View Full Version : This is how it feels (Livingston 13 08 22)

13-08-2022, 07:23 PM
Lovely sunshine, a decent and noisy travelling support together with a first airing for our new third kit. What could possibly go wrong? In a nutshell – the entire first half and the final five minutes of normal time during which periods, Livingston scored two eminently avoidable goals. We scored through Kenneh and missed a couple of glorious chances to add to that goal, but one effort was well saved and the other was ballooned over the bar with the net empty in front of the striker.

Both Campbell and Bushiri missed out through injury whilst Tavares was drafted in, and long term absentee Paul Hanlon made his return alongside Porteous in the heart of the defence. I’ve made no secret of my dislike for synthetic surfaces but as long as the authorities allow them, Livingston will not change to grass and why should they? Having said that, I expect professional footballers to adapt and ours struggled to do that throughout the game. Essentially, I’m not blaming the surface for our defeat, that blame lies squarely on the shoulders of the players.

We were struggling from the off and it was clear we were in for a physical battle with home players committing three fouls in the opening five minutes. The most physical of all was Joel Nouble as he collected the ball just inside the Hibs half and set off for goal. Everyone backed off until finally Hanlon decided to intervene and was left for dead on the edge of the box. The big striker then sidestepped a challenge from Porteous and slotted the ball past Marshall, the strike hitting the post on the way in. I’ve read posts in the past on here denouncing Nouble as a ‘big huddy’ but I’ll tell you what I’d have him our side in a heartbeat. He was immense throughout, often rag dolling our defenders and generally causing mayhem and his non stop style creates openings for team mates.

Hibs tried to respond but there was no pace in our attacking and the Livi players were giving the visitors no time to settle on the ball. After twenty minutes, Melkersen had to go off injured and was replaced by Doidge. The effect of that was to see Tavares moved wide on the right, Youan to the left and Doidge in the middle. I hoped that Tavares might actually get involved on the right as he had been pretty much a spectator on the left. A cross from the Livi left found Pittman in the box but his headed attempt was straight at Marshall. It was somewhat concerning that Pittman, one of the smallest players in their team, was allowed to find time to get onto that cross.

Nouble was causing all sorts of bother and on the half hour it took a good save from Marshall to deny the striker a second goal. Soon after, an under hit passback by Cadden gifted the ball to Nouble who drifted into the box, muscled Porteous out of the way and then struck a shot that Marshall did well to save. Moments later, Henderson tried his luck with a free kick from around twenty yards, but his shot hit the wall and was cleared. Next, Porteous got his head to a Newell cross but couldn’t get any power on the effort and their keeper collected easily. On the touchline, a visibly angry Lee Johnson looked as if half time couldn’t come quickly enough as he prepared in his mind just exactly what he was going to say to his underperforming players and just ahead of the break Hibs had their first attempt on target when Cabraja found Doidge with a fine cross but although Christian got his head to the ball and steered the effort downwards, there was no pace in it and the keeper saved easily.

Unsurprisingly, Tavares was hooked at half time and Boyle came on in his place which gave the large travelling support a real lift. It had a similar effect on his team mates as Hibs were up and at them from the off. A few minutes in and Kenneh rifled a low shot just wide of the post and then Hanlon got a header on target from a Newell cross, but the keeper saved low to his left. Livi were finding life difficult now and before long Hibs were level. A corner came in from the left and the ball was in the air at the back post where it struck Youan before flying back across the box where Kenneh was on hand to head the ball high into the net. Given the pressure Hibs were creating they were worthy of that equaliser.

Next, Montano was booked for a crude challenge on Boyle who was himself booked for his reaction to the challenge. That incident caused a bit of a stramash with players pushing and shoving each other in the best handbags tradition but thankfully referee Craig Napier didn’t go too daft flashing yellows everywhere. Within seconds though, Montano was at it again in hacking down Henderson with the Hibs players surrounding the ref demanding another card. Leading the Hibs pack was Ryan Porteous but thankfully he escaped punishment. It was interesting that Napier then had words with Marshall presumably telling him to quieten Porto down.

Hibs were battering them now and won a whole series of corners that sadly came to nothing although Hanlon and Doidge at least had headers on target following crosses for Henderson and Newell respectively. Boyle was certainly worrying them and was found a couple of times with good passes by Porteous but although crosses were delivered, they failed to find a team mate. Livi were defending manfully and sometimes over physically with Omeonga seeming to catch Boyle with a high challenge in the box. Boyle went over but Napier was not interested. He was however interested moments later when after advice from the fourth official, both David Martindale and Lee Johnson were booked for, I found out later, a full and frank exchange of views over the penalty claim.

