View Full Version : Catering in FF upper

17-09-2022, 05:42 PM
The catering in the FF Upper was more or less nonexistant today , it was an absolute disgrace and they must have lost a lot of money , they certainly missed out on my usual tenner or so. Both kiosks open but only one with staff so huge queues and I wasnt missing large chunks of the game.

17-09-2022, 06:04 PM
The catering in the FF Upper was more or less nonexistant today , it was an absolute disgrace and they must have lost a lot of money , they certainly missed out on my usual tenner or so. Both kiosks open but only one with staff so huge queues and I wasnt missing large chunks of the game.

If the food being put out was anything like I got in the lower west you were lucky. I’ve eaten some crap food at the fitba over the years but the steak pie and chips they served up was the worst I have ever had. Inedible garbage, I binned it.

17-09-2022, 06:05 PM
The catering was almost nonexistant today 2 Kiosks open but only 3 staff(that I saw) working at tills. Queues were huge and they must have lost money. They crtainly lost my tenner or so as I was not going to miss a large part of game waiting to be served.

17-09-2022, 06:07 PM
My scotch pie was excellent in the West Lower

17-09-2022, 06:08 PM

If the food being put out was anything like I got in the lower west you were lucky. I’ve eaten some crap food at the fitba over the years but the steak pie and chips they served up was the worst I have ever had. Inedible garbage, I binned it.

Hibs lost my food custom last year after some terrible experiences and sounds like it hasn't got any better. I take a couple of Greggs sausage rolls in with me these days now, much cheaper & keeps me and the bairn happy.

17-09-2022, 06:09 PM
My scotch pie was excellent in the West Lower

I initially thought my steak pie was a scotch pie and they’d got it wrong. :greengrin
The chips looked like they had been cooked in an oven a week ago then reheated in a microwave.

17-09-2022, 06:12 PM

Sounds unlikely, I know, but the queues were even worse in the FF Lower.

I went for a coffee and gave up, so went upstairs.

LustForLeith
17-09-2022, 06:57 PM
West Lower was short staffed which can’t always be helped. The steak pie was the first I’d had in the nee catering regime and it tasted as hot as a piece of lava which I didn’t think would be happening again.

But if that’s all I’ve got to moan about today…

17-09-2022, 07:28 PM
The east stand wasn't good either, my mum ordered a chips and a coke zero;

"No chips."

"Ok crisps please."

"No crisps."

"Ok do you have a pie?"

"Yes."

"Ok scotch pie please."

*Gets a pie and stands and waits for coke zero that was initially ordered.*

"Can I help you?"

"Yes I'm waiting on my coke zero."

"You didn't order a drink."

"I did I ordered it when I initially asked for chips."

"No you didn't ask for a drink."

"Yes I did can I have a coke zero please?"

Really needing to improve on the customer service skills. Rule number 1 when you go into a job working with the public is don't become argumentative.

scottish_sleepy
17-09-2022, 08:37 PM
It was just as bad in the FF lower. Stood in a queue during the entire half time and moved about three feet before giving up. It's the time it takes to pour peoples juice from bottles into cups that seems to take forever. Would it be too hard to have some of each ready.

17-09-2022, 08:46 PM
Pioneers suit was fantastic. Normally in the Albion Bar but, thanks to HSL, was in the Pioneer today and was fabulous. Catering in all the new facilities is outstanding. As is the company and football knowledge. I recommend being part of the HSL dream and entering every second week for the Pioneer experience if you can. Win win for the club as well as for us as members.

17-09-2022, 08:51 PM
Pioneers suit was fantastic. Normally in the Albion Bar but, thanks to HSL, was in the Pioneer today and was fabulous. Catering in all the new facilities is outstanding. As is the company and football knowledge. I recommend being part of the HSL dream and entertaining every second week for the Pioneer experience if you can. Win win for the club as well as for us as members.

Thats great fella and its good the club is trying to maximise its corporate potential but in the meanwhile the proletariat will put up with no one to serve us and pies that have been in the warmer for a couple of hours.
Throwing money away not providing decent catering for the majority

17-09-2022, 09:26 PM
Exactly the same in the west upper, south end. two kiosks open but only two staff for 4 tills, I actually turned up early for a change but the queue was massive and moving at a snails pace, after standing for a couple of minutes I decided to give it a miss and went to my seat for the kick off.

