View Full Version : Utterly Disgraceful

02-08-2022, 09:35 PM
Recently a poster mentioned some disgusting chants and behaviour from a bunch of idiots who appear to have attached themselves to our club. It seems it’s now news. Yes I know it’s the sun but other outlets will not be far behind and quite right too. The club has to weed this shower out and ensure they get nowhere near ER or our official away tickets. I kind of suspect these were the same cretins who followed hearts but were banned from Tynecastle.

Sun report headlines “Hang your heads in shame” and goes on to describe a group of about 20 idiots, wearing Hibs colours, in the Foundry Bar in Perth singing disgraceful songs about Andy Goram, Walter Smith and that former rangers kit man, all now deceased. Happened during the screening of the Livi v the The Rangers game prior to the St J game at the weekend.

NC1875
02-08-2022, 09:38 PM
Does it say they’re Hibs fans ?

02-08-2022, 09:39 PM
Does it say they’re Hibs fans ?

Does it matter? Actually calls them “football yobs” which is probably accurate if a little understated. I would argue they are not Hibs fans but have attached themselves to our club to give themselves an avenue for their grotesque behaviour

02-08-2022, 09:39 PM
It is horrible that stuff …it reflects badly on the club to have supporters that sing that hateful
And disrespectful garbage .

02-08-2022, 09:42 PM
Whatever the rights and wrongs, I would take that particular newspaper more seriously if they would lay into Sevco fans about their song book.

02-08-2022, 09:43 PM
Whatever the rights and wrongs, I would take that particular newspaper more seriously if they would lay into Sevco fans about their song book.

Nothing like a bit of whataboutery to deflect from unacceptable behaviour

02-08-2022, 09:44 PM

what other clubs do will reflect on them . This is about us , it’s not a time for “ah, but what about them”

one day maybe...
02-08-2022, 09:45 PM
Disrespectful and stupid behavior.

02-08-2022, 09:47 PM
Seems to be a bunch of wee idiots following Hibs just now. Tanning cocaine and drinking buckfast inside the stadium and the worst of it is they don't even watch the game.

02-08-2022, 09:49 PM

Yep, all clubs have idiots....me included.

But they have been singing racist and sectarian crap for years with little comment.

The Sun can piss off.

02-08-2022, 09:55 PM
Yep, all clubs have idiots....me included.

But they have been singing racist and sectarian crap for years with little comment.

The Sun can piss off.

Well we certainly have the whataboutery well covered already

Lendo
02-08-2022, 09:56 PM
We have some unbelievably thick ned ***** in our away support. Most of the wee coked up 18 year old jakes wont even know Goram played for us.

02-08-2022, 09:57 PM
What a bunch of morons. Reflective of an element in many supports but not a new thing.

Capt Mainwaring
02-08-2022, 09:58 PM
Embarrassing and disgusting!!

Sounds like they are too young or too stupid (prob both!) to realise that Andy Goram was one of the finest goalkeeper’s to wear a Hibs jersey

AngloHibs
02-08-2022, 10:02 PM
I was unfortunately sent a link to a video of this little sing-song, I was appalled by it, to be quite honest.

02-08-2022, 10:04 PM
Click if you dare.

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/9245042/footie-louts-offensive-song-rangers-walter-smith-andy-goram/

Mcbizz1998
02-08-2022, 10:12 PM
Are we sure these were Hibs fans? The record and the sun don’t say that and you can bet your bottom dollar they would if they had any proof.

More likely a bunch of Celtic supporters based in Perth getting tanked up. Can’t see hibs fans being in Perth for a 12pm kick off on the tv, when our game wasn’t till 3.

Chorley Hibee
02-08-2022, 10:17 PM
I was present whilst this happened and mentioned to a friend that this would likely be picked up by the press.

Unfortunately, quite a sizeable ned element in our support at present.

However, I look forward to the Sun passing comment when 50k next indulge in hate songs and sectarianism.

I won't hold my breath.

Chorley Hibee
02-08-2022, 10:18 PM
Are we sure these were Hibs fans? The record and the sun don’t say that and you can bet your bottom dollar they would if they had any proof.

More likely a bunch of Celtic supporters based in Perth getting tanked up. Can’t see hibs fans being in Perth for a 12pm kick off on the tv, when our game wasn’t till 3.

It most definitely was Hibs supporters.

I was present at the same time.

02-08-2022, 10:18 PM

The person who uploaded the video to Twitter on Saturday afternoon is a Hibs fan.

King Cosell
02-08-2022, 10:19 PM

The game finished at 13:50, they could be in well before then.

Mcbizz1998
02-08-2022, 10:19 PM
It most definitely was Hibs supporters.

I was present at the same time.

Fair do’s.

They must have been in some state by the time they got to the game.

Mcbizz1998
02-08-2022, 10:21 PM
The game finished at 13:50, they could be in well before then.

Yeah but on the video you can see the Livi players celebrating their goal on the tv. So presumed it was at about 12:05. Could have been the highlights in the post game analysis though.

Anyway, other posters have confirmed it was Hibs fans so fair enough.

02-08-2022, 10:30 PM
There were a few of them near me at the back of the stand on Saturday. Didnt hear exactly what they were singing but did hear Smith being mentioned at one point.

Buckfast and cocaine both evident. Absolute morons to a man... boy.

02-08-2022, 10:38 PM

Nothing to do with whataboutery FFS. It was about the hypocrisy of the Sun newspaper and their ilk.

02-08-2022, 10:46 PM
Should be easy enough to identify and ban from getting a Hibs ticket again. Then release a statement confirming the above, condemning their actions in the strongest possible way, but add that we hope others will take the same approach when sectarian or other abuse takes place going forward.

02-08-2022, 11:01 PM
Not good. They can f off. So too can The Sun.

02-08-2022, 11:55 PM
what other clubs do will reflect on them . This is about us , it’s not a time for “ah, but what about them”

It doesn't though. At least as far as the Weegie hoards are viewed by our 'media' and polis.

