View Full Version : Scottish football's smear campaign against a 23 year old

18-09-2022, 08:27 PM
Time to call this out for what it is.

Amazed Porteous hasn't pressed for a move down south and I can only imagine it's because he's one of us. It is utterly shocking behaviour and we should be publicly calling it out at every opportunity. Improving week on week and the skills to become a regular for this country but every week his failings, imagined or not, are all that's covered. Would a young OF Scotland cap be subjected to this public lynching? Would they ****.

We clearly don't have any friends in the media right now because it's a ****ing free for all and no-one, let alone a young football player should be subject to it.

18-09-2022, 08:34 PM
Club stood by and watched it happen to Lennon too. Sectarian abuse and daft news stories. A huge failing of Hibs not standing up for ourselves publicly and literally telling these ***** to get ****ed.

We still allow Gary Mackay into our stadium despite racially abusing a member of our playing staff.

Just_Jimmy
18-09-2022, 08:54 PM
Take a hard line Sir Alex Ferguson approach to it. Anyone who publishes or comments on Porto or any other Hibs player in similar fashion is banned from ER and hibs will refuse to engage with their publication on any level. It's time we stood up for those that are Hibs.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

18-09-2022, 08:58 PM
Club stood by and watched it happen to Lennon too. Sectarian abuse and daft news stories. A huge failing of Hibs not standing up for ourselves publicly and literally telling these ***** to get ****ed.

We still allow Gary Mackay into our stadium despite racially abusing a member of our playing staff.

When Lennon was appointed, I started a thread on here saying the club must be prepared for the sectarian anti-Irish onslaught and be willing to call out the hate. We knew what would happen.

18-09-2022, 09:08 PM
Most great teams develop a siege mentality. Why not us? We generally always try to do the right thing and for some reason seem to get persecuted for it. Time to batten down the hatches and stitck up for ourselves.

18-09-2022, 09:09 PM
Can you imagine if this was a Sevco youngster?

HerbDailly
18-09-2022, 09:20 PM
It's the language and tone behind it that's the big problem for me. I hate to say it but I actually agree with a lot of the criticism, they're things I've said to my brother so many times - the head knocks, the less than subtle dark arts, the arguing.
He doesn't deserve what he's getting, but I do wish he'd quit it and go about his business like a pro.

18-09-2022, 09:24 PM
It's the language and tone behind it that's the big problem for me. I hate to say it but I actually agree with a lot of the criticism, they're things I've said to my brother so many times - the head knocks, the less than subtle dark arts, the arguing.
He doesn't deserve what he's getting, but I do wish he'd quit it and go about his business like a pro.

Thought he was perfectly professional yesterday and one of the best players on the pitch.

Agree that he brought certain criticism on himself at times in the past but that can’t be used against him every time some idiot (Goodwin in this case) decides to have a pop at him.

18-09-2022, 09:26 PM
Time to call this out for what it is.

Amazed Porteous hasn't pressed for a move down south and I can only imagine it's because he's one of us. It is utterly shocking behaviour and we should be publicly calling it out at every opportunity. Improving week on week and the skills to become a regular for this country but every week his failings, imagined or not, are all that's covered. Would a young OF Scotland cap be subjected to this public lynching? Would they ****.

We clearly don't have any friends in the media right now because it's a ****ing free for all and no-one, let alone a young football player should be subject to it.
I think we all know he's only bidding his time till his contracts up, pretty sure his agent will be setting up moves.

18-09-2022, 09:27 PM
I think we all know he's only bidding his time till his contracts up, pretty sure his agent will be setting up moves.

That's not something anyone knows, that's an assumption.

18-09-2022, 09:31 PM
That's not something anyone knows, that's an assumption.
It certainly is and when players start with the, I'm only interested in concentrating on playing, contract talks can wait till later, I think of McGeoch, Cummings etc.

18-09-2022, 09:34 PM
Thought he was perfectly professional yesterday and one of the best players on the pitch.

Agree that he brought certain criticism on himself at times in the past but that can’t be used against him every time some idiot (Goodwin in this case) decides to have a pop at him.

Have just finished recording an episode of the podcast dedicated to Porteous and the comments from Goodwin. You’re spot on with your post. :agree:

18-09-2022, 09:49 PM
Am sure our man in the Holy Ground, Mr K.Power will have noted this disquiet on Hibs social media about the continuing way Porto is getting treated on radio, in the press ,and other teams managers having a go at him on national TV sports shows.
Hibs need to go full guns blazing at the authorities to put a stop to this.
Goodwin should be warned/ fined,
Told to mind his words he could ruin the players careers and lpotedntial earnings saying this stuff
just cos he took the huff and got angry.He needs to look in the mirror.

Also the BBC Sportscene crowd and some print "journalists" seem to be on a mission for Porto to be exiled out to another league/country.
Any press guy or girl who utter or write lies about Porto or any other player should be refused for a period to report from Easter Road.
They can go on the terrace and report the game and chat to the fans !!
No free pies or complimenary bevvy.
Get Craigan and Tom English a seat in the east for a couple of games.
Lets see how they do there ..Some good copy for them.They might learn something
Oh and let them take biscuits with them.
No,not custard creams. The Jambo Biscuit!.

18-09-2022, 10:01 PM

He absolutely was, you're right.

18-09-2022, 10:21 PM
It's actually a really dangerous narrative being spun right now. Whether they'll ever admit it or not, but all this diving chat from managers, press and all corners really, will have an effect on refs decision making when it comes to giving decisions on fouls against Porteous.

Davy Mac
18-09-2022, 10:27 PM
For me this is not just about Porto, Martin Boyle gets it too.

We seem to be an easy target, if you think about it Celtic, Hibs and Dundee Utd are getting it tight just now, but the kiss ass love in for the poppy thieves from the Scottish media is odd and a bit weird.

Even Goodwin at Aberdeen seems to be getting a bit of support and look at today, Levein was one of the presenters at Fir Park, Miller at Easter Road yesterday.

Look at Kenny Miller, sucking it up with the current buns, Mikey Stewart sucking it up with the manks, Craigan never got a good word to say about us, why?

Preston, I know biscuits and he doesnt actually mind Hibs, but give him half a yard about the manks and he'll talk up the club, the players etc, why?

Even when Yogi is at ER for commentary an he's not that complmentary about us.

I'll tell you something, the insitution is corrupt to the core in Glasgow, and we are not welcome at the table, but we need to be smarter about this.

Tiresome.

18-09-2022, 10:31 PM
It certainly is and when players start with the, I'm only interested in concentrating on playing, contract talks can wait till later, I think of McGeoch, Cummings etc.

But Cummings signed a new contract and we got a fee for him no?

BS44
18-09-2022, 11:12 PM
The next episode...
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/kelle-roos-weighs-ryan-porteous-25050582

Donegal Hibby
18-09-2022, 11:19 PM
The next episode...
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/kelle-roos-weighs-ryan-porteous-25050582
Porto has said he's never heard of him:greengrin

18-09-2022, 11:29 PM

We seem to be an easy target, if you think about it Celtic, Hibs and Dundee Utd are getting it tight just now, but the kiss ass love in for the poppy thieves from the Scottish media is odd and a bit weird.

