10-2022, 07:24 PM
No UEFA do and the clubs have to sign up to be responsible for their fans if they want to play in the competitions. The clubs in Scotland do not want to be responsible for the behaviour of their fans in domestic competitions so there is no regulation.
Pity . No place in football for banners like that imo . Thanks for correcting me on this :aok:

Donegal Hibby
29-10-2022, 07:26 PM
I’m sure there is in a token manner but the clubs are not responsible so no disciplinary process can be started against them.

After the Scottish cup final in 2016 we ran a train through the SFA disciplinary constitution. Well rather our Lawyer did who happened to be the SPFL lawyer at the time as well - all very complicated.
Thanks 👍

29-10-2022, 07:27 PM
Pity . No place in football for banners like that imo . Thanks for correcting me on this :aok:

Not a correction:greengrin just an explanation.The SPFL tried to get the clubs to sign up for a regulation making them responsible for fan behaviour but they weren’ t having it.

ChilliEater
29-10-2022, 07:34 PM
October 31st I believe

I suspect they will reduce his ban, but I'd love it if they doubled it like they did to Porto 🙂

Donegal Hibby
29-10-2022, 07:40 PM
Not a correction:greengrin just an explanation.The SPFL tried to get the clubs to sign up for a regulation making them responsible for fan behaviour but they weren’ t having it.
Bet the old firm broke into a cold sweat when they were asked to sign up to this AH ? 😂

29-10-2022, 07:43 PM
I suspect they will reduce his ban, but I'd love it if they doubled it like they did to Porto 🙂

The ban should be increased.

If appealing against a ban where you have been found to have called another professional a cheat and admitted publicly to speaking to the referee before the match to warn him about said fellow professional isn't deemed frivolous then I don't know what is.

29-10-2022, 07:57 PM

“ Kill all Huns “. :confused:

Is this the Gers accepting they’re Huns. :greengrin

29-10-2022, 08:00 PM

That's way beyond the pale in terms of acceptable football banter or rivalry.

I'm assuming whoever unfurled that was arrested?

Donegal Hibby
29-10-2022, 08:11 PM
That's way beyond the pale in terms of acceptable football banter or rivalry.

I'm assuming whoever unfurled that was arrested?
As much as I dislike everything about sevco I think that kind of banner has no place in football and is totally unacceptable . It said it was taken off them but no word of arrests.

29-10-2022, 08:23 PM
As much as I dislike everything about sevco I think that kind of banner has no place in football and is totally unacceptable . It said it was taken off them but no word of arrests.

Quite incredible if there's been no arrests.

Should really be up on an incitement charge.

29-10-2022, 08:28 PM
“ Kill all Huns “. :confused:

Is this the Gers accepting they’re Huns. :greengrin

Yes,as they "Go home"

Green Reaper
29-10-2022, 10:35 PM
Quite incredible if there's been no arrests.

Should really be up on an incitement charge.

Incitement yes but the article quoted states it as sectarian, which it is not

29-10-2022, 10:40 PM
Good to see the huns taking a stand on sectarianism. Should be interesting at their next couple of games when they all start reporting each other.

Shooting turds in a barrel.

vuefrom1875
29-10-2022, 10:47 PM
You'd think Goodwin would have known better. I despise the Huns but it was great to hear that he got things so spectacularly wrong today.

Binned before Xmas.

30-10-2022, 12:24 AM
October 31st I believe

Ahh nice so his first game in the stand is against us next Friday…would be rather nice to stick it up him again.

30-10-2022, 02:32 PM

if you mean last year’s appeal after the Aberdeen sending off, I think they added 1 additional match ban to the initial 3 match ban, not doubled

30-10-2022, 02:34 PM
Porto no doubt will get abuse from them so hopefully we do the same to Goodwin.

ChilliEater
30-10-2022, 03:04 PM
if you mean last year’s appeal after the Aberdeen sending off, I think they added 1 additional match ban to the initial 3 match ban, not doubled

I thought he went from 1 match to 2, but it wouldn't be the first time I was wrong ☺️ - so yes, hope they increase his ban 🙂

30-10-2022, 04:48 PM
I thought he went from 1 match to 2, but it wouldn't be the first time I was wrong ☺️ - so yes, hope they increase his ban 🙂

He went from a 3 match ban to a 4 match ban.

Blackfordhibby
31-10-2022, 05:52 PM
Is it no the day that sleekit ferret is up in front o' the beaks ?

31-10-2022, 06:18 PM

Yup, not heard anything yet

31-10-2022, 06:19 PM

Finds out today what the result is - supposedly

31-10-2022, 06:22 PM
Binned before Xmas.

Hope they dont wait till Xmas.

31-10-2022, 08:19 PM
Goodwin has his ban reduced by 3 games from 8 to 5 (3 match ban to be served with 2 suspended until the end of the season) but one has already been served so he only has two to go.

Absolutely disgraceful, I hope Hibs put out a statement to condemn this.

31-10-2022, 08:39 PM
Goodwin has his ban reduced by 3 games from 8 to 5 (3 match ban to be served with 2 suspended until the end of the season) but one has already been served so he only has two to go.

I would say predictable as Neilson got away with saying basically the same thing last season.

A 5 match ban seems reasonable, and he won't be in the dugout when we are ther on Friday.

31-10-2022, 08:40 PM

So you can call a player a "cheat" and attempt to influence refs and effectively get a 3 match ban (let's face it, Goodwin is unlikely to pick up another touchline ban this season)

SFA and SPFL really need to put it down in writing exactly what a suspension should be for things like this. 5 matches is probably the minimum IMO, no partial suspension of punishment either.

31-10-2022, 08:45 PM
I would say predictable as Neilson got away with saying basically the same thing last season.

A 5 match ban seems reasonable, and he won't be in the dugout when we are ther on Friday.

Did Neilson say he had spoken to the match referee beforehand to warn him about an opposition player?

For me that escalates the offence to a different level and the ban should have been increased as the appeal should have been thrown out and deemed frivolous.

To have the ban reduced is pathetic.

31-10-2022, 09:06 PM
Did Neilson say he had spoken to the match referee beforehand to warn him about an opposition player?

For me that escalates the offence to a different level and the ban should have been increased as the appeal should have been thrown out and deemed frivolous.

Did you expect anything else SDG. The beaks are gutless, always have been. :rolleyes:

31-10-2022, 09:07 PM

Yes they have made a rod for their own back here. 3 matches for calling someone a cheat and trying to influence officials pre match is ridiculous. Wonder if we will see more of this now. Win, lose or draw we should send a backroom staff member to the post match interview on Friday and call out all their cheats and see what happens.

Halmyre Hibee
31-10-2022, 09:25 PM
Goodwin has been cheating all his playing career 463 appearances and booked 145 times with 7 red cards.

Rumble de Thump
01-11-2022, 07:19 AM
The appeals panel generally do whatever the Scottish media tell them they should do.

01-11-2022, 08:21 AM

The big difference with Neilson is that he said Ferguson dived and cheated, which he did that night. Goodwin claimed Porto dives regularly and is a cheat at all times basically, not just that penalty incident. Big difference which is why Ferguson got no abuse in the press/media yet it has been an absolute pile on for Porto.

Absolutely pathetic to reduce his ban

01-11-2022, 10:27 AM

Agree totally. Again Porto treated to a different standard imo

ChilliEater
01-11-2022, 11:23 AM
Hypothetical I know, but if Goodwin keeps his mouth shut so we avoid the latest Porto witch-hunt chapter - does St Johnstone's equaliser get disallowed for the push?

01-11-2022, 12:48 PM
Hibs should ask if they can appeal the appeal decision as it appears the beaks are agreeing with Goodwin but slapping his wrist for saying it out loud.

That's exactly what it looks like.

Hibs should be coming out here and condemning this decision in the strongest possible way.

He's here!
01-11-2022, 06:24 PM

Jeez, that's pathetic. What kind of message does that send out, not just to other managers but to players and fans?

01-11-2022, 06:47 PM
Jeez, that's pathetic. What kind of message does that send out, not just to other managers but to players and fans?

The SFA should be publishing the reasons for this decision.

01-11-2022, 06:49 PM
I think managers will now know that if they call a referee a cheat, they can expect a three game touch line ban effectively meaning they will have to communicate any tactical information via the technology readily available.

Clearly it was originally deemed worthy of an 8 match ban (2 suspended) what would a manager need to say to incur that suspension again in the future?

04-11-2022, 07:29 PM
Are you gonna come out tonight and call out your cheating striker who clearly dived for your penalty ? ****ing rat that you are.

Hibiza
04-11-2022, 07:48 PM
Goodwin as thei say in Dublin is a " Gobsh*te "

04-11-2022, 08:01 PM
How's he allowed to be sitting in the front row right behind the home dug out giving them instructions. Whats the point in the touchline ban :confused:

04-11-2022, 08:02 PM
How's he allowed to be sitting in the front row right behind the home dug out giving them instructions. Whats the point in the touchline ban :confused:

Great rule

04-11-2022, 08:11 PM
“A Touchline Suspension prohibits an individual from: Attending the dugouts and technical areas before, during and after the match. Entering the field-of-play and the prohibited area in the vicinity of the touchline and goal lines. Coaching or issuing instructions for the duration of the game.”

He was clearly issuing instructions to Watkins there as he came on the pitch.

04-11-2022, 08:14 PM
“A Touchline Suspension prohibits an individual from: Attending the dugouts and technical areas before, during and after the match. Entering the field-of-play and the prohibited area in the vicinity of the touchline and goal lines. Coaching or issuing instructions for the duration of the game.”

Is there a way for a normal punter to report something like this?

04-11-2022, 08:15 PM
****ing hate the prick.

Helensburghhibs
04-11-2022, 08:20 PM
An example should be set here. Yes im looking through green tinted specs but this is akin to playing a player who is suspended

04-11-2022, 08:20 PM

Hibs have to submit a complaint, even if it just gets his ban extended, there's tonnes of footage of him issuing instructions to the bench and players.

04-11-2022, 08:23 PM
Is there a way for a normal punter to report something like this?

I was thinking this during the first half. He is clearly not adhering to the conditions of his ban, this should mean an extension to the ban and also Aberdeen getting a fine for not providing the correct seating arrangements.

It kind of reminds me of the breaching of bail conditions that I process everyday 😂

04-11-2022, 08:28 PM
Hibs have to submit a complaint, even if it just gets his ban extended, there's tonnes of footage of him issuing instructions to the bench and players.

I doubt Hibs will get involved but I think the fans should be complaining to the SFA.

04-11-2022, 08:29 PM
I was thinking this during the first half. He is clearly not adhering to the conditions of his ban, this should mean an extension to the ban and also Aberdeen getting a fine for not providing the correct seating arrangements.

It kind of reminds me of the breaching of bail conditions that I process everyday 😂

:agree: Pretty blatant breach of the terms of his ban.

coco22
04-11-2022, 08:29 PM
I think Porto should issue a statement about him cheating…just to keep the panto running!

04-11-2022, 08:37 PM
Post match interview should say something along lines of it was good to see him back on bench, for a laugh!