View Full Version : Pitch invasion

Juice-Terry
07-08-2022, 03:32 PM
Being exiled in Ingurlund and celebrating like a mad person when Boyle scored I missed the pitch invasion (or, rather, a few folk on the pitch). What happened? Any footage. According to the Sky Sports pundits it sounded like 2016 again....

07-08-2022, 03:35 PM
There was about a couple of dozen wee laddies max on the park. They were cleared off fairly quickly and a few boos were aimed at them.

That was about it. Not right of course but Hearts fans would have you believe it was like Wembley 77.

Nah, there was around 25 or 30 people on the pitch after the goal, the vast majority of them 12-16 year olds that ran on from the famous five lower. Nobody seemed to do anything other than round around and laugh in the faces of the Hearts players.

A few wee laddies and a couple of attention seekers old enough to better.

07-08-2022, 03:37 PM
There was at least 1 kid who appeared to be about 3 years old 😲😲

07-08-2022, 03:39 PM
Andy walker in counselling, poor guy, there's only so many full scale invasions he can witness.
Every single hun player was thrashed to within an inch of their life and he had to endure the whole thing again.

Maybe he should stick to reporting just on hun pitch invasions...

JamesHFC
07-08-2022, 03:40 PM
Quite enjoyed seeing the fella go and give it the big one to them. They must have been fuming 😂

07-08-2022, 03:41 PM
These idiots, the ones with flares and the others throwing things at players need to **** right off. Embarrassing to say the least not to mention the undoubted fine coming the clubs way.

07-08-2022, 03:42 PM
Not a great look but it all seemed fairly harmless (from what I saw anyway).

One old duffer was just dootering about with his grandchild - absolute walloper

These idiots, the ones with flares and the others throwing things at players need to **** right off. Embarrassing to say the least not to mention the undoubted fine coming the clubs way.

The club won't be fined as we don't have strict liability.

07-08-2022, 03:43 PM

Yep.

Did I also hear a certain song that The The’s made famous coming from the Hearts fans after the chips incident too?

skankomcphee
07-08-2022, 03:49 PM
There are a few things coming out of today which I know I’ll sound like a doomsayer for raising but they nonetheless need to be said:

- Going for a pre-match pee in the East I was shocked to find so many young laddies queuing up for the cubicles, and let’s just say they were pretty vocal in that they weren’t waiting for a No 2, many already with their eyes bulging out of their heids. Until Hibs or the Police (because the last time I checked, cocaine was still a class A drug) make some sort of conscious effort to stamp out drug taking in the stadium (and Hearts too for that matter, because I’ve seen similar scenes at Derbies at Tynecastle) then the unhinged behaviour that follows when young laddies think they’re invincible will undoubtedly follow.

- I was surprised that when items were raining down onto the pitch that the Police didn’t shift from the corners - in days gone by I’d have expected them to move in front of the offending section to at least act as a deterrent, as opposed to continue stand facing the pitch near each corner flag. Maybe I’m just old fashioned though.

- The fact that our Head of Operations and Infrastructure, Garry O’Hagan, felt the need to effectively walk the touch line himself at fulltime suggests to me a breakdown, or at least lack of confidence, in our stewarding and security arrangements today - and one that I would hope would be reviewed as a matter of priority, particular with Rangers our next visitors.

07-08-2022, 03:52 PM
Who cares?

95th minute equaliser for a team told they are crap? Too right a pitch invasion is appropriate.

**** the BBC, **** Tom English and get it right up all Jambos.................

07-08-2022, 03:53 PM
Wee pricks.

07-08-2022, 03:54 PM
Yep.

Did I also hear a certain song that The The’s made famous coming from the Hearts fans after the chips incident too?

They were indeed singing the Billy Boys - their version, but including Fenian Blood on the way down Easter Road pre match and we got a reprise during the game.

****bags, and its a large number of them.

07-08-2022, 03:55 PM
Who cares?

95th minute equaliser for a team told they are crap? Too right a pitch invasion is appropriate.

This. Wee laddies getting carried away. Who cares.

mikefadge
07-08-2022, 03:56 PM
Yep.

The Gorgie Billy Boys?? When was the last time you went to a Derby and didn't hear it?!

07-08-2022, 03:57 PM
Good on them. Nothing wrong with a bit of exuberance at a last minute goal.

Juice-Terry
07-08-2022, 03:58 PM
Who cares?

Oh, I agree. Just want to see the footage.

07-08-2022, 03:59 PM
They were a fairly common occurrence behind the famous five goals not so long ago, around the Mowbray era IIRC

Skol
07-08-2022, 04:12 PM
Embarrassing to watch so called hibs fans throwing stuff and then entering the field of play. Embarrassing.

07-08-2022, 04:21 PM
Embarrassing to watch so called hibs fans throwing stuff and then entering the field of play. Embarrassing.

I agree. We seem to have a rooted problem and it's not going to end well.

07-08-2022, 04:27 PM
The club won't be fined as we don't have strict liability.

Oh yes we will. We have been fined before for just thus behaviour. Nothing to do with stict liability.

LunasBoots
07-08-2022, 04:32 PM
Oh yes we will. We have been fined before for just thus behaviour. Nothing to do with stict liability.

Nope we can't, no strict liability means we can't, other clubs do it all the time and nothing.

LunasBoots
07-08-2022, 04:33 PM
At least it annoyed Walker a bit more 😄

Hibs4185
07-08-2022, 04:35 PM
It must be horrible for the club, especially trying to attract new sponsors and businesses having their names in the new advertising boards etc.

Whilst I don’t condone it, I comelteky understand it. He didn’t get stuff thrown at him because he was a hearts player, it was thrown because in the heat of a derby he deliberately kicked the ball away to waste time.

The football authorities need to realise that most of these incidents occur due to the frustration and anger caused by the abysmal standard of officiating and the antics of some of the players.

Crack down on the pitch and that will bring the biggest improvement in fan behaviour.

07-08-2022, 04:37 PM

As much as it was a great moment, and easy to get carried away....what was that all about? :confused:
Utterly bizarre.

It seemed most of those who came on did so from the much maligned FF Lower, Family section.

07-08-2022, 04:37 PM
I can understand wee kids wanting to run on but grown men? Case in point an older guy that ran on with a wee one and no doubt has got himself banned from Easter Road presumably after following Hibs for decades.

Hibs3-2
07-08-2022, 04:38 PM
Throwing items at opponents players obviously isnt good but todays atmosphere was the most boisterous and hostile (for opponents not on our players backs) that i can remember for a long time - long may it continue. Teams have had it far too easy at ER for too long

07-08-2022, 04:40 PM
I can understand wee kids wanting to run on but grown men? Case in point an older guy that ran on with a wee one and no doubt has got himself banned from Easter Road presumably after following Hibs for decades.

its just baffling behaviour to risk your season ticket or future attendance by jumping on the pitch? I can understand youngsters but older fellas? What actually goes on in their minds!

Lendo
07-08-2022, 04:41 PM
its just baffling behaviour to risk your season ticket or future attendance by jumping on the pitch? I can understand youngsters but older fellas? What actually goes on in their minds!

Lager and Cocaine most likely.

07-08-2022, 04:42 PM
Nope we can't, no strict liability means we can't, other clubs do it all the time and nothing.

Its nothing to do with Strict Liability. The SPFL can and will fine the club...as it has done numerous times previously

The Captain....
07-08-2022, 04:42 PM
Who cares?

**** the BBC, **** Tom English and get it right up all Jambos.................Absolutely correct, **** the hand wringers. When Sky start making a fuss about what goes on everytime we go to Ibrox I might take them seriously.

They want of course and we all know why.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

07-08-2022, 04:43 PM
Throwing items at opponents players obviously isnt good but todays atmosphere was the most boisterous and hostile (for opponents not on our players backs) that i can remember for a long time - long may it continue. Teams have had it far too easy at ER for too long

I thought the atmosphere was typical midday KO flat (at both ends), until the rousing end with a roar as load as I've heard ER when the goal went in.

07-08-2022, 04:55 PM
Its nothing to do with Strict Liability. The SPFL can and will fine the club...as it has done numerous times previously

What's Strict Liability then?

07-08-2022, 05:19 PM

When were we last fined for crowd behaviour? Can you post a link please?

07-08-2022, 05:22 PM
I’m sure it won’t take hibs long to find those on the pitch and ban them, it’s just a rubbish look

Same with throwing stuff, what must you be thinking to want to throw something at someone else cause they play for another team

A game where BK wants to be talking about the excellent hospitality, Boyle signing, full house and a decent game , he is instead having to answer questions about wee dafties

The club and football in general need to make an example. Lifetime ban for any fan entering the field of play outwith an emergency

There are plenty opportunities given for fans to meet the players if they really want in a safe environment, running onto the pitch to meet them isn’t needed

07-08-2022, 05:23 PM
Lager and Cocaine most likely.

Or maybe just temporary lost their minds celebrating a 95th minute derby equaliser?

07-08-2022, 05:27 PM
I went nuts when the goal went in. I was throwing my daughter about with very little regard for her safety tbh. Had I been in the lower tier there's every chance I would have been aeroplaning on the pitch as well. I was stone cold sober too.

Of course it's daft but heat of the moment and all that. It's like players getting pelters for taking their shirts off or running into the crowd. Sometimes these things just happen.

Smokebombs and the like are a bit different as there is an element of pre planning there. Likewise throwing stuff at players isn't on. Someone lobbed a bottle of juice at Shankland after the goal, that concerns me more than some chips tbh albeit neither is right.

In the grand scheme of things it's not that big a deal really. Stupid but I don't think there was any malice in it.

07-08-2022, 05:29 PM
Shouldn't happen of course, also along with whatever was thrown towards the Hertz player at the throw in. The flares are part and parcel of big games nowadays, not saying its right but was always gonna happen when a goal was scored by either team.

07-08-2022, 05:49 PM
Much ado about hee haw

07-08-2022, 05:52 PM
On the main itv news, even before Man City and Man U 😂 massive club

07-08-2022, 05:57 PM
I’m sure it won’t take hibs long to find those on the pitch and ban them, it’s just a rubbish look

Same with throwing stuff, what must you be thinking to want to throw something at someone else cause they play for another team

A game where BK wants to be talking about the excellent hospitality, Boyle signing, full house and a decent game , he is instead having to answer questions about wee dafties

The club and football in general need to make an example. Lifetime ban for any fan entering the field of play outwith an emergency

There are plenty opportunities given for fans to meet the players if they really want in a safe environment, running onto the pitch to meet them isn’t needed

I'm with you here. It just needs to stop.

07-08-2022, 05:59 PM
Need to start putting the big nets up at the front of stands to stop this (like Brondby away). Thats the only thing that will put a stop to it. These are very common in mainland Europe and work but spoil views. We don't want it to go that way, fans need to behave.

07-08-2022, 06:00 PM

Did we not get some sort of punishment for the bottle throwing incident against Rangers?

07-08-2022, 06:03 PM
There are a few things coming out of today which I know I’ll sound like a doomsayer for raising but they nonetheless need to be said:

- Going for a pre-match pee in the East I was shocked to find so many young laddies queuing up for the cubicles, and let’s just say they were pretty vocal in that they weren’t waiting for a No 2, many already with their eyes bulging out of their heids. Until Hibs or the Police (because the last time I checked, cocaine was still a class A drug) make some sort of conscious effort to stamp out drug taking in the stadium (and Hearts too for that matter, because I’ve seen similar scenes at Derbies at Tynecastle) then the unhinged behaviour that follows when young laddies think they’re invincible will undoubtedly follow.

- I was surprised that when items were raining down onto the pitch that the Police didn’t shift from the corners - in days gone by I’d have expected them to move in front of the offending section to at least act as a deterrent, as opposed to continue stand facing the pitch near each corner flag. Maybe I’m just old fashioned though.

- The fact that our Head of Operations and Infrastructure, Garry O’Hagan, felt the need to effectively walk the touch line himself at fulltime suggests to me a breakdown, or at least lack of confidence, in our stewarding and security arrangements today - and one that I would hope would be reviewed as a matter of priority, particular with Rangers our next visitors.

You’ll be pleased to hear then that two of Police Scotlands finest went into the queue of cocaine users in the West at HT and huckled two of them. There were two cubicles, one clearly and very visibly used solely for cocaine. Us poor non users who just wanted a dump had to suffice with just using cubicle #2. Absolutely rife these days.

It’s all a bit daft.

07-08-2022, 06:04 PM
Need to start putting the big nets up at the front of stands to stop this (like Brondby away). Thats the only thing that will put a stop to it. These are very common in mainland Europe and work but spoil views. We don't want it to go that way, fans need to behave.

I could be wrong but I don’t think they’re allowed since the Taylor report after the Hillsborough disaster.

07-08-2022, 06:07 PM

Or just weed-out and ban those responsible without ruining the view for the normal fans.

07-08-2022, 06:07 PM
I could be wrong but I don’t think they’re allowed since the Taylor report after the Hillsborough disaster.

I don't mean perimeter fencing but you know the big nets I'm referring to. Hamilton leave their nets up at throughout the game although they wouldn't stop a pitch invasion.

07-08-2022, 06:08 PM

2019 twice for incidents against both Rangers and Celtic. You'll recall Ron Gordon's first visit to ER? And Leeann Dempsters grovelling apologies? One was suspended I believe because she committed a 6 figure sum to invest in new security systems...ans I'm sure UEFA fined us too for some of the antics against Astarias

07-08-2022, 06:10 PM
Did we not get some sort of punishment for the bottle throwing incident against Rangers?

Not to my knowledge, I believe the fan was identified and banned and also charged.

07-08-2022, 06:11 PM
2019 twice for incidents against both Rangers and Celtic. You'lk recall Ron Gordon's first visit to ER? And Leeann Dempsters grovelling apologies? One was suspended I believe because she committed a 6 figure sum to invest in new security systems.

Sorry I don't recall any such fines.

Can you please provide a link?

07-08-2022, 06:12 PM

07-08-2022, 06:19 PM
2019 twice for incidents against both Rangers and Celtic. You'll recall Ron Gordon's first visit to ER? And Leeann Dempsters grovelling apologies? One was suspended I believe because she committed a 6 figure sum to invest in new security systems...ans I'm sure UEFA fined us too for some of the antics against Astarias

The Rangers fine was for the touchline fracas between the coaching staff.

The Asturias one was a UEFA fine. The SFA don't have strict liability

07-08-2022, 07:15 PM
I thought the atmosphere was typical midday KO flat (at both ends), until the rousing end with a roar as load as I've heard ER when the goal went in.

Where were you sitting? The South end of the East stand was bouncing all game

Mcbizz1998
07-08-2022, 07:17 PM
Little bit of exuberance. Nothing to worry about. [emoji3060]

07-08-2022, 07:18 PM
Being exiled in Ingurlund and celebrating like a mad person when Boyle scored I missed the pitch invasion (or, rather, a few folk on the pitch). What happened? Any footage. According to the Sky Sports pundits it sounded like 2016 again....

Fan footage here

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f6AkutWFzAU

07-08-2022, 07:19 PM
Where were you sitting? The South end of the East stand was bouncing all game

FF Lower.

07-08-2022, 07:30 PM

Same dafties I expect moan on FB or here that the club don’t spend enough on Transfer fees and wages but don’t realise they are dipping the pot

Cletus
07-08-2022, 07:36 PM
The throwing of stuff is pathetic and unacceptable. Funny though that Hertz supporters are calling Hibs fans **** for it while oddly overlooking the fact that they were throwing flares and fireworks. Pish patter whoever does it.

07-08-2022, 07:44 PM
Good on them. Nothing wrong with a bit of exuberance at a last minute goal.

Its worth reminding every Jambo howling at the moon tonight in indignation, of the scenes and pitch invasion at Tynecastle in 2003 when they scored with the last kick of the game to salvage a point in that 4-4 game.

Its kind of alarmed me to reflect that that games almost 20 years ago now, but the point still stands.

skankomcphee
07-08-2022, 07:49 PM
You’ll be pleased to hear then that two of Police Scotlands finest went into the queue of cocaine users in the West at HT and huckled two of them. There were two cubicles, one clearly and very visibly used solely for cocaine. Us poor non users who just wanted a dump had to suffice with just using cubicle #2. Absolutely rife these days.

It’s all a bit daft.

Pleased to hear it - it’s a start, but they should have been doing the same in the East. And the North and the South too, because if the West is now infiltrated with this stuff then I augur it is taking place all over the stadium. I genuinely don’t know how we’ve got to this stage as a society - even a decade ago the prospect of someone doing drugs in the toilets would have been an eyebrow-raising-rarity.

I don’t like cocaine and I loathe cocaine users. Whilst I’ve never indulged, it has destroyed a past relationship for me. I actively go out of my way to avoid it which is why I rarely venture into pubs in the city centre at the weekend. I don’t think it’s a lot to ask to avoid being exposed to it and the behaviours associated with it when I’m attending the football.

hibsfan
07-08-2022, 08:03 PM
Please can those idiots that threw items at Hearts players / fans or entered the field of play after the equaliser - please grow up or **** off. Simply spoiling it for everyone else. You spoilt the cup final win by entering the pitch and robbing us all of what would have been an incredible cup presentation and unfortunately, I worry the same idiots would do the same again next time. GET THEM AWAY FROM THE CLUB - not welcome.

