View Full Version : Best player

12-09-2022, 08:30 AM
Who’s the best player to play in Scottish football in your opinion?

12-09-2022, 08:31 AM
One of Laudrup Gascoigne and Larsson.

Basildon Hibs
12-09-2022, 08:32 AM

Really? How old are you?

It's all subjective anyway.

12-09-2022, 08:33 AM
Really? How old are you?

Great contribution.

12-09-2022, 08:35 AM
For me probably Jimmy Johnstone. Couldn't quite believe his dribbling skills when I was a laddie.

12-09-2022, 08:37 AM
Really? How old are you?

Subjective means ‘opinionated’, as opposed to ‘objective’ which means not influenced by personal opinions.

So I respectfully contest that you can’t contribute to this discussion UNLESS you are being subjective.

My age is on my profile. It shocks me even now, I think I’m about 19.

12-09-2022, 08:43 AM
Gordon Smith.

Gloucester Hibs
12-09-2022, 08:48 AM
Georgie Best surely? The only Ballon d'Or winner to have graced Scottish fitba.

12-09-2022, 08:48 AM
Great choice my dad said that Laudrup was the nearest thing he had seen to Gordon Smith.

Paulie Walnuts
12-09-2022, 09:02 AM
Larsson from players I’ve seen.

12-09-2022, 09:18 AM
Larsson that I've seen.

Van Dijk certainly up there too.

Mike Berry
12-09-2022, 09:19 AM
Terry Hurlock, obviously.

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

12-09-2022, 09:22 AM
Gascoigne. Unfortunatley a joy to watch and even as fan of another club i was excited to see him in the flesh.

12-09-2022, 09:53 AM
Georgie Best surely? The only Ballon d'Or winner to have graced Scottish fitba.

Interesting add to the debate

Best was brilliant, but didn't play his Best (no pun intended) football in Scotland

In Scotland we have seen plenty of excellent players "cut their teeth" going onto bigger and better and "start the wind down" of their career

So are we talking about the best players to ever play or the best players while in Scotland

I think it's while in Scotland - so that in mind it's Laudrup Gascoigne and Larsson

12-09-2022, 09:57 AM
Another player i thought was absolutey brilliant was Arthur Numan. Remember watching him in France 98 and he was majestic. Never put a foot wrong or misplaced a pass. The original Rangers really did have some fantastic players in the EBT era.

12-09-2022, 10:03 AM
Le God

Cannot remember him making one mistake

The complete finished article

12-09-2022, 11:00 AM

Got to add le God and Di Canio to this list

12-09-2022, 11:29 AM
Got to add le God and Di Canio to this list

Objectively or subjectively? :greengrin

12-09-2022, 11:34 AM
Le God

Cannot remember him making one mistake

The complete finished article

I actually remember him giving the ball away fairly often when he'd just arrived and was playing in midfield.

For context, I remember thinking that it re-emphasised how good Latapy was in possession because he very rarely ever wasted a pass or gave away possession.

Sauzee was better once he moved back to sweeper, where he was immense.

12-09-2022, 11:48 AM
We can’t have had many world class players playing here in their prime, Gascoigne/B Laudrup/Larsson were certainly that. Appreciate that our more mature .netters may differ in their opinion.

12-09-2022, 12:21 PM
I actually remember him giving the ball away fairly often when he'd just arrived and was playing in midfield.

For context, I remember thinking that it re-emphasised how good Latapy was in possession because he very rarely ever wasted a pass or gave away possession.

Sauzee was better once he moved back to sweeper, where he was immense.

Yip Sauzee was moved back to sweeper after some comedy defending by Hibs in his third appearance a surprise 0-2 loss away to Clydebank

The winner scored by exhibee Graeme Love

Sauzee would only lose that one game in nine appearances on our run to the First Division title

As you say imperious as sweeper extraordinaire once moved back

Dmas
12-09-2022, 01:10 PM
Gascoigne. Unfortunatley a joy to watch and even as fan of another club i was excited to see him in the flesh.

Gazza was brilliant I don’t disagree and maybe my next comment is from the memory of a green blinkered youngster but I always thought Gazza was very well protected by ref’s if players managed to get by his elbows and make a tackle it was mostly given as a foul.

Torto7
12-09-2022, 01:18 PM
Gazza was brilliant I don’t disagree and maybe my next comment is from the memory of a green blinkered youngster but I always thought Gazza was very well protected by ref’s if players managed to get by his elbows and make a tackle it was mostly given as a foul.

He was far from the player he was in England and Italy at Rangers and spent a good amount of the time injured.

One guy I'd mention is Lubo Moravcik, nowhere near as glittering a career as some of the names mentioned but his technical skill and ability off either foot was unreal.

Fat Eremenko was brilliant for a brief spell at Killie as well. He was 3 stone overweight but absolutely ran the show whenever they played the bigots.

Best I've seen overall is Larrson though. Just on a different level.

Souter96Mac
12-09-2022, 01:25 PM
Very surprised no one has even mentioned John McGinn yet

12-09-2022, 03:02 PM
Tom Soares.

12-09-2022, 03:10 PM
Pay Stanton. Enough said.

Bushwoof
12-09-2022, 03:26 PM
This is impossible to answer with any certainty. From the mid-80s onwards though (the 'modern footballing era') Sauzee was unbelievably good, so was Gazza, and also Larsson. I don't get the Laudrup love-in though. He was a notorious diver, and lucky if he was half the player his brother Michael was.

Moravcik was excellent too, and for one from the left field, what about Marco Negri who scored about 40 goals for the huns in half a season before getting an eye injury playing squash as I recall. He must have been a bit decent, not that I remember too much about it.

The ugly sisters have had any number of players who on paper would be top quality e.g. Keane, de Boer, Diouf, Hateley, Steven, Bellamy etc etc with the money they've thrown around, although not all of them produced their best stuff up here. We shouldn't neglect defenders either - Willie Miller (sheep version) was outstanding. And let's not forget Ravanelli and Caniggia!

I'm going with Sauzee though.

12-09-2022, 04:21 PM
Yip Sauzee was moved back to sweeper after some comedy defending by Hibs in his third appearance a surprise 0-2 loss away to Clydebank

The winner scored by exhibee Graeme Love

Sauzee would only lose that one game in nine appearances on our run to the First Division title

As you say imperious as sweeper extraordinaire once moved back

Sauzee played a whole season in midfield after we got promoted, he got moved back to sweeper the season after, when he signed that new contract instead of retiring.

Franck was well off the pace in his first game away at Brockville, but he still managed a superb backheel to Derek Collins for the winner that day. That game away at Clydebank was an awful performance all round, but other than that and Brockville, Franck was masterful in midfield.

12-09-2022, 04:24 PM
When the greatest Old Firm players are mentioned, alongside the usual suspects mentioned above, Trevor Steven always stood out for me.

Superb player before he went to Marseille, and for a couple of seasons after he went back to Glasgow,

12-09-2022, 05:11 PM
When the greatest Old Firm players are mentioned, alongside the usual suspects mentioned above, Trevor Steven always stood out for me.

Superb player before he went to Marseille, and for a couple of seasons after he went back to Glasgow,

Agree, he was the ultimate class act. So consistent.

lugz
12-09-2022, 05:14 PM
I’d say Larsson, done it at the highest level for Sweden, United and Barcelona

loanheadhibby
12-09-2022, 06:45 PM
Who’s the best player to play in Scottish football in your opinion?
Gordon Smith no question.

loanheadhibby
12-09-2022, 06:47 PM

You shouldn't be.

12-09-2022, 06:50 PM

There's probably a dozen Hibs players I would rate above him. :wink:

12-09-2022, 06:54 PM
In my lifetime Sauzee stands up against anyone. I think it’s easy to forget how good he actually was. He could have played for the Rangers and Celtic teams of the time and they were good teams.

Was just a kid when Gazza was playing but remember him being unbelievable. Remember the game the season we got relegated when we were winning 3-1 and got beat 4-3. He scored an unbelievable free kick and I remember it really well because I was right behind the goals in line with where it went in. It was like he just decided that we’d had our fun but it was time for him to start playing.

12-09-2022, 06:58 PM
Probably Kenny Dalgleish that I've seen in the flesh.

Gordon Smith that I've researched a fair bit on.

David_D
12-09-2022, 07:27 PM
Laudrup for me. Thought he was a brilliant player.

12-09-2022, 07:38 PM
In my lifetime Sauzee stands up against anyone. I think it’s easy to forget how good he actually was. He could have played for the Rangers and Celtic teams of the time and they were good teams.

Was just a kid when Gazza was playing but remember him being unbelievable. Remember the game the season we got relegated when we were winning 3-1 and got beat 4-3. He scored an unbelievable free kick and I remember it really well because I was right behind the goals in line with where it went in. It was like he just decided that we’d had our fun but it was time for him to start playing.

He won that free kick for elbowing a Hibs player in the face

loanheadhibby
12-09-2022, 10:16 PM
Laudrup for me. Thought he was a brilliant player.

Totally agree, all class.

Donegal Hibby
12-09-2022, 11:13 PM
Goram ,sauzee and Larsson Can't pick which one all absolute quality players!! Imagine having all 3 in our team:greengrin

13-09-2022, 07:05 AM
I remember growing up in the sixties and asking the op’s question to friends family members and later in the seventies auld guys in pubs and the answer no matter allegiance was always without hesitation

‘ Gordon Smith son!’

13-09-2022, 08:53 AM
Probably Jimmy Johnstone, based on entertainment value.

happiehibbie
13-09-2022, 11:32 AM
Great question

Steve Archiebald
Gazza
Laudrup
Kenny Dalgliesh

But my pick would be Pat Stanton

happiehibbie
13-09-2022, 11:33 AM
I remember growing up in the sixties and asking the op’s question to friends family members and later in the seventies auld guys in pubs and the answer no matter allegiance was always without hesitation

‘ Gordon Smith son!’

Yes I agree but did not see him play

13-09-2022, 12:24 PM
Given I got into football in the mid to late 80s and don’t want to choose anyone I didn’t see play, I remember Paul McStay being a fantastic player on his day.

Every now and again you get a midfielder who just wants to orchestrate everything and he was one.

As good as Henrik Larsson clearly was, he never did that much against us (unlike Pierre van Hooijdonk who dropped free kicks in against us regularly).

13-09-2022, 01:15 PM

Didn't Albertz also score from a free kick - an absolute grass cutting cannonball IIRC.

13-09-2022, 01:46 PM
3 or 4 already mentioned played for Old rAngers during David Murray's Cheating Years.
So i discount those mercenaries :greengrin

So many great Scots i saw play.
Its a dificult,but interesting "best player" thread/choice.

Willie Hamilton playing alongside Jim Baxter and John White would have been a marvel to see.
Feeding Denis Law and Jimmy Johnstone in a Scotland team. Sublime!
If only the Great Joe Baker had been able to play for Scotland.
Unbeatable :greengrin
"1966 and all that" might not have happened.!!

Oh my choice !
Willie Hamilton .As i saw him more often than the others.
No wall to wall games on TV then

13-09-2022, 01:50 PM
Given I got into football in the mid to late 80s and don’t want to choose anyone I didn’t see play, I remember Paul McStay being a fantastic player on his day.

Every now and again you get a midfielder who just wants to orchestrate everything and he was one.

As good as Henrik Larsson clearly was, he never did that much against us (unlike Pierre van Hooijdonk who dropped free kicks in against us regularly).

Paul McStay was also a dirty bassa . I remember Jock Brown in commentary would always say ‘uncharacteristic foul from McStay there’ for the fiftieth time. In his mind you were either an intelligent passer of the ball or a thuggish enforcer, players like McStay who were both confused him.

13-09-2022, 02:16 PM
Paul McStay was also a dirty bassa . I remember Jock Brown in commentary would always say ‘uncharacteristic foul from McStay there’ for the fiftieth time. In his mind you were either an intelligent passer of the ball or a thuggish enforcer, players like McStay who were both confused him.

Aye
You make a good point on Paul.
He did suffer a bit at Celtic.
Playing duriing the "biscuit tin years" when Oldco did 9 in a row.
Old Fergus came to the rescue and stopped 10.

I think both Brown and Callum Mac have been up there with Paul at Celtic
Maybe even more consistant.
Although Celtic fans would likely differ. He has legend status.

13-09-2022, 02:48 PM
I remember when he ‘ retired ‘from Celtic to seek pastures new and we spoiled the party by scudding them 2-1 at Darkheid

Made him think again and he ended up staying as there was obviously still work to be done

Would have liked to have seen him play for an Arsenal Liverpool or Man United

13-09-2022, 06:01 PM
Rated John Collins above McStay, some Celtic supporting mates agree with me.

13-09-2022, 07:03 PM

if Zidane had played in Scottish football at his prime, he'd have been the best ever to do so
John McGinn is better than Zidane

The only answer is John McGinn

13-09-2022, 07:05 PM
if Zidane had played in Scottish football at his prime, he'd have been the best ever to do so
John McGinn is better than Zidane

The only answer is John McGinn

:not worth:greengrin

13-09-2022, 07:18 PM
Larsson was most successful but the players who impressed me most at easter road were Gascoigne, Laudrup and, bizarrely, Craig Bellamy!

13-09-2022, 07:20 PM
Larsson was most successful but the players who impressed me most at easter road were Gascoigne, Laudrup and, bizarrely, Craig Bellamy!

Bellamy used to torment us, such quick feet.

13-09-2022, 07:23 PM
Bellamy used to torment us, such quick feet.

Yep. I was so surprised when I saw him. Miles ahead of anyone else on the pitch. And that was the time there were some good players in both sides.

13-09-2022, 11:36 PM

He was a tremendous player, I remember watching him at Anfield playing for Burnley in the FA cup and he was a stand out. I was disappointed he went on to sign for Everton and not Liverpool.

Donegal Hibby
14-09-2022, 12:38 AM
He was a tremendous player, I remember watching him at Anfield playing for Burnley in the FA cup and he was a stand out. I was disappointed he went on to sign for Everton and not Liverpool.
Excellent player imo ,What was reason him signing for Everton over Liverpool btw?

14-09-2022, 06:39 AM
Sauzee played a whole season in midfield after we got promoted, he got moved back to sweeper the season after, when he signed that new contract instead of retiring

. ..and was only moved to sweeper as Martin McIntosh was injured.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

14-09-2022, 06:54 AM
Tom Soares.

Close thread.

14-09-2022, 07:07 AM
. ..and was only moved to sweeper as Martin McIntosh was injured.

My memory was that Sauzee was moved back at the start of 2000/01 because we went three at the back for the 3-5-2 that we played so well that season.

Our first game of that season was a Tynie, as had the last game of the previous season been. Martin McIntosh was sent off in the previous one, which saw newly signed Paul Fenwick come in a LCB due to his suspension.

McIntosh never got back in and moved on later in the season. Don’t think he ever played sweeper for us because McLeish had always played 4-4-2 in the seasons prior to 2000/01 - but I may be remembering that wrong.

To tie this in to the topic, I’m sure a big reason we signed Fenwick was because he had a superb game for Morton in one of the cups, where he was up against Larsson or Viduka (also a really top player).

14-09-2022, 07:12 AM
My memory was that Sauzee was moved back at the start of 2000/01 because we went three at the back for the 3-5-2 that we played so well that season.

Our first game of that season was a Tynie, as had the last game of the previous season been. Martin McIntosh was sent off in the previous one, which saw newly signed Paul Fenwick come in a LCB due to his suspension.

McIntosh never got back in and moved on later in the season. Don’t think he ever played sweeper for us because McLeish had always played 4-4-2 in the seasons prior to 2000/01 - but I may be remembering that wrong.

To tie this in to the topic, I’m sure a big reason we signed Fenwick was because he had a superb game for Morton in one of the cups, where he was up against Larson or Viduka (also a really top player).

That’s certainly how I remember it.

Pretty sure Gary Smith came in on a short term contract that summer and seriously exceeded expectations, becoming an important part of that side. That probably hastened McIntosh’s departure.

14-09-2022, 07:20 AM

To tie this in to the topic, I’m sure a big reason we signed Fenwick was because he had a superb game for Morton in one of the cups, where he was up against Larsson or Viduka (also a really top player).Maybe McIntosh was suspended rather than injured but it was the start of Sauzee's 2nd full season with us that he was moved to sweeper.

McLeish picked up on 352 as he had been a EUFA observer at the Euros that summer with a brief to outline Portugal's tactics. They had played a very attacking 352 in that tourney.

14-09-2022, 07:35 AM
Excellent player imo ,What was reason him signing for Everton over Liverpool btw?

Liverpool never went in for him, I always hoped they would after his performance against us.

14-09-2022, 07:37 AM
King Kenny Dalglish for me.

Disappointed to see his name spelt incorrectly in different posts above. 😀

14-09-2022, 07:40 AM
Le God’s first game as sweeper came at Tiny in the Didier Agathe game playing behind Gary Smith and Paul Fenwick playing superbly making tackles and interceptions pinging trade mark 50 yard passes to the left and to the right with what seemed like the minimum of effort

Pure class

Sheffhibee
14-09-2022, 07:51 AM
Sauzee
Larsson
Laudrup
In that order for me

14-09-2022, 09:37 AM
Maybe McIntosh was suspended rather than injured but it was the start of Sauzee's 2nd full season with us that he was moved to sweeper.

McLeish picked up on 352 as he had been a EUFA observer at the Euros that summer with a brief to outline Portugal's tactics. They had played a very attacking 352 in that tourney.

Aye, that was definitely when Sauzee was moved back. Played midfield the whole time prior to that.

14-09-2022, 09:38 AM
That’s certainly how I remember it.

Pretty sure Gary Smith came in on a short term contract that summer and seriously exceeded expectations, becoming an important part of that side. That probably hastened McIntosh’s departure.

Correct, and what he signing he was.

14-09-2022, 11:12 AM
Agree with many of the suggestions above, they were all great players.

Nowhere near the best, but one player I thought was very effective was Paul Sturrock - 109 goals in 385 appearances for Dundee United, his only senior football club.

14-09-2022, 11:24 AM
For me Jimmy Johnstone, amazing skills and only about 5ft 5in.