View Full Version : Josh Campbell
HibeeMackenzie
17-09-2022, 10:02 PM
Absolutely delighted for the boy. Proving the vast majority of the hibs support, myself included, wrong
He’s one of us and to show the guts he has to get the head down and become a big player for us that pops up with important goals is testament to him as a man
4 goals already this season. Finally we have a goal scoring midfielder. Turns out he was here all along. Love to see guys from the academy making their mark in the first team. Especially a boyhood Hibs supporter.
17-09-2022, 10:10 PM
Have we found a new Pat McGinlay?
17-09-2022, 10:14 PM
He has brilliant today and I think he will get a good deal better. The runs he made were very clever and he will become a fans favourite
King Cosell
17-09-2022, 10:15 PM
4 goals already this season. Finally we have a goal scoring midfielder. Turns out he was here all along. Love to see guys from the academy making their mark in the first team. Especially a boyhood Hibs supporter.
5 goals, scored against Clyde in the League Cup.
Absolutely delighted for the boy. Proving the vast majority of the hibs support, myself included, wrong
He’s one of us and to show the guts he has to get the head down and become a big player for us that pops up with important goals is testament to him as a man
Good post.
My only disagreement is your claim about the ‘Vast Majority’. A few dozen posters banging on mercilessly in a fan messageboard don’t speak for the majority of supporters that go to games.
Count me out of the vast majority.
17-09-2022, 10:25 PM
It's been brilliant to watch him turn around opinions, his performances this season have been excellent and he deserves all the credit going for it.
17-09-2022, 10:30 PM
It's been brilliant to watch him turn around opinions, his performances this season have been excellent and he deserves all the credit going for it.
Totally agree he has been very good this season and today he was fantastic
17-09-2022, 10:35 PM
It amazes me how often you see an underhit opposition pass being intercepted, or a player busting a gut to keep a ball in play, or to chase down a goalie, or finding a half yard of space in a split second and it's almost always Josh Campbell who's causing havoc. His fitness is immense.
HTD1875
17-09-2022, 10:40 PM
Fitness is incredible and has a knack of finding himself in the right place and the right time. Interesting comments from LJ post match today hinting that that Campbell had been used incorrectly by previous managers.
17-09-2022, 10:58 PM
Just shows we need to be more patient with these youngsters.
Too many people had written him off before he had a chance to prove himself.
Credit to him for keeping at it.
I was wrong about Josh Campbell, vocal o here about how I thought he was playing and how he shouldn’t be close to it, he’s certainly making me eat my words, fair play to the boy for continuing to dig in and fair play to the coaching staff for sticking by him
17-09-2022, 11:57 PM
Goal machine
RMQ1967
18-09-2022, 12:21 AM
He's always been "one of us" and it's no disgrace to admit you really know nothing about football or what makes a player. Message boards are full of punters who spout absolute tosh 99% of the time - myself included :)
Delighted for Josh and happy to see his critics eat their words 👍
18-09-2022, 01:49 AM
Did we sign a second Josh Campbell in the transfer window? I had read even last month that the Josh Campbell we had was s***e. :wink:
18-09-2022, 02:00 AM
Did we sign a second Josh Campbell in the transfer window? I had read even last month that the Josh Campbell we had was s***e. :wink:
Thing is, he had been. He's been significantly better this season. He was not good last season.
18-09-2022, 02:31 AM
Thing is, he had been. He's been significantly better this season. He was not good last season.
Probably the difference is decent coaching this time round…
18-09-2022, 02:51 AM
Very possibly. I very much hope his form continues.
Paul1642
18-09-2022, 03:04 AM
He’s only 22 and will still improve a lot. I think one of the biggest issues Josh has faced with the fans is that we were blessed with some of our best midfields of all time in recent years and expectations were maybe a little too high as a result. We all want a new John McGinn but need to accept it’s probably not going to happen any time soon.