03-08-2022, 05:22 AM
It doesn't though. At least as far as the Weegie hoards are viewed by our 'media' and polis.

Nonsense. Every group of fans know how hate filled the old firms songs are..and now we are being put in the same category. That’s what this is about. Bringing our club down to their levels. We should all be disgusted with this, Rather than pointing at the media or other clubs.

Hibs4185
03-08-2022, 05:26 AM
Utterly disgusting and I’m sure Ron Gordon will look to clamp down on this kind of thing .

However whilst not condoning it, I find it just as distasteful that a national newspaper takes 1 video of 20 mindless yobs and uses it to try and tarnish the club. Especially given what goes on with rangers and Celtic fans every weekend and the no doubt thousands of videos that accompany their nonsense.

1 rule for us and 1 rule for them

davy67 +
03-08-2022, 05:43 AM
Embarrassingly sad and disappointing, probably a reflection of an element of the youth of today. Unfortunately there's an element of this amongst the support of most clubs . Hopefully the media will continue to expose this type of behaviour no mater who the fans support .

03-08-2022, 05:45 AM
No strict liability. Nothing to see here. Is that not what Rangers say?

Yorkshire HFC
03-08-2022, 05:50 AM
Recently a poster mentioned some disgusting chants and behaviour from a bunch of idiots who appear to have attached themselves to our club. It seems it’s now news. Yes I know it’s the sun but other outlets will not be far behind and quite right too. The club has to weed this shower out and ensure they get nowhere near ER or our official away tickets. I kind of suspect these were the same cretins who followed hearts but were banned from Tynecastle.

Sun report headlines “Hang your heads in shame” and goes on to describe a group of about 20 idiots, wearing Hibs colours, in the Foundry Bar in Perth singing disgraceful songs about Andy Goram, Walter Smith and that former rangers kit man, all now deceased. Happened during the screening of the Livi v the The Rangers game prior to the St J game at the weekend.

Why are people still surprised that "an element" of football fans are yobs?

It's happened for ever and noone wants to do anything about it. I read it on here after a lot of Hibs games - the clubs and the other fans aren't interested - so it won't change.

03-08-2022, 06:04 AM
Is this a social media thing? Where wee fanny's are trying out do each other or something? See it more and more with all teams, mainly at away games TBF. There was a group next to me on Saturday who barely watched one minute of football, absolutely clueless about the players etc and where dressed and acting like they were off to t in the park, nippy as ****. I can accept the organised scraps, I can accept someone being half cut and slavering nonsense but this modern attention seeking stuff does my head in.

Bring back being pish so you have half a stand to move to if the people around you are ********s :greengrin

03-08-2022, 06:16 AM
Embarrassingly sad and disappointing, probably a reflection of an element of the youth of today. Unfortunately there's an element of this amongst the support of most clubs . Hopefully the media will continue to expose this type of behaviour no mater who the fans support .

Disgusting behaviour and hope those responsible are named and shamed.

As for your last part do you really think any media outlet ie that rag the Sun or the Daily Ranger are going to print Rangers or Celtic fans singing their sectarian bile?? Eh naw!

davy67 +
03-08-2022, 06:22 AM
Disgusting behaviour and hope those responsible are named and shamed.

As for your last part do you really think any media outlet ie that rag the Sun or the Daily Ranger are going to print Rangers or Celtic fans singing their sectarian bile?? Eh naw!

Aye , the last part was written with a hint of irony

03-08-2022, 06:41 AM
Probably the same tits that were calling Jason Cummings a pedophile at Dundee last year

03-08-2022, 06:42 AM

I was in The Ballroom for about half 12, and it was already full of Hibs fans so there were loads of us up there early. It's a good day out to Perth.

03-08-2022, 06:46 AM
Probably the same tits that were calling Jason Cummings a pedophile at Dundee last year

That’s exactly who it will be.

****ing morons the lot of them, may their next *****s be hedgehogs.

03-08-2022, 06:53 AM
Whataboutery isn't the answer here. We can only act on what Hibs fans do and there is evidence that self policing among our fanbase works. Certainly songs that were once heard far more frequently fairly recently have been quietly dropped. Thinking back further there are songs that were once terrace classics that never hear the light of day now, maybe in small groups away from the ground but never en masse.

I do understand the frustrations though. Not so much with The Sun. They are gutter press and this kind of thing is easy pickings for them. My issue is with Nil By Mouth raising their head above the parapet, that's purely because it's 'only Hibs' and we are an easy target to make a point and push the NBM agenda. An organisation wholly unfit for purpose that is scared of Rangers as both a fanbase and and entity so attempts to create a narrative of equilibrium where it doesn't exist.

Secondly has talking at rather than to young guys ever worked? 'You are not real Hibs fans' doesn't seem the best way to make the point to them imo. It's daft young lads trying to push boundaries, shock and appear edgy. Most will grow out of it fairly quickly and the ones who don't will end up in real bother soon enough. It's not a new thing, much like moaning about players, social media has just given it a wider audience. How many people of an older vintage would have been filmed singing something broadly similar about Wallace Mercer dying of cancer or about Rudi Skacel had smartphones been more widespread in 2006? Guilty m'lud, certainly with regards the former.

It's not a good look for us as a club and it's something that has to be addressed. I'm genuinely not sure how you go about that. A few bans may be forthcoming if the perpetrators can be identified but that doesn't really sort the long term problem.

03-08-2022, 07:14 AM
Given that specific seats had to be purchased at McDiarmid and posters on here knew where the groups were sat/stood in the stand, it sounds like we already have some information to pass onto our club.

However when a Hibs supporter wishes to discreetly report an incident of unacceptable conduct, we now find that the club directory has been removed from the Hibs FC website and the Club Policies section doesn’t tell us how to report.

At some point in the past I thought we had introduced a confidential reporting method. But if so, I can’t find it.

Anyone know?

03-08-2022, 07:15 AM
The person who uploaded the video to Twitter on Saturday afternoon is a Hibs fan.

