09-09-2022, 11:09 AM
Pish
09-09-2022, 11:09 AM
Honestly really pissed off at this.
Paulie Walnuts
09-09-2022, 11:12 AM
Absolutely ridiculous.
What a load of nonsense that statement is. "FOLLOWING MEETINGS THIS MORNING........"
What they really meant to say is "We waited to see what they did in England and then did exactly the same".
EGL2000
09-09-2022, 11:12 AM
Not surprised but really can't understand it.
09-09-2022, 11:13 AM
If they're stopping leisure activities then they should be stopping work too.
The Baldmans Comb
09-09-2022, 11:15 AM
The English were always going to cancel so this should be no surprise to anyone on the planet that Scotland must do exactly the same.
Is work cancelled as well or is it just leisure activities.
09-09-2022, 11:15 AM
Absolutely no reason to stop the matches this week end. They could have had a minutes silence/ applause this week end, and cancelled the games next week end when the funeral is due.
Absolutely radge.
09-09-2022, 11:17 AM
Feel sorry for all the zero hour workers that depend on football at the weekends for a days pay. It's annoying for me but it won't damage me financially anyway (unless I cannot make the reschedules fixture). I hope this won't cause all those effected too much harm.
Absolutely ***** and unnecessary.
Was really looking forward to tomorrow.
**** off man, absolute bollocks.
The Captain....
09-09-2022, 11:19 AM
Utterly ridiculous.
How many days/weeks of this ****ing nonsense will we have to put up with.
Sent from my SM-A035G using Tapatalk
09-09-2022, 11:19 AM
The correct decision.
09-09-2022, 11:20 AM
Completely pointless.
You can work all week but when you're not working you must mourn?! Should we shut all pubs, restaurants, other leisure facilities etc?
**** all those who've spent money and those whose jobs are dependant on sport being on over the weekend I guess...
09-09-2022, 11:21 AM
When can this game be played? Weekend of the League Cup final perhaps assuming Dundee Utd don't make the final. We've sold over 1400 tickets, if this game gets played on a midweek then the crowd will suffer and fans who can't make it will not be refunded on tickets. We will have an even bigger problem if they decide to postpone next weeks matches as well.
BobMilne
09-09-2022, 11:21 AM
Big pile of horse manure!!!
09-09-2022, 11:22 AM
They're going to call of the kids football as well aren't they?
Its actually funny.
green with envy
09-09-2022, 11:22 AM
The correct decision.
Why?
09-09-2022, 11:23 AM
Managing a Bar I’ll have to reevaluate my weekend…
Paulie Walnuts
When can this game be played? Weekend of the League Cup final perhaps assuming Dundee Utd don't make the final. We've sold over 1400 tickets, if this game gets played on a midweek then the crowd will suffer and fans who can't make it will not be refunded on tickets. We will have an even bigger problem if they decide to postpone next weeks matches as well.
Fans will be refunded if they can’t make it.
Fans won’t be refunded for pre booked trains, hotels etc though which is where this absolutely pointless decision becomes a farce.
What’s to be gained from stopping the football? What is disrespectful about football still being on?
JamesHFC
Are we able to play games when the CL is on? If so perhaps the first or second week of October.
09-09-2022, 11:24 AM
I was going to order a pizza and have a couple of beers tonight after work. Think i'll ban myself from that. Enjoyment obviously not allowed now. We must mourn.
stuart-farquhar
09-09-2022, 11:24 AM
Well it's probably fair. Instead of Tannadice I'm going shopping, have a nice lunch and in the evening attend a theatre. Probably have a couple of cocktails after that in a nightclub. Football really only got in the way anyway of a fabulous day out.
09-09-2022, 11:26 AM
Ridiculous decision - the government even said it was fine for the games to go ahead.
Still have to work, but can't do anything fun.
HarpyHibby
09-09-2022, 11:27 AM
Scottish Amateur FA have now announced all weekend fixtures are off as well. What an absolute ****ing farce.
09-09-2022, 11:28 AM
Rugby will continue as normal, with the appropriate silences observed. So why not football?
09-09-2022, 11:29 AM
Are we able to play games when the CL is on? If so perhaps the first or second week of October.
I don't know if domestic fixtures can take place at the same time as a champs league game if it involves clubs from the same league. Utd play in the LC on the 18th/19th Oct, I would hope if they do get knocked out we could play our game on final weekend so at least its the Saturday when most can make it.
Fans won’t be refunded for pre booked trains, hotels etc though which is where this absolutely pointless decision becomes a farce.
What’s to be gained from stopping the football? What is disrespectful about football still being on?
Im looking at this thread from my office - why is that less disrespectful than playing football?
I really don't get it - the day of the funeral would be understandable and a mins silence/applause for games around it but out with that it just seems pretty non sensical to me
It feels like we are being told no leisure activities should be allowed as you must be sad
Its all a bit strange IMO
Why?
Why not?
Puritanical nonsense
09-09-2022, 11:30 AM
Scottish Amateur FA have now announced all weekend fixtures are off as well. What an absolute ****ing farce.
LunasBoots
For a women that didn't want a whole load of fuss we are certainly making alot
Ive already paid for flights and hotel for the Dons game hope tae F its not called off aswell
Lee Marvin
09-09-2022, 11:31 AM
Why not?
There are plenty of reasons for 'why not' already outlined on this thread.
Interested to here your reasons in retort?
NC1875
Meanwhile, every radio station and tv station will talk about it 24/7 and there is no escape from it with sports etc cancelled.
It’s an absolute joke.
Thank ****** I’m going to see Kevin Bridges tonight, suppose there’s still time for them to cancel that.
Are we allowed to laugh ?
Must be nice to live in a sane country
hibeg
09-09-2022, 11:35 AM
Rugby will continue as normal, with the appropriate silences observed. So why not football?
I would have went to watch Musselburgh in the Premiership but all games are off :confused:
Helensburghhibs
09-09-2022, 11:39 AM
Joke decision. This country is outdated by about 40 years and so out of touch with the majority
andyf5
09-09-2022, 11:40 AM
Ive already paid for flights and hotel for the Dons game hope tae F its not called off aswell
Funeral looks likely to be the Monday or Sunday.so you should be fine.
Chorley Hibee
Bank of England cancel the announcement of interest rate rise until period of mourning has ceased.
This country is absolutely nuts. 🤣
hhibs
There are plenty of reasons for 'why not' already outlined on this thread.
