View Full Version : Well Known
DanishJohn
16-09-2022, 09:29 AM
Thought I would share a little experience from yesterday.
My wife and I live just outside York. Yesterday, we had to take the dog to the vet. Whilst speaking with him he said " I recognise those accents" When we said we were from Edinburgh, he told us about doing his training at Dick Vet up at Summerhall Place overlooking Meadows. He was there !993 to 1998. He had a flat on Clerk Street just along from Odeon. we told him we knew the are really well. Conversation turned to Boozers and he started realing them all off. Leslies,Falcon Arms, Junction Bar, Buchleuch Arms etc etc.
He then mentioned a bar along from his flat ( he couldn't remember the name )that he said "was a big Hibs Pub" and everyone supported Hibs. (A nice warm glow engulfed the examination room). We of course told him we were Hibs fans !
just shows you, no need to shout or brag about big team etc, just leave that to others !
NthCarolinaHibs
16-09-2022, 01:02 PM
Great story..🇳🇬💚🇳🇬
16-09-2022, 01:07 PM
More importantly is the dog ok?
16-09-2022, 01:21 PM
Thought I would share a little experience from yesterday.
My wife and I live just outside York. Yesterday, we had to take the dog to the vet. Whilst speaking with him he said " I recognise those accents" When we said we were from Edinburgh, he told us about doing his training at Dick Vet up at Summerhall Place overlooking Meadows. He was there !993 to 1998. He had a flat on Clerk Street just along from Odeon. we told him we knew the are really well. Conversation turned to Boozers and he started realing them all off. Leslies,Falcon Arms, Junction Bar, Buchleuch Arms etc etc.
He then mentioned a bar along from his flat ( he couldn't remember the name )that he said "was a big Hibs Pub" and everyone supported Hibs. (A nice warm glow engulfed the examination room). We of course told him we were Hibs fans !
just shows you, no need to shout or brag about big team etc, just leave that to others !
Back when your vet stayed in Clerk Street.
The Grapes would have been called The 1/4 Gill.
Other pubs he might have thought Hibs pubs back then ?
Possibly The Abbey or The Southern.
But plenty Hibby's in the Southside.
Generational,of course
The Southsider,just off Clerk Street, use to be Hibs/Celtic orientated.
Another near old La Scala picture hoose/bingo hall back in the day, but forgot its name now.
StevesFamau5
16-09-2022, 01:37 PM
More importantly is the dog ok?
Seconded, lovely story... but is the dug alright?
DanishJohn
16-09-2022, 02:29 PM
The dog is fine now thanks. He hates going to vet's but he knew we were talking about Hibs so he was fine . Now if it had been about team from Gorgie he would probably have growled and nipped the vet
Hibiza
16-09-2022, 02:33 PM
Nice one .
DanishJohn
16-09-2022, 02:38 PM
Generational,of course
Another near old La Scala picture hoose/bingo hall back in the day, but forgot its name now.
Know all the pubs you mention Mick.
The Grapes was a great pub back in the 70's when a guy with a Scandinavian name owned it ?
The Southsider was another wonderful pub when it opened under Alec Drysdale tutelage.
We've only scratched the surface when talking about Southside/Newington pubs.
One bar I do remember as being a Celtic pub was the Lorna Doone on the Royal Mile. Lamentable, considering it being about a hundred paces from St Patricks !
Hibiza
16-09-2022, 02:44 PM
Wonder what kind of dog you have ? What kind of dog would be a fit for us and what type for the Jamboloids.
16-09-2022, 02:53 PM
Know all the pubs you mention Mick.
The Grapes was a great pub back in the 70's when a guy with a Scandinavian name owned it ?
The Southsider was another wonderful pub when it opened under Alec Drysdale tutelage.
We've only scratched the surface when talking about Southside/Newington pubs.
One bar I do remember as being a Celtic pub was the Lorna Doone on the Royal Mile. Lamentable, considering it being about a hundred paces from St Patricks !
I use to drink in the Lorna Doone wae a couple o brothers from Clerry, but they originally came from the Blackie.
Tam and Albert Cannon and yes Celtic bus left from there for a few years.
Paddy Miller, Frank Meechan ,John Togher,et al
All hailed originally from the area
One or two were Hibbys till they left school and ea some money.
Jimmy O' when meeting them would call them "turncoat" to their faces.
He knew a lot of the older ones.
Some local Hibbys used the the Lorna Doone too.
Some tough guys back then used the pub and the old Mitre bar.
16-09-2022, 03:35 PM
Wonder what kind of dog you have ? What kind of dog would be a fit for us and what type for the Jamboloids.
Pug for them (apologies to any pug owners within the Hibs support)
16-09-2022, 03:54 PM
I have a signed photo of George Best standing at the bar in the Southsider .southsiders god’s chosen people
Mark05
16-09-2022, 07:29 PM
I use to drink in the Lorna Doone wae a couple o brothers from Clerry, but they originally came from the Blackie.
Tam and Albert Cannon and yes Celtic bus left from there for a few years.
Paddy Miller, Frank Meechan ,John Togher,et al
All hailed originally from the area
One or two were Hibbys till they left school and ea some money.
Jimmy O' when meeting them would call them "turncoat" to their faces.
He knew a lot of the older ones.
Some local Hibbys used the the Lorna Doone too.
Some tough guys back then used the pub and the old Mitre bar.
Hi Mick my mum and dad used to run the lorna doone, my dad was a big hibby so I was surprised to hear a celtic bus
Left from there.Dont know if you knew them cathy and rab ,I remember the pub myself even though I was only seven at the time. Sorry for going off topic it just threw me reading the thread and the lorna doone came up :hibees
16-09-2022, 07:43 PM
Hi Mick my mum and dad used to run the lorna doone, my dad was a big hibby so I was surprised to hear a celtic bus
Left from there.Dont know if you knew them cathy and rab ,I remember the pub myself even though I was only seven at the time. Sorry for going off topic it just threw me reading the thread and the lorna doone came up :hibees
There was a St Pats Celtic bus.
Regulars on that bus did use the Lorna Doone.
No sure the bus would pick up outside the pub on the Canongate/High Street
So long ago
I went on that bus a couple of times to see Hibs at Celtic Park.
But i would get the bus at the Centurian in Corstorphine,not up the toon
Your parents might remember some of the names i mentioned
They liked upstairs in the pub for the pool table.
Roxyhibee
16-09-2022, 07:55 PM
Generational,of course
Doolittles was a big pub on the corner opposite / near the old La Scala. It had and upstairs room for private functions like stag doos with ladies who stripped. Talking circa late 1970’s.
16-09-2022, 08:04 PM
Doolittles was a big pub on the corner opposite / near the old La Scala. It had and upstairs room for private functions like stag doos with ladies who stripped. Talking circa late 1970’s.
Jeez So long ago
Place i was thinking of was on same side as Scabby La,but not far along (i think!)
Mark05
16-09-2022, 08:14 PM
There was a St Pats Celtic bus.
Regulars on that bus did use the Lorna Doone.
No sure the bus would pick up outside the pub on the Canongate/High Street
So long ago
I went on that bus a couple of times to see Hibs at Celtic Park.
But i would get the bus at the Centurian in Corstorphine,not up the toon
Your parents might remember some of the names i mentioned
They liked upstairs in the pub for the pool table.
Hi Mick, yes I remember the pool table upstairs and mull a kintyre getting played all the time on the jukebox lol. Unfortunately can't ask my parents anymore but at least my dad got to see hibs win the cup before he died,he kept saying he wouldn't see it ,but thankfully the family did.Thanks for getting back to me :aok:
16-09-2022, 08:59 PM
Hi Mick, yes I remember the pool table upstairs and mull a kintyre getting played all the time on the jukebox lol. Unfortunately can't ask my parents anymore but at least my dad got to see hibs win the cup before he died,he kept saying he wouldn't see it ,but thankfully the family did.Thanks for getting back to me :aok:
Ok pal
Am 70 now, so am talking more than 40yrs ago.
Most of the time i would forget things the next day,never mind years later.
Great your dad got to see the final.
So many happy and sad stories surrounding our Cup win
The OF take that trophy for granted
They could never understand how it affected generations of Hibs supporters.
The Canongate/High Street has changed so much over the years in that the pubs there are not real "locals" anymore.
My Grandson went to Royal Mile Primary 20yrs ago and some
So i would pop into Tolbooth or Jennie's back then.
All changed after the Parly opened. Dearer too !
stevie-bee
16-09-2022, 09:27 PM
Do you Remember stantons pub under the bridge at abbeymount,
Walk passed it last weekend and said to my wife about a pub being there ,
She didn't believe me
leith lynx
16-09-2022, 09:38 PM
Do you Remember stantons pub under the bridge at abbeymount,
Walk passed it last weekend and said to my wife about a pub being there ,
She didn't believe me
Cairn's bar? I'm sure Alex Cropley helped Pat out behind the bar back in the day.
ChilliEater
17-09-2022, 03:43 AM
We have a pug 😁.
Pug traits:
Fat
Ugly
Smelly
Low IQ
Makes a lot of noise trying to convince you he's big
Is not big
You might have a point 🤔
Please think long and hard about getting a pug. They look really cute and its down to having been been bred with a compacted skull. As a result they have many health conditions, including breathing difficulty. Basically the poor wee things live their lives gasping for air.
17-09-2022, 08:52 AM
Jeez So long ago
Place i was thinking of was on same side as Scabby La,but not far along (i think!)
Half penny
17-09-2022, 08:56 AM
Proctors was a big Hibs pub, but that was mentioned as the buccleuch arms, maybe Stewart’s bar?
I_Love_Latapy
17-09-2022, 07:57 PM
We have a pug 😁.
Pug traits:
Fat
Ugly
Smelly
Low IQ
Makes a lot of noise trying to convince you he's big
Is not big
You might have a point 🤔
18-09-2022, 03:46 AM
Cavoodle for us Rottweiler for them.
18-09-2022, 03:55 AM
More than a passing resemblence to Steve Fulton right enough.....
