View Full Version : Scotland match live on Itv4 tonight

21-09-2022, 10:03 AM
For anyone who doesn't have Premier Sports you can see the match if you want.

21-09-2022, 11:21 AM

Well spotted ! :aok:

Also could check out commentators and pundits, if you do have Premier,and compare.
We all have our favourite and not so favourite slavers as pundits :greengrin

21-09-2022, 02:57 PM
I wonder which Scotland team will turn up tonight, will Clarke be defensive or attacking minded.

hibby rae
21-09-2022, 04:01 PM
I wonder which Scotland team will turn up tonight, will Clarke be defensive or attacking minded.

More attacking, at home and lighter on defensive options.

Cat Stanton
21-09-2022, 05:09 PM

Wasn't aware - thanks for posting.

21-09-2022, 05:26 PM
Gordon

McTominay-Hendry-McKenna

Patterson-McGinn-McGregor-Tierney

Armstrong-Adams-Christie

Mark05
21-09-2022, 06:31 PM
Let's hope we play better than we did in June.I fancy Scotland to win tonight if they can bring there A game,I Don't think they can play any worse than the last time we played Ukraine

21-09-2022, 06:44 PM
still think Ukraine will win

mon Scotland :saltireflag

21-09-2022, 06:52 PM
McCoist > Stewart, but is Sam Matterface a price worth paying?

21-09-2022, 06:55 PM

No

21-09-2022, 06:56 PM
I've heard a lot worse, usually on Sportscene.

21-09-2022, 07:03 PM
Ukraine look sharper and better so far. I fear the worst.

21-09-2022, 07:03 PM
nice football

21-09-2022, 07:04 PM
Has Porteous been accused of cheating yet?

21-09-2022, 07:08 PM
Scots have done well the last five minutes. It's a good game.

21-09-2022, 07:10 PM
Poor effort by Christie.

LunasBoots
Should have scored a couple.

unlucky again with that rebound

21-09-2022, 07:13 PM
looks like patterson going off injured :(

hickey called back from his run out

21-09-2022, 07:14 PM
We'll miss Patterson. Fine player.

21-09-2022, 07:20 PM
Mudryk is the boy to watch.

21-09-2022, 07:22 PM
Scotland played well, best team for me. Just need a goal.

21-09-2022, 07:23 PM
Has Porteous been accused of cheating yet?

Never mind that, how many pre-match hamsters did he eat?

21-09-2022, 07:26 PM
Games gone flat

Scotland playing well but Ukraine dangerous on the break, McGinn playing well, playing more advanced than when he plays with Villa.

Am I mishearing the commentator or is Matt Bianco really playing for Ukraine tonight?

21-09-2022, 07:28 PM
Am I mishearing the commentator or is Matt Bianco really playing for Ukraine tonight?

Matviyenko 🤣

21-09-2022, 07:29 PM
Matviyenko 🤣

Is that''s Ukranian for Matt Bianco?

21-09-2022, 07:29 PM
wtf it came off the ukranian for a corner jesus wept

21-09-2022, 07:30 PM

Great, now that song's back in my head for another week.

21-09-2022, 07:30 PM
Great, now that song's back in my head for another week.

Only for Half a Minute

Mikey_1875
21-09-2022, 07:31 PM
Final pass/end product very poor so far.

21-09-2022, 07:32 PM
Armstrong has been so poor.

Definitely been the better team though.

21-09-2022, 07:34 PM
That's a red card for me.

21-09-2022, 07:34 PM
ridiculous challenge should have been a red

21-09-2022, 07:35 PM
That should be a straight red, that's a block like you get in American football.

That’s assault.

NC1875
How’s that not a red card 🤷🏽*♂️

Red card for me

Based on the Lundstram taking one for the team rule it's only a yellow.

That has to be a red.

That tackle belongs in the NFL. No attempt to play the ball, lunges in and it's a forearm smash into the body. Whether he's the last man is irrelevant to me, the challenge alone merits a red.

Zambernardi1875
21-09-2022, 07:36 PM
if thats porto its a red

That's a red card. No question.

