View Full Version : (NHC) Denmark World Cup Kit.

29-09-2022, 10:38 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/football/2022/sep/28/denmark-unveil-world-cup-protest-kits-over-qatar-human-rights-record
Well done Denmark hope other nations follow their lead

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

30-09-2022, 05:27 AM
A clever move has the Qatar federation and FIFA raging.

30-09-2022, 06:01 AM
A clever move has the Qatar federation and FIFA raging.

Have FIFA said anything? I’d imagine they appreciate a subtle protest like this rather than something more overt.

I see the famous gold Brazil shirt has also now become a political token as well, wear it = support Bolsonaro.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/62887765

30-09-2022, 07:47 AM
I think Scotland have trumped them by deliberatley deciding not to take part in the tournament. Definitely the right thing to do :greengrin

Mark05
30-09-2022, 08:08 AM
I think Scotland have trumped them by deliberatley deciding not to take part in the tournament. Definitely the right thing to do :greengrin
Scotland were fantastic in letting Ukraine have a walkover in the play offs, very commendable, only for the selfish Welsh to spoil things. So I hope now the Welsh are going they too have some sort of protest planned :greengrin

30-09-2022, 08:26 AM
Have FIFA said anything? I’d imagine they appreciate a subtle protest like this rather than something more overt.

I see the famous gold Brazil shirt has also now become a political token as well, wear it = support Bolsonaro.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/62887765

That's so incredibly sad, imagine not being able to wear your country's kit without being mistaken for a fascist

30-09-2022, 08:31 AM

Agreed. It shows we have real principles.

Renfrew_Hibby
30-09-2022, 08:57 AM
That's so incredibly sad, imagine not being able to wear your country's kit without being mistaken for a fascist

Sad but I can see populists around the world going with similar things. Since the rise of Putin its now the perception that if you're wearing a Russia sports top or tracksuit ect then you are probably a right wing, putin loving nationalist.

HibsGW
30-09-2022, 09:18 AM
Sad but I can see populists around the world going with similar things. Since the rise of Putin its now the perception that if you're wearing a Russia sports top or tracksuit ect then you are probably a right wing, putin loving nationalist.

Will admit myself, I seen a guy in Edinburgh yesterday wearing a Russia North face jacket in the colours of the flag and thought the same, which is probably unfair.

30-09-2022, 09:24 AM

Rangers fans have had that problem for decades with their teams kit

sauzee=legend
30-09-2022, 09:33 AM
Really like the black kit. So much so, tempted to buy it and wear it as my 5 aside top.
Maybe even support the Danes for the World Cup with their stance 🇩🇰

Newry Hibs
30-09-2022, 09:57 AM
They're not against going there though. If they were bothered enough to have a special shirt, then why not boycott it.

30-09-2022, 09:58 AM
Embassies say 6500 deaths of migrant workers… Qatari government says 37… only 3 of which were work related. Bit of the old hearts book-keeping going on there

30-09-2022, 10:00 AM
They're not against going there though. If they were bothered enough to have a special shirt, then why not boycott it.

Same as Argentina 78. Though my reasons for wishing Scotland had boycotted that one are two-fold

30-09-2022, 10:33 AM

Got to agree. From a principled point of view it would be much more impressive if teams declined to participate.

I genuinely thought this tournament might have seen a huge split with clubs taking a stance against their players participating and with national football associations saying no. I appreciate there is huge money at stake, but the award of the tournament to Qatar is an abomination. Can't say I'll be watching much World Cup this time round.

Renfrew_Hibby
30-09-2022, 11:09 AM
Will admit myself, I seen a guy in Edinburgh yesterday wearing a Russia North face jacket in the colours of the flag and thought the same, which is probably unfair.

I did mean in Russia this would be the perception. I doubt a kid running about here in a Brazil top will be to clued up on the aims of Bolsonaro.

30-09-2022, 11:21 AM

TBH, that was my first thought. In the extremely unlikely event that Scotland had actually qualified for the finals, I'm not really sure I could have watched it with much enthusiasm.

Qatar being chosen in the first place was only through blatant corruption, but even that pales in comparison to how they've treated the migrant workers.

