View Full Version : Ian crocker
Helensburghhibs
14-08-2022, 07:23 PM
Made a comment during commentary about it being disappointing that Kilmarnock only have celtic one stand. Instead of praising them for trying different things in that stand such as offices,, safe standing and a brand new wheelchair platform. Time to get rid of these dinasaurs, another reason to reject the sky deal
14-08-2022, 07:24 PM
Ian Crocker is a legend. He’s hardly comparable to the numpty he usually sits beside.
Made a comment during commentary about it being disappointing that Kilmarnock only have celtic one stand. Instead of praising them for trying different things in that stand such as offices,, safe standing and a brand new wheelchair platform. Time to get rid of these dinasaurs, another reason to reject the sky deal
What do you propose as an alternative to the SKYdeal?
14-08-2022, 07:28 PM
Ian Crocker is a legend. He’s hardly comparable to the numpty he usually sits beside.
Poor comment from him, but he is a legend for brilliant commentaries from the 6-2 derby to the 2016 Final. Has a bit of an affinity for Hibs as well.
Helensburghhibs
14-08-2022, 07:28 PM
What would benefit us is clubs being allowed to stream their own games. Mainly because revenue would be paid directly for subscriptions rather than prize money 😜,
I'd like to know if we have approached any of the streaming platforms such as amazon, dazn etc. There are sports with much less UK viewing figures than ours being shown.
I certainly don't want us giving up all our rights to sky for pittance in an environment where technology and viewing habits are changing so rapidly
14-08-2022, 07:32 PM
A Netflix style spfl app, pay 10/15 per month and get access to every clubs live games from say Premiership to championship? Also classic game uploads on demand whenever you want.
Made available world wide.
What would benefit us is clubs being allowed to stream their own games. Mainly because revenue would be paid directly for subscriptions rather than prize money 😜,
I'd like to know if we have approached any of the streaming platforms such as amazon, dazn etc. There are sports with much less UK viewing figures than ours being shown.
I certainly don't want us giving up all our rights to sky for pittance in an environment where technology and viewing habits are changing so rapidly
The only clubs that would see an advantage to streaming their own matches would be the old firm no others would be better off.
Helensburghhibs
14-08-2022, 07:37 PM
The only clubs that would see an advantage to streaming their own matches would be the old firm no others would be better off.
Haha how did you come to that conclusion? You do know it's the home team that own the streaming rights yeah? So old firm fans paid hibs to watch a game v us at easter road
dalkeith stu
14-08-2022, 07:39 PM
So there will be even more of a gulf between the OF and the rest!!
Sioux
14-08-2022, 07:40 PM
A Netflix style spfl app, pay 10/15 per month and get access to every clubs live games from say Premiership to championship? Also classic game uploads on demand whenever you want.
Made available world wide.
Great idea. Lets get Hibs fans to sit on their erses at home, paying half the price of a match/season ticket. Halve our match income in one fell swoop, and have no income from TV at all.
Brilliant!
yep, they’d sell out and sell a whole lot more streaming subs
even with suns income shared equally (stop laughing at the back), I don’t think we’d make enough to get close to the sky money
that’s not to say there isn’t a better way out there somewhere though
14-08-2022, 07:41 PM
Great idea. Lets get Hibs fans to sit on their erses at home, paying half the price of a match/season ticket. Halve our match income in one fell swoop, and have no income from TV at all.
Brilliant!
If they choose to do that, are they even fans ?
Okay let's just take sky's ****ty deal and shut up.
Close thread.
Haha how did you come to that conclusion? You do know it's the home team that own the streaming rights yeah? So old firm fans paid hibs to watch a game v us at easter road
Ha ha do the math, how much is Hibs v St. Johnstone going to pull in or Ross County, plus there is every likely hood that physical attendance would drop.
What if Ian Crocker leaves sky & goes to work for the club streaming a hibs game ? Would you want that ditched aswell ?
14-08-2022, 08:08 PM
Ian Cockerbaws. Guaranteed the producer was in his earpiece telling him to mention that.
14-08-2022, 08:10 PM
Agree he should have been praising them that they were not bowing to the big two but that won't interest sky. Walker is absolute torture just get McFadden in that role with a younger more knowledgeable voice and actually likes football.
14-08-2022, 08:12 PM
Ian Crocker is a fantastic commentator and is not generally an Old Firm sycophant. That was an extremely poor comment from him though and made worse by the bit he said about Killie fans being 'dotted around' (or similar).
Lack of understanding about how difficult it is for other clubs.
14-08-2022, 08:18 PM
Met Ian a couple of times. Gets us and his knowledge of the game in Scotland is huge. I thought he said something after the comments regarding the Killie support. Nothing to see here.
14-08-2022, 08:21 PM
Ian Crocker is a fantastic commentator and is not generally an Old Firm sycophant. That was an extremely poor comment from him though and made worse by the bit he said about Killie fans being 'dotted around' (or similar).
He really isnae.
14-08-2022, 08:22 PM
Might be wrong but think it was Walker that said the dotted around line. Actually looked like a decent Kille support in the stand opposite the main one.
14-08-2022, 08:22 PM
He really isnae.
Aye he is.
14-08-2022, 08:24 PM
He really isnae.
Seems to have had quite a long and lucrative career- so others feel he is too.
It was of course only my opinion.
1875Sean
14-08-2022, 08:28 PM
Crocker is one of the best about, can’t stand some of the other commentators kicking about, Hibs TV included
14-08-2022, 08:29 PM
Has better knowledge of the Scottish game than most of the Scottish commentators.He said our cup final win was his best match he has had the pleasure of commentating on its not his fault he is paired up with Andy Walker.
14-08-2022, 08:32 PM
Just get rid of televused games. 3pm kick offs every Saturday. We will lose money but the old form will lose more. Get it done.
14-08-2022, 08:35 PM
Has better knowledge of the Scottish game thanost of the Scottish commentators.He said our cup final win was his best match he has had the pleasure of commentating on its not his fault he is paired up with Andy Walker.
Agree- I feel like he has an equal knowledge of all clubs in the league and has great lines for big moments. He sounds like he's genuinely interested in the games he covers which can't be easy at times in this league.
There's pundits who sit in the studios at Scottish games who've lived here all their lives and know virtually zilch about anyone outside the Old Firm.
Sioux
14-08-2022, 09:03 PM
If they choose to do that, are they even fans ?
Okay let's just take sky's ****ty deal and shut up.
Close thread.
Explain why your idea will be more financially beneficial.
14-08-2022, 09:11 PM
Whilst it's great they've installed a fancy new platform for their own wheelchair users, visiting wheelchair users are left sitting in a decrepit old dugout which is not fit for purpose.
Sadly they won't get any praise from me until there's equal rights for every wheelchair user attending Rugby Park.
Helensburghhibs
14-08-2022, 09:16 PM
Whilst it's great they've installed a fancy new platform for their own wheelchair users, visiting wheelchair users are left sitting in a decrepit old dugout which is not fit for purpose.
Sadly they won't get any praise from me until there's equal rights for every wheelchair user attending Rugby Park.
Really? Have they said they are not going to upgrade it. Maybe they couldnt afford all the upgrades in one go. Surely credit is due for beginning the process?
14-08-2022, 09:17 PM
Explain why your idea will be more financially beneficial.
Spfl world wide reaching say 300/400 thousand people at £10 a month that's 3/4 million a month, 36m/48m a year. For live content, for highlights and for classic matches on demand.
Would impact grounds though. Buy hey atleast the spfl wouldn't have to bow to penny's and be their own boss.
"An average of 283, 061 people have tuned into the 13 SPFL games shown live on Sky so far this season."
(https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/spfl-tv-viewing-figures-higher-22110542.amp)
That's just in the uk and Ireland alone. World wide you'd get more.
Scottish football is definitely being undersold.
14-08-2022, 09:27 PM
Can't stand Crocker as a commentator. Just regurgitates the same lines all the time.
14-08-2022, 09:33 PM
Really? Have they said they are not going to upgrade it. Maybe they couldnt afford all the upgrades in one go. Surely credit is due for beginning the process?
I've no idea what their plans are but St Mirren and Falkirk have both got improved facilities for their own wheelchair users, and they've been in place for a few years now, whilst away wheelchair users at both venues continue to have inferior facilities so it wouldn't surprise me if Kilmarnock follow a similar path.
Helensburghhibs
14-08-2022, 09:42 PM
I'm not convinced it would impact our crowds. I think the people that attend would choose to and the ones who watch it on TV or iptv would continue to do so
Helensburghhibs
14-08-2022, 09:44 PM
I've no idea what their plans are but St Mirren and Falkirk have both got improved facilities for their own wheelchair users, and they've been in place for a few years now, whilst away wheelchair users at both venues continue to have inferior facilities so it wouldn't surprise me if Kilmarnock follow a similar path.
Is that not the same at easter road though? Away wheelchair users only option is pitch level behind the goad which is not covered if it rains at a slight angle. Does that mean the club doesnt deserve praise for the improved facilities in the East?
14-08-2022, 09:47 PM
Is that not the same at easter road though? Away wheelchair users only option is pitch level behind the goad which is not covered if it rains at a slight angle. Does that mean the club doesnt deserve praise for the improved facilities in the East?
There's also a wheelchair platform in the front row of the upper tier of the south stand.
Stokesy's on fire
14-08-2022, 09:51 PM
I seen a lot of comments from Celtic fans greeting about tickets. The sooner these rodents leave scottish football the better their sense of entitlement is shocking
Helensburghhibs
14-08-2022, 09:55 PM
There's also a wheelchair platform in the front row of the upper tier of the south stand.