Only for Half a Minute
That's More Than I Can Bear.....

norhfc
Red card, anywhere on the pitch 😡

That has to be a red.

That tackle belongs in the NFL. No attempt to play the ball, lunges in and it's a forearm smash into the body. Whether he's the last man is irrelevant to me, the challenge alone merits a red.

21-09-2022, 07:37 PM
Disgraceful refereeing,this is what it's going to be from now on, the sympathy vote.

Mr Grieves
That'd be a red in rugby

That has to be a red, you can see him take his stance before Adams reaches him. He knew exactly what he was doing.

21-09-2022, 07:38 PM
boooooooooooo

21-09-2022, 07:40 PM
Doesn't matter if you are last man or not, that's just out and out assualt

Mantis Toboggan
Doesn't matter if you are last man or not, that's just out and out assualt

Absolutely. McCoist missing the point. Absolutely whacked him off the ball

if thats porto its a red

And a life ban

Bridge hibs
21-09-2022, 07:41 PM
Only for Half a MinuteI got it 🤣👍

Wee Effen Bee
Based on the Lundstram taking one for the team rule it's only a yellow.

Ah, the old, ‘Lundstram Defence Rule’. 😬

Disgraceful refereeing,this is what it's going to be from now on, the sympathy vote.

What is the point. That was a red all day long. You would get arrested for doing that in the street.

h185forever
21-09-2022, 07:43 PM
Why did adams have to go off ? …guy was booked

Wee Effen Bee
21-09-2022, 07:44 PM
if thats porto its a red
…and arrested, judged without a trial and given a hefty lie doon in Peterheid!

21-09-2022, 07:44 PM
more than a yellow but maybe not a red lol ffs

21-09-2022, 07:45 PM
I agree it's dangerous play but I'd be disappointed to get the red if it was against us.

Playing well, need to keep the pace and show more composure in the box.

21-09-2022, 07:49 PM
Was a dive by that cheat Adams attempting to con the ref and get a player sent off.

darwenhibby
21-09-2022, 07:49 PM
It’s no a red
Probably an orange
What are miller and the other hun on about

21-09-2022, 07:56 PM
if thats porto its a red

Isn’t it an indictment of Scottish football and it’s regulators, that the severity of a foul is quantified by the perpetrator and his reputation.

21-09-2022, 08:00 PM
Scotland are pretty hopeless up front.

21-09-2022, 08:01 PM
Thinking that myself, wondering where a goal will come from

21-09-2022, 08:08 PM
armstrong over the bar what a chance

21-09-2022, 08:10 PM
Honestly think the number one reason our international record is so hopeless this century is that we haven't produced an international class striker since Dalglish.

Every other country has had someone come through at some point. We've had no one.

21-09-2022, 08:10 PM
Good play by Hickey.

21-09-2022, 08:11 PM
jeezo adams finds the bar

than a save from the keeper

Adams unlucky x2.

Has to score

We need to find a way to win this one and the next 2.

The rewards for winning the Nations League Group are huge. Guaranteed play off place, Pot 2 for Germany 2024 (with the top 2 from each group qualifying and some big guns also in pot 2 so pot 3 would be a huge ask) and we would be in League A for the next Nations League as well.

21-09-2022, 08:13 PM
Nae luck Scotland ….. all over them but you get the horrible feeling that Ukraine will break away and score the winner.

21-09-2022, 08:14 PM
Good play by Hickey.

He's been ok. Not as strong as Patterson.

21-09-2022, 08:16 PM
another great chance for armstrong

21-09-2022, 08:16 PM
Time for a change?

21-09-2022, 08:17 PM
Playing well, but Armstrong missing so many great chances.

21-09-2022, 08:17 PM
How many chances do we want?

McGinn wanting 3 touches when he should just hit it then a ball played right on Armstrong's head and he doesn't get any connection. If we drop points here we only have ourselves to blame.

21-09-2022, 08:18 PM
We need to find a way to win this one and the next 2.

The rewards for winning the Nations League Group are huge. Guaranteed play off place, Pot 2 for Germany 2024 (with the top 2 from each group qualifying and some big guns also in pot 2 so pot 3 would be a huge ask) and we would be in League A for the next Nations League as well.

