View Full Version : New catering

07-08-2022, 08:54 PM
Have to say the new catering is absolutely shocking, had a Steak pie during half time and it was mostly if not solely gravy, not a single bit of steak to be seen, and all for near £4 !

The steak pies last season were pretty damn good, almost full of nice bits of beef and around £2.80 From memory

suffice to say won’t be using it again

07-08-2022, 09:04 PM
Contemplated a lunchtime pie before KO in West Upper but they had nothing left. Lad in kiosk offering apologies and suggesting going downstairs but I just went without. Not sure if stocks were replenished for HT.

CL0762
07-08-2022, 09:06 PM
£9 for 3 lucozades in which the boy opened the bottle and poured it into a cup in front of me 😂

Think from now on I’ll just take my own in.

07-08-2022, 09:08 PM
Contemplated a lunchtime pie before KO in West Upper but they had nothing left. Lad in kiosk offering apologies and suggesting going downstairs but I just went without. Not sure if stocks were replenished for HT.

Believe me you didn’t miss much…….

07-08-2022, 09:10 PM
No chips in the FF Upper at 11.25.

Not sure if that is the norm and chips just aren't available (in which case take them off the menu list)or if they had just run out. Neither is great. And I know you don't HAVE to eat at the football but some people WANT to and the offering should be better for the price.

For all the excellent upgrades to the hospitality, the kiosks are still miles away from being good enough. I've been to 7 or 8 other grounds already this season and the offering at ER has been by far and away the worst. That includes a few Lowland League grounds who have decent options at half the price. I know Perth last week was a bit of a shambles with the food running out early but whilst it lasted it was good.

07-08-2022, 09:12 PM

Not sure if that is the norm and chips just aren't available (in which case take them off the menu list)or if they had just run out. Neither is great. And I know you don't HAVE to eat at the football but some people WANT to and the offering should be better for the price.

For all the excellent upgrades to the hospitality, the kiosks are still miles away from being good enough. I've been to 7 or 8 other grounds already this season and the offering at ER has been by far and away the worst. That includes a few Lowland League grounds who have decent options at half the price. I know Perth also week was a bit of a shambles with the food running out early but whilst it lasted it was good.
The chips were all in ammo boxes in the east stand.

07-08-2022, 09:14 PM
£9 for 3 lucozades in which the boy opened the bottle and poured it into a cup in front of me 😂

That is outrageous. It looks like we don't sell any pizza now too.

Renfrew_Hibby
07-08-2022, 09:21 PM
Stood in a queue for around 5 minutes before i realised i had to queue at a different location if i wanted a coffee.

07-08-2022, 09:26 PM
A few pals indulged in the East Stand catering today. The corn on the cob (£1.10) was inedible and appeared to have been cooked some hours before. It was exchanged without question and an upgrade to chicken wings (£6.80) was had - the boys seemed to like them. The peri-peri chips (£2.30), which I nicked a couple of, were pretty good. No pies at this particular kiosk - not sure if they were available from others in the East.

07-08-2022, 09:33 PM
Don't normally bother with the kiosks at half time, can't be bothered waiting, but today I had one of the Dnipro Kids with me (he's now Hibs daft and wants to go to ALL the games) so I bought us a couple of boxes of chips. I thought they were decent, and didn't thing £2.30 was unreasonable.

08-08-2022, 07:41 AM
A few pals indulged in the East Stand catering today. The corn on the cob (£1.10) was inedible and appeared to have been cooked some hours before. It was exchanged without question and an upgrade to chicken wings (£6.80) was had - the boys seemed to like them. The peri-peri chips (£2.30), which I nicked a couple of, were pretty good. No pies at this particular kiosk - not sure if they were available from others in the East.

Who the £3ck eats 🌽 at fitbaw 🤮

08-08-2022, 07:49 AM
Did the catering not change last season? Looked the same to me.

08-08-2022, 07:53 AM
Who the £3ck eats 🌽 at fitbaw 🤮

I like a bit corn on the cob but if anybody is ordering that at the football they deserve to be disappointed 😉

In terms of the cost of the stuff, my wife had my boy up at the festival the other day, got him a steak pie for lunch from one of those vans in or near George square I think she said, £9.

Everything is expensive everywhere now and it’s only getting worse, people can’t still be surprised that food in stadiums will be overpriced.

08-08-2022, 08:09 AM
Who the £3ck eats [emoji535] at fitbaw [emoji2961]Is it more dangerous than a pie when thrown?

Could be a health & safety issue here.

hibby rae
08-08-2022, 09:11 AM

For all the excellent upgrades to the hospitality, the kiosks are still miles away from being good enough. I've been to 7 or 8 other grounds already this season and the offering at ER has been by far and away the worst. That includes a few Lowland League grounds who have decent options at half the price. I know Perth last week was a bit of a shambles with the food running out early but whilst it lasted it was good.