Even Goodwin at Aberdeen seems to be getting a bit of support and look at today, Levein was one of the presenters at Fir Park, Miller at Easter Road yesterday.

Look at Kenny Miller, sucking it up with the current buns, Mikey Stewart sucking it up with the manks, Craigan never got a good word to say about us, why?

Preston, I know biscuits and he doesnt actually mind Hibs, but give him half a yard about the manks and he'll talk up the club, the players etc, why?

I'll tell you something, the insitution is corrupt to the core in Glasgow, and we are not welcome at the table, but we need to be smarter about this.

Tiresome.

I’ve always found kenny miller to be surprisingly alright when it comes to talking about Hibs.

agree with every thing else in your post

Donegal Hibby
18-09-2022, 11:35 PM
The next episode...
This in all seriousness is totally out of order . Our club really need to react in the strongest possible way to this.

19-09-2022, 06:49 AM
Some people are suggesting that anyone who writes or speaks ill of Porteous should be banned from Easter Road.

How long is this ban?

Until they write nice things about us?

Banning the media will only have one result - further negative stories about Hibs.

The only thing that Hibs need to do is foster a siege mentality and win more matches. If we are third or win the Scottish Cup, nobody will give a **** about daft stories written about Ryan Porteous or Martin Boyle diving.

19-09-2022, 07:41 AM
Some people are suggesting that anyone who writes or speaks ill of Porteous should be banned from Easter Road.

How long is this ban?

Banning the media will only have one result - further negative stories about Hibs.

The only thing that Hibs need to do is foster a siege mentality and win more matches. If we are third or win the Scottish Cup, nobody will give a **** about daft stories written about Ryan Porteous or Martin Boyle diving.

These daft stories further influence lazy writers who gleam stuff from others sources and write as if fact.
Also it influences officials on and off the park.
A cudgel to bash us with,particularly when we are doing ok on the pitch.
Older fans will remember Alex Edwards getting similar treatment from authorities and others.
Ending up in an 8 game ban when we were in top two in the league.
If we were to get close to second place this season .. Watch what happens then !

19-09-2022, 07:54 AM
Thing is Porteous didnt even dive!

There's more contact on him than the Colak penalty

I'm not sure it's a pen but all the cheat talk is nonsense and again wouldn't be entertained if we were taking about an OF player (anyone mention dive on the Colak incident?)

Aberdeen also have Beusijn so Goodwin can go do one

The press though - hibs need to come out all guns on that

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

DIXIHIBS
19-09-2022, 07:57 AM
I think the most irritating thing about this current attack on Porto is the fact that this was not a dive. Debatable penalty but not a dive. Maybe Goodwin and others should aim their poisoned arrows at one of the most incompetent refs ive seen for a while. 3 potential penalties in the game...2 stonewallers ignored...1 debatable given. As for that clown aberdeen goalie...started time wasting after 5 mins..should have been booked early doors to stamp it out.

19-09-2022, 07:59 AM
A promising young Scottish centre half being ground down by the idiots and media within football in Scotland. I wouldn't blame Porto if he went down south. I get from an opposition point of view he's an easy guy to dislike but the press and opposition managers/players and officials need to be held to a better standard. The SFA and the Hibs need also to be held accountable if their not doing anything about it as well.

19-09-2022, 08:02 AM
Porteous probably doesn't give an F what the media say about him.

My guess is he relishes it. It certainly won't have any bearing on whether he moves south or not, he's not a timid snowflake character by the looks of things.

He's doing fine for us just now. Gives us a bit of steel and character in the side.

Besides, I doubt he'd want the club coming out with statements in the media asking them to back off. He'll be getting all the support he needs, if any, from within the club.

Most likely water off a ducks back to him though.

19-09-2022, 08:06 AM

How long is this ban?

How about until they publish an apology to Porteous in their paper?

Until then they get no access to ER.

19-09-2022, 08:09 AM

My guess is he relishes it. It certainly won't have any bearing on whether he moves south or not, he's not a timid snowflake character by the looks of things.

He's doing fine for us just now. Gives us a bit of steel and character in the side.
, I doubt he'd want the club coming out with statements in the media asking them to back off. He'll be getting all the support he needs, if any, from within the club.

Might be so,but he is of no use if he is sitting in the stand banned from playing.
And your first sentence.
He should be bothered(his agent will be) as it may affect any transfer offers/fees the club/he possibly gets later.

19-09-2022, 08:16 AM
Stop the nonsense with banning journalists because we don’t like their point of view. Is this Nazi Germany? Get real, Porto gets a rough time because he’s been involved in a few daft incidents in the past.

On Saturday he did nothing wrong, he attempted to get past his marker who had no interest in the ball only playing the man. Porto out muscled him and got passed him then was pushed over as his marker was the wrong side. Whether Porto started the manhandling is down to the Ref to interpret but that fact is the Aberdeen player was outplayed by Porto and cost his team a penalty and himself a second yellow card.

As for Goodwin comments I’m sure the peaks that run Scottish football will be speaking to him about his comments as it generally not acceptable to call an opponent a cheat.

19-09-2022, 09:06 AM
That’s 2 games as manager (St Mirren & Aberdeen) where Goodwin’s defenders have tried to block Ryan and been outsmarted.

He’s given his centre halves these tactics and they’ve failed him twice. I’m sure that Goodwin was playing mind games with the ref before kickoff but the official didn’t fall for it.

It’s Goodwin who should be the subject of an investigation - not Ryan.

As for this ‘driving him down South’ theory that’s utter nonsense.Theres no vendetta in progress. A lot of the reactions to Ryan have been caused by the situations he’s put himself in.

Everyone just needs to calm doon

19-09-2022, 09:11 AM
Can't say that Goodwin hasn't succeeded in his primary aim. He's been well backed, and winning against teams like us is part of the remit, but the talk is defelected on to Porto.

Donegal Hibby
19-09-2022, 09:14 AM
Chris commons saying in Daily Record that Porto didn't dive and that Goodwin will regret his remarks in the cold light of day also said.he will probably be in bother with SFA for his comments

19-09-2022, 09:15 AM
Chris commons saying in Daily Record that Porto didn't dive and that Goodwin will regret his remarks in the cold light of day also said.he will probably be in bother with SFA for his comments

I hope Mickey Stewart and his new-found fondness for being a fud feel the same way.

Donegal Hibby
19-09-2022, 09:24 AM
I hope Mickey Stewart and his new-found fondness for being a fud feel the same way.
Don't think Micky Stewart will change,He's became quite anti Hibs for some reason or another.though Glad Kris Commons has had his say First bit of common sense I've read on this matter

inglisavhibs
19-09-2022, 09:33 AM

Besides, I doubt he'd want the club coming out with statements in the media asking them to back off. He'll be getting all the support he needs, if any, from within the club.

His 70 yard run in to the inside right channel and subsequent cut back was awesome on Saturday. Long may we have him.

19-09-2022, 09:52 AM

Michael Stewart never dived. Not even in the tunnel at Hamilton after getting that red card. I always watch that back whenever I feel like I'm getting duped into thinking that he's a serious pundit.