And he should be hunted out for starters.

03-08-2022, 07:27 AM
Given that specific seats had to be purchased at McDiarmid and posters on here knew where the groups were sat/stood in the stand, it sounds like we already have some information to pass onto our club.

However when a Hibs supporter wishes to discreetly report an incident of unacceptable conduct, we now find that the club directory has been removed from the Hibs FC website and the Club Policies section doesn’t tell us how to report.

At some point in the past I thought we had introduced a confidential reporting method. But if so, I can’t find it.

Anyone know?

The bit they were in was overflowing into the aisles so I don't think they were in their allocated seats in any case.

Not that the stewards even tried to sort it out when people couldn't get to their actual seats.

03-08-2022, 07:45 AM
There's been a good few at games this past 4-5 years, all coked up and high on Bucky, same little neds you see flying around with balaclavas and on those ebikes doing wheelies.

davym7062
03-08-2022, 07:49 AM

i was in the bar deffo hibs fans

03-08-2022, 07:51 AM
There's been a good few at games this past 4-5 years, all coked up and high on Bucky, same little neds you see flying around with balaclavas and on those ebikes doing wheelies.

How do you know they are the same people if they have balaclavas on?

03-08-2022, 08:05 AM

Exactly what I was thinking. Need banned by the club absolute clowns.

patlowe
03-08-2022, 08:10 AM

Or any other day. Troublesome young (or older) people are not unique to this generation - in fact in general I'd say young people now seem a hell of a lot more thoughtful and open-minded than when I was growing up. However, the ones that do want to cause trouble or offence are now able to make themselves much more visible through smartphones and social media.

03-08-2022, 09:11 AM
i was in the bar deffo hibs fans

Hibs fans dissing Andy Goram, one of our own?

03-08-2022, 09:17 AM
There will be more people complaining about injured players having a pint than complaining about this.

03-08-2022, 09:59 AM
My thoughts exactly

I'm Spartacus
03-08-2022, 11:00 AM
Singing about dead people is as ****my as you can get, BUT singing about one of our own is inexcusable.

Identify them and get the lifetime bans handed out.

03-08-2022, 11:02 AM
Singing about dead people is as ****my as you can get, BUT singing about one of our own is inexcusable.

Identify them and get the lifetime bans handed out.
Absolutely

03-08-2022, 11:11 AM
How do you know they are the same people if they have balaclavas on?

Similar type, if not the same. Coked up full of Bucky neds not giving a **** about anyone else, been a problem for a while.

BH Hibs
03-08-2022, 11:29 AM
Hibs fans dissing Andy Goram, one of our own?

He is not one of our own he burned his bridges when he started his UVF pish. Although the song in question is pretty pish.

03-08-2022, 11:31 AM

Anyone know?

I've written to the club requesting more information on how we can report incidents of Unnacceptable Behaviour. It won't look good if we don't even have a reporting mechanism. I recall the club discussing a Zero Tolerance approach with fans within LWT nearly a decade ago. Can't keep talking about it whilst a small minority bring our club into disrepute.

HIBS NUTS
03-08-2022, 11:38 AM
I've written to the club requesting more information on how we can report incidents of Unnacceptable Behaviour. It won't look good if we don't even have a reporting mechanism. I recall the club discussing a Zero Tolerance approach with fans within LWT nearly a decade ago. Can't keep talking about it whilst a small minority bring our club into disrepute.

Unfortunately this has been going on for years, i’ve been in pubs outside many grounds, and if the wrong young crowd are in attendance, the horrendous party songs start.
Hearts get it too, with the sectarian bile they copy from glasgow.
Unless you want a sore face, there isn’t much normal fans can do. 👎

WestStandWillie
03-08-2022, 11:40 AM
Plastic fans who take an irish flag to Tynecastle or Ibrox. Most definitely those singing about Cummings.

Not interested in the football more drugs and buckfast. Stain on our support.

03-08-2022, 01:06 PM
Whataboutery isn't the answer here. We can only act on what Hibs fans do and there is evidence that self policing among our fanbase works. Certainly songs that were once heard far more frequently fairly recently have been quietly dropped. Thinking back further there are songs that were once terrace classics that never hear the light of day now, maybe in small groups away from the ground but never en masse.

I do understand the frustrations though. Not so much with The Sun. They are gutter press and this kind of thing is easy pickings for them. My issue is with Nil By Mouth raising their head above the parapet, that's purely because it's 'only Hibs' and we are an easy target to make a point and push the NBM agenda. An organisation wholly unfit for purpose that is scared of Rangers as both a fanbase and and entity so attempts to create a narrative of equilibrium where it doesn't exist.

Secondly has talking at rather than to young guys ever worked? 'You are not real Hibs fans' doesn't seem the best way to make the point to them imo. It's daft young lads trying to push boundaries, shock and appear edgy. Most will grow out of it fairly quickly and the ones who don't will end up in real bother soon enough. It's not a new thing, much like moaning about players, social media has just given it a wider audience. How many people of an older vintage would have been filmed singing something broadly similar about Wallace Mercer dying of cancer or about Rudi Skacel had smartphones been more widespread in 2006? Guilty m'lud, certainly with regards the former.

It's not a good look for us as a club and it's something that has to be addressed. I'm genuinely not sure how you go about that. A few bans may be forthcoming if the perpetrators can be identified but that doesn't really sort the long term problem.
It's behaviour like this that will see the women's game attracting more families to their matches, just think back to the atmosphere at the W Eurros, different class, job free.

03-08-2022, 01:24 PM
Utterly disgusting and I’m sure Ron Gordon will look to clamp down on this kind of thing .

However whilst not condoning it, I find it just as distasteful that a national newspaper takes 1 video of 20 mindless yobs and uses it to try and tarnish the club. Especially given what goes on with rangers and Celtic fans every weekend and the no doubt thousands of videos that accompany their nonsense.