I saw one of the Hearts players with some chips.

Am I right in saying they've cut the veggie/vegan options?

At one point they had vegan steak pies, then started selling tiny wee overpriced vegan sausage rolls instead, but were never stocked with them either.

I don't even bother now. Far prefer a £2 pizza slice on Albion Road.

CL0762
08-08-2022, 09:28 AM
That is outrageous. It looks like we don't sell any pizza now too.

Nah, no more pizza. The wee man was fuming he enjoyed the pizza twists last season.

08-08-2022, 01:42 PM
I (and other people) didn't realise that some of the stalls are now specialist stalls, like one was for chicken, one for burgers and another for more traditional match day food and it was kind of confusing to start with and was not signed properly.

The cola I got was warm syrup only, it was rancid and got flushed down the loo.

Also the plastic waste that must come out of the catering must be unreal, surely they can learn from other events and have a more sustainable way of getting lucazade than puring from one plastic container into another? Not something I expect from the greenest club in Scotland - the SPFL either needs to lobby the SG to loosen restrictions or find a better way of doing this.

It was also quite pricey, a chips and drink for about £5. Already at looking at getting stuff away from the stadium from now on.

08-08-2022, 02:37 PM
I (and other people) didn't realise that some of the stalls are now specialist stalls, like one was for chicken, one for burgers and another for more traditional match day food and it was kind of confusing to start with and was not signed properly.

The cola I got was warm syrup only, it was rancid and got flushed down the loo.

Also the plastic waste that must come out of the catering must be unreal, surely they can learn from other events and have a more sustainable way of getting lucazade than puring from one plastic container into another? Not something I expect from the greenest club in Scotland - the SPFL either needs to lobby the SG to loosen restrictions or find a better way of doing this.

It was also quite pricey, a chips and drink for about £5. Already at looking at getting stuff away from the stadium from now on.

If people would stop throwing stuff we might have a chance. Nothing will get changed at any point soon. I reckon RG has no change of getting alcohol back.

08-08-2022, 02:44 PM
If people would stop throwing stuff we might have a chance. Nothing will get changed at any point soon. I reckon RG has no change of getting alcohol back.

That's the problem.

The vast majority of people would never do it but while we have idiots chucking stuff at players the rest of us will suffer.

08-08-2022, 02:54 PM

Who eats chips at 11.25am anyway :confused: :greengrin

Hibiza
08-08-2022, 03:04 PM
Prices are really shocking . We're meant to applaud the new catering deal. Should be community run not ripping the fans off with crap food at inflated prices . ( Just saying ). Wonder if the board ever use the kiosks - doubt it.

08-08-2022, 03:28 PM
Shoulda gone for the scotch pie!!

Piping hot and tremendously tasty. Will be buying 2 next time. And a Diet Coke.

Happy to contribute to us strengthening the squad in January.

RMQ1967
08-08-2022, 03:30 PM
Shoulda gone for the scotch pie!!

Piping hot and tremendously tasty. Will be buying 2 next time. And a Diet Coke.

Happy to contribute to us strengthening the squad in January.

I also had the scotch pie & a bovril. Was pretty decent as you say.

08-08-2022, 03:52 PM
Food is overpriced but it takes and absolute age to get served which annoys me more. Different queues for different things in the East didn’t help either.

08-08-2022, 04:53 PM
I like a bit corn on the cob but if anybody is ordering that at the football they deserve to be disappointed ��

In terms of the cost of the stuff, my wife had my boy up at the festival the other day, got him a steak pie for lunch from one of those vans in or near George square I think she said, £9.

Everything is expensive everywhere now and it’s only getting worse, people can’t still be surprised that food in stadiums will be overpriced.

i don’t disagree with you , I expected the price to rise , but not the quality of the food to drop through the floor, the steak pie was absolutely abysmal, in fact I’m not sure it even qualified to be called a steak pie, a gravy pie was a better description

mcohibs
08-08-2022, 04:58 PM

Is that even legal 😂

08-08-2022, 05:09 PM
The chips used to be marvellous even the gulls wouldn't touch the new yins

08-08-2022, 05:17 PM

That's the problem.

The vast majority of people would never do it but while we have idiots chucking stuff at players the rest of us will suffer.

I'm not disagreeing, however it was more the impact on the environment I am concerned with. We can't even get a plasticc straw these days but practices like that take place? It's like pissing into the wind IMO.