19-09-2022, 10:11 AM
Michael Stewart never dived. Not even in the tunnel at Hamilton after getting that red card. I always watch that back whenever I feel like I'm getting duped into thinking that he's a serious pundit.

I’ve always liked MS but that footage is priceless :faf:

Hibiza
19-09-2022, 10:20 AM
Take a hard line Sir Alex Ferguson approach to it. Anyone who publishes or comments on Porto or any other Hibs player in similar fashion is banned from ER and hibs will refuse to engage with their publication on any level. It's time we stood up for those that are Hibs.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

19-09-2022, 10:53 AM
WE need to come out all guns blazing on this latest media farce - Goodwin's comments are positively slanderous and without foundation - Mikey Stewart's are not much better.

Goodwin should be hauled before the beaks and fined - he was not simply stating an opinion but calling a fellow pro a cheat and without any foundation beyond subjective opinion. By doing so he not only risks harming Porteous' career but also unduly influencing officials to the disadvantage of a competitor. Utterly unacceptable and deserves official sanctions to be applied.

Re Stewart, incredibly enough, he comes across right now as if part of some concerted bias emanating from the publicly funded BBC. Despite their duty towards balance & objectivity, the BBC & Sportscene seem to have an aversion to saying anything positive about Hibs right now to the point that they completely ignored 3 (THREE) very strong penalty claims in their analysis while making a strongly biased negative assessment of the one that WAS given during which Stewart cannot even acknowledge the evidence of his own eyes (claiming Scales "doesn't grab him" when he clearly puts both arms around Porteous). Watching their analysis the neutral observer would assume that Aberdeen were somehow hard done by when, in fact, they got exactly what they deserved for their negative tactics and blatant time wasting throughout the game until they went behind - the only wonder being that there was only one penalty awarded against them. Hibs on the other hand were positive throughout - starting brightly and continuing on the front foot against ELEVEN men for most of the 1st half, after Aberdeen's goal, leading to a deserved equaliser before HT. For me, the usually balanced Stewart is basically doubling down on earlier criticism made re Gordon & the recruitment set up at Hibs. While anyone's allowed to criticise, if they want to maintain credibility they also have to be able to admit when they get it wrong. Stewart seems reluctant to do this and is clearly reluctant to quit his sniping with his flacid "too many strikers" poke on Sat.

Re the Sat radio shower at Open All Mics, it's been much discussed how there appears to be a Jambo love in on that show which is as mystifying as it's embarassingly amaturish. No surprises then that they struggle to find it within themselves to acknowledge deserved points and good performances from Hibs, falling over themselves to pour over the faintest controversy while denying praise when it's due.

Dr What If?
19-09-2022, 11:47 AM
Am I right in thinking Scott Brown never got a red card while he played for Hibs? Brown got a similar treatment while with us (I remember reading him referred to as 'mad') but as soon as he went to Celtic, 'mad' turned to 'committed'. Morelos does get called out now and again but nothing compared to the treatment Ryan gets, and to the best of my knowledge Ryan has never deliberately stamped on a lad just out of the youth teams.

19-09-2022, 11:56 AM

How long is this ban?

Don't need to ban them, rather question whether they would say the same if it was Celtic or Rangers. No doubt wouldn't have to wait long until a game changing decision versus one of them goes against Aberdeen to be followed by Goodwin attacking the ref rather than the player. At that point Hibs point out the hypocrisy. Not one for LJ to get involved in, would be good for Ian Gordon to call it out.

19-09-2022, 11:59 AM
Have just finished recording an episode of the podcast dedicated to Porteous and the comments from Goodwin. You’re spot on with your post. :agree:

When can we hear the podcast Matty

19-09-2022, 01:05 PM
Might be so,but he is of no use if he is sitting in the stand banned from playing.
And your first sentence.
He should be bothered(his agent will be) as it may affect any transfer offers/fees the club/he possibly gets later.

The media doesn't affect the price we get for players and will have zero impact on whether Ryan stays with us or moves on.

Way too much weight is given to the 'power' the media have on here. Nothing they say, print or do affects Hibs in any way at all.

19-09-2022, 01:18 PM
The next episode...

Love this quote from the keeper:

"Personally, diving is not my thing, it’s very difficult to say that for other players. You can say you like him or you hate him."

Maybe if diving was his thing, then Aberdeen might have sneaked a draw.

OstKurve Hibs
19-09-2022, 02:39 PM
I've got a mate that pumps sheep, even he was havin a dig at porto before the game on sat, the huns n media have been talkin guff n all the rest have just jumped on the bandwagon.
I doubt porto gives a barry white about it tbh, probably uses it as a motivation tool.

19-09-2022, 02:41 PM
I've got a mate that pumps sheep, even he was havin a dig at porto before the game on sat, the huns n media have been talkin guff n all the rest have just jumped on the bandwagon.
I doubt porto gives a barry white about it tbh, probably uses it as a motivation tool.

I think he does care about it. He's spoken about affecting mental health before. Think it's only human to take notice of it with the amount of **** that's been published about him the past few years.

OstKurve Hibs
19-09-2022, 02:56 PM
I think he does care about it. He's spoken about affecting mental health before. Think it's only human to take notice of it with the amount of **** that's been published about him the past few years.

Oright, musta missed that, I stand corrected.

Suppose it would have an effect on most people, youd need t hae rhino skin to brush of the constant crap they spread and
the idiots beleive.

19-09-2022, 02:58 PM
The media doesn't affect the price we get for players and will have zero impact on whether Ryan stays with us or moves on.

Way too much weight is given to the 'power' the media have on here. Nothing they say, print or do affects Hibs in any way at all.

That is your opinion .
Not everyone would share that view.

19-09-2022, 03:11 PM

Your last line is ridiculous. How do you know that? Do you work for the club? Are you involved in professional football in any capacity?

There are loads of players who have talked about the impact of social media, and the kind of pish churned out by the press and traditional media will feed into that.

How much it will effect Ryan is absolutely up for debate but to categorically state nothing the media ever does will impact Hibs in anyway is a crazy thing to state.

19-09-2022, 03:15 PM
When can we hear the podcast Matty

About 7pm tonight :aok:

19-09-2022, 03:31 PM

I tend to agree with this, to be honest reading through the various post there seems to be a bit of an over reaction to pundit and media statements.

19-09-2022, 03:37 PM
Your last line is ridiculous. How do you know that? Do you work for the club? Are you involved in professional football in any capacity?

There are loads of players who have talked about the impact of social media, and the kind of pish churned out by the press and traditional media will feed into that.

How much it will affect Ryan is absolutely up for debate but to categorically state nothing the media ever does will impact Hibs in anyway is a crazy thing to state.

Exactly, Jason Lee suffered jokes and ridicule from Skinner and Baddiel back in the days and said it had a huge negative impact on his career. It DOES matter.

19-09-2022, 03:37 PM
I tend to agree with this, to be honest reading through the various post there seems to be a bit of an over reaction to pundit and media statements.

:stirrer::fishin:

19-09-2022, 03:41 PM
About 7pm tonight :aok:

19-09-2022, 03:44 PM
Exactly, Jason Lee suffered jokes and ridicule from Skinner and Baddiel back in the days and said it had a huge negative impact on his career. It DOES matter.