We just need to get some footage of them at ER in a couple of weeks and get it ciculating on social media. Would be interesting to see if any "news"papers would run a story on it.

MartinfaePorty
03-08-2022, 01:41 PM
I was in the Foundry just as the Rangers game kicked off. Hibs fans singing that song for around 10-15 minutes. I was supposed to be meeting my Saints supporting mate there, but drank up and met him elsewhere.

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

03-08-2022, 02:12 PM
A ban from Easter Road would be a start but unfortunately you would still end up with videos like these in pubs etc

I'm sure there will be a few mercer song videos come Sunday evening all over social media.

How would these guys feel if they seen a video of a group of drunken people singing songs about dead family members.

No way am I defending this incident but I didn't see much in the news with the rangers fan giving it the nazi salute many times vs west ham.

03-08-2022, 02:19 PM
Actually I would go a bit further . If I still lived in Scotland.
I would find out who they are, go round to their house or local pub kick the 5hit out of them and tell them why. Or get a mob together that will kick the 5hit out of them in the stadium.
hertz fans used to batter their own casuals until they got the hint and basically gave up, its about time we did the same.

03-08-2022, 02:49 PM
I would find out who they are, go round to their house or local pub kick the 5hit out of them and tell them why. Or get a mob together that will kick the 5hit out of them in the stadium.
hertz fans used to batter their own casuals until they got the hint and basically gave up, its about time we did the same.

So let’s get this right you’re advocating dealing with disgraceful
behaviour by getting a mob together and attacking the perpetrators! Deary me,I wonder sometimes.

03-08-2022, 03:03 PM
Is this the Lenny lot who bring a tricolour to Tynecastle and are hell bent on bringing their own wee bit of sectarianism to Easter Road?

If so, never a better opportunity to ban them for life. Get it done.

HIBS NUTS
03-08-2022, 03:04 PM
What a pile of utter made up nonsense from you.👎

Tommy75
03-08-2022, 03:05 PM

Yep. 20 yobs in a pub and our clubs name gets dragged through the gutter. 40k+ fans in Ibrox sing their songs and not a peep from the Sun.

Hope those in the video are identified and banned from attending games.

Tommy75
03-08-2022, 03:06 PM

Do you do that where you live now?

03-08-2022, 03:25 PM
Society contains people like that, and people like us. Hopefully, most are like us.

This is not going to change.

Zambernardi1875
03-08-2022, 03:32 PM
Society contains people like that, and people like us. Hopefully, most are like us.

This is not going to change.

Are you suggesting nobody on here condoning the singing hasn’t sang any rude song at games before.

HibeeHibernian4
03-08-2022, 03:35 PM

Where has that got us? Only more whataboutery and deflecting. I preferred when I didn't have the Sun telling me what Rangers, Celtic, Aberdeen, Hearts or any other set of fans were singing in a pub because people are grassing them up. The idiots singing it post it for attention and guess what, they get it. What happens next? Surprisingly people keep on doing it anyway.

03-08-2022, 03:44 PM
Is this the Lenny lot who bring a tricolour to Tynecastle and are hell bent on bringing their own wee bit of sectarianism to Easter Road?

Seen these folk commenting nonsense on Hibs Facebook posts, referring to themselves as "bhoys", etc.

03-08-2022, 03:45 PM
Are you suggesting nobody on here condoning the singing hasn’t sang any rude song at games before.

How do you mean?

03-08-2022, 03:47 PM
Not a great watch. Songs celebrating the death of people are poor and I include the Mercer song.

03-08-2022, 03:56 PM
THis kind of crap isn't just a social media generation thing either. I remember hearing Hibs fans singing a horrendous ditty about Darren Jackson and testicular cancer, more than 20 years ago.

There's always a moron element in every support. Thick as mince

03-08-2022, 04:10 PM

Good post :aok:

We've always had an element of fans and they were/are Hibs fans whether we like it or not, whose match-day experience has always been to look for confrontation and make a nuisance of themselves.

I'm sure if the internet had been around in the 60s and 70s there would have been countless threads about the mass battles with "them" and the OF on the Easter Road terraces and the gang fights that sometimes occurred outside the ground between Hibs gangs from different areas. Likewise, if fan forums and smartphones had been around when the casuals first came on the scene in the 80s. The fact is a lot of these 60s, 70s and 80s bams and total nuisances are now elderly to middle-aged totally respectable supporters.

When the tifiso style culture came in maybe 10 years ago or earlier with our "Since 1875" group and others of a similar vein elsewhere I thought how good it was that the youngsters had found a way to channel their exuberance without it involving violence or offensive behaviour. However, it seems that an element of the latest Hibs youths have decided to revert to the behaviour of their 60s, 70s, and 80s predecessors.

What's different from those eras is that it has never been easier to identify and deal with our troublemaker element. Ron Gordon and his regime like to tell us all they're doing to improve the match-day experience. One of the best ways to improve that would be to ban the wee morons bringing our name into disrepute.

Zambernardi1875
03-08-2022, 05:00 PM
How do you mean?

What did you mean about “people like us”

03-08-2022, 05:44 PM
Yeah but on the video you can see the Livi players celebrating their goal on the tv. So presumed it was at about 12:05. Could have been the highlights in the post game analysis though.

Anyway, other posters have confirmed it was Hibs fans so fair enough.

I’ve been in boozers in Perth before noon in the past when our game has kicked off at 3. Not sure what your point is.

03-08-2022, 05:49 PM
Plastic fans who take an irish flag to Tynecastle or Ibrox. Most definitely those singing about Cummings.

Not interested in the football more drugs and buckfast. Stain on our support.

Who'd have thunk it eh? Hibernian (aka Irish) fans taking an Ireland national flag to a Hibs game.

I was with a good friend at Hampden in May 2016 v the Rangers and he flew a very large Irish tricolour at the game. He's a big Hibs fan and is born and bred in Dublin. There are many of his countrymen follow Hibs avidly at great expense and 'plastic' they certainly are not.