For some reason, Hibs took their foot off the gas and Livi started to be more attacking again with Nouble unlucky to see a snap shot clear the bar whilst Obileye and Pittman saw efforts blocked. Fantastic work by Youan saw the ball arrive at the feet of Henderson some twelve yards out but rather that strike it first time he took a touch and allowed a defender to clear the danger. At the other end, Omeonga fed Nouble, but the big striker couldn’t get a clean connection and fired wide.

With the game nearing its end, Hibs were guilty of allowing the hosts too much time and space as substitutes Bruce Anderson and Philip Cancar going close, the Anderson one drawing a fine save from Marshall. There was just six minutes of normal time left and Cabraja fouled Devlin wide on their right. The Livi man needed treatment and so Hibs had plenty of time to set up to defend the free kick but failed miserably as Kelly’s bread and butter cross picked out a totally unmarked Obileye who headed the ball past Marshall from around eight yards. At the time I was berating our central defenders, but I’ve since been told that it was Doidge marking the Livi man and failing to match his run.

In the last minute of normal time, Hibs brought on Bojang for Kenneh and when the board went up signifying five minutes would be added, Hibs started piling forward again. After a Newell shot was well saved, Porteous found Youan, and the striker swivelled and shot with his fierce effort well saved by the Livi keeper. A mere minute later, a superb pass picked out Boyle who cut the ball back to Bojang who had the goal at his mercy but contrived to lift his shot over the bar and the game was lost.

The players – No pass marks for the first half to any of them.

Marshall – Had to be on his toes a few times and though he was well beaten for the goal he twice denied Livi from adding to their total with fine saves.

Cadden – Chris wasn’t able to get forward as much as we’ve seen him do in the past and that was largely down to Livi denying him the space.

Porteous – Solid enough throughout but he needs to control that temper as there’s plenty of ref’s who would be only too happy to caution him for it.

Hanlon – I admit, I was surprised to see him start and even more surprised that he lasted as long as he did after his extended lay off.

Cabraja – A bit of a mixed bag as it was his poor ball that set Livi on the goal trail for the opener.

Kenneh – Once or twice he was caught on the ball but overall, he did ok. Great that he scored his first goal for the club.

Newell – Energy levels not in doubt and delivered a fair few decent crosses but he really needs to start working on getting shots away.

Melkersen – Had to go off after twenty minutes.

Henderson – More involved than in the Derby but didn’t really shine at all.

Tavares – Missing in action for large parts of the 45 minutes he got.

Youan – The guy never stops running and is very difficult to shrug off, but he needs to have it drummed into him to lift his head at times.

Doidge – As poor as I’ve seen him of late and certainly not a patch on Nouble when it comes to leading the line.

Boyle – Gave us all a lift with his introduction and was desperately unlucky to look on in horror as his perfect cut back was fired over the bar by Bojang.

McLelland – On the pitch for their winner but marking his own man.

Doyle-Hayes – Brought on to release Newell to play further forward.

Bojang – Missed a glorious chance unfortunately.

Lee Johnson – Needs to get them playing with intent from the off.

Referee – Thought Craig Napier refereed the game sensibly.

13-08-2022, 07:29 PM
Good summary, JB. :agree:

CB Hibs 68
13-08-2022, 07:46 PM
Good summary, JB. :agree:

Thanks for this,Haven’t seen any highlights but I am figuring your report is as fair as always.LJ can join a long list of managers who have failed at Livi.I just hope he is a quick learner and can sort out this team .

13-08-2022, 07:55 PM
Sounds like a horror show from us again.

This team has potential but not if they fail to turn up for 45 mins. LJ criticising some players after the match, presumably they will know all about it and let’s hope we see a reaction.

Paulie Walnuts
13-08-2022, 07:58 PM
Sounds like a horror show from us again.

This team has potential but not if they fail to turn up for 45 mins. LJ criticising some players after the match, presumably they will know all about it and let’s hope we see a reaction.

It was.

Second half we were much better for the majority of it but there was a couple of spells where we fell off a bit again.

So for the majority of the game we were crap to varying degrees with the majority of that being atrocious.

13-08-2022, 08:22 PM
I was holding off to watch the game on ALBA at 11pm .. but inadvertently seen the score five minutes ago so I wont be watching it.