7 points should be enough to finish top due to playing Ukraine twice.

Get in

Yaaaaaaaaaas McGinn!!!

Sjm ❤️

SJM shows them the way

That's the one McGinn. No ****ing about, just smash it.

Super does it

cracker sjm :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Mikey_1875
John Mcginn’s backside at it again

Zambernardi1875
21-09-2022, 08:19 PM
The player Celtic couldn’t afford

Just_Jimmy
Whats better than super?

He needs a promotion

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

e2los
Finally lol..

SJM

21-09-2022, 08:20 PM
The player Celtic couldn’t afford
Were too mean to buy

21-09-2022, 08:20 PM
And SJM scores!

tonyrougier123
21-09-2022, 08:21 PM
Got to wonder what Stevie g is doing with mcginn, been terrific here.

21-09-2022, 08:22 PM
McGinn has been so strong.

21-09-2022, 08:25 PM
If this Scotland team had a proper goalscoring striker we would be regulars at major tournaments for the next wee while. Adams is a player but doesn't look a real natural finisher.

All the more frustrating that Griffiths is playing semi pro on the other side of the world.

21-09-2022, 08:26 PM
ooooooooohh so nearly

Got to wonder what Stevie g is doing with mcginn, been terrific here.
Same as his predecessor, playing him too deep....

The Scotland haters on FF are disgusting in their glee at Scotland’s bad luck. When McGinn scored, all they could do was mock him. They really are trash, to a man. They’re praying for Scotland to lose.

21-09-2022, 08:27 PM
wouldn't mind a 2nd to steady the nerves likes

21-09-2022, 08:27 PM
Yaaaaaaaas Dykes!!!

21-09-2022, 08:28 PM
and their it is :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Great header

How good is Kieran Tierney btw? Just a pity he's struggled so much with injury, if he could put together a couple of seasons without missing a spell then he'd be world class.

Some header by Dykes.

A beautiful header

Great save from Hickey. Keeper was unsighted.

Superb header.

Dykes scores. Score line doesn’t flatter us

21-09-2022, 08:29 PM
wouldn't mind a 3rd to really settle the nerves likes

tonyrougier123
21-09-2022, 08:29 PM
Class tonight!

21-09-2022, 08:30 PM
Itv4 must be behind in real time! Nice header.
Ukraine have run out of puff.

e2los
21-09-2022, 08:31 PM
A beautiful header

Class header, didn't think he was going to make an impact.

Got to do wonders for the team confidence.

21-09-2022, 08:31 PM
ukrainians been quite cynical tonight

MelbourneHibees
21-09-2022, 08:34 PM
Time to get Porto on surely?

Take McGinn off. He's knackered.

The most pro Scotland comment on FF …….’ FFS step it up Ukraine.’

Yaaaaaaas Dykes!!!

Deja vu, all over again.

21-09-2022, 08:35 PM
dykes double :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Colin Nish Jnr haha

wouldn't mind a 4th to really really settle the nerves likes

Well well, great header

21-09-2022, 08:36 PM
That'll do it.

e2los
21-09-2022, 08:36 PM
Too easy now...

Hitting the target now, 2 great goals.

21-09-2022, 08:37 PM
22 shots at goal

Up-the-slope
21-09-2022, 08:37 PM
Wonder what % of his big wages Dykes has spent on tattoos since he went south :confused:....

a hattrick and he will need to get another

Mikey_1875
21-09-2022, 08:38 PM
Very similar to our game at the weekend

21-09-2022, 08:38 PM
Fantastic second half.

21-09-2022, 08:40 PM
What a great performance. Hickey has been very good and the work rate has been fantastic. Just a pity we didn't do it the last time

21-09-2022, 08:40 PM
be very tough trying to show same energy levels for saturday

Up-the-slope
21-09-2022, 08:41 PM
not a single save for Gordon... good team defending from front

21-09-2022, 08:41 PM
That's the best I've seen us play in a long long time, well done

21-09-2022, 08:42 PM
FT great display, great result

norhfc
21-09-2022, 08:42 PM
Looking forward to Saturday night fitba now.