When you take to the pitch with a pineapple on your head its quite hard to ignore though.

Orchard_Hibs
19-09-2022, 03:46 PM

I don’t think there is, we witnessed it when Ryan got red carded against the rangers last season and you can bet he’ll be red carded again in the next couple of weeks for some non existent offence. Damage is done thanks to Goodwin and Stewart.

sadtom
19-09-2022, 03:55 PM
Everyone associated with Hibs from board to the fans, without exception, should be fighting Ryan’s corner.
Not only that The Players Union should be all over this. It’s not acceptable.

Torto7
19-09-2022, 04:42 PM
Everyone associated with Hibs from board to the fans, without exception, should be fighting Ryan’s corner.

19-09-2022, 06:31 PM

How much it will effect Ryan is absolutely up for debate but to categorically state nothing the media ever does will impact Hibs in anyway is a crazy thing to state.

Seriously??

And you say my post is ridiculous.

EskbankHibby
19-09-2022, 07:54 PM

I’m assuming/hoping the club are keeping their powder dry today due to the funeral etc.

Both barrels tomorrow though.

JammyDoidger
19-09-2022, 07:57 PM
It's really hacked me off this Goodwin stuff like, standing in our stadium bad mouthing one of our own, it's not on. Gerrard now Goodwin, it needs stopped, disgusting way to treat a young player and it's blatant lies he's spreading too.

19-09-2022, 08:17 PM
Thing is Porteous didnt even dive!

There's more contact on him than the Colak penalty

I'm not sure it's a pen but all the cheat talk is nonsense and again wouldn't be entertained if we were taking about an OF player (anyone mention dive on the Colak incident?)

Aberdeen also have Beusijn so Goodwin can go do one

The press though - hibs need to come out all guns on that

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
C'mon. Of course he dived. If someone brushed against you as you jogged along the way Scales brushed Porto, no way would you tumble to the ground. Folk need to admit that he bought the penalty - and in doing so he won us the game.:greengrin

19-09-2022, 08:36 PM
I've criticised Porteous when I have felt it is merited. There are elements to his game he needs to improve if he wants to truly fulfil his undoubted potential.

However there is quite evidently a vendetta against the guy from the football media in this country. Part of it will be that he's an easy target, you simply don't get the same Kickback when you single out and bully a Hibs player as you would when you do it to someone at Rangers or to a lesser extent Celtic. Some of it is targeting by proxy; I used to like Michael Stewart as a pundit but his continuing refusal to acknowledge anything good about Hibs since Jack Ross was sacked is becoming increasingly embarrassing and unprofessional.

For Goodwin and the rubbish goalie it's pure deflection. As I said above Porteous is an easy target. A decent chunk of the demographic that buy the Sun and the Record religiously already hate him so those 2 can lay into him with relative impunity from the press. Even when the inevitable ban comes it will go somewhat unreported by said press.

I'm not sure what Hibs can do about it. We have watched more than one of our managers subjected to vile sectarian and xenophobic abuse in recent years and it passed without real comment in the press, even when our manager called it out. Sadly some of our own fans were reluctant to back our then manager up when he called it out as racism, focusing on the semantics rather than the point he was making. The club can't make an enemy of that same football media here for a variety of reasons so we essentially have to manage this blatant hypocrisy along with the systematic smearing and bullying of one of our players. It's a sad state of affairs and the whole thing is very uncomfortable to watch play out.

19-09-2022, 08:42 PM
Seriously??

And you say my post is ridiculous.

You have made a very bold claim so I am interested to know what you are basing it on. If you work in football then fair enough, it might be based on actual experience and inside knowledge.

But I suspect you are just a random punter so not sure how you can make a sweeping statement about how a football club operates. We've already had a good example on the thread of Jason Lee and now his treatment in the media got to him. So why would Hibs and our players somehow be immune from outside pressure?

19-09-2022, 08:44 PM
Grant Hanley has withdrawn from the Scotland squad with no replacement called up, reckon it's almost definite that Porto will get some significant minutes this international break now

Davy Mac
19-09-2022, 09:00 PM
It was an easy red for the ref as Scales was booked just before the penalty incident.

When I mean easy red, its terminology within the SFA that essentially means you made it easy for the ref to send him off.

As I've said on previous posts, there is another motive with all of this and I think Goodwin has got the backing of the Glesgae mafia corridors as well hence his confidence of speaking out.

One other poster mentioned that they dont like our recent appointments like Hecky and LJ because they are perhaps English and not one of the usual merry go round suspects.

Whatever it is it needs to stop, VAR will flush out the real conmen of Scottish fitba and maybe this is just a bit of bluster as d-day approaches.

Personally, cant wait for VAR as I think it will be in the best interests for all the clubs outwith the ugly sisters, hold on to your hats when it comes.....

19-09-2022, 10:43 PM
You have made a very bold claim so I am interested to know what you are basing it on. If you work in football then fair enough, it might be based on actual experience and inside knowledge.

But I suspect you are just a random punter so not sure how you can make a sweeping statement about how a football club operates. We've already had a good example on the thread of Jason Lee and now his treatment in the media got to him. So why would Hibs and our players somehow be immune from outside pressure?

Jason Lee was 25+ years ago. If you’ve got to go that far back to find an example , I’d suggest that it’s a pretty rare occurrence.

I didn’t make any bold claims, I made a random post on a forum. It’s what I, as a random punter on here, do. Do we need to have played professional football to comment on the match day thread?

Get off your damn high horse and go pick an argument with someone at home.

You seem to think that Porteous or other Hibs players are easily influenced by the media.

Who exactly? You think Ryan went home greeting because of something Willie Miller said? Or Keith Jackson? Or the fat jambo prick from the EEN?

I’ll give every one of our players more credit than that. I doubt any one of them would want the club to be asking the media to stop saying nasty things about them either. I’ve never heard anything remotely close to that ever being talked about in Scottish football before and there’s been players take a hell of a lot more stick than Ryan.

Which Hibs players have complained about their treatment in the press?

20-09-2022, 05:17 AM
Jason Lee was 25+ years ago. If you’ve got to go that far back to find an example , I’d suggest that it’s a pretty rare occurrence.

I didn’t make any bold claims, I made a random post on a forum. It’s what I, as a random punter on here, do. Do we need to have played professional football to comment on the match day thread?

You seem to think that Porteous or other Hibs players are easily influenced by the media.

Who exactly? You think Ryan went home greeting because of something Willie Miller said? Or Keith Jackson? Or the fat jambo prick from the EEN?

I’ll give every one of our players more credit than that. I doubt any one of them would want the club to be asking the media to stop saying nasty things about them either. I’ve never heard anything remotely close to that ever being talked about in Scottish football before and there’s been players take a hell of a lot more stick than Ryan.

Ryan Porteous did, a few months ago.

There are dozens of examples of players struggling with mental pressure and the criticism that comes with football. Some of the biggest names in world football have said it.

20-09-2022, 07:36 AM
Ryan will be fine once McGeady is fit as it will give them all someone else to hate.

20-09-2022, 08:11 AM
Hope Porto gets a game on Wednesday plays brilliant and shuts them all up

20-09-2022, 08:15 AM
Hope Porto gets a game on Wednesday plays brilliant and shuts them all up

And lifts his jersey to show a t-shirt emblazoned with the words “Sportscene Is Sh*te”

20-09-2022, 08:24 AM
Ryan Porteous did, a few months ago.

There are dozens of examples of players struggling with mental pressure and the criticism that comes with football. Some of the biggest names in world football have said it.

Do you want Hibs to ask the media to go easy on our players and not to criticise them too much?

I think it would make us look ridiculous if we did.

20-09-2022, 08:31 AM
Do you want Hibs to ask the media to go easy on our players and not to criticise them too much?

No, but I'd like us to deal with blatant lies.

20-09-2022, 08:37 AM

Does it make us look ridiculous for rolling over and letting them get away with actual lies like these two twats in the daily express?

20-09-2022, 08:39 AM
I'd rather we go for the "they don't like us, we don't care' siege-type mentality.

Crying to the press plays into the soft lad, boy-band narrative.

20-09-2022, 08:41 AM
I'd rather we go for the "they don't like us, we don't care' siege-type mentality.

Crying to the press plays into the soft lad, boy-band narrative.

We should 100% be taking Goodwin to task in his comments.

20-09-2022, 08:42 AM
Does it make us look ridiculous for rolling over and letting them get away with actual lies like these two twats in the daily express?

Nope, it's the Hibs way. The strong silent type.

Like Gary Cooper for example :wink:

20-09-2022, 08:43 AM
We should 100% be taking Goodwin to task in his comments.

So take it up with Goodwin or Aberdeen. Nowt to do with the press / media.

20-09-2022, 09:54 AM

Have you seen the article in the Record today?

They've wheeled out a referee to call Ryan a cheat and to call for LJ to be punished for encouraging him to cheat!

20-09-2022, 09:57 AM

One reason you gave earlier for thinking Porteous isn’t affected by the attacks he’s getting is he isn’t the snowflakey type, ie-he’s a hard man. That’s a very prevalent but dangerous attitude to take; there’s plenty of examples of anxiety and poor mental health affecting world championship boxers, military men, sportsmen. It’s also the whole basis of The Sopranos, the best tv show ever made :greengrin One of the best things Jack Ross did was call out the abuse Porto was getting when he showed it to him, and how shocked he was by how violent it was.

LunasBoots
20-09-2022, 09:58 AM
I'd ban the lot of then, RP and Johnson should take a libel case against the lot of them.

percy veer
20-09-2022, 10:00 AM
Now it's johnsons fault sending his players out to get people sent off, Steve conroy the sun

Paulie Walnuts
20-09-2022, 10:00 AM
Trying to look at the incident from a totally neutral view point and attempting to remove any bias, the absolute worst you can label at Porteous is that they were both at it and it’s not a pen yet he’s claimed for it anyway. And that’s the absolute worst argument anyone could reasonably put up against Porteous imo.

The chat about him diving, cheating etc to win the pen is absolutely laughable. There’s so much contact between the two players that the suggestion it’s a dive is obscene.

20-09-2022, 10:08 AM

They've wheeled out a referee to call Ryan a cheat and to call for LJ to be punished for encouraging him to cheat!

Just seen that, this is beyond a joke now. The club HAVE to react to this, although it could just add petrol to the fire, but cant be allowed to carry on.

Damned if they do and all that.

20-09-2022, 10:17 AM

I've not, didn't think we were meant to read the Record :greengrin

I'll take a look and get back to you.

20-09-2022, 10:23 AM
One reason you gave earlier for thinking Porteous isn’t affected by the attacks he’s getting is he isn’t the snowflakey type, ie-he’s a hard man. That’s a very prevalent but dangerous attitude to take; there’s plenty of examples of anxiety and poor mental health affecting world championship boxers, military men, sportsmen. It’s also the whole basis of The Sopranos, the best tv show ever made :greengrin One of the best things Jack Ross did was call out the abuse Porto was getting when he showed it to him, and how shocked he was by how violent it was.

I think Porteous relishes it. Think of the pics of him in the papers with Morelos for example.

Let's not go too far down the mental health route here, we're taking about couple of ex refs having a pop in the red tops.

Neither refs nor the papers get much credit on here usually, so why are we bothered about what they're saying this week? Does anyone think this will have a negative effect on our squad? I don't, and that's kinda all that I'm bothered about.

Tony was 100% correct re Gary Cooper.

20-09-2022, 10:30 AM
I think Porteous relishes it. Think of the pics of him in the papers with Morelos for example.

Let's not go too far down the mental health route here, we're taking about couple of ex refs having a pop in the red tops.

Neither refs nor the papers get much credit on here usually, so why are we bothered about what they're saying this week? Does anyone think this will have a negative effect on our squad? I don't, and that's kinda all that I'm bothered about.

Tony was 100% correct re Gary Cooper.

I’m pretty sure the writers had Tony use Gary Cooper as his ideal man because it represented a totally unrealistic ideal in the face of his own toxic masculinity. But you’re entitled to your opinion :greengrin

The mental health concerns weren’t so much about the last few days but the death threats and violent sicko imagery he was getting online from Huns, which Jack Ross referred to previously.

20-09-2022, 10:31 AM
Disgraceful comments about Porteous and Lee Johnson. Fully expect the club to come out and lambast those involved. Hopefully it can be used to motivate the players too, but don't expect us to get any penalties anytime soon.

All of this, and nothing been made of the McRorie handball, which was as obvious a pen as you will likely see, or of the handball at the end when Bojang has robbed their player and their player dived onto the ball with his left arm clearly obstructing the play. Ref shat it and gave a freekick.

20-09-2022, 10:31 AM

Can you post the link? Only one i found was this...

Ryan's posted a pic of him and Goodwin on his Insta apparently

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/ryan-porteous-veiled-jim-goodwin-28021769

20-09-2022, 10:33 AM
I’m pretty sure the writers had Tony use Gary Cooper as his ideal man because it represented a totally unrealistic ideal in the face of his own toxic masculinity. But you’re entitled to your opinion :greengrin

Go watch the scene when he's taking to Silvio in the car and tells him to call Frankie Valli. The Columbus episode i think.

Hard to disagree with him!!

LunasBoots
20-09-2022, 10:41 AM
Can you post the link? Only one i found was this...

Ryan's posted a pic of him and Goodwin on his Insta apparently

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/ryan-porteous-veiled-jim-goodwin-28021769

One in the daily express on LJ

20-09-2022, 10:43 AM
If anyone wonders what we're on about...

https://youtu.be/27KQODo0vXs

20-09-2022, 11:05 AM

There are countless examples of people being pilloried by the media and the devastating effect it can have on their lives. It's only a couple of years since Caroline Flack died. I don't know Ryan and yes he seems a strong personality but we can't say it's ok for him to face lying accusations because he's a strong character. None of us know how someone else is feeling, though you seem to be an exception, so it's incumbent that everyone is treated fairly and with respect. If you genuinely think players aren't affected by what's in the media, social or otherwise, go and have a word with Joe Newell.

