View Full Version : Rangers tribute to the late Queen today
17-09-2022, 09:47 AM
Rangers, unsurprisingly are ramping things up today with commemorative programmes and the playing of National Anthem. While that in itself is all perfectly permissible in the current period between the Queens passing and imminent funeral, the question needs to be asked as to how many Rangers fans are genuinely deep rooted advocates of the Royal Family?
They give you the impression of being so, but ultimately, the majority of them are only advocates as an extension of supporting the club they choose to do.
I found myself questioning this after seeing social media posts from Rangers fans I know over the last week, and coming to the conclusion that they are only really doing this because they are Rangers fans. The Royal family will not enter their thinking any other time during the week other than when they are at Ibrox and singing GSTQ.
The same goes for support of the Loyalist cause in NI. Most have no connection whatsoever to Northern Ireland, or even the West of Scotland, but staunchly align with those politics simply as a by product of supporting Rangers. The less said about also being defenders of the Protestant faith despite never practising any religious faith the better.
Rangers know this of course, and will be one of the few clubs who could confidently issue a programme cover like this (certainly in Scotland) and plan their pre match tributes safe in the knowledge that it will be endorsed 100% from their fanbase present.
Hibs, along with every other club have a broad supporter base from all religions, social backgrounds and political opinion, but those are largely left behind at the turnstiles when you enter Easter Road to watch Hibs with your fellow fans where the common bond is our club that we all hold dear.
This is where tributes that the club will be obliged to conduct become a challenge with a diverse support, and I really do hope that any dissent will be by way of simply not standing or joining in with the minutes applause.
At Ibrox, when the capacity crowd stands silent then booms out the National Anthem, it’s actually going to be more about Rangers than the late Queen.
“ Saturday's matchday programme pays tribute to Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II.
Supporters are encouraged to arrive early to the stadium as Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II will be honoured with a minute’s silence and a rendition of the National Anthem.
https://i.postimg.cc/wvT6Ljv5/FF45627-D-E966-43-FF-8-F36-89-B11-A38-DC49.jpg (https://postimages.org/)
OldEast
17-09-2022, 09:53 AM
Rangers, unsurprisingly are ramping things up today with commemorative programmes and the playing of National Anthem. While that in itself is all perfectly permissible in the current period between the Queens passing and imminent funeral, the question needs to be asked as to how many Rangers fans are genuinely deep rooted advocates of the Royal Family?
They give you the impression of being so, but ultimately, the majority of them are only advocates as an extension of supporting the club they choose to do.
I found myself questioning this after seeing social media posts from Rangers fans I know over the last week, and coming to the conclusion that they are only really doing this because they are Rangers fans. The Royal family will not enter their thinking any other time during the week other than when they are at Ibrox and singing GSTQ.
The same goes for support of the Loyalist cause in NI. Most have no connection whatsoever to Northern Ireland, or even the West of Scotland, but staunchly align with those politics simply as a by product of supporting Rangers. The less said about also being defenders of the Protestant faith despite never practising any religious faith the better.
Rangers know this of course, and will be one of the few clubs who could confidently issue a programme cover like this (certainly in Scotland) and plan their pre match tributes safe in the knowledge that it will be endorsed 100% from their fanbase present.
Hibs, along with every other club have a broad supporter base from all religions, social backgrounds and political opinion, but those are largely left behind at the turnstiles when you enter Easter Road to watch Hibs with your fellow fans where the common bond is our club that we all hold dear.
This is where tributes that the club will be obliged to conduct become a challenge with a diverse support, and I really do hope that any dissent will be by way of simply not standing or joining in with the minutes applause.
At Ibrox, when the capacity crowd stands silent then booms out the National Anthem, it’s actually going to be more about Rangers than the late Queen.
“ Saturday's matchday programme pays tribute to Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II.
Supporters are encouraged to arrive early to the stadium as Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II will be honoured with a minute’s silence and a rendition of the National Anthem.
https://i.postimg.cc/wvT6Ljv5/FF45627-D-E966-43-FF-8-F36-89-B11-A38-DC49.jpg (https://postimages.org/)
Very true. Similar can be said about the green cheek's support for Palestine. How many could point to on a map or even heard of Palestine before it became a thing at the fitba.
17-09-2022, 09:58 AM
So will this not confuse the hoards?
God save the Queen/King ?
hello, hello’s the only song we know
hello, hello
in rain or hail or snow
we have the words all written down
so we don’t get confused
in the editions of the Rangers News :)
17-09-2022, 10:09 AM
I was looking at footage of the queen lying in state. Everything normal and dignified as you might expect. Lo and behold down the queue comes two Huns with Hun scarves bulging round their necks. :rolleyes:
17-09-2022, 10:10 AM
I agree and suspect there would have been a Yes vote for Independence if politics were not determined at birth by the first scarf you put on. As for our tribute today I hope it is limited to just a silence. I'm pondering either sitting or going to teh concourse and it is perhaps something those of use that will not take part should all act in unison. I think sitting rather than leaving may actually be the best option as it would give a good indication of support. I don't personally want to hear vocal protests but it really isn't a big deal if it happens. That isn't out of respect for the Queen or Royal Family but to my fellow supporter who should be allowed to do their thing without other supporters impacting.
17-09-2022, 10:15 AM
[QUOTE=OldEast;7102998]Very true. Similar can be said about the green cheek's support for Palestine. How many could point to on a map or even heard of Palestine before it became a thing at the fitba.[/QUOTE
This will be the second time in a week that Sevco officially have had mourning and tributes to the monarchy.
When have Celtic FC, officially or otherwise,had events on matchdays supporting the Palestinian cause?
Lendo
17-09-2022, 10:22 AM
Didn’t love Her Majesty enough to pay her Revenue & Customs though did they?
17-09-2022, 10:28 AM
The thing that it’s always worth remembering about Rangers fans is the sheer number of them.
They’ll have a noisy, staunch element to them who will be behind all the displays, commemorations etc. there will be a decent chunk who are quietly half-interested and at least prepared to take part. There will probably be a vast majority (again, a significant number) who aren’t really all that arsed but who will keep quiet or just go along with proceedings.
They’ll probably have a fairly bonkers in context but not insignificant in number minority who really can’t be bothered with the whole charade. They’ll know better than to make any sort of protest about it at a Rangers game though.
Rather than being Uber-staunch and great believers in it all, most huns I know at least appreciate the wind up factor.
OldEast
17-09-2022, 10:32 AM
[QUOTE=OldEast;7102998]Very true. Similar can be said about the green cheek's support for Palestine. How many could point to on a map or even heard of Palestine before it became a thing at the fitba.[/QUOTE
This will be the second time in a week that Sevco officially have had mourning and tributes to the monarchy.
When have Celtic FC, officially or otherwise,had events on matchdays supporting the Palestinian cause?
Mick, my point was about the support for a cause just because of the team they support. Nothing to do with "events"
17-09-2022, 10:33 AM
The thing that it’s always worth remembering about Rangers fans is the sheer number of them.
They’ll have a noisy, staunch element to them who will be behind all the displays, commemorations etc. there will be a decent chunk who are quietly half-interested and at least prepared to take part. There will probably be a vast majority (again, a significant number) who aren’t really all that arsed but who will keep quiet or just go along with proceedings.
They’ll probably have a fairly bonkers in context but not insignificant in number minority who really can’t be bothered with the whole charade. They’ll know better than to make any sort of protest about it at a Rangers game though.
Rather than being Uber-staunch and great believers in it all, most huns I know at least appreciate the wind up factor of it all.
To the vast majority it's an integral part of the club's identity, and done instinctively.
17-09-2022, 11:03 AM
I agree and suspect there would have been a Yes vote for Independence if politics were not determined at birth by the first scarf you put on. As for our tribute today I hope it is limited to just a silence. I'm pondering either sitting or going to teh concourse and it is perhaps something those of use that will not take part should all act in unison. I think sitting rather than leaving may actually be the best option as it would give a good indication of support. I don't personally want to hear vocal protests but it really isn't a big deal if it happens. That isn't out of respect for the Queen or Royal Family but to my fellow supporter who should be allowed to do their thing without other supporters impacting.
I thought it was a minute's applause?
snedzuk
17-09-2022, 11:03 AM
It's a minutes applause.
17-09-2022, 11:13 AM
Them and Celtic are a pair of self righteous ********.
Whenever the pope passes it’ll be roles reversed.
They all sing the songs, participate in the displays, fly the flags and so on. There are a hell of a lot of them who have no idea what any of it actually means though.
17-09-2022, 11:32 AM
To the vast majority it's an integral part of the club's identity, and done instinctively.
Show a Rangers fan a picture of the Queen, the first thing he will think about is Rangers.
17-09-2022, 11:47 AM
There must be as many monarchy threads on here as there are on Follow Follow.
I can't wait till this crap is all over, hopefully soon.
