View Full Version : Josh Campbell
20-08-2022, 01:29 PM
Irrelevant if his style isn’t the silkiest, the boy puts in a hell of a lot of work, helps his team mates out, never gives up and loves a late goal.
He’s learning and he’s got a good future with us.
Well done young Josh, hats off to you.
20-08-2022, 01:30 PM
He had a good game today before the goal. Delighted for him.
hibsquaker
Too right, shut the f up Joss Campbell moaners
He was outstanding today. Brilliant pass to help set up the first; sublime finish for the equaliser. Constantly looking to move the ball forward. Excellent Josh, excellent.
Irrelevant if his style isn’t the silkiest, the boy puts in a hell of a lot of work, helps his team mates out, never gives up and loves a late goal.
He’s learning and he’s got a good future with us.
Well done young Josh, hats off to you.
He sends a clear message to the more talented players who sometimes can't be @rsed
20-08-2022, 01:31 PM
Well done Josh
Yip, great game and deserved goal
Doh Rae Me
A worldy
cameronw-hfc
20-08-2022, 01:32 PM
Remember Jack Ross saying the boy is desperate to make it at Hibs. Delighted for Josh and his whole family
CL0762
20-08-2022, 01:37 PM
Josh was outstanding today.
I’ve been a vocal critic of his but he’s shut me up big time.
Was instrumental in both goals.
20-08-2022, 01:38 PM
Even without the goal he had a good game , but that goal was something else . Hopefully there’s more where that came from
20-08-2022, 01:40 PM
Cracking goal today, played well in all the positions he was asked to play in today
hhibs
20-08-2022, 01:45 PM
He sends a clear message to the more talented players who sometimes can't be @rsed
Agreed,that particular problem is still there.
Well done Josh,well worth your place.
20-08-2022, 01:46 PM
He’s been good since the start of pre season, was really good against hearts I thought and linked well with Cadden and Henderson.
Delighted for him today, what a hit it was.
2 goals this season in the dying minutes.
Brilliant Josh, keep it up.
20-08-2022, 01:50 PM
Was very good today. His best game for us since his game against them at hampden
20-08-2022, 01:51 PM
He was excellent today in both positions he played
With all the stick the guy gets weekly, to still have the confidence to hit that today speaks volumes to me, well done to him on a great goal and performance
20-08-2022, 01:52 PM
His best game for us in a long while. His goal was well deserved.
20-08-2022, 01:52 PM
Had a great game today. What an engine and finish.
20-08-2022, 01:54 PM
Delighted for him. He’s done brilliantly.
Paulie Walnuts
20-08-2022, 01:55 PM
His best game for us in a long while. His goal was well deserved.
Yup. Done very well and his best performance by an absolute mile for a long time.
20-08-2022, 02:01 PM
I wasn't his biggest fan last season, but that performance makes him pick of the bunch of our midfielders this season...great goal Josh..enjoy watching the replays !
Green_one
Tends to do well against Rangers
Delighted for him. Ive been a critic, but it’s never been anything personal.
GreenGray
20-08-2022, 02:04 PM
Was class today, games like these you need someone like him. Hopefully his confidence goes up after this cause he clearly has the ability.
Pass for our first goal was brilliant.
20-08-2022, 02:04 PM
Today was his best game for Hibs by a mile.
Goal was brilliant and so was his pass to put Youan in for the equaliser.
More of that.
20-08-2022, 02:05 PM
Played very well today, even before his goal. Need more of that from hin.
Torto7
20-08-2022, 02:06 PM
He's always covered the ground tbf. I like him away from the tight areas as his touch isn't the best. Let him close people down and support the attack. Well done Josh.
20-08-2022, 02:07 PM
wish I had his so called pische skill when I was younger, good young player and Hibs man who will only get better. Man of the match today.
:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
20-08-2022, 02:09 PM
He's had a good start to the season.
20-08-2022, 02:11 PM
Proving me wrong every passing game this season and was my MOTM today. Really good all-round performance even without his goal. Delighted for him.
20-08-2022, 02:11 PM
He's had a good start to the season.
He has , for all the comments during games about him playing **** he’s looked decent any games iv watched . Couple of vital goals too
20-08-2022, 02:15 PM
LJ has signed a bundle of player but Campbell still gets picked tells you how well he’s rated. LJ is the third manager at Hibs to pick him. Maybe Hibs fans might cut him a little bit of slack as his 2 goals have got Hibs 4points so far this season.
