View Full Version : Oman's Pub
10-09-2022, 08:53 PM
I read that it is closing this weekend.
Been a Craigmillar landmark for as long as I remember and while I was only ever in it a handful of times (the Whelehan bus left from there back in the day) it's sad to see it go.
Bookended with Marischal Arms in marking out Niddrie/Craigmillar, gone years ago. Had many a laugh in both, and on the Whelahan.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
10-09-2022, 09:34 PM
Today is their last day. Energy costs have seen them off. I expect many more to follow in the next few months.
10-09-2022, 09:38 PM
Was always to scared to go in to be honest.
10-09-2022, 09:39 PM
I was told a great story one night about Omans. The boy was working on his own behind the bar. He went to change a barrel and some punters stood on the cellar door which was in the middle of the pub and rifled the place. Played darts there many a time
Was always to scared to go in to be honest.A had a pal who moved to Craigmillar after his divorce. Wasn't all that happy. After living there for 10 years with Omans as his local he came the conclusion that the people from that area are among the friendliest and most generous on the planet.
10-09-2022, 09:50 PM
I read that it is closing this weekend.
Been a Craigmillar landmark for as long as I remember and while I was only ever in it a handful of times (the Whelehan bus left from there back in the day) it's sad to see it go.
I was in it for a few pints yesterday afternoon, myself and my old man used to take my Grandad there for a few pints every Thursday night up until about 30 years ago.
10-09-2022, 11:05 PM
I was told a great story one night about Omans. The boy was working on his own behind the bar. He went to change a barrel and some punters stood on the cellar door which was in the middle of the pub and rifled the place. Played darts there many a time
Great story...
Just_Jimmy
10-09-2022, 11:08 PM
I was told a great story one night about Omans. The boy was working on his own behind the bar. He went to change a barrel and some punters stood on the cellar door which was in the middle of the pub and rifled the place. Played darts there many a timeProper Mark Twain stuff that.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
10-09-2022, 11:45 PM
I'm scared driving past it.
11-09-2022, 05:22 AM
It's a decent enough pub. Does what it says on the tin. Bit rough at times but keep yourself to yourself and no one will bother you. Sad to see it go.
Leaves Niddrie and Craigmillar without a pub now. The Jewel Miners has seen a surge in membership in recent times, myself included, because of that.
Bridge hibs
11-09-2022, 05:48 AM
It's a decent enough pub. Does what it says on the tin. Bit rough at times but keep yourself to yourself and no one will bother you. Sad to see it go.
Leaves Niddrie and Craigmillar without a pub now. The Jewel Miners has seen a surge in membership in recent times myself included, because of that.The hearts club is the only drinking establishment in that area now. Think the Jewel went through a management overhaul after being poorly run for a long time, Im sure prior to that there was also a threat of switching the lights off for the last time too
I believe developers have been trying to get their hands on that land for some time but they were always fought off. Jewel still own the cottage, the old gym/Edina changing rooms that I believe were part of the original institution and possibly the Scaffolding yard beside that too
11-09-2022, 06:10 AM
Yip, never had any bother all the times I've been there.
Stairway 2 7
11-09-2022, 06:49 AM
It's an alright we pub used to go in when meeting a mate. Most scheme pubs in edin are dying a death sadly. Just about every boozer I used to go in leith walk with my mates has been yupified
Bridge hibs
11-09-2022, 07:03 AM
It's an alright we pub used to go in when meeting a mate. Most scheme pubs in edin are dying a death sadly. Just about every boozer I used to go in leith walk with my mates has been yupifiedOr closed for good, that trend started many years ago and pubs are now closing at a rate. I read an article recently about the Roseleaf in Leith where the owner was contemplating either raising prices to over £15 a pint, where he would lose all custom, laying off staff or closing the doors early due to the energy price hikes (apologies if not exactly accurate as I just had a quick glance at the article)
To be honest its a pub Ive never frequented even in its past and colourful life as the Black Swan, but I would think his prices probably arent a kick in the arse off £15 a pint already 🤣
Hutchyhibby would probably know as he is our resident pub guy 😀
11-09-2022, 07:08 AM
Drove past it just last week on way back from work as Holyrood Park was closed, didn't realise it was to close. I remember meeting you (Dave) a few times outside when going to games with the Whelehan bus back in the day. Must have been about 1985/86.
