View Full Version : Team v St Mirren

Highwayman
26-08-2022, 11:01 AM
As nobody else has started a thread on this,here we go.
l would go with 4-4-2

Marshall
Miller,Bushiri,Porteous,Cabraja
Cadden,Doyle-Hayes,Newell,Campbell
Boyle,Youan

I thought Miller looked more composed and controlled when he came on last Saturday.Certainly can’t fault him for his energy and enthusiasm.Putting him at RB would relieve Cadden of some of his defensive duties and push him forward to RWB where he is more effective.

Bridge hibs
26-08-2022, 11:51 AM
As nobody else has started a thread on this,here we go.
l would go with 4-4-2

Marshall
Miller,Bushiri,Porteous,Cabraja
Cadden,Doyle-Hayes,Newell,Campbell
Boyle,Youan

I thought Miller looked more composed and controlled when he came on last Saturday.Certainly can’t fault him for his energy and enthusiasm.Putting him at RB would relieve Cadden of some of his defensive duties and push him forward to RWB where he is more effective.According to FifeHibs on the St Mirren away thread Rocky is out and will be for some time 😵

26-08-2022, 11:55 AM
Marshall

Cadden
Porteous
Hanlon
Cabraja

Campbell
Kenneh
Newell

Boyle
Melkersen
Youan

DoubleDangerous
26-08-2022, 11:59 AM
Marshall

Cadden Porto Rocky Cabraja

Kenneh JDH Henderson

Boyle Melkerson Youan

26-08-2022, 12:04 PM
Nothing about Rocky being out on the main site but says Lewis and Melkersen could be back tomorrow.

Bridge hibs
26-08-2022, 12:06 PM
Nothing about Rocky being out on the main site but says Lewis and Melkersen could be back tomorrow.Yep, Im only going what FifeHibs said on another thread, Ive not read anything about any injury or him being out

26-08-2022, 12:37 PM
….…………………….Marshall………………..

Miller……..Porteous….Hanlon……Cabraja……

………………JDH………Newell…….

Boyle……………..Campbell…………Youan…..

…………………..Melkersen/Doidge……

yerauldda
26-08-2022, 03:31 PM
Marshall
Cadden Porteous Rocky Cabraja
Campbell Newell Henderson
Boyle Melkerson Youan

Basildon Hibs
26-08-2022, 03:43 PM
Nothing about Rocky being out on the main site but says Lewis and Melkersen could be back tomorrow.

If true, put Lewis in midfield instead of Newell.

Hibiza
26-08-2022, 05:52 PM
If true, put Lewis in midfield instead of Newell.

Anyone but Newell.

26-08-2022, 06:14 PM

………………JDH………Newell…….

That won’t be far away.

Cadden will play instead of Miller. And I think Doidge will play up front.

Can’t say I’m inspired by us being back to a midfield three of JDH, Newell and Campbell but I think that’s what we’ll see.

cameronw-hfc
26-08-2022, 06:18 PM
Anyone but Newell.

Newell has been good this season in the league so far👍

26-08-2022, 06:19 PM
Newell was ok last week when required so can't see him being dropped.

I don't know if Kenneh was on the bench last week as maybe Johnson thought he needed more experience in the middle so will be interesting to see if he returns.

Expect a front 3 of Boyle Doidge Youan.

I'd like to see Bojang leading the line tomorrow we Boyle on the right and Youan on the left and see how that goes, alot of pace.

supermcginn
26-08-2022, 06:25 PM

………………JDH………Newell…….

I know you don't rate him but cadden won't be getting dropped anytime soon and rightly so.

Bridge hibs
26-08-2022, 06:46 PM
I know you don't rate him but cadden won't be getting dropped anytime soon and rightly so.Agree, solid player and gets up and down that right side

phoenixfire
26-08-2022, 08:19 PM
Marshall
Boyle Melkerson Youan

That's the team I'd go with too!

26-08-2022, 08:50 PM
Marshall

Miller
Porto
Rocky
Cabraja

Kenneh

JDH
Newell

Cadden
Boyle
Youan

26-08-2022, 08:54 PM
Marshall

Cadden
Porto
Rocky
Cabraja

Campbell
Kenneh
Newell
Tavares

Boyle
Youan

andrew70
26-08-2022, 08:55 PM
Marshall

Miller
Porto
Rocky
Cabraja

Kenneh

JDH
Newell

Cadden
Boyle
Youan

Campbell will play, he deserves too as well.

Marshall

Miller
Porteous
Rocky
Cabraja

JDH
Kenneh
Campbell

Boyle
Melkersen
Youan

Highwayman
26-08-2022, 09:00 PM
Marshall
Boyle Melkerson Youan

I’m not sure that Johnson knows the position that would get the best out of Henderson.

I don’t see him as wide player and he doesn’t have the physicality to be effective in the engine room of central midfield.

He’s maybe got the qualities to operate as an effective no 10.But how does Johnson build a balanced team around about him ?

27-08-2022, 06:43 AM
Rocky was injured in training, not sure how bad it is

27-08-2022, 06:45 AM
Marshall

Cadden
Porto
Rocky
Cabraja

Campbell
Kenneh
Newell
Tavares

Boyle
Youan

I would be amazed if Tavares starts

27-08-2022, 06:45 AM

We have had seriously bad luck with injuries over the last 2-3 years.

Player playing well? Here’s a nice 2-3 months lay off.

27-08-2022, 07:00 AM
Newell was ok last week when required so can't see him being dropped.

I don't know if Kenneh was on the bench last week as maybe Johnson thought he needed more experience in the middle so will be interesting to see if he returns.

Expect a front 3 of Boyle Doidge Youan.

I'd like to see Bojang leading the line tomorrow we Boyle on the right and Youan on the left and see how that goes, alot of pace.

I wondered if Kenneh was on the bench last week because we started with a back three.

FifeHibs
27-08-2022, 07:04 AM

I think it’s longer term by what I heard on Thursday it’s a shame as he was playing really well. Hopefully a speedier recovery than first expected.

27-08-2022, 07:07 AM
I wondered if Kenneh was on the bench last week because we started with a back three.

I thought that was the reason as well. Don’t need an out and out defensive midfielder when you have three centre halves.

Will be surprised if he comes back in today though. Newell will play. Campbell deserves to keep his place and I think he’ll play JDH again.

JammyDoidger
27-08-2022, 07:08 AM
Marshall

Cadden
Rocky
Porto
Cabraja

JDH
Newell
Campbell

Boyle
Melkersen
Youan

27-08-2022, 07:14 AM

He wasn’t in the training photos the other day so possibly he is injured.

The injuries we have had is getting beyond a joke.

27-08-2022, 07:28 AM
Anyone but Newell.

Why wouldn't you want our best midfielder to start?

He's here!
27-08-2022, 07:29 AM
Whatever the team, the key is not to fall flat following the feelgood factor generated by last week's game. Hopefully we've learned our lesson from the Livi game which followed the derby.

McGruber
27-08-2022, 07:29 AM
I think it’s longer term by what I heard on Thursday it’s a shame as he was playing really well. Hopefully a speedier recovery than first expected.

If Rocky is out for any prolonged period of time we absolutely must bring in a centre half this window. We were needing to bring one in anyway but even more important now.

Really hoping Rocky isn't out for too long, been our best defender so far and been proving me and the rest of the doubters wrong

27-08-2022, 07:34 AM
If Rocky is out for any prolonged period of time we absolutely must bring in a centre half this window. We were needing to bring one in anyway but even more important now.

Really hoping Rocky isn't out for too long, been our best defender so far and been proving me and the rest of the doubters wrong

Hibs media states no new injury concerns. Be interesting to see if Rocky is out.

27-08-2022, 07:52 AM
Anyone but Newell.

You dont actually watch hibs do you? He has been no where near as bad as you constantly make out

sauzeelegod
27-08-2022, 08:27 AM
Marshall

Rocky
Porteous
Hanlon

Cadden
Kenneh
Newell
Cabraja

Boyle
Bojang
Youan

27-08-2022, 08:54 AM
Marshall

Cadden
Porto
Hanlon
Ćabraja

Kenneh
JDH
Campbell

Boyle
Youan
Henderson

27-08-2022, 10:35 AM
Marshall

Cadden
Porto
Hanlon
Ćabraja

Kenneh
JDH
Campbell

Boyle
Youan
Henderson

This isn’t a game for Henderson imo tight pitch snd they will work thier socks off
And be physical He doesn’t seem able so far to cope with that

27-08-2022, 10:39 AM
This isn’t a game for Henderson imo tight pitch snd they will work thier socks off

We will get a lot more of the ball in this game and when we have pace up front that's exactly when you want Henderson.

Latapy'sVolley
27-08-2022, 10:46 AM

Motm last time at St Mirren, and scored the winner.

27-08-2022, 10:49 AM

Best game for Hibs was here.

Stubbsy90+2
27-08-2022, 10:50 AM
You dont actually watch hibs do you? He has been no where near as bad as you constantly make out

And he’s rarely anywhere near as good as others make out.

The reality is really somewhere in the middle.

27-08-2022, 11:20 AM

It's exactly the same size as Easter Road.

Key West
27-08-2022, 11:22 AM
I’m not sure that Johnson knows the position that would get the best out of Henderson.

I don’t see him as wide player and he doesn’t have the physicality to be effective in the engine room of central midfield.

He’s maybe got the qualities to operate as an effective no 10.But how does Johnson build a balanced team around about him ?

Agree, I'm a big fan of Henderson he's definitely a number 10 and where he does most of his damage, it's a waste of time playing him out wide.

27-08-2022, 11:26 AM
And he’s rarely anywhere near as good as others make out.

The reality is really somewhere in the middle.

Yip he is but the constant negativity around him on here by some is mental, he isnt going to be dropped or sold anytime soon so lets actually get behind him

cameronw-hfc
27-08-2022, 11:40 AM
Yip he is but the constant negativity around him on here by some is mental, he isnt going to be dropped or sold anytime soon so lets actually get behind him

It's mental. I defend him a lot, but we know how most feel about Newell here, theres just no need to make everything a Newell bash. It's boring to read and gets depressing. If my job had folk making everything a case of "he's crap" it would deflate the crap out of me, can only imagine how draining it is for Newell to see socials etc after games, especially when he's had a decent game and he's still the only one singled out. Folk don't like him, that's sound, just stop telling us at every opportunity.

27-08-2022, 12:17 PM
Marshall

Cadden
Rocky
Porto
Cabraja

Campbell
Kenneh
Newell

Boyle
Doidge
Youan

27-08-2022, 12:42 PM
Didn't see Rocky in the players arriving in Paisley

Melkerson was there though

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

27-08-2022, 12:46 PM
Rocky and Henderson out

Doidge and Cabraja in https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220827/cc98c9dc62a85ae06216d28c0c0569c0.jpg

27-08-2022, 12:50 PM
CB and CM signings are a must.

THAT MIDFIELD 3 DOES NOT WORK. How many times have we seen it and it constantly lets us down!

BlackSheep
No Rocky confirmed

THAT MIDFIELD 3 DOES NOT WORK. How many times have we seen it and it constantly lets us down!

Why not actually wait until after the game to have a moan

THAT MIDFIELD 3 DOES NOT WORK. How many times have we seen it and it constantly lets us down!Surely they set up of the 3 plays a part though?

We will see soon enough how that is I guess

27-08-2022, 12:53 PM
Why not actually wait until after the game to have a moan

Because we’ve seen this midfield 3 tried together constantly and they’ve worked less than a handful of times together.

It’s pretty criminal recruitment wise that we’re still going with it.

27-08-2022, 12:54 PM

Biggest match day drama queen starting even earlier than usual.

Good side, should win

Biggest match day drama queen starting even earlier than usual.

It’s a fact though. That midfield 3 don’t work together, we’ve seen it countless times.

27-08-2022, 12:56 PM
It’s a fact though. That midfield 3 don’t work together, we’ve seen it countless times.What happened last week? Didn't these 3 play together?

h185forever
27-08-2022, 12:57 PM
Only a Q ….do we know how DAB and Rocky were injured ? ..could it be they crocked each other in a training challenge ?

Whatever it was it’s a shame for them both…and does that mean we need 2 CB’s now , even if one is a loan till the winter window.

Just read the club update on Rocky …..contact injury.

27-08-2022, 12:58 PM
It’s a fact though. That midfield 3 don’t work together, we’ve seen it countless times.

Nope...it's an opinion. That 3 started v Rangers in LC semi.

27-08-2022, 12:59 PM
Because we’ve seen this midfield 3 tried together constantly and they’ve worked less than a handful of times together.

It’s pretty criminal recruitment wise that we’re still going with it.

I agree.

They can all have moments individually, and may form part of a Hibs midfield when playing alongside others, but as a 3 they’ve very rarely performed well as a unit, if at all. How many transfer windows have to pass before we rectify this, I’ve lost count of how many signings this year, and we’re still preserving with that midfield🙈🤷🏼

27-08-2022, 01:00 PM
What happened last week? Didn't these 3 play together?

When we moved to a 442 they did.

We were also getting beat until Rangers went down to 9 men.

The one game people keep alluding to.

There’s been 10x the amount of games they haven’t worked in.

I’m not doubting their individual merits but they don’t work together. How anyone can suggest other wise is beyond me. It’s been discussed at length on here how they don’t work as a 3 together in there.

When we moved to a 442 they did.

We were also getting beat until Rangers went down to 9 men.That's one way to report it i guess

[emoji106]

27-08-2022, 01:01 PM

That’s proving the point.

They played together pretty much 3/4 of the season and we can only select a few games that they played well in

GreenGray
27-08-2022, 01:01 PM

Rangers and St Mirren are completely different sort of games though

Torto7
27-08-2022, 01:02 PM
Bushiri out for several months.:grr: Just when he was in great form too. Our injury list is horrific.

ChicoM1875
27-08-2022, 01:02 PM

Tell us son. How many times? Come on, tell us a wee story.

27-08-2022, 01:03 PM
Bushiri out for several months.:grr: Just when he was in great form too. Our injury list is horrific.Bloody hell

Rotten luck as rocky was really playing well

Wonder what his injury is

We gotta bring in a loan or 2 I'd say

27-08-2022, 01:04 PM
Bushiri out for several months.:grr: Just when he was in great form too. Our injury list is horrific.

That's a proper kick in the baws.

Yep this was what was posted. Was hoping it wasn't true!

Strange post.

Torto7
27-08-2022, 01:05 PM
Bloody hell

Rotten luck as rocky was really playing well

Wonder what his injury is

We gotta bring in a loan or 2 I'd say

The club just said he received a heavy knock on his ankle in training and is likely out for a couple of months.

Mikey_1875
27-08-2022, 01:06 PM

Unbelievable. Hopefully there is a deal very close for another CH and we aren’t at panic stations.

Torto7
27-08-2022, 01:08 PM
Unbelievable. Hopefully there is a deal very close for another CH and we aren’t at panic stations.

Hopefully although money spent on this and the new GK presumably shelves any other plans they had for signings. Brutal luck.

ChicoM1875
27-08-2022, 01:10 PM
Strange post.

No gonnae answer, no?

27-08-2022, 01:10 PM

We now need two first team ready centre halves by Wednesday night. We already needed one but if Bushiri is out long term then we need two as a priority.

27-08-2022, 01:11 PM
No gonnae answer, no?

You want me to tell you every single game they haven’t worked in? Because I’m unable, there’s been too many.

If you want to pretend that’s not the case then fair enough.

ChicoM1875
27-08-2022, 01:13 PM
You want me to tell you every single game they haven’t worked in? Because I’m unable, there’s been too many.

If you want to pretend that’s not the case then fair enough.

Aye I do. Let's hear it. Not pretending anything.

27-08-2022, 01:14 PM
Aye I do. Let's hear it. Not pretending anything.

Can you read?

The fact you’re asking me to name every game suggests your opinions different on it.

AL-Qaholik
27-08-2022, 01:14 PM
Something clearly very, very wrong with the training/conditioning at this club.
No other club gets long term injuries at the frequency we do.

ChicoM1875
27-08-2022, 01:17 PM
Can you read?

The fact you’re asking me to name every game suggests your opinions different on it.

I've not voiced an opinion. I guess I read you post and the replies. Also wrote some replies myself, so I guess that answers your question.

27-08-2022, 01:20 PM
Club statement on Bushiri injury.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/rocky-bushiri-ruled-out-through-injury

27-08-2022, 01:23 PM
Club statement on Bushiri injury.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/rocky-bushiri-ruled-out-through-injury

Sounds bad.

Nothing going right at moment with injuries.

27-08-2022, 01:27 PM
Pity about Rocky. Easily been our best CB so far this season.

27-08-2022, 04:00 PM

Right I’ll start counting from today.

There’s 1.

hhibs
27-08-2022, 04:45 PM
Something clearly very, very wrong with the training/conditioning at this club.
No other club gets long term injuries at the frequency we do.

Have to agree far too many,over far too long something is clearly not right and it really cant be the training ,given the number of different trainers involved ,so......medical or treatment ,what is the common link ?