30-09-2022, 11:30 AM
While anyone is entitled to watch the games, if you do, have a wee thought for the ones who died building the stadiums that the games are going on in.

30-09-2022, 11:32 AM
Boycotting it isn't better than going and making the statement infront of millions. If they boycott they just get replaced and the whole thing swept under the rug.

A boycott would've required 10+ big nations to actually achieve anything

30-09-2022, 11:40 AM
Boycotting it isn't better than going and making the statement infront of millions. If they boycott they just get replaced and the whole thing swept under the rug.

A boycott would've required 10+ big nations to actually achieve anything

a number of the best players declining to go would have an impact

SonOfDavidFrancey
30-09-2022, 11:40 AM
Same as Argentina 78. Though my reasons for wishing Scotland had boycotted that one are two-fold

Scotland had gone to Chile in 76 or 77 and played in the stadium where Pinochet had organised mass detentions and executions. Playing befor e a few Argie generalissimos was nothing.

Fuzzywuzzy
30-09-2022, 11:50 AM
I'm sure the teams could take some form of acknowledgement of what happened while the stadiums we being built. Kind of like taking the knee without taking the knee. Have a huddle before the game, face the opposite direction away from the dignitaries while the anthems are played

On a side note I see a British man seems to have been offed by the qatari authorities

Renfrew_Hibby
30-09-2022, 12:08 PM
I'm sure the teams could take some form of acknowledgement of what happened while the stadiums we being built. Kind of like taking the knee without taking the knee. Have a huddle before the game, face the opposite direction away from the dignitaries while the anthems are played

On a side note I see a British man seems to have been offed by the qatari authorities

Another British man is being paid £150M to promote Qatar and the world cup. Mr D. Beckham.

30-09-2022, 12:23 PM
Another British man is being paid £150M to promote Qatar and the world cup. Mr D. Beckham.

Hadn’t realised that …shocker really ….

30-09-2022, 12:44 PM

Amnesty have a tonne of stuff on Qatar on their website, it’s not all linked to the World Cup either. The Kenyan blogger who broke the stories about migrant worker deaths was imprisoned beaten and tortured by the authorities for embarrassing the state. Deported rape victims from the war in Libya back to that country.

Helensburghhibs
30-09-2022, 12:50 PM
Its a nice story but im cynical if that was actually the reason for designing it like that. It looks great btw and id bet the strip design came before the story

30-09-2022, 01:14 PM

Problem wi Argentina was that we brought Ally MacLeod back with us, he should have stayed over there and done some homework on the local country teams.

30-09-2022, 01:38 PM

Aye but he stood in a queue for 13 hours. Absolute hero....

30-09-2022, 01:41 PM
Another British man is being paid £150M to promote Qatar and the world cup. Mr D. Beckham.https://youtu.be/ZbnIHJl41t4

There is another 30 min video as well.

30-09-2022, 01:43 PM
Its a nice story but im cynical if that was actually the reason for designing it like that. It looks great btw and id bet the strip design came before the story

No reason to be cynical:

Hummel, the kit manufacturer, said it has "toned down" its logo and "iconic chevrons" as "we don't wish to be visible during a tournament that has cost thousands of people their lives"

Stairway 2 7
30-09-2022, 01:55 PM

No they done a full announcement with the release, it was clearly planned. It isn't like hibs trying to claim our slanted dark green triangle represented the slope a few years ago. This strip is clearly designed as a symbol, you can barely see the hummel badge.

Good on them it's got everyone talking about human rights. No nation was ever pulling out as I bet apart from a minority, most would want their nation qualified and going

30-09-2022, 01:59 PM
https://youtu.be/ZbnIHJl41t4

"this will go down as one of my favourite mornings"
"it's one of the best spice markets that i've ever been to"
"i cannot wait to bring my children back"

Cheers David here's 5 million quid for your nice words.

30-09-2022, 02:01 PM
https://youtu.be/ZbnIHJl41t4

'I think everyone knows how much I like food...'