08-08-2022, 06:29 PM
There’s was certainly at least one punter in the East who wasn’t particularly pleased with his chips😏

08-08-2022, 07:06 PM
Must say I thought it was better last season too

We arrived as the stadium opened , me and the other half had been busy and never managed to have brekkie so decided we would just get something at stadium

Time we got to the kiosk they had no Burgers or Sausage rolls ready and apparently be another 10/15mins , felt sort for the lad serving me as loads of folk asking and he was confused

Also we are meant to be the greenest club in Scotland but we continue to pour juice/water from a plastic bottle into a plastic cup [emoji85]

ShinyFantastic
08-08-2022, 07:54 PM
Last seasons offering was by far and away the best the catering has ever been at Easter Road, in house and fresh. They’ve essentially sold their soul to the devil for a bit of extra cash, we’ve gone from fresh hot dogs, lovely potato wedges and pizza twists back to overpriced generic burnt frozen chips and “moms kitchen” hot dogs. Very annoying.

08-08-2022, 09:04 PM
Last seasons offering was by far and away the best the catering has ever been at Easter Road, in house and fresh. They’ve essentially sold their soul to the devil for a bit of extra cash, we’ve gone from fresh hot dogs, lovely potato wedges and pizza twists back to overpriced generic burnt frozen chips and “moms kitchen” hot dogs. Very annoying.

Last season was good, but it was no match to what was on offer back in 1995 on opening of the North and South Stands. Curries, fish and chips, pies - all sorts of delicacies, and all of which were fresh and pretty tasty. If we could get it so right 27 years ago, I don’t understand why we can’t do similar now.

21-08-2022, 12:03 PM
Had a first sample of the new catering yesterday, first time I've considered a half-time pie for a while as the queues are usually huge, much more reasonable in FF Lower yesterday, hopefully a sign of things moving faster. As for the culinary treat, Scotch pie was surprisingly good, and at £2.65 seemed fairly reasonably priced, will buy again (provided the queues stay manageable).

21-08-2022, 12:12 PM
Overpriced and just about edible pies, but very happy not to wait so long, much better staff customer ratio.

Bridge hibs
21-08-2022, 12:16 PM
Dowe Egberts coffee, absolute piss water 🤬

21-08-2022, 02:12 PM

They must water it right doon, its great and strong in Holland

Bridge hibs
21-08-2022, 02:14 PM
They must water it right doon, its great and strong in HollandI think they count the coffee granules into the cup before adding the water, very expensive hot cup of water 🤨

21-08-2022, 02:18 PM
I got a steak pie in the east stand yesterday that was absolutely terrific. Much better than it’s been so far this season.

21-08-2022, 02:21 PM

Football coffee is honestly the worst coffee imaginable. Mildly coffee flavoured water that stays at 99 degrees for an unbelievable amount of time.

Bridge hibs
21-08-2022, 02:31 PM
Football coffee is honestly the worst coffee imaginable. Mildly coffee flavoured water that stays at 99 degrees for an unbelievable amount of time.Too true, no lids either, I had a wee lassie sitting directly in front of me, coffee/coloured water was scalding hot that I had to juggle from hand to hand for what felt like an eternity, I didnt want to put it on the floor either in case I knocked it over and the bairn got burned. I dont mind it hot but a lid and a few extra coffee granuals wouldnt go amiss

Fuzzywuzzy
21-08-2022, 02:31 PM
Burger and hotdogs. Didn't think they could be possibly worse than rollover!! Burger was a peelywally colour that I hadn't seen since '95 from a burger van outside park head.

Strange aftertaste as well

21-08-2022, 02:37 PM
Didn’t sample any offerings yesterday, but did notice the queues were pretty short in West Upper. Not sure if that was down to faster turnover or less demand from supporters.

21-08-2022, 02:39 PM
Curry pie and chips yesterday, lovely and huge portion. Expensive, but most places at the same these days - even supermarkets. 5min wait in the East and went down at HT. Seemed much quicker than usual.

21-08-2022, 03:05 PM
Got mine before kick off to avoid the queues in the west upper. A lot more staff serving this week and there wasn't really a wait at all.

Went for the steak pie and Fanta. Stunning. Both of them. No way anyone cold complain about cold pies from that kiosk.

Fanta served out of the bottle into a plastic cup with a plastic lid and straw. No hole in the lid for the straw, rendering both the lid and straw pointless! Was nice and chilled though.

21-08-2022, 04:22 PM
Two Steak Pies £7.70

Served almost immediately

West Lower

Decent but pricey

Everywhere is nowadays

21-08-2022, 04:40 PM
West Upper - no pizza twists, no chips left by 1pm. £1.25 for a (discounted) Mars bar of regulation size.