Josh broke into a team that weren’t doing so great and even experienced plays find the hard to play their best under those circumstances. Now we’re getting settled under a good manager we are seeing what he’s capable of. It’s great to see him doing so well and proving the doubters wrong (who I agree were probably a vocal minority who needed a target).
On a side note there’s a lot to be positive about with this whole team and I can’t wait to see the shape it takes once Nisbet is back and fully fit. We are looking pretty decent in the table considering that we have a new manger and numerous new signings who need time to settle into the league.
18-09-2022, 05:33 AM
I like Josh Campbell for the reasons you gave. I agreed that we needed better, but was never in the "he's pish, get rid" camp. It's amazing to think even recently that we had supporters who felt he should be sent out on loan to the Championship.
If you watch him closely, he is the midfielder who's geeing up his teammates, who chases down the ball for quick throw ins, who seems to be in our box one minute, then the opposition box the next, who's not slow to take the chance at shot on goal. This time last season, I'm not convinced I had even seen him play apart from the odd couple of minutes as a sub. IIRC his first start at Easter Road wasn't until end of October against Celtic.
Now he's adding goals to his game. He's becoming much more influential. He's only just turned 22 (May 6th). He's developing into a very good player. IMO he'll be a future captain of the Hibees.
Hibs07p
18-09-2022, 06:43 AM
Naw, I think we have got the original Josh Campbell. I remember seeing him for the first time v Raith in a testimonial, and I’m thinking, what a size he was for someone coming through our academy. I’ve always liked him even though he was a bit raw, hopefully he becomes a Hibs legend.
Scottish Cup Winners 2016
18-09-2022, 06:58 AM
He’s been brilliant this season, and I was one of his biggest critics last season, he’s been a million times better under Johnson than he was last season. I’m delighted for him and for Hibs.
18-09-2022, 07:26 AM
Hung out to dry by Maloney who played him as a defensive midfielder. His first few games when he broke into the midfield under Ross and got his contract extension were played in a similar advanced midfield position like he was yesterday.
Josh seems to be a late developer,a couple of loans at lower division clubs but wasn't a real standout as such. He gas great energy and engine in him is a proper box2box we've been looking for, maybe it's suddenly just clicked for him.
LustForLeith
18-09-2022, 07:49 AM
Good post.
My only disagreement is your claim about the ‘Vast Majority’. A few dozen posters banging on mercilessly in a fan messageboard don’t speak for the majority of supporters that go to games.
Wasn’t it Campbell who said playing at Easter Road made him anxious because of the crowds negative reaction towards him? If that’s the case then it was more than a couple of folk on social media having a go at him
Good to see his performances this season. So far our best player of the campaign
18-09-2022, 08:02 AM
Going by the way he took his goals yesterday it may be that we have found another Jimmy O,Rourke. Jimmy was also hard working midfield player for most of his career till Turnbull paired him with Alan Gordon and turned him into a deadly penalty box striker.
18-09-2022, 08:08 AM
Josh did well today, full of energy and two great goals. We have a manager who knows where to play him and we are reaping the benefit. He could have had a hat trick, if he had used his left foot for the chance when he was through on the keeper at an angle ( or passed to Mykola) , but overall delighted with his contribution.
DIXIHIBS
18-09-2022, 08:21 AM
Going by the way he took his goals yesterday it may be that we have found another Jimmy O,Rourke. Jimmy was also hard working midfield player for most of his career till Turnbull paired him with Alan Gordon and turned him into a deadly penalty box striker.
Agree he is like a different player compared to 6 months ago. Says a lot about him that he kept going/trying despite the sometimes awful abuse he was getting. Hopefully this should encourage certain fans to cut young players a bit slack. As for him being another jimmy o'rourke....nah.
LeithMike
18-09-2022, 08:27 AM
It was clear last season that he had attributes that the rest of our midfield didn't - mobility and energy. He clearly struggled with confidence and form was poor being put in a struggling side with no real outlets for the ball.
This season he's starting to thrive and seems to suit being a no.10 more than a no. 8 where he's not got as much onus to get on the ball in deeper positions and influence the play. I think in time he could do that role.
Its important we don't go overboard when he is good in the same way we shouldn't have when he was struggling last season.
PS - love that goal celebration on the screens. Hope to see that many times this season.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
GreenGray
18-09-2022, 08:28 AM
Hung out to dry by Maloney who played him as a defensive midfielder. His first few games when he broke into the midfield under Ross and got his contract extension were played in a similar advanced midfield position like he was yesterday.
Maloney chucked him on anywhere, and Campbell wasn’t ready for that, meaning he played poorly and looked like he wasn’t up to it.
One of the reasons Johnson was brought in was because he has a track record of developing youth, looks like it’s happening already.
18-09-2022, 08:31 AM
Seemed to be everywhere.
What a difference when we get someone making runs from midfield forward.
He got fouled badly by Scales and just got back up again. Also got the ball kicked at his lower regions and just got on with it. Definitely showed good mental toughness today.
Great game and one of his best in a Hibs shirt.
18-09-2022, 08:42 AM
Maloney chucked him on anywhere, and Campbell wasn’t ready for that, meaning he played poorly and looked like he wasn’t up to it.
One of the reasons Johnson was brought in was because he has a track record of developing youth, looks like it’s happening already.
To be fair though Campbell didn't help himself last season, poor touches, poor passing, those things are the basics regardless what position he was playing, this season it's like a different player and long may it continue
18-09-2022, 09:26 AM
Deserves every bit of praise he's getting to be honest. Think he's been class under LJ this season, probably our best player other than maybe Boyle. I was really critical of him last year but chuffed to bits that he's turned it around.
You always want to see a Hibs player do well, but it makes it that bit sweeter when the player is Hibs through and through.
18-09-2022, 09:39 AM
Deserves every bit of praise he's getting to be honest. Think he's been class under LJ this season, probably our best player other than maybe Boyle. I was really critical of him last year but chuffed to bits that he's turned it around.
You always want to see a Hibs player do well, but it makes it that bit sweeter when the player is Hibs through and through.
There’s a narrative sometimes that folk don’t want players to do well. It couldn’t be further from the truth.
Campbell is certainly doing everything he can to change opinion. He’s getting praise now because he’s influencing games and getting us points. Keep it going.
Stuarty1875
18-09-2022, 09:47 AM
Thought he was fantastic yesterday, and has been really good every time he has played this season.
Took his goals well. Well deserved MOTM :agree:
AL-Qaholik
18-09-2022, 09:51 AM
Will happily admit to being very critical of him in the past but he’s making me look rather foolish on that front now, and I couldn’t be happier about it.
Goan yersel, JC, keep proving moany gits like me wrong!
Mikey_1875
18-09-2022, 09:54 AM
Certainly changing my opinion on him with his performances this season. Getting a midfielder in amongst the goals is a great help for us. Credit to him and to LJ for giving him the confidence/coaching to do that.
With Magennis to come back and Henderson still floating around suddenly we might be looking not too bad in that position!
SideBurns
18-09-2022, 10:40 AM
He'd run through brick walls for Hibs, and makes good runs into the box - sometimes (as with his goals yesterday) beyond the striker. We've been crying out for a midfielder who can do that for years. If Magennis comes back firing we'll have two, but meantime I'm delighted for Josh.
leftpeg
19-09-2022, 07:55 PM
Reminds me so much of Pat McGinley,it took Pat a couple of seasons to find his feet after coming up the road from Blackpool,then he hit the ground running,scored all sorts of goals Pat,though it's early days for Josh,hoping he can have the same impact.
Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk
19-09-2022, 08:10 PM
One of the first names on team sheet.
19-09-2022, 08:44 PM
Think the tippy tappy passive stuff we played under maloney and Ross didnt help either. He is obviously being encouraged to get on the ball higher up the pitch , the results are evident. Im already a lot happier watching Hibs this season than past couple of years. We are creating far more goalscoring opportunities , when the team gets injured players back and the team are used to playing together, then i feel we will be an exciting team to watch. Probably concede a few , but think we will score plenty of goals.
19-09-2022, 08:49 PM
I was reading the match thread at ht on Saturday. Some Einstein said he should never be playing for Hibs - despite him having had a decent first half. You have to wonder what some folk are watching at times 🙄
19-09-2022, 09:05 PM
Happy for him, I was backing him to get a run in the team, then doubted he had what it takes, now being proved wrong.
Hope he continues to deliver.
glenberviehibee
19-09-2022, 09:25 PM
I spoke with BK in Albion Bar before Kilmarnock game regarding midfield and he says that LJ thinks he can make it work with JC ,JN and JDH and if not they will relook at in January
19-09-2022, 09:46 PM
One of the first names on team sheet.
Behind Boyle. Good insight - Johnson must do his team sheet alphabetically.
Goalscoring midfielder a must in any successful team
20-09-2022, 06:41 AM
And the position he’s being played at.
20-09-2022, 07:15 AM
Reminds me so much of Pat McGinley,it took Pat a couple of seasons to find his feet after coming up the road from Blackpool,then he hit the ground running,scored all sorts of goals Pat,though it's early days for Josh,hoping he can have the same impact.
Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk
This is what I'm thinking too. A different style of play and being encouraged to make these runs has no doubt made a difference. You need the confidence in your own ability and the knowledge that you are not getting a bollocking from the manager for making attacking runs to do it. I'd be delighted if he was anywhere near as good as Pat.
20-09-2022, 01:34 PM
Named as SPFL star man of the week
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1572206631827705862?s=20&t=Auf6vCm1VXdwWEquytjcXA
20-09-2022, 01:41 PM
well done JC, keep up the good work young man :agree:
20-09-2022, 02:59 PM
Wasn't good enough last season, but has been good so far this season in most games.
20-09-2022, 03:27 PM
There were only ever two people capable of making Josh Campbell an asset at Hibs, those were Josh himself and Lee Johnson.
If Lee Johnson has found a position which means that Josh’s game is simplified plus utilises his strengths and Josh can continue to deliver then we’re all happy.
I think LJ has delivered and found that position so it’s over to Josh to prove that he’s got the ability over a sustained period. We’ve not all of a sudden found a new “Pat McGinlay” but the signs are really encouraging.
21-09-2022, 09:24 AM
Looks like he knows how/when to get himself into great positions - looking at the highlights he was regularly the furthest man forward. That's the sort of midfielder we've been crying out for and it's great to see him making those runs/getting into those positions. Even better that his teammates are then finding him in those spaces.
21-09-2022, 10:58 AM
He might fill the Magennis position better than Magennis himself, brilliant turnaround from Josh and deserves the praise he's currently getting, keep it going young man
Stonewall
21-09-2022, 11:16 AM
No context to his disappointing form then?
Heckingbottom, Ross and Maloney obviously saw something in him and I’m delighted he’s proving his worth now. Will be interesting to see if there’s a pile on if his form shades.
21-09-2022, 12:13 PM
No context to his disappointing form then?
Heckingbottom, Ross and Maloney obviously saw something in him and I’m delighted he’s proving his worth now. Will be interesting to see if there’s a pile on if his form shades.
The only person that can control that is Josh himself. If he form shades over a period of time whilst he’s playing in his favoured position then we can’t afford to carry passengers and we will look to replace him. That’s the nature of fitba at the top end.
Fans will always comment about players performances and they honestly don’t really care for anonymous ranting posts on Hibs.net, especially those from the likes of myself in the immediate aftermath of a defeat.