Interested to here your reasons in retort?
Me too,it is a nonsense.
09-09-2022, 11:41 AM
Disgraceful decision.
This country is absolutely ****ed
He's here!
09-09-2022, 11:42 AM
The correct decision.
I think so too.
09-09-2022, 11:43 AM
Funeral looks likely to be the Monday or Sunday.so you should be fine.
Might as well make it the Sunday so we can all be sad at the weekend and then back to work on Monday.
Zambernardi1875
09-09-2022, 11:43 AM
Is it only horse racing and football cancelled or all sport
hhibs
09-09-2022, 11:44 AM
Bank of England cancel the announcement of interest rate rise until period of mourning has ceased.
This country is absolutely nuts. 🤣
FFS this UK thingy is well broken,maybe not so bad though as everything else in the economy and the community is going so swimmingly.
09-09-2022, 11:45 AM
Daft decision but the whole country is so screwed up so not in the least bit surprising.
Cheers Liz.
09-09-2022, 11:45 AM
Might as well make it the Sunday so we can all be sad at the weekend and then back to work on Monday.
Will the polis allow the football to go ahead the weekend of the funeral?
Canny see it
09-09-2022, 11:46 AM
Ive just lost a small fortune on non refundable train tickets
09-09-2022, 11:48 AM
That this is all outdated and society's moved on is anither argument really, but folk can't really be that surprised? It's a national period of mourning and planned in the finest detail for years - of course sport was going to be off, of course the BBC's going to be wall-to-wall coverage, none of this is an OTT on the hood response.
Absolute nonsense decision. Life should continue as normal and if the sycophants want to mourn they should be free to do so.
Just_Jimmy
Whilst it doesn't impact me as I wasn't going this weekend, it's hardly unexpected.
People will obviously complain and question it but can anyone hand on heart say they didn't expect games to be off when the Queen passed?
I don't think anyone could.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Berwickhibby
09-09-2022, 11:50 AM
I think so too.
As do I
09-09-2022, 11:51 AM
That this is all outdated and society's moved on is anither argument really, but folk can't really be that surprised? It's a national period of mourning and planned in the finest detail for years - of course sport was going to be off, of course the BBC's going to be wall-to-wall coverage, none of this is an OTT on the hood response.
Of course it's OTT, hundreds of thousands of low income people will be out of pocket as a result of this
hibsforeurope
The weekends rugby fixtures were cancelled by the time we had finished training last night. total farce, work/train all week for no end result.
Utterly pathetic decision, though expected.
Only good thing is that such enforced "grieving" will encourage more people to question the whole nonsense of elevating some human beings to greater importance than others, on hereditary grounds!
Zambernardi1875
09-09-2022, 11:52 AM
As do I
Where’s cilla black with surprise surprise
The weekends rugby fixtures were cancelled by the time we had finished training last night. total farce, work/train all week for no end result.
No, no you have it all wrong. Use your new found free time to quietly reflect on her majesty's well lived life and give thanks for all she and the institution did.
Ridiculous.
Steven79
09-09-2022, 11:53 AM
Whilst it doesn't impact me as I wasn't going this weekend, it's hardly unexpected.
People will obviously complain and question it but can anyone hand on heart say they didn't expect games to be off when the Queen passed?
I don't think anyone could.
Sent from my SM-G991B using TapatalkKids aren't even allowed to play either which is ridiculous.
School is still open but don't you dare have fun with your mates at the weekend.
It's not about respect or a lack of It's just about control and trying to force people that just want to get on with their lives to do something they don't want to do.
Also what about all those people that were working at these events?
It's not as if money is tight or anything at the minute for people.
It's like living in f#####g North Korea.
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
09-09-2022, 11:53 AM
I would have went to watch Musselburgh in the Premiership but all games are off :confused:
Maybe worth arranging a 25 a side game against hearts supporters on the meadows tomorrow. See if the parky will chase you off. 😉
Steven79
09-09-2022, 11:54 AM
Of course it's OTT, hundreds of thousands of low income people will be out of pocket as a result of thisYeah but the plebs should be at home (with nothing on as they can't afford it) and mourn.
Their own fault that they weren't born into privilege.
Of course it's OTT, hundreds of thousands of low income people will be out of pocket as a result of this
Hundreds of thousands of clearly unimportant, insignificant people... just like the person whose funeral I'm attending tomorrow morning.
Steven79
Utterly pathetic decision, though expected.
Only good thing is that such enforced "grieving" will encourage more people to question the whole nonsense of elevating some human beings to greater importance than others, on hereditary grounds!Let's bloody hope so!
Steven79
09-09-2022, 11:55 AM
Hundreds of thousands of clearly unimportant, insignificant people... just like the person whose funeral I'm attending tomorrow morning.They don't matter mate.
Just grunts that should be happy to be subjects.
09-09-2022, 11:57 AM
The Queen herself wanted Scotland to play Belarus on the occasion of Diana's funeral
Mind you, she maybe wanted a distraction from the "cause of car crash" discussion back then
HIBS NUTS
09-09-2022, 11:58 AM
Kids aren't even allowed to play either which is ridiculous.
School is still open but don't you dare have fun with your mates at the weekend.
It's not about respect or a lack of It's just about control and trying to force people that just want to get on with their lives to do something they don't want to do.
Im hating this as much as anyone, but i recently watched a 60 minutes documentary on life in north korea.
Starvation and forced labour is mandatory.
horrific country, we are nothing like north korea.
09-09-2022, 11:59 AM
I find the English decision baffling to be honest. The official guidance pretty much gave them the green light to keep games on and yet they cancel "as a mark of respect"... to "join with those in mourning".
Why not celebrate her life rather than this faux grief.
Completely predictable that Scotland just follows whatever English football decides.
09-09-2022, 12:01 PM
Oh well, Firestick it is for foreign matches.
itslegaltender
09-09-2022, 12:01 PM
Utter bollocks
09-09-2022, 12:02 PM
Typo in my post, sorry, meant 'off the hook'.
Course it's OTT, but it was always going to be.
Nitten
09-09-2022, 12:09 PM
The correct decision.
Nonsense, just more propaganda and deflection from real issues affecting the country. Simple minutes silence would have more than sufficed.
09-09-2022, 12:10 PM
Farcical, what we meant to do at weekend without football , sit an d mourn apparently
09-09-2022, 12:13 PM
FFS. Totally unnecessary.:grr:
Might as well fire down the boozer and get blootered. Nothing else for it.
I can't wait for my weekend of mourning. Exactly what I need after a week of knocking my pan in at work.
Liam978
09-09-2022, 12:15 PM
I find the English decision baffling to be honest. The official guidance pretty much gave them the green light to keep games on and yet they cancel "as a mark of respect"... to "join with those in mourning".
Why not celebrate her life rather than this faux grief.
Completely predictable that Scotland just follows whatever English football decides.
I think her Majesty would have probably wanted sport to continue, that's the kind of lady she was and i for one am proud to have served under her. However i feel the SFA felt duty bound to potpone as a mark of respect being that she was and is the patron of Scottish footbal. RIP.
09-09-2022, 12:16 PM
I don't necessarily agree with this decision, as I said last night on another thread I personally feel we should only be cancelling events on the day of the actual funeral.
However this was always going to be the decision, there was no chance that any football would be played this weekend after yesterday's news.
If nothing else it stops Celtic fans embarrassing themselves as the Green Brigade would have inevitably planned some disruption that would have been shown worldwide.
At least it also allows us to have the next few weeks to get the squad up to speed as I'm assuming our next match will now be 1st October at Ross County.
Steven79
09-09-2022, 12:19 PM
Might as well fire down the boozer and get blootered. Nothing else for it.Remember and bow respectfully while you drink.
Zambernardi1875
09-09-2022, 12:20 PM
I can't wait for my weekend of mourning. Exactly what I need after a week of knocking my pan in at work.
No no, don’t say you can’t wait, that makes out you’ll be enjoying yourself, look at the floor and weep you maggot 😂
Was always going to happen and rightly so.
Any other country would do the same if their head of state died.
Just_Jimmy
Kids aren't even allowed to play either which is ridiculous.
Sent from my SM-G960F using TapatalkI know... it's exactly like North Korea. [emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]
I don't know why you quoted me tbh because like I said, moan all you want, you can't say its not expected.
Mcbizz1998
09-09-2022, 12:21 PM
Hmm but the country didn’t do anything. It was up to the individual sports. Now we have the situation where some sports are on and some are off.
McSwanky
09-09-2022, 12:21 PM
All rugby is off in Scotland
09-09-2022, 12:22 PM
Minutes applause at the games and let everyone get on with their life’s.
Fin no need 🤬
The SRU announced last night at 8:30pm that league and cup games are postponed this weekend
Why? The papers haven’t stopped printing? The TV stations haven’t shut down? My work isn’t closing? Why sport?
09-09-2022, 12:23 PM
All rugby is off in Scotland
Professional rugby games in England tomorrow are on.
09-09-2022, 12:28 PM
Why? The papers haven’t stopped printing? The TV stations haven’t shut down? Why work isn’t closing? Why sport?
I can’t answer your questions, I just agree with the decision.
It’s not just sport though. Last Night of the Proms has also been cancelled and am sure a lot of other events will be too.
It’s a hugely significant moment in our country’s history. You gotta expect some disruption to normal life for a wee while.
It’s not just sport though. Last Night of the Proms has also been cancelled and am sure a lot of other events will be too.
It’s a hugely significant moment in our country’s history. You gotta expect some disruption to normal life for a wee while.
Are all the shopping centres, bars and restaurants closed too? If not why not?
Life goes on, she most likely would have wanted the football to be played.
bringbackbenny
09-09-2022, 12:31 PM
Don't worry the Opera continues 🤔
https://twitter.com/ScottishOpera/status/1567945184754733062?t=6v-qdKC6IedjyMb0R7L0dQ&s=19
Amazinsauzee
09-09-2022, 12:31 PM
I definitely shouldn’t have to expect any disruption to normal life for any amount of time
ClermistonGreen
09-09-2022, 12:32 PM
This :aok:
Partyraiser
09-09-2022, 12:34 PM
As if I needed any more reason to dislike the royal family
09-09-2022, 12:35 PM
What other country has cancelled a weekend of sport when their head of state died??
hibbie02
09-09-2022, 12:36 PM
The decision was totally down to the footballing authorities and no one else. All sports governing bodies were told to do what the thought right and if anything were encouraged to proceed as planned with appropriate respect. No pressure was put on and as such doesn't make a jot of difference if workplaces or shopping centres remain open.
I can't help thinking that that those *****wits across town probably made up the SFA's mind for them last night. Personally I would prefer matches to go ahead, but accept that it may not have been a good idea. This is a time thatvery few of us have lived through and no one has all the right answers. A wee bit of respect, whatever your views, would go a long way.
09-09-2022, 12:37 PM
Luckily i had an evenings drunkenness planned ages ago. Should i feel guilty.😄
GAME ON
Following the publication of the National Mourning Guidance, and consultation with Government, other sports and Rugby League stakeholders including clubs and broadcasters, Super League can confirm that the Betfred Super League Eliminator between Huddersfield Giants and Salford Red Devils will be played as scheduled on Saturday 10th*September (kick off 1pm).
Due respect will be paid to Her Majesty before both Eliminator fixtures, with a period of silence and where possible the playing of the National Anthem – while players and match officials will be asked to wear black armbands.
09-09-2022, 12:38 PM
Is Kevin Bridges going ahead tonight? He went ahead with his gig last night. Lets just say, its split opinions lol.
Rumble de Thump
09-09-2022, 12:39 PM
I was going to order a pizza and have a couple of beers tonight after work. Think i'll ban myself from that. Enjoyment obviously not allowed now. We must mourn.
Get stuffed.
09-09-2022, 12:40 PM
GAME ON
Following the publication of the National Mourning Guidance, and consultation with Government, other sports and Rugby League stakeholders including clubs and broadcasters, Super League can confirm that the Betfred Super League Eliminator between Huddersfield Giants and Salford Red Devils will be played as scheduled on Saturday 10th*September (kick off 1pm).
Due respect will be paid to Her Majesty before both Eliminator fixtures, with a period of silence and where possible the playing of the National Anthem – while players and match officials will be asked to wear black armbands.
Most would say sensible
Some will say DISGRACE
Hmm but the country didn’t do anything. It was up to the individual sports. Now we have the situation where some sports are on and some are off.
Yep, and I doubt the SPFL will be willing to refund my non refundable train tickets already bought for tomorrow.
Message from the bairns fitbaw team this morning saying they are waiting on guidance from SFA about training tomorrow. How the hell is a training session on a Saturday morning for a bunch of 6 year olds in question.
Partyraiser
What other country has cancelled a weekend of sport when their head of state died??
North Korea
Is Kevin Bridges going ahead tonight? He went ahead with his gig last night. Lets just say, its split opinions lol.
my daughter and her fella were there last night she didn't mention anything out of the ordinary
sorry just re-read you meant tonight doh :(
Zambernardi1875
09-09-2022, 12:41 PM
No no, don’t say you can’t wait, that makes out you’ll be enjoying yourself, look at the floor and weep you maggot 😂
09-09-2022, 12:41 PM
Why? She done absolutely zero for my life when she was alive, why should it negatively effect my life when she dies?
09-09-2022, 12:42 PM
Are all the shopping centres, bars and restaurants closed too? If not why not?
Life goes on, she most likely would have wanted the football to be played.
I’m missing a game of football once in my life because of an historic event. I can live with that and certainly ain’t going to get worked up about it.
Why you asking me about shops and bars? I’ve not got a clue and amn’t responsible for any of the decisions!
09-09-2022, 12:42 PM
You have to go to work, but needless to say you’re not allowed to have any fun in the meantime. That’d be disrespectful.
09-09-2022, 12:43 PM
reigning over people just because of DNA, GTF horrible parasitical institution
09-09-2022, 12:44 PM
Meh time for a 10 day mourning of no Hibees at the weekend.
09-09-2022, 12:44 PM
Why? She done absolutely zero for my life when she was alive, why should it negatively effect my life when she dies?
If President Macron died tomorrow, there would be disruption to life in France. Surely everybody can see that?
I see what you’re doing so I’ll leave you to it.
09-09-2022, 12:46 PM
If President Macron died tomorrow, there would be disruption to life in France. Surely everybody can see that?
Yes, if an elected head of the government died, someone who actually does a bit, it would have an effect.
The Queen is fairly useless in comparison.
09-09-2022, 12:47 PM
I don’t agree with the decision .It’s non stop saturation on the media .Some people want to get a break from it ,and do what they normally do on. Saturday and watch the football
Yes it’s sad for the family ,and not doubt Prince Andrew will be sweating profusely
But people still have to go to work
If the game had been on the day of the funeral ,then fair enough But we have another ten days of this to go
Events at the Paisley Spree were cancelled last night ,snd the Spiegle Tent tsken down
I am not that interested in the Royal Family but it’s not disrespectful to go to a gig ffs Life goes on
However I don’t agree with the people that say am Glad the Reptile is dead That’s out of order
09-09-2022, 12:49 PM
You think the Italian FA will cancel games the weekend the Pope dies?
There will be plenty non catholic Italian football fans that will respect the decision and understand why even though he had no impact on their lives.
timewilltell
09-09-2022, 12:50 PM
As if I needed any more reason to dislike the royal family
Postponement is the right decision. This is a huge moment in time, whatever your views, this is a profoundly sad moment. The Queen has given over 70 years of selfless service.
Anyone who thinks otherwise is frankly out of step with the people of the UK, the commonwealth and the countries around the world.
In this context, Hibs v Dundee Utd is an irrelevance.
Lots of planned food bank collections up and down the country no longer going ahead due to cancellation of sporting events which is obviously going to have a knock on effect on those who use these services.
Zambernardi1875
If it was a full national shut down I’d understand but this is just bits n bobs
09-09-2022, 12:54 PM
There will be plenty non catholic Italian football fans that will respect the decision and understand why even though he had no impact on their lives.
A full set of Serie A fixtures were played as planned the weekend after Pope John Paul II died in 2005.
09-09-2022, 12:54 PM
I think folk are just a bit confused about why football felt the need to do it when government guidance didn’t force them to.
Rugby Union and Rugby League on in England tomorrow. Boxing likely to be on tomorrow night.
It’s not a surprise but it is unnecessary.
09-09-2022, 12:55 PM
Youth football goes ahead. Correct decision.
Good afternoon,
This email has been issued to all team, club and league secretaries.
In sharing deepest condolences with the Royal Family, youth teams are being encouraged to mark the Queen’s death with a respectful minute’s applause or silence ahead of their fixtures this weekend as a sign of respect.
In recognition of the important social and health benefits for young people that football brings, SYFA and SWF have confirmed that youth fixtures will proceed this weekend, but in the context of national mourning, teams are being encouraged to pay respect to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth, who passed away yesterday.
Teams should liaise with their opponents and referee ahead of the game to ensure that the arrangements are coordinated and carried out with the utmost respect for each other and for everyone mourning the passing of the Queen.
Kind regards,
SYFA
Scottish Youth FA
Hampden Park G42 9BF
www.scottishyouthfa.co.uk
hibby rae
09-09-2022, 12:59 PM
Postponement is the right decision. This is a huge moment in time, whatever your views, this is a profoundly sad moment. The Queen has given over 70 years of selfless service.
Anyone who thinks otherwise is frankly out of step with the people of the UK, the commonwealth and the countries around the world.
Selfless? She wasn't doing volunteer work.
I also disagree that it is a profoundly sad moment, it may be for you and other people, but it is also not for a lot of us on here, in the UK, the commonwealth or around the world.
09-09-2022, 12:59 PM
Youth football goes ahead. Correct decision.
Good afternoon,
This email has been issued to all team, club and league secretaries.
In sharing deepest condolences with the Royal Family, youth teams are being encouraged to mark the Queen’s death with a respectful minute’s applause or silence ahead of their fixtures this weekend as a sign of respect.
In recognition of the important social and health benefits for young people that football brings, SYFA and SWF have confirmed that youth fixtures will proceed this weekend, but in the context of national mourning, teams are being encouraged to pay respect to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth, who passed away yesterday.
Teams should liaise with their opponents and referee ahead of the game to ensure that the arrangements are coordinated and carried out with the utmost respect for each other and for everyone mourning the passing of the Queen.
Kind regards,
SYFA
Scottish Youth FA
Hampden Park G42 9BF
www.scottishyouthfa.co.uk
It is the correct decision but we have been waiting to know about this all morning, Scottish cup weekend for our boys.
At least I get to see some football.
DIXIHIBS
09-09-2022, 01:02 PM
Historically it is a huge moment but why just cancel sport? Pubs, shops, cinemas, restaurants, gigs etc all carry on but football stops. I really dont understand why. If it was the day of the funeral, fair enough, but seems like cancelling for the sake of it.
09-09-2022, 01:03 PM
With respect, I disagree. Next weekend when the funeral is on, fair enough, due to logistical reasons if nothing else, but there is no more reason to cancel sport this weekend than there is to cancel ice cream vans delivering or building sites shutting down or insurance offices closing or shops shutting. The various media outlets won’t be called on to shut down because it’s their job to churn out the propaganda 24hrs a day.
If people are so full of grief then they wouldn’t attend but they could at least let the rest of us get on with it.
This is establishment figures in the football associations tugging their forelock telling us you WILL griev,e you WILL show respect, you WILL know your place little man.
A ludicrous decision by the elite few affecting the vast majority of us unneccesarily. Pissed off.:rolleyes:
09-09-2022, 01:05 PM
It is the correct decision but we have been waiting to know about this all morning, Scottish cup weekend for our boys.
At least I get to see some football.
It's taken them a while but at least they came to the right decision for the boys and girls. Footy fix sorted.
09-09-2022, 01:07 PM
Define selfless.
I'd argue the Queen was pretty well rewarded for the very little she did.
Willis1875
09-09-2022, 01:09 PM
A full set of Serie A fixtures were played as planned the weekend after Pope John Paul II died in 2005.
Whilst I don’t agree with fixtures this weekend being cancelled for somebody 99% of us didn’t even know or meet…I’m not sure your statement is correct,Games were postponed the weekend after Pope John Paul’s death
09-09-2022, 01:11 PM
Frankly I think you are quite out of step and Dundee United v Hibs is more relevant than the queen to me. But it’s all opinions.
09-09-2022, 01:12 PM
At the end of the day we paid for her lavish lifestyle, we will pay for her lavish funeral and in between times we will be denied the opportunity of getting to watch football.
Incidentally she was enjoying a trip to watch one of her horses running at Ascot the weekend I buried my father a few years ago.
In a country where people live in cardboard boxes in the street and food banks are busier than at any time since WW2 I won't be mourning someone who felt the need to have 7 palaces at the countries expense.
09-09-2022, 01:12 PM
You and I clearly have extremely different definitions of "selfless"
09-09-2022, 01:15 PM
With respect, I disagree. Next weekend when the funeral is on, fair enough, due to logistical reasons if nothing else, but there is no more reason to cancel sport this weekend than there is to cancel ice cream vans delivering or building sites shutting down or insurance offices closing or shops shutting. The various media outlets won’t be called on to shut down because it’s their job to churn out the propaganda 24hrs a day.
If people are so full of grief then they wouldn’t attend but they could at least let the rest of us get on with it.
This is establishment figures in the football associations tugging their forelock telling us you WILL griev,e you WILL show respect, you WILL know your place little man.
A ludicrous decision by the elite few affecting the vast majority of us unneccesarily. Pissed off.:rolleyes:
I know you don’t get this feeling from this forum, but everywhere else, all I’m reading or seeing is total understanding of the gravity of the situation and respect.
I’m not seeing any ‘establishment’ chat or the likes elsewhere. Fans of other clubs seem to be more tolerant of the situation too.
Groathillgrump
09-09-2022, 01:18 PM
Why? The papers haven’t stopped printing? The TV stations haven’t shut down? My work isn’t closing? Why sport?
The establishment can't allow us plebs to be out enjoying ourselves when we've been told we have to mourn the passing of an old woman who meant the square root of **** all to many of us.
09-09-2022, 01:18 PM
I know you don’t get this feeling from this forum, but everywhere else, all I’m reading or seeing is total understanding of the gravity of the situation and respect.
I’m not seeing any ‘establishment’ chat or the likes elsewhere. Fans of other clubs seem to be more tolerant of the situation too.
Funny that because every single person I’ve spoken to or had contact with thinks the whole thing is totally ridiculous, regardless of their thoughts on the Queen.
I’m sure every other club thinks it’s great though and us Hibs fans are the bad guys for daring to question the sense in it all.
LunasBoots
09-09-2022, 01:22 PM
Think people can show respect while getting on with everyday life without it getting shoved down us for the next week.
As for out of step I think you may be out of step to public feeling with regards to the monarchy in Scotland, feeling has changed alot in recent times.
09-09-2022, 01:23 PM
Quite bizarre/telling that some who thought players taking a knee for two seconds before matches to stand-up against racism was intruding on their enjoyment of sport, don’t see the potential of no games for two weeks as even a minor inconvenience.
09-09-2022, 01:26 PM
I’m missing a game of football once in my life because of an historic event. I can live with that and certainly ain’t going to get worked up about it.
Why you asking me about shops and bars? I’ve not got a clue and amn’t responsible for any of the decisions!
For plenty of people, football matches are an important part of their livelihood.
I'm not disputing that this is an important moment in history, but its importance is reflected in 10 days of national mourning, a state funeral, probably a public holiday as well, and all the rest of it.
I cannot understand why the weekend's football calendar has been cancelled. It makes no sense to me at all. A minute's silence and respectful acknowledgement for the death of the Queen would have been more appropriate.
mcohibs
09-09-2022, 01:29 PM
Think it's you who is profoundly out of step.
Of course Hibs vs Dundee Utd is an irrelevance to the passing of the Queen. That's exactly why it should go ahead. That's the point.
09-09-2022, 01:30 PM
32 of us played golf this morning, nobody, not one person wanted the games cancelled and all sport to stop.
In fact the main view was why just sport? :confused:
09-09-2022, 01:32 PM
For plenty of people, football matches are an important part of their livelihood.
I'm not disputing that this is an important moment in history, but its importance is reflected in 10 days of national mourning, a state funeral, probably a public holiday as well, and all the rest of it.
I cannot understand why the weekend's football calendar has been cancelled. It makes no sense to me at all. A minute's silence and respectful acknowledgement for the death of the Queen would have been more appropriate.
No reason why the SFA couldn't have done exactly as the SYFA. It gets people out, games played, and respect shown. Next week will surely have to be postponed as it's so close to the funeral.
09-09-2022, 01:37 PM
Also worth noting that the last time a monarch died there were no such postponements, with teams playing in the days after George VI's death as well as in the days surrounding his funeral
09-09-2022, 01:39 PM
Historically it is a huge moment but why just cancel sport? Pubs, shops, cinemas, restaurants, gigs etc all carry on but football stops. I really dont understand why. If it was the day of the funeral, fair enough, but seems like cancelling for the sake of it.
Are you suggesting that they should have shut everything?
Mind you, reading some of the overreactions to a game of football being postponed, you'd think they had.
"We're not allowed to do anything fun" etc. It's like bairns whining at their parents. :hilarious
I don't know if it's the right decision or not, but it was obviously going to happen, and in Scotland for different reasons than England, but I'm not going to get upset about having to do something else for 90 minutes.
09-09-2022, 01:41 PM
No reason why the SFA couldn't have done exactly as the SYFA. It gets people out, games played, and respect shown. Next week will surely have to be postponed as it's so close to the funeral.
I can understand why they followed the English decision, it's not worth the hassle they would get for doing the opposite, the media coverage would be negative and unrelenting since they have nothing else to talk about other than how amazing the queen was.
09-09-2022, 01:50 PM
Just cancelling sport is frankly stupid. I'll bet there is someone playing Polo in sussex.
Willis1875
09-09-2022, 01:51 PM
Just cancelling sport is frankly stupid. I'll bet there is someone playing Polo in sussex.
Cricket,Racing,Rugby,Golf going ahead….looking like it’s just football 🤷🏼*♂️
Maybe the FA’s have jumped the gun
timewilltell
09-09-2022, 01:52 PM
Frankly I think you are quite out of step and Dundee United v Hibs is more relevant than the queen to me. But it’s all opinions.
Depends if you live in the big world or the tiny narrow minded world. Life is more than beer, red-top newspapers and watching Hibs. You should try it.
09-09-2022, 01:54 PM
Can see why they have done it due to protocols etc.
Life has got to move on though,and apart from games involving certain teams any tribute to her would have been observed with dignity.
Sport can provide some normality and escape from the period of mourning. Not cancelling games is not showing a lack of respect.
AugustaHibs
09-09-2022, 01:56 PM
Depends if you live in the big world or the tiny narrow minded world. Life is more than beer, red-top newspapers and watching Hibs. You should try it.
It’s also a lot more than believing in some fairytale pish about kings and queens.
It’s not ****ing Shrek.
09-09-2022, 02:01 PM
What on earth are you slavering about 😂😂
I’m narrow-minded because Hibs mean more to me than the queen? There are many things that mean more to me than my football team, but a poor old dear passing away who means no more to me than a stranger down the road isn’t one of them. I completely understand that others feel differently, but happen to think silences and respects being paid would have suited just fine.
Every one of your posts on this has been embarrassing so far. Including trying to band people with your red-top newspapers and beer dig. You’re no better than the rest of us for telling us how sad we should all be.
09-09-2022, 02:01 PM
That’s your opinion but I’d say by the comments on here , your with the minority.
09-09-2022, 02:08 PM
Rugby, Cricket, Golf all managing to struggle on tomorrow.
Makes no sense to me that the footballing authorities chose to do differently.
You’ve got this the wrong way round imo.
Yes, this is an important moment in history, but it is small-minded (and I think unprecedented) to think that everything must be cancelled for 10 days as a result.
We can mourn the death of the Queen and simultaneously enjoy the continuation of normal life. She herself seemed to prize getting on with things, after all.
Unless the government gives much clearer guidance I fear that many businesses and organisations are going to be paralysed by indecision over the next week or so, and postponing or cancelling events for fear of a backlash from ‘public opinion’.
It would be much better if UK government announced a public holiday for the day of the funeral but expressly encouraged things to continue until then.
DIXIHIBS
[QUOTE=Hibbyradge;7096812]Are you suggesting that they should have shut everything?
Mind you, reading some of the overreactions to a game of football being postponed, you'd think they had.
"We're not allowed to do anything fun" etc. It's like bairns whining at their parents. :hilarious
I don't know if it's the right decision or not, but it was obviously going to happen, and in Scotland for different reasons than England, but I'm not going to get upset about having to do something else for 90 minutes.[/QUOTE
Where do I say cancel everything? I was saying why just cancel sport. I don't think anything should cancelled other than possibly the day of the funeural. I can go to the pub and get hammered...that's okay. Go to the fitba...that's not okay?
Willis1875
I think they’ve jumped the gun thinking other sports will do the same and it’s backfired
The late Queen's father saw us through WW2, and stayed in London to help morale.
Hibs went on to retain the league title the year her dad died, without having any fixtures cancelled.
Nobody then considered it to be disrespectful, but then, why would they?
09-09-2022, 02:11 PM
I think they’ve jumped the gun thinking other sports will do the same and it’s backfired
Yeah, think that’s the only logical explanation.
At least up here they’ve had the sense to allow the kids to play. Down south have stopped everything including grassroots.
Chorley Hibee
09-09-2022, 02:11 PM
Living in a "big world" would involve not having a Monarchy.
This country should try it sometime.
stuart-farquhar
09-09-2022, 02:17 PM
I’m narrow-minded because Hibs mean more to me than the queen? There are many things that mean more to me than my football team, but a poor old dear passing away who means no more to me than a stranger down the road isn’t one of them. I completely understand that others feel differently, but happen to think silences and respects being paid would have suited just fine.
Every one of your posts on this has been embarrassing so far. Including trying to band people with your red-top newspapers and beer dig. You’re no better than the rest of us for telling us how sad we should all be.
Hey leave beer drinkers out of this! (Discerning ones anyway)
09-09-2022, 02:18 PM
cough.... Oliver Cromwell......
Didn't end well. It could be argued that it entrenched the monarchy even more deeply. :cb
I don't agree with the decision, I had football trips planned for both tonight and tomorrow.
I don't really see that we are being denied the right to have fun though. You can still go to the pub, go for a meal, go to the cinema, go for a walk, go to the zoo, go swimming and a hundred other things. It's a bit baffling that sport, and more specifically football, seems to have been singled out (or rather chosen to single itself out) but if it was inclement weather we would all just find other things to fill the time. I'm sure we are resourceful enough to do so this time.
I'm going to throw it out there and suggest that concerns about the behaviour of fans has probably done us no favours either. The clips from the Hearts game last night and the responses to some clubs social media will have put the fear into the SFA and SPFL. Rather than just in their own heads, Hearts were actually famous around the world for a day or 2 in 2005 for all the wrong reasons, I daresay no one in the football authorities fancied the inevitable repeat.
timewilltell
Enjoy your weekend.
Steven79
09-09-2022, 02:19 PM
That's an idea isn't it!
Given that the red tops are the most fervent supporters of the monarchy, you seem a tad confused.
09-09-2022, 02:21 PM
It’s also a lot more than believing in some fairytale pish about kings and queens.
It’s not ****ing Shrek.
Literally laughed out loud at that.
09-09-2022, 02:22 PM
Literally laughed out loud at that.
Enjoyed it myself. Stopped short of laughing out loud when I remembered I’m mourning though.
loanheadhibby
Ridiculous decision - the government even said it was fine for the games to go ahead.
Still have to work, but can't do anything fun.
No they didn't.
Just_Jimmy
Cricket,Racing,Rugby,Golf going ahead….looking like it’s just football [emoji1743]*[emoji3603]
Maybe the FA’s have jumped the gunThey cancelled play at Wentworth last night as soon as the news broke. There's no play today.
Willis1875
09-09-2022, 02:25 PM
Enjoyed it myself. Stopped short of laughing out loud when I remembered I’m mourning though.
Things will be better soon just keep your head up
Hulk1875
09-09-2022, 02:26 PM
Away too Majorca for a week tomorrow. Very good timing nothing against the queen or royal family like. Just happy to get away
Liam978
09-09-2022, 02:27 PM
I don't agree with the decision, I had football trips planned for both tonight and tomorrow.
I don't really see that we are being denied the right to have fun though. You can still go to the pub, go for a meal, go to the cinema, go for a walk, go to the zoo, go swimming and a hundred other things. It's a bit baffling that sport, and more specifically football, seems to have been singled out (or rather chosen to single itself out) but if it was inclement weather we would all just find other things to fill the time. I'm sure we are resourceful enough to do so this time.
I'm going to throw it out there and suggest that concerns about the behaviour of fans has probably done us no favours either. The clips from the Hearts game last night and the responses to some clubs social media will have put the fear into the SFA and SPFL. Rather than just in their own heads, Hearts were actually famous around the world for a day or 2 in 2005 for all the wrong reasons, I daresay no one in the football authorities fancied the inevitable repeat.
Spot on Pretty Boy. maybe better shutting this thread down , lot of bitter misunderstanding posters at the momennt.
09-09-2022, 02:29 PM
Just find it bizarre that in 2022 we're having a forced period of mourning over a queen. All these TV presenters and polititians pretending to be distraught to save face. All as fake as each other. The pandemic scunnered me not beig able to go about my life as normal (i fully understand why we couldn't and stuck to the rules). Not being allowed to enjoy myself this weekend and probably next weekend because a member of some outdated privilaged family passed away has really annoyed me. Let people make their own choice if they want to grieve her or not and let the rest get on with life.
hibee316
09-09-2022, 02:29 PM
I'm glad you are hear to tell me what to think!
Just because you really believe it, and you have mates who believe it too, doesn't make it a universal truth.
Feel free to mourn for as long as you want, but I will do what I want and choose to think it's all a bit ridiculous.
hibee316
09-09-2022, 02:30 PM
Spot on Pretty Boy. maybe better shutting this thread down , lot of bitter misunderstanding posters at the momennt.
Shut it down because people disagree strongly about something? Not for me.
09-09-2022, 02:52 PM
No they didn't.
This is the UK government guidelines for "The demise of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II"
Major Events, Entertainment & Sports
There is no obligation to cancel or postpone events and sporting fixtures, or close entertainment venues during the National Mourning period. This is at the discretion of individual organisations. As a mark of respect, organisations might wish to consider cancelling or postponing events or closing venues on the day of the State Funeral. They are under no obligation to do so and this is entirely at the discretion of individual organisations.
If sporting fixtures or events are planned for the day of the State Funeral, organisations may want to adjust the event timings so they do not clash with the timings of the funeral service and associated processions. As a mark of respect, and in keeping with the tone of National Mourning, organisers may wish to hold a period of silence and/or play the National Anthem at the start of events or sporting fixtures, and players may wish to wear black armbands.
09-09-2022, 03:00 PM
Which is fine if you can afford to do one of the hundred other things but lots of people have already committed money and arranged specific time off to attend sporting events this weekend which will no longer go ahead as planned.
He's here!
09-09-2022, 03:02 PM
SRU have called off all domestic rugby this weekend. .
09-09-2022, 03:07 PM
Sounds like lots of governing bodies know better than the people and aren't listening, the vast majority of replies both north and south of the border have been in favour of activities of all varieties going on as normal
I get that there are outliers such as London or feasibly Edinburgh were police are needed for other things, but to just outright cancel everything is tone deaf
The pga tour golf is going ahead tomorrow at Wentworth.
Why has the jamboo thread closed?
He's here!
09-09-2022, 03:09 PM
Define selfless.
I'd argue the Queen was pretty well rewarded for the very little she did.
You underestimate her commitments. Her work schedule was often eye-watering. Not many would relish her life, much as they might believe they would.
He's here!
09-09-2022, 03:16 PM
Just find it bizarre that in 2022 we're having a forced period of mourning over a queen. All these TV presenters and polititians pretending to be distraught to save face. All as fake as each other. The pandemic scunnered me not beig able to go about my life as normal (i fully understand why we couldn't and stuck to the rules). Not being allowed to enjoy myself this weekend and probably next weekend because a member of some outdated privilaged family passed away has really annoyed me. Let people make their own choice if they want to grieve her or not and let the rest get on with life.
You don't know that these people are not saddened by Her Majesty's passing. It's a profound event for many.
09-09-2022, 03:17 PM
You underestimate her commitments. Her work schedule was often eye-watering. Not many would relish her life, much as they might believe they would.
I mean, sure, she probably had the odd busy day, getting driven around, shaking a few hands, cutting a few ribbons. She was hardly up scaffolds or in the office till 10pm to meet a deadline, though.
There is a comfort to never having to worry about money, shelter, food, work the next day, feeding your family, paying bills etc, that simply cannot be overstated. She had an absolute skoosh from day 1.
Its amazing the things a person can do when they don't need to waste their time working 9/5 to put food on the table.
09-09-2022, 03:18 PM
https://finty.com/us/daily-routines/queen-england/
Sounds exhausting and the miserly reward package doesn't exactly make it any better
Mantis Toboggan
09-09-2022, 03:22 PM
"Work schedule", ffs.
BlackSheep
09-09-2022, 03:25 PM
I thought we celebrated life these days in lieu of mourning a loss?
Surely the general public has been through and is currently going through enough?
Whilst I am not devastated it has put a wee dampner on my weekend as like a lot of others the footie at the weekend is something to look forward to.
I just dont think its very modern of the country to impose mourning on us.
Zambernardi1875
09-09-2022, 03:28 PM
I mean, sure, she probably had the odd busy day, getting driven around, shaking a few hands, cutting a few ribbons. She was hardly up scaffolds or in the office till 10pm to meet a deadline, though.
There is a comfort to never having to worry about money, shelter, food, work the next day, feeding your family, paying bills etc, that simply cannot be overstated. She had an absolute skoosh from day 1.
Its amazing the things a person can do when they don't need to waste their time working 9/5 to put food on the table.
People who make these comments you reply to about the queens schedule probably have had the burden of most thing you mention either. Most of the posters wanting the football cancelled are the alright jacks
09-09-2022, 03:36 PM
Stupid decision. And we will miss a weekend for the funeral too I imagine.
Willis1875
09-09-2022, 03:39 PM
Stupid decision. And we will miss a weekend for the funeral too I imagine.
Which means no football until October as the following weekend is an international break
Hibiza
09-09-2022, 03:40 PM
NthCarolinaHibs
09-09-2022, 03:41 PM
Surely the general public has been through and is currently going through enough?
Whilst I am not devastated it has put a wee dampner on my weekend as like a lot of others the footie at the weekend is something to look forward to.
100% ✅
09-09-2022, 03:42 PM
From what I can see football has made the choice to impose mourning upon itself.
Highwayman
09-09-2022, 03:43 PM
Apparently the new King Chas wants the period of national mourning to last for seven days after the Auld Queen’s funeral.
This would surely run into the next batch of international fixtures.
If these cancellations are going to continue,this would surely cause a serious fixture logjam.
Bearing in mind that the break for the World Cup is fast approaching also.
09-09-2022, 03:47 PM
From the BBC
Rangers say they are in talks with Uefa and Police Scotland over whether Tuesday's Champions League game with Napoli at Ibrox will take place as scheduled.
Uncertainty also surrounds Celtic's Champions League match against Shakhtar Donetsk in Warsaw on Wednesday and Heart of Midlothian away to Rigas Futbola Skola in the Europa Conference on Thursday.
I'm sure UEFA will be sympathetic, and tell them they can forfeit the points :rolleyes:
EDIT: I see Ibrox has become a 'SHRINE'. Isn't that a catholic thing? :greengrin
Stairway 2 7
09-09-2022, 03:49 PM
From what I can see football has made the choice to impose mourning upon itself.
Definitely as government has left it up to people really. English rugby league, Union on, cricket, golf, horses from Sunday, nightclubs, comedy shows. Football has chosen themselves
09-09-2022, 03:51 PM
Apparently the new King Chas wants the period of national mourning to last for seven days after the Auld Queen’s funeral.
This would surely run into the next batch of international fixtures.
If these cancellations are going to continue,this would surely cause a serious fixture logjam.
Bearing in mind that the break for the World Cup is fast approaching also.
That's only for the Royal households. The rest of us plebs get to go about our business as usual.
Stairway 2 7
09-09-2022, 03:51 PM
From the BBC
I'm sure UEFA will be sympathetic, and tell them they can forfeit the points :rolleyes:
EDIT: I see Ibrox has become a 'SHRINE'. Isn't that a catholic thing? :greengrin
Hopefully hearts gets moved and ryanair are unsympathetic to fans
You're correct, they have but I suspect they took the decision before they read the government advice.
09-09-2022, 03:54 PM
Well, I can kind of understand it with an agregate score of 0-11 in Europe :greengrin
09-09-2022, 04:01 PM
I was gonna go to the Chippie tonight but I'm now worried that it might be closed as well.
09-09-2022, 04:03 PM
I was gonna go to the Chippie tonight but I'm now worried that it might be closed as well.
Aw Naw!! My wife's retiral do is next Friday, it better not be cancelled, I fancy a fish supper. :wink:
Logie Green
09-09-2022, 04:05 PM
32 of us played golf this morning, nobody, not one person wanted the games cancelled and all sport to stop.
In fact the main view was why just sport? :confused:
Were the flags at half mast?
09-09-2022, 04:05 PM
It's what she would have wanted!
How can you expect the family to grieve in a dignified respectful way if you are stuffing your face with a king rib supper?
09-09-2022, 04:08 PM
Eye watering? Are you sure?
Strange word to use. It’s not as if she was walking around standing on upturned plugs with bare feet or anything.
09-09-2022, 04:17 PM
Were the flags at half mast?
Do you what, i never noticed, although with it being a golf club and quite a few elderly members, it seems to be always at half mast recently.
Green Badger
You're correct, they have but I suspect they took the decision before they read the government advice.
Well that’s their mistake, the government advice was published before football made their announcement, possibly hoping everyone else would do the same and cancel events this weekend, which of course they didn’t.
allmodcons
Surely not serious, so assuming this post is all tongue in cheek.
09-09-2022, 04:22 PM
Surely not serious, so assuming this post is all tongue in cheek.
Personally I can't be bothered with a week of mourning. That is why I stay off the match day thread after a defeat.
Logie Green
09-09-2022, 04:23 PM
Do you what, i never noticed, although with it being a golf club and quite a few elderly members, it seems to be always at half mast recently.
I meant the ones on each green. 😜
09-09-2022, 04:23 PM
I meant the ones on each green. 😜
Ah i've been wooshed. :greengrin
inglisavhibs
09-09-2022, 04:31 PM
Massive own goal by football authorities, far better showing respect at events. I'm sure the queen herself would have wanted life to carry on.
09-09-2022, 04:32 PM
The way it’s unfolded (in terms of the football postponements) is bloody annoying.
Fully expected it to be off. Then you see the government guidance and think to yourself it might not be. Then it is. Then you see other sports, rightly, deciding to get on with things.
There’s no way the folk deciding to postpone would actually want to, they would just have thought it was the done thing. Imagine they’re wishing they’d held off a bit in announcing anything.
Thread has gone way off track. Its confirmed games are postponed this weekend so im closing the thread.