View Full Version : Joe Newell

Pages : 1 [2]

05-10-2022, 06:30 PM
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1577652572449644544?t=kEzvTtoz0H2EivbvGvnz-w&s=19

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

05-10-2022, 06:38 PM
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1577652572449644544?t=kEzvTtoz0H2EivbvGvnz-w&s=19

One of our best players [emoji119]

05-10-2022, 07:03 PM

In the whoscored team of the season so far as well, ahead of some top players.

Funny going back and reading the posts from a month ago saying we'd be relegated if we kept starting him and Campbell in the same midfield :greengrin

Paulie Walnuts
05-10-2022, 07:06 PM
What on earth is most counterpressures?

I can just about make a guess at pressure regains and pressures, but counter pressure?

05-10-2022, 07:08 PM

I can just about make a guess at pressure regains and pressures, but counter pressure?

Think its to do with how quickly the team has lost possession, if you press immediately after your team loses the ball it counts as a counter pressure.

Paulie Walnuts
05-10-2022, 07:11 PM
Think its to do with how quickly the team has lost possession, if you press immediately after your team loses the ball it counts as a counter pressure.

05-10-2022, 08:06 PM
Always said he was a player. :greengrin

05-10-2022, 08:18 PM
Always said he was a player. :greengrin

We all have 😂

05-10-2022, 08:19 PM
Actually never doubted him. The abuse I took. Oh boy.

Well done Joe. Quality player.

05-10-2022, 08:24 PM
There was always a player in there, with Kennah doing his job it releases Joe to do much more positive work. And allows Campbell this roving role that is working well for him.

05-10-2022, 08:30 PM
Played well last few games. Keeps playing that way, I won’t have any complaints.

05-10-2022, 10:01 PM
Although I rate Newell, I was sceptical earlier this season about his suitability for a Johnson team that wants to play the ball quickly.

Turns out that Newell has adapted easily and doesn't need to take his time when moving the ball. He's also thriving in a more advanced role. And those long throws give us an added dimension that previous managers overlooked.

06-10-2022, 09:28 AM
Massive change in Newell, down to style of play and having a holding player which gives the other 2 mids freedom to play.

06-10-2022, 10:05 AM
Massive change in Newell, down to style of play and having a holding player which gives the other 2 mids freedom to play.

Yep has really improved recently both in terms of performance and more importantly consistency

06-10-2022, 11:37 AM
Actually never doubted him. The abuse I took. Oh boy.

Well done Joe. Quality player.

I fear his next ‘nothing’ performance won’t be far away. And then all the old doubts will resurface.

But feel free to bask in your vindication until then.

06-10-2022, 11:59 AM
I fear his next ‘nothing’ performance won’t be far away. And then all the old doubts will resurface.

'Fear'...? Sounds like you're hoping it'll be soon so you can be the one being vindicated. Why you even thinking in that negative way?

When does realism ever become a thing to a lot of fans? There are very few players at Hibs who will ever be brilliant every week, and if they are they'll be gone soon.

He's a good player who is sometimes average, but more often very decent which is a good thing. He's been excellent in recent weeks- why not just hope it continues?

06-10-2022, 12:30 PM
'Fear'...? Sounds like you're hoping it'll be soon so you can be the one being vindicated. Why you even thinking in that negative way?

When does realism ever become a thing to a lot of fans? There are very few players at Hibs who will ever be brilliant every week, and if they are they'll be gone soon.

He's a good player who is sometimes average, but more often very decent which is a good thing. He's been excellent in recent weeks- why not just hope it continues?

I do hope it continues. I’ve seen enough of him that some fear remains however.

Hope that’s clear?

I don’t think I’m ever over negative on any individual player. Certainly not one to boo our own, that’s both rude and self-defeating.

06-10-2022, 01:48 PM
It just shows what a good coach,putting the right team on the park and playing in a style that suits the players,can achieve. Who would have thought?

06-10-2022, 02:03 PM

Sounds like another Americanism that is being forced on us, with the Soccerball commentators now along with "give and go" it was always a 1, 2 to me and the overload what is that all aboot ffs.

snedzuk
06-10-2022, 03:33 PM
We already have one 30 odd year old winger

..not mentioned in this weeks injury update

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/latest-on-bushiri-melkersen-mitchell-nisbet

06-10-2022, 03:55 PM

Shouldn't fear that. Happens to every player. Good ones like Joe bounce back.

Highwayman
06-10-2022, 04:00 PM
I have never been a Joe Newell fan and he would need to show consistent good form to convince me otherwise.

However I judge players on a game to game basis and he has been showing a marked improvement in recent games.

If Hibs have any real ambitions to challenge for honours they need more players to show consistency.

At present I would consider only Marshall,Cadden and Boyle to meet these requirements.Hopefully with his recent upsurge in form Porteous might also soon come into this category.

However more are needed.

DinkyTwo
06-10-2022, 04:37 PM
I have never been a Joe Newell fan and he would need to show consistent good form to convince me otherwise.

However I judge players on a game to game basis and he has been showing a marked improvement in recent games.

If Hibs have any real ambitions to challenge for honours they need more players to show consistency.

At present I would consider only Marshall,Cadden and Boyle to meet these requirements.Hopefully with his recent upsurge in form Porteous might also soon come into this category.

However more are needed.I think Porteous has at least, over the past 3 years, consistently shown that he's a quality player. He had a wee blip at the start of the season, but he's got enough credit in the bank for that in my view.

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk

06-10-2022, 05:14 PM

his performances in those 'nothing' games are blown way out of proportion on here though imo.

He's had plenty games for us, particularly under Maloney and at times under Ross, where he creates very little and barely leaves our own half. Those performances have definitely been frustrating but a lot of it was down to tactics imo, and even in those games he's still gotten stuck in, always shown for the ball and retained possession well under pressure, even if a lot of it was sideways passing.

Compared to some midfielders I've seen for Hibs where in their poor games they either hide completely, barely pressing or showing for the ball, or they continuously lose possession from heavy touches or poor decision making.

06-10-2022, 05:27 PM
Think he had quite a dip in form not long after he signed the extension. That genuinely could have been down to tactics. But I think he's playing his best football for us under LJ and is getting forward much more. Long may it continue!

29-10-2022, 06:36 PM
I thought today he was excellent. He's playing a lot better in a LJ team than under any of the previous managers. Well done, Joe!

29-10-2022, 06:37 PM
For me he was the MOTM today, thought he was really good

29-10-2022, 06:39 PM
Excellent today

:agree: he was excellent today

Wull

I second that, motm for me

29-10-2022, 06:41 PM

Thirded (new word 😁)

Crunchie
29-10-2022, 06:42 PM
A sublime performance from a wonderful footballer. we're lucky to have the guy.

29-10-2022, 06:50 PM
Credit where it's due, outstanding today.

29-10-2022, 06:50 PM
He played well today, just wish he could do the same every week, but truth is, if he did he wouldnie be at Hibs.

29-10-2022, 06:54 PM
Usual kick about for Joe today. Skooshed it.

29-10-2022, 06:55 PM
Thought it was his best game for Hbs today superb

29-10-2022, 06:57 PM
Played well today.

29-10-2022, 06:58 PM
Played very well again, as i have always said, if he plays like this, nobody will be on his back.:top marks

glenberviehibee
29-10-2022, 06:58 PM
Outstanding today thought he was MOM

29-10-2022, 07:01 PM
Played very well again, as i have always said, if he plays like this, nobody will be on his back.:top marks

Indeed

29-10-2022, 07:04 PM
I've been critical of him in the past but fair play he had a great game today (apart from his dead ball deliveries).

29-10-2022, 07:07 PM

He has been all season

29-10-2022, 07:09 PM
Talisman status these days 👍

29-10-2022, 07:11 PM
That pass was absolute filth.

29-10-2022, 07:12 PM
That pass was absolute filth.

Sportscene pass of the season no less 😂

Steven1985
29-10-2022, 07:16 PM
Played very well again, as i have always said, if he plays like this, nobody will be on his back.:top marks I've always thought he was decent. Some games haven't been as good as others mind. I'm sure I'll be attacked for saying so though :-)

29-10-2022, 07:19 PM
I've always thought he was decent. Some games haven't been as good as others mind. I'm sure I'll be attacked for saying so though :-)

Any chance of giving all this nonsense a rest?

Benny Brazil
29-10-2022, 07:20 PM
MoM for me today - he was excellent and never stopped - helped by playing a bit further forward with Kenneh providing great protection.
That pass 👏

29-10-2022, 07:20 PM
That ball for the disallowed goal was sublime

29-10-2022, 07:21 PM
No doubt played really well today and deserves the applauds.

I was more impressed with Kenneh tbh.

29-10-2022, 07:26 PM
I've always thought he was decent. Some games haven't been as good as others mind. I'm sure I'll be attacked for saying so though :-)

Attention seeking now

29-10-2022, 07:28 PM
MoM for me today - he was excellent and never stopped - helped by playing a bit further forward with Kenneh providing great protection.
That pass 👏

He has to play further forward to have meaningful impact on games, playing deep he’s wasted.

Every time he plays more attacking, Hibs look far more of a threat. He’s a good player, no doubt, but for me he has to consistently push himself - when he does, he’s excellent. Played well today, hopefully he continues playing with that confidence 👍

When Kenneh is on his game, I think Joe becomes far more concentrated on attacking. I think he (Newell) has suffered because he’s been played as a holding player too long and reverts to that in games. Today proved he’s an attacking asset. There’s no doubting he’s technically very good.

Still Smiling
29-10-2022, 07:30 PM
Rocky got me as MOM,

29-10-2022, 08:32 PM
Must admit Newell has had a very good season so far, positive tactics and a better balance in the team, long may it continue.

HIBS NUTS
29-10-2022, 08:34 PM
i don’t usually comment on joe because so many people seem to dislike him, he’s had a great season and is by miles our best midfielder.

HIBS NUTS
29-10-2022, 08:36 PM
I watch the development squad quite often , and joe newell often comes along to watch the team, i think he has really bought into the hibs.

JammyDoidger
29-10-2022, 08:42 PM
That pass to cabraja for the offside goal was inch perfect, superb today just wish he could do this on the weekly.

29-10-2022, 08:50 PM
Newell was my motm today, he was absolutely superb in everything he did.

29-10-2022, 08:56 PM
I watch the development squad quite often , and joe newell often comes along to watch the team, i think he has really bought into the hibs.
It's really nice to hear that, well done Joe

loanheadhibby
29-10-2022, 09:29 PM
Newell was my motm today, he was absolutely superb in everything he did.
Yes he was but my criticism of him is that it's easy to play St Mirren at Easter Road.
Will he do it at Pittodrie on Friday or will he go missing.
I have a go at him more than others as he has more ability than most of the others.

29-10-2022, 10:27 PM
Yes he was but my criticism of him is that it's easy to play St Mirren at Easter Road.
I have a go at him more than others as he has more ability than most of the others.

He got motm Vs Rangers. Another easy game?

29-10-2022, 11:56 PM

Aye, easy game against the team in 4th😴

I think you’ve proved that he’ll never win some folk over -even if he played like that 90 percent of the time he’d still be getting it in the neck every time he had a quieter game.

It’s beyond ridiculous some of the stuff written about this guy. He’s never been the problem or even a problem at all.

Crunchie
30-10-2022, 04:01 AM
This is where the Joe slayers come unstuck imo, say what you will about the man if he has a bad game but I can guarantee you it won't be because he went missing as you call it. In many respects when/if he has a bad game(of which there are very few) it's because he's trying too hard or the rest of the team are under performing.
I've said since day one Joe was a player, even when he was played out on the wing, a blind man could see he had talent. It's a shame the few posters on here who got it completely wrong about him can't swallow their pride and admit they got it wrong.

30-10-2022, 06:14 AM
Sportscene pass of the season no less 😂

I wonder what the trophy is? Something beige.made out of cheap artificial fabric probably.

30-10-2022, 06:23 AM
I wonder what the trophy is? Something beige.made out of cheap artificial fabric probably.

You get to pick one of thomsons jumper/shirt combinations.

30-10-2022, 08:28 AM
I have slated him recently aswell, but yesterday he was superb, my motm.

30-10-2022, 08:40 AM
This is where the Joe slayers come unstuck imo, say what you will about the man if he has a bad game but I can guarantee you it won't be because he went missing as you call it. In many respects when/if he has a bad game(of which there are very few) it's because he's trying too hard or the rest of the team are under performing.
I've said since day one Joe was a player, even when he was played out on the wing, a blind man could see he had talent. It's a shame the few posters on here who got it completely wrong about him can't swallow their pride and admit they got it wrong.

I think he’s had a lot of deserved stick. At the moment, he’s generally getting a lot of well deserved praise.

Still think he has the ability to go completely missing when things go against us (Parkhead and after the red card against St Johnstone). In those instances it wasn’t just down to him, but he was part of it so I don’t think it can just be put down to everyone else.

But this season, there’s certainly been more good than poor from him.

30-10-2022, 09:12 AM

Mental how he only started in less than 50% of the games and was subbed off in the majority of his first season here then if he was so good.

But kudos to you for spotting that he’d become a very useful attacking central midfielder this season when he was previously a poor left winger and was up and down as a deep sitting midfielder after that.

He may have had talent but that didn’t make him an indispensable player whom had other bigger clubs clamouring to sign him.

The Joe Newell of this season has been brilliant. That’s down to Lee Johnson finding the right position for him and giving him licence to play.

30-10-2022, 09:19 AM
Joe disappeared for half an hour or so in the first half of the derby at Easter Road earlier this season.

I don’t know if he was given a kick up the backside at that point but during the second half of that game he was superb, and has kept up that standard ever since.

The criticism of Joe was never that his highest level of performance wasn’t good enough, it was all about consistency. This season he’s added consistency, almost to the extent that you now expect him to play well, and his very good performances can go unnoticed or underappreciated. He’s also played well when the team hasn’t, which wasn’t always the case.

Either way - top marks to him. He’s having a great season and is a joy to watch in this form.

30-10-2022, 10:21 AM
I think he’s had a lot of deserved stick. At the moment, he’s generally getting a lot of well deserved praise.

Still think he has the ability to go completely missing when things go against us (Parkhead and after the red card against St Johnstone). In those instances it wasn’t just down to him, but he was part of it so I don’t think it can just be put down to everyone else.

But this season, there’s certainly been more good than poor from him.

See if it’s ‘not just him’ how come he’s continually singled out as the player who ‘goes missing’ every single time we struggle?

It’s ludicrous - he’s generally one of the few who’ll keep pushing when things are going against us and still be demanding the ball.

I’m not going to argue about the consistency issue - but if he was like he was yesterday every week he’d be nowhere near Hibs.

Hibs fans seem willing to forgive some players for almost everything (Scot Allan springs to mind) but with Newell it’s the opposite with some people.

30-10-2022, 10:28 AM
See if it’s ‘not just him’ how come he’s continually singled out as the player who ‘goes missing’ every single time we struggle?

It’s ludicrous - he’s generally one of the few who’ll keep pushing when things are going against us and still be demanding the ball.

I’m not going to argue about the consistency issue - but if he was like he was yesterday every week he’d be nowhere near Hibs.

Hibs fans seem willing to forgive some players for almost everything (Scot Allan springs to mind) but with Newell it’s the opposite with some people.

Folk have never got over his bad start here.

30-10-2022, 10:37 AM

Plenty players get it in the neck. Last week it was Porteous. Folk were even suggesting Boyle should be dropped after St Johnstone. Campbell has had it. Rocky has had it.

Newell is currently getting plenty praise because he’s, imo, playing as consistently well as he has in his time here IMO. I think it’s pretty simple, play well get praised, don’t and you don’t. There has been plenty praise for Newell this season from plenty folk who thought he was pish previously (me included).

30-10-2022, 10:49 AM

Newell is the most experienced and most talented midfielder we have. He is held to a higher standard than other midfielders but that’s as it should be for someone of his experience and ability. Magennis & McGeady can help him with that responsibility if they can ever stay fit but the other midfielders, Henderson, Kenneh, Campbell &JDH are all raw and inexperienced. I watched McGinn and McGeough individually drag us back into games through attitude, drive and desire. I’ve seen less of that from Newell, when I think he has the capability to have that impact and not just sink in adversity alongside everyone else.

Anyway, rather than focus on the negatives. Bar one poster Newell has had near universal praise this season, and rightly so, especially from many of his critics. Johnson has unlocked more of his ability and consistency and he’s been very good this season, and praised as such. I think Newell & Rocky give weight to the point that the vast majority of people react to what they see. Posters who criticised Rocky & Newell last season are giving them praise this season. A direct correlation to what they are doing on the park.

Crunchie
30-10-2022, 09:27 PM
Mental how he only started in less than 50% of the games and was subbed off in the majority of his first season here then if he was so good.

But kudos to you for spotting that he’d become a very useful attacking central midfielder this season when he was previously a poor left winger and was up and down as a deep sitting midfielder after that.

He may have had talent but that didn’t make him an indispensable player whom had other bigger clubs clamouring to sign him.

The Joe Newell of this season has been brilliant. That’s down to Lee Johnson finding the right position for him and giving him licence to play.
You almost sound disappointed, I touted Magennis as a player too, was it Lee and his magic wand made him brilliant too?

MagicSwirlingShip
30-10-2022, 10:16 PM

He also got sent off in a semi against Hearts at Hampden, don’t think that done him any favours with the fanbase

Hibiza
31-10-2022, 05:56 PM
Well done Joe , keep it going Sur.

31-10-2022, 06:05 PM
I have been one of his biggest critics i the past, but this season i've praised him nearly every week.

It's as if a player plays poorly they get critisized, and a player plays well he gets praised, who'd have thunk it?

31-10-2022, 08:04 PM
I have been one of his biggest critics i the past, but this season i've praised him nearly every week.

It's as if a player plays poorly they get critisized, and a player plays well he gets praised, who'd have thunk it?

Pretty sure you know it's not quite as straightforward as that.

I've seen many players being far more harshly criticised for poor performances than others and having to do much more to earn praise. Conversely other players get away with murder and are totally overly hyped up when they do well.

You're painting a picture where every fan is perfectly balanced and simply gives praise and criticism in proportionate measures for everyone but realistically, you'll know that's often not the case and I'm not just applying that to Hibs fans. Favourites and scapegoats have always been a big thing with football fans.

I'd totally agree that as a decent earner (I assume) with a good pedigree that Newell should be held to a higher standard than others, and there is inconsistency that I think has been a problem throughout his career, but the criticism from a section of the support has just been at times OTT and that's the issue.

31-10-2022, 10:46 PM
Joe disappeared for half an hour or so in the first half of the derby at Easter Road earlier this season.

I don’t know if he was given a kick up the backside at that point but during the second half of that game he was superb, and has kept up that standard ever since.

The criticism of Joe was never that his highest level of performance wasn’t good enough, it was all about consistency. This season he’s added consistency, almost to the extent that you now expect him to play well, and his very good performances can go unnoticed or underappreciated. He’s also played well when the team hasn’t, which wasn’t always the case.

Either way - top marks to him. He’s having a great season and is a joy to watch in this form.

31-10-2022, 11:44 PM

Your last sentence pretty much explains why his game has improved and makes your earlier comments pointless. Most players are less effective when played out of position and improve when played in their best position. The player plays where and how he's instructed - it ain't rocket science.

01-11-2022, 06:37 AM

Nonsense, but unfortunately you’re more interested in winning an argument than having a discussion.

01-11-2022, 06:49 AM
Pretty sure you know it's not quite as straightforward as that.

I've seen many players being far more harshly criticised for poor performances than others and having to do much more to earn praise. Conversely other players get away with murder and are totally overly hyped up when they do well.

You're painting a picture where every fan is perfectly balanced and simply gives praise and criticism in proportionate measures for everyone but realistically, you'll know that's often not the case and I'm not just applying that to Hibs fans. Favourites and scapegoats have always been a big thing with football fans.

I'd totally agree that as a decent earner (I assume) with a good pedigree that Newell should be held to a higher standard than others, and there is inconsistency that I think has been a problem throughout his career, but the criticism from a section of the support has just been at times OTT and that's the issue.

It is for me, play well i will say well done, play badly and it's the opposite.:confused:

01-11-2022, 07:20 AM
[/B]Your last sentence pretty much explains why his game has improved and makes your earlier comments pointless. Most players are less effective when played out of position and improve when played in their best position. The player plays where and how he's instructed - it ain't rocket science.

Good point made and it’s true of others in the squad. LJ has largely allowed players to play to their strengths and everyone benefits. Josh Campbell is another prime example. Even Ryan Porteous has a fresh dimension to his game as a result. Things feel like they are coming together.

01-11-2022, 10:56 AM
It is for me, play well i will say well done, play badly and it's the opposite.:confused:

Subconscious biases are always going to play a part, to a varying degree, in any persons opinion of whether or not a player has played good or bad though.

i.e. several times in the season we came third under Ross posters on here would be moaning after games about how Newell is powder puff and does nothing defensively, despite him having one of the highest tackles per game in the league at the time - they were subconsciously turning a blind eye to the massive amount of defensive input he was having in games, due to him having long hair, languid body language at times and from remembering his early appearances under Hecky.

Hibs4185
01-11-2022, 11:03 AM
Personally I’ve been in the Joe Newell bashing club since he arrived, whereas when I first seen Rocky I thought there was a player there and have happily supported him on here during his dark days.

Im open to changing my mind on Newell and I hope that LJ gets the best out of him but as of yet he is nowhere near consistent enough. whist he can be a rolls Royce type player, he just doesn’t have the full package and his shooting is awful (when he actually does take a shot).

01-11-2022, 11:11 AM
Personally I’ve been in the Joe Newell bashing club since he arrived, whereas when I first seen Rocky I thought there was a player there and have happily supported him on here during his dark days.

Im open to changing my mind on Newell and I hope that LJ gets the best out of him but as of yet he is nowhere near consistent enough. whist he can be a rolls Royce type player, he just doesn’t have the full package and his shooting is awful (when he actually does take a shot).

If that’s your current view of Newell, I suspect there is little chance of him changing your perspective. He’s a human being , will have some good games, some less so ..if he had full consistency he’d be playing at a very high level .

For me , he’s one of our best players ..key to how we play . On Saturday, his performance was up there with the best midfield the league …

01-11-2022, 11:39 AM

Start your sentence with "Some folk" and the nail is hit on the head.
We can't afford/keep hold of world class players so those that stay awhile ain't gonna hit the heights every game. That goes for all positions not just midfielders.

01-11-2022, 11:41 AM

Do you think he would be here if he had "the full package"?

01-11-2022, 12:11 PM

That was accurate up to last season but this season he's added the consistency that he needed to before.

He deserves great credit for this because it has turned him into a huge asset for us. Before he used to frustrate me just as much as anyone.

01-11-2022, 12:16 PM

If you haven't changed your mind on newell now then I doubt you ever will, which is nuts as he has easily been our best midfielder this season

01-11-2022, 12:25 PM
If you haven't changed your mind on newell now then I doubt you ever will, which is nuts as he has easily been our best midfielder this season

Indeed. Eyes must be painted on.

Hibs4185
01-11-2022, 04:31 PM

I did say I was open to changing my mind and if anyone can do it then I’m sure LJ can get the best out of him.

He’s had 2-3 seasons of ups and downs. If he keeps it up for most of the season I’ll happily admit I was completely wrong.