17-09-2022, 11:49 AM
When King Charles passes, they will have their own King Billy incarnate. It would be a kick in the teeth but very funny, if Prince William adopted another name when he ascends to the throne, which he is entitled to do, apparently.
17-09-2022, 11:54 AM
Show a Rangers fan a picture of the Queen, the first thing he will think about is Rangers.
If you showed me a picture of Queenie, the first thing I would think of is Rangers (rip) too.
17-09-2022, 11:55 AM
Don't care what the bigot brothers do they are of no relevance to me.
17-09-2022, 12:03 PM
They’re a ****ing weird bunch. This just illustrates how weird but also how far removed from actually trying to distance themselves from the bigotry they really are.
The display and singing the national anthem through the week should have been enough yet for some mental reason they’re at it again today.
Weirdos.
LunasBoots
17-09-2022, 12:06 PM
Even in the week the singing of the anthem was very muted, many didn't join in with it like most football stadiums up and down the country, a bit weird to fo it again.
17-09-2022, 12:11 PM
Saw on social media that Utd fans are planning on being respectful during minutes silence then singing flower of Scotland for the national anthem, which seems to me to be about right
hibby rae
17-09-2022, 12:16 PM
It's a minutes applause.
Did Hibs announce that on social media?
I've not seen anything
17-09-2022, 12:34 PM
I've not seen anything Likewise. Can't see anything obvious on club site or twitter
The Tubs
17-09-2022, 12:37 PM
Didn’t love Her Majesty enough to pay her Revenue & Customs though did they?
To be fair, neither did she.
hibby rae
17-09-2022, 12:43 PM
Likewise. Can't see anything obvious on club site or twitter
Nothing on instagram either 🤔
snedzuk
17-09-2022, 12:43 PM
I've not seen anything
It's the last para on the match preview.
snedzuk
17-09-2022, 12:46 PM
"SUPPORTER INFORMATION
In keeping with the period of National Mourning, we will hold a minute’s applause for Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II ahead of our game against Aberdeen on Saturday. Alongside this, our players will also wear black armbands."
17-09-2022, 01:13 PM
The UK national anthem
Oh the Grand Old Duke of York
He had 12 million quid
He gave it to someone he never met
For something he never did
Torto7
17-09-2022, 01:23 PM
It's about hating catholics and the Queen is seen as the head of the funny handshaking cult. None of them have a brain cell outwith hating all things kafflik. I wouldn't waste your breath trying to analyse them it's not that complicated. Under the right circumstances they would be like the Russians in Ukraine if they could get away with it. Bloodthirsty neanderthals from a bygone era. Pitbulls bred to protect the state by the imperial whip. Good little poodles they are. All concentration and attention of decent folk should be on the rising hate crimes and huge uptick in orange walks in Scotland post 2014. Someone is paying to bus over large obese Ulsterman and it isn't them funding it(probably dark Brexit type funding). Scotland even has a Labour party now that allows Orangemen to stand and has a relationship with the Tories.
Torto7
17-09-2022, 01:25 PM
"SUPPORTER INFORMATION
In keeping with the period of National Mourning, we will hold a minute’s applause for Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II ahead of our game against Aberdeen on Saturday. Alongside this, our players will also wear black armbands."
Followed by build my gallows as a tribute to her maj.
Torto7
17-09-2022, 01:28 PM
Even in the week the singing of the anthem was very muted, many didn't join in with it like most football stadiums up and down the country, a bit weird to fo it again.
Most of my hun mates are normal Scottish guys, plenty vote for the SNP and indy. Those guys get drowned out by the loony brigade from Ulster and the hardcore Scottish bigots who have taken control of the newco.
hibby rae
17-09-2022, 01:32 PM
Cool.
A minute's arm folding it is from me then 😂
17-09-2022, 01:47 PM
Most of my hun mates are normal Scottish guys, plenty vote for the SNP and indy. Those guys get drowned out by the loony brigade from Ulster and the hardcore Scottish bigots who have taken control of the newco.
Bet they are 90 minutes bigots though. I have been going to football for 55 years and nothing has changed so it is not a new phenomenon.
17-09-2022, 05:05 PM
To be fair, neither did she.
To be fair, she wasn't a Jambo so couldn't pay it to herself.
Musselbound
17-09-2022, 05:48 PM
[QUOTE=Mick O'Rourke;7103015]
Mick, my point was about the support for a cause just because of the team they support. Nothing to do with "events"
Fair point but I think it is worth pointing out that Celtic as a club are not staging and coordinating these views and events like they are at Ibrox right now.
Scotty Leither
17-09-2022, 05:53 PM
It's about hating catholics and the Queen is seen as the head of the funny handshaking cult. None of them have a brain cell outwith hating all things kafflik. I wouldn't waste your breath trying to analyse them it's not that complicated. Under the right circumstances they would be like the Russians in Ukraine if they could get away with it. Bloodthirsty neanderthals from a bygone era. Pitbulls bred to protect the state by the imperial whip. Good little poodles they are. All concentration and attention of decent folk should be on the rising hate crimes and huge uptick in orange walks in Scotland post 2014. Someone is paying to bus over large obese Ulsterman and it isn't them funding it(probably dark Brexit type funding). Scotland even has a Labour party now that allows Orangemen to stand and has a relationship with the Tories.
Bang on the money mate. If there’s any more marches planned I think I’ll buy shares in crimplene.
17-09-2022, 05:53 PM
Bet they are 90 minutes bigots though. I have been going to football for 55 years and nothing has changed so it is not a new phenomenon.
Aye Thats when they can be vocal about their bigotry,but a bigot is a bigot 24/7.
When i was a laddie,many parents would not take kids to a game involving them at ER.
In the 60s and 70s they were more violent towards us than now.
There would be battles inside and outside the ground.
Missile/bottle throwing was common as was fighting wae the polis
When the ground emptied back then,the terrace would be littered with beer and wine bottles.
Thinking back it seems unreal .
Massive carry oots into the ground and many fans already half drunk.
I remember as a schoolboy me and a pal who lived near the Maybury roundabout counting the coaches there, streaming back westward.We lost count.
What stuck out though was the flute playing and noise coming from many of the buses.Never forgot that.
A high percentage of them now will be in or supportive of the Orange Order.
They would have been instrumental in promoting the 55 nonsense,suggesting their club didnt die.
But it did. They need a platform and rangers/Ibrox is that,as is the whole staunch ulster/royalist stuff.
Our football administrators are terrified of them
As the chant goes "No one likes us,we dont care"
They dont,and in my lifetime,they never have.
17-09-2022, 06:19 PM
Liam Fox asked for a comment on the disruption today at Ibrox. Funny I can't remember Gio being asked to comment on sectarian singing.
17-09-2022, 06:34 PM
I had BBC radio Scotland on the earphones today, hoping to listen to open all mics for updates and some analysis on our game today.
No open all mics,only full commentary from Ibrox.
This is the first weekend that I can recall whilst having a full card of fixtures that this has happened.
BBC impartiality my arse.
17-09-2022, 06:35 PM
There's no genuine love or loyalty for an old multimillionaire aristocratic woman who wouldn't urinate on them if they were blazing. In fact, she probably detests them more than any other section of the citizenry, as ripping of the taxpayer is her territory. This servility is just part of the moronic, bigot's virtue-signaling furniture they've acquired to delineate themselves from the mainstream of humanity.
Dr What If?
17-09-2022, 07:05 PM
I agree and suspect there would have been a Yes vote for Independence if politics were not determined at birth by the first scarf you put on.
I was very active during that campaign and while I was in Dalkeith and not Glasgow, I found that view (which I had) challenged. One guy came up to our wee stall decked in his Rangers top complimented by matching tattoos. He looked every bit the Hun ned, and he was....the chat we had though surprised me. He told me his age (late 20s), never had a job and been in plenty of trouble.....he then said that it was a disgrace, society shouldn't just give up on people like him, shouldn't abandon him and then criticise him when he turns out the way he did.....he was voting yes because he wanted change.
That very same day I chatted to a middle aged bloke dressed in the colours of the other ar*e cheek.....he was voting no because he was worried about his benefits.
That campaign was a real eye opener.
LunasBoots
17-09-2022, 07:09 PM
Currant buns calling for respect and taking over D'UTDs social media comments Is pretty funny from a club of hatred and no respect.
Torto7
17-09-2022, 07:15 PM
I was very active during that campaign and while I was in Dalkeith and not Glasgow, I found that view (which I had) challenged. One guy came up to our wee stall decked in his Rangers top complimented by matching tattoos. He looked every bit the Hun ned, and he was....the chat we had though surprised me. He told me his age (late 20s), never had a job and been in plenty of trouble.....he then said that it was a disgrace, society shouldn't just give up on people like him, shouldn't abandon him and then criticise him when he turns out the way he did.....he was voting yes because he wanted change.