20-09-2022, 11:06 AM

I’m not sure how you can say it’s ‘nothing to do with the media’. Rob McLean is on Sportscene saying ‘look at Scales jersey, it’s half way up his back’ when it self evidently isn’t being pulled like that all. The pictures and the words don’t add up. But by saying black is white loudly enough folk believe it. I’ve just had a look on Twitter and Ryan is getting treated like that girl who went to join Isis. Actions have consequences.

20-09-2022, 11:27 AM
This is unbelievable. Hibs have to respond to these lies.

Writing in his Daily Express column, Nicholas wrote: "It seems as though the panto season has come early with our favourite villain, Ryan Porteous, starring again.

"'He's behind you!" Oh, no he isn't.'

"'He's diving!" Oh, yes he is!'

"Porteous seems to have this notion that he can be somebody he's not.

"I'll tell you what he is - immature.

"Aberdeen manager Jim Goodwin revealed he had warned the referee before kick-off about some of the antics that the Hibs defender can get up to and yet he still fell for it, with Porteous engineering a penalty award for his side and getting Liam Scales sent off in the process.

"At full-time Goodwin went on to the pitch to tell the player to his face what he thought of him.

"The response of Porteous was to laugh.

"But I have no doubt that his time will come because it always does.

"Porteous will be exposed and he'll let his team down.

"If he was half as good a player as he thinks he is, Porteous would have clubs in England trying to lure him down south.

"But that hasn't happened."

20-09-2022, 11:37 AM
I’m not sure how you can say it’s ‘nothing to do with the media’. Rob McLean is on Sportscene saying ‘look at Scales jersey, it’s half way up his back’ when it self evidently isn’t being pulled like that all. The pictures and the words don’t add up. But by saying black is white loudly enough folk believe it. I’ve just had a look on Twitter and Ryan is getting treated like that girl who went to join Isis. Actions have consequences.

It's a fast moving thread, i was talking about Goodwin there :aok:

20-09-2022, 11:41 AM
It's a fast moving thread, i was talking about Goodwin there :aok:

Fair enough, I couldn’t remember if we were on Rob McLean or Paulie Walnuts :aok:

20-09-2022, 11:41 AM
There are countless examples of people being pilloried by the media and the devastating effect it can have on their lives. It's only a couple of years since Caroline Flack died. I don't know Ryan and yes he seems a strong personality but we can't say it's ok for him to face lying accusations because he's a strong character. None of us know how someone else is feeling, though you seem to be an exception, so it's incumbent that everyone is treated fairly and with respect. If you genuinely think players aren't affected by what's in the media, social or otherwise, go and have a word with Joe Newell.

There's no need for these sorts of remarks, i'm not pretending to know everything at all, I'm just posting my thoughts on the subject - same as everyone else.

Everyone should be treated fairly and with respect? Have you read any of the threads in the Holy Ground about politicians or the Queen?

Check out some of the posts being directed at other posters there then come back to me on that one!

It goes without saying that none of us know how others are feeling, do we need add that line every time we post?!

20-09-2022, 11:45 AM

That is ****ing outrageous.

20-09-2022, 11:51 AM
The story in the Express is taken from the Get Involved Referee podcast, these 2 refs were guests on it.

Do Hibs go after the Express, the podcast, the refs or all of them?

Scotsman and other papers also reporting it. Let's wait and see how LJ responds as he's bound to be asked about it before our next game.

20-09-2022, 11:52 AM

Shocking comments by Nicholas, a player who had great potential but under-achieved compared to others blessed with the same skills.

"If he was half as good a player as he thinks he is, Porteous would have clubs in England trying to lure him down south.

You could say the same about Nicholas - "If he was half as good a pundit as he thinks he is, he'd still be on Soccer Saturday".

20-09-2022, 11:56 AM
Shocking comments by Nicholas, a player who had great potential but under-achieved compared to others blessed with the same skills.

You could say the same about Nicholas - "If he was half as good a pundit as he thinks he is, he'd still be on Soccer Saturday".

https://youtu.be/c5FsadHcoVA

Cutting edge analysis from Charlie.

20-09-2022, 12:00 PM
The story in the Express is taken from the Get Involved Referee podcast, these 2 refs were guests on it.

Do Hibs go after the Express, the podcast, the refs or all of them?

Scotsman and other papers also reporting it. Let's wait and see how LJ responds as he's bound to be asked about it before our next game.

LJ just needs to play videos of the two penalty decisions from the Aberdeen and The Rangers game, focussing on the Colak and Porteous fouls and ask the media, which player in their opinion did most to manufacture the penalty.

BS44
20-09-2022, 12:00 PM
Shocking opinion...

https://twitter.com/scotlandsky/status/1572190083339485185?s=46&t=-eZT7nN6pFS8ylbdOP7zoA

20-09-2022, 12:09 PM
Shocking opinion...

https://twitter.com/scotlandsky/status/1572190083339485185?s=46&t=-eZT7nN6pFS8ylbdOP7zoA

Folk will have different opinions on whether it’s a penalty and second yellow and that’s fine. What it absolutely isn’t is diving and cheating by the player or the manager telling him to cheat. At least we have a balanced view now and the penalty we didn’t get is being called out. Not before time as the whole thing is getting out of hand. It’s the same every game where we get a result.

Donegal Hibby
20-09-2022, 01:13 PM
Scotsman saying "Scotland rocked by 3 call offs and Porto in frame for first Cap :flag:

Mantis Toboggan
20-09-2022, 01:17 PM
I look forward to our brave pundits and media applying a similarly rigourous analysis to the next Rangers penalty.

20-09-2022, 01:28 PM
I look forward to our brave pundits and media applying a similarly rigourous analysis to the next Rangers penalty.

The media, the SFA and the SPFL are biased towards and terrified of the Old Firm, especially Rangers. I don’t remember for example, the same focus of attention on and criticism of the cynical, fat Colombian, given his record.

20-09-2022, 01:30 PM

This is getting beyond ridiculous

I'm Spartacus
20-09-2022, 01:46 PM
This has gone from mental to beyond ridiculous at 300mph.

A tussle in the box, see if it's not given I'm not complaining, see if it's given I'm taking it. I have zero idea why this is being debated in such extreme.

20-09-2022, 01:46 PM

Doesn't come as a surprise to me from that mouth

He's an ex Sheep****ger as well

Good podcast last night by the way

20-09-2022, 01:56 PM
Has anyone at our club said anything publicly yet about today's bizarre pile-on?
We're now in a position where our manager is being falsely accused of encouraging his players to cheat.
Totally incredible.
Theres nothing on the website.
Does anyone think we're getting a statement at some point?

20-09-2022, 02:00 PM
The club really need to call this out publicly.

You can guarantee Porteous will get zero protection from referees going forward.

No matter what he or hibs do we’re ripped to shreds in the media for it.

Pundits/ex refs asking for bans for Porteous retrospectively for getting dragged down in the box and a ban for Lee Johnson for encouraging cheating!? It’s ****ing laughable and the club ought to take a hard stance on this publicly.