21-08-2022, 04:41 PM
Didn’t sample any offerings yesterday, but did notice the queues were pretty short in West Upper. Not sure if that was down to faster turnover or less demand from supporters.

I noticed that at Ht - put it down to them having nothing left mate.

21-08-2022, 04:46 PM
So a pretty mixed bag on the catering front yesterday then.

my usual is a scotch pie and bovril, though I didn’t bother yesterday, expecting big queues.

21-08-2022, 04:49 PM
What I can’t understand is why a Macaroni pie is over £1 more expensive than a Mince Pie?
On the positive side, service much quicker, as they seem to have better trained staff

ruthven_raiders
21-08-2022, 04:53 PM
I noticed that at Ht - put it down to them having nothing left mate.

The ovens weren't working in West upper north, so had to walk back down to lower kiosks, they weren't working two weeks ago, thought they'd be fixed by now.....the pies are better than last year tho.

21-08-2022, 04:54 PM
Too true, no lids either, I had a wee lassie sitting directly in front of me, coffee/coloured water was scalding hot that I had to juggle from hand to hand for what felt like an eternity, I didnt want to put it on the floor either in case I knocked it over and the bairn got burned. I dont mind it hot but a lid and a few extra coffee granuals wouldnt go amiss

I don't understand why they cant offer a vaguely drinkable coffee!

Any return of the lovely Kilted Donuts yet?

He's here!
21-08-2022, 05:15 PM
Most of the food and drink sounds awful and horribly overpriced. I've never really understood the need to eat and drink at football, though I guess when it's a lunchtime kick-off (or you have bored kids with you) it makes some sort of sense. I'd rather just eat before or after and choose something I know will be good.

21-08-2022, 05:32 PM
What I can’t understand is why a Macaroni pie is over £1 more expensive than a Mince Pie?
On the positive side, service much quicker, as they seem to have better trained staff

Macaroni pie incurs Double carb tax. Or maybe triple :faf:

21-08-2022, 05:46 PM
Pirie pirie chips was no too bad in the East

21-08-2022, 06:17 PM
Football coffee is honestly the worst coffee imaginable. Mildly coffee flavoured water that stays at 99 degrees for an unbelievable amount of time.

To be fair, that will be handy in the winter providing I can see through the steam cloud!

21-08-2022, 06:17 PM
Macaroni pie incurs Double carb tax. Or maybe triple :faf:

Too true

Hibby_Paul
21-08-2022, 06:31 PM
The chicken place in middle of East was actually very decent and more reasonable.
the spice rice and peas juts over a £1 and the peri peri or jerk chips were £2.30 for decent size portion. Pals had the chicken wings and all said they were good too.

is it only the East that has this new kiosk option? seemed better than other stuff to me?

21-08-2022, 06:36 PM

Pasta mañana? 😁

OstKurve Hibs
21-08-2022, 06:42 PM
I had a sausage roll, was pretty damn good, meat was nice and peppery.

21-08-2022, 07:44 PM
I had a steak pie pre match. It was pretty good if expensive.

21-08-2022, 07:57 PM
Might I make simple suggestion, one that works for me.

Buy your favourite warm snack from Greggs. Keep it in its paper wrapper and put it in another bag. Slip it inside your jacket. Keeps it warm.

Greggs stuff far better and cheaper than Football ground rubbish.

Don’t know why people bother. A fool and his money are easily parted.

21-08-2022, 08:03 PM
Macaroni pie incurs Double carb tax. Or maybe triple :faf:Macaroni pie has macaroni in it, mince pie has sawdust and wallpaper paste. Much cheaper ingredients.

21-08-2022, 08:53 PM
Nice offering of bacon rolls and lorne sausage rolls pre-match in the Albion Bar

Chips with accompanying options post match

Not to mention the beer selection

Very civilised 🤗

21-08-2022, 09:18 PM

Buy your favourite warm snack from Greggs. Keep it in its paper wrapper and put it in another bag. Slip it inside your jacket. Keeps it warm.

Crap suggestion.

You seriously store a hot pie in your pocket for over 45 mins? That's absolutely minging. And Greggs is hardly haute cuisine btw.

Pay the extra few quid and help support your club. The pies are sound.

Anthony Soprano
21-08-2022, 10:07 PM
Crap suggestion.

You seriously store a hot pie in your pocket for over 45 mins? That's absolutely minging. And Greggs is hardly haute cuisine btw.

Pay the extra few quid and help support your club. The pies are sound.

Steak pie I had yesterday was terrible, they were better last season.

Would also of thought the money goes to the catering company and Hibs received a fixed price for letting them set up shop in the stadium.

21-08-2022, 10:32 PM

Quality…so people buying food in a football ground are fools now!

And what if by chance you happen to be going to the game via a route that doesn’t pass a Greggs?

And anyway who the **** (apart from your fine self of course) wants to keep a pie in their jacket for an hour just so they can chuckle at all the fools buying one in the ground?!?

RMQ1967
21-08-2022, 11:01 PM
So a pretty mixed bag on the catering front yesterday then.

my usual is a scotch pie and bovril, though I didn’t bother yesterday, expecting big queues.

I had the scotch pie & bovril. Around £5.45 I think - pie was great- spicey pepper like the good ol days 👌

21-08-2022, 11:36 PM

Greggs pies are crap, if you consider them far better your standards must be low.

Bridge hibs
22-08-2022, 06:59 AM
Crap suggestion.

Pay the extra few quid and help support your club. The pies are sound.Yep, I dont fancy trying to smuggle a scalding cup of coffee into the ground under my jacket 🤣

22-08-2022, 07:15 AM
Are people remembering to use their ST for 10% off? Now thats in place (didn't appear to be for league cup matches) I think the prices aren't too bad and the quality has been ok for me, what i'd expect at a football ground to be fair.

I agree regarding the coffee, it tastes like... nothing. But thats the same as any other instant coffee. I'd like to see the reactions of the Italians if you served them up that in their grounds! Freshly poured double espresso's please Ron.

Bridge hibs
22-08-2022, 07:29 AM
Are people remembering to use their ST for 10% off? Now thats in place (didn't appear to be for league cup matches) I think the prices aren't too bad and the quality has been ok for me, what i'd expect at a football ground to be fair.

I agree regarding the coffee, it tastes like... nothing. But thats the same as any other instant coffee. I'd like to see the reactions of the Italians if you served them up that in their grounds! Freshly poured double espresso's please Ron.My Wife asked about the discount and the young laddie serving just gave her a blank stare and shrugged his shoulders, he asked whom I assumed was his supervisor but she just blanked him as was too busy flapping because the ovens werent working

As for the expresso coffee, oh yeah that would hit the spot 🤣👍

22-08-2022, 07:36 AM
Remember the tiny wooden shed at the top left of the cooshed that only sold pies and bovril.

22-08-2022, 08:01 AM

If I bought a steak bake from Greggs and took it to the ground in my pocket, there's a high chance that the inevitable bump against a fellow fan while entering the ground would squish its burning hot, molten lava-like contents out of its paper bag and into direct contact with my skin, incurring second degree burns and an early visit to A & E.

You need to rethink this.

mcohibs
22-08-2022, 08:03 AM

A fool indeed if you're eating a soggy lukewarm Gregg's pie that you've had to keep in your pocket for about an hour 😂

22-08-2022, 08:04 AM
If I bought a steak bake from Greggs and took it to the ground in my pocket, there's a high chance that the inevitable bump against a fellow fan while entering the ground would squish its burning hot, molten lava-like contents out of its paper bag and into direct contact with my skin, incurring second degree burns and an early visit to A & E.

Pre-pack some tinfoil

22-08-2022, 10:22 AM

And on the flip side, it might not even be hot at all as it is luck of the draw whether you get an item hot or not from Greggs.

22-08-2022, 10:32 AM
And on the flip side, it might not even be hot at all as it is luck of the draw whether you get an item hot or not from Greggs.

This is true; "You have two temperature options today Sir, a) Cold and Clammy or b)The Earths Core"

22-08-2022, 10:37 AM
Had a first sample of the new catering yesterday, first time I've considered a half-time pie for a while as the queues are usually huge, much more reasonable in FF Lower yesterday, hopefully a sign of things moving faster. As for the culinary treat, Scotch pie was surprisingly good, and at £2.65 seemed fairly reasonably priced, will buy again (provided the queues stay manageable).

You think £2.65 is a good price for a mutton pie? Get yourself up to McGills at Shandon for real value for money.

22-08-2022, 10:38 AM

Greggs stuff is frozen *****, quite simply I will not eat it. How they have so many shops is beyond me as the stuff the churn out is woeful.

22-08-2022, 10:41 AM

Its shocking. I like coffee but that stuff is amongst the worst I've tasted and I've drank Nescafe before. That Egberts stuff is crap and ridiculously overpriced.

22-08-2022, 10:46 AM
You think £2.65 is a good price for a mutton pie? Get yourself up to McGills at Shandon for real value for money.

There is a difference between captive audience reasonable price and being able to shop where you want reasonable price, that's like being at Wembley for a concert and going radge because you can get a pint for £3.80 in the Central Bar

22-08-2022, 10:46 AM

Not sure you’d make it back for the 2nd half.

22-08-2022, 10:55 AM
Greggs pies are crap, if you consider them far better your standards must be low.