That very same day I chatted to a middle aged bloke dressed in the colours of the other ar*e cheek.....he was voting no because he was worried about his benefits.
That campaign was a real eye opener.
:agree: Plenty of Tory Celtic and Hibs fans.
17-09-2022, 07:20 PM
Name them !!
17-09-2022, 08:24 PM
Well done the supporters of Dundee Hibernians.
17-09-2022, 08:27 PM
Name them !!
Rod Stewart.
17-09-2022, 08:36 PM
Well done the supporters of Dundee Hibernians.
Not for me. Though I'm certainly not a monarchist, singing about the queen's death during a minute's silence or applause isn't necessary. I don't see what it achieves. She wasn't a terrible person and didn't choose her role.
17-09-2022, 08:40 PM
Name them !!
Brian Monteith.
17-09-2022, 08:41 PM
Its not much of a protest is it? They managed to take a couple of coach loads and you can virtually hear their individual voices.
Whatever floats your boat. at this point I will my register my aborance of Rangers and their "fans"
17-09-2022, 08:52 PM
Earlier today I heard the recent 'outpourings of grief' by the rangers fans (and plenty others as well by the way) described as "performance mourning".
A perfect description I thought
17-09-2022, 09:00 PM
Earlier today I heard the recent 'outpourings of grief' by the rangers fans (and plenty others as well by the way) described as "performance mourning".
There has definitely been some of that, partly for the cameras and partly because some people are playing the role they think is expected of them, IMO
17-09-2022, 09:00 PM
Not for me. Though I'm certainly not a monarchist, singing about the queen's death during a minute's silence or applause isn't necessary. I don't see what it achieves. She wasn't a terrible person and didn't choose her role.
:agree: Likewise not a royalist but the behaviour from Dundee Utd's fans today was really poor in my opinion.
I also think Dundee Utd's statement wasn't the best.
I was also disappointed with a section of our support today. No problem with anyone refusing to take part in an applause or staying in the concourse for a silence but I do have a problem when it starts to impinge on other people's right to hold a mark of respect.
Liam978
17-09-2022, 09:08 PM
As far as i can see yours is the only sensible post on this thread. We are talking about the most famous woman in tghe world here. Some form of respect is far more important than trying to score points regarding which side of the bigot brothers you favour. you could not split a fag paper between either.
17-09-2022, 09:09 PM
I had BBC radio Scotland on the earphones today, hoping to listen to open all mics for updates and some analysis on our game today.
No open all mics,only full commentary from Ibrox.
This is the first weekend that I can recall whilst having a full card of fixtures that this has happened.
BBC impartiality my arse.
today was the first i've not had sportsound on in the background for many years, the radio was OFF from 2:55pm and not been back on yet
17-09-2022, 09:18 PM
:agree: Likewise not a royalist but the behaviour from Dundee Utd's fans today was really poor in my opinion.
I also think Dundee Utd's statement wasn't the best.
I was also disappointed with a section of our support today. No problem with anyone refusing to take part in an applause or staying in the concourse for a silence but I do have a problem when it starts to impinge on other people's right to hold a mark of respect.
Don't have an issue with their statement. They probably recognise the huge hypocrisy of being asked to explain the behaviour of their fans when the club doing the accusing are never questioned about their fans systematic appalling behaviour.
Buck Mulligan
17-09-2022, 09:19 PM
Very true. Similar can be said about the green cheek's support for Palestine. How many could point to on a map or even heard of Palestine before it became a thing at the fitba. Please, not the old equavalence bull****. What has this got to do with Celtic, and some of their fans admirable support for palestine, that is opressed and brutalised by a settler colonial regime.
Buck Mulligan
17-09-2022, 09:26 PM
Them and Celtic are a pair of self righteous ********.
Whenever the pope passes it’ll be roles reversed.
They all sing the songs, participate in the displays, fly the flags and so on. There are a hell of a lot of them who have no idea what any of it actually means though.
So you think Celtic will arrange some mawkish display and play an anthem when the pope dies. What flag will they mock-up and what anthem will they play?
17-09-2022, 09:31 PM
So you think Celtic will arrange some mawkish display and play an anthem when the pope dies. What flag will they mock-up and what anthem will they play?
You seem to be applying the same "equivalence bs" youve just complained about.
17-09-2022, 09:31 PM
**** Celtic.
Scotty Leither
17-09-2022, 09:33 PM
Don't have an issue with their statement. They probably recognise the huge hypocrisy of being asked to explain the behaviour of their fans when the club doing the accusing are never questioned about their fans systematic appalling behaviour.
Correct. I wouldn’t attempt to justify one solitary word if I were Dundee United’s hierarchy.
It’s maybe a hackneyed thing to say, but the only way to confront a bully is to stand up to them, and is this country that means someone putting their head above the parapet and calling out Rangers and their holier-than-thou mates at Parkhead.
Double standards from a compliant media when it comes to any critical analysis of the Ugly Sisters.
17-09-2022, 09:38 PM
Rangers have somehow managed to turn the death of the queen into something that uniquely affects their club and its followers like no other. Exactly the same as they have done with remembrance day , they put on the big show like its their own event. Ay the end of the day none of it has anything to do with their club , nothing to do with football , yet they use it to somehow create a fake uniqueness and for nothing other than to appease the morons who lap it all up. Hearts have tried similar with the poppy day hijacking. It’s embarrassing and as i said earlier all about making a few quid:
DIXIHIBS
17-09-2022, 09:39 PM
Aye Thats when they can be vocal about their bigotry,but a bigot is a bigot 24/7.
When i was a laddie,many parents would not take kids to a game involving them at ER.
In the 60s and 70s they were more violent towards us than now.
There would be battles inside and outside the ground.
Missile/bottle throwing was common as was fighting wae the polis
When the ground emptied back then,the terrace would be littered with beer and wine bottles.
Thinking back it seems unreal .
Massive carry oots into the ground and many fans already half drunk.
I remember as a schoolboy me and a pal who lived near the Maybury roundabout counting the coaches there, streaming back westward.We lost count.
What stuck out though was the flute playing and noise coming from many of the buses.Never forgot that.
A high percentage of them now will be in or supportive of the Orange Order.
They would have been instrumental in promoting the 55 nonsense,suggesting their club didnt die.
But it did. They need a platform and rangers/Ibrox is that,as is the whole staunch ulster/royalist stuff.
Our football administrators are terrified of them
As the chant goes "No one likes us,we dont care"
They dont,and in my lifetime,they never have.
Your probably a bit older than myself mick but i remember well the huns of the early 70s at ER. It was the only game i wasnt allowed to go to as a kid. Hertz/celtic with 30/40 000 crowds no problem, but not rangers. Younger fans just dont realise how many of them came through. They took over the stadium. Hibs fans could be crammed into the cow shed and north stand while that lot took over the rest of the ground. Shops closed and locals around ER stayed in their houses. It was brutal.
yonder1875
17-09-2022, 09:39 PM
Subservient weirdos.
17-09-2022, 09:47 PM
Yep I get the hypocrisy, Rangers fans aren't really in any position to criticise anyone else but I do think this was bigger than just Rangers asking for respect to be shown, it was a directive from the SPFL in light of the fact that the country is in a period of national mourning just now.
I personally don't think the disturbance is a great look for their club and the statement should have probably reflected that.
I also thought we might have had a statement from Hibs tonight but seems like the applause has helped us out a bit.
Scotty Leither
17-09-2022, 09:49 PM
Yup. There’s another couple of names for it, “recreational grieving” and “ostentatious caring”.
**** Rangers and all that they “stand for” (or pretend to do).
Buck Mulligan
17-09-2022, 09:49 PM
You seem to be applying the same "equivalence bs" youve just complained about.
Eh, no.
17-09-2022, 09:51 PM
Rangers have somehow managed to turn the death of the queen into something that uniquely affects their club and its followers like no other. Exactly the same as they have done with remembrance day , they put on the big show like its their own event. Ay the end of the day none of it has anything to do with their club , nothing to do with football , yet they use it to somehow create a fake uniqueness and for nothing other than to appease the morons who lap it all up. Hearts have tried similar with the poppy day hijacking. It’s embarrassing and as i said earlier all about making a few quid:
17-09-2022, 09:52 PM
It is incredibly vulgar and unseemly. Exaggerated demonstrations of being staunch and uber-British. 'We are the People', as they would call it.
17-09-2022, 09:54 PM
Great post and agree entirely. Just because Souness bizarrely got a picture of the queen put up in the home dressing room doesn’t make them any closer to the queen or make the royal family give a flying **** about them. It’s purely the fact that they get themselves so worked up about it that Utd fans acted the way they did and I’d imagine an element of pretty much every other premier league club would have done the same. It’s not right but the Huns brought it on themselves.