20-09-2022, 02:14 PM

A tussle in the box, see if it's not given I'm not complaining, see if it's given I'm taking it. I have zero idea why this is being debated in such extreme.

Agree. All the talk of cheating is totally bizarre.

20-09-2022, 02:31 PM
At last, a totally unbiased view from an experienced PL referee!

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/always-given-as-a-penalty-ex-referee-has-say-on-hibs-penalty-and-handball-claim-against-aberdeen-3848970

Hibee Daft
20-09-2022, 02:52 PM
They are spewing we are starting to play well and building a good team. Especially Hearts fans

Marshall, Hanlon, Stevenson... hopefully Porteous soon aswell all capped for Scotland. Wouldnt surprise me if Cadden is capped soon.

Add in Boyle and Nisbet aswell and a few others who might get caps in future.

Team full of internationals... they are seething.

20-09-2022, 03:30 PM
The club really need to call this out publicly.

You can guarantee Porteous will get zero protection from referees going forward.

No matter what he or hibs do we’re ripped to shreds in the media for it.

Pundits/ex refs asking for bans for Porteous retrospectively for getting dragged down in the box and a ban for Lee Johnson for encouraging cheating!? It’s ****ing laughable and the club ought to take a hard stance on this publicly.

The ref that counts gave us the penalty, we’re on his ‘side’!

It’s only 2 former refs that have talked about LJ and cheats. When you think about who is irrelevant in Scottish football, ex refs must be near the top of that list.

If they are going to be mad at anything or anyone, it will be at Goodwin. He’s the one saying that ref’s are easily conned or influenced by Ryan.

20-09-2022, 03:39 PM
Well done for starting this thread. Absolutely disgusting the way this lad gets talked about by fellow so called professionals.

Torto7
20-09-2022, 03:43 PM

It’s only 2 former refs that have talked about LJ and cheats. When you think about who is irrelevant in Scottish football, ex refs must be near the top of that list.

If they are going to be mad at anything or anyone, it will be at Goodwin. He’s the one saying that ref’s are easily conned or influenced by Ryan.

Its not just Goodwin though. The record should be banned from Easter Road. The sectarian bullying by bigots who didnt like a laddie standing up to them is at the core of this. Morons like Goodwin pile on after the fact. The club cant do the dignified silence crap with this.

20-09-2022, 03:44 PM
There's no need for these sorts of remarks, i'm not pretending to know everything at all, I'm just posting my thoughts on the subject - same as everyone else.

Everyone should be treated fairly and with respect? Have you read any of the threads in the Holy Ground about politicians or the Queen?

Check out some of the posts being directed at other posters there then come back to me on that one!

It goes without saying that none of us know how others are feeling, do we need add that line every time we post?!

I'm glad you posted that last sentence but it contradicts several of your prior posts where you tell us that Porteous will be unaffected by these newspaper comments.

Mikey_1875
20-09-2022, 04:06 PM

Exactly. Never seen anything like it for such an innocuous incident that happens most weeks. Some go for the attacker, some don’t. Now our manager is coaching our team to cheat. It’s laughable and clearly just an opportunity for pundits to stick the boot in relatively consequence free as it’s one of the bigger teams that isn’t one of the OF.

20-09-2022, 04:10 PM
I'm glad you posted that last sentence but it contradicts several of your prior posts where you tell us that Porteous will be unaffected by these newspaper comments.

I noticed that as well.
Left him to do his Buddy Holly:greengrin

20-09-2022, 05:41 PM

But the Scottish media are peddling it as well sharing the views in articles.

20-09-2022, 06:31 PM

But how is that any different to you guys saying he will be affected?

I’m just taking the opposite view!

As you say, none of us can ‘know’. If we could only post stuff that we all knew about the board would be quiet and kinda pointless. My view is that Ryan is built of sterner stuff and won’t be nearly as bothered about the stuff in the press as you guys.

You think differently. That’s all. Why do I come under further scrutiny?

20-09-2022, 06:33 PM
I noticed that as well.

I don’t get it ….:confused:

donno
20-09-2022, 06:47 PM
Congratulations to the lad for his call up.
When I watched the game on TV, I was looking where the ball was, so completely missed the incident. The original replay I saw, was from behind the goal, and it looked a fair decision, they then showed it from behind, and I thought Ryan was trying to get a piggy back from the guy. No penalty for me sorry,

Sent from my JNY-LX1 using Tapatalk

20-09-2022, 06:59 PM
See, when you cut through all the noise, and wade through all the snot and slavers it is still a penalty, and in this case the only noise that mattered was the noise from the ref's whistle. All the rest in my humble is just no worth all the energy or the point scoring.
As for the medjia attacks on one of our best players it can only end one way, and its not great for Hibs, that is why again in my humble Hibs need to hammer that so called manager of the sheep. He dont make a very good shepherd thats for sure, phanney that he is.

Scotty Leither
20-09-2022, 07:08 PM
Can we not hire Mike Lynch from the RMT union in a consultancy role? He regularly hands the media their collective @rses on a plate, and it's a joy to watch.

20-09-2022, 07:13 PM
When I watched the game on TV, I was looking where the ball was, so completely missed the incident. The original replay I saw, was from behind the goal, and it looked a fair decision, they then showed it from behind, and I thought Ryan was trying to get a piggy back from the guy. No penalty for me sorry,

Sent from my JNY-LX1 using Tapatalk

I don't think that's the point here. Whether it's a penalty or not, it's debatable as it was a bit of 50/50 either way. However, if you're going to challenge an opposition player in the penalty box like the Dons player did, then there's a fair chance a penalty is going to be given. As Dermot Gallagher, the former English Premier League official stated, "the Dons centre-back had taken a ‘massive risk’" as he pointed out both players were grappling with each other. "The argument is, when does push come to shove? But if you look at it, he hauls [Porteous] down. It’s a massive risk to take. From the referee’s angle, he sees Scales haul him down, so the official thinks it’s a yellow-card offence in addition to the penalty. The player has already had a yellow card so unfortunately he has to go."

The main point here is an opposition manager claiming that one of our players is a cheat and has been backed up by many in the Scottish media. IMO, the The Rangers guy who went down for the penalty at Easter Road was more of a cheat. He was at it all day and got his reward with the penalty. Where is the trial by media in that example?

If one of the most respected referees in the country says it's "always given as a penalty" why do our experts see the opposite. In fact, they've overstepped the mark by calling him a cheat.

20-09-2022, 07:19 PM
We had a big discussion on the subject of the press Ryan and Hibs are getting, you can listen back here:
https://twitter.com/longbangers/status/1572303260886745088?s=46&t=ewr_f7d_qB3PyZkg047Bgg

20-09-2022, 07:25 PM

' the response from Porteous was to laugh '

WTF does thon Numpty expect ?

Put on a petted lip and say sorry
What an article that is from a washed up tool

20-09-2022, 07:32 PM

Sent from my JNY-LX1 using TapatalkYou were looking where the ball was, so was RP. Scales wasn't as he was too busy trying to block RP's attempt to get to the ball.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

20-09-2022, 08:51 PM
You were looking where the ball was, so was RP. Scales wasn't as he was too busy trying to block RP's attempt to get to the ball.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Interestingly Richardson was trying to do the same to Josh C but Josh swerved round him on his way to the back post. I don't think Richardson looked at the ball at any time. Sheep had 10 players in the box and 1 level with the penalty spot just outside. Goodwin may want to reappraise his set up.

hhibs
20-09-2022, 09:02 PM
I noticed that as well.