It can be offensive to make generalisms and not sure what your point has got to do with a handful of morons spouting p1sh in a pub.

03-08-2022, 05:57 PM
Who'd have thunk it eh? Hibernian (aka Irish) fans taking an Ireland national flag to a Hibs game.

I was with a good friend at Hampden in May 2016 v the Rangers and he flew a very large Irish tricolour at the game. He's a big Hibs fan and is born and bred in Dublin. There are many of his countrymen follow Hibs avidly at great expense and 'plastic' they certainly are not.

It can be offensive to make generalisms and not not sure what your point has got to do with a handful of morons spouting p1sh in a pub.

And also Buckfast is lovely.

03-08-2022, 06:01 PM
And also Buckfast is lovely.

Never tasted the stuff. Sounds like p1shwater :greengrin

heid the baw
03-08-2022, 06:10 PM
What did you mean about “people like us”
I think he means that there are 2 kinds of people in this world, reasonable people and unreasonable people. Reasonable people don't tend to get tanked up on coke and buckfast and chant about dead people in public places. Unreasonable people do.
They are young and may grow out of it, and also they may not behave like that in other situations. There does however come a time in your life when you make a choice, am I going to continue embracing fannydom or should I find new mates and join the reasonable people?
As the guy rightly said there are more of us than them. Also we have more in common with decent fans of any rival club, than we have with these wee idiots

Stairway 2 7
03-08-2022, 06:11 PM

It can be offensive to make generalisms and not sure what your point has got to do with a handful of morons spouting p1sh in a pub.
I'm sure the comment isn't about people coming from Ireland. It's the ones who don't bring tricolours to cat b matches but bring them out just to antagonise, they also more worrying sing sectarian pish not needed at Easter Road. Our badge has everything we want on it, they should wave that

03-08-2022, 06:20 PM
Never tasted the stuff. Sounds like p1shwater :greengrin

Liquid sugar, I bought a half bottle a few years back when a mate and his wife were up from Liverpool. Thought I'd treat them to a Scottish night of neeps and tatties, some Bucky and a nice glass of whisky, the Bucky was left after one sip, just sugary thick liquid, horrible stuff.

SideBurns
03-08-2022, 06:49 PM

Without wishing to start yet another debate on Hibs 'Irishness', do you think tricolours at Tynie started with Lennon? I honestly can't recall hearing any sectarian stuff at ER recently, but certainly rebel songs and chants have been around since the 60s and I'd suggest are much less prevalent now than they were years ago.

As for banning for life young Hibs fans, who are dafties with a lot of growing up to do - many of us might wish to remember our own teenage antics before calling for such severe measures.

FWIW, I've never liked the Mercer stuff, despite hating the man at the time, and trust anything to do with Goram or Smith gets shouted down if it's heard again at any Hibs game.

03-08-2022, 07:24 PM
There are threads in the Holy Ground with posts celebrating the anniversary of Thatcher's death. Full of glee and laughter and talk of having parties. Grown men.

How is it worse when some young lads sing about dead football players?

What's the rules when it comes to whether Hibs fans should sing about dead people? Who gets to decide what's acceptable?

03-08-2022, 07:28 PM
There are threads in the Holy Ground with posts celebrating the anniversary of Thatcher's death. Full of glee and laughter and talk of having parties. Grown men.

What's the rules when it comes to whether Hibs fans should sing about dead people? Who gets to decide what's acceptable?

I'm personally not a fan of singing songs which mock the death of anyone but as a basic starting point I'd suggest that songs which mock the death of an ex-Hibs player should be top of the unacceptable list.

03-08-2022, 07:30 PM

None of that is acceptable ….surely you know that as a “grown man” - You’re OK with those songs ?

NC1875
03-08-2022, 07:39 PM

That was my thinking when I asked if it said they were Hibs fans.

Hibs fans or not, what is wrong with some people.

03-08-2022, 08:17 PM
None of that is acceptable ….surely you know that as a “grown man” - You’re OK with those songs ?

I'm ok with the mercer song.

03-08-2022, 08:39 PM

03-08-2022, 08:40 PM

What makes you think I'm ok with these songs when I've not posted anything to suggest that?

Are you confusing me with someone else?

03-08-2022, 08:52 PM
What makes you think I'm ok with these songs when I've not posted anything to suggest that?

What was the point of your post then ?

03-08-2022, 08:54 PM

Horrible song that….

03-08-2022, 09:00 PM

As am I. Despised the FTB. I do think the fairly recent add-ons bringing his wife into it are uncalled for though. Mostly sung by clowns who weren’t even born at the time.

03-08-2022, 09:05 PM
As am I. Despised the FTB. I do think the fairly recent add-ons bringing his wife into it are uncalled for though. Mostly sung by clowns who weren’t even born at the time.

But that is the song now….that’s the one people sing….pathetic tbh

03-08-2022, 09:26 PM

skankomcphee
03-08-2022, 10:06 PM

And he has previous for unacceptable behaviour when it comes to Hibs and football. I think he’d be better off at Parkhead as he seems to hate Rangers more than he likes Hibs. I’ve never seen such bitterness and hatred in one so young.

LewysGot2
03-08-2022, 10:13 PM

That's the bit that always gets me. They have no genuine concept of that time and what happened.

Dragging his wife into it isn't good patter. Not in any way, shape or form.

skankomcphee
04-08-2022, 06:50 AM

I think you’re also making a generalism here in that every Hibs fan bringing an Irish flag to Easter Road will be Irish, and ignore the fact that the tricolour it has been hijacked by a group of cokeheid, p!shed up pondlife who likely have no concept of the Republic of Ireland and would look blankly if you asked them the significance of 1916 or 1922. I call them out and continue to call them out, no matter what flag they fly.

skankomcphee
04-08-2022, 06:53 AM
That's the bit that always gets me. They have no genuine concept of that time and what happened.

Dragging his wife into it isn't good patter. Not in any way, shape or form.