21-09-2022, 08:43 PM
Satisfying nights work.

21-09-2022, 08:43 PM
I'm loathe to say Robertson being injured this week is a good thing but it means we can stop trying to shoehorn him and Tierney into the same team and give KT a run at LB and either Paterson or, now more likely, Hickey a run on the right.

There's no way Clarke will leave him out long term but we looked so much more balanced tonight imo.

Overall a very good performance from Scotland. Lots to be encouraged by and 3-0 arguably flattered Ukraine, that could have been a real humping.

hibby rae
21-09-2022, 08:46 PM

Shame Clarke never brought Porto on for them!

21-09-2022, 08:49 PM
Think John Collins hair was cut with a lawnmower 😊

21-09-2022, 08:49 PM
Absolute joy to see Scotland playing like that against a decent team. Buzzing.

21-09-2022, 08:52 PM
Great performance tonight.

Bring on the Irish.

21-09-2022, 08:54 PM
Been wanting us to go to a back four for ages but we play a back 3 because of Tierney/Robertson, we looked better balanced tonight with McGinn playing just behind the striker, good result and well played.

Brilliant 2nd half.

Need to be even better on Saturday as Ireland won't give up the ball as much as Ukraine did and won't give us many free headers.

Think John Collins hair was cut with a lawnmower 😊

Am I just imaging that Collins seems to have aged badly in lasts several months?

21-09-2022, 08:55 PM
Am I just imaging that Collins seems to have aged badly in lasts several months?

Has he not just stopped dying his hair?

21-09-2022, 08:55 PM

I love reading though the match threads after the game has finished 😀

21-09-2022, 08:58 PM

I’ve heard rumours that he has been having difficult times recently. Life takes it’s toll on you.

rotherhamrob
21-09-2022, 08:58 PM
How good is Kieran Tierney btw? Just a pity he's struggled so much with injury, if he could put together a couple of seasons without missing a spell then he'd be world class.

Some header by Dykes.
Personally I think he's better than Robertson.

21-09-2022, 09:01 PM
Has he not just stopped dying his hair?

He was in the queue in front of me in Tesco Musselburgh a few months back (much to my surprise as I assumed he'd be a Waitrose man) and I can confirm that he is a bit greyer now.

21-09-2022, 09:02 PM
I’ve heard rumours that he has been having difficult times recently. Life takes it’s toll on you.

Hope he's OK, but he does look older since last time I saw him.

21-09-2022, 09:03 PM
Win against ireland and we just need a draw against ukraine. Even if we lose to ireland we still win the group if we beat ukraine. 2 draws would see us top the group as well. We ate in an excellent position

hibbyboy1
21-09-2022, 09:08 PM
Win against ireland and we just need a draw against ukraine. Even if we lose to ireland we still win the group if we beat ukraine. 2 draws would see us top the group as well. We ate in an excellent position

Only if Ukraine don't beat Armenia by 5 goals

21-09-2022, 09:10 PM
Delighted with that performance in the second half. Onwards to Saturday.

21-09-2022, 09:14 PM
bbc stats

possession

49%/51% how is that possible :confused: you would think it was three breakaway goals :rolleyes:

shots

24/3 yep, not much in it

shots on target

8/0

corners

7/0

fouls

6/12

scm70nyd1973
21-09-2022, 09:16 PM
…and arrested, judged without a trial and given a hefty lie doon in Peterheid!

You forgot to mention that Matt Bianco music will be the piped in music and played 24/7

21-09-2022, 09:21 PM
Only if Ukraine don't beat Armenia by 5 goals

Would go head to head , which we would have 4 points to their 1 in head to head

21-09-2022, 09:49 PM
Any ides if Saturday’s game is on ITV 4

21-09-2022, 09:52 PM
Grey hair and rather haggard looking, but vocal enough.

21-09-2022, 09:57 PM
Any ides if Saturday’s game is on ITV 4

It’s not.

Cat Stanton
21-09-2022, 09:58 PM
It’s not.

Was this (ITV4 lark) a one-off then?

21-09-2022, 10:43 PM
I love reading though the match threads after the game has finished 😀

Guilty as charged!

21-09-2022, 10:51 PM
Was this (ITV4 lark) a one-off then?

Yes, Premier Sports hold the rights to the Nations League and they allowed ITV to show tonight's game but it won't apply to the next two matches.

Donegal Hibby
21-09-2022, 11:18 PM
Great performance tonight.

Bring on the Irish.
Delighted Scotland won mate :thumbsup: . . And ok were on our way:flag:

21-09-2022, 11:49 PM
Delighted Scotland won mate :thumbsup: . . And ok were on our way:flag:

22-09-2022, 02:44 AM
SJM only needs 6 more goals to overtake fat Ally in Scotland goals scored. Would love to see that.

adam middlemass
22-09-2022, 03:42 AM
SJM only needs 6 more goals to overtake fat Ally in Scotland goals scored. Would love to see that.
I’m staggered, if that’s the case, there’s only one “SUPER” - goan yersell John ! :thumbsup:

22-09-2022, 08:36 AM
You forgot to mention that Matt Bianco music will be the piped in music and played 24/7

OMG,what have I started!

:dizzy:

Sorry Porto

22-09-2022, 01:37 PM
Just a quick thank you to the OP. I would never have watched the match last night without the heads up that it was free on ITV4 best Scotland performance for many years, really enjoyed it, thank you.

22-09-2022, 01:50 PM
Went to the game last night.

2nd half performance was as good as I have seen in person from a Scotland team given the opposition. Loved it.

Atmosphere was flat at beginning - compared to last Ukraine game. Maybe understandable. The minutes applause was unnecessary and majority of people standing with hands in pockets.

22-09-2022, 01:54 PM
Went to the game last night.

2nd half performance was as good as I have seen in person from a Scotland team given the opposition. Loved it.

Atmosphere was flat at beginning - compared to last Ukraine game. Maybe understandable. The minutes applause was unnecessary and majority of people standing with hands in pockets.

I think its fair to say the Ukrainians were missing quite a few key players through injury and suspension, so it maybe wasn't as strong an opponent as we faced in the playoff. I cant comment on the performance too much because i just watched the highlights but it looked an excellent display.

pollution
22-09-2022, 06:13 PM

Thanks for that info re ITV4 !

They also show live La Liga football too this year. How did I miss that announcement. Really cheered me up for cold winter nights.

22-09-2022, 07:46 PM
Does 2nd place in the group get a play off spot if the group winners qualify for the euros automatically through their qualification group?

22-09-2022, 09:24 PM
Does 2nd place in the group get a play off spot if the group winners qualify for the euros automatically through their qualification group?

If a group winner has already qualified for Euro 2024 through the main qualification group then their place in the play offs will be taken up by the next best ranked team in the same league that hasn't already qualified directly.

Musselbound
22-09-2022, 10:15 PM
I think its fair to say the Ukrainians were missing quite a few key players through injury and suspension, so it maybe wasn't as strong an opponent as we faced in the playoff. I cant comment on the performance too much because i just watched the highlights but it looked an excellent display.

Second half performance was excellent but I agree with your point about Ukraine. They looked surprisingly poor, which is understandable for a number of reasons. I think the Ireland game might tell us more about where exactly Scotland are at right now.

23-09-2022, 03:48 AM
Long haul flight tomorrow (BA).. can get Wi-Fi on the flight but can you stream Hesgoal or the likes? Nonsure how good the signal is.. missing the ROI game

23-09-2022, 05:41 AM

Not sure Zinchenko apart they had many out.

23-09-2022, 10:31 AM
Not sure Zinchenko apart they had many out.

A few injured while most are not really playing competitive football as we would say Scotlands players have, the Irish will be a tougher proposition for sure.

23-09-2022, 10:45 AM
A few injured while most are not really playing competitive football as we would say Scotlands players have, the Irish will be a tougher proposition for sure.

Not sure about that will be a different game more bold and thunder but think if we play as well as we did Wednesday we will win comfortably though a big if there.

23-09-2022, 01:25 PM
Not sure about that will be a different game more bold and thunder but think if we play as well as we did Wednesday we will win comfortably though a big if there.

Totally agree. The same performance sees us put things right after a real bad one last time against Ireland.

Ukraine are far better than them. But we need to turn up and want it as much as Wednesday again.

I think we’ll win by 2 or 3 tomorrow.

23-09-2022, 01:43 PM
If a group winner has already qualified for Euro 2024 through the main qualification group then their place in the play offs will be taken up by the next best ranked team in the same league that hasn't already qualified directly.
I think the Nations League has done it's job by making what would have been friendly games at least seem more meaningful. But when the prize you're playing for is to qualify for 2 one-off cup tie play-off games at the end of it, it takes the jeopardy and excitement out of long campaigns stretched out over months and years to get to tournaments. You do all that and you're still no closer to an outcome effectively.

23-09-2022, 07:57 PM

Thanks for the info..

So if we finish 2nd and the Ukraine qualify automatically, we have a play off spot? Or is it best ranked out of all the teams in the 4 groups in leagues B ?

Probably just me , but its quite confusing.. 😂

23-09-2022, 08:29 PM
Thanks for the info..

So if we finish 2nd and the Ukraine qualify automatically, we have a play off spot? Or is it best ranked out of all the teams in the 4 groups in leagues B ?

Probably just me , but its quite confusing.. 😂

If we don't finish as group winners unless we qualify directly from the main qualifying route we'll only make the play offs if we're the next best ranked team in League B.

23-09-2022, 08:37 PM
If we don't finish as group winners unless we qualify directly from the main qualifying route we'll only make the play offs if we're the next best ranked team in League B.

Okay , thanks for that. You would think it would just go to the 2nd place in that particular group .. Whatever the permutations, we have got a really good opportunity to qualify for the Euros .. Hopefully we grab it with both hands 😁

23-09-2022, 09:36 PM

Just back from my local and non of them very confident about playing us tomorrow….really think our result in dublin was a freak one….3-0 Scotland

Donegal Hibby
23-09-2022, 09:57 PM
Just back from my local and non of them very confident about playing us tomorrow….really think our result in dublin was a freak one….3-0 Scotland
Another one here too.Havent been impressed with us at all . We were good in Dublin though I'm sure some of you would say you had a poor game against us too

23-09-2022, 09:58 PM

Hope so

23-09-2022, 10:03 PM

Thanks for this. I didn’t know that. Means game versus Ireland is just as important (when many saying only a draw is needed), worse case we win v Ireland but get beat of Ukraine then with 4 wins from 6 we should be in with a good chance of best of the rest. And for once our goal difference is decent.

23-09-2022, 10:25 PM
Thanks for this. I didn’t know that. Means game versus Ireland is just as important (when many saying only a draw is needed), worse case we win v Ireland but get beat of Ukraine then with 4 wins from 6 we should be in with a good chance of best of the rest. And for once our goal difference is decent.

If we draw v Ireland and Ukraine and Ukraine beat Armenia we'll finish top of the group due to our head to head record v Ukraine.

23-09-2022, 11:09 PM
I've read that if we beat Ireland, we win the group. Is that right?

We have 9 points and Ukraine have 7. We both have 2 games to play.

If we win tomorrow we go to 12 points but if Ukraine win both their games, they get to 13.

23-09-2022, 11:39 PM
I've read that if we beat Ireland, we win the group. Is that right?

We have 9 points and Ukraine have 7. We both have 2 games to play.

If we win tomorrow we go to 12 points but if Ukraine win both their games, they get to 13.

We need 2 points from our last 2 games to win the group but if we get 3 points against Ireland and lose to Ukraine then we'll finish 2nd if Ukraine also beat Armenia.

23-09-2022, 11:58 PM
We need 2 points from our last 2 games to win the group but if we get 3 points against Ireland and lose to Ukraine then we'll finish 2nd if Ukraine also beat Armenia.

So what you're saying is that there's an abundance of scenarios where we Scotland this?

24-09-2022, 12:09 AM

If we get 3 points we'll finish 2nd but if we get 2 points we'll finish 1st?

Only in Scotland! We're absolutely going to Hibs'd it this!!

24-09-2022, 12:17 AM

Yes because one of the matches is against Ukraine.

We need to get no more than 2 fewer points than Ukraine manage to get from their last two matches.

If they beat Armenia then it means we'll need two points to finish top as we would both be on 11 points but we would finish ahead of them on the head to head.

Of course 3 points would be enough if it comes against Ukraine so from that perspective we can afford to lose against Ireland and still finish top but it would make it harder.

But 3 points v Ireland and a loss to Ukraine would probably see us into 2nd.

24-09-2022, 12:48 AM

I think this post is ****ing nuts.
Why would a Hibs fan (don't doubt you Jim) be concerned as to what the Huns think about a Scotland game and post it back on here?
Utterly bizarre

24-09-2022, 02:33 AM

Do Hibs fans actually use that term?

24-09-2022, 04:49 AM

Not the real ones.

Only the Hertz infiltrators do.

24-09-2022, 06:35 AM
Another one here too.Havent been impressed with us at all . We were good in Dublin though I'm sure some of you would say you had a poor game against us too

I thought Ireland were great against us. So not sure if that just made Scotland look bad or we just played badly. Kenny is certainly talking his team up which I suppose he has to do but i don’t quite see this new dawn he talks about (even though he’s blooded a load of youngsters)…His teams have a touch of the Berti Vogts about it.

24-09-2022, 07:03 AM
So it looks like Armenia play Ukraine at 2pm. If the Armenians pull off a surprise we might have topped the group by 9:30 this evening :dunno:

24-09-2022, 07:45 AM
I thought Ireland were great against us. So not sure if that just made Scotland look bad or we just played badly. Kenny is certainly talking his team up which I suppose he has to do but i don’t quite see this new dawn he talks about (even though he’s blooded a load of youngsters)…His teams have a touch of the Berti Vogts about it.

Think it was a mix of both Ireland being right up for it and outplaying a poor Scotland off the park would be surprised if that happened again however will be a close game.

24-09-2022, 07:45 AM
So it looks like Armenia play Ukraine at 2pm. If the Armenians pull off a surprise we might have topped the group by 9:30 this evening :dunno:

Don't think there will be much in that game

24-09-2022, 08:01 AM

Take your Hibs’d it pish and ram it.

Donegal Hibby
24-09-2022, 09:20 AM
It's one of the very few games that I actually thought we looked good in under Kenny .And I agree about the berti Vogts comment too Ireland have had a terrible run under Kenny and for me he should have been shown the door ages ago As for the game tonight it's really a must win game for us and my hope is we lift our game as we sometimes do against our neighbours in saying that I do think Scotland have much better players than us now and your team look good and much improved over recent years .If had to predict a score I'd go 2-1 Scotland .hope I'm wrong though .Anyhow I will be cheering on the boys in green tonight and if you guys do win and Qualify I for one will wish you all the best and every success but for now let battle begin:aok:

24-09-2022, 09:22 AM

24-09-2022, 09:59 AM
So, is this game only on Premature Sports?

Scotland have better players and will hopefully build on the fine performance v Ukraine. Big questions about whether Dykes should start. His goals and battling ability suggest to me he will.

24-09-2022, 10:00 AM
So, is this game only on Premature Sports?

Scotland have better players and will hopefully build on the fine performance v Ukraine. Big questions about whether Dykes should start. His goals and battling ability suggest to me he will.

24-09-2022, 11:14 AM
Got a spare for tonight if anyone wants it for face value, send me a PM.

Was originally bought as part of the match packages that were on sale earlier this year.

24-09-2022, 11:21 AM
Fancy Scotland to win well tonight.

The last Ireland game was a recipe for disaster. Scotland on a total downer after the Ukraine defeat, players being deflated from that and with a long season in the legs and then an Irish team right up for it and a big home crowd.

Different ball game tonight. We are better than Ireland all over the park and should walk away with the 3 points.

