View Full Version : Favourite ever player
18-08-2022, 12:42 AM
As it says . Who was your favourite all time Hibs player ?
18-08-2022, 01:06 AM
Old enough to remember the Tornadoes but still my favorite is Le God....
18-08-2022, 01:21 AM
Tough one. When I was young I remember being absolutely gutted when Kevin Harper left. We've had some decent players since. Latapy a contender for me but I've got to go for SJM.
OldEast
18-08-2022, 01:32 AM
My favourite all time player happened to play for Hibs...George Best.
Favourite "proper Hibby" Eric Stevenson.
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-08-2022, 01:41 AM
David Murphy was one classy *******, and a good guy too.
Greenio
18-08-2022, 03:24 AM
Michael O'Neill
hibeg
18-08-2022, 05:20 AM
Pat Stanton for me, closely followed by Cropley and Brownlie
18-08-2022, 05:24 AM
Lewis Stevenson. He just personifies Hibs. Scottish and League cup winner. Plays like a fan. Incredibly under rated player outside Hibs. Cool as ****. Modest as well.
NASAHIBS
18-08-2022, 05:48 AM
Le God for me, different class. Even named our pup Franck after him.
18-08-2022, 05:53 AM
Super John
18-08-2022, 05:54 AM
Franck Sauzee every time
18-08-2022, 06:21 AM
Patrick Gordon Stanton
My avatar gives it away
Class in a glass
“ Better than Bobby Moore”
Tommy Docherty
:not worth
18-08-2022, 06:24 AM
Pat Stanton (Mr Hibs)
18-08-2022, 06:27 AM
Latapy for me
Absolute genius must have been about 13 at the time he signed and first real quality player who was just a cut above the rest at the time
Still amazes me we had him and sauzee in the same team
donno
18-08-2022, 06:32 AM
Grew up with Pat Stanton being the man.
Sent from my JNY-LX1 using Tapatalk
h185forever
18-08-2022, 06:42 AM
Pat Stanton, no ifs no buts. ….I was fascinated at first by the way he ran …he seemed to glide about the park.
Ma maw used to say he was hen toed …and that that was a sign of a great footballer.
There can be only one …..
cameronw-hfc
18-08-2022, 06:48 AM
Sir David Gray for that day in May. Nobody will ever come remotely close, possibly the most significant contribution (on the pitch) in the clubs history with that goal.
Lewis Stevenson in second.
Mcbizz1998
18-08-2022, 06:50 AM
David Gray.
Pat Stanton, no ifs no buts. ….I was fascinated at first by the way he ran …he seemed to glide about the park.
Ma maw used to say he was hen toed …and that that was a sign of a great footballer.
There can be only one …..
Aye Pat used to float over the grass wi the ba at his feet pointing to his team mates ….sublime !
Now Peter Cormack was hen toed had a distinctive running style
John McGinn.
He was the embodiment of our spirit that led to the 2016 Scottish Cup. He was a big game player, a huge personality, hugely talented from Day 1, and left us in raptures in Tripolis/treated us with a lot of respect when moving to Villa. Since then, he tore up the Championship, is strolling it in the Premier League and has been class for Scotland.
18-08-2022, 06:56 AM
John McGinn.
He was the embodiment of our spirit that led to the 2016 Scottish Cup. He was a big game player, a huge personality, hugely talented from Day 1, and left us in raptures in Tripolis/treated us with a lot of respect when moving to Villa. Since then, he tore up the Championship, is strolling it in the Premier League and has been class for Scotland.
Hi John hope you're enjoying your new Captain's role at Villa.
supermcginn
18-08-2022, 07:00 AM
Franck Sauzee by a country mile!
18-08-2022, 07:06 AM
Hi John hope you're enjoy your new Captain's role at Villa.
Hope you enjoyed my 90 card on FIFA 22! Best, John.
18-08-2022, 07:06 AM
My favourite all time player happened to play for Hibs...George Best.
Favourite "proper Hibby" Eric Stevenson.
I get that about Best. An all time great, just not with us.
Peter Marinello for me for reasons that transcend his short time with us. I still haven’t got over him leaving. :greengrin
18-08-2022, 07:14 AM
Was Pat Stanton for about 50 years but now Super John McGinn.
Crunchie
18-08-2022, 07:16 AM
Growing up it was always The King, hurt like hell when he moved to that shower in the west.
It has to be SJM for me, a very special player and a wonderful human being.
Yorkshire HFC
18-08-2022, 07:16 AM
Ally McLeod
18-08-2022, 07:17 AM
Darren jackson for me, loved him as a laddie growing up, thats not to say he is the best player ive seen but definitely my favourite
18-08-2022, 07:23 AM
Ally McLeod
:agree: Same for me.
18-08-2022, 07:29 AM
Lewis Stevenson. He just personifies Hibs. Scottish and League cup winner. Plays like a fan. Incredibly under rated player outside Hibs. Cool as ****. Modest as well.
Many idols ..Alan Gordon was my first. But THIS for me …absolute credit to our football club. Top quality [emoji119]
18-08-2022, 07:30 AM
It’s a really difficult one. When we moved through to Edinburgh in the late 70’s, my favourite player was Jackie McNamara, as he was magic
I’ll probably have one for each era though
DIXIHIBS
18-08-2022, 07:33 AM
There has been better players over the years but its Alex Cropley for me. Michael o'Neill ran him a close second.
adam middlemass
18-08-2022, 07:34 AM
Pat Stanton for me, with super John McGinn running him close.
18-08-2022, 07:37 AM
One of the few advantages of being an auld yin is you have so many favourites over the years to choose from, in my case from Gordon Smith to Martin Boyle.
My favourite among many contenders is Mr Hibs - Pat Stanton.
18-08-2022, 08:00 AM
Pat Stanton for me - an extremely gifted footballer, Mr Hibs through-and-through and the perfect ambassador for our club.
18-08-2022, 08:03 AM
Pat Stanton, closely followed by Erich Schaedler.
18-08-2022, 08:13 AM
John Collins, closely followed by SJM & SDG.
HibbyDave
18-08-2022, 08:18 AM
Wee shout for mickey Edwards
18-08-2022, 08:20 AM
Wee shout for mickey EdwardsWhat would we give for a modern day version , exactly what we need.
18-08-2022, 08:24 AM
My Avater says it all grew up idolising The Baker boy
18-08-2022, 08:32 AM
It’s a really difficult one. When we moved through to Edinburgh in the late 70’s, my favourite player was Jackie McNamara, as he was magic
I’ll probably have one for each era though
When I first watched Hibs Jackie McNamara was my favourite player. I agree that there tends to be one for each era and currently it is Lewis Stevenson by a country mile for me. I suppose what constitutes favourite is different for each of us but I would tend to choose players who always gave 100%, never bottle a challenge and are annoyed when they make a mistake and work to rectify it. They would also need to have been at the club for a while and show some loyalty. SJM would come a close second in this era
18-08-2022, 08:45 AM
Franck Sauzee
When we went down he inspired And gave teammates and club a massive lift some of the football was brilliant when we came back up
Close call between him and Latapy
Pat Stanton, the pro’s pro.
18-08-2022, 08:50 AM
Franck Sauzee
When we went down he inspired And gave teammates and club a massive lift some of the football was brilliant when we came back up
Close call between him and Latapy
legend. Icon. Never lost a derby, but lost teeth in the act of winning them. The stuff dreams are made of.
18-08-2022, 08:55 AM
Got to be Lewis Stevenson really. Only player that's still at the club since I first became a supporter.
18-08-2022, 08:57 AM
John McGinn. Fantactic player and loved his attitude. Maybe controversial but Scott Brown in his last season for us was just majestic.
18-08-2022, 09:03 AM
Lewis Stevenson with John McGinn a close second.
18-08-2022, 09:06 AM
Sauzee followed by Ally McLeod
Daydreamer
18-08-2022, 09:20 AM
John McGinn quite easily and I see 40 plus games a season from the 68/69 season. The reason not Pat Stanton was I always felt that the team then on the majority of times going to play Celtic at Parkhead or Hampden got hammered too many times and when we went behind in these games the captain should be uplifting the rest of the team. Pat just was'nt a shouter at the rest of the players.
Jimmy O'Rourke, all action goal scoring inside forward/midfielder.
The man in your avatar for me. The fact that Jimmy O and King Pat would vote the same way sums up just how great The Baker Boy was!
18-08-2022, 09:28 AM
Pat Stanton, the pro’s pro.
:aok: :top marks
18-08-2022, 10:58 AM
Lewis Stevenson with John McGinn a close second.
Same for me!
18-08-2022, 11:02 AM
... and me. Giving our age away I suspect. :greengrin
MartinfaePorty
18-08-2022, 12:11 PM
I have 2 or 3 that I flit between, but today I'll say John Collins. What a midfielder.
Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk
Jim_in_Canada
18-08-2022, 12:11 PM
Agreed !
18-08-2022, 12:22 PM
Sir David aside...
Keith.
18-08-2022, 12:27 PM
Mickey Weir and Keith Wright in my younger days.
Darren McGregor for modern times. Exactly what I want from a Hibs player.
18-08-2022, 12:30 PM
Nijinsky.
Others in different eras, but the first hero.
Euan_Hibees1875
18-08-2022, 12:33 PM
Derek Riordan or Merouane Zemmama for me. But if Boyle can be as good in the next few years as he was in the 2/3 years before he went to Saudi that might become my new answer.
18-08-2022, 12:45 PM
Derek Riordan.
18-08-2022, 12:50 PM
Only got from mid 90s onwards to select from
Le God
Latapy
SJM
Riordan
Special place at top table for SDG and Darren Mcgregor. Both came in at our lowest point and typified that team from 2014-2019. Absolute warriors
hibbie02
18-08-2022, 12:51 PM
Nijinsky.
The same here. Used to love watching him back in the day. Loved all of the Tornadoes but he was the one I watched most (as he was usually the closest) when I was wee.
EastThomasSTboy
18-08-2022, 12:57 PM
Has to be Pat....and it helped that he played alongside some great Hibby players at that time.
For all the youngsters looking in, try and watch the League Cup Final from 1972 when he strolled through the game,
absolutely MAGNIFICENT.:flag:
18-08-2022, 12:58 PM
Amadou.
Whatever the problem on the pitch, the big man could sort it.
In fact, Brexit, coronavirus and all the misery the last 15 years has brought us would probably never have happened if he'd have stayed in the country.
cammy1969
18-08-2022, 02:51 PM
John Collins,Stevie Archibald, Franck, wee russell,Deeks, the list is endless
18-08-2022, 02:53 PM
John Collins,Stevie Archibald, Franck, wee russell,Deeks, the list is endless
You have to pick one though. It’s like choosing your favourite child. :greengrin
18-08-2022, 02:53 PM
Riordan
Hibiza
18-08-2022, 02:54 PM
Erich & Jackie Mac.
HendoDelivered
18-08-2022, 02:54 PM
Sjm.
MKHIBEE
18-08-2022, 02:56 PM
Alex Edwards was sublime.
SickBoy32
18-08-2022, 02:59 PM
Derek Riordan
Honourable mentions for Lewis Stevenson and Anthony Stokes
It was big John McNamee until he got transferred then Pat Stanton liked Russel Latapy as well
18-08-2022, 03:37 PM
Shades for me
ben johnson
18-08-2022, 03:42 PM
Cropley but mention for Darren Jackson
Without him we would have been relegated in the Airdrie play off
Lex Gold sold him and we were relegated the season he left
18-08-2022, 03:53 PM
Has to be Pat....and it helped that he played alongside some great Hibby players at that time.
For all the youngsters looking in, try and watch the League Cup Final from 1972 when he strolled through the game,
absolutely MAGNIFICENT.:flag:
Yep absolutely majestic in that game and he is my choice too
18-08-2022, 03:59 PM
I genuinely don’t think I could pick a favourite from the team from the 07 League Cup winning side - my favourite team ever. . Regret that O’Connor and Riordan weren’t amongst them, but otherwise I didn’t dislike a single player.
nairn hibee
18-08-2022, 04:01 PM
Me as well
18-08-2022, 04:10 PM
Favourite Hibs player - Ivan Sproule
Favourite ever - Kenny Dalglish
Dalglish in a Hibs strip at Alan Sneddon’s testimonial v Aston Villa was unforgettable. Ran the game and fed Keith Wright who bagged all four goals in a 4-2 win.
18-08-2022, 04:16 PM
Latapy.
JammyDoidger
18-08-2022, 04:17 PM
Derek Riordan growing up.
18-08-2022, 04:20 PM
Favourite Hibs player - Ivan Sproule
Favourite ever - Kenny Dalglish
Dalglish in a Hibs strip at Alan Sneddon’s testimonial v Aston Villa was unforgettable. Ran the game and fed Keith Wright who bagged all four goals in a 4-2 win.
Yep . He told Keith to stay in the box and he would find him
Liam978
18-08-2022, 04:30 PM
The man in your avatar for me. The fact that Jimmy O and King Pat would vote the same way sums up just how great The Baker Boy was!
Spot on Brian, Dad used to drum into me how good he was. To think we lost him for the sake of a fiver increase. Seems that things haven't changed much. His goal scoring ratio per games played was phenomenal.
18-08-2022, 04:48 PM
Franck Sauzee for me. Although David Gray gets a very honourable mention!
Neily1982
18-08-2022, 05:05 PM
Sauzee
Drummer
18-08-2022, 05:05 PM
Gordon Smith
stu in nottingham
18-08-2022, 06:14 PM
Joe Baker (who I saw at his best outwith Hibs)
Peter Cormack
Alex Cropley
18-08-2022, 07:05 PM
I only started going to games in the 90s, when I'd have said McGinlay.
Of the current squad, it would be Stevenson.
But of all players I've seen for Hibs, it can only be the sublime Latapy.
18-08-2022, 07:08 PM
Sir David. With honourable mentions for Shades, Geebsie and Le God.
18-08-2022, 07:46 PM
Super John McGinn followed by Super Ally McLeod.
Honourable mentions to Jackie Mac, Ralphie, John Collins, Mickley Weir, Keith Keith Keith, Pat McGinlay, Riordan, Sauzee, Latapy, Sir David, Lewis, Steve Archibald
18-08-2022, 07:52 PM
Pat McGinlay
18-08-2022, 08:16 PM
Pat McGinlay
Good shout !! Proper box to box player he was ! Loved Mcginlay and he scored loads for us , Wonder what he does now , Seems like he's slipped of the face of the earth
18-08-2022, 08:22 PM
Good shout !! Proper box to box player he was ! Loved Mcginlay and he scored loads for us , Wonder what he does now , Seems like he's slipped of the face of the earth
Sure he has a cleaning business now
18-08-2022, 08:36 PM
Hope that business is thriving ! He was superb for us Mcginlay
Arthur Duncan
West Upper
18-08-2022, 08:47 PM
John McGinn but David Murphy a very close second
Trinity Hibee
18-08-2022, 08:54 PM
Latapy for me
Absolute genius must have been about 13 at the time he signed and first real quality player who was just a cut above the rest at the time
Still amazes me we had him and sauzee in the same team
Same here. Was just an absolute genius who always had an assist or goal in him. Also scored my favourite ever derby goal
Stokesy's on fire
18-08-2022, 09:01 PM
Derek Riordan. But i loved David Zitelli as well.
andrew70
18-08-2022, 09:01 PM
Franck Sauzee
John O’Neil
and for some reason Willie Miller from my youth.
Hillsidehibby
18-08-2022, 09:19 PM
I'm old enough to have watched the Tornadoes.
Anthony Stokes for me.
ClermistonGreen
18-08-2022, 09:34 PM
John Madsen !
bordergreen
18-08-2022, 09:40 PM
Mickey Weir and Keith Wright in my younger days.
Darren McGregor for modern times. Exactly what I want from a Hibs player.
Definitely, loved the enthusiasm and joy when they played, that both Mickey Weir and Keith Wright showed. If you are too young, watch some old videos on you tube. Loved Hibs through and through.
Darren McGregor too. These boys all lived our childhood dreams, you could see it on their faces. Also got to mention Riordan. He scored some great goals, and against them. Imagine scoring one of Riordan's screamers against them, then running over to your mates in the terracing to celebrate.
18-08-2022, 09:48 PM
John McGinn.
Had loads of good players around him but he was the absolute heartbeat of that team for me.
Sauzee and Latapy very close behind. They were incredible players.
18-08-2022, 09:50 PM
Strange one but Chick Charnley was a huge favourite. Ability was frightening. Just wonder how good he could have been if he'd screwed then nut in his younger days. Remember him scoring from the half way line.
18-08-2022, 09:53 PM
PG Stanton. Special mention to Jimmy O & SDG
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
18-08-2022, 10:10 PM
Latapy 🙏
uwxm07
18-08-2022, 10:36 PM
Nijinsky.
👍🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
phoenixfire
18-08-2022, 11:31 PM
Got too many ! FAMOUS FIVE,MICKY WEIR,ALAN GORDAN,CONRAD LOGAN ,STANTON, WRIGHT More than that ! Isn't it great we have had such class players! O TO BE A:flag::flag::flag:
happiehibbie
19-08-2022, 07:08 AM
Pat Stanton
Austinho
19-08-2022, 07:38 AM
Top 5 over the years:
Kevin Harper
Franck Sauzee
John McGinn
Efe Ambrose (was a baller for us)
Roxyhibee
19-08-2022, 07:46 AM
King Paddy Stanton
heidtheba
19-08-2022, 07:50 AM
My season ticket years were 93-97, which explains my choices.
1 - Crunchie - always loved to see him in the team and on the wing and always felt he gave his all.
2 - Kevin Harper - ditto
3 - Leighton - safest pair of hands in goal in my Hibs years.
Special mentions to;
4 - David Farrell, just felt he had a 'never give up' approach.
5 - Danny Lennon - watched him v Aberdeen once and thought we'd unearthed another Crunchie.
19-08-2022, 08:05 AM
I really liked Michael O’Neill. A really classy player who I loved watching play
19-08-2022, 08:07 AM
From midfield to sweeper :greengrin
19-08-2022, 08:32 AM
Strange one but Chick Charnley was a huge favourite. Ability was frightening. Just wonder how good he could have been if he'd screwed then nut in his younger days. Remember him scoring from the half way line.
Yeah I was at that game , no cameras saw it either if I recall . Alloa in the cup wasn’t it
19-08-2022, 08:53 AM
Pat Stanton will always be a legend to me but the player I idolised as a teenager in the mid 60s was " The Rebel" Eric Stevenson.
19-08-2022, 09:07 AM
Pat Stanton will always be a legend to me but the player I idolised as a teenager in the mid 60s was " The Rebel" Eric Stevenson.
Stevie was a wonderful player brilliant winger more tricks than a bag full of monkeys would hug the touchline always beat his full back and nine times out of ten ended up getting hauled down inside the box for the Penalty King Joe Davis to convert the award
Took an unofficial day off from Ayr United to nip away and watch Hibs win the League Cup in 1972
A Hibee through and through
19-08-2022, 09:23 AM
Pat Stanton head and shoulders above the rest.
Peter Cormack whose mannerisms we all copied in the playground.
19-08-2022, 09:28 AM
Along with Gerry Baker,the Rebel was my hero as well.
When Ian Brennan ran the Bonnyrigg Hibs bus,they use to pick up some of us Clerry boys at the Rainbow pub for away games.
I sat beside Eric on the bus one time.
Now i can talk a glass eye to sleep, but i was speechless with Eric.:lips seal
Gerry Baker would sometimes give Jimmy O a lift home after training.
So that was me, a 10/11 yr old offering Gerry a bourbon biscuit to go with his cuppa our ma poured for him:greengrin
Gerry of course arrived at Hibs after having won a Scottish Cup medal with St Mirren.
Now Turnbull was Hibs trainer then.
He must have been jealous of Gerry's medal !!
A pal in Clerry back then was a very good artist/drawer. Ran in the family
We made a banner and he painted a big Bumble Bee on the cloth.
Our Gerry Bee Flag !!
19-08-2022, 09:30 AM
Alex Cropley. The best pound for pound tackler in the business.
Key West
19-08-2022, 09:34 AM
Pat Stanton.
Sauzee for me. It hit different when he had to retire as a player, he just had an aura about him.
ToulouseHibs
19-08-2022, 05:20 PM
Such a difficult question but Andy Goram stood out for me as did Pat.
Don’t see anyone mention Broony. His attitude and self confidence were a total inspiration when I was wee and crap at football. Still crap at football now mind….. should choose more inspiring role models perhaps :rolleyes:
Roxyhibee
19-08-2022, 07:38 PM
Alex Cropley. The best pound for pound tackler in the business.
Absolutely no dispute about that. Ferocious and fearless.
zitelli62
19-08-2022, 09:08 PM
Only one patrick gordon stanton
Question should be after Mr hibs who was your favourite player as no one can touch Mr hibs should name a stand after him
The fav Tornado of both Messrs O'Rourke and Stanton. Mine too!
19-08-2022, 09:16 PM
Gordon Smith because he was Gordon Smith and I was a kid.
Then Joe Baker. The first in my age group playing in the first team. When you're 15/16 guys of 25/26 are ancient.
loanheadhibby
19-08-2022, 09:26 PM
Only one patrick gordon stanton
Question should be after Mr hibs who was your favourite player as no one can touch Mr hibs should name a stand after him
Gordon Smith could most certainly touch him.
Obviously you have to be of a certain age but there's doesn't seem to be any doubt that he was our greatest player. 5 league championship medals.
Lawrie Reilly always reckoned that he was the best player he played with or against.
Only Sir Tom Finney was on a par according to Reilly.
That said I know the thread is a about your favourite player and for the record Pat Stanton is my favourite player.
yerauldda
19-08-2022, 09:31 PM
McGinn, followed by Gray, Murphy, Boyle and Beuzelin.
19-08-2022, 09:50 PM
Gordon Smith because he was Gordon Smith and I was a kid.
Then Joe Baker. The first in my age group playing in the first team. When you're 15/16 guys of 25/26 are ancient.
My ex father in law told me GS was the best football player he’s ever seen
19-08-2022, 10:00 PM
David Gray - the only choice for me.
19-08-2022, 10:03 PM
My ex father in law told me GS was the best football player he’s ever seen
I remember a debate on Sportsound many years ago where a panel of pundits were debating whether or not Brian Laudrop was the greatest player to have played in Scotland. General consensus was yes, but the late Bob Crampsey, who was on the panel dismissed this notion and said that in his opinion Gordon Smith was by far the greatest footballer he had seen play in Scotland.
20-08-2022, 06:52 AM
Seen mair meat on a Butcher’s pencil
Heart of a lion
21-08-2022, 02:40 PM
Seen mair meat on a Butcher’s pencil
Heart of a lion
Yep , and the brain to match
21-08-2022, 02:43 PM
Yep , and the brain to match
Remember his cross field passing ?
A joy to behold
Billy McKirdy
21-08-2022, 02:49 PM
So many to choose from but for that one moment at Hampden in 2016 that we all knew, finally, at long last, had just won us the holy grail, it can only be Sir David Gray.
The only Hibs player with more tattoos of him on Hibs fans than any other.
21-08-2022, 03:23 PM
Remember his cross field passing ?
A joy to behold
Frightening Billy . Hibs class
21-08-2022, 03:28 PM
Pat Stanton
H18S NX
21-08-2022, 03:30 PM
Willie Hamilton,followed by Joe baker n Pat Stanton.
hhibs
21-08-2022, 04:59 PM
Joe Baker and,Shades.
21-08-2022, 05:14 PM
So many to choose from but for that one moment at Hampden in 2016 that we all knew, finally, at long last, had just won us the holy grail, it can only be Sir David Gray.
The only Hibs player with more tattoos of him on Hibs fans than any other.
Aye mine is starting to look like Auld Mother Reilly
21-08-2022, 05:33 PM
Ally McLeod
Same here, he was no where near the best, certainly wasn't the fastest but watching him dance past defenders like the unlikely result of a romance between Rudolf Nurejew and a hippopotamus was a thing of beauty.
21-08-2022, 05:34 PM
Wee shout for mickey Edwards
Good shout.
21-08-2022, 06:13 PM
So many of them, but early heroes would be Jim Scott & Neil Martin, then overall would have to be Pat Stanton
21-08-2022, 06:15 PM
Mickey Weir or Wee Lewey… hard choice !
bournehibby
22-08-2022, 08:41 AM
So many of them, but early heroes would be Jim Scott & Neil Martin, then overall would have to be Pat Stanton
The late great Willie Hamilton for me,a genius with the ball at his feet and amazing vision. Surprised nobody has mentioned him.
bh
H18S NX
22-08-2022, 10:15 AM
The late great Willie Hamilton for me,a genius with the ball at his feet and amazing vision. Surprised nobody has mentioned him.
bh....Post #139 m8
Neil4Hibs
22-08-2022, 10:42 AM
Peter Cormack was my childhood hero, devastated when he left. Closely followed by Pat Stanton.
I think childhood heroes remain favourites for life but SJM runs them close.
22-08-2022, 11:32 AM
Le God for me , Latapy a very close 2nd
22-08-2022, 12:55 PM
Gordon Smith could most certainly touch him.
Obviously you have to be of a certain age but there's doesn't seem to be any doubt that he was our greatest player. 5 league championship medals.
Lawrie Reilly always reckoned that he was the best player he played with or against.
Only Sir Tom Finney was on a par according to Reilly.
That said I know the thread is a about your favourite player and for the record Pat Stanton is my favourite player.
I forgot who said it
It may have been Matt Busby,or another great footballer/manager who played here and down South just after the war and into 50s
The quote was something like
" Had Gordon Smith been English/played in England,he would most likely have been knighted as Tom Finney and Stanley Matthews were for services to the game"
He was on a par with those old greats of the game.
There is no doubt he was Hibs(and arguably Scotland's(not including non Scots) finest player,post ww2 ....
.Maybe ever in Hibs case.
The SFA of that era capped Gordon less than he should have been,in favour of rAngers winger Willie Waddell.
Not much changes !
bournehibby
22-08-2022, 03:28 PM
....Post #139 m8
Sorry H18S, that one slipped past. :embarrass (great minds tho)
bh
22-08-2022, 03:43 PM
Sorry H18S, that one slipped past. :embarrass (great minds tho)
bh
I suppose having both a favourite player/s and a best player you saw in a Hibs jersey is ok!
Gerry Baker and Eric Stevenson where my favourites as a schoolboy.
But Willie Hamilton was without doubt the best/ most gifted Hibs player of the 60s,and some!.
Football genius is not to strong a description for Willie.
Dont just ask me...... Jock Stein thought so too.
As did Jimmy O'Rourke and Pat Stanton,as they did of Joe Baker.
I can assure younger fans here who revere Boyle and SJM before ,Willie Hamilton would have excited you just like they do.. and some!
ZitellZeTime
22-08-2022, 05:17 PM
Can only really pick from my life time, as a young kiddo was probably Pat McGinlay, mad he only ever got a Scotland B cap. Remember being at that game with my unle as well, was right here at Easter Road. Type of midielder that would be a perfect piece of the jigsaw for tenacity and driving forward etc that we need right now, Magennis is a good player but when he comes back I'm going to be scared anytime he starts limping slightly be panicking thats him out for ages again.
Modern times was hard between Sauzee, Latapy or Mcginn but was just something about Latapy, every time the he had the ball in the final third everyone would be on their feet and the skills he possessed techincal wise were immense. I heard stories about him being late for training a lot before us, we all no he liked a party and im sure I read he smoked too. Probably if he was more disciplined we would never have seen him here though !
Maybe not as complete as the others in terms of overall ability but Mowbray turned Ivan Sproule from a rough diamond with pace playing part time fitbaw in Ireland to being a cult hero who on his day was brilliant and totally got the club. Similar to Boyle in that sense kind of although, when we did that swap deal he looked alright but he has not just improved the way he pushes himself and has levelled up every single season since he came is mad, he's like a totally different player to the one we signed. Honestly thought it was just rumours and hope he was coming back, must have been a few teams interested in him apart from Aberdeen who were mentioned. He clearly loves the club and gets us too.
Both have to be a couple of our best ever bargain steal of singins like, sure we signed Sproule for like less than grand, and Boyle was a swap deal for Harris if I remember right? I remember seeing Harris in that cup game when we were 3-0 down and came back to win and keeping thinking after his injury he will get back to how he was that game against Falkirk look where both have ended up in their careers, was definitely a great deal for us.
Bit of a rant there sorry lol but aye I find it hard to pick one id pick McGinlay for when I was a kid and started liking football but since being a kid probably Latapy even though I was still just a late teen by time he got booted by Mcleish, mad he was still coming off the bench and changing games for Falkirk when he was about 40.
10-09-2022, 11:48 AM
I’ve a feeling my new favourite player is gonna be Arry . Very keen to be here and no the full dinky . Will certainly brighten the place up
11-09-2022, 02:42 PM
Very hard for me, the 3 best players IMO were Willie Hamilton, Gordon Smith and Frank Sauzee, but it's difficult to split them although they were very different players in many way, all sublime though. Willie Hamilton would have been one of the all time Scottish greats if Stein had stayed at Hibs, but that was never going to happen unfortunately.
11-09-2022, 03:47 PM
Pat Stanton.
joebakerforever
11-09-2022, 09:43 PM
Joe Baker, with Willie Hamilton a closed second.
11-09-2022, 10:18 PM
Derek Riordan for me.
He isn’t the greatest to ever play for Hibs, but watching a local lad living the dream playing for his favourite club and banging in goals of the type those of us who could only fantasise about scoring for Hibs was just a joy to behold.
Galahibby
11-09-2022, 10:22 PM
Sauzee for me, but loved Stevie Cowan and Goram back in the day, and Hibs era Scott Brown was up there as well.
11-09-2022, 10:35 PM
SJM by miles. Did literally nothing but play and behave like an absolute legend, from the moment he walked through the door to the moment he left. I feel he was as important as anyone to us lifting the cup, just through his presence in the dressing room.
Very unfortunately, my interest in football dipped at a point that coincided with Sauzee and Latapy's presence here - I went to the odd game but I don't remember a huge amount.
In terms of just loving a player, Boozy and Sproule are certainly up there. Both incredibly endearing characters and, on their day, thrilling to watch.
I loved Broony when he was here, but his time at Celtic defines him, really.
O'Connor and Riordan in their first spell were brilliant, true fans on the pitch, but their second spells were a bit meh by comparison.
If Leigh had stayed, he would probably be up there with our greatest ever players...but he didn't. That one season he was on fire was fun though (even though we were a bit gash).
Got to be Sauzée. The guy just oozed class and even in his mid 30s strolled every game I saw him play. His footballing brain was seconds ahead of anyone else on the pitch. Plus he seemed to genuinely enjoy his time in Scotland & the affection he got from the fans.
Gloucester Hibs
12-09-2022, 08:11 AM
SJM
Prior to him it was guys like Deeks, Latapy, Jackson, and Collins.
12-09-2022, 08:12 AM
SJM
Prior to him it was guys like Deeks, Latapy, Jackson, and Collins.
Chris or Darren😀
12-09-2022, 08:56 AM
I loved Mixu..gave his all every match, hat trick against the Hearts and such a nice guy
Donegal Hibby
12-09-2022, 06:53 PM
Sauzee for me:flag:
12-09-2022, 08:20 PM
Chris or Darren😀
Could ask Derek or John also :greengrin