17-09-2022, 10:04 PM
Your probably a bit older than myself mick but i remember well the huns of the early 70s at ER. It was the only game i wasnt allowed to go to as a kid. Hertz/celtic with 30/40 000 crowds no problem, but not rangers. Younger fans just dont realise how many of them came through. They took over the stadium. Hibs fans could be crammed into the cow shed and north stand while that lot took over the rest of the ground. Shops closed and locals around ER stayed in their houses. It was brutal.
Remember being kicked and spat upon by adult Rangers fans I was 10 years old. Rangers fans are using the Queens death a to seek attention to their club. They have a high and mighty attitude calling themselves the establishment club. Their fans sing week in week out celebrating the deaths of catholics, being proud to be billy boys who would beat up
People of a different religion and sing songs in praise of the UVF. Their fans singing at Easter Road to Neil Lennon we thought you were dead we hoped you were dead, was Neil Lennon fair game. That club and supporters need to put their own house in order before they make comments about other clubs.
Liam978
17-09-2022, 10:33 PM
Remember being kicked and spat upon by adult Rangers fans I was 10 years old. Rangers fans are using the Queens death a to seek attention to their club. They have a high and mighty attitude calling themselves the establishment club. Their fans sing week in week out celebrating the deaths of catholics, being proud to be billy boys who would beat up
People of a different religion and sing songs in praise of the UVF. Their fans singing at Easter Road to Neil Lennon we thought you were dead we hoped you were dead, was Neil Lennon fair game. That club and supporters need to put their own house in order before they make comments about other clubs.
As i have already stated on this thread, you cant separate the bigot brothers. it looks like this thread is trying to justify the the half that wear less green than us. They are equally abhorrent.
17-09-2022, 10:46 PM
As i have already stated on this thread, you cant separate the bigot brothers. it looks like this thread is trying to justify the the half that wear less green than us. They are equally abhorrent.
I wouldn't go that far, but I get it. I think The Rangers are far worse than all other Scottish supports, in my experience, certainly including Hearts, too. Unsurpassed bigotry and hatred, to mis-quote McLeish. :greengrin
17-09-2022, 10:49 PM
Yep I get the hypocrisy, Rangers fans aren't really in any position to criticise anyone else but I do think this was bigger than just Rangers asking for respect to be shown, it was a directive from the SPFL in light of the fact that the country is in a period of national mourning just now.
I personally don't think the disturbance is a great look for their club and the statement should have probably reflected that.
I also thought we might have had a statement from Hibs tonight but seems like the applause has helped us out a bit.
Why Hibs there was booing from both sets of fans? Glad we had an applause
OxoHibby
17-09-2022, 11:05 PM
They were always going to claim the queen and monarchy as their own for a few quid
yonder1875
17-09-2022, 11:17 PM
Not a Celtic lover in any way, shape or form but I would love to know how they are as bad as Rangers?
Correct me if I’m wrong but don’t Celtic fans usually fight for the good cause politically (Ireland, Palestine, anti establishment etc) whereas Rangers sing about British and Protestant supremacy constantly?
"SUPPORTER INFORMATION
Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth I shirley, unless the new franchise known as The Rangers (Sevco 2012) have already been admitted to the English league? Let's see if the SPFL will condemn the sectarian abuse directed at the Dundee United team and fans during the gemme.
17-09-2022, 11:23 PM
Why Hibs there was booing from both sets of fans? Glad we had an applause
I heard a lot more of a disturbance from the east stand than from anywhere else in the stadium but yes if Aberdeen fans were involved I would expect their club to provide comment too.
I saw the disruption has now caught the attention of Sky Sports News and the presenter said that Sky have requested the thoughts of each of the clubs concerned so I expect we'll have little option but to provide some kind of statement over the next day or so.
OldEast
18-09-2022, 02:43 AM
Please, not the old equavalence bull****. What has this got to do with Celtic, and some of their fans admirable support for palestine, that is opressed and brutalised by a settler colonial regime.
Spectacularly missing the point! Read my post again and read the post I replied to. Absolutely nothing to do with the merits of WHICHEVER cause the arsecheeks support, but everything to do with the view that the 90 minute support per week for said cause is by people who don't give a **** and know even less once they've left the ground.
18-09-2022, 03:23 AM
Buck Mulligan
18-09-2022, 06:07 AM
Spectacularly missing the point! Read my post again and read the post I replied to. Absolutely nothing to do with the merits of WHICHEVER cause the arsecheeks support, but everything to do with the view that the 90 minute support per week for said cause is by people who don't give a **** and know even less once they've left the ground.
Unfortunately not true. I lived in Glasgow for years. At times, had the misfortune to be around rangers fans, mostly in work situations. .My experience was that they were anti catholic/Irish full time. Not sure there is such a thing as a part time racist. Fans of the tic, tended to be more left leaning generally, and support United iIreland and other liberation struggles. Again not sure you can turn your political worldview on and off.
On the equivalence point, I don’t see the ‘two cheeks’ thing. One lot are racists that sing ditties about wanting catholic/Irish people dead, the other lot, in an at times simplistic, reductive and embarrassing way, sing about Ireland, and express support for a people subjected to settler colonial racist oppression In Palestine. No real equivalence for me.
18-09-2022, 06:48 AM
Not a Celtic lover in any way, shape or form but I would love to know how they are as bad as Rangers?
Correct me if I’m wrong but don’t Celtic fans usually fight for the good cause politically (Ireland, Palestine, anti establishment etc) whereas Rangers sing about British and Protestant supremacy constantly?
Wtf has all that got to do with football?
OldEast
18-09-2022, 06:57 AM
Unfortunately not true. I lived in Glasgow for years. At times, had the misfortune to be around rangers fans, mostly in work situations. .My experience was that they were anti catholic/Irish full time. Not sure there is such a thing as a part time racist. Fans of the tic, tended to be more left leaning generally, and support United iIreland and other liberation struggles. Again not sure you can turn your political worldview on and off.
On the equivalence point, I don’t see the ‘two cheeks’ thing. One lot are racists that sing ditties about wanting catholic/Irish people dead, the other lot, in an at times simplistic, reductive and embarrassing way, sing about Ireland, and express support for a people subjected to settler colonial racist oppression In Palestine. No real equivalence for me.
OK I hear what you are saying and I can agree that there's a lot of deep seated nonsense and hatred in the heads of people. But... it is my firm belief that for the vast majority it is BECAUSE they and generations before them support Rangers or Celtic and no other reason.
18-09-2022, 07:12 AM
The rangers are worse (than any club on the planet for me) but that doesn’t make Celtic okay.
And their fans singing about the IRA isn’t ‘fighting’ for anything good.
OldEast
18-09-2022, 07:16 AM
The rangers are worse (than any club on the planet for me) but that doesn’t make Celtic okay.
And their fans singing about the IRA isn’t ‘fighting’ for anything good.
I agree
18-09-2022, 07:17 AM
I heard a lot more of a disturbance from the east stand than from anywhere else in the stadium but yes if Aberdeen fans were involved I would expect their club to provide comment too.
I saw the disruption has now caught the attention of Sky Sports News and the presenter said that Sky have requested the thoughts of each of the clubs concerned so I expect we'll have little option but to provide some kind of statement over the next day or so.
Sky can GTF and take their contract with them if they want a statement. Or go to the Huns for one as they seem quite good with them.
This OTT circus act will thankfully (hopefully) be over by Tuesday and we can all get back to some sort of normal life.
18-09-2022, 07:19 AM
Not saying what Dundee United supporters did was correct but to put context on how vile supporters can be.
When Eddie Thompson the long term Dundee United chairman died Dundee United held a minute's silence at their next game which was against Sevco. Sevco fans sang Eddie's in a box during the silence. Eddie's wife, son and daughter were all at the match.
If anything that made it worse than yesterday's events.
Don't remember any criticism of the so called supporters at the time.
jakeshibs
18-09-2022, 07:22 AM
We embarrassed our club with the disrespectful singing regarding the death of the late Queen, it is disgusting. if we sing about the death of anyone we are lowest of the low, we can never say hibs class now.
does not matter your views, there is a time and place, if that was a minutes applause for a supporters child we would be mortified.
18-09-2022, 07:29 AM
We embarrassed our club with the disrespectful singing regarding the death of the late Queen, it is disgusting. if we sing about the death of anyone we are lowest of the low, we can never say hibs class now.
does not matter your views, there is a time and place, if that was a minutes applause for a supporters child we would be mortified.
There was always going to be some disruption to an edited show off respect for someone that many do not respect, or at least don't respect her position.
The people who chose to protest it are far from the lowest of the low, that's an absolutely absurd statement.
There are many people who find the very idea of a Queen, late or otherwise, disgusting.
We, thankfully, live in a society where we can protest such things and while some folk might find that form of protest unpalatable, people are within their rights to do it.
As for Rangers, they're loving this - they were absolutely desperate for the silence to be ruined so they could claim some faux moral high ground and act the victim. They're an abhorrent bunch, and the attempt to claim the grief/marks of respect etc as their own is just yet another cynical and in your face play to cash in on a sectarian problem that they clearly have no intention of letting go of.
18-09-2022, 07:32 AM
There was always going to be some disruption to an edited show off respect for someone that many do not respect, or at least don't respect her position.
The people who chose to protest it are far from the lowest of the low, that's an absolutely absurd statement.
There are many people who find the very idea of a Queen, late or otherwise, disgusting.
We, thankfully, live in a society where we can protest such things and while some folk might find that form of protest unpalatable, people are within their rights to do it.
As for Rangers, they're loving this - they were absolutely desperate for the silence to be ruined so they could claim some faux moral high ground and act the victim. They're an abhorrent bunch, and the attempt to claim the grief/marks of respect etc as their own is just yet another cynical and in your face play to cash in on a sectarian problem that they clearly have no intention of letting go of.
Bravo, Sir 👏
18-09-2022, 07:38 AM
If it was a minutes applause for a supporters child it would be impeccably observed.
The vast majority yesterday either applauded or stayed still and silent. The small minority who decided to go down a different route will know themselves why they did that. They are far from the lowest of the low though.
LunasBoots
18-09-2022, 07:48 AM
The oppressed respecting the oppressors is never going to work out well in Scotland. Celtic today also have plans to disrupt it, heard many will turn there backs and give the two fingers
18-09-2022, 07:48 AM
Congratulations on the worst post in .net history. A load of absolute *****.
18-09-2022, 07:54 AM
I would suggest, having seen tweets with some of our fans singing Lizzy's in a box, that this was less about protest and more about a few dafties saying look at me. Filming themselves doing it is a wee indicator of the level of intellect involved. I would doubt they have ever read any thing James Connolly ever wrote, he probably didn't do an easy read version of Socialism Made Easy.
18-09-2022, 08:03 AM
The endless tributes to a Monarch... purely because they were a Monarch... surely can't be compared to a minutes applause/silence for a dead child.
I don't agree with songs mocking a dead person, and personally didn't boo, but I can understand the motivation behind booing the monarchy.
Something like half the country are totally sick of this anachronistic organisation and the constant fawning over them, so maybe they thought this was finally their opportunity to show it
18-09-2022, 08:04 AM
I would suggest, having seen tweets with some of our fans singing Lizzy's in a box, that this was less about protest and more about a few dafties saying look at me. Filming themselves doing it is a wee indicator of the level of intellect involved. I would doubt they have ever read any thing James Connolly ever wrote, he probably didn't do an easy read version of Socialism Made Easy.
Still disrespectful and drags our club down though …as you say , most will have no idea of history or politics …
Unfortunately it’s expected these days from a
Minority in our support
18-09-2022, 08:06 AM
If it was a minutes applause for a supporters child it would be impeccably observed.
The vast majority yesterday either applauded or stayed still and silent. The small minority who decided to go down a different route will know themselves why they did that. They are far from the lowest of the low though.
I booed (FF Lower) as did plenty others, most seemed sit quietly or half heartedly clap along without any enthusiasm. If anyone thinks that makes me lowest of the low, I won’t lose any sleep over it.
Mcbizz1998
18-09-2022, 08:20 AM
As I predicted the silly wee boys and embarrassing adults showed themselves up.
Good call by the club to go with applause.
He's here!
18-09-2022, 08:28 AM
The lowest of the low? Bit extreme, but I agree it was pretty pathetic. Vast majority were respectful and I thought those who weren't seemed like a few young dafties who view life through a football lens and think that only Rangers fans respect the Queen.
Just takes a few to cause embarrassment tho. Really shouldn't have been hard to keep quiet if you didn't agree with the applause.
superbam
18-09-2022, 08:31 AM
James Connolly on Monarchy:
"What is monarchy? From whence does it derive its sanction? What has been its gift to humanity? Monarchy is a survival of the tyranny imposed by the hand of greed and treachery upon the human race in the darkest and most ignorant days of our history. It derives its only sanction from the sword of the marauder and the helplessness of the producer, and its gifts to humanity are unknown, save as they can be measured in the pernicious examples of triumphant and shameless iniquities"
Whether you like it or not the institution is viewed by many across the world and indeed in the UK as a symbol of plunder, oppression and murder and it is inevitable that the climate of official reverence for the monarchy prompted by the death of a monarch will not be accepted by many. It would have been more embarrassing had there been no disruption imo.
18-09-2022, 09:10 AM
In a democratic society, people can only have the right to express their opinion to the extent that they are willing to tolerate the right of others to express an opposing but legal position.
The idiots who boo'd yesterday during the applause were attempting to prevent those who wanted to show respect from doing so. They should have waited until after the minute was over to make their own view known.
Personally I didn't join in the applause yesterday.
Alvin
18-09-2022, 09:13 AM
Some fans of both sides booed. Some sat silently, others stood with their arms folded. Most people clapped politely, some clapped loudly and vigorously. And some teenagers did what teenagers have been doing for generations – acted in a way they thought would outrage their elders to draw attention to themselves. Then they laughed about it later. Nobody had a fight and nobody got hurt. Then the ref blew his whistle and we all got back to supporting our team.
The idea that any of the above requires ‘a statement’ from Hibs is surely bonkers.
18-09-2022, 09:16 AM
In a democratic society, people can only have the right to express their opinion to the extent that they are willing to tolerate the right of others to express an opposing but legal position.
The idiots who boo'd yesterday during the applause were attempting to prevent those who wanted to show respect from doing so. They should have waited until after the minute was over to make their own view known.
Personally I didn't join in the applause yesterday.I've stayed out of all this discussion, but chipping in now.. you have expressed it perfectly.
Those booing were effectively doing what, essentially, they were "protesting" against.
18-09-2022, 09:29 AM
"What is monarchy? From whence does it derive its sanction? What has been its gift to humanity? Monarchy is a survival of the tyranny imposed by the hand of greed and treachery upon the human race in the darkest and most ignorant days of our history. It derives its only sanction from the sword of the marauder and the helplessness of the producer, and its gifts to humanity are unknown, save as they can be measured in the pernicious examples of triumphant and shameless iniquities"
Whether you like it or not the institution is viewed by many across the world and indeed in the UK as a symbol of plunder, oppression and murder and it is inevitable that the climate of official reverence for the monarchy prompted by the death of a monarch will not be accepted by many. It would have been more embarrassing had there been no disruption imo.
That wasn’t really my point.
I was suggesting that by filming themselves , it appeared less about protest and more about showing off to their social media “audience”.
No class displayed by the coked up cavorters
18-09-2022, 09:32 AM
I don’t necessarily disagree Rangers fans might be worse than Celtc fans, but come on now. Celtc fans live in a vacuum with Rangers fans and they feed off each other. They aren’t some sort of noble fighters for the underdogs around the world. They simply latch onto one side of a conflict/subject so they can continue their point scoring by proxy on a subject they don’t really have any interest in properly understanding.
Zambernardi1875
18-09-2022, 09:36 AM
That wasn’t really my point.
I was suggesting that by filming themselves , it appeared less about protest and more about showing off to their social media “audience”.
No class displayed by the coked up cavorters
Like everyone who went to see the Queen and family with camera phones?
Whole thing shouldn’t be anywhere near football. However standing in silence to mourn an establishment that have values and morals like the royal family is,as someone else said, embarrassing and pathetic
He's here!
18-09-2022, 09:54 AM
I don’t necessarily disagree Rangers fans might be worse than Celtc fans, but come on now. Celtc fans live in a vacuum with Rangers fans and they feed off each other. They aren’t some sort of noble fighters for the underdogs around the world. They simply latch onto one side of a conflict/subject so they can continue their point scoring by proxy on a subject they don’t really have any interest in properly understanding.
Very well put.
The Old Firm (or more accurately Celtic and the club which was formed after the liquidation of Rangers) and the religious/historic/political baggage they seem to believe can be reasonably saddled to 21st Century football clubs are an utterly bizarre duo. As you say they live in a vacuum. Their total and utter non-existence would be of immense benefit to Scotland.
18-09-2022, 10:00 AM
Singing "Lizzie's in a box" during a minute's applause is very far removed from any genuine protest in my book and it was just about causing offence. It was quite telling that one of the videos which appeared on Twitter last night of the "protest" was from the same guy who thought it was acceptable to post a video a few weeks ago from Perth of fans mocking the deaths of Andy Goram, Walter Smith and Davie Cooper.
I saw people yesterday who sat down for the entire minute and did not clap or do anything and others who only emerged from the concourse once it was over. Those were both perfectly acceptable positions to take.
As I said last night people definitely have the right to protest and protesting against the monarchy is something I actually can relate to as I am opposed to the whole idea of the Royal Family.