Looking forward to a good day of football. Strollers V Spartans this afternoon then straight to the boozer for the Scotland game.

24-09-2022, 11:50 AM

I wish there was a way of including that phrase along with the swear words that are automatically asterisked out on the forum.

Cammy
24-09-2022, 12:07 PM

No, very strange.

24-09-2022, 02:28 PM

I thought after THE Scottish cup final, it had a very different meaning?

SideBurns
24-09-2022, 03:33 PM
I thought after THE Scottish cup final, it had a very different meaning?

Very true, MB62 - in which case, if Scotland have Hibs'ed it by full-time on Tuesday, we'll all be celebrating!

I'm assuming that's what sambajustice meant. As we both know, he's no Jambo, that's for sure 😁

24-09-2022, 03:34 PM
FT Armenia 0 Ukraine 5

24-09-2022, 03:37 PM
Anyone know which pubs will be showing the game tonight? Not sure if every one will as its on Premier Sports

HibeeSince82
24-09-2022, 04:18 PM
Anyone know which pubs will be showing the game tonight? Not sure if every one will as its on Premier Sports

Was just gonna ask the same thing

24-09-2022, 04:28 PM
FT Armenia 0 Ukraine 5

That's unfortunate.

24-09-2022, 04:57 PM
That's unfortunate.

It doesn't change things for us a whole lot to be honest.

Two points from our last two games was going to be enough to finish top before Ukraine's win this afternoon and it's still enough now.

24-09-2022, 04:58 PM
That's unfortunate.

means Rep of Ireland can't top the group now as their head to head with Ukraine is D1 L1

24-09-2022, 05:05 PM
Ukraine won 5 0 so now top the group.

24-09-2022, 07:38 PM
means Rep of Ireland can't top the group now as their head to head with Ukraine is D1 L1

It's not really to do with the head to head, they can't top the group because they can only reach a maximum of 10 points and because Scotland's playing Ukraine in the last match at least one of us will need to end up on more than 10 points.

24-09-2022, 08:55 PM
I know how that result affects us in terms of the European leagues, am I right in saying though, winning that tonight will help us in terms of getting up to Pot 2 for the draw for the qualifying groups?

Not sure I’ve worded that well but hopefully someone can work out what I mean.

bringbackbenny
24-09-2022, 09:06 PM
I know how that result affects us in terms of the European leagues, am I right in saying though, winning that tonight will help us in terms of getting up to Pot 2 for the draw for the qualifying groups?

a draw midweek means we top the group which, I think, gets the 2nd seed in euro qualifiers. Massive.

24-09-2022, 09:18 PM
a draw midweek means we top the group which, I think, gets the 2nd seed in euro qualifiers. Massive.

Thanks.

Could we still be 2nd seeds if we get beat on Tuesday? (I realise losing on Tuesday would mean we don’t get the automatic play off place)

24-09-2022, 09:25 PM

That's correct.

Finishing top of this group gets us promotion to League A of the Nations League, guaranteed play off of Euro 2024 and pot 2 of the Euro 2024 qualifiers.

Paul1642
25-09-2022, 05:05 AM
Nations league aside we must be moving up the world rankings in terms of European sides with out our current good from. How far are we away from being 2nd seeds regardless?

Does it work the same as UAFA coefficient with only the last 5 years counting?

25-09-2022, 01:15 PM
There is a scenario where we could lose on Tuesday and still be 2nd seeds in euros.

See this current rankings

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/2022%E2%80%9323_UEFA_Nations_League#Overall_rankin g

We are 19th and need to be 21st worse case as Germany in those number and they have already qualified, Serbia and Norway can’t both get ahead of us as same group (only one can unless they draw in final game) and play each other, Ukraine can if they beat us which would put us to 21st. So it comes down to Iceland who are 3 points behind - they are 6 goal worse off so would need that swing (us heavy defeat/them good win).

The link to the table removes results against bottom club eg Armenia. Iceland have an advantage as Russia for them are bottom team which means the next up is the weakest team in reality who they play on Tuesday (Albania away).

Make sense?