02-09-2022, 06:48 PM
Never in doubt

02-09-2022, 06:49 PM
Thought he was suspended🤔

snedzuk
02-09-2022, 06:49 PM
So he can play tomorrow, how many does he miss after that

Depends if he does a jobby in the refs shoe.

02-09-2022, 06:54 PM
So he can play tomorrow, how many does he miss after that

1....or 2. 🤔

02-09-2022, 06:56 PM
Thought he was suspended[emoji848]

I was about to ask the same !

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

02-09-2022, 07:00 PM
Sure he was given a 3 game ban, of which, he has served one game so far. Won't be available for another two games.

02-09-2022, 07:00 PM
Suspended? Where we’re going we don’t do suspended!

We are the Hibees, we do what we want :take that

02-09-2022, 07:01 PM
Welcome to Hibs, Harry

Green Reaper
02-09-2022, 07:02 PM
Suspension kicks in for Dons and Ross County games

JamesHFC
02-09-2022, 07:03 PM
Patrick on Twitter says he will miss Aberdeen and Ross County.

Paloschi
02-09-2022, 07:03 PM
Get it right up that Swindon journo and everyone sticking the boot into Hibs last night. Welcome Harry. GGTTH

02-09-2022, 07:06 PM
Get it right up that Swindon journo and everyone sticking the boot into Hibs last night. Welcome Harry. GGTTH

[emoji3595][emoji3595][emoji3595] This!

02-09-2022, 07:09 PM

**** that clown.

02-09-2022, 07:14 PM
Patrick on Twitter says he will miss Aberdeen and Ross County.

Better triple check it with SFA.

02-09-2022, 07:16 PM
Here, there's only room for one Harry in this f*****g place....

02-09-2022, 07:18 PM
I like him purely based on his clobber and the protein shake thing.

Been crying out for some characters and swagger in the team and think he'll do nicely.

I want LJ to let him play with the freedom he apparently needs. Stick him through the middle and tell others to get the ball to him, keeping things nice and simple. Boyle and Youan should be more than capable of finding him in the box.

Be good if Nisbet could find some form again when fit and give us a proper front 2 for the first time in ages.

02-09-2022, 07:19 PM
Has anyone seen the tweets from the Swindon fan with mcKirdys best moments for Swindon? some quality opposition fan windups and some tremendous sartorial rebelliousness :greengrin

I think I’m going to like this guy.

02-09-2022, 07:20 PM
Here, there's only room for one Harry in this f*****g place....

Ah. Yes, we've been meaning to tell you...

02-09-2022, 07:21 PM
Has anyone seen the tweets from the Swindon fan with mcKirdys best moments for Swindon? some quality opposition fan windups and some tremendous sartorial rebelliousness :greengrin

I think I’m going to like this guy.

You got a link?

https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1565769607843090432?t=gXwy6FHLH7aJgkDlcTdrIA&s=19

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

CentreForward
Really can’t understand how he is able to play tomorrow and at Tannadice then not available for the 2 games after that. Anyway the main site confirming that he is definitely available tomorrow.

A debut hat trick will do nicely :cb

02-09-2022, 07:23 PM
Absolutely delighted that he can play tomorrow and I really hope he does! I see he played 2 weeks ago for Swindon and scored his 23rd goal for them, 2 goals in the first 5 games this season. Hopefully we can at least see him from the bench tomorrow and he can carry on that scoring touch straight away for the Hibees!

02-09-2022, 07:24 PM
Ah. Yes, we've been meaning to tell you...

02-09-2022, 07:26 PM
I take it this guy is pretty quick? If so , then him , boyle , younan will be some forward line in terms of pace and movement.. Just struggle to see the link up from midfield..

02-09-2022, 07:30 PM
Absolutely delighted that he can play tomorrow and I really hope he does! I see he played 2 weeks ago for Swindon and scored his 23rd goal for them, 2 goals in the first 5 games this season. Hopefully we can at least see him from the bench tomorrow and he can carry on that scoring touch straight away for the Hibees!

I'd start him. We desperately need someone who knows where the goals are, so we're so not reliant on Boyle.

02-09-2022, 07:35 PM
Hurry up Harry cmon we're going down the pub

02-09-2022, 07:37 PM
Be interesting to see mcgeady playing advanced in a midfield 3 when he is fit.. I think he could be really good in there picking the runs out of the front 3 ..

e2los
02-09-2022, 07:38 PM
Urgh, and I just put a bet that had Killie to win in it (£1 bet).

Hope he gets a run out.

02-09-2022, 07:39 PM
Be interesting to see mcgeady playing advanced in a midfield 3 when he is fit.. I think he could be really good in there picking the runs out of the front 3 ..

Been thinking this also.

02-09-2022, 07:41 PM
https://youtu.be/JR8k8jpT3tw

Maybe this 1960s classic from Donovan could be adapted into a song for Harry!

Basildon Hibs
02-09-2022, 07:43 PM
I take it this guy is pretty quick? If so , then him , boyle , younan will be some forward line in terms of pace and movement.. Just struggle to see the link up from midfield..

There isn't one..🤥

02-09-2022, 07:45 PM
Good to see it all cleared up, Swindon at fault here, amazing the number having a right go at Hibs for this delay. Some front 3 of Boyle, Youan and McKirdy, defences hopefully start ****ting themselves with all that pace and trickery.

hibeequinn
02-09-2022, 07:49 PM
Seen something about the ban not coming into play till the 14th or something on those lines

02-09-2022, 07:51 PM

That is ****ing awful

Dazzjw1875
02-09-2022, 07:52 PM
Good to see it all cleared up, Swindon at fault here, amazing the number having a right go at Hibs for this delay. Some front 3 of Boyle, Youan and McKirdy, defences hopefully start ****ting themselves with all that once and trickery.

Aye read online by a journo that it was Swindon who changed the deal as the player they were after was more expensive so they were trying to get more cash in lump sum and change the terms of the deal, threatened to sell him elsewhere.. so we'll played by Hibs..

02-09-2022, 08:00 PM
Can see him getting on the end of some of Cadden and Cabraja's balls into the corridor of uncertainty.

02-09-2022, 08:07 PM
https://youtu.be/kbcONYzM7jQ
This is the only song for Harry

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

Austinho
02-09-2022, 08:08 PM
Comments from a good friend of mine who religiously follows Tranmere Rovers in the same league:

"We've played against him a couple of times. Runs around like a man possessed. Zigzagging all over the place. Got a decent shot on him but is very lightweight. I fear he'll get bullied in the SPL. Interested to see how he does though. Must've spent a few quid to prise him away from Swindon".

02-09-2022, 08:10 PM
You got a link?

https://mobile.twitter.com/AidanAS2001/status/1565587534855512064

I like the guy in the wheelchair. Clearly absolutely lost it with him.

02-09-2022, 08:12 PM
Depends if he does a jobby in the refs shoe.

Good idea for the first line of a song for him. To the tune of son of my father:

Oh Harry Harry
He's gonnae do a jobby in the ref's shoe

02-09-2022, 08:15 PM
Squad number 22

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

02-09-2022, 08:19 PM
I’d have him right in the team. Apart from anything else, from everything I’ve seen, he’d give us a bit of enthusiasm that we lack.

hfcok
02-09-2022, 08:19 PM
Aye read online by a journo that it was Swindon who changed the deal as the player they were after was more expensive so they were trying to get more cash in lump sum and change the terms of the deal, threatened to sell him elsewhere.. so we'll played by Hibs..

Yes defo well played, and a lot of posters on here, blaming Hibs, well done to all involved to getting it done properly this time.

ionahibby
02-09-2022, 08:22 PM
Looking forward to his antics at Tynecastle, could have that lot spewing with his wind ups.

02-09-2022, 08:22 PM
He only has 1 more game to serve.

02-09-2022, 08:23 PM
I’d have him right in the team. Apart from anything else, from everything I’ve seen, he’d give us a bit of enthusiasm that we lack.

Probably unlikely to start as I assume the team will have been training with Saturday's tactics in mind but I'd definitely have him on the bench to come on to noise things up

02-09-2022, 08:25 PM
Looking forward to his antics at Tynecastle, could have that lot spewing with his wind ups.

Very true! Looking forward to seeing that goal celebration a few times!!

BobMilne
02-09-2022, 08:28 PM
Superb choice

02-09-2022, 08:36 PM
Very pleased with that - I'd thought it would drag on to next week and he'd be unavailable for Killie. Look forward to seeing him unveiled :thumbsup:

Scotty Leither
02-09-2022, 08:38 PM
Good luck son, every good Hibs team has always had one or two radges in it.

You’re also a namesake of my late Dad, so “Hurry up Harry” and score your first goal soon, eh?

02-09-2022, 08:39 PM
With him being a Londoner will we be calling him Arry ?

02-09-2022, 08:44 PM
Plenty swagger. Love it. Straight in the side tomorrow hopefully

02-09-2022, 09:32 PM
Hurry up Harry cmon we're going down the pub

We should definitely play that tomorrow if he plays 🙂

02-09-2022, 09:38 PM

Does the Hibs announcer still post in here?

02-09-2022, 09:38 PM

And were also slow in putting the papers in.

He's match fit, so that's a bonus at least.

02-09-2022, 09:44 PM
Number 22- the Leith bus👍

02-09-2022, 09:58 PM

Does the Hibs announcer still post in here?
Must be the go to tune when he scores

02-09-2022, 10:06 PM

Thanks.
Nice goal against Citeh.

02-09-2022, 10:13 PM
Thanks.
Nice goal against Citeh.

Really nice counter attack. He was up against Joao Cancelo and Nathan Ake for almost the full 90 so good experience for a league 2 player.

02-09-2022, 10:16 PM
With him being a Londoner will we be calling him Arry ?

Flash!

02-09-2022, 10:18 PM
Really nice counter attack. He was up against Joao Cancelo and Nathan Ake for almost the full 90 so good experience for a league 2 player.

Hopefully he does something similar against Ash Taylor & co tomorrow.

03-09-2022, 01:08 AM

First song I thought of too. Love it.

I guess we'll save it until Ron gets lava lamps installed at ER.

03-09-2022, 03:47 AM

Comedy gold worth repeating

https://mobile.twitter.com/AidanAS2001/status/1565587690883538944

(https://mobile.twitter.com/AidanAS2001/status/1565587690883538944)

03-09-2022, 05:55 AM
Flash!

Got to adopt the Flash Harry theme tune from the old St Trinian’s movies when he scores 😃

03-09-2022, 06:42 AM
So, Sham 69 or Donovan? Utterly honking tunes, both of them.

Let’s not pretend otherwise!

03-09-2022, 06:59 AM
He seems like a total roaster :hilarious about time we had one of those in the team.

Fuzzywuzzy
03-09-2022, 07:01 AM
Is it just me or does he look like Alan Carr...the comedian not the dead smoking guy

03-09-2022, 07:08 AM
Johnson is getting some characters in the dressing room and I like that. In fact, I think it's really important.

03-09-2022, 07:27 AM

Depending on which source you read, the backing band was 3/4 of what became Led Zep 🤓

03-09-2022, 07:29 AM

Midfield? How we’re going to play…we don’t need no midfield :cb

03-09-2022, 07:43 AM
Johnson is getting some characters in the dressing room and I like that. In fact, I think it's really important.

Agreed. This Hibs team lacks characters and leadership. This guy looks like he’ll noise the place up a bit 👍

03-09-2022, 07:45 AM
One of my mates son worked with him at Swindon and says he’s some player but likely to be suspended more times than Morelos. On form an unbelievable player but just as likely to do something completely bonkers on or off the pitch.

03-09-2022, 07:51 AM
You are the fire
The Hiba desire
It's a goooal when we say
Harry McKirdy

Tell me why
Ain't nothing but a goal machine
Tell me why
Hates the jambos, Hibs As Fxxx in green
Tell me why
You never wanna hear us say
Harry McKirdy

dchibs
03-09-2022, 08:21 AM
You are the fire
The Hiba desire
It's a goooal when we say
Harry McKirdy

Tell me why
Ain't nothing but a goal machine
Tell me why
Hates the jambos, Hibs As Fxxx in green
Tell me why
You never wanna hear us say
Harry McKirdy
Is it too the tune of the Boomtime Rats.

03-09-2022, 08:33 AM

Seems more Backstreet Boys.

03-09-2022, 08:34 AM

What I don’t like Mondays, doesn’t seem to fit in with me

03-09-2022, 08:57 AM
Agreed. This Hibs team lacks characters and leadership. This guy looks like he’ll noise the place up a bit 👍

I really don't think this stands up to much digging.

How exactly do you define a character? or a leader?

Gray, McGregor, Hanlon and Stevenson are still here, 4 key players in our cup win. Captained hundreds of games for Hibs between them. Are they not leaders?

Boyle, Porteous and now McKirdy add a bit of personality.

Our cup winning squad had plenty of everything, but mostly quality. Quality footballers who had a great bond because the manager and coaches had time to build that squad. They failed, got up, failed again, and eventually succeeded. That builds a character and togetherness that just signing guys who yell a bit cannot.

03-09-2022, 09:02 AM
Is it just me or does he look like Alan Carr...the comedian not the dead smoking guy

Yes, I see that.

I'm not sure I approve! :greengrin

Liam978
03-09-2022, 09:12 AM
Yes, I see that.

I'm not sure I approve! :greengrin

Harry Krishna,

Harry Harry, Harry's Barry
Harry harry,
Harry McKirdy.

What a load o crap eh, haha. Paul McCartney eat your heart oot.

03-09-2022, 09:13 AM
Propah Wallop geezer.

HIBS NUTS
03-09-2022, 09:21 AM
I'd start him. We desperately need someone who knows where the goals are, so we're so not reliant on Boyle.

Get him on, it would get the atmosphere up a notch.

Green Reaper
03-09-2022, 09:28 AM
Harry Krishna,

Harry Harry, Harry's Barry
Harry harry,
Harry McKirdy.

What a load o crap eh, haha. Paul McCartney eat your heart oot.
I like but take out Harry Krishna at the beginning, it’s simple and can be repeated for as long as we wanted 👍

Green Blood
03-09-2022, 09:33 AM
https://youtu.be/p-Yc6bFuW-U

Some great goals, will do well for us!

03-09-2022, 09:35 AM
Looking forward to seeing him play today.

03-09-2022, 09:40 AM
I like but take out Harry Krishna at the beginning, it’s simple and can be repeated for as long as we wanted 👍

I don't think that was the beginning. It was indicating the original song! :greengrin

Green Reaper
03-09-2022, 09:41 AM
I don't think that was the beginning. It was indicating the original song! :greengrin

Duh!

Hibee Daft
03-09-2022, 09:47 AM
Mckirdy-Struck!

Nah nah nah nah nah
Mckirdy!
Nah nah nah nah nah
Mckirdy!
Nah nah nah nah nah
Mckirdy!

And so on and so on haha

https://youtu.be/n_GFN3a0yj0

Billy McKirdy
03-09-2022, 09:55 AM
Harry-McKirdy
Dada dada dads da

To this tune 🤣

https://youtu.be/-l5TV3veFOY

03-09-2022, 10:10 AM
Does .net have an archer emoji?

03-09-2022, 10:21 AM
Does .net have an archer emoji?

For his celebration?

It’s more of an archer with a machine gun from what I can determine [emoji1787]

03-09-2022, 10:22 AM
Hibs new boy Harry McKirdy has revealed Scotland internationalist and former Easter Road favourite John McGinn helped sell him on a move to the Capital.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-new-boy-harry-mckirdy-reveals-john-mcginn-seal-of-approval-and-edinburgh-derby-wish-3830193

03-09-2022, 10:27 AM
https://youtu.be/C93XujMMbaM

First interview

03-09-2022, 10:28 AM
Looking forward to seeing what this guy brings to the team. Seems a bit gallus, like a few favourites we’ve had before.:thumbsup:

Cat Stanton
03-09-2022, 10:33 AM
https://youtu.be/C93XujMMbaM

First interview

Spit out the chewing gum, son. Show a bit of respect - Hibs class and all that. Shoulders back, sit up straight.

03-09-2022, 10:37 AM
Spit out the chewing gum, son. Show a bit of respect - Hibs class and all that. Shoulders back, sit up straight.

I’ll let you tell him😀

03-09-2022, 11:35 AM
Seems a confident boy.

Trinity Hibee
03-09-2022, 04:40 PM
Impressed with him. Quick direct and good dribbling. Not sure mcgeady will get back into the side now.

03-09-2022, 04:48 PM
Decent debut. Will be a fans favourite.

Stubbsy90+2
03-09-2022, 04:56 PM
Done quite well. Should probably have done better when he had his effort blocked. Think he should have been finding Boyle but can’t blame him for taking it on.

I’d be tempted to use him as the striker and Youan on the left though. I really like Youan, but he really doesn’t look like a striker to me.

03-09-2022, 05:02 PM
Looked very sharp and comfortable on the ball.

Needed to get it to him more often today, really like the movement and desire shown to get in front of the defender for his headed chance

03-09-2022, 05:03 PM
Seems like a proper striker, gets into good positions and will score goals I think.

Youhan on left, Boyle on right, McKirdy in the middle.

Henderson needs a rest

Very keen and direct, took players on well a couple of times. Liked him, should score at the end or feed Boyle but I think he'll contribute plenty on first impression. As mentioned above, great desire to get on the end of Caddens cross and unlucky with the header.

“Good day for Edinburgh”

https://www.instagram.com/p/CiDVatFDihi/?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=

Winding the Hearts fans up already.

03-09-2022, 05:05 PM
Yip, looks lively and I think he will cause a lot of problems. He’s not going to win many headers so cue incoming balls from Porto trying to find him!

03-09-2022, 05:07 PM
“Good day for Edinburgh”

https://www.instagram.com/p/CiDVatFDihi/?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=

Winding the Hearts fans up already.

charlie_templeton seems quite a classy dude huh

getting his cardigan all ruffled

03-09-2022, 05:11 PM
charlie_templeton seems quite a classy dude huh

getting his cardigan all ruffled

Target identified…I’m on it.

03-09-2022, 05:15 PM
Target identified…I’m on it.

i've no idea how instagram works but he,mckirdy, has 1600 likes already for that comment....i think ?

03-09-2022, 05:16 PM
i've no idea how instagram works but he,mckirdy, has 1600 likes already for that comment....i think ?

That’s correct. 1800 now.

Skol
03-09-2022, 05:20 PM
I didn’t see enough from him today. He seemed to hang out on the wing and not get sufficiently involved.

03-09-2022, 05:21 PM
That’s correct. 1800 now.

and now the link has went all 'password needed' etc, page isn't available

meh

03-09-2022, 05:23 PM
Liked what I saw today - never stands still and some good movement off the ball. Looks good with the ball at his feet as well.

Benny Brazil
03-09-2022, 05:26 PM
Looked like he had turned up missing half his kit and he had 20 cigs and a can of Tennents in his pocket 😁 but apart from that looks lively and direct - prefer to see him in the middle of the front 3 with Youan on the left.
Will be a fans favourite for sure.

03-09-2022, 05:28 PM
I didn’t see enough from him today. He seemed to hang out on the wing and not get sufficiently involved.

You sure you were looking at the right player?

hfcok
03-09-2022, 05:34 PM
He was knackered at the end, he was trying to have a good spew. All that’s nervous energy, and a busy last few days for him.

uwxm07
03-09-2022, 05:39 PM
He was knackered at the end, he was trying to have a good spew. All that’s nervous energy, and a busy last few days for him.

This place is poisoned- the guy hasn’t even
met most of his teammates before today , far less trained with them or had a coaching session
He looked interested today which is a good start !

Skol
03-09-2022, 05:42 PM
You sure you were looking at the right player?

Yep, pretty sure. He was an improvement on Henderson, but I would like to see him more central and more involved as I think he would be a threat.

03-09-2022, 05:42 PM
met most of his teammates before today , far less trained with them or had a coaching session

In what way is the place poisoned? The majority have been pretty positive about him on this thread

03-09-2022, 05:44 PM
Yep, pretty sure. He was an improvement on Henderson, but I would like to see him more central and more involved as I think he would be a threat.

I agree in regards him playing through the middle but that’s no his choice. Thought he done pretty well considering he’s just in the door, looked positive, willing to take players on

03-09-2022, 05:54 PM
He reminded me of Darren Jackson, think he will be really good

Mikey_1875
03-09-2022, 05:57 PM
Looked direct and willing to take players on. Decent debut I thought and should only get better.

Made some good runs that weren’t picked out by the midfield too. Negative marks for having his hands in his sleeves all game!

03-09-2022, 05:57 PM
Some of our fans are a total embarrassment

03-09-2022, 05:59 PM
Looked direct and willing to take players on. Decent debut I thought and should only get better.

Made some good runs that weren’t picked out by the midfield too. Negative marks for having his hands in his sleeves all game!

Hes a maverick he'll have a mavericks license..... as long as he delivers.

03-09-2022, 06:09 PM
Just checking on Keekback how the maroon muppets new striker got on

Humphrys - 1 - One of the worst debuts I have seen in 50+ years. Absolutely hopeless.

Pleasing lol

03-09-2022, 06:21 PM
The guy done alright and will only get better.

03-09-2022, 06:21 PM

Humphrys - 1 - One of the worst debuts I have seen in 50+ years. Absolutely hopeless.

Pleasing lol

Yeah but he said Hearts have an amazing traning centre and they are the main team in Edinburgh so that's all that matters.

hfcok
03-09-2022, 06:24 PM

He had a brilliant start in my opinion, all the last few days, must have took a lot of nervous energy out of the lad, he was always looking for the ball, and when he had it something came off it, apart from his wee half chance at the end. He will be a player for us there’s no doubt about that.

MagicSwirlingShip
03-09-2022, 07:04 PM
The biggest compliment I can give him, is he reminds me of a young Riordan.

Silversand
03-09-2022, 07:07 PM
Looked good, sure there's more to come [emoji106]

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

03-09-2022, 07:19 PM
Some of our fans are a total embarrassment

They are, strange seems to be a fairly recent development.

GRA
03-09-2022, 07:25 PM
Yeah but he said Hearts have an amazing traning centre and they are the main team in Edinburgh so that's all that matters.

I remember when they had that Lithuanian guy (Beniusis?). Made his debut against us in the opening game of the 2007 season. We won 1-0 and this guy got booed relentlessly. Destroyed his confidence. Be a shame if the same happened to Ryan Stevenson's love child...

03-09-2022, 08:43 PM

Pleasing lol

03-09-2022, 09:43 PM
Might be an idea for McKirdy to play in the development squad while he's suspended unless he's banned from playing altogether.

03-09-2022, 09:50 PM

Funnily enough I was thinking this morning that he had the potential to be a bit like Darren. Gallus, clever, tricksy and a wee bit unpredictable. I saw enough today to think that may well be the case the more he settles.

LustForLeith
03-09-2022, 09:58 PM
Has a look of a young Johnny Rotten about him

Hope that’s the only thing Rotten about him

Crammond Hibee
03-09-2022, 10:04 PM
The biggest compliment I can give him, is he reminds me of a young Riordan.
Hope he’s half as good

03-09-2022, 10:32 PM
Need to play hm through the middle and he'll do fine. Wasted out on the wing.

03-09-2022, 11:16 PM

Agree

04-09-2022, 12:03 AM
The way he talks reminds me of Pete Doherty. Be happy if he can shoot half as well!

04-09-2022, 12:44 AM
Has a look of a young Johnny Rotten about him

Hope that’s the only thing Rotten about him

Bet his Public Image is great......

zitelli62
04-09-2022, 12:52 AM
Looks likes a [and I hate saying this] a poor man's jack grealish.

Skol
04-09-2022, 05:25 AM
Need to play hm through the middle and he'll do fine. Wasted out on the wing.

Spot in. That’s what I said and people took offence. We didn’t get to see him where he will be most effective.

04-09-2022, 05:56 AM
Might be an idea for McKirdy to play in the development squad while he's suspended unless he's banned from playing altogether.

Why?

04-09-2022, 06:06 AM
I’m not sure playing through the middle will be his best position. He’s perhaps a bit lightweight for that role. Think he will likely be off a central striker, like how Riordan used to play . He’s got lots of energy, tricks and movement…will do well I think

04-09-2022, 06:09 AM
Reminded me of Dean Shiels

Looked a bit light for the Premiership but nothing the gym at the TC can’t sort

There was definitely something about him a wee bit guile and imagination something different the unexpected

Left me wanting more

As others have said play him through the middle or in the hole behind Nisbet

We seem to have a fascination with playing our strikers out on the left wing

04-09-2022, 06:31 AM
Reminded me of Dean Shiels

Looked a bit light for the Premiership but nothing the gym at the TC can’t sort

There was definitely something about him a wee bit guile and imagination something different the unexpected

Left me wanting more

As others have said play him through the middle or in the hole behind Nisbet

We seem to have a fascination with playing our strikers out on the left wing

I'm glad we've signed him and look forward to seeing more of him but your last paragraph is why I was a bit surprised to see us spend money on a forward.

If we keep going 433 then we'll need to figure out how to do it with the players we have as right now Henderson, McKirdy and Melkerson have all been chucked out wide and its not happening.

04-09-2022, 06:43 AM
I'm glad we've signed him and look forward to seeing more of him but your last paragraph is why I was a bit surprised to see us spend money on a forward.

If we keep going 433 then we'll need to figure out how to do it with the players we have as right now Henderson, McKirdy and Melkerson have all been chucked out wide and its not happening.

Surely mcgeady was signed to play there? Obviously not expecting him to get injured so early but when back he will play wide left

04-09-2022, 06:46 AM
Surely mcgeady was signed to play there? Obviously not expecting him to get injured so early but when back he will play wide left

I wonder if McGeady will come back ? He’s had a recurrence of a medial ligament injury. Worryingly it was non contact too..His knee will never be quite as strong as it was…will he be fit enough to return to first team action ?

04-09-2022, 06:54 AM
I wonder if McGeady will come back ? He’s had a recurrence of a medial ligament injury. Worryingly it was non contact too..His knee will never be quite as strong as it was…will he be fit enough to return to first team action ?

Sent from my iPad using TapatalkYou sure it was non contact, was it not after he got clattered by some clown from Norwich?

04-09-2022, 07:00 AM

Maybe, but with Boyle a stick on for the right, we have Nisbet (soon), Youan, Bojang, McKirdy and the new Ukrainian lad all fighting for 1 starting position up front.

I'll admit the irony here as we've gone for having almost no options up top last season to more than we can do with!

04-09-2022, 07:01 AM
You sure it was non contact, was it not after he got clattered by some clown from Norwich?

Didn’t get hit. Did look like it at the time. But in replay was non contact. He’s talked about it since too …ligament went in his knee

Mutu
04-09-2022, 07:18 AM
Pretty sure McGeady was playing centrally as a 10 for Sunderland.

Seen enough of McKirdy to see that he will be starting for the rest of the season. We desperately need someone with a bit of conviction in front of goal and he should bring that.

04-09-2022, 07:27 AM
Maybe, but with Boyle a stick on for the right, we have Nisbet (soon), Youan, Bojang, McKirdy and the new Ukrainian lad all fighting for 1 starting position up front.

I'll admit the irony here as we've gone for having almost no options up top last season to more than we can do with!

And melkersen also, yip when all back fit and available we will be top heavy, personally I'd have youan wide left, mckirdy in the middle and Boyle on the right but the new lad might come in and be better than them all, just need them to start taking chances

04-09-2022, 07:30 AM
Number 22- the Leith bus👍

Pedant here - not anymore it's not, S Gyle to Waterloo Place only.

04-09-2022, 08:43 AM
And melkersen also, yip when all back fit and available we will be top heavy, personally I'd have youan wide left, mckirdy in the middle and Boyle on the right but the new lad might come in and be better than them all, just need them to start taking chances

We are heavy in terms of numbers but quality still looks an issue (hopefully one of the new guys can change that).

Someone really has a chance to go and make the centre forward position their own.

04-09-2022, 08:57 AM
Twitter reporting that Birmingham City tried to gazump us at the last minute

Disnae matter now anyways he’s here

https://twitter.com/hibsnews1875/status/1566340494820515841?s=21&t=fRwlwXhlbaOhVt1d1A95y5Q

04-09-2022, 10:16 AM
Twitter reporting that Birmingham City tried to gazump us at the last minute

Disnae matter now anyways he’s here

https://twitter.com/hibsnews1875/status/1566340494820515841?s=21&t=fRwlwXhlbaOhVt1d1A95y5Q
Well done then to Hibs, our manager and the recruitment team in making it happen, even from a hospital bed 😊👏

04-09-2022, 10:37 AM
Lightweight and overrated.

....according to the old pensioner sitting next to me that moaned about every player on the pitch.

05-09-2022, 07:44 AM
Excited about this signing. My one concern is he may need to bulk up a bit for this league but that'll come.

05-09-2022, 07:56 AM
Excited about this signing. My one concern is he may need to bulk up a bit for this league but that'll come.

Yeah, agree. Thought the same, can see him getting pushed around so he'll need to learn how to cope with it, like Boyle did.

05-09-2022, 08:05 AM
Why does everyone need to bulk up? Pretty much everyone we sign there’s a thread about them and posts saying they need to bulk up

ErinGoBraghHFC
05-09-2022, 09:04 AM
The way he talks reminds me of Pete Doherty. Be happy if he can shoot half as well!

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

05-09-2022, 09:06 AM
Why does everyone need to bulk up? Pretty much everyone we sign there’s a thread about them and posts saying they need to bulk up

Scotland is a physical league for sure.

But I get your point. He didn’t look too lightweight to me and managed to get in front of the defender for his header over the bar easily enough as well as hold off a few when he did a couple of dribbles.

Renfrew_Hibby
05-09-2022, 09:13 AM
Yeah, agree. Thought the same, can see him getting pushed around so he'll need to learn how to cope with it, like Boyle did.

The lower leagues down south are full of giant bruisers, I'm sure he'll be just fine.
I remember Danny Murphy talking about the tail end of his career at Fulham. Bulking up and hitting the gym was becoming the norm and he felt he had to get on board.
After 'bulking up' he felt he lost his edge, he was heavier, slower and didn't feel as capable as he had been before, he felt that particular season was his poorest of his career and the following season was much improved after he reverted back to his former weight/ muscle mass ect.

05-09-2022, 09:19 AM
Did they not try to bulk Derek Riordan up but he just didn't have the physical make up for it? He did ok without it.

McKirdy looks pretty nimble and agile. Not sure how much of that I'd want to trade in in favour of "bulking up", in order to still be outmuscled by the big, ugly defenders he would previously be too sharp for.

05-09-2022, 09:34 AM
Did they not try to bulk Derek Riordan up but he just didn't have the physical make up for it? He did ok without it.

McKirdy looks pretty nimble and agile. Not sure how much of that I'd want to trade in in favour of "bulking up", in order to still be outmuscled by the big, ugly defenders he would previously be too sharp for.

The classic 'bulker-upper' is Lewis Stevenson. Footage of him when he first broke through at Hibs and a few years later was like night and day.

Gloucester Hibs
05-09-2022, 09:35 AM
Re: being chucked out on the wing, Swinton fan I know reckons he played most of his games for them as winger and less as an out and out striker.

Victor
05-09-2022, 09:38 AM
Wish they had introduced Porteous to him before the match as he didn’t seem to know who he was. McKirdy spent most of his time out on the left in acres of space, but Ryan just ignored him. McKirdy then resorted to putting his hand up in the hope he could attract his attention. In any event he looks promising got his head on a cross from Cadden which no one else has been able to do for weeks. Maybe just give him a licence to roam, I don’t think he will conform to a set position!

05-09-2022, 09:39 AM
We brought McKirdy in because he’s been scoring goals. I don’t think we should be looking to change him at all. Let’s see what he can do first at least!

05-09-2022, 09:45 AM
The classic 'bulker-upper' is Lewis Stevenson. Footage of him when he first broke through at Hibs and a few years later was like night and day.
That suited his game as he is a combative player that gets involved in plenty contact and speed wasn't his trump card. I wouldn't say Boyle has bulked up but learned he needs to get his feet off the ground when he gets fouled and make sure he gets the free kicks to get players booked so they have to stop. McKirdy looks sharp and similar to Boyle in that he likes to run with the ball at speed. Bulking up not required for that type of player imo as their sharpness is their strength

05-09-2022, 09:49 AM
Re: being chucked out on the wing, Swinton fan I know reckons he played most of his games for them as winger and less as an out and out striker.

According to his interview with Hibs TV he's played on either side or up the middle. And hes not got a preference. It seems from the BBC that in recent games he's been on the right. Swindon play a 3-4-3.

05-09-2022, 09:56 AM
That suited his game as he is a combative player that gets involved in plenty contact and speed wasn't his trump card. I wouldn't say Boyle has bulked up but learned he needs to get his feet off the ground when he gets fouled and make sure he gets the free kicks to get players booked so they have to stop. McKirdy looks sharp and similar to Boyle in that he likes to run with the ball at speed. Bulking up not required for that type of player imo as their sharpness is their strength

You might be right, i cant say i know much about the science. Sharpness could also be genetic, or just learned experience.

Gloucester Hibs
05-09-2022, 09:57 AM
According to his interview with Hibs TV he's played on either side or up the middle. And hes not got a preference. It seems from the BBC that in recent games he's been on the right. Swindon play a 3-4-3.

Wonder if we could see a front 3 of McKirdy Nisbet and Boyle by the end of the year, sounds pretty exciting on paper. Youan and the big Ukrainian giving us good options from the bench also.

05-09-2022, 10:04 AM
Wonder if we could see a front 3 of McKirdy Nisbet and Boyle by the end of the year, sounds pretty exciting on paper. Youan and the big Ukrainian giving us good options from the bench also.

We're Hibs though, you know at least two of them will be injured at any one time!
It does look good on paper, I agree.

05-09-2022, 10:05 AM
You might be right, i cant say i know much about the science. Sharpness could also be genetic, or just learned experience. Probably has much to do with confidence too. I watched one of the Untold series from Netflix on Mardy Fish. He lost loads of weight and put everything into strength and conditioning. He looked almost gaunt to me but basically got himself as lean and muscular as possible. That took him from 100 odd ranked player to top ten in a season. Lots of other factors in terms of attitude and a change of mindset that ultimately meant his mental health suffered badly. The part about him leaning down but also strengthening what he had is possibly pertinent to McKirdy. He looks very lithe and strong to me and doesn't seem to have an issue when going shoulder to shoulder from the clips I have seem. Tennis is a very different sport of course but Fish lost weight and got stronger

Fuzzywuzzy
05-09-2022, 10:06 AM

Need a team of akinfemwa's!!

05-09-2022, 10:08 AM
Hope he’s half as good

I hope he's better.

Bobby Moore
05-09-2022, 10:53 AM
Sorry if posted earlier but his suspension carried over from the referee incident at Swindon means he misses the Aberdeen & Ross County matches.
Hopefully the Ukrainian lad shall be available for these games.

05-09-2022, 11:05 AM
Sorry if posted earlier but his suspension carried over from the referee incident at Swindon means he misses the Aberdeen & Ross County matches.
Hopefully the Ukrainian lad shall be available for these games.

Did he not serve 2 of the 3 game suspension in England before moving here?

Bobby Moore
05-09-2022, 11:12 AM
I got this from an article by Moira Gordon in the Scotsman.
I think one of the Swindon games was a cup match, maybe this doesn’t count for the purposes of the suspension and as the incident happened after a League match maybe it only applies to League fixtures?

05-09-2022, 11:14 AM
Did he not serve 2 of the 3 game suspension in England before moving here?

It looks like he missed a league game and a EFL trophy game, im not sure if that counts as 2 or its just a league game suspension.

05-09-2022, 12:08 PM
In todays Scotsman from Mark Atkinson it indicates he will only miss the Aberdeen game:

"He was given a three-match ban – one of which will be served in Scotland, against Aberdeen on September 17. He says he has learned his lesson."

05-09-2022, 12:30 PM
In todays Scotsman from Mark Atkinson it indicates he will only miss the Aberdeen game:

"He was given a three-match ban – one of which will be served in Scotland, against Aberdeen on September 17. He says he has learned his lesson."

The lesson being "don't believe the pish you read in the papers and on the BBC about player suspensions."

So far we've had articles saying he couldn't play against Kilmarnock, articles saying he still has two games to serve and articles saying he only has one game to serve. Journos just make it up or take it off message boards..it's all pish and wind.

05-09-2022, 12:39 PM
As long as the person at Hibs who deals with suspensions and the like is very much on top of things…

05-09-2022, 01:56 PM
As long as the person at Hibs who deals with suspensions and the like is very much on top of things…

If the fans are all over it, I’m sure the club are.

IIRC, not one of us on here thought Rocky was suspended for Morton and we are quite an astute bunch.

Mcbizz1998
05-09-2022, 02:03 PM
The lesson being "don't believe the pish you read in the papers and on the BBC about player suspensions."

So far we've had articles saying he couldn't play against Kilmarnock, articles saying he still has two games to serve and articles saying he only has one game to serve. Journos just make it up or take it off message boards..it's all pish and wind.

BBC also reliably informed me in their match report from the weekend that Hibs are hosting Dundee United next up.

05-09-2022, 02:54 PM
BBC also reliably informed me in their match report from the weekend that Hibs are hosting Dundee United next up.

They really are a bunch of amateur hour idiots - not fit for purpose. A great advert for aboloshing the license fee.