View Full Version : Compliance officer

LewysGot2
07-08-2022, 02:39 PM
Hope they do the job Beaton didn't do at the time.

Shankland should be having a bit of time off for today's thuggery

07-08-2022, 02:44 PM
Likes an elbow for sure. Bushiri should have halfed him but you can guarantee Beaton would have acted then.

07-08-2022, 02:47 PM
Beaton was hideous again today. Needs investigated as he’s absolutely terrible at his job.

CyberSauzee
07-08-2022, 02:53 PM
Beaton was hideous again today. Needs investigated as he’s absolutely terrible at his job.

Looked like he couldn't be bothered a lot of the time to even blow his whistle.

Beaton is utterly useless and you've got to think a lot of our refs will be quitting once VAR shows them up.

07-08-2022, 03:38 PM
What was it that Shankland did? I missed it at the game.

07-08-2022, 03:40 PM
What was it that Shankland did? I missed it at the game.

Elbowed Rocky by all accounts. Rocky should count himself lucky to be honest, if Shankland had stuck the forehead on him Rocky would currently be circling a satellite in outer space.

07-08-2022, 03:41 PM
Out of interest when do we get VAR? Thought it was agreed that it would be this season?

07-08-2022, 03:41 PM
Out of interest when do we get VAR? Thought it was agreed that it would be this season?

later this year iirc

07-08-2022, 03:42 PM

Introduced once Beaton and co have had a chance for a last hurrah or two, presumably.

mcohibs
07-08-2022, 03:43 PM

Beaton is utterly useless and you've got to think a lot of our refs will be quitting once VAR shows them up.

VAR is only being implemented to check for offsides at goals, possible red cards and possible penalties. All the wee ***** decisions that he still gets wrong will remain unchanged. Utterly hopeless.

07-08-2022, 03:47 PM
It's amazing how one referee can get some many things wrong for both teams

Naturally we highlight his mistakes against us but one that stuck in my mind was that Rocky was down but we played on, not kicking the ball out. We then lose possession and as Hearts begin an attack, he blows to stop the game - why??

07-08-2022, 03:47 PM

After the break for the World Cup apparently

07-08-2022, 03:52 PM

Naturally we highlight his mistakes against us but one that stuck in my mind was that Rocky was down but we played on, not kicking the ball out. We then lose possession and as Hearts begin an attack, he blows to stop the game - why??

He did exactly the same to us when Boyce went down on the half way line, Hearts continued their attack and it was only after they lost the ball in our box and we were about to head up the pitch with it that Beaton stopped play.

07-08-2022, 03:57 PM
Elbowed Rocky by all accounts. Rocky should count himself lucky to be honest, if Shankland had stuck the forehead on him Rocky would currently be circling a satellite in outer space.
Had two goes at it too. But his foot up challenge on Campbell (iirc) was worse and deserving of a yellow for sure. In Beaton's eyes it wasn't even foul.

07-08-2022, 04:48 PM

No they won’t .They’ll be running the VAR system.

07-08-2022, 04:49 PM
Is there any footage anywhere of Shankland's elbow?

07-08-2022, 04:51 PM

Don't worry, I'm sure Sportscene will replay it ad nauseam tonight. :wink:

07-08-2022, 04:53 PM

I know there's healthy competition, but Beaton is the worst for me. Imposter of a referee.

Also mental he gets the highest profile game of the weekend whilst apparently under investigation himself. Scottish football in a nutshell.

07-08-2022, 04:55 PM
later this year iirc

How can they change the rules half way through a season?
Does it make it ok if we get pulled up for a handball disallowed goal in march at Tynecastle?

07-08-2022, 05:01 PM
Shankland was a wee s***e today. Unfortunately he’s leagues above our (good guy) number 9 at football.

Although no doubt we’re due a lecture about how we’ve got the better player because he scored more goals in one game years ago.