Sounds like they are just as crap as the ones in ER but £2 cheaper

GreenGray
22-08-2022, 11:16 AM
The chicken place in middle of East was actually very decent and more reasonable.
the spice rice and peas juts over a £1 and the peri peri or jerk chips were £2.30 for decent size portion. Pals had the chicken wings and all said they were good too.

is it only the East that has this new kiosk option? seemed better than other stuff to me?

This sounds decent, not in the west stand as far as I know.

22-08-2022, 11:21 AM

It might be quicker than waiting in the queue 😀

22-08-2022, 11:22 AM
Its shocking. I like coffee but that stuff is amongst the worst I've tasted and I've drank Nescafe before. That Egberts stuff is crap and ridiculously overpriced.

Use it in the house and I think it’s great

22-08-2022, 11:30 AM
Greggs stuff is frozen *****, quite simply I will not eat it. How they have so many shops is beyond me as the stuff the churn out is woeful.

That’s fighting talk in my house

22-08-2022, 11:32 AM
Not sure you’d make it back for the 2nd half.

If you see a boy staggering up the stairs of the east, with a bag of roast tatties in one pocket and a full rotisserie chicken in the other, swearing and shouting about the price of the in-stadium catering, my money is on it being Judas.

22-08-2022, 11:34 AM
That’s fighting talk in my house

Greggs is Tom Kite, not at all sorry. :greengrin

22-08-2022, 11:40 AM

You need to rethink this.Get a very large pair of shoes and get it in that way? Might work with coffee as well if you line them with aluminium.

22-08-2022, 11:54 AM
Greggs is Tom Kite, not at all sorry. :greengrin

I’ve been buying Heinz Tomato soup from Greggs on Easter Rd, pre-match. Absolutely piping hot and tasty
Surprised we don’t sell soup in the kiosks

22-08-2022, 12:14 PM
I can't understand why anyone would go to Gregg's in Easter Road when Baynes is next door. Baynes steak pies are especially magnificient.

22-08-2022, 12:18 PM
I can't understand why anyone would go to Gregg's in Easter Road when Baynes is next door. Baynes steak pies are especially magnificient.
Their chicken pies are even better.

I had the curry pie from the kiosk on Saturday and enjoyed it.

22-08-2022, 12:22 PM

I'll need to have both chicken and steak pies next time so I can do a comparison:greengrin

22-08-2022, 12:24 PM
I’ve been buying Heinz Tomato soup from Greggs on Easter Rd, pre-match. Absolutely piping hot and tasty
Surprised we don’t sell soup in the kiosksAgreed!

Would never have one of their scotch pies tho... I've seen the wee wax cups of pink sludge getting squished into each case and the top being stuck on before it's brought through to the oven.... put me off pies for years :-/

22-08-2022, 12:25 PM

Chicken pies are great, but they are shut on Sundays

22-08-2022, 12:26 PM
Steak pie I had yesterday was terrible, they were better last season.

Would also of thought the money goes to the catering company and Hibs received a fixed price for letting them set up shop in the stadium.

Maybe they do different pies in different stands?!

I'm in the west upper.

The ones on offer there could never be described as terrible. You could line up Jamie, Nigella and Gordon and they'd all be singing the pies' praises!!!

22-08-2022, 12:28 PM

I agree regarding the coffee, it tastes like... nothing. But thats the same as any other instant coffee. I'd like to see the reactions of the Italians if you served them up that in their grounds! Freshly poured double espresso's please Ron.

I knew nothing about the discount.

The lad serving me asked if I was a ST holder and I said yes. No idea that's why he was asking.

22-08-2022, 12:39 PM

Used to get Lentil soup in the East stand.

evy
22-08-2022, 12:41 PM
I don't understand why they cant offer a vaguely drinkable coffee!

Any return of the lovely Kilted Donuts yet?

Not sure if Kilted Donuts was a local link-up last season, but they've shut their shop on Great Junction St and only use the Stockbridge one now.

They're absolutely amazing though, the missus and I are having donuts from there instead of a wedding cake. We got to pick 8 flavours for taste samples and we got 2 'wee kilties' of each flavour for free.

22-08-2022, 12:41 PM
Are the juice cups and lids recyclable? Look like single use plastic things to me.

22-08-2022, 01:39 PM
I’m maybe just too laid back about these things but I’ve never got that particularly bothered, one way or another, about what food is/or sometimes isn’t on offer at ER. The performance and result dictates my match day experience. Ended up in the North Upper Saturday as my daughter wanted to go, she had her heart set on a steak pie or chips and Diet Coke, unfortunately only the Diet Coke was on offer at that time so I introduced her to the delights of a scotch pie!

22-08-2022, 01:51 PM

Hope you’re no sticking it in your zipped coat pocket to keep until half time at Easter Road.

22-08-2022, 02:38 PM
Hope you’re no sticking it in your zipped coat pocket to keep until half time at Easter Road.

Drink it before I go through the turnstiles, don’t think I’m allowed in I take it in, or is it any different from buying a coffee in the ground

Stairway 2 7
22-08-2022, 04:16 PM
sicilian bakery is your answer pre game, unbelievable gear

22-08-2022, 05:04 PM

Definitely and the Greggs founder son is a pedo currently serving 13 and a half years for assaults against boys .

22-08-2022, 05:18 PM

Now your talking but the Black Forest gateau may not survive in a pocket 🤔

evy
23-08-2022, 08:41 AM

If you get a cheese and ham calzone and ask them to heat it up, the molten lava of an inside will be perfect temperature by the time you plonk yourself on your seat.

Green Reaper
23-08-2022, 08:52 AM

Yep, Panzarotte to chomp on walking to the game

23-08-2022, 10:23 AM
Pistachio eclair from Eclair Ecosse.

24-08-2022, 03:34 PM

Agreed...and Baynes was also at the core of the player revolt against 6 pack

24-08-2022, 04:24 PM
Nice offering of bacon rolls and lorne sausage rolls pre-match in the Albion Bar

Chips with accompanying options post match

Not to mention the beer selection

Very civilised 🤗

How are the prices in Albion Bar?

24-08-2022, 05:24 PM
Definitely and the Greggs founder son is a pedo currently serving 13 and a half years for assaults against boys .

Does that impact the quality of their baked goods? 🙄

glenberviehibee
24-08-2022, 05:42 PM
How are the prices in Albion Bar?

£4.90 pint of tennents

Stubbsy90+2
24-08-2022, 05:51 PM

Now you’re talking. Wonderful place.

I actually went to £2 pizza slice next to the programme shop before Saturdays game. Was pretty decent and better than what I’d get in the stadium. :agree:

24-08-2022, 08:22 PM
Those who are offended by my ingenious pie smuggling strategy, need to think again.

I’ve had many a warm pie at the game. In many ways I become one with the pie as we keep
each other warm until half time.

24-08-2022, 08:51 PM
Those who are offended by my ingenious pie smuggling strategy, need to think again.

I’ve had many a warm pie at the game. In many ways I become one with the pie as we keep

I don’t know whether you are describing a symbiotic relationship with the pie or merely a sensual one. Regardless, I hope you washed your hands afterwards.

Hibiza
25-08-2022, 05:07 PM
Catering should be community run , with reasonable profits put back into the community. Not private companies , dishing up poor fare at extravagant prices.

25-08-2022, 05:13 PM
Catering should be community run , with reasonable profits put back into the community. Not private companies , dishing up poor fare at extravagant prices.

The hospitality food is good this season …it’s clear RGs direction around this stuff is the opposite end of the spectrum you suggest (however worthy) ..it’s all about revenue generation for the club

Groathillgrump
25-08-2022, 05:58 PM

I admire your remarkable willpower. :greengrin

There's absolutely no chance I could keep a warm pie out of my gob for 45 seconds never mind 45 minutes!

25-08-2022, 06:02 PM
Maybe they do different pies in different stands?!

I'm in the west upper.

The ones on offer there could never be described as terrible. You could line up Jamie, Nigella and Gordon and they'd all be singing the pies' praises!!!

Im in the West Upper and it was me who started the thread about the abysmal standard of the steak pie….

08-02-2023, 07:30 AM
I attended last night’s Under 18 game and was seated in the East for the first time since the new build

I am a ST holder in the West

On purchasing two Steak Pie’s ( both not for me ) I was asked if I was a ST holder to which I replied in the affirmative and the price immediately went from seven pounds odds to six pounds odds without asking to see my card

An excellent initiative but I have never been asked this question over in the West

Other members of my party last night had the same experience as they are also West ST holders and have never been asked the question over in the West

Just wondering if anyone else noticed this and if this can be carried over to the West if it is not already?

08-02-2023, 07:34 AM
I attended last night’s Under 18 game and was seated in the East for the first time since the new build

On purchasing two Steak Pie’s ( both not for me ) I was asked if I was a ST holder to which I replied in the affirmative and the price immediately went from seven pounds odds to six pounds odds without asking to see my card

An excellent initiative but I have never been asked this question over in the West

Other members of my party last night had the same experience as they are also West ST holders and have never been asked the question over in the West

Just wondering if anyone else noticed this and if this can be carried over to the West if it is not already?

It already happens in the West.

08-02-2023, 07:34 AM

It works in west too. Used it this season already.

08-02-2023, 07:38 AM
It works in west too. Used it this season already.

Never been asked nor has the guy I sit beside West Lower South

Will try again at the next home game

Excellent initiative by the club

Green Man
08-02-2023, 08:42 AM
Yep, it’s 10% off at the kiosks for ST holders. I’ve been asked in the FF every time but one, the time I wasn’t asked I let the server know and they took the 10% off. I’ve never been asked to show my ST. The catering prices are not too bad at ER, and the discount is a nice wee extra.

Bridge hibs
08-02-2023, 08:46 AM
I dont get incentives, I pay them an extra £1 to actually put a spoonful of coffee into my cup 🫣

Fuzzywuzzy
08-02-2023, 08:59 AM
I'd pay the extra quid for something that was hot, resembled what it was meant to be and had a bit of flavour to it.

Jay
08-02-2023, 09:22 AM
I bought a steak pie last night, I very rarely use catering so didn't really think about the 10% off. I was served by a girl who couldn't have cared less, the pie was lukewarm at best and soggy but it actually tasted nice. Would have been a decent pie if it was hot

08-02-2023, 09:30 AM
The pie was rock solid last night. I generally give the food a miss as its never that good. The wedges were decent when they came in at the start of the season but not seen them for a while in the West.

SON OF PADDY
09-02-2023, 12:07 PM
I'm a Season ticket holder in the west lower,every time i go to the kiosks I've always been asked if I have one.

09-02-2023, 12:13 PM
If no one is being asked to produce their ST then it will become the normal that none ST holders also get the discount. Just drop the prices for everyone.

09-02-2023, 02:55 PM
If no one is being asked to produce their ST then it will become the normal that none ST holders also get the discount. Just drop the prices for everyone.

I get the feeling that as Tuesday was not a season ticket game then the 10% discount was not applicable. Whenever I purchase anything they always ask me if I have a season ticket

10-02-2023, 07:30 AM
I get the feeling that as Tuesday was not a season ticket game then the 10% discount was not applicable. Whenever I purchase anything they always ask me if I have a season ticket

I was asked on Tuesday and got the discount

10-02-2023, 09:24 AM
I'm a Season ticket holder in the west lower,every time i go to the kiosks I've always been asked if I have one.
I don’t really buy food much but I’m season ticket holder and I bought pie and sprite west lower and I asked the girl behind the counter do we get a discount and she looked at me with that look what’s he on about, so I just left it.
next time I will be asking for a discount .

10-02-2023, 09:26 AM

You definitely get it at non-ST games.

10-02-2023, 09:29 AM
The pie was rock solid last night. I generally give the food a miss as its never that good. The wedges were decent when they came in at the start of the season but not seen them for a while in the West.

Do you mean the crinkle ones? If so, I think they were last season when we were doing it in house - maybe they were using left over stock this season. They were amazing. I think I saw something that looked similar to them in Lidl recently. I don't have a lot of room in my freezer just now, otherwise I'd have picked up a packet to try.

10-02-2023, 09:35 AM
Do you mean the crinkle ones? If so, I think they were last season when we were doing it in house - maybe they were using left over stock this season. They were amazing. I think I saw something that looked similar to them in Lidl recently. I don't have a lot of room in my freezer just now, otherwise I'd have picked up a packet to try.

Those crinkle v-shaped wedge things were really good. :agree:

They also done a splendid macaroni pie around that time too. Both, with ST discount, for about/under a fiver too.

Pete70
10-02-2023, 09:39 AM
I don’t always get asked in the West Lower if I have a ST but I show them my card anyway and get the discount.

10-02-2023, 09:41 AM

Yes them. I’d have got them every week. 😂

10-02-2023, 12:58 PM
I don’t always get asked in the West Lower if I have a ST but I show them my card anyway and get the discount.

Pete70 on his way to the kiosk with his ST. 😀
https://i.ibb.co/B4FcSN7/Mr-Bean-Flashing-Credit-Card.jpg

10-02-2023, 01:24 PM

Pie and Bean.

Pete70
11-02-2023, 11:17 AM

I’m a bit concerned that people taking pics of me without my permission!

11-02-2023, 12:56 PM
I’m a bit concerned that people taking pics of me without my permission!

😂😂

11-02-2023, 01:04 PM
The steak n haggis pies at Paisley hit the spot.
Scotch pie n Bovril at E.R. is usually no bad, if the pie is a bit overdone then soften with Bovril.

23-04-2023, 06:22 PM
https://twitter.com/i/web/status/1649788811944009729

ICT sausage roll.

Must be a joke, can't see a club selling this 😆