With folk all around the stadium reporting the same issues it's clear there's a real problem here. As I understand it Hibs have sold the catering rights for a pile of cash, which I presume means any profit on the day goes to the caterers and not the club. But that doesn't exempt the club from a responsibility to make sure the service provided by these caterers is up to scratch, which it clearly isn't.

Not good enough.

WestCoastHibby
18-09-2022, 07:07 AM
I’ve not bothered with stadium’s catering in a very long time. These wee boys and girls obviously need some backup

18-09-2022, 07:22 AM
The catering issues do seem like a weekly moan.

Would be good if the club / KP was able to give an update - as surely it affects the fan experience especially missing parts of the game.

I saw the Q in west upper and wasn’t moving at all - no idea what is going on but surely even divide up the options to try get hot drinks served quicker. If it’s staff issue then you wonder how many kiosks around stadium are short staffed ?!

Also why don’t they open the gates next to the ticket office - creating crush points with fans going around past north west exit.

18-09-2022, 07:40 AM
The East was pathetic. It is not possible to go down on the referees whistle and come out before the start of the second half.
I tried standing for 5 minutes and could barely see any staff and the queue just was not moving. Surely something can be done to get the conveyor belt moving it's pretty simple stuff.

18-09-2022, 07:57 AM
I’m astonished at the amount of food some people consume at the fitba.

You see people coming up the stairs with arms crammed with food, sometimes tripping, spilling chips everywhere.

Dinner time in the house is between 5-6, what the heck are yous playing at?

andyf5
18-09-2022, 11:34 AM
The east was atrocious, very few staff and 35 minute wait.Got to front of queue to be told only vegan pies left. Will make sure I eat before going next time.

BlackSheep
18-09-2022, 11:35 AM
East catering queues were just as bad…. Only a couple of servers at each kiosk, drinks taking up too much time, I even missed the Aberdeen goal!

We started queuing at 250!

Bridge hibs
18-09-2022, 12:04 PM

You see people coming up the stairs with arms crammed with food, sometimes tripping, spilling chips everywhere.

Dinner time in the house is between 5-6, what the heck are yous playing at?Ive tripped hundreds of times whilst carrying food, never have I dropped as much as a chip, put it this way, if it was a choice between dropping a chip or dropping my wallet, the wallet can beat it 🤣

18-09-2022, 12:18 PM
Hibs lost my food custom last year after some terrible experiences and sounds like it hasn't got any better. I take a couple of Greggs sausage rolls in with me these days now, much cheaper & keeps me and the bairn happy.

Sense at last 🙄

MartinfaePorty
18-09-2022, 12:30 PM
Bought a steak pie before the game (East Stand). Took a while to get served, but wasn't too bothered, as kick-off was obviously delayed. Usually pies are decent, but this was very stodgy and not much gravy. Brother agreed that his was the same. First time I'd bought food for a while and didn't make me want to repeat the exercise anytime soon.

Mate in West said he got his for free as their card reader wasn't working!

18-09-2022, 12:34 PM

Dinner time in the house is between 5-6, what the heck are yous playing at?

People eat at different times. I usually have a meal at 08.00, 11.00, 15.00 and 19.00 so I normally get food at the game

BoyledEgg
18-09-2022, 01:16 PM
Exactly the same in the west upper, south end. two kiosks open but only two staff for 4 tills, I actually turned up early for a change but the queue was massive and moving at a snails pace, after standing for a couple of minutes I decided to give it a miss and went to my seat for the kick off.

With folk all around the stadium reporting the same issues it's clear there's a real problem here. As I understand it Hibs have sold the catering rights for a pile of cash, which I presume means any profit on the day goes to the caterers and not the club. But that doesn't exempt the club from a responsibility to make sure the service provided by these caterers is up to scratch, which it clearly isn't.

Not good enough.

Hibs didn’t sell it for a pile of cash. The catering company and Hibs split the profits on match days, and Hibs get a much larger percentage of this than what the catering company do.