18-09-2022, 08:55 AM
Cavoodle for us Rottweiler for them.
I'd say Hearts would be the cavoodle/cockerpoo etc.
Just a mongrel trying to big itself up, albeit with the key difference that the dog is loveable.
18-09-2022, 09:01 AM
Half penny
Could have been.
Did it have upstairs lounge/function room ?
I see another two old names for that place or further along
So long ago.
Quaich and The Trot Inn
Anyway, some happy and some wild days.
The ones i remember :confused:
19-09-2022, 10:29 AM
More than a passing resemblence to Steve Fulton right enough.....
Booked for being pug-ly?
26-09-2022, 09:11 PM
Cairn's bar? I'm sure Alex Cropley helped Pat out behind the bar back in the day.Was it not The Station Bar?
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
leith lynx
26-09-2022, 09:44 PM
Was it not The Station Bar?
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
Station bar/Safari lounge was on Abbeyhill, still there.Pretty sure Cairn's bar under the bridge was attached to the Youngers brewery back then.
Pat definitely had Cairns Bar under the bridge. His, and my, mate Dougie Johnstone, used to run it with him.
madsen5
27-09-2022, 10:51 AM
Pat definitely had Cairns Bar under the bridge. His, and my, mate Dougie Johnstone, used to run it with him.
Used to drink in there , martin Murphy used to work behind
The bar . Dougie was a great character used to work in the Hoppy as well.
27-09-2022, 11:27 AM
Miners Gala days ,i remember Cairns.
I think Dougie did gigs in a number of boozers over the years.
Am sure he ran a licensed social club at Turnhouse.(forgot its name)
He did run Whitsons/Wilkies pub,corner of Henderson Street as well .
I mind one time me and Jimmy popping in for a blether and game of dominoes wae Dougie.
Memories o Henderson Street
Wilkies,Ross's (Trafalgar) and Gillies bars,all good pubs back in the old days.
Edit
RAF Club,Turnhouse
Miners Gala days ,i remember Cairns.
I think Dougie did gigs in a number of boozers over the years.
Am sure he ran a licensed social club at Turnhouse.(forgot its name)
He did run Whitsons/Wilkies pub,corner of Henderson Street as well .
I mind one time me and Jimmy popping in for a blether and game of dominoes wae Dougie.
Memories o Henderson Street
Wilkies,Ross's (Trafalgar) and Gillies bars,all good pubs back in the old days.
Edit
RAF Club,Turnhouse
You're right as ever Mick! Think Dougie ran Tolbooth Tavern on Canongate for a while also.
Roxyhibee
27-09-2022, 12:06 PM
I started a thread a few years back on Cairns Bar under the bridge and it being King Pats, as I had vague memories of getting taken in there by my dad and uncles as a 16 year old. Some of the stories from other Hibbys who were older and recalled memories were great.
27-09-2022, 12:35 PM
You're right as ever Mick! Think Dougie ran Tolbooth Tavern on Canongate for a while also.
Been doing a bit of digging.
Cairns was formerly known as The Volunteer Arms.
Guess that could refer to local regiment brewery workers served in .
Not an uncommon pub name in early 20th Century.
Pat bought it from a Jack Nisbet.(1970s)
Named it Stantons .Am sure it was short lived under Pat and Dougie.
Did Pat not run the old Regent Buffet after Cairns?
Strange location you would think was Cairns,but i guess when the brewery employed hundreds,it did a turn and on match days too.
Elsie Inglis Maternity hospital down that way,too.
Expectant Faithers Lounge Bar:greengrin
The pub was near the entrance of Younger's Brewery (who owned the pub)before they merged with McEwans to create Scottish Brewers.
Strange when i think of clientele i met in there .
Popular of course on Miners Gala Day at the Park.
From site labourers to Labour MPs on the front benches at Westminster.
Saying that,i likely mostly trusted and better enjoyed the craic wae the labourers !
Roxyhibee
27-09-2022, 03:28 PM
Been doing a bit of digging.
Cairns was formerly known as The Volunteer Arms.
Guess that could refer to local regiment brewery workers served in .
Not an uncommon pub name in early 20th Century.
Pat bought it from a Jack Nisbet.(1970s)
Named it Stantons .Am sure it was short lived under Pat and Dougie.
Did Pat not run the old Regent Buffet after Cairns?
Strange location you would think was Cairns, but i guess when the brewery employed hundreds,it did a turn and on match days too.
Elsie Inglis hospital down that way too.
The pub was near the entrance of Robert Younger Brewery before they merged with McEwans to create S&N Breweries.
Strange when i think of clientele i met in there .
Popular of course on Miners Gala Day at the Park.
From site labourers to Labour MPs on the front benches at Westminster.
Saying that,i likely mostly trusted and better enjoyed the craic wae the labourers !
Good stuff 👏
27-09-2022, 09:08 PM
Station bar/Safari lounge was on Abbeyhill, still there.Pretty sure Cairn's bar under the bridge was attached to the Youngers brewery back then.Of course. Do'h
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk