View Full Version : Phaal Curry!! (Looking for home delivery)

Edina Street
30-08-2022, 10:24 AM
As a fan of vindaloo, I now want to try the even hotter Phaal curry!!

According to Wikipedia the Phaal curry is even hotter than the vindaloo and is available in certain Indian restaurants.

Does anyone know of an Indian restaurant or takeaway around the Hibernian end of Edinburgh that is delivering the Phaal curry?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phall

Phall (Bengali (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bengali_language): ফাল, lit. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Literal_translation) 'jump'), also spelt as fall, faal, phaal, phal or fal, is a curry (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Curry) which originated in the Bangladeshi (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bangladeshi)-owned curry-houses of Birmingham (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Birmingham), England and has also spread to the United States (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States).[1] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phall#cite_note-1) It is not to be confused with the char-grilled, gravyless, finger food phall from Bangalore (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bangalore).
It is one of the hottest forms of curry regularly available, even hotter than the vindaloo (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vindaloo),

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phall#/media/File:Chicken_phaal.jpg
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/0/01/Chicken_phaal.jpg

pollution
30-08-2022, 11:37 AM
Don't do it ! I had a phaal once in London 40 years ago and I still remember the aftermath.

If it is truly to phaal strength you won't be able to taste whatever it is you are having with it but have a yoghurt dish with it eg raita.

Any other liquid will just spread it around your mouth and make it worse.

ps I have not seen it on an Edinburgh menu although there was a place in Newington some years ago that used to serve it as a competition

but stopped after one customer was sent to hospital twice in one evening.....They had a first aider in the restaurant too.

30-08-2022, 11:52 AM
Don't do it ! I had a phaal once in London 40 years ago and I still remember the aftermath.

If it is truly to phaal strength you won't be able to taste whatever it is you are having with it but have a yoghurt dish with it eg raita.

Any other liquid will just spread it around your mouth and make it worse.

ps I have not seen it on an Edinburgh menu although there was a place in Newington some years ago that used to serve it as a competition

but stopped after one customer was sent to hospital twice in one evening.....They had a first aider in the restaurant too.

Phaal is a few levels above a vindaloo , honestly only do it if you have asbestos lining your intestines .
Some say Johnny Cash wrote ring of fire after eating a phaal .

Lendo
30-08-2022, 12:43 PM
There was an Indian restaurant on St Leonard’s Street next to the Auld Hoose pub that sold it. Cannot remember the name of the place for the life of me though. Had a Curry eating competition years ago that hospitalised three people due to the heat.

Edit: Might be Kismot

30-08-2022, 12:50 PM
There was an Indian restaurant on St Leonard’s Street next to the Auld Hoose pub that sold it. Cannot remember the name of the place for the life of me though. Had a Curry eating competition years ago that hospitalised three people due to the heat.

Edit: Might be Kismot

It is the Kismot which is a great family run restaurant. I have been in the place when someone ordered a Phaal, the chef wears a gas mask to cook it and the rest of the kitchen staff need to leave when the add the capsicum liquid they use. The person who ordered it was part of a stag do, they started it, whilst being really drunk and were outside being sick within 2 minutes of that. I would advise against it. For me chilli should be treated as an enhancement for food, a good tingle on the lips and tongue makes the other spices dance, if you take that too far it just becomes a pain endurance event and nothing to do with food.

Edit:
I note that they have changed the name from Phaal curry to The Kismot Killer Curry - As seen on TV! Anyway it is a phaal, it is just not called that in the Kismot

https://www.kismot.co.uk/menu.html/

30-08-2022, 12:58 PM
I had one in the exotically named Gunga Din in Dundee many years ago.

I’ve not had one since.

Hell on Earth.

30-08-2022, 01:03 PM
Had a Phaal years ago in Liverpool, far too hot compared to a Vindaloo which I used to eat regularly at the time, I don’t recommend it.

30-08-2022, 01:24 PM
I endured one a few years ago... sure it was from Jaflong's at Longstone now long gone.

It just tasted of "burning sensation" ... at least a vindaloo has some flavour along with the heat!

Good luck :-)

30-08-2022, 01:38 PM
I had one in Luton and it was extremely hot, I love really hot spices and love it when the skin on the top of my head starts sweating but the phaal is getting close to the border between tasty and pain. If you love spicy food then go for it, just don't forget to put the toilet paper in the fridge before you go to bed.

30-08-2022, 07:06 PM
As a fan of vindaloo, I now want to try the even hotter Phaal curry!!

According to Wikipedia the Phaal curry is even hotter than the vindaloo and is available in certain Indian restaurants.

Does anyone know of an Indian restaurant or takeaway around the Hibernian end of Edinburgh that is delivering the Phaal curry?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phall#/media/File:Chicken_phaal.jpg
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/0/01/Chicken_phaal.jpg
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PhallMadras is my curry of choice, vindaloo is fine heat wise but prefer the taste of Madras. I made the mistake of trying just a taster of phaal in a place in Birmingham and it completely ruined my night,.couldn't taste my own curry afterwards, even the beer had no taste for hours afterwards. Was not a pleasant experience.

pollution
30-08-2022, 08:06 PM
When I had the phaal I mentioned earlier, the heat was only from the chilli whereas now distilled essence of naga viper chilli oil is added.

This gives it an immense almost unnatural heat which will seep into the gut looking for any weakness and ulcer creation.

30-08-2022, 09:06 PM
I can deal with heat - I quite enjoy South American food with various peppers, and have grown to really love hot wings doused in Carolina reaper sauce (we're into the millions of scovilles with that stuff, but it's still tasty and not just hot for hot's sake).

A friend of mine ordered a phaal when I was visiting in London - I tried a spoonful of the sauce/meat and it was such an unpleasant experience. Never again.

Stairway 2 7
30-08-2022, 09:12 PM
Phall is usually crap and a gimmick. Thai is my go to for super hot but insanely tasty food, pad kra pao if done right is unreal

30-08-2022, 09:17 PM
Last 3 posts hit the nail on the head when it comes to the problem with a phaal. It's heat for heats sake with things like pure capsaicin extract or the like added purely for heat rather than flavour.

I like really spicy food. A lot of the hottest chillies have flavour though, something like a Carolina Reaper is exceptionally hot but there is an underlying fruitiness to it. The dominant feature of a phaal is just heat. A vindaloo has, or at least should have, a really tangy flavour because of the vinegar, mustard seeds and lemon juice that should be included. Phaal is really just tomato paste, a whole load of chillies (and sometimes the aforementioned extracts for extra heat) and that's about it. It's all about the heat rather than flavour. You might get some places that add a bit fennel or ginger but it's lost in the heat.

It's really not worth it imo. There are dishes that are spicier but also more flavourful.

30-08-2022, 09:36 PM
Phall is usually crap and a gimmick. Thai is my go to for super hot but insanely tasty food, pad kra pao if done right is unreal

I had a really hot Thai curry in San Francisco 20 odd years ago and it was one of the finest meals I’ve ever eaten.

Properly spicy Thai is delicious.

Edina Street
31-08-2022, 01:52 PM

I am ordering a Phaal curry from Station India in Portobello tonight, but Thai is also high on my bucket list. Kaeng tai pla is a highly spicy Thai curry that I am currently searching Edinburgh for.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kaeng_tai_pla#/media/File:Kaeng_tai_pla34.JPG
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/c4/Kaeng_tai_pla34.JPG

pollution
31-08-2022, 06:23 PM
Let us know which hospital you will be in !! Good luck.

31-08-2022, 10:27 PM
I am ordering a Phaal curry from Station India in Portobello tonight, but Thai is also high on my bucket list. Kaeng tai pla is a highly spicy Thai curry that I am currently searching Edinburgh for.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kaeng_tai_pla#/media/File:Kaeng_tai_pla34.JPG
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/c4/Kaeng_tai_pla34.JPG

Look forward to your feedback, absolutely zero enjoyment in it for me.

Edina Street
01-09-2022, 08:22 AM
You can add me to the list of people that would not recommend the Phaal. Tried it last night, and after eating the chicken, and most of the rice, the rest just got tossed in the bin.

Bridge hibs
01-09-2022, 08:46 AM
You can add me to the list of people that would not recommend the Phaal. Tried it last night, and after eating the chicken, and most of the rice, the rest just got tossed in the bin.
How did you feel physically, burny burny, ring sting, guts on fire ?

Edina Street
01-09-2022, 09:37 AM
How did you feel physically, burny burny, ring sting, guts on fire ?

Whilst eating it I had a terrible burning sensation on the tongue and roof of mouth which simply made the dish impossible to finish. During the wee small hours I required to make an emergency visit to the toilet, and this morning I have a slight stomach ache. Was just a waste of £13 really. Vindaloo is definitely my limit.

Bridge hibs
01-09-2022, 09:51 AM
Whilst eating it I had a terrible burning sensation on the tongue and roof of mouth which simply made the dish impossible to finish. During the wee small hours I required to make an emergency visit to the toilet, and this morning I have a slight stomach ache. Was just a waste of £13 really. Vindaloo is definitely my limit.

Ouch ! Even a Vindaloo is way too hot for me 😵

01-09-2022, 09:56 AM
It is the Kismot which is a great family run restaurant. I have been in the place when someone ordered a Phaal, the chef wears a gas mask to cook it and the rest of the kitchen staff need to leave when the add the capsicum liquid they use. The person who ordered it was part of a stag do, they started it, whilst being really drunk and were outside being sick within 2 minutes of that. I would advise against it. For me chilli should be treated as an enhancement for food, a good tingle on the lips and tongue makes the other spices dance, if you take that too far it just becomes a pain endurance event and nothing to do with food.

Edit:
I note that they have changed the name from Phaal curry to The Kismot Killer Curry - As seen on TV! Anyway it is a phaal, it is just not called that in the Kismot

https://www.kismot.co.uk/menu.html/

I once met someone who was an answer on the Odd One Out round on Have I Got News For You after eating one. He was hospitalised and said that stinging discharge was coming out of his eyes after, let alone other exits.

01-09-2022, 11:21 AM
I like spicey food, but I don't understand the need to eat hotter and hotter dishes.

The level of heat in something like a Madras is about right for me, but I tend to avoid dishes which dispense the heat via fresh green chillies because they're too intense.

To be honest, I'm nowhere as keen on curry as I used to be. They seem to have become bland.

I still hanker after Nadias on Dalry Road.

01-09-2022, 05:01 PM
I like spicey food, but I don't understand the need to eat hotter and hotter dishes.

The level of heat in something like a Madras is about right for me, but I tend to avoid dishes which dispense the heat via fresh green chillies because they're too intense.

To be honest, I'm nowhere as keen on curry as I used to be. They seem to have become bland.

I view spice the same way I do heavy music. There’s a threshold/cut-off point for tolerance and enjoyment for me, but until you try progressively hot food, you don’t know what’s nice and what you don’t enjoy.

Hibs4185
01-09-2022, 05:07 PM
Next time my father in law asks me for a Bhuna when
Im ordering the takeaway, I’m def getting him a Phaal

01-09-2022, 05:22 PM
Next time my father in law asks me for a Bhuna when
Im ordering the takeaway, I’m def getting him a PhaalEvil ...... :greengrin

pollution
01-09-2022, 05:52 PM

Every Friday night on the way home I would go into the Star of Bengal on Dalry Road for a prawn pathia and naan bread cooked by the owner.

His two sons were front of house and the food was what they would have too. Opposite Ryries, long since demolished.

It was a few doors away from a famous curry house that Clint Eastwood had eaten in, but I can't remember the name. Kastoori ?

01-09-2022, 06:32 PM

I think Vindaloo is the limit where something can be enjoyed.

Anything beyond that is basically the territory of student dares and the like.

Ceylon seems to be variable - sometimes hotter than vindaloo, sometimes not as hot. I had one that was quite enjoyable once and then had one that was getting on for being on a level with a Phaal and was tough going.

01-09-2022, 07:53 PM
Every Friday night on the way home I would go into the Star of Bengal on Dalry Road for a prawn pathia and naan bread cooked by the owner.

His two sons were front of house and the food was what they would have too. Opposite Ryries, long since demolished.

It was a few doors away from a famous curry house that Clint Eastwood had eaten in, but I can't remember the name. Kastoori ?

Annakarli or the Verandah? Think it was The Verandah that had photos of Clint Eastwood when I went nearly thirty years ago

01-09-2022, 08:01 PM
Talking of Dalry Road, I've always been a fan of Lazeez.

Chennai's Marina is new with great reviews as well but I've never tried it.

01-09-2022, 09:07 PM
Annakarli or the Verandah? Think it was The Verandah that had photos of Clint Eastwood when I went nearly thirty years ago

Used to be a great spot for a curry (just next to Haymarket) - It was about 20 years ago I was last in there and I think you're right about the photos of Clint Eastwood. Is it still open?

01-09-2022, 11:02 PM

Yeah, I liked the star of Bengal. Two doors down from the Verandah which was quite expensive iirc.

Near the bus stops where a wee lassie ran out from in front of a stationary bus only to be hit by yours truly in a mini.

She jumped up and ran to the pavement where she collapsed again. Her parents must have been with her but it was a long time ago so the details are sketchy. I do know that she broke her hip but nothing came of it.

pollution
02-09-2022, 12:09 AM
Verandah was the restaurant, long since closed.

02-09-2022, 09:05 AM
Used to be a great spot for a curry (just next to Haymarket) - It was about 20 years ago I was last in there and I think you're right about the photos of Clint Eastwood. Is it still open?

Argentinian Steak House now.

02-09-2022, 10:07 AM
Talking of Dalry Road, I've always been a fan of Lazeez.

Chennai's Marina is new with great reviews as well but I've never tried it.

Lazeez is pretty damned good. They don't spare the chillies.

02-09-2022, 05:43 PM
I've had a takeaway phaal, just for the hell of it, but I haven't had it in a restaurant. And yes, it was outrageously hot and my stomach was destroyed.