However what I don't find acceptable is when it starts to impinge on other people's right to respect the applause. That's where lines should be drawn and it was overstepped yesterday in my opinion.
I agree with your point on Rangers.
18-09-2022, 10:05 AM
Or we can ignore Sky sports attempt to force us into a statement
18-09-2022, 10:37 AM
He was a grave danger to the crown.
The pen is mightier than the sword.
It was no accident that James was chosen to be murdered/executed in a chair after 1916 Rising and some of the leading volunteers imprisoned were not.
Lizzie would have left a fortune as well
Who gets that?
Not those she "served"
18-09-2022, 10:48 AM
... And some teenagers did what teenagers have been doing for generations – acted in a way they thought would outrage their elders to draw attention to themselves...
While I would have preferred the small group who decided to sing to have kept their mouths shut, I do remember a similar sized group of young fans on the east terracing singing songs about Michael Fagan forty years ago.
I'm not using that as an excuse for anybody, just that I agree that it's really nothing new.
18-09-2022, 10:48 AM
Or we can ignore Sky sports attempt to force us into a statement
The only statement I want to see from the club is one backing Ryan Porteous.
The political charade that's permeated the last 10 days in the UK has gone OTT.
The Rangers have a brass neck asking fans to support their minutes silence when their own fans sing about Lisbon lions, and Tommy Burns, dying.
18-09-2022, 10:49 AM
Very well put.
The Old Firm (or more accurately Celtic and the club which was formed after the liquidation of Rangers) and the religious/historic/political baggage they seem to believe can be reasonably saddled to 21st Century football clubs are an utterly bizarre duo. As you say they live in a vacuum. Their total and utter non-existence would be of immense benefit to Scotland.
100% agree,
18-09-2022, 10:54 AM
They didn't prevent it, those that wanted to applaud still got to applaud and show their respects.
18-09-2022, 10:56 AM
The only statement I want to see from the club is one backing Ryan Porteous.
The political charade that's permeated the last 10 days in the UK has gone OTT.
The Rangers have a brass neck asking fans to support their minutes silence when their own fans sing about Lisbon lions, and Tommy Burns, dying.
I couldn’t agree more.
Scotty Leither
18-09-2022, 11:18 AM
Perfectly articulated, Matty. Maybe our illustrious Scottish sports and wider broadcast media should take this broader view, but I won’t hold my breath.
****ing depressing, and what’s worse is that none of them will ever question them or hold them to account.
h1bs4life
18-09-2022, 11:56 AM
Both clubs cash in on sectarianism it’s a money maker which is deeply routed in Scottish society.
No political party in Scotland are going to do anything about as it would be a vote loser.
Politics , religion etc should kept out of football.
Most clubs support nowadays comes from various nationalities, religions , colours etc .
Minutes applause before a game should be for former players, managers , directors or owners who had a real connection with the club.
Minutes applause during the game is a no from me either, as Hibs did end of last season there should be the opportunity for fans to contact the club to get there loved ones photo on the big screens during a special memorial. I would do that the 1st home game of the new year .
18-09-2022, 12:00 PM
**** Celtic.
100%. This thread is an embarrassment with the typical celtic love in. Just to be clear, we did indeed have a minutes silence when the pope died. Why did we have a minutes silence? Because celtic kicked off and demanded one. There were no minutes silence in league games when he died. They complained and we had a silence at Hampden and they had one the following day. Their fans had flags with pictures of the pope on them and had a banner with the popes 11 on it. Why did Scottish clubs have a minutes silence for the pope? Laugh at rangers all you want but at least the queen was british and weither folk like it or not, rangers as it stands are a british club.
We laugh at celtic and rangers, two cheeks of the same arse and all that stuff. We slaughter the rangers support for their attitudes and their beliefs. We lost any moral high ground we had over them yesterday though. We are supposed to be the inclusive support. Everyone is welcome at Easter Road. Well everyone except for if your a tory or support the royal family or voted for brexit that is. If that's the case tgen you can duck off to ibrox. Oh and if you do, we will slaughter you for it.
Hate being the one sticking up for the mob so yeah, duck celtic but also, duck the huns too.
LeithMike
18-09-2022, 12:04 PM
As for Rangers, they're loving this - they were absolutely desperate for the silence to be ruined so they could claim some faux moral high ground and act the victim. They're an abhorrent bunch, and the attempt to claim the grief/marks of respect etc as their own is just yet another cynical and in your face play to cash in on a sectarian problem that they clearly have no intention of letting go of.Just because we have a legal right to object doesn't always make it appropriate. I'm no monarchist but people should always try and be considerate of others. Society seems to be moving away from that with everyone wanting to assert their rights, no matter the impact on others. If everyone does that then society breaks down. As always in these things there is a balance.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
18-09-2022, 12:07 PM
Like everyone who went to see the Queen and family with camera phones?
Whole thing shouldn’t be anywhere near football. However standing in silence to mourn an establishment that have values and morals like the royal family is,as someone else said, embarrassing and pathetic
I'm not aware of people singing and dancing whilst they took selfies, but I too found the whole mobile phone thing predictably distasteful.
I would rather we hadn't felt compelled to bother with a pre match thing, but it was a minutes applause, not standing in silence.
I think there is a question worth discussing around where our personal values and feelings are obliged, due to a public setting, to interact with those of other people. In circumstances like yesterday I felt content to sit and not clap. Prancing around with a mobile phone filming myself sing Lizzy's dead, still think that's about self pleasuring rather than protest,
18-09-2022, 12:11 PM
I've stayed out of all this discussion, but chipping in now.. you have expressed it perfectly.
Those booing were effectively doing what, essentially, they were "protesting" against.
If you're saying that you think the monarchy are defenders of democracy (which I think you are) then would you give me a second to dig out the number of votes Elizabeth 1 of Scotland and 2nd of England got when she assumed her position of absurd privilege at the coronation back in June 1953.
It's a number between minus one and one
18-09-2022, 12:17 PM
Just because we have a legal right to object doesn't always make it appropriate. I'm no monarchist but people should always try and be considerate of others. Society seems to be moving away from that with everyone wanting to assert their rights, no matter the impact on others. If everyone does that then society breaks down. As always in these things there is a balance.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
Good post. This thread seems to have a fair number of people who can't separate these issues very well. It's symptomatic of the times and the self obsessed rights without accountability culture we live in.
The establishment that people rail against must love the way these cultural trends reinforce their position. They laugh at the plebs and carry on doing what they want.
18-09-2022, 12:30 PM
They didn't prevent it, those that wanted to applaud still got to applaud and show their respects.
Those booing were attempting to prevent it by drowning out those applauding.
If you're saying that you think the monarchy are defenders of democracy (which I think you are) then would you give me a second to dig out the number of votes Elizabeth 1 of Scotland and 2nd of England got when she assumed her position of absurd privilege at the coronation back in June 1953.
It's a number between minus one and one
The point is nothing to do with the monarchy and everything to do with recognising that democracy means tolerating opinions which are not illegal.
Attempting to drown out opinions you don't like is simply one way of preventing those opinions being heard.
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-09-2022, 12:37 PM
Those booing were attempting to prevent it by drowning out those applauding.
The point is nothing to do with the monarchy and everything to do with recognising that democracy means tolerating opinions which are not illegal.
Attempting to drown out opinions you don't like is simply one way of preventing those opinions being heard.
Illegal opinions, big brother is watching, ministry of truth, etc etc
I booed, I didn’t think I would but I did. My opinion has been drowned out and suppressed since she died, yesterday was an opportunity to make it heard and I did. Pro royal opinions have been plastered on every TV and Radio station for the past week.
18-09-2022, 12:40 PM
Just because you can doesn't mean that you have to.
18-09-2022, 12:55 PM
Illegal opinions, big brother is watching, ministry of truth, etc etc
I booed, I didn’t think I would but I did. My opinion has been drowned out and suppressed since she died, yesterday was an opportunity to make it heard and I did. Pro royal opinions have been plastered on every TV and Radio station for the past week.
Your opinion has not been drowned out or suppressed. You're still able to express it and could have done so yesterday by remaining in the concourse, remaining seated or booing after the minute's applause was over. Yet you chose to attempt to drown out those who wanted to applaud.
And I've read a number of anti-monarchy pieces in the mainstream media over the last week and a half without making any effort to find them, whilst at the same time skipping over anything sycophantic towards the monarchy. Too many people want the entire world to agree with them and complain when it doesn't.
18-09-2022, 01:04 PM
The Act of Settlement was passed in 1701, reinforcing the Bill of Rights agreed by William and Mary in 1689. The main aim of this legislation was to ensure a Protestant succession to the English throne.
In 1707, as a result of the Act of Union, this Act was extended to Scotland.
As a result of the Act of Settlement, George I, whose mother Sophia, Electress of Hanover, would have succeeded Queen Anne had she not died only a few weeks before her, inherited the throne, despite there being over 50 Catholic claimants.