OK Mick,what is the connection to the late great Buddy Holly ??

Jdawg
20-09-2022, 09:16 PM
Have a look at the Dundee Utd highlights. Tony Watt once again diving for try and get a penalty. He’s at it every game and nothing is ever said.

gogs_t
20-09-2022, 09:55 PM
Exactly. Never seen anything like it for such an innocuous incident that happens most weeks. Some go for the attacker, some don’t. Now our manager is coaching our team to cheat. It’s laughable and clearly just an opportunity for pundits to stick the boot in relatively consequence free as it’s one of the bigger teams that isn’t one of the OF.

Pretty much spot on! It was one of those 'coming together' in the box that could have gone either way. If Ryan managed to manipulate the situation, winning a penalty and getting the player sent off, he's one of the cleverest players we've ever had and every club in the league would want one!! If it hadn't been Ryan Porteous, the press would have ignored it.

20-09-2022, 10:04 PM
We had a big discussion on the subject of the press Ryan and Hibs are getting, you can listen back here:
https://twitter.com/longbangers/status/1572303260886745088?s=46&t=ewr_f7d_qB3PyZkg047Bgg

Was class, pretty fair as well. Really hard to get that right. Portrayal in the media all to pot though.

Not sure about your 100m winner though…

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

21-09-2022, 03:54 AM
Is Andy Murray still looking after Porto?

is he just choosing his moment to take them all out with a cutting one-liner?

Widhibs
21-09-2022, 05:31 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lee-johnson-accused-of-encouraging-hibs-players-to-cheat-over-ryan-porteous-comments-3848652

Steve Conroy and Des Roache (Who The F are they...)

21-09-2022, 05:53 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lee-johnson-accused-of-encouraging-hibs-players-to-cheat-over-ryan-porteous-comments-3848652

Every single newspaper which ran that scandalous attack on Porteous have to be banned from Easter Road and East Mains until further notice. When supposed friendly outlets like The Scotsman are jumping on with that absolute drivel from Conroy and the other nonentity it’s time to day “No more”

Won’t leave many left mind you, but it needs to be done.

21-09-2022, 05:54 AM

Only in Scotland would our manager be getting criticised for the ridiculous and slanderous comments of another manager.

Clarence
21-09-2022, 05:56 AM

Wow. That level of whitabootery could only come from a Rangers fan.

21-09-2022, 06:54 AM
Are we going to say anything?

21-09-2022, 06:58 AM
Are we going to say anything?

I tend to like the way Hibs refuse to get drawn into stuff but I think they need to make a point here.

MikeyS
21-09-2022, 06:59 AM
Is Andy Murray still looking after Porto?

is he just choosing his moment to take them all out with a cutting one-liner?

That prick was too busy at Ibrox on Saturday.

21-09-2022, 07:02 AM
OK Mick,what is the connection to the late great Buddy Holly ??

Am guilty too.
What some on here do when they get the bit between their teeth on a topic.
Sometimes they just slaver and Rave On !

21-09-2022, 07:04 AM
I suspect the fact that Ron Gordon and Dave Cormack appear to have a fairly good working relationship has stopped the club coming out with both barrels.

Not that it should matter, but that could explain the silence possibly.

big gogs
21-09-2022, 07:06 AM
Wow. That level of whitabootery could only come from a Rangers fan.
I can’t remember the media condemning John Mac Donald of rangers ,when he dived in the penalty box.there again the west coast mafia ,sorry media would and could not say a word against the old firm,they would be banned from ibrox and parkhead,they would have to make their own headlines,as they are now against Ryan porteous.

21-09-2022, 07:11 AM
I suspect the fact that Ron Gordon and Dave Cormack appear to have a fairly good working relationship has stopped the club coming out with both barrels.

Its more likely because Porteous is in the Scotland squad, and Hibs dont want to disrupt preparations for this evening.

21-09-2022, 07:13 AM

Silence could also be that Hibs have reported the rant from Goodwin to SPFL/SFA and await their response.

Monday was a day off.Now the Ukraine game to keep them busy.
If the beaks have been officially involved,we might hear so mething next day or two.

Hopefully too,the players union are involved.
A member is being persecuted by current managers (Gerard was at it) and former referees.

I also dont buy Goodwin's take on his pre match chat with the ref.
Saying to ref "watch out for Porteous" was "just a joke"
Pulling Ryan up on the pitch after match shows him up too.

He cant blame others every week for his own failings.
Time will tell on him.

hibbie02
21-09-2022, 07:28 AM

Eh?

21-09-2022, 07:53 AM
Eh?

Murray was at The Rangers game on Saturday.

21-09-2022, 08:02 AM
Murray was at The Rangers game on Saturday.

Yep.

He was in Glasgow for the Davis Cup til Sunday and took in a match - not sure hes joining the Union Bears quite yet.......................

21-09-2022, 08:23 AM
Yea proudly holding a Rangers shirt

21-09-2022, 08:32 AM
Steve Clarke has come out to defend Porto but we've remained silent. Not sure about that

https://www.thenational.scot/sport/22328333.steve-clarke-brands-ryan-porteous-reputation-unfair-weekend-savaging-hibs-man-nears-scotland-debut/

21-09-2022, 08:32 AM

A bit harsh. He's a Hibs fan who was offered a chance to play football with The rangers as a kid hence he did some PR with them.

21-09-2022, 08:33 AM
The comments regarding the manager are laughable.

I heard his interview after the game where he said something along the lines of 'our good play forced the penalty'. I took him to be referring to our general pressure building with the amount of corners possession forcing them back etc rather than the incident itself.

Unless I'm missing something, the whole things been taken absolutely out of context. Stevie G's legacy at work here

big gogs
21-09-2022, 09:38 AM
Every single newspaper which ran that scandalous attack on Porteous have to be banned from Easter Road and East Mains until further notice. When supposed friendly outlets like The Scotsman are jumping on with that absolute drivel from Conroy and the other nonentity it’s time to day “No more”

Won’t leave many left mind you, but it needs to be done.
I might be wrong on this,did hibs take down a banner of Kevin Thomson,when he said or didn’t say ,he would crawl over broken glass to sign for rangers,as was reported by Keith Jackson,chief reporter at the record.

21-09-2022, 02:34 PM
A bit harsh. He's a Hibs fan who was offered a chance to play football with The rangers as a kid hence he did some PR with them.He is also sponsored by castore, as are rangers. It will have been some sort of commitment I imagine.

itslegaltender
21-09-2022, 02:45 PM
He is also sponsored by castore, as are rangers. It will have been some sort of commitment I imagine.

Im sure he also owns a part of Castore

21-09-2022, 03:04 PM
Im sure he also owns a part of Castore
Has his own AMC brand with them.

hhibs
22-09-2022, 10:54 AM

Tiresome.

Regarding Craigan,you really can't guess ??