View Full Version : Marshall’s Distribution

Ardenttwo
21-08-2022, 01:28 PM
What a difference on the distribution from our goalkeeper Finds a teammate with nearly every goal kick or clearance and sets up attacks. Best I have seen in our team for a long long time

21-08-2022, 01:30 PM
What a difference on the distribution from our goalkeeper Finds a teammate with nearly every goal kick or clearance and sets up attacks. Best I have seen in our team for a long long time

Absolutely.

He is so switched on, I used to worry about captain in goals, but seems absolutely the right guy.

Cat Stanton
21-08-2022, 01:33 PM

If you want a nice contrast, look at the Sevco keeper McLaughlin yesterday. When, with nine men, they desperately needed to try and keep some possession, he continuously - time after time - launched his bye-kicks straight into touch, thereby immediately giving us possession back. Clueless.

hibby rae
21-08-2022, 01:34 PM
I don't **** myself any time a cross comes in now either.

I'd say he's the 3rd best keeper in the league, and that is not a slight.

BlackSheep
21-08-2022, 01:43 PM
I don't **** myself any time a cross comes in now either.

I'd say he's the 3rd best keeper in the league, and that is not a slight.

I’d say THE best keeper in the league….

21-08-2022, 01:48 PM
Best keeper we have had for a long time.

Didn't really have to do much yesterday tbh but was almost close to the pen and no chance with the Lawrence header.

Great distribution again like you say though.

21-08-2022, 01:48 PM
If you want a nice contrast, look at the Sevco keeper McLaughlin yesterday. When, with nine men, they desperately needed to try and keep some possession, he continuously - time after time - launched his bye-kicks straight into touch, thereby immediately giving us possession back. Clueless.

He was the same at the Yams dodgy

My only worry with Marshall is when he wanders outside his box when the ball is deep in the opposition half

Only kidding 😀

The guy has been a breath of fresh air exactly what we need brings stability and confidence to our defence distribution first class like an outfield player

Keepers we have had lately looked as though they had never played fitba before

12-15 points a season

21-08-2022, 01:51 PM
He was the same at the Yams dodgy

My only worry with Marshall is when he wanders outside his box when the ball is deep in the opposition half

Only kidding 😀

The guy has been a breath of fresh air exactly what we need brings stability and confidence to our defence distribution first class like an outfield player

Keepers we have had lately looked as though they had never played fitba before

12-15 points a season

I agree he will be worth a fair few pijts for us but not yesterday. The hun only had two efforts on target and one was a pen. I think that the whole Hibs team yesterday deserve huge credit for that

21-08-2022, 01:56 PM
I agree he will be worth a fair few pijts for us but not yesterday. The hun only had two efforts on target and one was a pen. I think that the whole Hibs team yesterday deserve huge credit for that

Saved us two points against Hearts with his brilliant double save

Sets up attack after attack with his quick decisive distribution unlike Macey who used to think about it

21-08-2022, 01:58 PM

Sets up attack after attack with his quick decisive distribution unlike Macey who used to think about it
I'm nit arguing with you. He will definitely worth points, he also made a decent save at 0-0 at Perth. And his distribution is top class. But yesterday I thought we defended really well as a team for the most part.

21-08-2022, 01:59 PM
I'm nit arguing with you. He will definitely worth points, he also made a decent save at 0-0 at Perth. And his distribution is top class. But yesterday I thought we defended really well as a team for the most part.

I know it

hibby rae
21-08-2022, 03:18 PM
I’d say THE best keeper in the league….

Gauge that come the end of the season.

We know how many points Gordon can save for Hearts. Hart has yet to really put a foot wrong at a critical moment in this league.

21-08-2022, 03:19 PM
Night and day compared to McLaughlin who put the nine men under enormous pressure kicking it out repeatedly yesterday.

HendoDelivered
21-08-2022, 03:26 PM
Don’t find myself biting my nails when the ball gets passed to him either: you just know he’s got it under control. Other goalkeepers gave me the fear in that scenario.

21-08-2022, 03:38 PM
Don’t find myself biting my nails when the ball gets passed to him either: you just know he’s got it under control. Other goalkeepers gave me the fear in that scenario.

His touch for a keeper is top notch.

Seems no matter what he controls it perfectly to allow him to ping the pass he wants straight away.

Looks a real class act in everything he does to be honest and for all I thought Macey got a bit of a hard time he’s clearly a significant upgrade.

21-08-2022, 03:38 PM
He’s been brilliant and his distribution is excellent and not something I was expecting.

That pass he played in the first half from his own penalty box to the half way like across the ground was sensational, if that was Ederson the pundits would be alll over it

HIBS NUTS
21-08-2022, 03:49 PM
fantastic distribution makes a huge difference.👍🏻

21-08-2022, 06:20 PM

It's the second part that sets him apart from our recent keepers. Doesn't give the opposition a chance to get back into their shape.

Obviously part of Johnson's game plan, as also shown by the speed with which we look to take a throw in.

CB Hibs 68
21-08-2022, 06:26 PM
Erm I think he kicked the ball into touch to avoid us instantly having the ball.Might be wrong but the constant number of kick outs that went straight out would suggest ineptitude or tactics.I reckon that was what he was told to do

Cat Stanton
22-08-2022, 06:55 PM
Erm I think he kicked the ball into touch to avoid us instantly having the ball.Might be wrong but the constant number of kick outs that went straight out would suggest ineptitude or tactics.I reckon that was what he was told to do

I'd go with ineptitude. The other explanation makes no sense. By kicking it out he was just immediately giving us the ball back, no?

22-08-2022, 06:57 PM

That’s the worst tactics I’ve ever heard

22-08-2022, 07:08 PM

No chance.

Van Bronkhorst was going nuts at him. I wouldn't be surprised if McGreggor is restored to the team for their next game.

With 9 men any possession they could get was welcome. Hammering it out the park and allowing us to drag them about from a dead ball repeatedly would be the most ridiculous tactics ever.

22-08-2022, 07:13 PM
There was one punt out to the left wing in the first half where he landed the ball on a sixpence that was a tremendous pass.

22-08-2022, 07:42 PM
That’s the worst tactics I’ve ever heard

Straight from the Terry Butcher elevated thought society approach

22-08-2022, 07:58 PM
Straight from the Terry Butcher elevated thought society approach

Giving possession back to the opposition removes fear of giving the opposition possession.

22-08-2022, 09:47 PM
Don’t find myself biting my nails when the ball gets passed to him either: you just know he’s got it under control. Other goalkeepers gave me the fear in that scenario.I still do after our insistence on keepers who give us the fear with the ball at their feet over the last wee while. I'm slowly getting better though. His passing is superb.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

22-08-2022, 11:24 PM
Still can't believe he's a Hibs player if I'm being honest. An absolute coup of a signing. Been fantastic so far and as pointed out, his kicking is top notch. You can tell the guys played at the top and is real quality. Delighted he's our number one.

ZitellZeTime
22-08-2022, 11:33 PM
Aye with him and Dabrowski I've no felt as ease with our goalkeeping situation since we had Makalambay and Szamotulski fighting it out for the jersey !!

Nah he's class, I read he was injured last season before seeing him play for us then got bit worried but he is a class act, reflexes still as good as that game against Barcelona for celtic all those years ago, he was the difference in that game and he's going to be the difference in a lot of close games this season. I liked Marciano better than Macey but I thought Macey was good and people were harsh on him, maybe because we've had so many terrible keepers the last 15 years or so I thought he was better than he was because I think if we still had him there is a good chance the Rangers and Hearts games would have been losses. Not just the key saves and distribution, the players listen to what he says too. Goalkeepers dont make the news really as marquee sigings unless they're going for crazy money but think this might be our important apart from Boyle signing this season.

23-08-2022, 05:34 AM
I was really happy with the signing of Marshall because he's a quality keeper and I felt he was the kind of experienced personality that our squad would benefit from. His distribution could prove to be every bit as important in the way that Lee Johnson wants us to play, turning defence into attack in a few seconds with Boyler and Youan's pace.

23-08-2022, 06:11 AM
Interestingly, one of the preseason videos Hibs posted was of Marshall, who was mic’d up, getting the ball and pinging it out wide left and right with both feet. Clearly something the coaching staff want to do and his passing was spot on.

23-08-2022, 06:13 AM
Aye with him and Dabrowski I've no felt as ease with our goalkeeping situation since we had Makalambay and Szamotulski fighting it out for the jersey !!

Nah he's class, I read he was injured last season before seeing him play for us then got bit worried but he is a class act, reflexes still as good as that game against Barcelona for celtic all those years ago, he was the difference in that game and he's going to be the difference in a lot of close games this season. I liked Marciano better than Macey but I thought Macey was good and people were harsh on him, maybe because we've had so many terrible keepers the last 15 years or so I thought he was better than he was because I think if we still had him there is a good chance the Rangers and Hearts games would have been losses. Not just the key saves and distribution, the players listen to what he says too. Goalkeepers dont make the news really as marquee sigings unless they're going for crazy money but think this might be our important apart from Boyle signing this season.

Macey certainly better than some keepers we’ve had going back 10 years or more, but in reality bang average. Both Rocky and Bogdan were better.

Marshall is an excellent signing and shows what we’ve been missing.

23-08-2022, 06:20 AM
Interestingly, one of the preseason videos Hibs posted was of Marshall, who was mic’d up, getting the ball and pinging it out wide left and right with both feet. Clearly something the coaching staff want to do and his passing was spot on.

23-08-2022, 06:44 AM
I defended Macey last year as I think we as a fan base go overboard with criticism of keepers after the horror run of the 00s. I also think most keepers have poor distribution.

They said Marshall’s is excellent and a massive step up - better than any goalie I remember us having. Also better than the rest of the league with the ball at his feet.

23-08-2022, 11:28 AM
I said during the Derby he was our most creative player, half in jest, but it's more or less true