The above is the main reason many booed yesterday and today.
Personally i would have booed for a number of reasons
The above and the unearned wealth that family have,at a time when the "subjects" are toiling
Not envy but a bit anger at the entitlement of the beast getting away with his vile crimes, and his nephew who threw the royal towel in and now lives in America , but wanting more tax payers money for bodyguards
Fk them all
Broxburn Greens
18-09-2022, 02:47 PM
Spot on. The narcissism coming out of Ibrox over the last ten days has been beyond belief.
Royalists only because they’re Rangers fans just like a great many of them are Tories simply because they’re Rangers fans just beggars belief. No idea what they’re talking about and no intrinsic understanding of what either the royal family or Conservative party stand for, just that it’s the Rangers thing to do.
The saddest thing is that as with all things Rangers/Celtic is that it boils down to religious bigotry.
That said I’ve given up ever trying to highlight this to either side of the equation as it’s simply a waste of time I’ll never get back.
18-09-2022, 02:54 PM
Good post. This thread seems to have a fair number of people who can't separate these issues very well. It's symptomatic of the times we live in and the self obsessed rights without accountability culture we live in.
The establishment that people rail against must love the way these cultural trends reinforce their position. They laugh at the plebs and carry on doing whilst they want.
For the record, I have no problem separating the issues, nor have I recorded an opinion on whether anyone was right to do what they did.
18-09-2022, 03:08 PM
Spot on. The narcissism coming out of Ibrox over the last ten days has been beyond belief.
Royalists only because they’re Rangers fans just like a great many of them are Tories simply because they’re Rangers fans just beggars belief. No idea what they’re talking about and no intrinsic understanding of what either the royal family or Conservative party stand for, just that it’s the Rangers thing to do.
The saddest thing is that as with all things Rangers/Celtic is that it boils down to religious bigotry.
That said I’ve given up ever trying to highlight this to either side of the equation as it’s simply a waste of time I’ll never get back.
With sevco fans, yes, i agree.
Celtic have thousands of fans who are not Roman Catholic .
Irish independence movements in the 18th/19th Century were led by Protestants.
Wolfe Tone being one.
"Jock, if there were two players,one Catholic and one Protestant,who would you sign?
"The Protestant"
"Why?"
"Because i know Rangers would never sign the Catholic"
Jock Stein's dig on winding them up over their then bigoted signing policies.
18-09-2022, 05:42 PM
It's embarrassing but true. These supporters should really take a look at the **** they vote for and maybe do some research into how many people have died as a direct result of Tory policies. Considering how and by whom our club was started it just doesn't doesn't right with me
The Mook
18-09-2022, 06:01 PM
faux moral high ground, acting the victim and an abhorrent bunch - Guess who youve just described? And I would add the 'everybody loves us, were an institution' pish peddled by the manks which makes them the same if not worse. Rest assured they will use this opportunity to push their agenda in an equally odious way.
Scotty Leither
18-09-2022, 06:15 PM
My tuppence worth...I took my daughter to the match yesterday and we sat in the West Stand Upper. Pre kick-off, she applauded for the allotted minute, I stood in silence with my arms folded, and I heard some booing amidst the applause. In summary, a "mixed" reception from both sets of supporters which probably mirrors the standpoint of most fans across the country (IMO) apart from the two Ugly Sisters, only this time Rangers were revelling in playing the victim, which is usually the sole province of their mates on the east side of Glasgow.
I'm glad the whole charade is nearly over, the team appear to be slowly clicking and I'm looking forward to seeing how the rest of the season pans out.
One final thought though, if Sky are indeed asking Hibs to "comment on fans booing", then I hope the club give them a terse reply, with the second word of that response being "off".
18-09-2022, 06:53 PM
What is stopping these people showing respect in private? People are entitled to boo all they want. Good on them for doing so
18-09-2022, 07:05 PM
It's embarrassing but true. These supporters should really take a look at the **** they vote for and maybe do some research into how many people have died as a direct result of Tory policies. Considering how and by whom our club was started it just doesn't doesn't right with me
But everybody can have their own views and be part of the club. We mustn't be like the Old Firm, whereby fans are expected to confirm to particular political and/or religious views. What other Hibs fans believe is none of my business, and they are no less a fan than me because of it. We should only be intolerant of intolerance: those who won't allow space for others to be themselves are not welcome: i.e. no bigots.
I don't know any Tory Hibs or Celtic fans personally, though there are a small number on this forum, and they must be welcome. It's good to have alternative views. I don't why they would vote Tory, but that's their right. Hibs prides itself on being all-inclusive, which means the inclusion of those with minority opinions - even Tories :greengrin
18-09-2022, 07:07 PM
With sevco fans, yes, i agree.
Celtic have thousands of fans who are not Roman Catholic .
Irish independence movements in the 18th/19th Century were led by Protestants.
Wolfe Tone being one.
"Jock, if there were two players,one Catholic and one Protestant,who would you sign?
"The Protestant"
"Why?"
"Because i know Rangers would never sign the Catholic"
Jock Stein's dig on winding them up over their then bigoted signing policies.
Charles Parnell was an Irish Protestant. A great man.
He's here!
18-09-2022, 07:13 PM
What is stopping these people showing respect in private? People are entitled to boo all they want. Good on them for doing so
You can see from the extraordinary reaction across all parts of the UK that people are keen to show their respect in public. Whatever your views on the Queen is it so hard just to stay quiet for a minute (or remain in the concourse) if you don't agree with a minute's applause? The booing was pretty pathetic IMHO.
Apologies if this crosses a line re what should be posted on the main board, but on the Holy Ground last week another poster flagged up this thought-provoking piece by Billy Bragg (one of the last people you'd describe as a monarchist) which puts into words a key aspect of why Her Majesty's passing was about more than just the death of a queen. It meant a lot to a lot of people for all sorts of reasons and by and large I think the nation has responded appropriately:
It is reputedly the longest train journey in Germany - from Munich to Hamburg via Leipzig and Berlin, over seven hours travel time. That’s where I found myself on Thursday as news came through that the Queen’s doctors were ‘concerned about her health’. I was in Germany to give a couple of talks about my most recent book ‘The Three Dimensions of Freedom’ which had originally been planned for 2020. As I was explaining to my travelling companion from my Munich based publisher that the Queen had been becoming visibly frail for some time, I saw a screenshot of Huw Edwards, the BBC newscaster, wearing a black tie.
“I think we have to assume the Queen is already dead” I told my German friend. It seemed unthinkable to me that the BBC would go into mourning by mistake. The outrage that would descend on the corporation should they be seen to jump the gun on such a sensitive issue would be more damaging than any of the scandals that have beset them over the past decade.
It would be several more hours until I saw confirmation of her death, while travelling to the event in a taxi. It was interesting to be in a foreign country when the news broke. People seemed genuinely surprised, unaware that the Queen’s health recently been in decline. The taxi driver, a middle aged man, was visibly moved and spoke about how he felt when his father had died a year after the death of his mother. When I mentioned the news to the audience, there was an audible gasp of shock. Later, in my hotel room, I found that a number of German tv channels were covering the news live.
The Queen clearly meant something to these people, beyond her being the head of state of a neighbouring country.
Personally, I’ve never had strong feelings about the monarchy and the cosmetic role they play in our constitution. My concerns have always been about the way the powers which were once the sole preserve of the monarch have been conferred onto the prime minister, allowing the holder of that office to declare war and sign treaties without recourse to parliamentary debate. Hopefully the ascension of Charles III will initiate a debate about the role of the monarchy in a modern democracy, perhaps helping to kick start reforms such as the abolition of the House of Lords and a written constitution.
Having said that, I do want to take a moment to reflect on the passing of a person who has played a role in our national life over the past seven decades that is unrivalled in its significance. The importance of the Queen as a figurehead was made clear to me in 2007 when I saw a news report of the dedication of the Armed Forces Memorial, remembering those who lost their lives in conflicts since the Second World War. Watching the Queen walk along a line of ex-service personnel who had fought in every war from Korea to Afghanistan, I was struck by the thought that there is no one in British public life whose presence at an event could be equally meaningful to an 80 year old veteran as well as one in their 20s.
Obviously this is a product of the record-breaking longevity of her reign. Very few of us alive today can recall anyone else sitting on the British throne. That fact alone is what makes the notion of a King Charles III so strange and unfamiliar.
As a child, I had a great aunt who lived around the corner from us. Aunt Hannah was born in 1887 and lived in an upstairs flat that was lit by gaslight. She cooked on a coal-fired range and had neither tv nor telephone. Her only real concession to modernity was the fact that she would walk the two streets to our house to watch Sunday Night at the London Palladium. Like the Queen, she represented a living link with the past, a sense that all the things that had happened in her life could be summoned into the room by her memories. She died in 1972. By the time Elizabeth II was crowned, Aunt Hannah had lived through the reigns of six different monarchs in her 66 years. I’ve managed to rack up almost as many years without witnessing a single coronation.