18-09-2022, 02:01 PM
Thats great fella and its good the club is trying to maximise its corporate potential but in the meanwhile the proletariat will put up with no one to serve us and pies that have been in the warmer for a couple of hours.
Throwing money away not providing decent catering for the majority

Don’t get me wrong, I can’t afford that stuff either. I won the privilege of being in the Pioneer Lounge through HSL. Every member paying in monthly can enter and it’s a fabulous way to spend a day. Great meal and drinks included for me and a guest. Ten people in total and open to every active member of HSL.
Sadly, once you’ve won it then you can’t win again so that’s me had my shot. Good luck to you and others when it comes to the draw for the remaining games of the season.

18-09-2022, 02:04 PM
Hibs didn’t sell it for a pile of cash. The catering company and Hibs split the profits on match days, and Hibs get a much larger percentage of this than what the catering company do.

Not the perception I got when the deal was mentioned on here mate, but I'm happy to be corrected.

However, if that is the case then Hibs have far more of a responsibility, not to mention a vested interest, in getting this right. They missed out on a share of £7 or so from me yesterday and by the sound of things from a good few others as well.

If the case is that they don't have enough staff recruited to man the kiosks properly on matchdays then they, be that the caterers or the club, clearly aren't paying enough to make it worth folks while taking the jobs. In the end it doesn't matter what the cause is, the service is sub standard and needs to be improved.

18-09-2022, 02:15 PM
Bought a steak pie before the game (East Stand). Took a while to get served, but wasn't too bothered, as kick-off was obviously delayed. Usually pies are decent, but this was very stodgy and not much gravy. Brother agreed that his was the same. First time I'd bought food for a while and didn't make me want to repeat the exercise anytime soon.

Mate in West said he got his for free as their card reader wasn't working!

Talking of which, for the 3rd time this season my season ticket was declined at the turnstile ... we've only had 4 home games FFS ..... I don't know what the problem is but it's something else they really need to get a grip on.

18-09-2022, 02:17 PM
Talking of which, for the 3rd time this season my season ticket was declined at the turnstile ... we've only had 4 home games FFS ..... I don't know what the problem is but it's something else they really need to get a grip on.

Yip mine too , It's becoming an absolute pain in the erse every other week now

18-09-2022, 02:58 PM
The statement from Hibs said we get an 8 figure sum over 9 years. No idea the detail of this deal

18-09-2022, 04:53 PM
It was just as bad in the FF lower. Stood in a queue during the entire half time and moved about three feet before giving up. It's the time it takes to pour peoples juice from bottles into cups that seems to take forever. Would it be too hard to have some of each ready.

I was in there. Decent before game but we looked at HT and the queue looked a nightmare.

I actually think it's improved in terms if the food just no way anyone should wait so long.

18-09-2022, 05:42 PM
And I keep being told digital is the future 😅

Fuzzywuzzy
19-09-2022, 12:17 PM
I went to the £2 pizza slice place. Great slice and cheap!!

19-09-2022, 12:32 PM
Did anyone notice the Lucozade they sell in the stadium, they just hand it out in the bottles, rather than decant it into a cup
Didn’t think that was allowed

19-09-2022, 12:40 PM
I was in there. Decent before game but we looked at HT and the queue looked a nightmare.

I actually think it's improved in terms if the food just no way anyone should wait so long.

The speed (or lack of) is just down to the folk serving at times.

I was in the ground really early as was with the wee man. From placing an order it took the best part of 10 minutes to get the food. I only wanted a couple of pies, a hotdog and a juice. The girl couldn’t find hotdog on the till, then had to cancel it all off and start again as she hadn’t applied the season ticket discount. Then she couldn’t find the lids for the juice. Felt a bit sorry for her as she was clearly a bit flustered but this was just after two when there was hardly any queue and she apologised saying that they were just really busy!

CL0762
19-09-2022, 12:43 PM

Lucky you actually getting a physical season ticket.

Still waiting on 2/3.

19-09-2022, 12:43 PM
Did anyone notice the Lucozade they sell in the stadium, they just hand it out in the bottles, rather than decant it into a cup
Didn’t think that was allowed

Pretty sure it's a criminal offence, or at least it used to be until very recently.