This is what gets me - they have very little concept of anything, other than drugs and alcohol. It’s pretty easy to identify those who are responsible for this sort of stuff, if the club really wants to.

04-08-2022, 07:04 AM

Thats how I feel too. Despise the man for what he put us through. Remember the smug, sneering look on his face at his original press conference. I find nothing wrong in reminding them "He's deid and we're no", but, keep his wife and family out of it.

Yorkshire HFC
04-08-2022, 07:42 AM
Thats how I feel too. Despise the man for what he put us through. Remember the smug, sneering look on his face at his original press conference. I find nothing wrong in reminding them "He's deid and we're no", but, keep his wife and family out of it.

The disconnect between football supporters and normal society is stark.

Compare this sort of behaviour and thought process with that of the crowd in Birmingham cheering on a Scottish athlete to a great victory last night.

Football is getting left behind. I know which crowd I'd rather be part of.

04-08-2022, 07:57 AM
I think everyone was saddened when Walter Smith passed away regardless of your affiliation. A legend of Scottish football and to my knowlege, didn't get caught up in the sectarian nonsense that surrounds that lot. The dafties singing that song in the boozer don't represent the huge majority of Hibs fans. FWIW, i was in Perth for a while before the game and didn't hear it once then, or during the game itself. Unfortunatley if it's filmed on a smartphone and put on social media for "likes" then it's out there for the world to see. This is the world we live in now.

04-08-2022, 07:57 AM

Compare this sort of behaviour and thought process with that of the crowd in Birmingham cheering on a Scottish athlete to a great victory last night.

Good post.
Have been listening to bile sung at football for more than 50 years. We should not get dragged down to levels of other clubs.

04-08-2022, 07:58 AM
I think you’re also making a generalism here in that every Hibs fan bringing an Irish flag to Easter Road will be Irish, and ignore the fact that the tricolour it has been hijacked by a group of cokeheid, p!shed up pondlife who likely have no concept of the Republic of Ireland and would look blankly if you asked them the significance of 1916 or 1922. I call them out and continue to call them out, no matter what flag they fly.

How do you do that? Do you go up to them at the game or in the pub and remonstrate with them , or do you do it from the comfort of your keyboard? Just wondering, because I would like to call them out too.

04-08-2022, 08:16 AM
When I started going to Hibs games on a regular basis (79-80), the songs sung on the East Terracing included...Mocking the Ibrox disaster - mocking the death of Celtc player Johnny Doyle - songs about the IRA.

Mostly these were sung by a handful of teenagers, and much to the disgust of most people nearby.

The only difference now is that this stuff is put on social media for the world to see.

skankomcphee
04-08-2022, 10:43 AM
How do you do that? Do you go up to them at the game or in the pub and remonstrate with them , or do you do it from the comfort of your keyboard? Just wondering, because I would like to call them out too.

Comfort of my keyboard pal - give it a go too. If you’re a quiet family man like myself who enjoys the odd pint and nothing more, you might find it preferable to trying to remonstrate with a dozen feral cokeheids.

I'm Spartacus
04-08-2022, 03:04 PM
If you sing about a dead person then you are the **** of the earth, it's as simple as that, if you think there are exceptions to that then you are part of the problem.

skankomcphee
04-08-2022, 03:28 PM
If you sing about a dead person then you are the **** of the earth, it's as simple as that, if you think there are exceptions to that then you are part of the problem.

Spot on, and there’s no ifs and no buts: it’s the behaviour of pondlife.

04-08-2022, 03:29 PM
Comfort of my keyboard pal - give it a go too. If you’re a quiet family man like myself who enjoys the odd pint and nothing more, you might find it preferable to trying to remonstrate with a dozen feral cokeheids.

I restrict my intervention to withering looks. I wished we had ways of challenging them, dirty bassas.

04-08-2022, 03:35 PM

True to some extent but I've been to handful of rugby games and seen a couple of fights, racist abuse and homophobic abuse.

As someone who went to these games as a football fan with an impression of rugby being very much different to football, I was taken aback by how this is a problem that goes well beyond one sport.

04-08-2022, 03:47 PM

That’ll be that then!!

How about football being tribal for a lot of folk. 90 mins of saying things you wouldn’t normally?

I hear people shouting and swearing at the ref, or Hibs players or our manager all the time. The folk doing the shouting are probably normal decent folk who wouldn’t dream of saying these things at work or wherever.

These songs are designed to cause offence to rivals. Nothing more than that. They’re not a true reflection of what the singers actually think I wouldn’t imagine.

it’s mostly kids acting up. Hardly the end of the world.

stuart-farquhar
04-08-2022, 03:50 PM

People in church do it every week.

04-08-2022, 03:54 PM
That’ll be that then!!

How about football being tribal for a lot of folk. 90 mins of saying things you wouldn’t normally?

I hear people shouting and swearing at the ref, or Hibs players or our manager all the time. The folk doing the shouting are probably normal decent folk who wouldn’t dream of saying these things at work or wherever.

These songs are designed to cause offence to rivals. Nothing more than that. They’re not a true reflection of what the singers actually think I wouldn’t imagine.

You can see the danger in this mentality though right? Most will draw a line but a lot won't and saying this stuff is OK with surely egg them on.

Also worth noting that the incident in question did not happen in a ground but in a pub that would potentially have been full of ordinary folk wanting a drink on a Saturday. So the 90 minute bigot thing (which is obviously nonsense already) clearly doesn't work in containing this stuff just in ground.

skankomcphee
04-08-2022, 04:04 PM

It’s not though - they’re high as kites, unpredictable, and acting like a feral mob - interfering and upsetting the daily lives of the public when going out for a quiet drink and tarnishing the reputation of Hibs fans in the process. I think society as a whole is too tolerant of this nonsense.

04-08-2022, 04:10 PM
:top marksThat made me laugh.... :greengrin

Brummie_Hibs
04-08-2022, 04:12 PM
Shine on you Crazy Diamond - Pink Floyd, Back In Black - AC/DC, Man on the Moon - REM

Stone them. Burn them.