Looked like he had a few deliberate ‘tangles’ and ‘niggles’ but will wait to see the highlights, as may have just been the tenacious stuff you want from your front man.

LewysGot2
07-08-2022, 06:34 PM

It was his challenge on Campbell that is also horrendous

07-08-2022, 06:37 PM
It was his challenge on Campbell that is also horrendous

Any competent referee would have booked Shankland for that studs up lunge at a minimum.

So Beaton waved play on.

LewysGot2
07-08-2022, 06:39 PM
Any competent referee would have booked Shankland for that studs up lunge at a minimum.

So Beaton waved play on.

No wonder Josh didn't finish the match. Come on Trial by Sportscene do your best

07-08-2022, 06:42 PM
Shankland was a wee s***e today. Unfortunately he’s leagues above our (good guy) number 9 at football.

Although no doubt we’re due a lecture about how we’ve got the better player because he scored more goals in one game years ago.

Looked like he had a few deliberate ‘tangles’ and ‘niggles’ but will wait to see the highlights, as may have just been the tenacious stuff you want from your front man.

You call them tangles and niggles I call them elbowing one of our players and going studs up over the ball on another.

07-08-2022, 06:44 PM

I thought he was pish and his "goal" shouldn't have stood.

07-08-2022, 06:46 PM
I missed the highlights on sportsscene but turned on just in time to hear that we were lucky, hearts are great and have a superb front four. Didn't hear them mention Shanklands tackle or the elbow to Rocky. I assume they just ignored both?

07-08-2022, 06:48 PM

He really was nothing special today. Boyce done far more.

No lecture. The facts speak for themselves.

07-08-2022, 06:53 PM

He's not a very good player but if he gets away with the nasty side of game can stick a few in the net. Would loved to have had a battle with him 30 years ago

07-08-2022, 06:55 PM
How can they change the rules half way through a season?
Does it make it ok if we get pulled up for a handball disallowed goal in march at Tynecastle?
It’s a shambles. They’ve had a room at Hampden for months with the officials getting training etc. really poor it’s not being used from the off this season. If it isn’t ready the question is why and again if it isn’t ready it should be left till next season.

ACLeith
07-08-2022, 06:59 PM

That was one of the 3 dodgy decisions in our favour I referred to in the main thread about him.

07-08-2022, 07:04 PM

Aye thought Boyce was by a distance their best player today.

07-08-2022, 07:07 PM
I missed the highlights on sportsscene but turned on just in time to hear that we were lucky, hearts are great and have a superb front four. Didn't hear them mention Shanklands tackle or the elbow to Rocky. I assume they just ignored both?

Mikey Stewart and Kenny Miller both agreed Hearts were the better team. Then they show Nielsen’s interview and you get the impression we stole it. Then they talked them up for a while. It’s just weird. I thought they were fairly poor today and we have nothing to fear from them for the upcoming season.

Someone from graphics team then flashed up the possession stats, not commented on though.

Rumble de Thump
07-08-2022, 07:09 PM

He eventually suspected it was a head knock.

07-08-2022, 07:09 PM
Mikey Stewart and Kenny Miller both agreed Hearts were the better team. Then they show Nielsen’s interview and you get the impression we stole it. Then they talked them up for a while. It’s just weird. I thought they were fairly poor today and we have nothing to fear from them for the upcoming season.

Someone from graphics team then flashed up the possession stats, not commented on though.

Given the fuss they made about Bushiri's "elbow" at St Johnstone, did they spend five minutes on Shankland's studs up lunge and elbow?

Doubt it.

07-08-2022, 07:33 PM

Heartscene was as expected. I missed the game today and decided to catch the highlights!

They couldn’t give them enough praise!

Normal service resumes as won’t be watching them again!

07-08-2022, 07:37 PM
Didn't really disagree with what Stewart and Miller said. Hearts are slightly ahead of us right now by virtue of having a settled team from last season. Hibs a work in progress. Pretty accurate imo. Based on today there isn't a huge amount between the teams.

07-08-2022, 07:47 PM
You call them tangles and niggles I call them elbowing one of our players and going studs up over the ball on another.

The tackle on Campbell was a shocker, Beaton is about 5 yards away and doesn't even give a foul. If Porto had made that challenge the red card would have been straight out. At best it's shockingly incompetent.

LewysGot2
07-08-2022, 07:53 PM
Didn't really disagree with what Stewart and Miller said. Hearts are slightly ahead of us right now by virtue of having a settled team from last season. Hibs a work in progress. Pretty accurate imo. Based on today there isn't a huge amount between the teams.
There’s a gulf according to the out of date, out of touch double act of Walker and Boyd. They really are a parody of what pundits should be. Boyd is the biased shock jock approach and Walker is so negative I can only think someone pissed in his chips when he played for us.

07-08-2022, 07:54 PM
No mention at all of the horrendous studs up over the ball tackle … worse than Porto’s booking.

No mention of the forearm smash / Elbow worse than Ricky’s last week.

Hibs should be writing to the BBC about this as the influence it has on compliance officers has been proven in the past.

Outrageous they continue to ignore Hearts and Rangers foul play but highlight us at every opportunity

07-08-2022, 07:54 PM
Given the fuss they made about Bushiri's "elbow" at St Johnstone, did they spend five minutes on Shankland's studs up lunge and elbow?

Doubt it.

Another thing Sportscene conveniently ignored was in the Celtic game.

Their centre half Jenz was already on a booking, he scores a goal and piles in amongst the Celtic support behind the goals which is a stick-on yellow card , but the ref knowing it would have to be a red too just ignores the incident.

Sportscene does likewise . Ross County should have been playing against 10 men for the last 10 minutes.

07-08-2022, 08:03 PM
There’s a gulf according to the out of date, out of touch double act of Walker and Boyd. They really are a parody of what pundits should be. Boyd is the biased shock jock approach and Walker is so negative I can only think someone pissed in his chips when he played for us.

Boyd isn't bright enough to make an unbiased judgement. He lets his dislike of Hibs cloud it. Celebrated the Hearts goal with McGowan today apparently. There was 100% not a gulf today. Hearts got a boost from their hand ball goal but by that point we could have already been a couple up. Fine margins. A draw was probably a fair result.

07-08-2022, 08:18 PM
No mention at all of the horrendous studs up over the ball tackle … worse than Porto’s booking.

No mention of the forearm smash / Elbow worse than Ricky’s last week.

Hibs should be writing to the BBC about this as the influence it has on compliance officers has been proven in the past.

Outrageous they continue to ignore Hearts and Rangers foul play but highlight us at every opportunity

Don't think Ham Shankland connected too much with Rocky's head but if you watch when Rocky was on the ground with about 15 minutes to go and Larry Wankland takes advantage by falling over him (and somehow Rocky got penalised), Tommy Tankland tries to knee Rocky in the head. Didn't really connect that time either but he definitely tried to.

07-08-2022, 08:34 PM
Introduced once Beaton and co have had a chance for a last hurrah or two, presumably.

You may be onto something there. Hes just so bad its laughable. If that was rocky or porto he would have flashed the red card and the press gone on about it for days.

07-08-2022, 08:34 PM
After the break for the World Cup apparently

Curious as to why this isn’t in place at the start of the season?

Couldn’t be arsed? No money? Get an OF game under their belts?

07-08-2022, 08:53 PM

I called them suspected ‘deliberate’ meaning I may well agree with you. I’ll see them when I get home and watch the highlights.

He may very well be a horrible wee hearts w*****r. But he’s a decent player.

08-08-2022, 07:35 AM
Curious as to why this isn’t in place at the start of the season?

Couldn’t be arsed? No money? Get an OF game under their belts?

So they can figure out how to ignore VAR decisions when they go against their favourites.