11-09-2022, 08:02 AM
Or closed for good, that trend started many years ago and pubs are now closing at a rate. I read an article recently about the Roseleaf in Leith where the owner was contemplating either raising prices to over £15 a pint, where he would lose all custom, laying off staff or closing the doors early due to the energy price hikes (apologies if not exactly accurate as I just had a quick glance at the article)
To be honest its a pub Ive never frequented even in its past and colourful life as the Black Swan, but I would think his prices probably arent a kick in the arse off £15 a pint already 🤣
I don't think I've ever visited it, sounds like it might be a bit too rich for my tastes! Heading down that way today though I doubt we'll be paying it a visit.
He's here!
11-09-2022, 08:12 AM
Which bit of that story is great?
Bridge hibs
11-09-2022, 08:31 AM
Which bit of that story is great?That he played darts there ? Real darts with jaggy points thrown at a board as opposed to the patrons 😵
11-09-2022, 08:35 AM
Few memories coming back here, back in the day we had magdalene and greendykes connections and part of our formative years drinking used to include occasional trips round there, never had any issues but like a few pubs we used in Porty, for example it was a place you didn't misbehave in.
Had to go into the White House in Craigmillar a few times and found that far more intimidating as an outsider.
Bridge hibs
11-09-2022, 08:35 AM
I don't think I've ever visited it, sounds like it might be a bit too rich for my tastes! Heading down that way today though I doubt we'll be paying it a visit.My Wife visited it a few years ago but more for high tea rather than drinks, would probably have been a cracking pub in the day when the area was populated with tenements and local workers from the animal feeds place next door, dockers and workers from the tea factory
11-09-2022, 08:40 AM
Had to go into the White House in Craigmillar a few times and found that far more intimidating as an outsider.
Couldn't agree more.
11-09-2022, 08:41 AM
My Wife visited it a few years ago but more for high tea rather than drinks, would probably have been a cracking pub in the day when the area was populated with tenements and local workers from the animal feeds place next door, dockers and workers from the tea factory
Aye, I'm definitely not a high tea sort of guy! 😀
11-09-2022, 08:42 AM
Few memories coming back here, back in the day we had magdalene and greendykes connections and part of our formative years drinking used to include occasional trips round there, never had any issues but like a few pubs we used in Porty, for example it was a place you didn't misbehave in.
Whitehouse was definitely the roughest of the lot. Recall popping my head in there once looking for someone and quickly popped back out again. And that was when I lived locally!
11-09-2022, 08:47 AM
Couldn't agree more.Just talking about it just now and having a wee laugh.
In the days before mobile phones etc my uncle used to go missing for a few days when he had cash and my other uncle from greendykes would sometimes drive around the pubs he wasn't banned from to find him.
Got him out the White House more than once.
11-09-2022, 09:01 AM
Just talking about it just now and having a wee laugh.
In the days before mobile phones etc my uncle used to go missing for a few days when he had cash and my other uncle from greendykes would sometimes drive around the pubs he wasn't banned from to find him.
Got him out the White House more than once.
The first time I ever went I was about 17, I got within about 2 yds of the door as a patron was just leaving.
"You're no going in here son are ye?"
"Aye" was my reply, "Oh well, good luck"!
Must've been about halfway through my first pint when 2 women in their 40s were rolling about the floor fighting without anyone in the bar batting an eyelid.
cammy1969
11-09-2022, 09:04 AM
My late uncle was barman in omans years ago
Bridge hibs
11-09-2022, 09:16 AM
Just found out my Wifes Cousins Grandparents owned or ran Omans around 50 odd years ago (Brisbane was their surname) I think then it may have been known as the Duddingston Arms back then and possibly brewery owned and they managed it, they were originally from Falkirk
11-09-2022, 10:19 AM
Whitehouse was definitely the roughest of the lot. Recall popping my head in there once looking for someone and quickly popped back out again. And that was when I lived locally!
remember the resident Alsation that used to live on the roof of the Castle Tavern on Craigmillar Road and would bark at everyone that walked by.
11-09-2022, 10:25 AM
The first time I ever went I was about 17, I got within about 2 yds of the door as a patron was just leaving.
"You're no going in here son are ye?"
"Aye" was my reply, "Oh well, good luck"!
Must've been about halfway through my first pint when 2 women in their 40s were rolling about the floor fighting without anyone in the bar batting an eyelid.Fights were not unusual there, my uncle got a hiding in the place once and was carried out. He went back and it all just carried on as if nothing happened.
Definitely remember the big dug at the Castle barking at folk as well.[emoji16]
Both pubs were pretty close to the police station as well.
BarneyBreslin
11-09-2022, 10:40 AM
Or closed for good, that trend started many years ago and pubs are now closing at a rate. I read an article recently about the Roseleaf in Leith where the owner was contemplating either raising prices to over £15 a pint, where he would lose all custom, laying off staff or closing the doors early due to the energy price hikes (apologies if not exactly accurate as I just had a quick glance at the article)
Here's the actual article.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/people/cost-of-living-edinburgh-pubs-forced-to-raise-price-of-a-pint-and-cut-opening-hours-over-soaring-energy-bills-3832375
11-09-2022, 11:45 AM
remember the resident Alsation that used to live on the roof of the Castle Tavern on Craigmillar Road and would bark at everyone that walked by.
Aye, that dog was legendary 😂
11-09-2022, 12:39 PM
A had a pal who moved to Craigmillar after his divorce. Wasn't all that happy. After living there for 10 years with Omans as his local he came the conclusion that the people from that area are among the friendliest and most generous on the planet.
I use to take my grandson to football training up from Omans. Calvary Park.
I always went in for a couple o pints while he trained. On matchdays too.
Did that for a while and even the young team said hi ,as my face became known:greengrin
Nearest pub now for drinkers in that area will be The Grey Horse,i guess.
Bridge hibs
11-09-2022, 12:55 PM
I use to take my grandson to football training up from Omans. Calvary Park.
I always went in for a couple o pints while he trained. On matchdays too.
Did that for a while and even the young team said hi ,as my face became known:greengrin
Nearest pub now for drinkers in that area will be The Grey Horse,i guess.Sheep Heid or hearts club Mick
Many years ago a pub I frequented started a sunday league team. Our first game was away to Omans.
We had our squad of 13 players and a manager. They had a small support and an impressive array of dogs. Quite intimidating as we kicked off. We quickly went two down before I somehow pulled a goal back and the game got a bit tasty before a barrage of goals took the pressure off.
We lost 12-2 in the end and the highlight was one of the opposing fans offering our goalie a joint.
Later that season we had a cup tie against a team from a higher division. Forget which pub but it was one with a reputation from gilmerton. We led for a long time before losing 3-2 with two,late goals. Our manager had been goading their central midfielder who after some commnet stormed over and said have you got a guid dentist. Then nutted him and got sent off.
Highwayman
11-09-2022, 01:39 PM
Used to live in Craigmillar when I was a young boy.
My mother told us not to go near pubs like Omans and The White House as bad men drank there.
Of course we always did what our mothers told us !!!
One of the regular highlights was watching the patrons of The White House coming out to play pitch and toss as it usually involved full blooded fights as there was always a difference of opinion.Better than watching the tv.
Sorry to hear about Omans closing.Another good drinking man’s pub gone.
11-09-2022, 02:44 PM
Sheep Heid or hearts club Mick
Aye
Think i would opt for The Horse if i lived over that way
I know a few in there
Hibbys and tims
Getting on though:greengrin
Aye
I know a few in there
Hibbys and tims
Getting on though:greengrinI don't know what the situation is now but for a few years the Hearts Club was run by Hibbys. Grey Horse isn't exactly local, just handy for a pint on the way back from town.
Bridge hibs
11-09-2022, 02:56 PM
I don't know what the situation is now but for a few years the Hearts Club was run by Hibbys. Grey Horse isn't exactly local, just handy for a pint on the way back from town.
Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkLoads of hibbys frequented that club too, I remember going in with a jambo colleague and Keith Wrights Mum served us at the bar
Bridge hibs
11-09-2022, 02:58 PM
Aye
I know a few in there
Hibbys and tims
Getting on though:greengrin
Think a few of the old school Niddries, particularly the celtic fraternity frequented the Grapes after the demise of their locals
Loads of hibbys frequented that club too, I remember going in with a jambo colleague and Keith Wrights Mum served us at the barUsed to go to the Chrismas parties as a nipper. Great club.
12-09-2022, 11:56 AM
Remember being at a cup final and seeing an Oman Hibs flag listening to the radio at the game and the commentator saying that some Hibs fans had travelled from Oman for the game Riyaly
12-09-2022, 12:04 PM
Remember being at a cup final and seeing an Oman Hibs flag listening to the radio at the game and the commentator saying that some Hibs fans had travelled from Oman for the game.
Oh Man! Thats a fair trek.
I heard there were some Arabs from Dundee at the game as well.:greengrin
12-09-2022, 12:10 PM
I never went in, and only ever seen it during day hours where it was perhaps less lively than it can get but it always seemed more run down/quiet than edgy.
There was usually a mobility scooter parked up whenever I passed (predicting as such became a game) - hopefully he/she has found a new local!
19-09-2022, 07:21 PM
My auntie and uncle ran the karaoke in Oman's for many years during the 90s and 00s. I once had to nip and drop some kit off for them, just as Happy Howden was finishing his set!
20-09-2022, 06:57 PM
My auntie and uncle ran the karaoke in Oman's for many years during the 90s and 00s. I once had to nip and drop some kit off for them, just as Happy Howden was finishing his set!
As long as he wasn't gripping the mantlepiece
21-09-2022, 10:37 AM
That was the White hoose
21-09-2022, 10:45 AM
That was the White hoose
Bridge hibs
21-09-2022, 10:50 AM
That was the White hoosePlus the cellar hatch in the Whitehoose is behind the bar, I still have the scars to prove it as I fell down it many years ago when I went in to assess the basement for a cellar lift installation😵
Not sure about Omans as have never been in the place
08-04-2023, 05:10 PM
I see Omans reopened yesterday.
stuart-farquhar
10-04-2023, 01:42 PM
Think a few of the old school Niddries, particularly the celtic fraternity frequented the Grapes after the demise of their locals
That " fraternity" funnily enough didn't really exist till '67. There was one guy who was nicknamed "celtic" before but that was about it that I ever came across. ( He was in the old parlance a bit Dolly Dimple. )Those were the days eh!.
That " fraternity" funnily enough didn't really exist till '67. There was one guy who was nicknamed "celtic" before but that was about it that I ever came across. ( He was in the old parlance a bit Dolly Dimple. )Those were the days eh!.I always thought the celtic fans from craigmillar were the people who were moved from Greenock postWW2. Quite a few niddrie/craigmillar families had Greenock roots.
Stairway 2 7
10-04-2023, 02:02 PM
I always thought the celtic fans from craigmillar were the people who were moved from Greenock postWW2. Quite a few niddrie/craigmillar families had Greenock roots.
Surely they would be Morton fans then no? Nowt worse than Edinburgh old firm fans
Bridge hibs
10-04-2023, 02:06 PM
I always thought the celtic fans from craigmillar were the people who were moved from Greenock postWW2. Quite a few niddrie/craigmillar families had Greenock roots.
Not sure about Greenock but there are two big families with Irish backgrounds who came from travelling stock (my Wifes relatives) all celtic fans and used to run the Craigmillar buses, still do I think
I know from personal friends that their parents, who I also knew, were evacuated to Criagmilar from Greenock. Some of them were Morton fans as well.
Not sure about Greenock but there are two big families with Irish backgrounds who came from travelling stock (my Wifes relatives) all celtic fans and used to run the Craigmillar buses, still do I thinkYeah, it's all mixed sets of people now and was by the 70s/80s. Only went on it once. To see Danny McGrains testimonial.
stuart-farquhar
10-04-2023, 03:16 PM
Not sure about Greenock but there are two big families with Irish backgrounds who came from travelling stock (my Wifes relatives) all celtic fans and used to run the Craigmillar buses, still do I think
I suppose travelling to Glasgow made some sort of sense then. No other teams nearby with any connection., however tenuous. But I digress in to my own dislike of the Weegie worship.
10-04-2023, 03:34 PM
The Grapes was overrun with Celtic fans when they won The League Cup, about 5 minutes after the final whistle they had mostly all departed, must be tedious winning all those trophies. 🙄
10-04-2023, 03:44 PM
I know from personal friends that their parents, who I also knew, were evacuated to Criagmilar from Greenock. Some of them were Morton fans as well.
My Mum's family came from Ireland to Greenock to Craigmillar. Pre WWII though.