Seriously, Michael Stipe - Burn him, stone him and then throw him in the bin. Then I'll write a song about him!

Stairway 2 7
04-08-2022, 04:21 PM

Hitler has only got one ball the other..

Eddy Ouwens does it too

04-08-2022, 05:25 PM

You’re entitled to your opinion but what a lot of pish. I take offence at your accusation - but won’t lose sleep over it.

04-08-2022, 07:03 PM

Now that is funny 🤣

04-08-2022, 07:24 PM
Amazing isn’t it?

5 pages of indignation here on Hibs net and yet no one has made a positive identification.

I reckon that at more that at 6 pages it becomes statistically improbable that no one on here can recognise any of the perpetrators.

That makes one wonder how real the disgust is and whether Hibs net, like many forums out there is just a collection of stale hot air.

I wonder if Hibs net is still capable of doing something good for Hibs, football and society?

Stairway 2 7
04-08-2022, 07:28 PM
Amazing isn’t it?

5 pages of indignation here on Hibs net and yet no one has made a positive identification.

I reckon that at more that at 6 pages it becomes statistically improbable that no one on here can recognise any of the perpetrators.

That makes one wonder how real the disgust is and whether Hibs net, like many forums out there is just a collection of stale hot air.

I wonder if Hibs net is still capable of doing something good for Hibs, football and society?

The amount of 18 yo posters on here is probably slim so harder for a positive id. It's been highlighted on here and the club media ect read here. It's up to the club to ban them, if there is regular threads it's more likely. Hibs.net has no power to ban anyone from getting tickets

04-08-2022, 07:34 PM

Maybe 1 exception but otherwise I agree.

https://youtu.be/HPXHRX8Q2hs

Stairway 2 7
04-08-2022, 07:39 PM
Proud Edwards army bit of flower of Scotland will need removed, Olivers army goosed to, rather ra rasputin defames alexandra too. Is there a certain time that has to pass

BH Hibs
04-08-2022, 07:55 PM

Bollocks. Tramp the dirt down by Elvis Costello is a classic.

04-08-2022, 08:06 PM
Proud Edwards army bit of flower of Scotland will need removed, Olivers army goosed to, rather ra rasputin defames alexandra too. Is there a certain time that has to pass

Maybe make Hitler the cut-off point.
Hitler and before - 👍
After Hitler - 👎

sadtom
04-08-2022, 08:13 PM
Amazing isn’t it?

Are you aware of the irony of having the username ‘Judas’ while appearing to urge folk to ‘grass’ on the ‘perpetrators’?

Perhaps if they are spotted at the derby you could kiss them on the cheek then claim your £15 in 10 bob bits?

Brummie_Hibs
04-08-2022, 08:15 PM
There is a bonnie fitbaw team, at Easter Road they play. I go along to cheer them every other Saturday....
<snip>
Smith, Johnstone, Reilly, Turnbull, Ormond!

This song is now cancelled!!

04-08-2022, 10:02 PM
Are you aware of the irony of having the username ‘Judas’ while appearing to urge folk to ‘grass’ on the ‘perpetrators’?

Perhaps if they are spotted at the derby you could kiss them on the cheek then claim your £15 in 10 bob bits?

Since when was reporting unacceptable behaviour that brings the name of our club into disrepute ‘grassing’? Sounds like cowardice of the highest order, either that or playing lip service to the yobs.

I’m led to believe that management are actively considering a reporting hotline as part of a tightening up of safety and security in and around stadiums. The days of wee cokeheids giving us a bad name just might be numbered.

sadtom
04-08-2022, 10:38 PM
Since when was reporting unacceptable behaviour that brings the name of our club into disrepute ‘grassing’? Sounds like cowardice of the highest order, either that or playing lip service to the yobs.

I’m led to believe that management are actively considering a reporting hotline as part of a tightening up of safety and security in and around stadiums. The days of wee cokeheids giving us a bad name just might be numbered.

Quite frankly I couldn’t give a flying f*** what you, Judas or anyone else chooses to, or chooses not to do.
All that I was pointing out was the irony of a poster called Judas asking folk to grass/inform/tell/report (whatever damn word you wish to use) on the daft laddies involved. Because that’s what he was doing whether you agree with it or not. And it mildly amused me.

I also do not condone or condemn those involved. I did a hell of a lot worse when I was young and am reluctant to start chucking stones around in this particular greenhouse.

But I’m so pleased at you and others, with your infallible moral compass are here to save us all.

p.s. For what it’s worth I think ‘hotlines’ to report people is a very dangerous road to go down.
If I hear of a Hibs fan voting Tory can I report them? Because by Christ I’d find that a hell of a lot more disgusting and a more heinous example of anti social behaviour than some dafties singing an offensive song.

05-08-2022, 07:09 AM
^^Report me :greengrin

05-08-2022, 09:17 AM

What’s ironic about it?

Mcbizz1998
05-08-2022, 09:22 AM
True to some extent but I've been to handful of rugby games and seen a couple of fights, racist abuse and homophobic abuse.

As someone who went to these games as a football fan with an impression of rugby being very much different to football, I was taken aback by how this is a problem that goes well beyond one sport.

I have been going to Scotland rugby games home and away for 25 years. I haven’t missed a scotland home match since 1995. I have been away every year since 1999. 2 lions tours, 3 world cups. Season ticket holder with Edinburgh for many years.

I have NEVER heard or seen any racist or homophobic abuse. Couple of punch ups in pubs but thats it. I’m not saying you are wrong or it doesn’t happen but it’s extremely rare. It’s very much a football problem.

Crunchie
05-08-2022, 09:49 AM
When I started going to Hibs games on a regular basis (79-80), the songs sung on the East Terracing included...Mocking the Ibrox disaster - mocking the death of Celtc player Johnny Doyle - songs about the IRA.

Mostly these were sung by a handful of teenagers, and much to the disgust of most people nearby.