For people around my age, there is another dimension that gives this moment in our history a poignancy that defies the rational concerns about crown and constitution.
Like the Queen, my parents were born in the 1920s and their formative years were shaped by the Second World War. Her father, George VI, had been Emperor of India and as a child had sat on the knee of Queen Victoria. Yet Elizabeth II represented a break with the Victorian idea of monarchy and empire. Her coronation in 1953 held the promise of a new beginning, of a world without colonies where the state supported each citizen from the cradle to the grave.
My parents were married that same year and, as part of that Elizabethan cohort, they aged along with the Queen, the great markers in their lives falling in the same span of years. They were in uniform together, they met their partners together, had children and later grandchildren together. With both my parents gone, the Queen endured as a reminder of who they were and who they became. She was their last representative, still visible in the life of our nation.
So when they bury her next week, I too will mourn - not so much for the passing of a monarch, but for the passing of a generation.
StirlingHibee
18-09-2022, 07:27 PM
The beauty of Football is its possibility to cut across all divides (be it political, social, religious). Our club's supporters are made up of unionists, pro-independence, multiple faiths etc but we leave that all behind when we get together to follow our team. Whilst respecting the history of our club it's been a long time since our support has been largely based on ethnicity or religion. Hibs is a club for everybody whatever your persuasions may be in life!
scuttle
18-09-2022, 07:38 PM
The beauty of Football is its possibility to cut across all divides (be it political, social, religious). Our club's supporters are made up of unionists, pro-independence, multiple faiths etc but we leave that all behind when we get together to follow our team. Whilst respecting the history of our club it's been a long time since our support has been largely based on ethnicity or religion. Hibs is a club for everybody whatever your persuasions may be in life!
Agree totally,well said
Mcbizz1998
18-09-2022, 07:56 PM
Grow up mate.
18-09-2022, 07:57 PM
You can see from the extraordinary reaction across all parts of the UK that people are keen to show their respect in public. Whatever your views on the Queen is it so hard just to stay quiet for a minute (or remain in the concourse) if you don't agree with a minute's applause? The booing was pretty pathetic IMHO.
Apologies if this crosses a line re what should be posted on the main board, but on the Holy Ground last week another poster flagged up this thought-provoking piece by Billy Bragg (one of the last people you'd describe as a monarchist) which puts into words a key aspect of why Her Majesty's passing was about more than just the death of a queen. It meant a lot to a lot of people for all sorts of reasons and by and large I think the nation has responded appropriately:
It is reputedly the longest train journey in Germany - from Munich to Hamburg via Leipzig and Berlin, over seven hours travel time. That’s where I found myself on Thursday as news came through that the Queen’s doctors were ‘concerned about her health’. I was in Germany to give a couple of talks about my most recent book ‘The Three Dimensions of Freedom’ which had originally been planned for 2020. As I was explaining to my travelling companion from my Munich based publisher that the Queen had been becoming visibly frail for some time, I saw a screenshot of Huw Edwards, the BBC newscaster, wearing a black tie.
“I think we have to assume the Queen is already dead” I told my German friend. It seemed unthinkable to me that the BBC would go into mourning by mistake. The outrage that would descend on the corporation should they be seen to jump the gun on such a sensitive issue would be more damaging than any of the scandals that have beset them over the past decade.
It would be several more hours until I saw confirmation of her death, while travelling to the event in a taxi. It was interesting to be in a foreign country when the news broke. People seemed genuinely surprised, unaware that the Queen’s health recently been in decline. The taxi driver, a middle aged man, was visibly moved and spoke about how he felt when his father had died a year after the death of his mother. When I mentioned the news to the audience, there was an audible gasp of shock. Later, in my hotel room, I found that a number of German tv channels were covering the news live.
The Queen clearly meant something to these people, beyond her being the head of state of a neighbouring country.
Personally, I’ve never had strong feelings about the monarchy and the cosmetic role they play in our constitution. My concerns have always been about the way the powers which were once the sole preserve of the monarch have been conferred onto the prime minister, allowing the holder of that office to declare war and sign treaties without recourse to parliamentary debate. Hopefully the ascension of Charles III will initiate a debate about the role of the monarchy in a modern democracy, perhaps helping to kick start reforms such as the abolition of the House of Lords and a written constitution.
Having said that, I do want to take a moment to reflect on the passing of a person who has played a role in our national life over the past seven decades that is unrivalled in its significance. The importance of the Queen as a figurehead was made clear to me in 2007 when I saw a news report of the dedication of the Armed Forces Memorial, remembering those who lost their lives in conflicts since the Second World War. Watching the Queen walk along a line of ex-service personnel who had fought in every war from Korea to Afghanistan, I was struck by the thought that there is no one in British public life whose presence at an event could be equally meaningful to an 80 year old veteran as well as one in their 20s.
Obviously this is a product of the record-breaking longevity of her reign. Very few of us alive today can recall anyone else sitting on the British throne. That fact alone is what makes the notion of a King Charles III so strange and unfamiliar.
As a child, I had a great aunt who lived around the corner from us. Aunt Hannah was born in 1887 and lived in an upstairs flat that was lit by gaslight. She cooked on a coal-fired range and had neither tv nor telephone. Her only real concession to modernity was the fact that she would walk the two streets to our house to watch Sunday Night at the London Palladium. Like the Queen, she represented a living link with the past, a sense that all the things that had happened in her life could be summoned into the room by her memories. She died in 1972. By the time Elizabeth II was crowned, Aunt Hannah had lived through the reigns of six different monarchs in her 66 years. I’ve managed to rack up almost as many years without witnessing a single coronation.
For people around my age, there is another dimension that gives this moment in our history a poignancy that defies the rational concerns about crown and constitution.
Like the Queen, my parents were born in the 1920s and their formative years were shaped by the Second World War. Her father, George VI, had been Emperor of India and as a child had sat on the knee of Queen Victoria. Yet Elizabeth II represented a break with the Victorian idea of monarchy and empire. Her coronation in 1953 held the promise of a new beginning, of a world without colonies where the state supported each citizen from the cradle to the grave.
My parents were married that same year and, as part of that Elizabethan cohort, they aged along with the Queen, the great markers in their lives falling in the same span of years. They were in uniform together, they met their partners together, had children and later grandchildren together. With both my parents gone, the Queen endured as a reminder of who they were and who they became. She was their last representative, still visible in the life of our nation.
So when they bury her next week, I too will mourn - not so much for the passing of a monarch, but for the passing of a generation.
Billy starts my favourite paragraph with "Personally i haved never had strong feeelings about the monarchy"
Yes BB does write and lecture some thought provoking speeches and he certainly appeared to catch the moment observing attitudes to and surprise at the death on his travel.
Of course many older Germans would recognise the connection of the English crown to their own past royalty .
Billy's is no royalist,but gets the connection many people will have particularly in England ,as for decades our msm had put the royals on a pedestal and were to be looked up too ..
The Diana saga changed that.
Now Andrew(through the taxpayer) paying fortunes in legal fees and out of courts settlements worth millions
That his way out of a long jail sentence,Us commoners would have the kedy thrown away
Oh, and his nephew over the pond doing the celebrity circuit stuff.Tv interviews with top hosts.
Buying fairytale size mansions with our cash He and Meghan will earn millions of dollars.
Already doing so.
Yet he wants us to pay for his security/bodyguards at a cost of hundreds of thousands a year .
He is loaded !!
I say all this to add to Billy's view gthat the monarchy,if not abolished,should be trimmed like other European monarchy's have done
They could still do charitable work, etc.
Or go to college/apprenticeship and learn some skills like carpentry and bricklaying or University become doctors, nurses,engineers and teachers.
More worthwhile.than cutting ribbons and unvieling plaques.
Parliament at long last now Elizabeth is dead ,construct a legal constitution.
The Queen is Dead.
,She reigned from the week after i was born so i grew up with Liz.
I didnt detest the women,but do the whole corrupt .and costly regime around her.
The UK Monarchy is archaic.
It as it stands.it now has to change or go completely.
Mcbizz1998
18-09-2022, 07:58 PM
Well said. I support hibs for football reasons only, some real oddballs on here that think people should think and vote a certain way because they are Hibs fans.
Leave that nonsense to those mutants in the west.
18-09-2022, 08:20 PM
We’ll said.
He's here!
19-09-2022, 08:56 AM
Absolutely. It's the Glasgow bigot duo's inability to move out of the dark ages that is arguably the biggest stain on Scottish culture. I feel zero affinity with Celtic and the way they adopted and twisted the integrity of our Irish roots. You can be proud of our club's origins without all the baggage those t***s bring to the table.