I've been critical but really pleased for him today. I still think our midfield is miles away from where it needs to be but Josh looks like the best of the bunch right now.
Gonnae say it, Campbell was already having a great game, then that goal.
WELL DONE SON.
20-08-2022, 02:32 PM
Has been criticised at times for 2nd touch being a tackle, but both his goal and assist today were sheer quality. Amazing work rate which has always been there, but today I think we've seen more of what Josh has in the locker and has impressed on the training ground to earn him a place in the team.
Correction - the assist was Youan's but the goal doesn't happen without the sublime through ball from Josh.
h1bs4life
20-08-2022, 02:40 PM
Another good game , great goal not frightened to put the boot in . Well done Josh
20-08-2022, 02:42 PM
Thought he was poor first half, but more than decent second half - the goal was well taken, he had some fine passes, he is certainly a grafter and he doesn't hide.
20-08-2022, 02:45 PM
It didn't look like it was going to happen in the central area when we was trying to break down the 9 man.
Ball kept going out wide left and right before Josh stepped up in the 90+2 minute with a great strike.
Good shift all around for Josh with a lovely through ball also to Youan for Boyle's goal.
20-08-2022, 02:48 PM
Thought he was poor first half, but more than decent second half - the goal was well taken, he had some fine passes, he is certainly a grafter and he doesn't hide.
Considering he was playing Left wing back to about 26 mins and then was switched to central Mid I thought he did OK 1st half. Had a big influence on the game 2nd half and not for the first time this season.
20-08-2022, 02:49 PM
He’s responsible for four of our five points
Maybe LJ actually knows what he is doing compared to the know-it alls on here
Well done Josh!
20-08-2022, 03:35 PM
Josh was fantastic today, Newell was also good in midfield but Josh stood out and got the business done with the goal and great through ball.
Was chuffed for him to get the goal. Maybe he can be more effective under LJ?
SideBurns
20-08-2022, 03:54 PM
When Newell was announced as MOM I didn't think that was a bad decision necessarily as he'd had a good game. But I honestly felt at that stage JC would've been in with a shout. The goal sealed it!
The laddie has the determination, drive, fitness & attitude. He's nae mug with the ball at his feet either. This might just be his season.
20-08-2022, 03:58 PM
They were all pretty average in the first half.
20-08-2022, 04:05 PM
Best game for us by far. Well done Josh
20-08-2022, 04:08 PM
He’s responsible for four of our five points
Maybe LJ actually knows what he is doing compared to the know-it alls on here
Well done Josh!
He did well today. Does that change the fact that he was mostly gash last season?
Why not just enjoy today and not bother having a pop at people?
Fwiw, he’s improving. Great goal, let’s hope he keeps progressing.
20-08-2022, 04:57 PM
He's the new Lawrie Reilly.
20-08-2022, 04:58 PM
He's the new Lawrie Reilly.
Last minute Campbell😀
LJ has signed a bundle of player but Campbell still gets picked tells you how well he’s rated. LJ is the third manager at Hibs to pick him. Maybe Hibs fans might cut him a little bit of slack as his 2 goals have got Hibs 4points so far this season.
Spot on maybe it tells us football managers know more about players and the game than do fans.
20-08-2022, 05:03 PM
You know what, his commitment was good today. He got “Stuck in”
Yeh.
20-08-2022, 05:09 PM
Great game today. He needs consistent performances at todays levels and he’ll be a fans favourite in no time.
20-08-2022, 05:25 PM
Great game today, I really hope he kicks on from now after that performance.
20-08-2022, 05:27 PM
Well played Josh, Man of the Match for me.
20-08-2022, 05:28 PM
Delighted for the lad and happy to be proved wrong.
20-08-2022, 05:36 PM
I’ve been critical of him but he was excellent when he moved into midfield today. I thought he struggled a bit at left wing back.
20-08-2022, 05:40 PM
Only saw the second half, but credit where it’s due he was excellent today. Newell & JDH were good too.
Not sure it changes anything for me, same as my opinions on the midfield aren’t based on 1 bad game. Today doesn’t change the need for a midfield rebuild IMO, but more days like today and I’ll start to feel less like a rebuild is required
20-08-2022, 06:32 PM
He did well today. Does that change the fact that he was mostly gash last season?
You really don't understand irony, do you?
Funkydunc
20-08-2022, 06:39 PM
Seriously?! He was the best player on the pitch today.
20-08-2022, 06:52 PM
Maybe just maybe some of our fans are ********s.
20-08-2022, 06:55 PM
You know what, he played with a bit of a swagger today, long may it continue.
20-08-2022, 06:56 PM
It was a very clever pass to release Youann on the left (who also did well to find Boyle) for the first goal, and the second goal was just dreamboat stuff. Both goals were down to him, and its time for some fans to get off our midfield's case now, even just for a couple of games. Give them credit in the bank. Campbells goals got us 4 points on his own, and Newell MOTM today.
You really don't understand irony, do you?
😂😂😂
OstKurve Hibs
20-08-2022, 07:36 PM
Hopefully he keeps improving, lookin better by the week, confidence will b up aswell, mibbe the f-wits on in our support will learn to stop gettin on our players backs now and let them settle. Especially the youngsters,
20-08-2022, 07:38 PM
I thought he was MOTM before the goal by quite a margin. The goal made it an even better performance. I'd love to see the stats of distance covered and what speed. I'm struggling to think of another Hibs player who pops up at one end of the park and then is back defending having run past two or three of his team mates. I also don't think he is a limited player like others. He might not excel at anything but he does every part of the game at a good level and has boundless energy
20-08-2022, 07:39 PM
Hopefully he keeps improving, lookin better by the week, confidence will b up aswell, mibbe the f-wits on in our support will learn to stop gettin on our players backs now and let them settle. Especially the youngsters,
Things are not so black and white. His performances were poor last season and scrutiny and criticism was rightly given by our support.
If he keeps playing like today, the scrutiny will have a positive outcome.
He’s had a great start to the season so far.
Things are not so black and white. His performances were poor last season and scrutiny and criticism was rightly given by our support.
If he keeps playing like today, the scrutiny will have a positive outcome.
He’s had a great start to the season so far.
Scrutiny and criticism is fine but far too many go way overboard. If anything it's been the ones who've been OTT with their criticism that can't see things are not so black and white.
20-08-2022, 08:04 PM
Been really critical of him in the past. But the young man was phenomenal today. Summed up exactly what we need when he went back into midfield. Absolutely BUZZZING he got that goal.
21-08-2022, 12:09 AM
I did a wee scroll down after today's result and genuinely can't believe this thread isn't further forward.
JC did well at LWB then as soon as he went into midfield we bossed it and the game changed. He was different class today and fully deserved the goal. You can see how much it meant as a team as well.
21-08-2022, 01:42 AM
Yep I’ve been one of his biggest critics but he was superb today.
I hope he carries it into games against the weaker teams in the league as well though
franck sauzee
21-08-2022, 02:29 AM
Felt like he was a real fan the way he ran in front of the East at full time. Thought he was excellent yesterday
Stonewall
21-08-2022, 04:36 AM
To say he was mostly gash last year season allows no context. I would say he had a promising start last year but didn’t kick on as I hoped getting lost in the general malaise which is not surprising in a relatively young player in his first full season as a first teamer.
He has shown great strength of character and certainly didn’t deserve the stick he has received.
Let’s hope he can maintain this standard and kick on further.
21-08-2022, 06:01 AM
What about the pass to Youan for Boyles goal too.
Brilliant.
21-08-2022, 06:03 AM
Very good start to the season
Just_Jimmy
21-08-2022, 06:41 AM
Well all is said and done, this hibs team is better with him in it.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
21-08-2022, 07:18 AM
Very good yesterday. Always remember he scored a few good goals for Edinburgh City so was nice to see him rediscover that sort of form yesterday alongside his energy. Great pass for the first goal too. Just need that level from him more consistently and we are onto a winner.
21-08-2022, 07:38 AM
The strike for the equaliser was a thing of beauty. Rare to see such a two footed player. Well done Josh excellent stuff.
21-08-2022, 08:08 AM
The strike for the equaliser was a thing of beauty. Rare to see such a two footed player. Well done Josh excellent stuff. When he was playing LWB he was trying crosses with his left foot too. I presume he is right footed but it is hard to tell as he seems to use both.
WestStandWillie
21-08-2022, 08:15 AM
He’s very similar to Slivka in terms of when he plays well, he really plays well. He needs to show it in other games though.
He was first class yesterday.
21-08-2022, 08:24 AM
Maybe just maybe some of our fans are ********s.
Adds a lot to the discussion, on a thread praising the player, does that.
21-08-2022, 08:31 AM
I thought he was MOTM before the goal by quite a margin. The goal made it an even better performance. I'd love to see the stats of distance covered and what speed. I'm struggling to think of another Hibs player who pops up at one end of the park and then is back defending having run past two or three of his team mates. I also don't think he is a limited player like others. He might not excel at anything but he does every part of the game at a good level and has boundless energy
Agree with this. He was easily the best of our midfield. Couldn’t believe Newell got MOTM at the game. Midfield all worked hard but, apart from Campbell, there was still a lack of quality for me.
Key West
21-08-2022, 08:33 AM
Agree with this. He was easily the best of our midfield. Couldn’t believe Newell got MOTM at the game. Midfield all worked hard but, apart from Campbell, there was still a lack of quality for me.
Delighted for Josh many questioned what he brings to the team thought it was pretty obvious yesterday.
Paulie Walnuts
21-08-2022, 08:36 AM
Delighted for Josh many questioned what he brings to the team thought it was pretty obvious yesterday.
The challenge for him will be bringing it against the lesser sides where I think his quality in the ball leaves him lacking.
Hopefully he can kick on after yesterday.
He's here!
21-08-2022, 08:39 AM
The strike for the equaliser was a thing of beauty. Rare to see such a two footed player. Well done Josh excellent stuff.
It was coolness personified. So measured and unhurried under pressure. Almost looked casual.
Key West
21-08-2022, 08:43 AM
The challenge for him will be bringing it against the lesser sides where I think his quality in the ball leaves him lacking.
Hopefully he can kick on after yesterday.
That's the challenge for most of the players.👍
21-08-2022, 08:43 AM
Key West
21-08-2022, 08:49 AM
He's similar to Ian Murray in respect he gives everything and justifies the tag of being versatile.
21-08-2022, 09:04 AM
Josh it seems on the face of it is a player that can be utilised in a number of position, if coached correctly.
Jimmy O' before becoming part of the Tornadoes had been at the club for a number of years and possibly played in every position during that time.
Versatile player or Utility player was the term used then for players that could usefully slot in a few positions .
Worth their weight in gold nowadays. Although in Jimmy's day,it didnt seem that way .
When and after he was a member of The Tornadoes ,a fellow Edinburgh professional,who played with rAngers said at a function, and i paraphrase..
"while Jimmy could bang in loads of goals,he wasn't a very good footballer!
Or it may have been...
"Alan.see that pal o yours ,wee Jimmy" "He isnae much of a footballer,awe he can do is score goals!"
Said in the company of Alan Gordon. I don't recall Alan's response.
Sorry for sharing that .It has always baffled me,though.
Am sure it baffles others, who saw that great(short lived) side.
Maybe JB or Brog or others here can put me right on the comment from Sandy J.
"United we stand here
Divided we fall"
I wish Josh a very successful career and hope he can bang in "loads of goals". Good footballer or not !!!:wink:
Jimmy O' would have loved that shot from 20 odd yards,particularly against them.
Stick in Josh. Keep up the good work.
chippy
21-08-2022, 09:19 AM
Josh it seems on the face of it is a player that can be utilised in a number of position, if coached correctly.
Jimmy O' before becoming part of the Tornadoes had been at the club for a number of years and possibly played in every position during that time.
Versatile player or Utility player was the term used then for players that could usefully slot in a few positions .
Worth their weight in gold nowadays. Although in Jimmy's day,it didnt seem that way .
When and after he was a menber of The Tornadoes ,a fellow Edinburgh professional,who played with rAngers said at a function, and i paraphrase..
Said in the company of Alan Gordon. I dont recall Alan's response.
Sorry for sharing that .Its always baffled me,though.
"United we stand here
Divided we fall"
I wish Josh a very successful career and hope he can bang in "loads of goals" Good footballer or not !!!:wink:
Jimmy O' would have loved that shot from 20 odd yards,particularly against them
Jimmy was completely under rated. Maybe his versatility counted against him until the Tornadoes. But it’s only truly great players that can play well in many positions. His team mates Stanton and Cormack and later Sauzee could play anywhere , though nailed down a position or two earlier than Jimmy. You couldn’t say that though about other Hibs greats like Mickey Edwards, Brownlie, Gordon, Latapy, Blackley, Schaedler, Des Bremner, Jackie Mac. These guys could play maybe 2 positions.
I dunno about the back line but Jimmy could play anywhere in midfield and forward. I guess he could have done the back line as well but never saw him there
21-08-2022, 09:37 AM
Some very good views and opinions of Josh and his Hibernian journey.
I noticed another thread with same title.
Worthing merging both i think .
Some great posts and hope Josh reads them
21-08-2022, 09:58 AM
When and after he was a member of The Tornadoes ,a fellow Edinburgh professional,who played with rAngers said at a function, and i paraphrase..
Or it may have been...
"Alan.see that pal o yours ,wee Jimmy" "He isnae much of a footballer,awe he can do is score goals!"
Said in the company of Alan Gordon. I don't recall Alan's response.
Sorry for sharing that .It has always baffled me,though.
Am sure it baffles others, who saw that great(short lived) side.
Maybe JB or Brog or others here can put me right on the comment from Sandy J.
"United we stand here
Divided we fall"
I wish Josh a very successful career and hope he can bang in "loads of goals". Good footballer or not !!!:wink:
Jimmy O' would have loved that shot from 20 odd yards,particularly against them.
Pretty sure Ned once told Wee Jimmy to leave the fitba to those that can play after feeling proud of himself after one glorious mazy run
Loved Wee Jimmy pocket battleship always thought of him as a midfield player even although he appeared in the hole behind Gordon to rap in many a goal
Legend
Hibiza
21-08-2022, 10:14 AM
Well done Josh :thumbsup:
21-08-2022, 05:37 PM
Just rewatched the goal a few times . It gets better every time , not an easy finish at all he was back pedaling as he controlled and hit it , caught it sweet . Keeper had nae chance
21-08-2022, 07:59 PM
3 goals
1 assist
7 appearances
Not a bad start to the season
21-08-2022, 08:04 PM
3 goals
1 assist
7 appearances
Is he going to become our new Pat McGinlay ?? He’s done well all season really. Has taken me by surprise. His work off the ball is perhaps his best attribute too…. Good on him, emerging into a first choice player…
First time I have heard Josh talking, sounds like a good lad.
Good Hibby.
21-08-2022, 09:23 PM
3 goals
1 assist
7 appearances
But but but but but........... I kept reading during the week that he should be sent out on loan :faf::faf::faf:
CL0762
21-08-2022, 09:33 PM
Just rewatched the goal a few times . It gets better every time , not an easy finish at all he was back pedaling as he controlled and hit it , caught it sweet . Keeper had nae chance
Really? I think Josh said it himself, he sclaffed it. If he catches it properly I don’t think it goes in. Looks like it might have taken a nick off Goldson on the way too.
Anyways that’s being pedantic, Josh deserved his goal for his performance yesterday. He was outstanding and for someone who has taken so much stick, I’m absolutely delighted he got a moment like that.
22-08-2022, 05:42 AM
We need a new midfielder or 2, but it seems to be becoming increasingly clear that it's not going to be Campbell that gets punted/relegated to the bench *if* a new player or 2 comes in
22-08-2022, 05:54 AM
Really? I think Josh said it himself, he sclaffed it. If he catches it properly I don’t think it goes in. Looks like it might have taken a nick off Goldson on the way too.
Anyways that’s being pedantic, Josh deserved his goal for his performance yesterday. He was outstanding and for someone who has taken so much stick, I’m absolutely delighted he got a moment like that.
Think he said it was a bit of a slice but did well to control and get it on target excellent goal.
22-08-2022, 08:15 PM
https://youtu.be/-lUNS2Tz60E?t=16
Number 3 2 scores in injury time :greengrin
22-08-2022, 08:24 PM
Had a good game on Saturday and scored a good goal.
2 goals already this season, so he's certainly stepping up.
Paulie Walnuts
22-08-2022, 08:59 PM
Had a good game on Saturday and scored a good goal.
2 goals already this season, so he's certainly stepping up.
3 goals.
22-08-2022, 09:17 PM
Said this before about him, he’ll be hell bent on improving as a player and will be willing to train as hard as he can to improve.
A great family behind him and all huge hibbys.
If he doesn’t make it at hibs, it won’t be for a lack of trying.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro