View Full Version : Chris Robinson (NHC)
Orourke73
11-09-2022, 03:42 PM
Sorry if posted already https://twitter.com/JamTarts/status/1568962639367127040?t=f55Ij4pff0F-Advyd1ZGGA&s=09
11-09-2022, 03:45 PM
The club is saddened to learn of the passing of former chairman and chief executive, Chris Robinson.
Everyone at Hearts' thoughts are with Chris' wife Elizabeth and their family at this time
11-09-2022, 04:46 PM
The man who brought mad Vlad into Scottish football when he sold up. Think he got a hell of a hard time towards the end of his ownership.
11-09-2022, 04:51 PM
Surprised it's not been announced on the Hearts official website yet.
11-09-2022, 05:49 PM
The man who brought mad Vlad into Scottish football when he sold up. Think he got a hell of a hard time towards the end of his ownership.
Hertz and Robinson's finances were in deep doodoo.
The anger at Chris from the fans came as to wipe out debt an option was to sell tiny and move out of town.
Chris was about to sell tiny to a house building company, iirc.
Vlad came along and saved the day :confused::greengrin
Funny that Chris got more grief from fans than the mad submariner who eventually used them,gave them it tight and ran away !
Chris, known as The Pie Man,did not get the hostility from us as did the guy he bought the club from... Mercer .
Also i understand he detested the defunct rAngers
11-09-2022, 05:54 PM
Another couple weeks’ cancellations?
11-09-2022, 06:07 PM
Basically a good Jambo who found himself in a position to buy the club and did his best. Pretty unfair vitriol he got from sections of their support
delbert
11-09-2022, 06:34 PM
The man who tried to bring his players off the field at Ibrox after their onfield indiscipline reduced them to seven players - whilst serving as the head of the SFA Disciplinary Panel !!
hibbydog
11-09-2022, 06:43 PM
Met him once. A decent bloke to be fair. He wanted what was best for his club but just saw things differently from the fans, and wasn’t able to convince others that was the way forward.
11-09-2022, 06:55 PM
Hertz and Robinson's finances were in deep doodoo.
The anger at Chris from the fans came as to wipe out debt an option was to sell tiny and move out of town.
Chris was about to sell tiny to a house building company, iirc.
Vlad came along and saved the day :confused::greengrin
Funny that Chris got more grief from fans than the mad submariner who eventually used them,gave them it tight and ran away !
Chris, known as The Pie Man,did not get the hostility from us as did the guy he bought the club from... Mercer .
Also i understand he detested the defunct rAngers
He declared Tiny as ‘not fit for purpose’ and that was that as far as the fans were concerned.
11-09-2022, 07:22 PM
He declared Tiny as ‘not fit for purpose’ and that was that as far as the fans were concerned.
Even after all those years ...some things dont change
11-09-2022, 07:25 PM
The man who tried to bring his players off the field at Ibrox after their onfield indiscipline reduced them to seven players - whilst serving as the head of the SFA Disciplinary Panel !!
I actually sympathised with him, as the ref and linesmen had clearly lost the plot.
11-09-2022, 07:49 PM
I actually sympathised with him, as the ref and linesmen had clearly lost the plot.
The linesman involved was a "top" referee as well.Graeme Allison.
He got one hearts player booked for kicking a goalpost in frustration,calling it dissent.!!
Second yellow followed,so off the player went.
He once reported a youth coach for repeat abusive language against referees.
The coach (at rangers) got a 5 year dug out ban !!
I just watched utube highlights of that game .
Chris Robinson was correct and right to be angry .
Jeffries stopped him calling the 7 players left on the park off
(big fine would have followed)
Both ref and linesman lost it.Allison in particular.
The Ibrox hordes must have loved his TV performance that day.
Was all about him,it seemed.
Herts defence weakened for next game against Celtic.
They won 1-0 !!
11-09-2022, 07:53 PM
Was it Robinson who was trying to drag their players off the park when they had 4 sent off at Ibrox?
I'm not sure if he deserved the vitriol aimed at him or not. A lot of the time what looks unfair from an outside perspective feels entirely justified to those emotionally involved.
11-09-2022, 07:54 PM
He was also the guy who raised and wasted a chunk of cash when SMG bought a stake in them. Still not sure to this day what the deal was all about. But as jacomo mentions above, the end for him was when he deemed their hovel not fit for purpose with plans to move to Murrayfield initially iirc.
I remember after their fallout sportsound used to have Robinson on one week and deans the next and they would have a dig at each other.
One week they were both on discussion hearts financial plight and deans spluttered ‘ but Chris you need to speculate to accumulate’. Robinson replied with ‘ accumulate what leslie, more debt’
11-09-2022, 07:58 PM
He was also the guy who raised and wasted a chunk of cash when SMG bought a stake in them. Still not sure to this day what the deal was all about. But as jacomo mentions above, the end for him was when he deemed their hovel not fit for purpose with plans to move to Murrayfield initially iirc.
The problem with the SMG money, IIRC, was that he then entrusted Jeffries with spending it. It seems ludicrous nowadays, but JJ was left to negotiate with players and their agents. Everyone knew Hearts had money, and screwed JJ (who had little experience in that side of things) to the wall.
11-09-2022, 08:11 PM
Story online tonight in EEN does not show Chris in a great light.
Had Vlad not come along........
it would appear they were not far away from where we were pre Mercer trying to destroy us.
11-09-2022, 08:13 PM
He was a nice guy.
11-09-2022, 08:19 PM
The problem with the SMG money, IIRC, was that he then entrusted Jeffries with spending it. It seems ludicrous nowadays, but JJ was left to negotiate with players and their agents. Everyone knew Hearts had money, and screwed JJ (who had little experience in that side of things) to the wall.
Was that when they signed Petric etc? Sure we pumped them 3-0 at Tynie right after they spent **** loads on players..
Story online tonight in EEN does not show Chris in a great light.
Had Vlad not come along........
it would appear they were not far away from where we were pre Mercer trying to destroy us.When the Sky TV deal went south Hibs immediately started cutting their cloth to suit. Hearts carried on spending. Before they realised it they £19M in debt with very few assets and huge wage bill.
It was either move out of Tynie or turn to a money lender/launderer and he chose the latter.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
scm70nyd1973
11-09-2022, 09:23 PM
He was a nice guy.
I met him in Latvia when I was over watching Scotland. Quiet guy who was very pleasant and didn’t change his attitude to me in the slightest (and my mate) when he found out we were Hibbys. Don’t know him well but I am sad to hear this news and all I can say is RIP.
Gloucester Hibs
12-09-2022, 06:36 AM
Mind a European game where Robinson was disputing the size of the goal frame pre-match. The joke at the time was they went out on the “wee goals rule” 😁
Another couple weeks’ cancellations?
Think like most clubs when an ex chairman passes , they’ll have a minutes applause
Think like most clubs when an ex chairman passes , they’ll have a minutes applauseHope it's observed for CR. Tynie will be interesting given their track record, the fact that some of their weirder fans hate him and their latest feeble attempt.
12-09-2022, 08:02 AM
Hope it's observed for CR. Tynie will be interesting given their track record, the fact that some of their weirder fans hate him and their latest feeble attempt.
Older fans may not have good feeling, even now, for Chris.
Am not suggesting they would disrupt anything !!
I think applause rather than silence will be more likely .
You cant trust them to stay silent for a minute !
Herts were on the brink.£20m plus in debt and rising.
An eye watering amount then for any club outside the OF.
Chris would have sold tynie to a housing developer and moved to a new stadium/Murrayfield in the interim,if agreed with SRU.
Uproar!!!
He then sells to the Mad Vlad,who nearly put them out the box..
The budgie(and/or Benny Factor) saved the day.
Looking back,Robinson should have stuck to his bakery business and shunned the Mercer gadjie.
Mercer.....A narcassistic charlatan who couldn't get rid of his shares quick enough,after his money dream and plans of making a fortune from the land at and surrounding the Holy Ground fell apart.
Now he deserved the send off at tynie the Hibs fans gave him in turning their backs.
I hope when the day comes Chris gets some respect over there and they properly observe silence/applause.
Roxyhibee
12-09-2022, 08:15 AM
Incredible how Hearts fans are very selective in their opinions of Robinson. They loved that 98 cup win which they still celebrate to this day after decades without silverware - but that came at a price of ludicrously high wages for a club their size, which Robinson endorsed season after season. Then, surprise surprise - he turns to them a few years later and says they’re £20m + in debt and have to sell their ground to Cala. Then they turn on him, conveniently forgetting all the success they enjoyed in that decade on money they never had in the first place.! Shower of deluded entitled a***holes.!
Gloucester Hibs
12-09-2022, 08:39 AM
Incredible how Hearts fans are very selective in their opinions of Robinson. They loved that 98 cup win which they still celebrate to this day after decades without silverware - but that came at a price of ludicrously high wages for a club their size, which Robinson endorsed season after season. Then, surprise surprise - he turns to them a few years later and says they’re £20m + in debt and have to sell their ground to Cala. Then they turn on him, conveniently forgetting all the success they enjoyed in that decade on money they never had in the first place.! Shower of deluded entitled a***holes.!
Robinson - wins them up a cup, racks up a tonne of debt but tries to cut their cloth accordingly = bad guy
Mad Vlad - launders money through their club, racks up a mountain of debt, takes them to the brink of existence, then does a runner = sweet prince
Robinson - wins them up a cup, racks up a tonne of debt but tries to cut their cloth accordingly = bad guy
Mad Vlad - launders money through their club, racks up a mountain of debt, takes them to the brink of existence, then does a runner = sweet prince
Great summary as was OP.
12-09-2022, 12:49 PM
I didn't mind Robinson, TBH. He seemed like a much more decent person than what went before or after him at Hearts.
13-09-2022, 05:18 PM
RIP Pieman, minutes silence anyone?
Tommy75
13-09-2022, 05:29 PM
RIP Pieman, minutes silence anyone?
Three Positions Part 2
cocteautwin
13-09-2022, 07:12 PM
Bought Hearts their first trophy for many years with tens of millions of pounds. Vlad then bought the next two with many tens of millions of pounds.
Current owners haven’t won any trophies yet with their tens and tens and tens of millions of pounds.
Hibees1973
13-09-2022, 07:51 PM
Some extraordinary comments on brokeback on Robinson.
Just glanced through a few comments and there is zero, no acceptance that he compounded the debt started by Mercer which then snowballed under Romanov. Their 3 most recent Scottish Cup wins were built on a mountain of debt and corruption. It almost destroyed the club until some highly dubious practice wrote off £30 million+ of debt. Where was their benefactor at this time to morally take on/pay off this debt. He was probably sitting in the wings drawing up a new main stand. There are even some posters blaming SMG and the Bank of Scotland.
Everyone with knowledge of Scottish Football is aware of their murky financial history which defines them.
13-09-2022, 08:34 PM
I can't help thinking Lesley Dean's might have had something to do with Robinson selling the club to Vlad, but there's no way of proving it really. Just my speculation.
I can't help thinking Lesley Dean's might have had something to do with Robinson selling the club to Vlad, but there's no way of proving it really. Just my speculation.Steve Cardowney of Edinburgh Council brought the money launderer to Edinburgh.
14-09-2022, 08:44 AM
I can't help thinking Lesley Dean's might have had something to do with Robinson selling the club to Vlad, but there's no way of proving it really. Just my speculation.
Chris also it seems trusted George"fatty"Foulkes who gave Vlad his blessing.
Vlad initially promised two things.
Clear the debt.Remain at Tynecastle.
He increased the debt year by year and second promise would also have been broken, when he ran away to Russia, had Budge and others not came to the rescue.:kbacker::kbacker:
All knife edge stuff at the time.
Cossack hats and samovars soon filled Stockbridge and Morningside charity shop windows :greengrin
Edit
Vlad was unable to pull off his biggest sting.
He was refused a licence to open a branch of his bank in Edinburgh.
Had he succeede, it could be argued thousands of jambos may have lost life savings had they transferred accounts loyally to his bank.
It might also have been used as a money laundry for Russian Federation mobsters/oligarchs
14-09-2022, 09:10 AM
Steve Cardowney of Edinburgh Council brought the money launderer to Edinburgh.
Stevie got that badly wrong.
I recall giving Stevie the "jungle sign":rockin: in the Jinglin Geordie pub many years ago .
I and some others on this forum will recall Stevie was brought up in Clerry and ran about wae the Jungle boys before he moved out.:cb
He didnt like being reminded of that time of his youth.
Link below to article on vlad ...Stevie Cardownie backing Vlads move to buy major share in hertz
Stevie thought they were getting a Chelsea type owner,ala Abramovich.
Stevie along with some of his political decisions to keep himself important, got this one badly wrong.
But it was all worth it,many of them say.....in hindsight of course,as the didn't go under.
https://www.baltictimes.com/news/articles/11059/
ClermistonGreen
14-09-2022, 09:15 AM
I recall giving Stevie the "jungle sign" in the Jinglin Geordie pub many years ago .
I and some others on this forum will recall Stevie was brought up in Clerry and ran about wae the Jungle boys before he moved out.:cb
He didnt like being reminded of that time of his youth. :rockin:
Link to article ...Stevie Cardownie backing Vlads move to buy major share in hertz
He also had mair faces than the Securex clock Michael
GGTTH. 🤘
14-09-2022, 09:32 AM
GGTTH. 🤘
I was with Cooncillers John Mulvey and Jimmy Burnett that day in the Jinglin Geordie.
Stevie wisnae as "famous" then . A Cooncil rookie at the time.
John and Jimmy just had a laugh at me doing my jungle sign.
But no Stevie. Didnt want to know.
14-09-2022, 12:07 PM
GGTTH. 🤘
Securex
Was trying to remember that name yesterday when I was crossing the Drum Brae roundabout.
Thanks 😊
14-09-2022, 02:38 PM
I recall giving Stevie the "jungle sign":rockin: in the Jinglin Geordie pub many years ago .
He didnt like being reminded of that time of his youth.
Link below to article on vlad ...Stevie Cardownie backing Vlads move to buy major share in hertz
Stevie thought they were getting a Chelsea type owner,ala Abramovich.
Stevie along with some of his political decisions to keep himself important, got this one badly wrong.
But it was all worth it,many of them say.....in hindsight of course,as the didn't go under.
Spoke to Steve and Leslie Deans about Vlad when rumours about his true finances were surfacing. Both had blind faith in the man Leslie Deans more so than Steve.
Spoke to Steve and Leslie Deans about Vlad when rumours about his true finances were surfacing. Both had blind faith in the man Leslie Deans more so than Steve.Because Steve knew what he was from the start?
h1bs4life
14-09-2022, 04:46 PM
Because Steve knew what he was from the start?
Cardownie was and still is a dick.
He somehow managed to get himself onto the Hibs fans planes to Dnipro as Edinburgh council’s representative his other half was from that area and it was no doubt at taxpayers expense.
My brother knew him and been speaking to him , apparently Cardownie had to be rescued later on as drink started flowing after making disparaging comments about Hibs fans.
He tried that at a function I was at which was mainly Hibs fans. Left nameless.
14-09-2022, 06:10 PM
He took their debt from £3 million to £22 million. Sorry to hear of his death but a pedler of Jambonics. Created the opening for the Romanov years.
14-09-2022, 06:17 PM
Because Steve knew what he was from the start?
Probably but he still had blind faith in him. There were people on here posting warnings about him. That club seems to go from one financial crisis to another financial crisis.
He tried that at a function I was at which was mainly Hibs fans. Left nameless.
I was with Cooncillers John Mulvey and Jimmy Burnett that day in the Jinglin Geordie.
Stevie wisnae as "famous" then . A Cooncil rookie at the time.
John and Jimmy just had a laugh at me doing my jungle sign.
But no Stevie. Didnt want to know.
I was also friends with John and Jimmy. About 20 years ago, I came up for the Open with a colleague from the USA. I told him about Jingling Geordies and my friend who was always on his stool at the bar. At that point I hadn't been in JG for about 15 years. I walked in, hello John!! 😀 Think John was councillor for Calton and he lived on or about Easter Road.
14-09-2022, 06:44 PM
I was also friends with John and Jimmy. About 20 years ago, I came up for the Open with a colleague from the USA. I told him about Jingling Geordies and my friend who was always on his stool at the bar. At that point I hadn't been in JG for about 15 years. I walked in, hello John!! Think John was councillor for Calton and he lived on or about Easter Road.
Aye Brian
John back in the day stayed in the Colonies next to the Artisan pub iirc
Sure we all went back there after a count at Meadowbank.
I have not seen either of they two for years .
a May Day rally or Miners Gala 20 odd year ago ?
I campaigned for Jimmy Burnett in Granton/Trinity early 80s.
May Brown was his agent.
I was Ron Bs social sidekick ! Spiers Bar mostly.
Of course, they all knew your mum and dad.
Different times,eh Brian ?
14-09-2022, 06:47 PM
He took their debt from £3 million to £22 million. Sorry to hear of his death but a pedler of Jambonics. Created the opening for the Romanov years.
So true.
We were something like £19m debt ourselves of course. But we cut our cloth and took our medicine, the Jambos refused to believe they couldn’t have their cake and eat it.
Aye Brian
May Brown was his agent.
Different times,eh Brian ?That has sparked another memory.
Cardownie spoke at the Hands Off Hibs rally at ER. His take was we should move to Meadowbank if we wanted to continue as a club ie hand over the Holy Ground and give up.
Him and Ron Brown were in the Clan Tavern afterwards. Two Jambos who the Hibs fans made welcome in their local. They ended up falling out and a few slaps/fists were exchanged and Forbes picked Cardownie to chuck out.
Aye Brian
May Brown was his agent.
Different times,eh Brian ?
Sure were Michael. I really knew Jimmy B through my Dad but I knew John separately as I was living on Montgomery St at the time. I never knew Cardownie, after my time.
15-09-2022, 09:08 AM
That has sparked another memory.
Cardownie spoke at the Hands Off Hibs rally at ER. His take was we should move to Meadowbank if we wanted to continue as a club ie hand over the Holy Ground and give up.
Him and Ron Brown were in the Clan Tavern afterwards. Two Jambos who the Hibs fans made welcome in their local. They ended up falling out and a few slaps/fists were exchanged and Forbes picked Cardownie to chuck out.
I knew both of them.
Certainly Ron supported the HoH campaign,and not just because he was the MP for Leith.
He loved Leith of course, but he was not a match going jambo like Cardownie.
But he did not like Mercer and the hostile bid.
I went to a Scotland game with Ron versus the then East Germany.
Complimentary tickets from Ron's pals at the East German consulate !
Forbes chucked the right one out the pub.
Ron would have been a bigger spender !!!
Had Ron been around for our Cup win.
He would have been with crowds on the Sunday having a whisky or 3 !!
Godsahibby
15-09-2022, 11:00 AM
RIP.
Was a very decent guy despite being a jambo. Phoned my old boy after the Scottish Cup win to offer his congratulations.
16-09-2022, 05:47 AM
I knew both of them.
Certainly Ron supported the HoH campaign,and not just because he was the MP for Leith.
He loved Leith of course, but he was not a match going jambo like Cardownie.
But he did not like Mercer and the hostile bid.
I went to a Scotland game with Ron versus the then East Germany.
Complimentary tickets from Ron's pals at the East German consulate !
Forbes chucked the right one out the pub.
Ron would have been a bigger spender !!!
Had Ron been around for our Cup win.
He would have been with crowds on the Sunday having a whisky or 3 !!
Knew Ron and Cardownie from the late 70s at the Trades Council. Cardownie was at one point in the Socialist Workers Party.
16-09-2022, 11:09 AM
Knew Ron and Cardownie from the late 70s at the Trades Council. Cardownie was at one point in the Socialist Workers Party.
He loves a political party change. SWP, Labour, SNP. He now seems to be Alba.