View Full Version : Football Cancelled

Still Smiling
09-09-2022, 09:46 PM
Anyone else having problems posting views on the cancelled football?

09-09-2022, 09:49 PM
The threads have all been closed do expect this one will be as well

Still Smiling
09-09-2022, 10:13 PM

Why? And by who?

09-09-2022, 10:19 PM
Why? And by who?

Whom. By whom.
We did this last term, boy. Keep up.

09-09-2022, 10:22 PM
Whom. By whom.
We did this last term, boy. Keep up.

The Romans they go house?

09-09-2022, 10:26 PM
The Romans they go house?

And boom....

We're back on the Latin. LapsedHibee will be ecstatic

Romani ite domum, sir?

09-09-2022, 10:34 PM
Conjugate the verb, ‘Levein’

ZitellZeTime
09-09-2022, 10:38 PM
Why? And by who?

The Admins, When there is a padlock symbol beside a thread it means its locked and can't add any more comments.

Was at 3 pages this morning. I haven't looked but I imagine it's because people arguing about whether it should be cancelled because of the Queen etc, many more pages now. I normally like looking at the locked threads as get a wee bit entertainment but I've heard enough about her death already and going to hear more over the next however many days of mourning there is.

The Rugby and Cricket are keeping things running, I don't watch either. Going to be a boring weekend, was looking forward to the Shields v Marshall in the boxing but they've postponed that until October 15th too.

I thought it was maybe going ahead as they did a weigh in behind closed doors after the Queen had died but announced today its postponed.

The boxers have camps for a set amount of time to come out of it in peak condition physically and mentally, postponing the fight for about a month be a bit dodgy as if they get back into camp they run the risk of burning themselves out and if they don't they will put on weight and have to do a second weight cut, that's for all the fighters on the card. Wasn't the promotions that cancelled that it was the BBofC as a mark of respect for the queen aparently. Think they should have took the all the fighters health into consideration too and did something like a special tribute to the queen before it etc. I'd imagine in London people would be respectful and not act like the jambos last night.Thousands had already travelled to London from even outwith the UK, no way theyre getting refunded on anything other than a ticket. Still had part of the upper bowl to sell but attendance will probably be less in a months time than it would have been tomorrow.

Would have been the same here as the SFA would have had a choice and im pissed off but at same time she just died in Scotland, Celtic were due to play at home. Can imagine the scenes there with a full house and it would probably be all over media outlets making Scottish Football look worse than it already does. still ***** though.

I don't watch Rugby or Cricket

10-09-2022, 12:26 AM

You're probably right.

I read through the thread which has been closed. Probably ~95% of folk were questioning why the Hibs game and football has been cancelled, whereas other sports are continuing. I didn't read any disrespectful posts, just folk expressing a view either way.

The subject was a valid football matter. Quite sad we can't debate it. It seems that the world has been taken over by snowflakes who are desperate to be offended if the opinion being expressed doesn't fit in with an established viewpoint.

Sad days indeed.

10-09-2022, 12:29 AM
You're probably right.

I read through the thread which has been closed. Probably ~95% of folk were questioning why the Hibs game and football has been cancelled, whereas other sports are continuing. I didn't read any disrespectful posts, just folk expressing a view either way.

The subject was a valid football matter. Quite sad we can't debate it. It seems that the world has been taken over by snowflakes who are desperate to be offended if the opinion being expressed doesn't fit in with an established viewpoint.

Sad days indeed.

Aye, think the mods have been pretty harsh in deleting threads etc the past day or so. Valid talking points but removed anyway.

10-09-2022, 12:41 AM
I was previously against the football being called off - but on reflection if all the matches went ahead there would surely have been some disrespects of minute's silences occuring around the country which might deny the Jambos their deserved title of single most embarassing minute's silence of the year.

10-09-2022, 03:16 AM
Too much new debate and not enough Newell threads.

HNA12
10-09-2022, 04:27 AM
You're probably right.

Sad days indeed.

Aye, think the mods have been pretty harsh in deleting threads etc the past day or so. Valid talking points but removed anyway.

Nothing was removed, threads were closed with an explanation as to why.

We run a football forum here yet we are having to spend our valuable spare time dealing with reported posts etc about purely political matters. Instead of taking a dig at us maybe you could volunteer to run the site yourselves.