Sure it's a decent report JB but in all honesty I'm bloody sick of reading about how we lost. This isn't a case of the Robbie Neilson's we should win at THESE PLACES pish, but it's a fact that we have a pretty crap record against a club with a support that would embarrass a mid table 1st division SPFL club and a budget that ours absolutely dwarfs.

Transition or not, this simply isn't good enough.

Wull
13-08-2022, 08:55 PM
Good report JB, one thing I definitely agree with is if we could get Nouble in I would be very happy.

13-08-2022, 08:58 PM
Missed Rocky big time today. Hanlon doesn't have the same physical presence. Sorry to say that when I saw Hanlon was playing I feared the worst with their big striker.

13-08-2022, 09:00 PM
Boyle also hit the beans on toast with a shot.

13-08-2022, 09:06 PM
Could say loads about that game but one thing that really disappointed me was the performance of Cadden.

A couple of times Marshall played a quick pass down the line to him and he was in acres of room and Livi were stretched.

Instead of driving forward it playing a forward pass he slowed the game down and passed it back to Porto.

So important against teams like Livi to move it quick, especially when they’re stretched

13-08-2022, 09:09 PM
Missed Rocky big time today. Hanlon doesn't have the same physical presence. Sorry to say that when I saw Hanlon was playing I feared the worst with their big striker.

To be fair he’d have given Rocky nightmares too , dude was a handful that’s for sure

13-08-2022, 09:14 PM
Could say loads about that game but one thing that really disappointed me was the performance of Cadden.

A couple of times Marshall played a quick pass down the line to him and he was in acres of room and Livi were stretched.

Instead of driving forward it playing a forward pass he slowed the game down and passed it back to Porto.

So important against teams like Livi to move it quick, especially when they’re stretched

I assume Cadden was one of the players Johnson was referring to in his post match interview as his first half performance was a disgrace.

13-08-2022, 09:14 PM

There was a couple times second half he didn’t need to even drive himself, just needed to clip the ball in behind. One where Youan had made a run from away out on the left and would have been clean through.

As a team we just don’t see these things. Our only real creativity is from getting the ball wide and crossing it.

13-08-2022, 09:17 PM
There was a couple times second half he didn’t need to even drive himself, just needed to clip the ball in behind. One where Youan had made a run from away out on the left and would have been clean through.

As a team we just don’t see these things. Our only real creativity is from getting the ball wide and crossing it.

Know the exact pass you were on about. Seemed a no brainer to play it and not a particularly hard pass to make given the space in behind and Youan’s pace.

If you’ve got such a threat with pace we really need to use it.

13-08-2022, 09:32 PM
I
I assume Cadden was one of the players Johnson was referring to in his post match interview as his first half performance was a disgrace.

Obviously a few home truths delivered at half time.Trouble is there are few alternatives.

14-08-2022, 08:19 AM
Thanks for posting Jonnyboy

Strap yourself in for a long hard season

It’s not going to be pretty

Great work

14-08-2022, 10:50 AM
If we had Nouble up front instead of Doidge , we would have won easy
Horrific pitch but second half we deserved at least a point. Stonewall pen for me and Bojang only had to side foot that chance into the empty net.

14-08-2022, 10:53 AM
Think it’s still too early to make any judgements about this season ..once we’ve got 10-12 games under our belt and the window is closed , will be a much clearer situation.

It can’t be any surprise to most that such a volume of new players, particularly bringing in most with limited first team games in the last two windows , will lead to real mixed performances .

Let’s see how the management team react and adapt as they get to learn more about the squad .

14-08-2022, 12:35 PM
Another good report of another poor showing it seems - only saw the "highlights" - still something wrong with attitude or mentality or something at the club/in the squad - the first goal clearly showed how no-one seemed to know who was responsible for what at any given time!

Thought against Hearts I saw signs of a good team (at tiimes), seems to have disappeared again though ...:confused:

14-08-2022, 12:56 PM

Not disagreeing mate this happens a lot. But what I need explained is why, why is it that guys who have been at professional clubs since they were 10 years old and paid to play fitba since they were teenagers cant see a pass I know I would be able to see, me a guy whose acme of fitba achievement was the pub league. Even worse than that, if you are deemed good enough to play professional fitba why the hell don't you have enough confidence in your own ability to play the bloody pass if you have seen it?

There are times I would love to be able to sit down with the Hibs team with a film of the game they have just played point out incidents like the one you have highlighted here and ask the player involved why he didn't play the pass, or why he lacked the awareness to see that the pass was on.