Paulie Walnuts
07-08-2022, 08:05 PM
Quite enjoy it tbh.

Hilarious watching the absolute rage from everyone outside of Hibs when it happens.

07-08-2022, 08:07 PM
A few fans spilling on to the park to celebrate a last minute goal just adds to the occasion imo. No harm was done. The absolute weapons that threw stuff at the Hearts player need banned. Clowns.

07-08-2022, 08:13 PM
Personally thought the pitch invasion was an embarrassment. 12/13 year olds running on the pitch a good couple of mins after we scored. Just gives the ***** in the media another stick..,.

07-08-2022, 08:41 PM
TV cameras picked up the guy who threw the can drinking from the can just before he threw it so would expect some action there.

07-08-2022, 08:50 PM

Probably the same bloke I was talking about. He didn’t appear to be celebrating but just going for a stroll around the pitch with his granddaughter. Even when Barrie was asking them to leave the pitch, he was wandering around without a care in the world. Utterly bizarre behaviour and a ban coming his way, you do wonder what goes through folks heads sometimes

07-08-2022, 08:53 PM
Probably the same bloke I was talking about. He didn’t appear to be celebrating but just going for a stroll around the pitch with his granddaughter. Even when Barrie was asking them to leave the pitch, he was wandering around without a care in the world. Utterly bizarre behaviour and a ban coming his way, you do wonder what goes through folks heads sometimes

I pointed out that daftie to my laddie. Older guy, what was he about?

07-08-2022, 08:58 PM
I pointed out that daftie to my laddie. Older guy, what was he about?

His granddaughter will be saying “can we do that every week Granddad” and he’ll be saying “no, we are not allowed in the ground anymore”. It was like something out of a David Lynch movie

Crunchie
07-08-2022, 09:02 PM
Wee pricks.
Harsh

Mcbizz1998
07-08-2022, 09:06 PM
Although I don’t condone behaviour like this, the boy who ran along the front of the south giving it the GIRUY to those mutants made me smile…..A LOT!

Chorley Hibee
07-08-2022, 10:34 PM
Personally thought the pitch invasion was an embarrassment. 12/13 year olds running on the pitch a good couple of mins after we scored. Just gives the ***** in the media another stick..,.

**** the media!

They're strangely silent when it comes to pitch invasions involving either side of the uglies, or the ***** that visiting fans have to put up with at Ibrox or Parkhead.

I couldn't give a **** what they think.

07-08-2022, 10:54 PM
Please can those idiots that threw items at Hearts players / fans or entered the field of play after the equaliser - please grow up or **** off. Simply spoiling it for everyone else. You spoilt the cup final win by entering the pitch and robbing us all of what would have been an incredible cup presentation and unfortunately, I worry the same idiots would do the same again next time. GET THEM AWAY FROM THE CLUB - not welcome.

Get that right in the bin.

We hadnt won the thing for 114 years, had taken huge slaggings from fans and media.

It was an outpouring of emotion. The only issues arose when the hun bams couldnt take losing and came on for a fight.

Pitch invasions have been part of football since time immemorial. Its only deemed an "issue" when its Hibs.

Mcbizz1998
07-08-2022, 10:57 PM

We hadnt won the thing for 114 years, had taken huge slaggings from fans and media.

It was an outpouring of emotion. The only issues arose when the hun bams couldnt take losing and came on for a fight.

Pitch invasions have been part of football since time immemorial. Its only deemed an "issue" when its Hibs.

Exactly.

Only hearts fans claim it spoilt the cup final. I was on the pitch and I’ll remember it till my dying day.

07-08-2022, 10:58 PM

I went on the pitch at Hampden at full time. Wouldn’t change that day at all. Best day of my life. Couldn’t care less if anyone thinks otherwise to be honest.

07-08-2022, 11:00 PM
About 20 or so folk on the pitch which a combined age of 30.

Chorley Hibee
07-08-2022, 11:00 PM

I went on the pitch at Hampden at full time. Wouldn’t change that day at all. Best day of my life. Couldn’t care less if anyone thinks otherwise to be honest.

Me too, the pitch invasion was the cherry on the cake as far as I'm concerned.

07-08-2022, 11:01 PM

Snap. Anyone trying to claim that day was in anyway spoilt surely cannot be a genuine “hibsfan” in my opinion.

07-08-2022, 11:08 PM
Its worth reminding every Jambo howling at the moon tonight in indignation, of the scenes and pitch invasion at Tynecastle in 2003 when they scored with the last kick of the game to salvage a point in that 4-4 game.

Its kind of alarmed me to reflect that that games almost 20 years ago now, but the point still stands.

theyll have you believe they quietly applauded that equaliser before walking out in frustration that hearts had only drawn 4-4 rather than winning.

they really have made an arse of themselves all over social media today with the ‘celebrating a draw’ pish. I can partly understand it, I know the frustration of a last minute goal going against you, as a Hibs fan I’d say there can’t be many clubs that have suffered it more than us, you just want to lash out and scramble for any sort of moral high ground you can find.., it really is best to say nothing, go home, lie down and let it pass.

07-08-2022, 11:29 PM
Braindead wee pricks who will get us in trouble.

07-08-2022, 11:30 PM

Some of them looked about 12 year old

07-08-2022, 11:40 PM
Some of them looked about 12 year old

They did which suggests that they may have been encouraged to go onto the pitch by an adult.

I wonder if Hibs will consider following through on their warning from last season that they would consider banning people who enter the pitch, including adults who have encouraged children to enter the pitch.

phoenixfire
07-08-2022, 11:43 PM

Agreed ! Showing our club up in a bad way ! The throwing stuff on at players is totally unacceptable in imo !

07-08-2022, 11:44 PM
Mind the Casper derby when Hearts fans invaded the pitch when they were getting beat, never mind slagging us for doing it after a last gasp equaliser!

phoenixfire
07-08-2022, 11:56 PM
Mind the Casper derby when Hearts fans invaded the pitch when they were getting beat, never mind slagging us for doing it after a last gasp equaliser!

Fans aren't suppose to go on the field ! Not slagging you btw ! And I couldn't care less what hearts fans do but like to think we can conduct ourselves in a manner which is fitting with our great club:aok:

08-08-2022, 12:01 AM
Anyone ordered some commemorative shirt personalisation yet?

https://i.postimg.cc/3xctxhTS/3744-FFD3-3228-46-FF-9668-02-BDD9232-E6-D.jpg (https://postimg.cc/sM5YTt17)

And get on the phone to the brewery first thing and get a new guest beer in production for The Albion.

https://i.postimg.cc/W1cJTfFR/090-DECF7-8-AC9-44-B2-B573-45-EA21-F1-DA51.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

08-08-2022, 12:17 AM
Anyone ordered some commemorative shirt personalisation yet?

https://i.postimg.cc/3xctxhTS/3744-FFD3-3228-46-FF-9668-02-BDD9232-E6-D.jpg (https://postimg.cc/sM5YTt17)

And get on the phone to the brewery first thing and get a new guest beer in production for The Albion.

https://i.postimg.cc/W1cJTfFR/090-DECF7-8-AC9-44-B2-B573-45-EA21-F1-DA51.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

“but..but…but.. that was different! We were away from home… and it was from 40 yards… and we were down to 10 men… and none of our lot ran on the pitch!”.

clearly it’s hearts fans who decide the criteria by which a goal can be celebrated.

incidentally… if any of them do try and bring up the so called pitch invasion (really a dozen or so wee lads) as evidence of us being small-time, just show them this…

https://youtu.be/6a1AfnyrZZA

game, set and match.

phoenixfire
08-08-2022, 12:42 AM
“but..but…but.. that was different! We were away from home… and it was from 40 yards… and we were down to 10 men… and none of our lot ran on the pitch!”.

clearly it’s hearts fans who decide the criteria by which a goal can be celebrated.

incidentally… if any of them do try and bring up the so called pitch invasion (really a dozen or so wee lads) as evidence of us being small-time, just show them this…

https://youtu.be/6a1AfnyrZZA

game, set and match.

More idiots there too ! No pitch invasions' no trouble ! No stuff thrown on at players' no one gets hurt ! And club doesn't get punished ! All good then!

08-08-2022, 06:40 AM
Come on, there's something about a Hibs pitch invasion thats just beautiful. :greengrin

08-08-2022, 06:42 AM

As long as security is devolved to minimum wage, minimum trained stewards and the police operate a retrospective (possible knock on the door months later after looking at the CCTV footage at their leisure) rather than a deterrent (being in the stands patrolling the gangway and going into pull out troublemakers) policing policy people know they can get away with doing more or less whatever they want whether its coke in the bogs or chucking stuff on the pitch.

Like you Im old-fashioned enough to remember when the police waded in and actually policed the games. The remote chance of someone getting huckled months later from images on the CCTV does nothing to improve the "match day experience" for anyone unfortunate to be in the same vicinity as our own neds.

08-08-2022, 06:45 AM
As long as security is devolved to minimum wage, minimum trained stewards and the police operate a retrospective (possible knock on the door months later after looking at the CCTV footage at their leisure) rather than a deterrent (being in the stands patrolling the gangway and going into pull out troublemakers) policing policy people know they can get away with doing more or less whatever they want whether its coke in the bogs or chucking stuff on the pitch.

Like you Im old-fashioned enough to remember when the police waded in and actually policed the games. The remote chance of someone getting huckled months later from images on the CCTV does nothing to improve the "match day experience" for anyone unfortunate to be in the same vicinity as our own neds.

Excellent post. 👍

08-08-2022, 06:56 AM
Wonder who the millionaire was that threw the chips?

08-08-2022, 07:00 AM
More idiots there too ! No pitch invasions' no trouble ! No stuff thrown on at players' no one gets hurt ! And club doesn't get punished ! All good then!

They are not the same thing -

Pitch invasions have been with football for decades, they are a celebration, an outpouring of emotion.Yesterdays came from a goal from a returning hero, last kick of the ball, a derby.............is there a better time?
Missiles at players should be an instant life ban.

Dont conflate the two, they are competely different.

08-08-2022, 08:55 AM
Let’s not buy into the rhetoric that pitch invasions are “disgraceful”. If it happens and a player is deliberately hurt, absolutely, not acceptable. A handful of folk on there celebrating though…got to be honest, I love to see it!

Mcbizz1998
08-08-2022, 09:15 AM
I went nuts when the goal went in. I was throwing my daughter about with very little regard for her safety tbh. Had I been in the lower tier there's every chance I would have been aeroplaning on the pitch as well. I was stone cold sober too.

Of course it's daft but heat of the moment and all that. It's like players getting pelters for taking their shirts off or running into the crowd. Sometimes these things just happen.

Smokebombs and the like are a bit different as there is an element of pre planning there. Likewise throwing stuff at players isn't on. Someone lobbed a bottle of juice at Shankland after the goal, that concerns me more than some chips tbh albeit neither is right.

In the grand scheme of things it's not that big a deal really. Stupid but I don't think there was any malice in it.

Yeah agree. I was up on the railings of the exit. Looking back I’m not sure what exactly I was doing but at the time it seemed to make perfect sense.

Sheffhibee
08-08-2022, 09:28 AM
"Hibs were quick to release a statement condemning the pitch incursions and use of pyros as well as the objects thrown at Hearts players, including Alex Cochrane as he took a throw-in. The incidents will be reviewed from the images retrieved from the club's CCTV cameras, the statement advised. "Appropriate action will be taken," Hibs added.

But surely the most senseless actions were those of the Hearts supporter(s) who threw flares onto the pitch that narrowly missed their own goalkeeper, Craig Gordon, in the direct aftermath of Lawrence Shankland’s fine opener. One simmered dangerously by the veteran’s feet."

from The Scotsman today by Alan Pattullo
No statement from Hearts condemming their owns fans behaviour ?? Funny That !!!

B

08-08-2022, 09:32 AM
They were indeed singing the Billy Boys - their version, but including Fenian Blood on the way down Easter Road pre match and we got a reprise during the game.

****bags, and its a large number of them.
I thought I’d heard that word. I have tinnitus so don’t always hear things the best but cheers for the confirmation.

WestStandWillie
08-08-2022, 09:50 AM
I’m more concerned with the idiots throwing missiles and powdering their noses in the bogs.

Club need a zero tolerance approach on these numpties. If you need a line of coke to get through a football match then you have serious issues.

08-08-2022, 10:08 AM

08-08-2022, 10:19 AM
Let’s not buy into the rhetoric that pitch invasions are “disgraceful”. If it happens and a player is deliberately hurt, absolutely, not acceptable. A handful of folk on there celebrating though…got to be honest, I love to see it!

I don't love to see it. I'd ban anyone identifiable in the footage. We shouldn't wait until a player IS hurt before we do something about it. Too many drugged up numpties in our support to be taking any chances.

LunasBoots
08-08-2022, 10:28 AM
"Hibs were quick to release a statement condemning the pitch incursions and use of pyros as well as the objects thrown at Hearts players, including Alex Cochrane as he took a throw-in. The incidents will be reviewed from the images retrieved from the club's CCTV cameras, the statement advised. "Appropriate action will be taken," Hibs added.

But surely the most senseless actions were those of the Hearts supporter(s) who threw flares onto the pitch that narrowly missed their own goalkeeper, Craig Gordon, in the direct aftermath of Lawrence Shankland’s fine opener. One simmered dangerously by the veteran’s feet."

from The Scotsman today by Alan Pattullo
No statement from Hearts condemming their owns fans behaviour ?? Funny That !!!

B

The flare thing has been failed to be stomped down on for years and the problem has got so bad we see whole stands filled with them now.

Good that Hibs released a statement, the object throwing especially against Hearts and Sevco brings out far more coke and alcohol numpties who can't help themselves. It's not just a Hibs problem mind you, objects where being exchanged between both sets of fans at points. In a game last season against Rangers a number of stewards where also injured by away supporters aswell.

Skol
08-08-2022, 10:36 AM
It’s sad that people are condoning the pitch invasion. Enjoy the goal in the stands. There is no need to be on the pitch and it only shows the club in a bad light.

So does the throwing of objects. Just plain stupid

Not sure if anyone noticed by Gordon had a go at his own fans about the flare in his six yard box after hearts scored.

08-08-2022, 10:44 AM
It’s sad that people are condoning the pitch invasion. Enjoy the goal in the stands. There is no need to be on the pitch and it only shows the club in a bad light.

Not sure if anyone noticed by Gordon had a go at his own fans about the flare in his six yard box after hearts scored.

After seeing the smoke bomb explode while the Hun was holding it I’m surprised anyone takes a risk with any form of pyrotechnics, but maybe that’s just me.

08-08-2022, 11:00 AM
Snap. Anyone trying to claim that day was in anyway spoilt surely cannot be a genuine “hibsfan” in my opinion.

Or mine .... The pitch invasion absolutely made the day and if police Scotland took the pet and stopped Hibs taking the cup round even after all but 3 Huns had left the stadium that's their problem, not Hibs.

The only thing that I find disappointing about the whole thing is that Hibs haven't issued an updated DVD of the day that includes the pitch invasion and fans videos of it and the last 5 minutes of the game .... I would pay £50 for it no problem :greengrin

08-08-2022, 11:16 AM
The Gorgie Billy Boys?? When was the last time you went to a Derby and didn't hear it?!

They added an old sevco ditty as well yesterday... " i was born under a union flag"
The anti Catholic song they used to belt out at Ibrox,that paid homage to the UVF in the North of Ireland.

I personally knew heartz supporters who were also in the Orange Order.
Not socially of course, just in the workplace ,East lothian punters they were.
Diehard jambos,home and away when not working
When redundancies ,P45s were handed out ,guess who was first to get emptied
Not them!

I chuckled when i noticed Club2012 had a player named Sands

08-08-2022, 11:17 AM
So far as yesterday goes I'm not going to wet my knickers over a few kids running on the pitch after a last second equaliser in a derby, scored by the one player we would all have wanted to be the one to score it.

Folk chucking stuff at players is another matter, it's totally unacceptable, if it had just been chips then ok you could have a bit of a laugh about it, but it wasn't and a ciggy lighter thrown from 10 yards or so could potentially put someones eye out.

As for the pyro .... same equivalence applies ... chucking a smoke bomb onto the pitch is one thing, unacceptable but probably not that dangerous. Throwing a lit flare is a totally different matter, that has the potential to seriously injure someone and in the case of Hearts very nearly one of their own players. Not to mention ruin a massively expensive fitba pitch.

Whatever the case I find the whole thing bloody annoying and I wish the dumbass idiots doing it would just give it a rest ....... embarrassed by it though? Nah not really, why should I be, its not me doing it.

j'adorehibs
08-08-2022, 11:49 AM

even stopped to take photographs!!

Lendo
08-08-2022, 12:03 PM
I’m more concerned with the idiots throwing missiles and powdering their noses in the bogs.

Club need a zero tolerance approach on these numpties. If you need a line of coke to get through a football match then you have serious issues.

I'm always surprised that Police Scotland don't have sniffer dogs outside the turnstiles in the East. Would be rich pickings for them.

phoenixfire
08-08-2022, 12:27 PM

Agree with this! No need to be on pitch at all it will eventually get outta hand and a player will be attacked ! The throwing of stuff is awful too !there's enough people in media dying to have a go at our club without us making it easy for them to do so!

archie
08-08-2022, 12:32 PM
Agree with this! No need to be on pitch at all it will eventually get outta hand and a player will be attacked ! The throwing of stuff is awful too !there's enough people in media dying to have a go at our club without us making it easy for them to do so!Ok - but let's strip the Jambos out of this. Footballers are just guys at their work. Would we be so relaxed about it if there was a pitch invasion or objects thrown at Tynecastle?

Peanut Shaz
08-08-2022, 12:33 PM
I'm always surprised that Police Scotland don't have sniffer dogs outside the turnstiles in the East. Would be rich pickings for them.

Said this last night. Dogs up and down the queues same as at airports. Problem solved before it starts.

08-08-2022, 12:46 PM
Sniffer dogs for a few lines of coke?

They’re hardly bringing kilos of the stuff into ER to sell!

There’s a long thread about drug deaths in the Holy Ground. In it, the vast majority of the chat is trust drug users are victims and that they need help.

Jump over to here and it’s a different story entirely. They’e all pricks who should be locked up!!

It’s really difficult trying to keep up with the prevailing mood on here at times!!

Peanut Shaz
08-08-2022, 12:56 PM
[QUOTE=WhileTheChief..;7058640]Sniffer dogs for a few lines of coke?

That's not the point though. These idiots are spoiling matches for others with their behaviour. Stamp it out in the short term and they'll get the message it's not acceptable. No one said they should be banged up, just banned from matches as per the weekly announcement regarding unacceptable behaviour leading to a football banning order.

08-08-2022, 01:07 PM
Yeah I don’t think we get to decide what action the police take!!

You don’t want them banged up, just banned from ER. Ok, so the police just ignore class a drug possession and use by minors and you’re ok with that?

I don’t think the police could do that. If they find you with cocaine on you, don’t you automatically get charged?

Is that really the route we want to go down? A few young lads getting a criminal record for such a minor thing as this?

Check the thread in the holy ground if you can be assed with a long read.

08-08-2022, 01:15 PM

While I agree about throwing things (ban them!) I disagree that the cup win was spoiled by what was a spontaneous outpouring of joy. Far from spoiling anything I thought it just helped make an incredible occasion even more special.

Peanut Shaz
08-08-2022, 01:19 PM
Yeah, charge them. They are commiting a crime possessing a class a drug. Age is immaterial. Dontneed to read the other thread.I work in a sector and area of Edinburgh where I see the effects of casual and long term drug use. I see the outcome every working day.

08-08-2022, 02:20 PM
Is there any evidence that the folk that threw things and ran on the pitch were on coke or are we just jumping to conclusions? One of the videos looked like a grandad with a small child on the pitch just casually strolling around. There will have been countless people on coke at football all over the country. How many pitch invasions and objects were thrown? It's probably got more to do with people having an extreme hatred of their local rivals and a 95th miute leveller after listening them gloating for the whole of the second half. For clarity i'm not condoning objects being thrown. Should be a ban.

08-08-2022, 02:23 PM

Dogs would be high as kites 5 minutes after turnstiles open!

08-08-2022, 02:26 PM
I think we need to stop calling it an 'invasion'. It seems to be the rhetoric of Hearts fans deriding us for 'celebrating a draw' and the media looking to make the whole affair a far bigger deal than it was.

It was about 20 people max dancing about on the pitch, most of them on the sidelines, half a dozen in the 18 yard box and 1 guy up by the Hearts fans.

Invasion sounds like there were thousands streaming on and all control of the situation was lost. We scored, a few people ran on, they got told to get off, they got booed a bit then they walked off. The whole thing was done and dusted in under 2 minutes.

It's wrong, we all know the pitch is for players etc etc but 'invasion' is just OTT nonsense.

Skol
08-08-2022, 02:45 PM
Call it what you want but it was still wrong and it took a bit of the shine off the celebrations for me as I knew what was to follow.

I felt the same in 2016. Absolutely pointless and to say it’s ok cos it was a bit of exhuberance is just wrong.

Crunchie
08-08-2022, 03:55 PM
Call it what you want but it was still wrong and it took a bit of the shine off the celebrations for me as I knew what was to follow.

I felt the same in 2016. Absolutely pointless and to say it’s ok cos it was a bit of exhuberance is just wrong.
You can't in any way compare a couple of dozen neds yesterday to the final, there's no comparison whatsoever.

Bridge hibs
08-08-2022, 04:44 PM
My Wife grabbed me into a bear hug & squished the pee out of me, 😵 next time hibs score Im running onto that ****ing pitch, peed pants and 3 broken ribs is not fun, bitch !! 😳

08-08-2022, 05:37 PM
That was a fantastic day as was the cup parade the next day.
However, it was always a dream of mine that one day I would see Hibs parade the Scottish Cup cup round Hampden. That was denied me by pitch invasion.
I've been living and breathing Hibs for well over 60 years and given my advancing years it is probably unlikely the opportunity will occur again though I can always hope.
Like the vast majority of fans at Hampden that day it never crossed my mind to run on the park just as it never crossed my mind on Sunday.
So you can take your stupid opinion and stick it.

08-08-2022, 05:43 PM
However, it was always a dream of mine that one day I would see Hibs parade the Scottish Cup cup round Hampden. That was denied me by pitch invasion.
I've been living and breathing Hibs for well over 60 years and given my advancing years it is probably unlikely the opportunity will occur again though I can always hope.
Like the vast majority of fans at Hampden that day it never crossed my mind to run on the park just as it never crossed my mind on Sunday.

Thought it made the occasion more iconic to be honest.

08-08-2022, 05:45 PM
Thought it made the occasion more iconic to be honest.

same. No one’s ever forgetting that Final and it’s aftermath

08-08-2022, 06:39 PM
B

Agree. I’ve seen far too many Hibs players going up to collect their Scottish Cup losers medals and really wanted to see Rangers getting theirs followed by our lap of honour. Must be an old man thing.

09-08-2022, 02:28 AM
B

Agree. I’ve seen far too many Hibs players going up to collect their Scottish Cup losers medals and really wanted to see Rangers getting theirs followed by our lap of honour. Must be an old man thing.

I'm sure that mob would've found another excuse not to go collect their losers medals.

09-08-2022, 05:16 AM
I thought the pitch invasion at Hampden was absolutely fantastic. Brilliant scenes and an outpouring of joy.

I'm Spartacus
09-08-2022, 10:13 AM
Summed up pretty well as 'Wee laddies', but there was one huge fat ****** in the centre circle in a black tracksuit who looked about 16! Here big man, if you can jump over a wall and run like that in 60 seconds then you'll add years onto your life :)

What the **** was he expecting to happen when he got there?!

I'm Spartacus
09-08-2022, 10:19 AM
Hampden was iconic (although the part where it became a battle ground with the horses etc not so much!). The pitch invasion followed by Sunshine on Leith can never be beaten as a celebration.

Sunday was just wee fannies IMO.

09-08-2022, 11:07 AM
Has a wall at front of FF been replaced with a metal railing? Had noticed the railings at the Clyde game and wondered if it was always like that. Easier to get on the pitch? Still got the new digital ad boards to negotiate as well I suppose.

09-08-2022, 11:31 AM
Some people are on the pitch,they think its all over !
Invasion indeed .What a load of tripe.
More turned up at my neighbours bbq that night.

Its them,Mum! They cannot behave.
Invasions and assaults by the big bad boys.They need jailed.
We only threw yon stuff that goes on fire and Cochrane did a Lennon and cupped his ears at the East.
Uncle Beaton should get a new watch tae.Its just no fair,mum.
Dinnae gie them the full stand when they next come to our midden.
That will tell them!

09-08-2022, 11:54 AM
It’s funny for about five seconds. Then, it just makes the club look amateurish. These wee neds need to stay off the park.

09-08-2022, 11:57 AM

I'm 62 years old so probably close to the old git category, but I have to say there isn't a single little bit of me that had the enjoyment of Sunday or 2016 spoiled by 20 folk on the pitch yesterday or 5,000 at the cup final.

No I don't condone folk running onto the pitch, but I am chilled enough to put stuff into context. Yesterday was a few dafties who were practically cleared from the pitch by the time the players goal celebration had finished, for sure chuck the ones who can be identified a ban, running onto the pitch during the game should never be tolerated by the club, but it was hardly the sacking of Rome.

The 2016 pitch invasion was nothing less than an iconic moment in the history of the club in my opinion and far from detracting from the day it was the cherry on top ...... I was 56 years old then and had seen Hibs lose 4 Scottish cup finals in person prior to the day, including being at all 3 games in 1979 .... would I have swapped the pitch invasion for a chance to see Hibs walk round half the stadium with the cup .... not then, not now, not ever :aok:

No offense intended mate, I respect that things might be different for you.

09-08-2022, 12:19 PM
Said this last night. Dogs up and down the queues same as at airports. Problem solved before it starts.

Maybe we could just try stewarding/policing the toilets. I have no desire to be treated any more like a second class citizen whilst attending football matches than I am now.

That day was that day, the over exuberance included (which I didn't enjoy much at the time) was part of it, but deary me, you're getting a bit carried away with the last bit of your post :greengrin

I suspect the dafties who sent their bairns onto the pitch, or accompanied them on (like yon daft auld boy who looked like he was just out for a stroll with his grandchild) will shortly be experiencing some kind of club communication about it. I do hope that the pricks throwing stuff at their players get identified, just not acceptable.

09-08-2022, 12:23 PM
These things shouldn't happen at the games and folk need to get a grip. We are not the only club that has had these incidents an what annoys me is the holier than thou attitude of fans of other clubs. No mention of the flare thrown by Hearts fans that landed near Craig Gordon. It makes headlines in the papers for a few days and things move on. I am all for strict liability and points deductions,this would hit the old firm move than other clubs. Until then we just move on.

09-08-2022, 12:35 PM
These things shouldn't happen at the games and folk need to get a grip. We are not the only club that has had these incidents an what annoys me is the holier than thou attitude of fans of other clubs. No mention of the flare thrown by Hearts fans that landed near Craig Gordon. It makes headlines in the papers for a few days and things move on. I am all for strict liability and points deductions,this would hit the old firm move than other clubs. Until then we just move on.

And there in a nutshell is why we will never have strict liability.

09-08-2022, 01:24 PM
And there in a nutshell is why we will never have strict liability.
100% agree. There has always been numpties that go to games and there always will be some teams have far more than other team.

09-08-2022, 01:38 PM
The throwing incidents are a bit of a concern tbh. It's happened quite a few times now in big games. I don't care that it happened hundreds of times to us at Ibrox. That's part of why we despise them. We're better than that and needs eradicated

"By all means enjoy it, but enjoy it by being ****ing disciplined" the words of Neil Warnock. All it takes is one bam to do it and attack an opposing player then we're in bother, again. Limbs in the stand is better. Let's not bring unnecessary bother to ourselves

09-08-2022, 02:04 PM
The throwing incidents are a bit of a concern tbh. It's happened quite a few times now in big games. I don't care that it happened hundreds of times to us at Ibrox. That's part of why we despise them. We're better than that and needs eradicated

"By all means enjoy it, but enjoy it by being ****ing disciplined" the words of Neil Warnock. All it takes is one bam to do it and attack an opposing player then we're in bother, again. Limbs in the stand is better. Let's not bring unnecessary bother to ourselves

We seem to be by far the worst club for throwing stuff at players which is pretty feral behaviour in my book.

09-08-2022, 02:07 PM
It’s funny for about five seconds. Then, it just makes the club look amateurish. These wee neds need to stay off the park.

The players also probably want to celebrate with their teammates and in front of their fans without wee fannys trying to get in on it.

09-08-2022, 02:15 PM
Sniffer dogs for a few lines of coke?

There’s a long thread about drug deaths in the Holy Ground. In it, the vast majority of the chat is trust drug users are victims and that they need help.

Jump over to here and it’s a different story entirely. They’e all pricks who should be locked up!!

It’s really difficult trying to keep up with the prevailing mood on here at times!!

If they want to take coke that’s their choice, they should do it at home though. It’s selfish behaviour to do it at the football. Surely something like sniffer dogs is a deterrent to them bringing coke into the stadium. If they get caught it’s their own fault.

happiehibbie
09-08-2022, 03:35 PM

I totally agree

09-08-2022, 03:40 PM
I'm 62 years old so probably close to the old git category, but I have to say there isn't a single little bit of me that had the enjoyment of Sunday or 2016 spoiled by 20 folk on the pitch yesterday or 5,000 at the cup final.

No I don't condone folk running onto the pitch, but I am chilled enough to put stuff into context. Yesterday was a few dafties who were practically cleared from the pitch by the time the players goal celebration had finished, for sure chuck the ones who can be identified a ban, running onto the pitch during the game should never be tolerated by the club, but it was hardly the sacking of Rome.

The 2016 pitch invasion was nothing less than an iconic moment in the history of the club in my opinion and far from detracting from the day it was the cherry on top ...... I was 56 years old then and had seen Hibs lose 4 Scottish cup finals in person prior to the day, including being at all 3 games in 1979 .... would I have swapped the pitch invasion for a chance to see Hibs walk round half the stadium with the cup .... not then, not now, not ever :aok:

No offense intended mate, I respect that things might be different for you.

Couldn't agree more. 2016 was the best weekend of my life as a Hibs Supporter, wouldn't change a thing...:flag:

09-08-2022, 04:20 PM

Unfortunately a very small minority of our support are not "better than that" and seem quite happy to engage in exactly the same type of behaviour that we openly condemn on here from Celtic and Rangers fans.

Hopefully anyone responsible for throwing objects at Hearts players on Sunday can be identified by the club and banned for life. If you think throwing things at people who are simply doing their job is acceptable then I don't care what club you support, you're **** and should be nowhere near a football stadium.

09-08-2022, 05:09 PM
Bit concerned we have Rangers next with the hatred ramped up a notch from the Hearts game. Any Rangers player down at that corner of the east stand is liable to have something thrown at them. Let's hope the fans behave themselves as only does us harm. They create a brilliant atmosphere but don't need the nonsense.

Johnny Clash
09-08-2022, 07:40 PM
I’d be surprised if there wasn’t a couple of cctv cameras pointed at that end of the East.
Culprits will be easily spotted and presumably banned. Eventually all the brave chip throwers will be gone .

phoenixfire
09-08-2022, 11:19 PM
Surprised how many of our fans think its ok to go on the pitch ! Think it could possible turn into something much worse if it's not stopped though !

09-08-2022, 11:56 PM
The club should be more vocal when they identify and ban people. I get why they might want to do it discreetly but if they put something on the official website or twitter each time saying x number of fans have been banned then it would act as a deterrent. It won't of course deter everyone but you'd think it might make some think twice before throwing something or going on the pitch.

10-08-2022, 12:08 AM
Fan footage here

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f6AkutWFzAU

That is quality footage- another angle of the goal and the scenes afterwards!

Great to see these stands busting full and bouncing!

phoenixfire
10-08-2022, 12:09 AM
They are not the same thing -

Pitch invasions have been with football for decades, they are a celebration, an outpouring of emotion.Yesterdays came from a goal from a returning hero, last kick of the ball, a derby.............is there a better time?
Missiles at players should be an instant life ban.

Dont conflate the two, they are competely different.

Just cause pitch invasion have been around for decades doesn't make them right! Celebrations and outpouring of emotions ? Don't get that to be honest ! Can we not celebrate from our place in stands? Emotions always run high at games as they did when as you say returning hero scores last kick of the ball thou most hibs fans done the right thing and stayed in the stands! Is there a better time for pitch invasion you ask? No time is good for it ! Lastly don't conflate the two you say ? Completely different ? Though what happens next time if one of our fans break onto pitch and attack a player ? Still emotions and celebrations? I think not!

10-08-2022, 01:31 AM

Throwing stuff at players is never acceptable under any circumstances and no exceptions. Hopefully the CCTV will weed out the idiots that have done this -they deserve to be banned.

I'm less stressed about the mini-pitch invasion under the circumstances - but this is also to be discouraged. We are all there to see the game and not some bunch of wee choobs wanting to cuddle the players and holding things up.

10-08-2022, 07:01 AM
Just cause pitch invasion have been around for decades doesn't make them right! Celebrations and outpouring of emotions ? Don't get that to be honest ! Can we not celebrate from our place in stands? Emotions always run high at games as they did when as you say returning hero scores last kick of the ball thou most hibs fans done the right thing and stayed in the stands! Is there a better time for pitch invasion you ask? No time is good for it ! Lastly don't conflate the two you say ? Completely different ? Though what happens next time if one of our fans break onto pitch and attack a player ? Still emotions and celebrations? I think not!

Yes, fully agree.

I see some say "but, they make the day more memorable". Yes, maybe for those who run onto the pitch, but not for those who are watching in the stands.

Some of my most enjoyable days as a Hibs fan, have been partly spoiled by fans running onto the pitch resulting in the celebration being curtailed or even cancelled. Someone above says that means I'm not a Hibs fan. What a load of rubbish! I loved everything about the days in question. I just wish I could see the players dancing with joy on the pitch and interacting with the whole support, but that doesn't happen with fans invade the pitch. It's got to stop!

Like I said, I fully enjoyed the promotion party match when McLeish was our manager, the return to Easter Road following the 2007 cup win, the Scottish Cup final and other events, but they were all interrupted or cancelled because of fans running onto the pitch. I would have loved to see the SC Final team parade the cup around Hampden as the 2007 LC team did. Suppose I'll just have to wait until the next one. :rolleyes:

10-08-2022, 07:09 AM
Whilst I thought the lads on the pitch was slightly embarrassing, I can understand why some do get over excited by what happened last minute.

It did appear to be a domino effect but it was 20 bairns tops, I don’t think we should turn this into a bigger deal than it is.

I totally condone the throwing of any objects, chips included, at any players in unacceptable.

We all need to be on our best behaviour at our next home game.

I'm Spartacus
10-08-2022, 09:11 AM
https://vimeo.com/738046585

One hurter sent this to our chat, could've been a sore one. I don't understand the throwing at all, if that hits him then the game is stopping for quite a while and we are front page news :(

10-08-2022, 12:10 PM

Agreed. Pitch invasions date from times when you were lucky to have a bit of rope separating the crowd from the playing surface and fans were largely better behaved. Things have moved on a great deal from then, including health and safety requirements and the lessons that should have been learned from various tragedies over those decades. It is crass stupidity to use the aye been argument when it comes to safety.

10-08-2022, 12:41 PM
https://vimeo.com/738046585

One hurter sent this to our chat, could've been a sore one. I don't understand the throwing at all, if that hits him then the game is stopping for quite a while and we are front page news :(

Really good of you to draw further attention to it though eh?🤔

10-08-2022, 12:50 PM
There's a video on my phone of the 'invasion', the estimate someone did earlier looks spot on from freeze frame, looks like there are 19 laddies running around the FF side of the pitch and one rotund gentleman incongruously walking around the centre circle area.

The Normandy landings it was not.

10-08-2022, 01:45 PM
Agreed. Pitch invasions date from times when you were lucky to have a bit of rope separating the crowd from the playing surface and fans were largely better behaved. Things have moved on a great deal from then, including health and safety requirements and the lessons that should have been learned from various tragedies over those decades. It is crass stupidity to use the aye been argument when it comes to safety.

I would say crowd behaviour is better now than it was in days gone by. When was the last time you saw anybody being taken away for hospital treatment?

I'm Spartacus
10-08-2022, 01:49 PM
There's a video on my phone of the 'invasion', the estimate someone did earlier looks spot on from freeze frame, looks like there are 19 laddies running around the FF side of the pitch and one rotund gentleman incongruously walking around the centre circle area.

The Normandy landings it was not.

The boy that's at their goalmouth in seconds has speed like! It's like he comes out a hole in the ground.

10-08-2022, 01:56 PM
The club should be more vocal when they identify and ban people. I get why they might want to do it discreetly but if they put something on the official website or twitter each time saying x number of fans have been banned then it would act as a deterrent. It won't of course deter everyone but you'd think it might make some think twice before throwing something or going on the pitch.

Yawn, get a life will ya

**** the hertz

10-08-2022, 03:05 PM
stands are for the fans

the pitch is for the players

fact and end of

10-08-2022, 09:00 PM
The only way to stop idiots chucking stuff is for the fans to police themselves. The Police and Stewards can't see everyone. If you see some moron chuck something then report it and get them chucked out! Someone must have been beside or witness who threw the objects on Sunday. Speak up and make sure they don't get away with it. Forget all the childish "am no a grass" pish - it's about protecting the reputation of our club and stopping someone gets hurt. As much as we all hate hearts players and give them pelters, at the end of the day they are still just normal guys doing their job and don't deserve to have god knows what chucked at them.

Football and derbys in particular fuel a lot of strong emotions but some folk just get too carried away and make an arse of themselves and its a shame on the thousands of folk, the majority who do nothing wrong because we all get the bad name.

phoenixfire
10-08-2022, 10:51 PM
The only way to stop idiots chucking stuff is for the fans to police themselves. The Police and Stewards can't see everyone. If you see some moron chuck something then report it and get them chucked out! Someone must have been beside or witness who threw the objects on Sunday. Speak up and make sure they don't get away with it. Forget all the childish "am no a grass" pish - it's about protecting the reputation of our club and stopping someone gets hurt. As much as we all hate hearts players and give them pelters, at the end of the day they are still just normal guys doing their job and don't deserve to have god knows what chucked at them.

Football and derbys in particular fuel a lot of strong emotions but some folk just get too carried away and make an arse of themselves and its a shame on the thousands of folk, the majority who do nothing wrong because we all get the bad name.

Good post totally agree ! Throwing of stuff is awful ,cowardly and shows that these people don't care about our club or if they seriously hurt someone which worry's me if same ones invade the pitch they are quite capable of attacking a player ! All I hear is there bairns , only 20 of them , its emotions and over excitement , nothing happened, i let's not make it into a big deal! It is big deal and sooner club acts and good fans the better !

11-08-2022, 06:31 AM
I would say crowd behaviour is better now than it was in days gone by. When was the last time you saw anybody being taken away for hospital treatment?

I’ll raise you all seater stadia and segregation on that question. One of the many reasons football has moved on from pitch invasion.

In direct answer to your question, I’ve been going to games since 1966 and cannot remember seeing anyone removed fir hospital treatment at ER. But then memory is not something I rely on too heavily these days 🤔

11-08-2022, 07:53 AM
I’ll raise you all seater stadia and segregation on that question. One of the many reasons football has moved on from pitch invasion.

In direct answer to your question, I’ve been going to games since 1966 and cannot remember seeing anyone removed fir hospital treatment at ER. But then memory is not something I rely on too heavily these days 🤔
Golf balls, rubble and even CS gas have led to people needing treatment since segregation was introduced. No way was that cannister getting launched when stadium was mixed.

11-08-2022, 08:44 AM

So you missed the tear gas incident then?

11-08-2022, 11:57 AM

It was before the internet, therefore it didn't actually happen.

11-08-2022, 12:11 PM
It was before the internet, therefore it didn't actually happen.

Still stings my eyes thinking about it and I was 80 yards away

11-08-2022, 05:51 PM

Yep I was working that day and had to miss the game. Remember it being reported though. Don’t remember seeing that anyone was hospitalised but it’s certainly as good an argument as you could make for not allowing people to throw stuff in a football stadium.

11-08-2022, 06:43 PM
Yep I was working that day and had to miss the game. Remember it being reported though. Don’t remember seeing that anyone was hospitalised but it’s certainly as good an argument as you could make for not allowing people to throw stuff in a football stadium.https://images.app.goo.gl/FuciMtsiGt32AZJo7
Have a read of this. I was one of the people on the pitch. 40 odd people and some policemen taken to hospital.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

Green Reaper
11-08-2022, 07:03 PM
https://images.app.goo.gl/FuciMtsiGt32AZJo7
Have a read of this. I was one of the people on the pitch. 40 odd people and some policemen taken to hospital.

That brings it right back. I was in the East that day and eventually got out on to the pitch, when we were allowed to!

zitelli62
11-08-2022, 08:52 PM
That brings it right back. I was in the East that day and eventually got out on to the pitch, when we were allowed to!

I was in the east that day it was horrendous my eyes were streaming my throat was coughing up crap ended up leaving and walking down st claire with two old celtic guys who were disgusted with there supporters said that should never happen here as we are there only friends in scottish football sums them up.

11-08-2022, 09:44 PM
https://images.app.goo.gl/FuciMtsiGt32AZJo7

Not sure what your point is. Mine is that football has moved on. I’m very glad nobody died and absolutely awful for the affected people but no question it was a bad incident nearly 40 Years ago. Were the policemen not people 🤔

11-08-2022, 10:30 PM
Not sure what your point is. Mine is that football has moved on. I’m very glad nobody died and absolutely awful for the affected people but no question it was a bad incident nearly 40 Years ago. Were the policemen not people 🤔
The police were mentioned separately in the article. It was merely to give you some information about the incident.Have we moved on when flares are being thrown onto pitches. So have we moved on?don't think so.

phoenixfire
11-08-2022, 11:15 PM
The police were mentioned separately in the article. It was merely to give you some information about the incident.Have we moved on when flares are being thrown onto pitches. So have we moved on?don't think so.

Have we moved on ? Don't think so either ! Bottles ,lighters thrown at Easter road in the last while it's awful and needs dealt with urgently and imo so does what happened Sunday with fans coming on field of play !sorry feel strongly about this!

phoenixfire
12-08-2022, 12:35 AM
Really good of you to draw further attention to it though eh?🤔

Maybe he's right too draw attention to it ! Or would you like we cover it up till something more serious happens?

1875godsgift
12-08-2022, 12:55 AM
Have we moved on ? Don't think so either ! Bottles ,lighters thrown at Easter road in the last while it's awful and needs dealt with urgently and imo so does what happened Sunday with fans coming on field of play !sorry feel strongly about this!

Worse things happen at sea.

12-08-2022, 08:09 AM

The point is you said since you started going you were unaware of anybody needing hospital treatment.

12-08-2022, 08:27 AM
Worse things happen at sea.

Aye but at least the flares are being used to attract the rescue helicopter

12-08-2022, 10:25 AM
The point is you said since you started going you were unaware of anybody needing hospital treatment.

I think you need to be reminded of what I said. I said I had not seen anyone carted off to hospital. But let’s not make this a debate about whether one can read what people say in their posts. Let’s keep it on topic, which is how unacceptable it is to invade a pitch. I would add throwing things on the pitch but that is not the title of the thread.

12-08-2022, 10:42 AM
I think you need to be reminded of what I said. I said I had not seen anyone carted off to hospital. But let’s not make this a debate about whether one can read what people say in their posts. Let’s keep it on topic, which is how unacceptable it is to invade a pitch. I would add throwing things on the pitch but that is not the title of the thread.

If you read the papers after that game you would have been made aware.

phoenixfire
12-08-2022, 10:57 AM

The view that some people have that it's only 20 that went onto field and most where kids and nothing happened is what I can't get! What happens next time when 50 or 60 go on pitch maybe not all kids next time ! And goes to 100 or 200 after that! We all know as fans we aren't allowed on pitch for safety reasons and doesn't do clubs image any good what so ever so why DO IT?

12-08-2022, 11:08 AM
The view that some people have that it's only 20 that went onto field and most where kids and nothing happened is what I can't get! What happens next time when 50 or 60 go on pitch maybe not all kids next time ! And goes to 100 or 200 after that! We all know as fans we aren't allowed on pitch for safety reasons and doesn't do clubs image any good what so ever so why DO IT?
Exactly.:agree:

12-08-2022, 11:40 AM
I only referred you to the article to let you know what happened as you were not at the game. I have been seen people being taken away on stretchers at Easter Road especially during the period before segregation. I agree throwing things at football matches is wrong.

12-08-2022, 11:53 AM
If you read the papers after that game you would have been made aware.

I refer you to my earlier answer. As of now it looks like you need to argue with yourself

12-08-2022, 12:24 PM
The policing/marshalling of games in recent years is badly flawed.
Far too many civilian stewards with day jobs,just earning what used to be termed as pin money (may now be more important source of income in current climate)
They are fine checking tickets and allocating seats.
When the game has started, PC Plod should already be stood in prominant areas well in sight.Even plainclothes.
Not hiding in stadium corners or even in vans outside of ground.
That would be more of a deterrent to anyone thinking of launching himself or a missile on to playing field
Cops could pace up and down terrace aisles.
=====
They where the ones that screwed it up Hampden.
Not us or even Andy Halliday!
People say cost,in that stewards are cheaper than Police
Well stewards mostly in my opinion are a waste of space.
What exactly is there remit?

When there are union/political rallies/marches in town the police are there in huge numbers
More so when the anti catholic brigade beat their drum in July,in our fair city

Football games need to be policed professionally.
Not Joe Soap and his pals earning some beer money watching fans throw misiles and generally do what they want.
And a half time in the lavvies,where they dont go for a pee.

The club need to get together with police bosses and iron out a sensible deal on costs for the safety of fans.staff and players alike.

Older fans may agree a policeman walking up the gangway/aisle is certainly going to make any potentional trouble maker think twice/ Certainly a lot more so than an inexperienced part time steward.

PS
Any one that knows me.can testify i have never been a police lover
In my youth ,i got a hell of a beating in Gayfield Square cop shop after the Liverpool game,I was black and blue.
They ripped my scarf to shreds an tore hibs badge from my jacket and ruined the jacket,
Some things you can never forget.
Cowards that night. 6 of them wae their batons.fists and feet.

Cops need to get rid of the notion that a saturday afternoon is a shift to catch up with you pals,have selfies and share holiday pictures .

Do your effing job, next home game and stop those hordes hanging offensive banners over top tier of South Stand blocking advertising And trackside advertising message boards
oh..... and police the toilets to prevent them getting demolished.

Stewards cannot or wont do that,they are just ignored and or frightened.

Glory Glory

12-08-2022, 12:33 PM
I refer you to my earlier answer. As of now it looks like you need to argue with yourself

As somebody else has said there have been many instances of people being stretchered out. The only argument you'd get from me is that the old days were more dangerous than now.

12-08-2022, 12:41 PM

12-08-2022, 12:50 PM
The policing/marshalling of games in recent years is badly flawed.
Far too many civilian stewards with day jobs,such as landscape gardener and house painter,just earning what used to be termed as pin money (may nowbe more important source of income in current climate)
They are fine checking tickets and allocating seats.
When the game has started, PC Plod should already be stood in prominant areas well in sight.Even plainclothes.
Not hiding in stadium corners or even in vans outside of ground.
That would be more of a deterrent to anyone thinking of launching himself or a missile on to playing field
Cops could pace up and down terrace aisles.
=====
They where the ones that screwed it up Hampden.
Not us or even Andy Halliday!
People say cost,in that stewards are cheaper than Police
Well stewards mostly in my opinion are a waste of space.
What exactly is there remit?

When there are union/political rallies/marches in town the police are there in huge numbers
More so when the anti catholic brigade beat their drum in July,in our fair city

Football games need to be policed professionally.
Not Joe Soap and his pals earning some beer money watching fans throw misiles and generally do what they want.
And a half time in the lavvies,wherethey don go for a pee.

The club need to get together with police bosses and iron out a sensible deal on costs for the safety of fans.staff and players alike.

Older fans may agree a policeman walking up the gangway/aisle is certainly going to make any potentional trouble maker think twice/ Certainly a lot more so than an inexperienced part time steward.

PS
Any one that knows me.can testify i have never been a police lover
In my youth ,i got a hell of a beating in Gayfield Square cop shop after the Liverpool game,I was black and blue.
They ripped my scarf to shreds an tore hibs badge from my jacket and ruined the jacket,
Some things you can never forget.
Cowards that night. 6 of them wae their batons.fists and feet.

Cops need to get rid of the notion that a saturday afternoon is a shift to catch up with you pals,have selfies and share holiday pictures .

Do your effing job, next home game and stop thode hordes hanging offensive banners over top tier blocking advertising
oh and police the toilets to prevent them getting demolished.

Stewards cant do that,they are just ignored and or frightened.

Glory Glory
Agree that a police presence can have an effect on people's behaviour. Do the Orange order receive a bill for the policing of their marches?

There will be other pitch invasions and things thrown at players this season, it will make headlines for a few days then we move on. No sanctions as no strict liability.

12-08-2022, 01:08 PM
Agree that a police presence can have an effect on people's behaviour. Do the Orange order receive a bill for the policing of their marches?

There will be other pitch invasions and things thrown at players this season, it will make headlines for a few days then we move on. No sanctions as no strict liability.

You are talking about "after the event"
My post is trying to say "prevent the event"
Its the lack of police doing a job at ER during these big games
Not so much the cost.
Although that appears to be why we have so many cheaper stewards.
Cops caught on the hop....... again!

Of course,the 60s and 70s had more trouble at games. No segregation.
No alcohol ban.
Tawny and ruby wine very very cheap back then and instant hit (hic)
In many cases 35.000 plus at the OF and hertz game.
Nap there will be injuries.

John McNamee had an old iron pailing thrown at him in Aberdeen.
It hit him on his chest and bounced off.

Thats true !!