View Full Version : The last time Hearts won the League Cup…
Austinho
31-08-2022, 09:26 PM
The first ever James Bond movie had just reached cinemas.
Marilyn Monroe had recently died.
James May was yet to be born…
31-08-2022, 09:30 PM
Love this thread every year. The Cuban missile crisis was at its peak.
JamesHFC
31-08-2022, 09:31 PM
Audio cassettes and the first computer video game were invented.
Harold Macmillan was prime minister.
The moon was a long way away.
31-08-2022, 09:32 PM
Gordon Smith played for them
An ex hibee Ian Crawford scored two
Willie Hamilton played for them
Man hadn’t walked on the moon
The World Wide Web hadn’t been invented
31-08-2022, 09:33 PM
The Beatles were thinking about taking this music lark seriously.
31-08-2022, 09:34 PM
I was 20 months old to the day.
King conrad
31-08-2022, 09:34 PM
My dad was only 8
wallpaperman
31-08-2022, 09:35 PM
Pete Best had recently been fired as The Beatles drummer.
31-08-2022, 09:36 PM
JFK still had another year to live.
Pele was only 21, Maradona was a toddler
31-08-2022, 09:38 PM
I'm sorry to say I remember the occasion.
31-08-2022, 09:39 PM
Lawrence of Arabia had yet to be released.
31-08-2022, 09:41 PM
JFK still had another year to live.
Pele was only 21, Maradona was a toddler
Simon Le Bon had his 4th birthday party the same day.
31-08-2022, 09:41 PM
12, 13 as of next week, prime ministers have held the keys to number 10.
31-08-2022, 09:42 PM
Ipswich Town were reigning champions of England.
Dundee were reigning champions of Scotland
Average UK house price was £2,670.
Petrol was 4s 11d a gallon.
31-08-2022, 09:42 PM
There was no Forth Road Bridge and the Rolling Stones hadn’t had a hit yet.
Ann Budge was still in shorts.
leith lynx
31-08-2022, 09:45 PM
Tynecastle was still smaller than Easter Road:greengrin
31-08-2022, 09:45 PM
2shillings for a pint.
That’s £1.70 in todays money.
Lucky, lucky *******s.
Bridge hibs
31-08-2022, 09:47 PM
1959 September 14th The Soviet Union launches first spacecraft to reach the surface of the Moon Luna 2
Shame they didnt win it this year, Moon Lunatics 22 has a sort of maroon ****ty sounding name
31-08-2022, 09:48 PM
It was only 60 years since Hibs last won the Scottish Cup.
ACLeith
The English FA were on the lookout for Russian linesman for 4 years ahead
Third Lanark, Airdrie, Gretna and Rangers have all gone to the wall.
(Do I get a bonus point for bringing Rangers into this?)
Critical year in the Shawshank Redemption plot .
31-08-2022, 09:51 PM
We have a winner.
davy67 +
31-08-2022, 09:59 PM
The Mont Blanc tunnel had yet to be opened
31-08-2022, 10:05 PM
It was closer to reign of Edward 7th than it is to the present day 😂
31-08-2022, 10:08 PM
Stop the thread now...genius!!
McSwanky
31-08-2022, 10:09 PM
Concorde was 7 years from taking its first flight.
Teletext hadn't been invented yet.
Dad's Army didn't hit TV screens for another 6 years.
Brown corduroy was alive and well in the West of Edinburgh, as it remains to this day.
The staircases at Tynecastle went somewhere.
31-08-2022, 10:13 PM
The Queen had just celebrated 10 years on the throne
BBC 2 was still 2 years away. We only had black and white TV.
Austinho
31-08-2022, 10:14 PM
The Queen had just celebrated 10 years on the throneJesus, what had she eaten?
31-08-2022, 10:15 PM
It was 18 years since D day in WW2.
31-08-2022, 10:16 PM
Jesus, what had she eaten?
🤣
CB Hibs 68
31-08-2022, 10:17 PM
Is this what it has come to .Basking in Hearts abject Leaguy Cup record.Personally more concerned about how Hibs are doing which currently is *****.
31-08-2022, 10:17 PM
Is this what it has come to .Basking in Hearts abject Leaguy Cup record.Personally more concerned about how Hibs are doing which currently is *****.
31-08-2022, 10:20 PM
You had to replace gramaphone needles after evert play of a record.
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
Fun over folks.
Time to get back to wallowing in our own self-pity.
31-08-2022, 10:22 PM
Jesus, what had she eaten?
that’s a bad case of the leveins
itslegaltender
31-08-2022, 10:30 PM
Alright. Who updated the Jambos wiki page 😂
itslegaltender
31-08-2022, 10:31 PM
“Heart of Midlothian were beaten convincingly by Kilmarnock in the League Cup on 31st of August 2022. There are only a few fans left alive that can remember hearts winning it previously.”
Alright. Who updated the Jambos wiki page 😂
It was you wasn't it? 😀
https://i.ibb.co/fFKTvzm/Screenshot-20220831-233146-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/nmVKCNh)
31-08-2022, 10:35 PM
**** off
31-08-2022, 10:36 PM
“heart of midlothian were beaten convincingly by kilmarnock in the league cup on 31st of august 2022. There are only a few fans left alive that can remember hearts winning it previously.”
superb
31-08-2022, 10:37 PM
My now 89 year old grandad was a sprightly 29.
CB Hibs 68
31-08-2022, 10:38 PM
Fun over folks.
Time to get back to wallowing in our own self-pity.
Correct.Firm fan of Schadenfreud or however you spell it but personally couldn’t give a flying f””” about. Hearts.Glad they got beat but more concerned about Hibs .
They are not mutually exclusive. We can laugh at Hearts whilst still being concerned about us.
Austinho
31-08-2022, 10:45 PM
Is this what it has come to .Basking in Hearts abject Leaguy Cup record.Personally more concerned about how Hibs are doing which currently is *****.I’d say our rivals are a reasonable marker for where we are as a club, and that’s us having won a trophy in the past decade and them not. That’s us having won more trophies in my dad’s lifetime, in my nephew’s lifetime and the same number of trophies in my lifetime - all without stolen Lithuanian tax money, stolen poppy money, tax loopholes and rich benefactors coming to the rescue. We might not always perform to the standard we expect, but when times are tough I look across the city and thank the lord we aren’t the most underperforming team in Scotland, and haven’t blown over £100 million over the years on literally nothing, for literally nothing.
CB Hibs 68
31-08-2022, 10:52 PM
They are not mutually exclusive. We can laugh at Hearts whilst still being concerned about us.
Fair enough but my concern about the current Hibs team far exceeds my delight in Hearts getting beat inthe League Cup.Let’s wait and see how we get on against Killie on Saturday
👍
31-08-2022, 11:00 PM
CB Hibs 68 was born without a sense of humour 6 years afterwards😉
31-08-2022, 11:10 PM
Can Schadenfreude play in the midfield?
CB Hibs 68
31-08-2022, 11:10 PM
CB Hibs 68 was born without a sense of humour 6 years afterwards😉
Yup .Watching Hibs right now is hilarious
CB Hibs 68
31-08-2022, 11:15 PM
I take it your spelling is correct?
31-08-2022, 11:25 PM
Wee look over the road and not happy with a few players.
Someone says shankland can't lead the line on his own and needs help.
Haring is their Joe Newell from the looks of it slowing down play.
Sibbick still getting it from all ends.
Corners are *****
But then we get it's only the league cup so do we really care?
For such a big team they ain't have hurting tonight about the wee cup.
31-08-2022, 11:26 PM
I take it your spelling is correct?
Yes it is. You were close. We all know our situation just enjoy their misery it's what rivalry is all about.
But can he play in midfield?😁
31-08-2022, 11:51 PM
The staircases at Tynecastle went somewhere.
Ok, that one got me 😅
01-09-2022, 05:41 AM
Yup .Watching Hibs right now is hilarious
there’s about 10 threads on here where you can talk about your concern for Hibs.
yet you’re all over this one, which is there to provide a little light humoured relief to Hibs fans, talking about your concern for Hibs.
back on track and here’s one about Hibs, just for you. The biggest competitive hammering ever dished out in the history of the Edinburgh Derby was still over a decade away from happening.
01-09-2022, 05:43 AM
Yep we could do with a bit of German physicality in midfield :greengrin
01-09-2022, 05:44 AM
I’d say our rivals are a reasonable marker for where we are as a club, and that’s us having won a trophy in the past decade and them not. That’s us having won more trophies in my dad’s lifetime, in my nephew’s lifetime and the same number of trophies in my lifetime - all without stolen Lithuanian tax money, stolen poppy money, tax loopholes and rich benefactors coming to the rescue. We might not always perform to the standard we expect, but when times are tough I look across the city and thank the lord we aren’t the most underperforming team in Scotland, and haven’t blown over £100 million over the years on literally nothing, for literally nothing.
Can't say better than that :greengrin
01-09-2022, 05:47 AM
Sir Albert Kidd had just celebrated his first birthday the week before
01-09-2022, 06:18 AM
Yep we could do with a bit of German physicality in midfield :greengrin
It would be another 37 years til Matty Jack invented the Matty Jack role...
Also Dr Who hadn't been created yet...
I’m going to totally disagree.
Before the season started my maroon chums said they’d be doing this and doing that given they are far superior in terms of budget than anyone else outwith the OF.
They have blown what 50-60 million in the last few years and the only thing they’ve won is relegation no sorry demotion!
My phone has been so quiet this evening it’s so funny. Not one response and nothing this morning either.
So with the extra 5 plus million than everyone else they have a pissy little squad and a few games into the season the players are all exhausted.
All very pleasing this morning!
01-09-2022, 06:21 AM
Diana, Princess of Wales was only 1.
01-09-2022, 06:27 AM
Most people can go for a slash and whistle at the same time. If you can't enjoy your rivals losing a vital cup game, what's the point?
Hearts are a club who bang on about WW2 but stole the poppy money, talk about their magnificent atmosphere when they can barely muster a song for 90 minutes, and despite financial doping at industrial levels have got a terrible, terrible record at actually winning anything. But still, they manage to have a superiority complex???
Let us enjoy ourselves.
01-09-2022, 06:31 AM
PSG were still around a decade away from being formed.
Most people can go for a slash and whistle at the same time. If you can't enjoy your rivals losing a vital cup game, what's the point?
Hearts are a club who bang on about WW2 but stole the poppy money, talk about their magnificent atmosphere when they can barely muster a song for 90 minutes, and despite financial doping at industrial levels have got a terrible, terrible record at actually winning anything. But still, they manage to have a superiority complex???
Let us enjoy ourselves.
Very well written piece!
I’ve got a few replies this morning and you guessed it 1-5 1-5 blah blah
01-09-2022, 07:38 AM
Lawrence of Arabia had yet to be released.
Had his team been relegated to the Arabian 2nd division in a world Cup year too?
DIXIHIBS
01-09-2022, 07:54 AM
I was born 9 months later...not sure what my dad was celebrating!!
Cat Stanton
01-09-2022, 08:29 AM
Herbert Hoover, Cole Porter, Edith Piaf and Harpo Marx were all still alive.
01-09-2022, 08:29 AM
Not only have they not won it for 60 years, they've also only made it to the final twice since then.
During the same period we've won it three times and been in the final ten times.
Partick Thistle, St Mirren, Livingston, St Johnstone and Dundee all have better records than Hearts during that period, all having won it at least once and appeared in as many or more finals.
Great job lads. Still, 'big team' eh?
01-09-2022, 10:31 AM
Hearts team in 1962 had Willie Hamilton and Johnny Hamilton (dubbed The Rat by Hibees). We used to go to Hibs one week and Hearts the next so both teams were familiar faces and the personnel didn't change so quickly season to season as it does now.
01-09-2022, 10:50 AM
It had been the same amount of years of Hibs having previously won the Scottish Cup then as it is now from Hearts last winning the league cup.
The other pleasing thing about this thread is that none of the usual trolls are joining in the laughter at the Yam Fuds.
Y’ken, the ones that don’t know the streets around Easter Road, can’t remember details about the game they were supposedly at yet still try and convince us that they speak on behalf of all Hibs fans.
Maybe they’re in their beds 😂
01-09-2022, 11:23 AM
You ought to read the excuses about it not being a big enough cup to win 🤣🤣🤣
AltheHibby
01-09-2022, 11:24 AM
This Granddad wasn't yet born.
Okay, I was born the next day, so I can still say that they haven't won it in my lifetime.
01-09-2022, 01:15 PM
Seen my first ever League Cup final Hibs v Celtic 1968/69 season, the game had been postponed from the October when we would have beat them as we was flying as they say, we got stuffed 6-2 as for the hertz **** them, try saying it, go on its easy everyone now **** the hertz.
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin
01-09-2022, 02:07 PM
Jesus was in nappies.
01-09-2022, 02:43 PM
They were paying for their poppy wreaths back then as well.
01-09-2022, 03:55 PM
Jesus was in nappies.
Thought Mary and Joseph were on their way to Gorgie farm when they last won it
01-09-2022, 03:59 PM
They were paying for their poppy wreaths back then as well.
That long ago!
01-09-2022, 06:36 PM
Surely Hearts aren't out of the League Cup!
One of our esteemed posters was telling us only recently how much better they are than Hibs... yet they get beat by Killie?
01-09-2022, 06:51 PM
Why are you on this thread?
01-09-2022, 06:55 PM
Last time They won the League Cup it was actually called the League Cup...and Hibs actually signed who they wanted before the transfer window closed
01-09-2022, 07:01 PM
Last time They won the League Cup it was actually called the League Cup...and Hibs actually signed who they wanted before the transfer window closed
...but only because it was so long ago that the transfer window hadn't been invented yet.
01-09-2022, 07:12 PM
Liverpool were a run of the mill second division team
01-09-2022, 07:23 PM
...but only because it was so long ago that the transfer window hadn't been invented yet.
😇
LewysGot2
01-09-2022, 09:08 PM
If you were alive the last time they won it I’m sorry to say yer auld. Proper auld.
01-09-2022, 09:23 PM
Liverpool were a run of the mill second division team
not quite true
01-09-2022, 09:28 PM
Last time hearts won the league cup Stanley Matthews was still playing
01-09-2022, 09:46 PM
...but only because it was so long ago that the transfer window hadn't been invented yet.I know where you are going but there was. There was/is a deadline day to stop teams parachuting players in in the lasr few weeks of the season.
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
01-09-2022, 09:46 PM
18 years previously the Second World War was raging.
01-09-2022, 09:47 PM
I was born 9 months later...not sure what my dad was celebrating!!
Is your maw a Jambo?!?
Crunchie
02-09-2022, 05:21 AM
Fidel Castro was excommunicated by the Pope :greengrin
woody1954
02-09-2022, 08:03 AM
The first ever James Bond movie had just reached cinemas.
Marilyn Monroe had recently died.
James May was yet to be born…
I was at Hampden that day taken by my uncle( a Jambo) and my dad( lifelong Hibby) Killie had a goal disallowed for offside or it would have been a draw.
Even as an 8 year old I was gutted Hearts won