Does ma heid in :confused:

cannastar
14-08-2022, 01:07 PM
cheers jonnyboy on the money as always thought we were going to come away with a point but not to be.

14-08-2022, 01:22 PM
Another good report of another poor showing it seems - only saw the "highlights" - still something wrong with attitude or mentality or something at the club/in the squad - the first goal clearly showed how no-one seemed to know who was responsible for what at any given time!

Thought against Hearts I saw signs of a good team (at tiimes), seems to have disappeared again though ...:confused:

We played well and were totally dominant for the majority of the second half.

He's here!
14-08-2022, 01:26 PM
I

Obviously a few home truths delivered at half time.Trouble is there are few alternatives.

Bring Boyle on. That's our sole alternative. We offer next to nothing else.

He's here!
14-08-2022, 01:34 PM
Think it’s still too early to make any judgements about this season ..once we’ve got 10-12 games under our belt and the window is closed , will be a much clearer situation.

It can’t be any surprise to most that such a volume of new players, particularly bringing in most with limited first team games in the last two windows , will lead to real mixed performances .

Let’s see how the management team react and adapt as they get to learn more about the squad .

I don't buy that 'we need time' view. As somebody else has pointed out that's our fourth consecutive defeat to Livi under four different managers. The problem runs deeper than the management team. It's the acceptance of mediocrity which pervades the club (which has in turn created a culture where losing these sort of games is no longer seen as surprising) that's the issue.

14-08-2022, 01:38 PM
I don't buy that 'we need time' view. As somebody else has pointed out that's our fourth consecutive defeat to Livi under four different managers. The problem runs deeper than the management team. It's the acceptance of mediocrity which pervades the club (which has in turn created a culture where losing these sort of games is no longer seen as surprising) that's the issue.

You dont buy that we need time to develop a new team with a number of new players and new management. Of course it needs time. It's sport sometimes you lose.

14-08-2022, 01:59 PM

That may be the case - but the first five and last five minutes of the game suggest to me that there are serious mental/attitude problems among some of the squad?

14-08-2022, 02:01 PM
That may be the case - but the first five and last five minutes of the game suggest to me that there are serious mental/attitude problems among some of the squad?

Not sure attitude just need to cut out gifting goals as we did yesterday.

14-08-2022, 02:16 PM
You dont buy that we need time to develop a new team with a number of new players and new management. Of course it needs time. It's sport sometimes you lose.

I totally get that we need time to develop the team.

I also think not addressing the most fundamental issues we have (despite the number of signings) means that the team isn’t going to develop as we want.

I actually think there is a bit of acceptance that things could be up and down this year but if we keep seeing the same failings (as it looks like we’re going to) that is where there’ll be an impatience.

He's here!
14-08-2022, 02:25 PM

We don't lose sometimes. We lose a lot, and regularly to teams that we should be strong enough to beat. Our recent record v Livi is disgraceful (and it wasn't all that clever before that). Johnson, unlike his immediate predecessors, has had a full close season to bed in his ideas and the team should be looking better IMHO.

If we were a team which looked like they were up for it every week but suffered a defeat every so often then fine but for a long time now under successive managers we look far from up for it. Why is this? Bedding in new players doesn't excuse a half-hearted approach.

14-08-2022, 04:30 PM
We don't lose sometimes. We lose a lot, and regularly to teams that we should be strong enough to beat. Our recent record v Livi is disgraceful (and it wasn't all that clever before that). Johnson, unlike his immediate predecessors, has had a full close season to bed in his ideas and the team should be looking better IMHO.

If we were a team which looked like they were up for it every week but suffered a defeat every so often then fine but for a long time now under successive managers we look far from up for it. Why is this? Bedding in new players doesn't excuse a half-hearted approach.