I actually didn't know that. I'm guessing that is only an option for the big clubs who get the whole stand?
14-08-2022, 10:11 PM
I actually didn't know that. I'm guessing that is only an option for the big clubs who get the whole stand?
I'm not sure but it's definitely an option unlike at the clubs I've mentioned earlier.
Spfl world wide reaching say 300/400 thousand people at £10 a month that's 3/4 million a month, 36m/48m a year. For live content, for highlights and for classic matches on demand.
Would impact grounds though. Buy hey atleast the spfl wouldn't have to bow to penny's and be their own boss.
"An average of 283, 061 people have tuned into the 13 SPFL games shown live on Sky so far this season."
(https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/spfl-tv-viewing-figures-higher-22110542.amp)
That's just in the uk and Ireland alone. World wide you'd get more.
Scottish football is definitely being undersold.
interesting points (not being wide), and whilst I think attendances would be affected, there would also be many fans (taking your pricing as an accurate estimate) who would have a season ticket and subscribe as well, even if it’s just to watch the match back later at their leisure. There’s also possible opportunities to tie up with other sports as a package deal, both in the UK and abroad, which might broaden the subscription numbers further
some counter arguments, off the top of my head, or at least balancing points:
- there would be overheads to be taken off your numbers, such as infrastructure (cameras, digital storage, means and capability of delivery etc), wages for commentators, cameramen/women, sound people, etc, the cost of production companies, graphics, and more. That list of costs will be lengthy, and even more so as a start up
- I believe that there’s a legal block still in place for showing games live at 3pm on a Saturday, if this is the case then the same/similar arguments are there to be had for watching games live on tv at awkward times
- what you've described is a much better version of setanta/itv digital, what safeguards could there be to protect clubs from similar collapses (sky ain’t going anywhere, that money is golden)
- the more input that clubs get with something like this, the more self centred things will get, just look at the covid relegation carry on, or the fact that we still have an 11-1 voting structure in the top flight, some clubs don’t want to upset the golden geese by doing something to annoy rangers or Celtic
- how would the money get divvied up? Rangers and Celtic will (rightly) say they are bringing the majority of subscribers, so will (selfishly) demand they get the lions share of the money, and they’ll bring everything they’ve got to bring pressure to bear to get their way through the media, through the spfl board, etc etc
- what does this concept do for fans that don’t have broadband, or can’t get sufficient speeds to support it? There won’t be a huge number granted, but what message does it send - we’re more interested in seeing the colour of people’s money than making sure everyone can be catered for? Currently, someone who’s housebound or can’t afford to go to matches (season ticket cost, travel, time commitments required) can pay their money to sky who will deal with all the setup and possible issues that having sky in your house without the fan needing to lift a finger
- what happens if there’s division amongst the clubs on whether we go for this option or with sky? Majority rules, sure, but it could cause a lot of animosity between a lot of clubs, this would be a gamble
lastly, and this is a genuine question, is there any reasonably sized leagues across Europe who have a similar setup for their tv deals? Not with a broadcaster but a self owned and produced broadcasting structure designed to fulfil their specific needs? It’s not a flippant question, I hope there is tbh, as there would mean an opportunity to explore the concept with a working situation rather than having to work it all from scratch
I'm on the fence, I’m not a huge fan of the current way of doing it, although in terms of quality (picture, sound, etc), sky do a good professional job, with the exception of most of their pundits and the old firm centric matches shown. But I also want to make sure that we don’t have the club in a situation like we did 20 or so years ago when we had severe financial issues.
I also wouldn’t be averse to rangers and Celtic sodding off somewhere (literally, anywhere but here), and the idea of a league with certainly less money but one where there’d be somewhere between 3 and 6 teams in with a shout of winning the league or cup every season
OldEast
14-08-2022, 11:26 PM
And mine
15-08-2022, 11:47 AM
He’s been dining out on 6-2 and “Henderson to deliver” cosying up to the Hibees. all legends have their shelf-life - time for him to exist stage left.
I write this to save others that genuinely hold that view #MonTheLegendTrashers :)
15-08-2022, 12:51 PM
Had a friend who entered a competition that the BBC was running for commentators.He said he was shocked how difficult it was to do as they were given a game to commentate on as well as all the interruptions with people giving them instructions in their headphones,also the preparation involved.
15-08-2022, 01:09 PM
BBC commentator David Begg was one of the best commentators there has been doing Scottish football. This clip of him commentating on the Ibrox Sproule hattrick is tremendous:
(93) Sproule Hat-trick (Crayon) - YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w3a1hzoFpwA)
15-08-2022, 01:14 PM
Aye he is.
Pantomine season a few months of yet.
15-08-2022, 04:57 PM
Pantomine season a few months of yet.
No it's no
He's behind you.
Crunchie
15-08-2022, 06:42 PM
So has Rob Maclean and he's rank rotten. I think Crocker is gash too.