No, David, to be completely honest I had no idea you were well known for liking food. Do you consider yourself a gourmet or a gourmand?
Actually, scrap that, ive just realised i couldnt give a monkeys either way.

30-09-2022, 03:08 PM
Bit annoyed that the black Fred Perry with yellow trim has been hijaked by the right wing “Proud Boys” in the States.

Definitely not wearing that one anymore.

30-09-2022, 03:10 PM
a number of the best players declining to go would have an impact

Problem is, for some players this may be your only shot at the World Cup. Why should you let corrupt FIFA ruin that dream for you.

He's here!
30-09-2022, 03:17 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/football/2022/sep/28/denmark-unveil-world-cup-protest-kits-over-qatar-human-rights-record
Well done Denmark hope other nations follow their lead

If they feel that strongly they should be boycotting the tournament.

BS44
30-09-2022, 04:58 PM
If they feel that strongly they should be boycotting the tournament.

Why?

30-09-2022, 05:34 PM

Neymar supporting Bolsonaro in the election now. Just another reason to dislike the Paris plum.

He's here!
30-09-2022, 06:39 PM
Why?

Why do you think? Same reason South Africa was a no go for many sports teams during apartheid. If you're opposed to a country's regime why go there? So what if it's the World Cup? Tournament should never have been played there IMHO.

I find this sort of tokenism pretty lame. Plenty of folk tutting about the human rights abuses but most will still tune in because it's fitba' ken?

30-09-2022, 06:42 PM
Why do you think? Same reason South Africa was a no go for many sports teams during apartheid. If you're opposed to a country's regime why go there? So what if it's the World Cup? Tournament should never have been played there IMHO.

I find this sort of tokenism pretty lame. Plenty of folk tutting about the human rights abuses but most will still tune in because it's fitba' ken?

I’ll be watching on tele because I enjoy football and I enjoy the World Cup and me not watching would not have the slightest bearing on people living and working in Qatar.

watching on tv does not for one second mean I forfeit my right to an opinion on human rights over there

Stairway 2 7
30-09-2022, 06:56 PM

You saying you won't watch a minute of it.

The tories policies will kill thousands this winter through increased poverty. Will you watch UK football. Did you watch the world Cup when it was in Russia ,post crimea and the massacres they performed in chechnya

30-09-2022, 07:38 PM
I did mean in Russia this would be the perception. I doubt a kid running about here in a Brazil top will be to clued up on the aims of Bolsonaro.

I see Neymar is backing Bolsonaro, confirming he is a special kind of stupid. Portuguese prematch top black in memory of those who died.

He's here!
30-09-2022, 08:28 PM
You saying you won't watch a minute of it.

The tories policies will kill thousands this winter through increased poverty. Will you watch UK football. Did you watch the world Cup when it was in Russia ,post crimea and the massacres they performed in chechnya

I can say with 100% confidence I won't watch a minute of it.

Absurd to compare UK govt policies with a regime that deployed forced labour to build the World Cup stadia and which still stages public floggings. How many unpaid labourers die building football stadia in the UK?

He's here!
30-09-2022, 08:31 PM
I’ll be watching on tele because I enjoy football and I enjoy the World Cup and me not watching would not have the slightest bearing on people living and working in Qatar.

watching on tv does not for one second mean I forfeit my right to an opinion on human rights over there

Yep, as long as you get to enjoy your football.

30-09-2022, 08:40 PM
I see Neymar is backing Bolsonaro, confirming he is a special kind of stupid. Portuguese prematch top black in memory of those who died.

never liked that p***k. Hope the Germans hand their ***** to them again and he leaves the pitch blubbing.

30-09-2022, 08:40 PM
Yep, as long as you get to enjoy your football.

I’ll enjoy the football, no doubt. Cheers

Stairway 2 7
30-09-2022, 08:46 PM
I can say with 100% confidence I won't watch a minute of it.

Absurd to compare UK govt policies with a regime that deployed forced labour to build the World Cup stadia and which still stages public floggings. How many unpaid labourers die building football stadia in the UK?

Tell that to 500,000 dead Iraqis. We cause deaths in other countries then say its nothing to do with us in our ivory towers. Tories are freezing benefits when inflation is through the roof, just because you're fed doesn't mean people won't starve to death. Did you watch any of the Russian World Cup, USA 94?

He's here!
01-10-2022, 08:14 AM
Tell that to 500,000 dead Iraqis. We cause deaths in other countries then say its nothing to do with us in our ivory towers. Tories are freezing benefits when inflation is through the roof, just because you're fed doesn't mean people won't starve to death. Did you watch any of the Russian World Cup, USA 94?

We're talking about the hosting of of a major football tournament, not the Iraq War. From the bribery involved in securing the event and its unheard of mid-season time slot to the 6,500 (known) deaths related to its staging, this is arguably football's greatest scandal.

All governments do bad things so we should just shrug off the slave labour involved in making this tournament a reality and get on with enjoying the football? That kind of strained whataboutery just doesn't cut it here.

01-10-2022, 08:19 AM
We're talking about the hosting of of a major football tournament, not the Iraq War. From the bribery involved in securing the event and its unheard of mid-season staging to the 6,500 (known) deaths related to its staging, this is arguably football's greatest scandal.

All governments do bad things so we should just shrug off the slave labour involved in making this tournament a reality and get on with enjoying the football? That kind of strained whataboutery just doesn't cut it here.

With stats like that, it will forever be a stain on footballs history ..it is no surprise though that FIFA turn a blind eye ..they are only really interested in the money that comes with the tournament..or else they would have canned it when the bribes to secure the tournie came to light …

01-10-2022, 08:34 AM
We're talking about the hosting of of a major football tournament, not the Iraq War. From the bribery involved in securing the event and its unheard of mid-season staging to the 6,500 (known) deaths related to its staging, this is arguably football's greatest scandal.

I think most people on here get that the Qataris are a nasty regime, and the way we’re supposed to look upon them more kindly than similarly autocratic regimes in that region that we happen to not be ‘allies’ with, grates a bit. Would David Beckham be chumming around with the ayatollahs? I heartily disapprove of it going there but that doesn’t mean I’m going to change channels when the world cups on. Everybody on here presumably loves watching football. Are we actively participating in the regime just by turning on the TV? I don’t think so.

And it’s not ‘whataboutery’ when we point out double standards. After the (CIA backed) coup of 1976 an estimated 30,000 were killed in that juntas ‘dirty war’ against journalists, trade unionists and Peron supporters, and Ally’s Army were probably totally unaware but FIFA definitely weren’t. Hastening the departure of that horrible cabal was one of the few good things Thatcher did. None of this is new. And when 70-80% of the worlds population is living under a form of autocracy it’s unrealistic to just play sport in nice countries, we’d be in Finland and New Zealand every year.

He's here!
01-10-2022, 11:29 AM
I think most people on here get that the Qataris are a nasty regime, and the way we’re supposed to look upon them more kindly than similarly autocratic regimes in that region that we happen to not be ‘allies’ with, grates a bit. Would David Beckham be chumming around with the ayatollahs? I heartily disapprove of it going there but that doesn’t mean I’m going to change channels when the world cups on. Everybody on here presumably loves watching football. Are we actively participating in the regime just by turning on the TV? I don’t think so.

And it’s not ‘whataboutery’ when we point out double standards. After the (CIA backed) coup of 1976 an estimated 30,000 were killed in that juntas ‘dirty war’ against journalists, trade unionists and Peron supporters, and Ally’s Army were probably totally unaware but FIFA definitely weren’t. Hastening the departure of that horrible cabal was one of the few good things Thatcher did. None of this is new. And when 70-80% of the worlds population is living under a form of autocracy it’s unrealistic to just play sport in nice countries, we’d be in Finland and New Zealand every year.

As I said it's the direct connection between the World Cup, corruption, human rights abuse and thousands of deaths which sets this issue apart from the broader issue of unpalatable governments. As the Guardian points out, if there was a minute's silence held for every migrant worker who has died bringing this tournament to fruition then the entire tournament would be played without noise. Football, from its governing bodies to the fans attending and watching should be ashamed this is going ahead. Yet such is the game's global popularity, getting our football fix wins out. A sorry message to send to those who died in the name of what is supposed to be the world's most inclusive sport.

01-10-2022, 11:45 AM
As I said it's the direct connection between the World Cup, corruption, human rights abuse and thousands of deaths which sets this issue apart from the broader issue of unpalatable governments. As the Guardian points out, if there was a minute's silence held for every migrant worker who has died bringing this tournament to fruition then the entire tournament would be played without noise. Football, from its governing bodies to the fans attending and watching should be ashamed this is going ahead. Yet such is the game's global popularity, getting our football fix wins out. A sorry message to send to those who died in the name of what is supposed to be the world's most inclusive sport.

I take the point and I agree with most of it, although there was a hint of corruption about 1978 as well. (Argentina 6 Peru 0 is a game I remember putting in my wall chart as a 7 year old and even then thinking, ‘that was convenient, the host nations now qualifies with the necessary goal difference)

https://papelitos.com.ar/nota/el-6-a-0-a-peru?z_language=en

Also worth beating in mind that FIFA delegates expected bribes, it was commonplace, as the concacaf revelations made clear. It’s highly unlikely that Qatar is the only time when large sums of money changed hands for votes.

Stairway 2 7
01-10-2022, 12:02 PM

No one is saying Qatar government isn't vile and good for you for doing your protest. But did you watch the Russian tournament after they had annexed crimea committed genocide and absolute slaughter in chechnya.

If you didn't watch the Russian tournament then fair play and I'm sure you won't watch the American tournament either.

Back to the point there would be uproar in Denmark if they didn't take part. So what they are doing is great it's got the world talking about the conditions in Qatar

He's here!
01-10-2022, 01:57 PM
No one is saying Qatar government isn't vile and good for you for doing your protest. But did you watch the Russian tournament after they had annexed crimea committed genocide and absolute slaughter in chechnya.

If you didn't watch the Russian tournament then fair play and I'm sure you won't watch the American tournament either.

Back to the point there would be uproar in Denmark if they didn't take part. So what they are doing is great it's got the world talking about the conditions in Qatar

Qatar were awarded the event more than a decade ago. Ample time for those unhappy about it to come up with something more than one of the teams taking part playing in an amended strip colour. This sort of 'not in my name' gesture is futile. A weak, self-serving 'what more can we do' piece of tokenism.

I've always found it frustrating that footballers and coaching staff almost never put their head above the parapet when controversy rears its head and simply cloak themselves under an 'I'm just focusing on the next game' blanket.

With a global following second to no other sport football has the clout to be a force for good but it's failed dismally here.

Was the Russian tournament then 2018 one? The fact I can barely recall it likely means I didn't watch it either. Haven't really watched a World Cup properly since Scotland were last in one back in 1998, so I can't pretend it's a particularly hard event for me to 'boycott', but the backdrop to this particular tournament makes it even easier to steer clear of.

01-10-2022, 02:25 PM
Qatar were awarded the event more than a decade ago. Ample time for those unhappy about it to come up with something more than one of the teams taking part playing in an amended strip colour. This sort of 'not in my name' gesture is futile. A weak, self-serving 'what more can we do' piece of tokenism.

I've always found it frustrating that footballers and coaching staff almost never put their head above the parapet when controversy rears its head and simply cloak themselves under an 'I'm just focusing on the next game' blanket.

With a global following second to no other sport football has the clout to be a force for good but it's failed dismally here.

Was the Russian tournament then 2018 one? The fact I can barely recall it likely means I didn't watch it either. Haven't really watched a World Cup properly since Scotland were last in one back in 1998, so I can't pretend it's a particularly hard event for me to 'boycott', but the backdrop to this particular tournament makes it even easier to steer clear of.

so you admit then that you’re not watching because you’re not particularly interested in world cups rather than any sort of ethical concerns.

even if people did choose to not watch, would that not also be a futile form of token gesture that you rail against?

Stairway 2 7
01-10-2022, 02:50 PM

Fair play for you being angry at Qatar. I do agree with you, they are a ******g horrible regime. Its almost unbelievable slave labour are dying to have us entertained. But I'll be honest I'll watch most games as I love the tournament. I don't agree Denmarks move is futile. Millions will now be discussing Qatar human rights, its even being talked about on a Scottish football forum. The whole tournament is basically a big pr event to advertise the country of Qatar, they won't want this bad publicity at all

01-10-2022, 04:40 PM

Did New Zealand not behave badly towards the native New Zealanders.

Fuzzywuzzy
05-10-2022, 10:28 AM
https://apnews.com/article/entertainment-soccer-sports-france-middle-east-14a8f730e51e8f171e2467dfef431d35

Mcbizz1998
05-10-2022, 10:52 AM

Agree mate. It’s just a piece of posturing - much like people changing their profile picture on social media with whatever flag/emblem/catch-phrase everyone else is using at the time.

It will achieve nothing, the protests should have started and never let up from the moment these criminals were awarded the WC - 10 years ago as you point out. Instead a nation produces a slightly different football top to the one they would have worn otherwise, a month out from the tournament starting - that’ll show em!

05-10-2022, 11:05 AM
Agree mate. It’s just a piece of posturing - much like people changing their profile picture on social media with whatever flag/emblem/catch-phrase everyone else is using at the time.

It will achieve nothing, the protests should have started and never let up from the moment these criminals were awarded the WC - 10 years ago as you point out. Instead a nation produces a slightly different football top to the one they would have worn otherwise, a month out from the tournament starting - that’ll show em!

Yes, it's not the biggest of protests, but what better options did Denmark have?

If they withdrew from the finals, another country would have taken their place and Denmark, along with the reasons for their absence, would have been quickly forgotten. That wouldn't exactly show them, either.

They could withdraw at the last minute and f*** up the group stage but again, the rest of the teams would just get on with it.

As has been pointed out, every time Denmark wear the black strip, commentators will explain the reason and it will harm Qatar's reputation. The further they progress in the tournament, the more people will learn about the reasons.

Imagine if they wore it in the final!

05-10-2022, 05:07 PM
https://apnews.com/article/entertainment-soccer-sports-france-middle-east-14a8f730e51e8f171e2467dfef431d35

countries will be falling over themselves to make token gestures like these just so in years to come they can say they did something, anything, about the Qatar World Cup (anything except choose not to send a team there in protest of course)

Argentina 78 gets brought up in comparison a lot but the only ones who really did anything then were the Dutch. I bet others now wish they had.

05-10-2022, 05:08 PM
countries will be falling over themselves to make token gestures like these just so in years to come they can say they did something, anything, about the Qatar World Cup (anything except choose not to send a team there in protest of course)

Argentina 78 gets brought up in comparison a lot but the only ones who really did anything then were the Dutch. I bet others now wish they had.

What did the Dutch do?

05-10-2022, 05:16 PM
French cities ditch World Cup festivities to protest Qatar’s record on human rights, environment (yahoo.com) (https://uk.sports.yahoo.com/news/french-cities-ditch-world-cup-185423729.html)

With a little over a month left until the 2022 FIFA World Cup kicks off in Qatar, a string of French cities – including Paris, Lille, Bordeaux, Strasbourg and Marseille – have announced they are boycotting the tournament and will not set up the customary fan zones with giant TV screens to promote it. The protest is directly aimed at Gulf state host Qatar and the steep human and environmental costs of the event that activists say Doha is doing everything to hide.

Stairway 2 7
05-10-2022, 05:22 PM
French cities ditch World Cup festivities to protest Qatar’s record on human rights, environment (yahoo.com) (https://uk.sports.yahoo.com/news/french-cities-ditch-world-cup-185423729.html)

With a little over a month left until the 2022 FIFA World Cup kicks off in Qatar, a string of French cities – including Paris, Lille, Bordeaux, Strasbourg and Marseille – have announced they are boycotting the tournament and will not set up the customary fan zones with giant TV screens to promote it. The protest is directly aimed at Gulf state host Qatar and the steep human and environmental costs of the event that activists say Doha is doing everything to hide.

The mayor also said cold weather was a part of the decision...

https://m.dw.com/en/paris-ditches-big-screens-for-qatar-world-cup/a-63332384

05-10-2022, 05:29 PM
The mayor also said cold weather was a part of the decision...

https://m.dw.com/en/paris-ditches-big-screens-for-qatar-world-cup/a-63332384

ach Bordeaux Nov Temperature will be 54F and Marseille will be 60F, heatwaves :cb

05-10-2022, 05:29 PM
What did the Dutch do?

well, having researched it, not very much at all actually.

there was a lot of talk in the Netherlands before about whether they should go or boycott. In the end they went.

for years and years people thought Cruyff had taken the ultimate stand and stayed at home… until he denied that was the reason for his absence 30 years later.

the Dutch did refuse to shake the hands of Videla and the Generals after the Final and didn’t attend the post match ceremonies. But that could just be because they were sore at the numerous dodgy decisions given against them and Argentina’s behaviour before and during the match.

there were protests in France, which perhaps is what I was thinking about earlier when I made that comment.

05-10-2022, 06:56 PM
well, having researched it, not very much at all actually.

there was a lot of talk in the Netherlands before about whether they should go or boycott. In the end they went.

for years and years people thought Cruyff had taken the ultimate stand and stayed at home… until he denied that was the reason for his absence 30 years later.

the Dutch did refuse to shake the hands of Videla and the Generals after the Final and didn’t attend the post match ceremonies. But that could just be because they were sore at the numerous dodgy decisions given against them and Argentina’s behaviour before and during the match.

there were protests in France, which perhaps is what I was thinking about earlier when I made that comment.

Cruyff had suffered seversl kidnap threats durin his time at Barcelona and one actual attack which changed his focus understandably towards his family. Thats why he didnt go to Argentina in '78. Not that he agreed at all with the regime in Argentina and publically said so but that wasnt the reason for him not appearing in Argentina. Understandable but sad from a purely foitball perspective.

05-10-2022, 08:24 PM
Ukraine joins Spain and Portugal’s 2030 World Cup bid | Reuters (https://www.reuters.com/lifestyle/sports/ukraine-joins-spain-portugals-2030-world-cup-bid-2022-10-05/)

NYON, Switzerland, Oct 5 (Reuters) - Ukraine has joined Spain and Portugal in their bid to host the 2030 FIFA World Cup, the Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) and the Portuguese Football Federation (FPF) said on Wednesday, in what they hailed as an act of European solidarity.
They said the decision, announced at a news conference at the Swiss headquarters of UEFA, had the full support of European soccer's governing body and also of the Spanish, Portuguese and Ukrainian governments.

Stairway 2 7
05-10-2022, 08:43 PM
Ukraine joins Spain and Portugal’s 2030 World Cup bid | Reuters (https://www.reuters.com/lifestyle/sports/ukraine-joins-spain-portugals-2030-world-cup-bid-2022-10-05/)

NYON, Switzerland, Oct 5 (Reuters) - Ukraine has joined Spain and Portugal in their bid to host the 2030 FIFA World Cup, the Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) and the Portuguese Football Federation (FPF) said on Wednesday, in what they hailed as an act of European solidarity.
They said the decision, announced at a news conference at the Swiss headquarters of UEFA, had the full support of European soccer's governing body and also of the Spanish, Portuguese and Ukrainian governments.

Clever move from Spain and Portugal

05-10-2022, 08:46 PM
Clever move from Spain and Portugal

Aye Scotland will qualify and be based in
Mariupol.

05-10-2022, 10:02 PM
Aye Scotland will qualify and be based in
Mariupol.

We'd all be happy if that happens because Scotland will be there and Mariupol will be free.

He's here!
05-10-2022, 10:03 PM

Belated crisis of conscience from the French. Stiil, more than most are doing.

Cantona called it right months ago:

https://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/eric-cantona-qatar-2022-world-cup-b1991535.html

27-10-2022, 12:35 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/football/2022/oct/27/socceroos-make-collective-statement-to-speak-out-about-qatars-human-rights-record

Good for Jackson Irvine, amongst others.