It doesn't you are right not sure I see a half hearted approach but poor mistakes beiing punished which will hopefully get better when we play together more. Not getting away from it last season was very poor and a very poor second appointment when a gamble was made on an inexperienced coach. Johnson is experienced and needs to be given time to develop a culture of his own and bring in players. It appears he has very good contacts so hopefully he brings in a few more prior to the end of the window though he is hamstrung a little with the contractual position of some of the players especially if little interest in them from other clubs. What would help is a bit more understanding of the job Johnson has got? We were getting a deserved point prior to a very poor mistake at a free kick. It happens. Other factors like Boyle pen, Hanlon pen red card they should have had. Very little chat about that

He's here!
14-08-2022, 07:46 PM
It doesn't you are right not sure I see a half hearted approach but poor mistakes beiing punished which will hopefully get better when we play together more. Not getting away from it last season was very poor and a very poor second appointment when a gamble was made on an inexperienced coach. Johnson is experienced and needs to be given time to develop a culture of his own and bring in players. It appears he has very good contacts so hopefully he brings in a few more prior to the end of the window though he is hamstrung a little with the contractual position of some of the players especially if little interest in them from other clubs. What would help is a bit more understanding of the job Johnson has got? We were getting a deserved point prior to a very poor mistake at a free kick. It happens. Other factors like Boyle pen, Hanlon pen red card they should have had. Very little chat about that

Fair points. While I'm not seeing things your way right now I hope your cautious optimism proves justified.

Colinton Hibby
14-08-2022, 07:47 PM
Great report as always mate. But i must have missed the Hanlon red card penalty incident?

Front three of Youan - Nouble - Boyle would be amazing i think. The big man holding it up and two speed merchants running off him. I know we are over budget but personally I’d free cash up by getting rid of McGeady and Doidge. Nothing wrong with admitting we made a mistake. Worse thing is to carry on hoping they might come good.

And please - for the love of Christ - will someone please do something about Hanlon. That ‘tackle’ for the first goal should be enough for any manager to bin him. My niece is stronger in the tackle and she’s nine. He’s been done for at least six years.

14-08-2022, 07:52 PM
Great report as always mate. But i must have missed the Hanlon red card penalty incident?

Front three of Youan - Nouble - Boyle would be amazing i think. The big man holding it up and two speed merchants running off him. I know we are over budget but personally I’d free cash up by getting rid of McGeady and Doidge. Nothing wrong with admitting we made a mistake. Worse thing is to carry on hoping they might come good.

And please - for the love of Christ - will someone please do something about Hanlon. That ‘tackle’ for the first goal should be enough for any manager to bin him. My niece is stronger in the tackle and she’s nine. He’s been done for at least six years.

Explain how we're going to free up cash getting rid of McGeady and Doidge.

Colinton Hibby
14-08-2022, 07:54 PM
15 grand a week in wages lost at the moment?

HIBS NUTS
14-08-2022, 08:04 PM
15 grand a week in wages lost at the moment?

They will just leave,, under contract then.😳

loanheadhibby
14-08-2022, 08:23 PM

Are you serious? We played well.
Do you realise just how bad we are.
It's going to be a long winter and sadly and I mean sadly we're going to finish miles behind our city rivals.
I know I'll take stick but it's the truth.

14-08-2022, 08:49 PM

Ron: "Aiden, Christian, we've made a mistake. Any chance we could cancel your contracts with immediate effect?"

McGeady & Doidge: "Sounds good, where do we sign?"

Scotty Leither
14-08-2022, 08:49 PM
We should be circulating clubs in League One in England as to which players the club would listen to offers. If that sounds harsh, then that's tough. That first half was dreadful and we look the same team as last season - overly reliant on Martin Boyle, while the recruitment in between him leaving and returning lacks any kind of coherence.

The only one out of all the players we have signed who looks the real deal is Youan; Kenneh has been average, the right back Miller isn't a first pick, Bojan is an out and out punt, and Jair is so lightweight and easily brushed off the ball it's embarrassing.

I wonder if anyone was challenged at the club as to who our designated playmaker is, who they would answer with - Newell? Henderson? I get the impression we'll bring in nobody up front as they'll argue we're well stocked for players and we've got Nisbet coming back sometime in November. Until then we'll need to just suck it up with a half-fit and half-arsed Doidge making zero impression. We also look like we've got one goal in us in a game, that's alright if you've got a resolute defence that gives nothing away, but we flung in two cheap ones yesterday and look short in there as well.

Before the "transition" and "work in progress" tropes are rolled out, how come our mates across the city didn't need to go through a transitional period - it wouldn't be because they sign established players that know this league, would it?

Colinton Hibby
14-08-2022, 08:58 PM
Ron: "Aiden, Christian, we've made a mistake. Any chance we could cancel your contracts with immediate effect?"

McGeady & Doidge: "Sounds good, where do we sign?"

Well done. Obviously thats not what I meant. Maybe we could be grown up about it and say to the players and their agents they wont be featuring this season and to go out and try and find another club. If that doesn’t happen and we’re stuck with them, then so be it.

But maybe try and do something about the problem rather than continuing to play them and get absolutely nowhere. Yes I know McGeady hasn’t played too many times for us but anyone that has seen him will know instantly he’s got great feet but no legs.

Its just an opinion.

14-08-2022, 09:12 PM
We should be circulating clubs in League One in England as to which players the club would listen to offers. If that sounds harsh, then that's tough. That first half was dreadful and we look the same team as last season - overly reliant on Martin Boyle, while the recruitment in between him leaving and returning lacks any kind of coherence.

The only one out of all the players we have signed who looks the real deal is Youan; Kenneh has been average, the right back Miller isn't a first pick, Bojan is an out and out punt, and Jair is so lightweight and easily brushed off the ball it's embarrassing.

I wonder if anyone was challenged at the club as to who our designated playmaker is, who they would answer with - Newell? Henderson? I get the impression we'll bring in nobody up front as they'll argue we're well stocked for players and we've got Nisbet coming back sometime in November. Until then we'll need to just suck it up with a half-fit and half-arsed Doidge making zero impression. We also look like we've got one goal in us in a game, that's alright if you've got a resolute defence that gives nothing away, but we flung in two cheap ones yesterday and look short in there as well.

Before the "transition" and "work in progress" tropes are rolled out, how come our mates across the city didn't need to go through a transitional period - it wouldn't be because they sign established players that know this league, would it?

Youan
Marshall
Boyle
McGeady
Cabraja

Are all really good signings to me, McGeady’s injury is unfortunate as he was getting upto speed.

Kenneh - Looks really positive especially given his age/experience
Jair - Looks like he’ll take quite a while to adapt, wouldn’t be against a 6 month loan
Bojang - Has had two really good chances in limited time. Don’t expect much from a signing from Rainbow FC.
Miller - I like the look of although has been a bit inconsistent but bear in mind he never had a break this summer. I think he’ll be our first choice right back before long.

14-08-2022, 09:18 PM
Well done. Obviously thats not what I meant. Maybe we could be grown up about it and say to the players and their agents they wont be featuring this season and to go out and try and find another club. If that doesn’t happen and we’re stuck with them, then so be it.

But maybe try and do something about the problem rather than continuing to play them and get absolutely nowhere. Yes I know McGeady hasn’t played too many times for us but anyone that has seen him will know instantly he’s got great feet but no legs.

Its just an opinion.

Well you did say we should get rid of them and admit we made a mistake. So to say that to McGeady who hasn't even been with us 2 months and has just been injured and is expected to be out for up to 3 months, so to follow it up with "you're not going to feature much go find another club" would make us look pretty stupid and unprofessional. What do you think his reaction would likely be? Supposedly (per posts on here so may or may not be accurate) Doidge was told he could find another club but he wanted to stay and fight for his place.

You suggested we just get rid of them, as if it easy like some kind of football manager game, and free up 15k of wages. Which incidentally you stated as if it was a fact. Have you got a source for those wages or is it guesswork/made up?

14-08-2022, 09:34 PM

Since the Budge era began at the start of season 14/15, this season is the 1st season they haven't had a high turnover of players so arguably had 8 transitional seasons in a row.

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/heart-of-midlothian-fc/alletransfers/verein/43

If they are your benchmark you want us to aspire to then maybe you'd better strap in.

15-08-2022, 06:35 AM
Since the Budge era began at the start of season 14/15, this season is the 1st season they haven't had a high turnover of players so arguably had 8 transitional seasons in a row.

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/heart-of-midlothian-fc/alletransfers/verein/43

If they are your benchmark you want us to aspire to then maybe you'd better strap in.

Their professional recruitment team (copying the way we set it up it under George Craig) has been in place for the last 18 months. My big worry is that they actually replace Robbie Replay with someone that is good.

big-mo
15-08-2022, 06:45 AM
Did anyone see or hear what the attendance was ta the game? It may have been mentioned elsewhere but I did not see it.

15-08-2022, 08:53 AM

I imagine we will be doing that for any players the manager wants to move on. I think/hope there will be significant movement in the last few parts of the window.

15-08-2022, 09:31 AM
Hanlon and Doidge are finished at this level, Nouble went round Hanlon like he wasn't even there, it was embarrassing defending from the most experienced man on the park. Doidge contributed nothing again. He's still got another 2 years of extracting a wage fro Hibs. Frightening.

15-08-2022, 10:23 AM

Are you forgetting about the two last minute goals we have scored in the previous two games? Barring a sitter it would have been yet another one. Absolutley nothing wrong with the players mentality or attitute. We bossed them second half, had 25 shots on goal, numerous corners and most of the ball. The issue was our first half performance. It obviously wasn't good enough but it happens. To their credit they reacted second half and we were undone by a mistake. The reaction to Saturday is what i've come to expect on this site now.

15-08-2022, 10:26 AM
Hanlon and Doidge are finished at this level, Nouble went round Hanlon like he wasn't even there, it was embarrassing defending from the most experienced man on the park. Doidge contributed nothing again. He's still got another 2 years of extracting a wage fro Hibs. Frightening.

Many of us expressed our concern about Hanlon before the game and were unfortunatley bang on the money. It would have been more of a surprise if he'd delt with the boy. Seen it time and time again with big physical strikers.

Colinton Hibby
15-08-2022, 02:55 PM
Well you did say we should get rid of them and admit we made a mistake. So to say that to McGeady who hasn't even been with us 2 months and has just been injured and is expected to be out for up to 3 months, so to follow it up with "you're not going to feature much go find another club" would make us look pretty stupid and unprofessional. What do you think his reaction would likely be? Supposedly (per posts on here so may or may not be accurate) Doidge was told he could find another club but he wanted to stay and fight for his place.

You suggested we just get rid of them, as if it easy like some kind of football manager game, and free up 15k of wages. Which incidentally you stated as if it was a fact. Have you got a source for those wages or is it guesswork/made up?

Fair enough. I’m not bothered what McGeady’s reaction would be. My prime concern is my team, and he’s not good enough for us anymore. And i bet Doidge wanted to stay as any move would be downwards, but again he is not good enough for us. And yes of course I’m not privy to the club’s wage structure. Maybe i should have said approximately. That help you out?

Paulie Walnuts
15-08-2022, 03:05 PM
Are you forgetting about the two last minute goals we have scored in the previous two games? Barring a sitter it would have been yet another one. Absolutley nothing wrong with the players mentality or attitute. We bossed them second half, had 25 shots on goal, numerous corners and most of the ball. The issue was our first half performance. It obviously wasn't good enough but it happens. To their credit they reacted second half and we were undone by a mistake. The reaction to Saturday is what i've come to expect on this site now.

The reaction isn’t just to Saturday though, no matter how many times people say it.

The reaction is to watching the same players and the same positions on the pitch let us down time and time again without the club bothering their arse to fix it.

15-08-2022, 03:19 PM
Many of us expressed our concern about Hanlon before the game and were unfortunatley bang on the money. It would have been more of a surprise if he'd delt with the boy. Seen it time and time again with big physical strikers.

Hanlon dealt with the physical side pretty well on Saturday. He got outdone by a striker running at pace straight at him and no support to help him. Porteous was done in exactly the same way when Cadden made a mess of controlling the ball a wee while later. Ryan isn't returning off a long term injury but I can see too much critisism of him.

Souter really struggled physically with Nouble when The Rangers played Livi, Hanlon dealt with him well overall and although he had a big part to play in Nouble's goal he effectively became the last man and back peddled hoping Cabraja or Kenneh may break out of a job to help him when both had made errors leading to Nouble getting possession. His attempted tackle wasn't great but he only had a part to play in that goal and was one of three players who did very poorly. Kenneh I would say was most at fault for making little effort to get back but Cabraja wasn't much better

15-08-2022, 04:03 PM
Hanlon dealt with the physical side pretty well on Saturday. He got outdone by a striker running at pace straight at him and no support to help him. Porteous was done in exactly the same way when Cadden made a mess of controlling the ball a wee while later. Ryan isn't returning off a long term injury but I can see too much critisism of him.

Souter really struggled physically with Nouble when The Rangers played Livi, Hanlon dealt with him well overall and although he had a big part to play in Nouble's goal he effectively became the last man and back peddled hoping Cabraja or Kenneh may break out of a job to help him when both had made errors leading to Nouble getting possession. His attempted tackle wasn't great but he only had a part to play in that goal and was one of three players who did very poorly. Kenneh I would say was most at fault for making little effort to get back but Cabraja wasn't much better

Nouble doesn’t run at pace past anyone he literally walked past him

Poor from Hanlon but he did come onto a game

15-08-2022, 04:09 PM

Hanlon got done for the goal, but it had nowt to do with the boy being big and physical. It was just terrible defending. Other than that, he played well enough, and dealt with the big guy.

