View Full Version : Josh Doig Verona thread

21-08-2022, 07:49 PM
Josh is on the bench tonight for the game against Bologna.

21-08-2022, 08:42 PM
1 all final score, Doig remained on the bench throughout.

Cat Stanton
21-08-2022, 09:56 PM
Not the greatest thread so far..

21-08-2022, 10:01 PM
Not the greatest thread so far..

I was interested to know how he’s getting on. That’s a start, give it time.

22-08-2022, 02:44 AM
Aye I was looking to see how he was getting on as well.

Regular updates on this thread would be decent

skyehibee
22-08-2022, 04:33 AM
He’s just recovering from an injury so might be why he didn’t start/come on

22-08-2022, 07:58 AM
probably tired with the travelling after being on the bench for us on Sat.

22-08-2022, 08:17 AM
I might have imagined this but I'm fairly sure he was named amongst the subs on the big screen on Saturday?

cameronw-hfc
22-08-2022, 08:56 AM
Think Hickey was a sub for his first month or two over there as well, would imagine he'd be starting more by Christmas

GRA
22-08-2022, 09:33 AM
Has he started or played any minutes for Bologna yet?

22-08-2022, 09:47 AM
Not unless he has been transferred to them he plays for Verona.🤔

WHOOSH

Cat Stanton
22-08-2022, 10:20 AM
I was interested to know how he’s getting on. That’s a start, give it time.

Sorry, yes, just being a smart-arse. Am likewise interested to see how he gets on. As we know, he's great going forward, sometimes less great defending. Not sure how that will work out in a higher quality league. But hopefully he does really well.

Torto7
22-08-2022, 12:07 PM

His work permit and all the paperwork took a while. It seems to be not just a UK issue. Spain has huge delays as well.

patlowe
22-08-2022, 12:33 PM
Sorry, yes, just being a smart-arse. Am likewise interested to see how he gets on. As we know, he's great going forward, sometimes less great defending. Not sure how that will work out in a higher quality league. But hopefully he does really well.

Felt in the end it was the opposite personally. Great engine and got us up the pitch but did not contribute a huge amount in the final third, whereas I thought he was defensively very solid last season after the back post issues of the year before. He's got great natural attributes if he can sharpen up on end product.

22-08-2022, 01:17 PM
All going well we’ll sign him in January 😅🤣

22-08-2022, 01:34 PM
His work permit and all the paperwork took a while. It seems to be not just a UK issue. Spain has huge delays as well.

If you're meaning the delays in Barcelona getting the green light to play Lewandowski, Raphinha etc then that's nothing to do with work permits (which are very much the direct impact of suffocating inside Brexit Britain on our club)

The reason Barca had to wait for permission to play those lads was an assessment by La Liga into the Catalan club's overall wages and Financial Fair Play/potential corruption - entirely different issue

Torto7
22-08-2022, 01:44 PM
If you're meaning the delays in Barcelona getting the green light to play Lewandowski, Raphinha etc then that's nothing to do with work permits (which are very much the direct impact of suffocating inside Brexit Britain on our club)

The reason Barca had to wait for permission to play those lads was an assessment by La Liga into the Catalan club's overall wages and Financial Fair Play/potential corruption - entirely different issue

No I was thinking about Seville. It's a mixture of the Financial rules over there and non EU registration taking an age.

HibbyDave
22-08-2022, 06:44 PM
Verona is a great city. The arena is wonderful and loads of places to eat and drink. I’m very envious of his lifestyle there.

Hope he settles and does a great job for them.

22-08-2022, 08:05 PM
Verona is a great city. The arena is wonderful and loads of places to eat and drink. I’m very envious of his lifestyle there.

I’m very envious of his footballing talent,I’dve played in any ****hole town

22-08-2022, 08:09 PM
I’m very envious of his footballing talent,I’dve played in any ****hole town

even Hamilton?

22-08-2022, 08:13 PM
even Hamilton?

Don’t have to stay there to play there

22-08-2022, 08:22 PM

Shame their fans are a bunch of ***ts

Conj
22-08-2022, 08:32 PM
I might have imagined this but I'm fairly sure he was named amongst the subs on the big screen on Saturday?

He was, had him listed as number 3 instead of Marijan Čabraja. I saw it and mentioned it to a couple of folk next to me.

28-08-2022, 04:34 PM
On the bench again currently, 4 mins in.

28-08-2022, 06:13 PM
And on he comes!

28-08-2022, 06:20 PM
And on he comes!

Looks to be be playing more advanced but obviously that could be to try get a goal.

28-08-2022, 06:21 PM
Well done young man!! Hope he tears it up over there.

28-08-2022, 06:23 PM
Looks to be be playing more advanced but obviously that could be to try get a goal.

Tambo, for me the higher up the park he played, the better he was in my opinion

28-08-2022, 06:25 PM
Did fine. Verona look poor though.

EGL2000
31-08-2022, 06:22 PM
Subbed on and gets the assist to bring Verona level away at empoli, go on boy.

Saint Hibee
31-08-2022, 06:23 PM

Empoli?!? Hibs players taking over Serie A.

31-08-2022, 06:28 PM

Just saw that, Doig comes on in the 67th minute and sets up the equaliser in the 69th minute. Good to see him finding his feet.

31-08-2022, 06:55 PM
Good stuff

Cat Stanton
31-08-2022, 07:31 PM
Good stuff

Excellent. Did we negotiate 10%?

31-08-2022, 07:33 PM
Just saw that, Doig comes on in the 67th minute and sets up the equaliser in the 69th minute. Good to see him finding his feet.

Well done Josh

31-08-2022, 10:10 PM
Was he playing more advanced again anyone know?

Will look out for the highlights tomorrow morning.

USAHibee
31-08-2022, 11:15 PM
25% sell on clause, he'
ll smash it over there....

01-09-2022, 05:37 AM

Yep brilliant Josh

01-09-2022, 04:01 PM
https://youtu.be/8kbx0aa_C0o
Highlights

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

01-09-2022, 04:06 PM
Fantastic young player with the football world ahead and getting the chance to play in one of the top leagues, wonderful country, he deserves it all.
We will also do very well out of this transfer, more chance with this than John McGinn ever moving on for a big fee.

h1bs4life
01-09-2022, 05:54 PM
Well done Josh

euro Hibby
04-09-2022, 03:22 PM
Josh Doig on from the start today against Sampdoria 6,00 kick off here in Italy

04-09-2022, 03:58 PM
Josh Doig on from the start today against Sampdoria 6,00 kick off here in Italy
Ben fatto Josh fantasico.

04-09-2022, 04:03 PM
https://youtu.be/8kbx0aa_C0o
Highlights

Thanks - nice assist from Josh Doig there.

Mango Man
04-09-2022, 04:32 PM
Definitely playing a good bit further forward, possibly even left midfield in this game.

Mango Man
04-09-2022, 04:50 PM
he has only went and scored!!

hibsdaft
04-09-2022, 04:50 PM
Doig scores for Hellas Verona. Back post tap in (ish). Well done Josh.

Don Giovanni
04-09-2022, 04:51 PM
Doig just scored for Verona to give them the lead before HT :greengrin

04-09-2022, 05:10 PM
Good to see Josh scoring on his first start against Sampdoria. Hopefully this cements his place in the team.

04-09-2022, 05:18 PM
https://twitter.com/FootballReprt/status/1566469777723359234

Trinity Hibee
04-09-2022, 05:19 PM
Brilliant!

04-09-2022, 05:25 PM
https://twitter.com/FootballReprt/status/1566469777723359234?s=20&t=dgvpYSzbk6ttfkLotkdcGQ

04-09-2022, 05:35 PM
Goal and assist already, think that’s better than he managed all last season for us!

Think they’re playing him higher up the park though.

04-09-2022, 05:37 PM
He's playing far higher up the park and nearly scored again with a sclaffed cross.

Torto7062
04-09-2022, 05:42 PM
Verona play a 3-5-2 so he's basically a winger

Still Smiling
04-09-2022, 05:42 PM
Josh is looking the part. Playing well up the pitch.

GRA
04-09-2022, 06:14 PM
Another Scot smashing in the goals in Serie A. Well played young Sir 👏👏

04-09-2022, 06:39 PM
Worth 100 million now.

04-09-2022, 06:52 PM
Well done Josh, really pleased for you

allyh1bs
04-09-2022, 07:19 PM
Josh Doig scored the winner this afternoon for Hellas Verona 2 v 1 Sampdoria.

04-09-2022, 07:33 PM
Josh Doig scored the winner this afternoon for Hellas Verona 2 v 1 Sampdoria.

You have come to the party late

04-09-2022, 07:41 PM
pleasing

04-09-2022, 07:45 PM
Caught some of the 2nd half and Josh was playing well, the commentator was gushing with praise for him.

Gets a good write-up and highest player rating. Well done Josh.

https://www.hellas1903.it/news/verona-sampdoria-2-1-ce-la-vittoria-lhellas-vola-con-le-ali-del-biondo-terribile/

https://www.hellas1903.it/il-visto-da-noi/verona-sampdoria-le-pagelle-doig-e-un-treno-lazovic-una-freccia/

04-09-2022, 08:11 PM
Dose Josh Doig have a sell on fee?

04-09-2022, 08:16 PM
Dose Josh Doig have a sell on fee?

“Sizeable” was the word used at the time

Stuarty1875
04-09-2022, 08:34 PM
Well done Josh :flag:

04-09-2022, 08:44 PM
Great to see Josh getting off to a good start over there, fingers crossed he continues his development……and gets sold on for a very large fee!😎

04-09-2022, 08:57 PM
“Sizeable” was the word used at the time

Thanks mate.

allyh1bs
04-09-2022, 09:11 PM
You have come to the party late

Sorry - latest comment I saw before mine on this thread was an update at halftime, by which time Josh had scored his goal but only those with crystal balls knew it would be the winner!

Bridge hibs
04-09-2022, 09:48 PM
Livescore have highlights, apart from his well taken goal he had a good 2 or 3 other attempts, the lad is gonna be a star there, seems to be playing in an advanced left position and is certainly seeing plenty of the ball

04-09-2022, 09:57 PM
A call up to the Scotland squad should be on the cards for the lad, will be an incredible player as he develops.

04-09-2022, 10:05 PM
Had a wee ropey spell last season but by the end he just looked different class I thought considering how bad we were.

Not surprised at all at how things are going for him - he has everything.

04-09-2022, 10:21 PM
A call up to the Scotland squad should be on the cards for the lad, will be an incredible player as he develops.

Agreed but he's very unfortunate to be up against Tierney, Robertson and Hickey.

Insane how good our options are at LB.

CentreForward
04-09-2022, 10:37 PM
That Twitter link to today’s game doesn’t seem to be working but from the YouTube link to their game against Empoli you can instantly see that the football is at a level far higher than the average SPL game. Well done to Josh for already being able to play at such a level and amazing that he scored today’s winner!

Mango Man
04-09-2022, 10:40 PM
I was shocked at the amount of space he was getting, he could have scored another couple.

Zambernardi1875
05-09-2022, 12:07 AM
Seems a lot more comfortable going forward, when at Hibs I always thought he shoulda played left mid and stevenson behind him.

Stairway 2 7
05-09-2022, 05:28 AM
Forgot he only just turned 20, bright future

05-09-2022, 08:36 AM
https://youtu.be/4R3bdZqk9m4
Highlights

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

05-09-2022, 09:17 AM
He'll be sold in a couple of years for more than Hickey was, levain will be so happy

05-09-2022, 10:40 AM
I was shocked at the amount of space he was getting, he could have scored another couple.

Italian football looks like the same level as the Scottish championship from some of those highlights :greengrin

Pete70
05-09-2022, 10:44 AM
From the Hibs announcement on his transfer.
“The full terms of the 20-year-old’s departure will remain undisclosed, however, the fee received will be one of the highest sales figures the Club has ever received, with the deal also including add-ons and a large sell-on agreement.”

10-09-2022, 05:31 AM
Well done Josh. I see the goal makes him the second Scottish player ever to score in the division with Verona after Joe Jordan and the youngest foreign scorer in the Italian top-flight so far this season.

He seems to be getting good reviews. EMG Italy, on the basis of statistical data collected by Stats Perform for Lega Serie A, has released the statistics showing that Josh Doig was the player who took the most shots on goal: 4, followed by Leao, Laurentè and Kvaratskhelia, all with 3.

Even before his goal, he was getting good reviews with Verona boss Gabriele Cioffi praising him. "In England they say, ‘if you’re good enough, you’re old enough’. If I pick young players then I have no doubts and neither do they. Doig did well; he has incredible potential. He is a great crosser of the ball and finisher. He’s starting to get minutes in his legs – he got injured after two training sessions – and his characteristics will come to the fore and his quality will show."

Sounds like he's got a manager who trusts him. Next game, away to Lazio tomorrow.

Jakhog1
10-09-2022, 07:30 AM
It's amazing that we could get a potential large sell on fee for a player that Levein deemed not good enough, hopefully the lad continues to develop and we get a nice wee windfall from it.

10-09-2022, 08:28 AM
It's amazing that we could get a potential large sell on fee for a player that Levein deemed not good enough, hopefully the lad continues to develop and we get a nice wee windfall from it.

Quite a few of our own supporters didn’t rate him either. You do wonder what people are watching sometimes.

10-09-2022, 09:08 AM
Quite a few of our own supporters didn’t rate him either. You do wonder what people are watching sometimes.

He was inconsistent which you would expect at his age. Definitely had talent and was expected to go to a higher level.

Good luck to him, will watch tomorrow as no other football on, hope he smashes it.

Willis1875
10-09-2022, 09:24 AM

I don’t really think we played to his strengths for the best part of his last year at Hibs which in turn made him pretty anonymous in alot of games imo.
90% of our attacking focus is right sided,Still is

10-09-2022, 12:12 PM
Well done Josh. I see the goal makes him the second Scottish player ever to score in the division with Verona after Joe Jordan and the youngest foreign scorer in the Italian top-flight so far this season.

He seems to be getting good reviews. EMG Italy, on the basis of statistical data collected by Stats Perform for Lega Serie A, has released the statistics showing that Josh Doig was the player who took the most shots on goal: 4, followed by Leao, Laurentè and Kvaratskhelia, all with 3.

Even before his goal, he was getting good reviews with Verona boss Gabriele Cioffi praising him. "In England they say, ‘if you’re good enough, you’re old enough’. If I pick young players then I have no doubts and neither do they. Doig did well; he has incredible potential. He is a great crosser of the ball and finisher. He’s starting to get minutes in his legs – he got injured after two training sessions – and his characteristics will come to the fore and his quality will show."

Sounds like he's got a manager who trusts him. Next game, away to Lazio tomorrow.

Might have to check that one out to make up for the lack of football here. 5pm BT Sport.

10-09-2022, 01:29 PM
Might have to check that one out to make up for the lack of football here. 5pm BT Sport.

Think to score for Verona in serie a is the key thing

EGL2000
11-09-2022, 11:33 AM
Verona up against Lazio at 5pm today on BT Sport. Big test for him if he starts, should be a good watch.

Hibs4185
11-09-2022, 12:32 PM

I’ve never claimed to be ITK but I was told his sell on fee by someone who def is in the know. He had proved who he was, so I have no reason to doubt him.

He said the sell on is 28%.

Willis1875
11-09-2022, 03:44 PM
Starts the match….beats an away day at the Toni Macaroni Arena

11-09-2022, 04:19 PM

Let's be fair. It's not that he thought he wasn't good enough he though hickey was a better prospect for left back.

Given how hickey's career has gone, it's not necessarily that bad a call is it?

Or.do you expect under 19s academy teams to carry 2 left backs?

11-09-2022, 04:34 PM
Can see him in the EPL in a couple seasons if he does well. If the likes of Arsenal were interested before they still will be.

11-09-2022, 04:49 PM
Playing not to bad good luck Josh

Torto7
11-09-2022, 04:52 PM
Let's be fair. It's not that he thought he wasn't good enough he though hickey was a better prospect for left back.

Hickey isn't a left back and Doig is looking like he might have a future further forward. Only a moron like Levein would give up someone blessed with Doigs attributes. I'd expect my u19 side to find space for two talents like that yes. Rigidity and dour coaching is the Scottish way though and the Jambo toalie quite spectacularly shows that. Him reaching the heights of being the national team manager says it all.

11-09-2022, 05:00 PM
Good to see him starting again. Goal from him in 2nd half will make him a Hellas legend

11-09-2022, 05:21 PM

Hickey was already featuring for the Hearts first team before they released Doig.

11-09-2022, 05:23 PM
Lazio beat Inter 3-1 a few weeks ago but they’ve been dire tonight. Verona could easily nick this albeit their forwards are really limited.

It is interesting how Doig is given license to play so far forward with little defensive responsibility. He looks comfortable at this level.

11-09-2022, 05:27 PM
Hes playing much further forward. Still learning his game hes doing very well for himself.

11-09-2022, 05:29 PM
1-0 Lazio. Immobile (who else?) Class act.

11-09-2022, 05:30 PM
Doig gave the ball away which led directly to the goal.,

11-09-2022, 05:34 PM
Read this thread. Switched the game on, Josh gives the ball away, Lazio score..... Switched off.
I'm clearly a jinx 😥

11-09-2022, 05:35 PM
****in disgrace he’s playing today, he should be in mourning ffs

Jakhog1
11-09-2022, 05:55 PM

Why not have two players that play in the same position in the academy? makes no sense to get rid if it is going to cost a club potential millions, so aye very stupid call

11-09-2022, 05:55 PM
2-0 Lazio

11-09-2022, 06:00 PM
Thought he did ok and will learn the league in time.

11-09-2022, 06:18 PM
Thought he did ok and will learn the league in time.

I only cought bits of the 2nd half, looked to be struggling with a couple of misplaced passes, the coach kept him on for the whole game though, he probably watched a bit more than me

11-09-2022, 06:19 PM
Thought he did well overall. He’s certainly playing a lot higher for them

11-09-2022, 07:26 PM
I thought Josh did well today and grew into the game. His energy up the left hand side late on almost got Verona an equaliser in the 90th minute when it was still 1-0.

StevesFamau5
12-09-2022, 11:06 AM
Thought Josh had a good game despite one error (which he'll defo learn from). He was up against one of Serie A's fastest players in Lazzari as well as dealing with Serj Milinkovic-Savic.

He's going to do well and will likely be in the EPL or La Liga within 2/3 years.

EGL2000
03-10-2022, 07:14 PM
Josh with a lovely volley to open the scoring against high flying Udinese!

03-10-2022, 07:22 PM

A stoaterini of a goal, as the say in Verona !

03-10-2022, 07:22 PM
Only 4 more goals and he will beat Hickeys tally in Serie A.

03-10-2022, 07:29 PM
🍑
https://twitter.com/btsportfootball/status/1577014477400203264?s=21&t=GYv3co56eVNVS1JOYN6cKg

03-10-2022, 07:40 PM
🍑
https://twitter.com/btsportfootball/status/1577014477400203264?s=21&t=GYv3co56eVNVS1JOYN6cKg
Aye amazing how players from the SPL can step up to these superior leagues and shine. Great finish.

Trinity Hibee
03-10-2022, 07:41 PM
What a goal. Great to see him doing so well

03-10-2022, 07:43 PM
Maybe he should've been played further forward for us :greengrin

03-10-2022, 07:46 PM
He’ll make Hibs a few more million.

03-10-2022, 07:47 PM
Aye amazing how players from the SPL can step up to these superior leagues and shine. Great finish.

Tbf, Hickey and Doig are huge talents.

03-10-2022, 08:08 PM
Wonder what the sell on clause is.

Green Reaper
03-10-2022, 08:14 PM
Wonder what the sell on clause is.

28% was mentioned somewhere

Silky
03-10-2022, 08:29 PM
Just went off injured! Hope he's OK.

03-10-2022, 08:34 PM
Left wing back was his best position for us as well, but he has the stature and potential to play fullback or centre half.

Musselbound
03-10-2022, 09:00 PM
Watched the whole game. Doig played really well first half and scored an excellent goal.

03-10-2022, 09:20 PM

Both of them will be playing for bigger clubs in a few years time.

03-10-2022, 09:50 PM
We have to thank our dopey neighbours yet again 🤣🤣🤣

03-10-2022, 10:09 PM
See they got beat though and have slipped into the relegation positions.

Still early days of course but I wonder if we’ll get incentives if he helps them stay up, similarly, if they go down will that increase the chances of them selling him on?

03-10-2022, 10:14 PM
See they got beat though and have slipped into the relegation positions.

Still early days of course but I wonder if we’ll get incentives if he helps them stay up, similarly, if they go down will that increase the chances of them selling him on?

We might get him back... :wink:

Hibs4185
04-10-2022, 07:30 AM
28% was mentioned somewhere

27.5%

16-10-2022, 07:10 PM
According to Flash Scores, doesn't appear to be involved in tonight's game against AC Milan - currently 1-1 after 23 minutes.

Musselbound
16-10-2022, 07:38 PM
According to Flash Scores, doesn't appear to be involved in tonight's game against AC Milan - currently 1-1 after 23 minutes.

No, that's correct. Wonder if he is injured? I see that Verona have a new coach.

16-10-2022, 08:21 PM
Not showing as injured on my app.

Shame not playing tonight.

NC1875
16-10-2022, 08:38 PM
Josh is injured, wanted to play but medical team said no. Sickener as he has family over for the game.

17-10-2022, 04:25 PM
Josh is injured, wanted to play but medical team said no. Sickener as he has family over for the game.

Nightmare for him and his family but these things happen

09-01-2023, 07:32 PM
Josh got an assist in Verona's 2-0 win over Cremonese tonight. It's their 2nd win of the season and takes them up to 18th, from bottom.

09-01-2023, 07:40 PM
Josh got an assist in Verona's 2-0 win over Cremonese tonight. It's their 2nd win of the season and takes them up to 18th from bottom.

18th from bottom, so 3rd?😏………..sorry, couldn’t resist.

nickwhibs
09-01-2023, 08:15 PM
I went to see Torino v Verona last week (ended 1-1). Josh certainly didn’t look out of place and did well to win the corner for the Verona goal.

09-01-2023, 08:19 PM
Josh got an assist in Verona's 2-0 win over Cremonese tonight. It's their 2nd win of the season and takes them up to 18th, from bottom.

He was absolutely outstanding and the commentator gave him man of the match. His assist was brilliant as well. A great run. He was a huge attacking threat all game in what was a massive win for Verona.

09-01-2023, 09:02 PM
You counting in auld money?

09-01-2023, 11:01 PM
You counting in auld money?

They were bottom and they're now 18th.

What am I missing?

09-01-2023, 11:23 PM

What am I missing?

The comma was added as an after thought.

10-01-2023, 06:42 AM

What am I missing?

Sorry I added the comma after the comment and was going to reply saying so but got pulled away to do some work then forgot. My fault firstly for forgetting the comma and secondly for not saying I had added it. All my bad.

10-01-2023, 12:10 PM
I think the best outcome for us is that Verona are relegated, which still seems highly likely.

That would guarantee he moves in the summer and the fee would be £5/6m at a bare minimum. £1m+ for us and still plenty of opportunity for future moves

10-01-2023, 12:14 PM
Scots Abroad Pod on Twitter saying Verona holding out for £10m:

https://twitter.com/ScotsAbroadPod/status/1612771731193700359?s=20&t=-uNIGR3wuOd9bjitCu4h9Q

10-01-2023, 12:15 PM
I think the best outcome for us is that Verona are relegated, which still seems highly likely.

That would guarantee he moves in the summer and the fee would be £5/6m at a bare minimum. £1m+ for us and still plenty of opportunity for future moves

That seems low to me, based on Hickey going for three times as much.

10-01-2023, 12:18 PM

I think it would be low but if Verona wait until the summer to sell and they’re down, their position is weakened.

Can’t see them selling this month but great if they do. Guess my main point is that we should be seeing a minimum of £1m coming in between now and July for him. Not a bad position but definitely the upside could be massively more

EGL2000
10-01-2023, 01:26 PM

Probably because hickey went to England where fees are massively inflated. In general fees paid by Italian teams are lower.

Stubbsy90+2
10-01-2023, 01:29 PM

Him going this window would be best for us. Once they go down they’ll lose him for a lot less.

patlowe
10-01-2023, 01:36 PM
Rated among the most promising in the world for his position here (https://www.football-observatory.com/IMG/sites/mr/mr81/en/).

10-01-2023, 01:40 PM
Rated among the most promising in the world for his position here (https://www.football-observatory.com/IMG/sites/mr/mr81/en/).

It's no wonder our recruitment team enjoy playing real life FM, some incredible names in there at teams I'd back us to go and sign from.

10-01-2023, 01:54 PM
Him going this window would be best for us. Once they go down they’ll lose him for a lot less.

I agree but just feels unlikely that they'll sell one of their best players when they still have a chance of staying up. You never know

10-01-2023, 05:16 PM
Yesterday’s assist

https://twitter.com/scotsabroadpod/status/1612747768996438016?s=61&t=fbB3vIrqoRfNTUDNUl1Cuw

Torto7
10-01-2023, 05:44 PM
There was folk on here that didn't think he was good enough for us.:faf:

10-01-2023, 06:24 PM
That’s impressive.

10-01-2023, 06:45 PM
That’s impressive.

He was really good in the game too. Very impressive.

10-01-2023, 06:46 PM
Probably because hickey went to England where fees are massively inflated. In general fees paid by Italian teams are lower.

He’ll be on some English radar’s now.

10-01-2023, 07:51 PM
Yesterday’s assist

https://twitter.com/scotsabroadpod/status/1612747768996438016?s=61&t=fbB3vIrqoRfNTUDNUl1Cuw

Young-Bale-at-Spurs-esque.

10-01-2023, 07:53 PM
He’ll be on some English radar’s now.

Here's hoping

10-01-2023, 08:44 PM

Would you agree the vast majority thought he was good enough though?

10-01-2023, 08:50 PM
I would say that the majority thought he was good enough (including me) though I must say I can't imagine many of us thought he would be a 10M player within a year. The issue though (as always) is that it's the hysterical's who make the most noise.

10-01-2023, 09:24 PM
I would say that the majority thought he was good enough (including me) though I must say I can't imagine many of us thought he would be a 10M player within a year. The issue though (as always) is that it's the hysterical's who make the most noise.

He was incredibly raw when he left but was definitely talented and more than good enough for us.

Never imagined he’d be getting touted for a £10m move not long after

Torto7
10-01-2023, 09:45 PM

Yeah but there was a good number of couldn't see what all the fuss was about types. Even Doigs athleticism stood out let alone his ability.

11-01-2023, 06:13 AM
I think it would be low but if Verona wait until the summer to sell and they’re down, their position is weakened.

Can’t see them selling this month but great if they do. Guess my main point is that we should be seeing a minimum of £1m coming in between now and July for him. Not a bad position but definitely the upside could be massively more

This. They'll be far more desperate for cash and buyers will know that.

Slim Shady
11-01-2023, 06:39 AM
We have another waiting in the shadows to be unleashed.

Oscar MacIntyre.

From what I’ve seen of him in games, including against Norwich this lad will be our next biggest export.

Already on Arsenal, Newcastle and Man City radar.
Still amazed he’s not been given a chance yet.

11-01-2023, 08:31 AM
This. They'll be far more desperate for cash and buyers will know that.

Aye and I wonder how much Porteous will be worth after leaving us?

11-01-2023, 08:53 AM

I don't think that was the case. He was more than good enough but he was a young player that didn't cause a gaping void in our team when he left. I was comfortable with him leaving. It would have been worse to lose a Nisbet or Porteous at the time.

11-01-2023, 09:47 AM

Oscar MacIntyre.

From what I’ve seen of him in games, including against Norwich this lad will be our next biggest export.

What is it with Scotland and left backs? Robertson, Hickey, Taylor, Hickey, Doig, MacIntyre…

11-01-2023, 11:00 AM

Oscar MacIntyre.

Not been along to any of the under19/development games, pretty sure this lad played a part in a pre season game though🤔 What age is he? What his contract situation? I see lots of other SPL teams playing youths aged around 18 but it just never seems that our younger players are trusted, or don’t have the physical attributes, to play for the first team. I’ve been pretty critical of the lack of youngsters breaking through but always excited at the thought of the next golden generation! Hopefully this young man, along with others, make the step up into the first XI soon.

patlowe
11-01-2023, 01:07 PM
What is it with Scotland and left backs? Robertson, Hickey, Taylor, Hickey, Doig, MacIntyre…

Tierney as well - the best of them all for Scotland IMO. It's ridiculous. At least Hickey can play right back...

patlowe
11-01-2023, 01:15 PM

I think everyone could see he had the physical attributes to go to the top. His ability to eat up the yards with the ball was clear to see but it was also obvious he needed to do a lot of work on his decision making and end product IMO, and it looks like he has done. Other players have the base attributes but lack the nous and dedication (that Doig clearly has) to develop and reach their potential.

Greenio
11-01-2023, 01:35 PM
Aye and I wonder how much Porteous will be worth after leaving us?

I think he'll go on to big things in his career. His standards are that high and he's a genuine leader within a team at this early age, add that to his capability and you got someone that should go far

HIBS NUTS
11-01-2023, 04:02 PM
Not been along to any of the under19/development games, pretty sure this lad played a part in a pre season game though🤔 What age is he? What his contract situation? I see lots of other SPL teams playing youths aged around 18 but it just never seems that our younger players are trusted, or don’t have the physical attributes, to play for the first team. I’ve been pretty critical of the lack of youngsters breaking through but always excited at the thought of the next golden generation! Hopefully this young man, along with others, make the step up into the first XI soon.

Hes 19, his younger brother jacob plays for the under 18,s, and is a great player, both have great attitudes, which makes a huge difference.
Both related to Bob mcintyre the current top scottish golfer.👍🏻

13-01-2023, 05:31 PM
I don't think that was the case. He was more than good enough but he was a young player that didn't cause a gaping void in our team when he left. I was comfortable with him leaving. It would have been worse to lose a Nisbet or Porteous at the time.

Some truth in that. Im a big fan of the lad but his progression stagnated in his last season with us. He needed to move on and the deal to Verona suited all parties. Its great to see him progressing in Italy he had an absolute stormer the other night (its not like that for CD and Verona every week tho I assure you)

13-01-2023, 05:37 PM
Some truth in that. Im a big fan of the lad but his progression stagnated in his last season with us. He needed to move on and the deal to Verona suited all parties. Its great to see him progressing in Italy he had an absolute stormer the other night (its not like that for CD and Verona every week tho I assure you)

Verona play him in a role that maximises his skill set while that master tactician Maloney kept playing him as a centre back.

13-01-2023, 05:38 PM
Verona play him in a role that maximises his skill set while that master tactician Maloney kept playing him as a centre back.

He certainly plays further forward for Verona and he was always better going forward than going backwards so to speak.

13-01-2023, 05:45 PM
Ray McKinnon told us how good he was.

13-01-2023, 05:49 PM
He certainly plays further forward for Verona and he was always better going forward than going backwards so to speak.

Yup, was always nervous when he played LCH or at LB. Looked so much better as a WB or LM.

13-01-2023, 05:51 PM
Yup, was always nervous when he played LCH or at LB. Looked so much better as a WB or LM.

Sure someone on here said hibs plan was always to play him as a LCH, just can't see him ever playing there

13-01-2023, 05:54 PM
Sure someone on here said hibs plan was always to play him as a LCH, just can't see him ever playing there

That wouldnt be playing to his strengths. As I said he needed to move on and we got a decent deal and Verona have got a good player playing in a system that suits Doigy and Verona.

Stubbsy90+2
13-01-2023, 05:54 PM

Was there? :confused:

13-01-2023, 05:58 PM
That wouldnt be playing to his strengths. As I said he needed to move on and we got a decent deal and Verona have got a good player playing in a system that suits Doigy and Verona.

Yip think the best thing he done was go abroad, from the couple of games I've seen he seems to be playing well, wish more younger players done something similar

13-01-2023, 06:11 PM
I think everyone could see he had the physical attributes to go to the top. His ability to eat up the yards with the ball was clear to see but it was also obvious he needed to do a lot of work on his decision making and end product IMO, and it looks like he has done. Other players have the base attributes but lack the nous and dedication (that Doig clearly has) to develop and reach their potential.

He reminded me of Whittaker at a similar age, both looked more suited to midfield than full back.

Scotty Leither
14-01-2023, 04:41 PM
If he gets transferred I hope we use the sell on fee to put 3 piece suites in the East terrace, canapés in hospitality, and indoor fireworks in the Board room, because we sure as **** won’t be spending it on the team.

14-01-2023, 04:50 PM
If he gets transferred I hope we use the sell on fee to put 3 piece suites in the East terrace, canapés in hospitality, and indoor fireworks in the Board room, because we sure as **** won’t be spending it on the team.Good points

What's our current spend on the football dept compared to say, 4 years ago?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Scotty Leither
14-01-2023, 04:57 PM
Good points

What's our current spend on the football dept compared to say, 4 years ago?

Good point. Care to enlighten me, as I’ve not got the accounts to hand?

Balance sheets and buttoned up accountants typically bore me ****less.

What I can see is one experiment/project/inexperienced loan player after another populating our squad on the back of some fantasy recruitment policy driven by a detached Board who don’t have first clue as to the type of team we want to see on the park.

Still…opinions eh?

14-01-2023, 05:02 PM
Good point. Care to enlighten me, as I’ve not got the accounts to hand?

Balance sheets and buttoned up accountants typically bore me ****less.

What I can see is one experiment/project/inexperienced loan player after another populating our squad on the back of some fantasy recruitment policy driven by a detached Board who don’t have first clue as to the type of team we want to see on the park.

Still…opinions eh?We might not be spending it wisely but I've no idea how anyone can think we haven't been spending money

Makes no sense whatsoever

Scotty Leither
14-01-2023, 05:07 PM
We might not be spending it wisely but I've no idea how anyone can think we haven't been spending money

Makes no sense whatsoever

Ian Gordon’s player pick n mix from his SEGA console…now there’s something that makes no sense at all.

14-01-2023, 05:08 PM
Ian Gordon’s player pick n mix from his SEGA console…now there’s something that makes no sense at all.But then neither does your assertion of us not spending on the team

Our structural changes are showing they agree we haven't been good enough on the football dept side

PS - Sega console? [emoji23][emoji23]

ripvanwinkle
14-01-2023, 05:12 PM
[QUI was told that Josh is off to Milan but staying with present club on loanOTE=Scotty Leither;7231068]If he gets transferred I hope we use the sell on fee to put 3 piece suites in the East terrace, canapés in hospitality, and indoor fireworks in the Board room, because we sure as **** won’t be spending it on the team.[/QUOTE]

14-01-2023, 05:13 PM
[QUI was told that Josh is off to Milan but staying with present club on loanOTE=Scotty Leither;7231068]If he gets transferred I hope we use the sell on fee to put 3 piece suites in the East terrace, canapés in hospitality, and indoor fireworks in the Board room, because we sure as **** won’t be spending it on the team.[/QUOTE]

When can we order the upgrade to a PS5 for Ian Gordon?

14-01-2023, 05:13 PM
Hopefully he plays tonight. Be a good watch.

Up-the-slope
14-01-2023, 05:43 PM
Hopefully he plays tonight. Be a good watch.

Might be final audition if transfer rumors are true

EGL2000
14-01-2023, 06:43 PM
Starting tonight at the San Siro, on BT sport 1 for anyone wanting a watch.

Auckland Hibs
14-01-2023, 07:26 PM
He's been average so far, one cross that flew out of play and a decent back post header chance that he made a bit of a mess.

Hibs4185
14-01-2023, 09:03 PM
Starting tonight at the San Siro, on BT sport 1 for anyone wanting a watch.

Feel sorry for Josh…..from the Leith San Siro to the San Siro

21-01-2023, 01:48 PM
Assist today

HendoDelivered
21-01-2023, 02:12 PM
Assist today

Only a matter of time before he gets another move I think

21-01-2023, 03:35 PM
https://twitter.com/aboutscotlandd/status/1616815120394371072?s=46&t=Lkdi8pczWZn4xSUEshxKXQ

Clip of the assist

6 goals/assists in 13 appearances in the Serie A is some going for a full back in his first season, especially since he’s only

21-01-2023, 03:41 PM
Great cross for that goal.

Up-the-slope
21-01-2023, 04:25 PM
Another good assist - his final ball has improved. His athleticism always stood out which is why he looked like he could go far.

21-01-2023, 04:34 PM
He is getting rave reviews from twitter accounts with six figure followings.
I think we will make a few quid from young Josh yet.

21-01-2023, 04:55 PM
Verona missing a trick not playing him at Centre back like tactical genius Maloney.

30-01-2023, 07:30 PM
Not playing or on the bench tonight, is he injured?

EGL2000
30-01-2023, 07:33 PM
Not playing or on the bench tonight, is he injured?

Think he's ill.

30-01-2023, 07:55 PM
Think he's ill.

Based on what? Verona certainly haven't said that.

Willis1875
30-01-2023, 07:58 PM

Flu
https://football-italia.net/serie-a-live-udinese-vs-verona/

cameronw-hfc
30-01-2023, 07:59 PM

Got the flu, was reported by an Italian journo earlier

30-01-2023, 08:12 PM
Cheers guys.

30-01-2023, 08:24 PM
Flu
https://football-italia.net/serie-a-live-udinese-vs-verona/

Is that code for sorting out a transfer deal?

30-01-2023, 08:33 PM
Is that code for sorting out a transfer deal?Vlad Flu

30-01-2023, 08:45 PM
Is that code for sorting out a transfer deal?

Could be you would think

13-02-2023, 04:39 PM
he's in the team for today's 5.30KO

HIBS NUTS
13-02-2023, 05:05 PM
he's in the team for today's 5.30KO
👍🏻
brilliant ball by doig, 1-0

13-02-2023, 05:36 PM
👍🏻
brilliant ball by doig, 1-0

Great pass in the build up 👏🏼

JammyDoidger
13-02-2023, 05:58 PM
What a run from Doig there. Wins the penalty. Overturned by VAR, good tackle tbf.

HIBS NUTS
13-02-2023, 06:03 PM
He looks the part, very athletic.

13-02-2023, 06:30 PM
Finished 1-0 to Verona. Hugely important win that and gives them a fighting chance of avoiding relegation.

I can't believe how poorly Sampdoria are doing when I look at the league table.

13-02-2023, 06:34 PM
Finished 1-0 to Verona. Hugely important win that and gives them a fighting chance of avoiding relegation.

I can't believe how poorly Sampdoria are doing when I look at the league table.

They have real ownership and financial problems that don't look like being resolved quickly. They may struggle for a while yet.

13-02-2023, 06:41 PM
Definitely going to earn a good bit of money from Doig moving on. He's looked really good in a highly competitive league.

HIBS NUTS
13-02-2023, 06:45 PM
Definitely going to earn a good bit of money from Doig moving on. He's looked really good in a highly competitive league.

mcginn not playing for villa now.
he might want a move in summer too. 👍🏻

Hibeesforever
13-02-2023, 06:49 PM

Problem might be that McGinn won't have long left on his deal, affecting his value...hope he does move,he needs it to get back playing...

13-02-2023, 06:54 PM

He’s just coming back from a hamstring injury, he’ll probably start the next game

Auckland Hibs
13-02-2023, 11:36 PM
Watched the highlights, great ball from Josh for their goal and also the run for the penalty that was overturned by VAR.

Definitely think he'll be on the move this Summer, someone mentioned The Orcs are stiffing around but I can't see how they could afford him TBH.

13-02-2023, 11:50 PM
He’s just coming back from a hamstring injury, he’ll probably start the next game

That's what I thought, injured not dropped.

Helensburghhibs
14-02-2023, 09:22 AM
Watched the highlights, great ball from Josh for their goal and also the run for the penalty that was overturned by VAR.

Definitely think he'll be on the move this Summer, someone mentioned The Orcs are stiffing around but I can't see how they could afford him TBH.

They can't.

14-02-2023, 10:18 AM

He's out of their budget. Way out of it. I'll be expecting Doig to go for a minimum of £10 million. Hickey left Italy for £14 potentially rising to £18 million.

14-02-2023, 11:17 AM
He's out of their budget. Way out of it. I'll be expecting Doig to go for a minimum of £10 million. Hickey left Italy for £14 potentially rising to £18 million.

It looks like Josh is now on the radar of several clubs, not just in Italy but also in France. So hopefully a bit of a bidding war if Verona decide to cash in this summer. Hopefully Josh can keep pushing on and improve in the rest of this season to enhance his value! OGC Nice are owned by Jim Ratcliffe so have plenty money to spend.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-on-major-sell-on-fee-alert-as-new-clubs-enter-ps9m-transfer-chase-4001820

14-02-2023, 11:28 AM

Inter or Napoli and hopefully for a good fee

HFC93
14-02-2023, 11:49 AM
Not sure how reliable the source is but Inter apparently had scouts watching him last night:

https://sempreinter.com/2023/02/13/inter-milan-scouts-to-attend-hellas-verona-salernitana-serie-a-clash-to-monitor-wingback-josh-doig-italian-media-report/?utm_term=Autofeed&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1676313508

14-02-2023, 03:18 PM
Not sure how reliable the source is but Inter apparently had scouts watching him last night:

https://sempreinter.com/2023/02/13/inter-milan-scouts-to-attend-hellas-verona-salernitana-serie-a-clash-to-monitor-wingback-josh-doig-italian-media-report/?utm_term=Autofeed&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1676313508

He hasnae half aged, eh? Looking cool as **** though

hibby rae
14-02-2023, 07:04 PM

Football Scotland ran a story saying the minimum buy-out was £9m, and we have a 25% sell-on fee due.

14-02-2023, 08:08 PM

Home hopefully.

I was thinking the other day, when could we realistically see him back?

33?

19-02-2023, 06:16 PM
Josh starts against Roma live on BT sport

19-02-2023, 06:23 PM
He hasnae half aged, eh? Looking cool as **** though

cameronw-hfc
19-02-2023, 06:33 PM
Home hopefully.

I was thinking the other day, when could we realistically see him back?

33?

I've been pretty adamant the last year or two on here whenever it's mentioned he will get a move that it's just not gonna happen as who would buy him, but now I could see it happening. I still doubt it, but out of Kamara, Luiz, Ramsay and Mcginn, Mcginn is the one I see most likely to be let go and Emery wants a rebuild
The others are younger and arguably as good, if not currently better than Mcginn so can see Villa being willing to let him go, although it won't be for the previously quoted 50m, would be more 10-25m id imagine

19-02-2023, 06:53 PM
It looks like Josh is now on the radar of several clubs, not just in Italy but also in France. So hopefully a bit of a bidding war if Verona decide to cash in this summer. Hopefully Josh can keep pushing on and improve in the rest of this season to enhance his value! OGC Nice are owned by Jim Ratcliffe so have plenty money to spend.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-on-major-sell-on-fee-alert-as-new-clubs-enter-ps9m-transfer-chase-4001820

Aren't Hearts entitled to a bag of crisps as he was initially with them prior to Potter releasing him 🤔😂

Greenworld
23-02-2023, 07:05 AM
Aren't Hearts entitled to a bag of crisps as he was initially with them prior to Potter releasing him [emoji848][emoji23]Not a bag 1 crisp

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

23-02-2023, 07:29 AM
I've been pretty adamant the last year or two on here whenever it's mentioned he will get a move that it's just not gonna happen as who would buy him, but now I could see it happening. I still doubt it, but out of Kamara, Luiz, Ramsay and Mcginn, Mcginn is the one I see most likely to be let go and Emery wants a rebuild
The others are younger and arguably as good, if not currently better than Mcginn so can see Villa being willing to let him go, although it won't be for the previously quoted 50m, would be more 10-25m id imagine

A lot of folk keep saying about how these other midfielders at Villa are better yet, apart from when they were under a caretaker, all Villa's permanent managers seem to want him starting games. Emery wasn't long in bringing him back in and only an injury had him back on the bench for a couple of games. I think he's now being used in a better area than under Gerrard.

I agree if he does move that it won't be for the £50 million fee quoted a year or 2 ago but it'll still be around the £20-£30 million range such is his reputation and potential value to suitors.

23-02-2023, 07:52 AM
A lot of folk keep saying about how these other midfielders at Villa are better yet, apart from when they were under a caretaker, all Villa's permanent managers seem to want him starting games. Emery wasn't long in bringing him back in and only an injury had him back on the bench for a couple of games. I think he's now being used in a better area than under Gerrard.

I agree if he does move that it won't be for the £50 million fee quoted a year or 2 ago but it'll still be around the £20-£30 million range such is his reputation and potential value to suitors.

I think your value is spot on. £20m buys you almost nothing these days in English football. McGinn has bags of EPL experience and still a decent age. I think £30m is entirely reasonable looking at what others are going for.

Up-the-slope
23-02-2023, 05:45 PM
GGreat pic from Sundays Roma game... looks like |Josh Gave Jose a shiner

https://cdn.vox-cdn.com/thumbor/P_yko3Fvb3SEq0BNsMnkl69kRGg=/0x0:2747x1832/1220x813/filters:focal(932x304:1370x742):format(webp)/cdn.vox-cdn.com/uploads/chorus_image/image/71995284/1247326625.0.jpg

cameronw-hfc
23-02-2023, 07:28 PM

That was one of gerrards biggest criticism tbf. Mcginn was in a horrific run of form and it was obvious to all he needed a spell out the team as the abuse was getting rough, but it never happened. Emery is playing him almost as a right winger due to the fact Kamara and Luiz are better players, he's probably similar to Ramsay atm, but Ramsay being young and an academy product means the fans would rather he stayed.

I doubt Kamara will be at Villa for a while as he's come in and basically gone straight in as the best player in the squad, so Mcginn might be able to wait that one out, but come the summer it's looking tough to see where he starts.

Emery has said a few times he wants wingers, Mcginn is playing in that wide right role at the moment, but if Emery gets his wingers, Kamara and Luiz stay(big chance they don't) then it's hard to see where he fits in due to Emery liking a 442/424.

It's not that he's poor, or close to it, more just a were him situation for him. He's gone something like 44 games without scoring and despite some insisting he played in defensive mid, I watch every Villa game being there my English team, and he has rarely played there. He was used as a box to box CM, similar to his time at Hibs, so he should have been able to score and assist more but he's only just come out of probably the worst club form of his career the past 12 months.

It was never a case of him being crap, more just a bad apell and it got made worse by Gerrard refusing to take him out the spotlight for a while, then the mental decision to make him captain whilst he was seriously struggling. For the 2 CM roles he's probably third choice, first choice at RM currently but if someone else comes in then you've got to wonder where he fits in.

24-02-2023, 10:47 PM
That was one of gerrards biggest criticism tbf. Mcginn was in a horrific run of form and it was obvious to all he needed a spell out the team as the abuse was getting rough, but it never happened. Emery is playing him almost as a right winger due to the fact Kamara and Luiz are better players, he's probably similar to Ramsay atm, but Ramsay being young and an academy product means the fans would rather he stayed.

I doubt Kamara will be at Villa for a while as he's come in and basically gone straight in as the best player in the squad, so Mcginn might be able to wait that one out, but come the summer it's looking tough to see where he starts.

Emery has said a few times he wants wingers, Mcginn is playing in that wide right role at the moment, but if Emery gets his wingers, Kamara and Luiz stay(big chance they don't) then it's hard to see where he fits in due to Emery liking a 442/424.

It's not that he's poor, or close to it, more just a were him situation for him. He's gone something like 44 games without scoring and despite some insisting he played in defensive mid, I watch every Villa game being there my English team, and he has rarely played there. He was used as a box to box CM, similar to his time at Hibs, so he should have been able to score and assist more but he's only just come out of probably the worst club form of his career the past 12 months.

It was never a case of him being crap, more just a bad apell and it got made worse by Gerrard refusing to take him out the spotlight for a while, then the mental decision to make him captain whilst he was seriously struggling. For the 2 CM roles he's probably third choice, first choice at RM currently but if someone else comes in then you've got to wonder where he fits in.

Maybe SJM will want to move on in the summer but there would surely be plenty of teams in that league after him. He might be in poor form but he’s a proven player at that level.

Thanks for the update. I certainly don’t watch every Villa game!

cameronw-hfc
24-02-2023, 11:13 PM
Maybe SJM will want to move on in the summer but there would surely be plenty of teams in that league after him. He might be in poor form but he’s a proven player at that level.

Thanks for the update. I certainly don’t watch every Villa game!

He's turned it around recently so assume there would be plenty of interest but I imagine whether he goes or stays depends on if Kamara/Luiz stay. Or you never know, Emery might change formation to get him in.

25-02-2023, 09:11 PM

As I have said to you in the past Cameron you need to play SJM in his best position and give him the service
Unai seems to have found that out. Villa fans are now saying he is back to his best and giving MOM performances
Steve Clarke knows how to get the best out of him so if Villa can do what Steve Clarke does hopefully his value will go up again.I actually think he would be suited to playing abroad

cameronw-hfc
25-02-2023, 09:45 PM
As I have said to you in the past Cameron you need to play SJM in his best position and give him the service
Unai seems to have found that out. Villa fans are now saying he is back to his best and giving MOM performances
Steve Clarke knows how to get the best out of him so if Villa can do what Steve Clarke does hopefully his value will go up again.I actually think he would be suited to playing abroad

In fairness, he's playing as a right winger almost at the moment, so I don't think it's purely that. He was just going through a bad spell of form, nothing less, nothing more. He'd done well in that role for a while then his form dipped, Emery gave him a few games out to get fully fit and back going again and put him out on the right and he looks back to his best. It was more things just weren't going for him, his long balls were going into the stand, his shots were going row Z, passes overhit, just couldn't get a break for a while

He got time to refresh and he's now back to his best, playing a role he's rarely played before. If he keeps up this form he might well keep his place ahead of any new signings as well, could be a new lease of life for him and a position change that does him the world of good.

Edit- wasn't intending to sound rude with the nothing more nothing less, meant it to mean nobody thought he was a crap player, just he was in a wee rut and needed a refresh but for some reason the previous manager couldn't see that and played him through the bad spell.

25-02-2023, 11:18 PM
In fairness, he's playing as a right winger almost at the moment, so I don't think it's purely that. He was just going through a bad spell of form, nothing less, nothing more. He'd done well in that role for a while then his form dipped, Emery gave him a few games out to get fully fit and back going again and put him out on the right and he looks back to his best. It was more things just weren't going for him, his long balls were going into the stand, his shots were going row Z, passes overhit, just couldn't get a break for a while

He got time to refresh and he's now back to his best, playing a role he's rarely played before. If he keeps up this form he might well keep his place ahead of any new signings as well, could be a new lease of life for him and a position change that does him the world of good.

Edit- wasn't intending to sound rude with the nothing more nothing less, meant it to mean nobody thought he was a crap player, just he was in a wee rut and needed a refresh but for some reason the previous manager couldn't see that and played him through the bad spell.
Yes a number of villa fans on the forums are saying much the same as you. The break seems to have done him good and the haircut. The Villa fans on the forums were wanting him offloaded a few weeks ago, now want him in the team every week. Will be an interesting rest of the season for villa and SJM

26-02-2023, 09:46 AM

I think you've obviously made a lot of fair and reasoned points but (and I'm no expert) it did seem VERY much like to me that McGinn was used in a very defensive covering role under Gerrard. I did watch a number of games - obviously not as many as you, but i wouldn't say he was box to box at all.

He needs freedom to get around the park and even if he's on the right at the moment it definitely seems to be suiting him. The fans seem to have quickly got back on side as, to be fair, although he wasn't playing well, a lot of them had always put it down to how he was being deployed.

Emery is an amazing manager and seems to rate him highly enough so I'd still be surprised if he doesn't stay in the team long term.

27-02-2023, 04:25 PM
Verona live on BT at 5.30.

Anyone any idea why Verona always seem to play their home games on a Monday at 5.30?

27-02-2023, 04:44 PM
Losing 0 . 1 after 12 mins

27-02-2023, 04:58 PM
I reckon Verona getting relegated would be good news for us as he would be in demand and they would probably have to sell.