Like someone else has mentioned, Porteous got rinsed by him too, but we didn’t lose a goal that time fortunately.

15-08-2022, 04:13 PM
Nouble doesn’t run at pace past anyone he literally walked past him

Poor from Hanlon but he did come onto a game I thought that too but there were a couple of times in the game he looked slow but was leaving players like Cadden behind him. He may not be a speedster but he isn't as slow as he looks

15-08-2022, 04:34 PM
I thought that too but there were a couple of times in the game he looked slow but was leaving players like Cadden behind him. He ay not be a speedster but he isn't as slow as he looks

My granny could have pulled him down outside the box and she’s been deid for 30 years

A shocking goal to lose all round as was the second

The Wireless
15-08-2022, 04:47 PM

Agree 100% with this assessment. Absolutely no covering defensive support for Hanlon and slow to sense the danger of their teammate being done.

15-08-2022, 05:12 PM
My granny could have pulled him down outside the box and she’s been deid for 30 years

A shocking goal to lose all round as was the second

He would have been red carded and it was really early in the game. His biggest mistake, for me at least, was back pedalling in the hope Cabraja or Kenneh would burst a gut to get back. If they had he would have been last man and either player that made the initial errors could have taken a booking for the team. The goal was symptomatic of a truly awful, lacklustre performance in the first half where the team never made any effort and looked like they had never et. Given this was Hanlon's first time playing with many of them he was one of the few who had an excuse. Saying all that his attempted tackle was with the wrong foot and it looked to come from a player who was not up to speed after a long injury. He is still our best CH in my opinion and if he is allowed to get fit he will do well again this season

15-08-2022, 05:20 PM
He would have been red carded and it was really early in the game. His biggest mistake, for me at least, was back pedalling in the hope Cabraja or Kenneh would burst a gut to get back. If they had he would have been last man and either player that made the initial errors could have taken a booking for the team. The goal was symptomatic of a truly awful, lacklustre performance in the first half where the team never made any effort and looked like they had never et. Given this was Hanlon's first time playing with many of them he was one of the few who had an excuse. Saying all that his attempted tackle was with the wrong foot and it looked to come from a player who was not up to speed after a long injury. He is still our best CH in my opinion and if he is allowed to get fit he will do well again this season

Kenneh could have caught him if he bust a gut

Hanlon goes in for the tackle with his left foot rather than standing his ground as the big fella skips past his right side after shaping up to go that way a rookie mistake probably down to rustiness and left Hanlon beating the ground in frustration

Agree I still rate Hanlon

https://youtu.be/jWiri7sWWgg

supermcginn
15-08-2022, 05:29 PM

"His attempted tackle wasn't great" is literally the understatement of the century. If rocky had been beat like that and dived in, all hell would have broke loose on here.

15-08-2022, 06:04 PM
"His attempted tackle wasn't great" is literally the understatement of the century. If rocky had been beat like that and dived in, all hell would have broke loose on here. Probably true but some players suffer far more from abuse than others. I'd also say Porteous' attempted tackle was equally as bad in a similar situation. Paul made a mistake, he knew it and I think rustiness had a big part to play. Kenneh and Cabraja were more to blame imo but like many goals it takes a few players to make a mistake for a goal to be scored. I've not seen the foul for their winner but that looked a stupid foul from Cabraja to me and shocking marking from Doidge. I hope Hanlon hasn't done himself any damage as he looked like he was struggling later on. I think he is our best CH but there surely isn't any doubt that he is our best left CH. He needs someone to compete for his position and has done for a while.

15-08-2022, 06:17 PM
Why does Porteous stop as well? What if it hits the inside of the post and rebounds to the striker following it in?

What in god's name were they all doing? We've lost a few shockingly bad goals this year - Tynecastle, Hampden - but that's up there.

15-08-2022, 06:20 PM
Why does Porteous stop as well? What if it hits the inside of the post and rebounds to the striker following it in?

What in god's name were they all doing? We've lost a few shockingly bad goals this year - Tynecastle, Hampden - but that's up there.

As Nouble gets to Hanlon Cabraja slows his run too. Saturday was a great example of us not being a 90 minute team. If LJ could make us perform in both halves to the level we did in the second half I think we will have a decent season. For some reason we only seem to play for a half at best. Saturday was unforgiveable in the first half and he should really be dropping a couple of players for that display just to set a standard but 2 out of 10 isn't really easy to choose