The only difference now is that this stuff is put on social media for the world to see.

05-08-2022, 09:59 AM
I have been going to Scotland rugby games home and away for 25 years. I haven’t missed a scotland home match since 1995. I have been away every year since 1999. 2 lions tours, 3 world cups. Season ticket holder with Edinburgh for many years.

I have NEVER heard or seen any racist or homophobic abuse. Couple of punch ups in pubs but thats it. I’m not saying you are wrong or it doesn’t happen but it’s extremely rare. It’s very much a football problem.

I follow Scotland away at both rugby and football. I thoroughly enjoy both. Without question, the worst abuse I’ve suffered for wearing my kilt is at Twickenham, on a number of occasions. The place is full of absolute tossers.

Mcbizz1998
05-08-2022, 10:32 AM
I follow Scotland away at both rugby and football. I thoroughly enjoy both. Without question, the worst abuse I’ve suffered for wearing my kilt is at Twickenham, on a number of occasions. The place is full of absolute tossers.

Presumably not racist or homophonic though?Never had abuse once for wearing a kilt at Twickers, personally.

A guy lobbed a kebab at me from a moving car window once, when I was in a kilt- that was in central Rome. Maybe he thought I was gay? [emoji23]

05-08-2022, 10:36 AM
Presumably not racist or homophonic though?Never had abuse once for wearing a kilt at Twickers, personally.

A guy lobbed a kebab at me from a moving car window once, when I was in a kilt- that was in central Rome. Maybe he thought I was gay? [emoji23]

Hope you caught the kebab 🤣

Not sure what genre anti-Scots abuse comes under. Are we a race? I’ve had it numerous times in the Cabbage Patch pub, whilst tailgating in the carpark and inside the stadium. I got less stick sitting in the home end at Wembley at Euro 96.

05-08-2022, 11:05 AM
It's terrible!

05-08-2022, 11:10 AM

If he never charged you for it it must've been a donor kebab. 😉

05-08-2022, 11:19 AM

Tom English on sportsound a few years ago said that he hears
disgusting racist and homophobic abuse going to and after Rugby matches Rugby Tom should know

Mcbizz1998
05-08-2022, 11:29 AM
Tom English on sportsound a few years ago said that he hears
disgusting racist and homophobic abuse going to and after Rugby matches Rugby Tom should know

Tom English is a complete slaver who knows as much about rugby as he does football.

05-08-2022, 11:35 AM
Some of the behaviour from rugby fans I've witnessed in pubs is some of the worst I've ever seen.

There's a weird sexually perverse element to it which no doubt starts in their private rugby clubs which they see as high jinks. Welsh fans seem to be the worst in my experience

05-08-2022, 11:42 AM
Tom English is a complete slaver who knows as much about rugby as he does football.
I have heard it as well taking English fans to Murrayfield in my Taxi.

I'm Spartacus
05-08-2022, 11:48 AM
That’ll be that then!!

Football isn't a 90 minute excuse to be free to do whatever, there are quite a few young males who seem to have lacked guidance through their life, it's the ultimate lack of respect for life and there's zero excuse. Find them and ban the lot of them for life. We are better than this.

There's only one time it's acceptable to sing at the loss of someone and here it is: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m1PcJDRSvGc

Haha that's a belter!

05-08-2022, 12:02 PM
I follow Scotland away at both rugby and football. I thoroughly enjoy both. Without question, the worst abuse I’ve suffered for wearing my kilt is at Twickenham, on a number of occasions. The place is full of absolute tossers.Plenty open abuse around race, creed colour etc at twickers, been there on a few occasions but it's generally done with a bit of a knowing nod and wink between white well spoken male Oiks, and yes I have attempted to pull a couple up.

Tend to be a bit pissed up on pimms or something more exotic than the average football fan but they are out there alright.

05-08-2022, 12:07 PM

Probably does know what racist and homophobic abuse is though.

05-08-2022, 12:10 PM
That’ll be that then!!

There’s not much that happens at Hibs that signals the end of the world. We should still be doing whatever we can to make things better, including keeping out singing/chanting that lowers us to the level of those clubs we hate so much.

Lendo
05-08-2022, 12:16 PM
Some of the behaviour from rugby fans I've witnessed in pubs is some of the worst I've ever seen.

There's a weird sexually perverse element to it which no doubt starts in their private rugby clubs which they see as high jinks. Welsh fans seem to be the worst in my experience

The only time I ever saw trouble in the Port o’ Leith was after the rugby being on at Murrayfield. Never a spot of bother any other time. Many many years ago now mind.

05-08-2022, 12:17 PM
Not that it's right but it's been going on for decades, always an element of any support.

Mcbizz1998
05-08-2022, 12:18 PM
I have heard it as well taking English fans to Murrayfield in my Taxi.

Heard what?

05-08-2022, 12:28 PM
Heard what?
Racist and Homophobic language. Try and follow the thread.

Mcbizz1998
05-08-2022, 12:35 PM
Racist and Homophobic language. Try and follow the thread.

Wow, touchy [emoji23]

So you heard someone being racist in a taxi who happened to be going to or coming from a rugby match? Not really the same as what we are talking about.

At rugby matches, you don’t hear people singing or chanting racist or homophobic songs, at football you do. You also don’t hear large groups of rugby fans singing racist or homophobic songs in a pub.

You might however, hear a guy being racist in a taxi. That guy might also like rugby. Thats not the same as what happens at football.

Stairway 2 7
05-08-2022, 12:48 PM
Wow, touchy [emoji23]

So you heard someone being racist in a taxi who happened to be going to or coming from a rugby match? Not really the same as what we are talking about.

At rugby matches, you don’t hear people singing or chanting racist or homophobic songs, at football you do. You also don’t hear large groups of rugby fans singing racist or homophobic songs in a pub.

You might however, hear a guy being racist in a taxi. That guy might also like rugby. Thats not the same as what happens at football.

Didn't the fans say they are going to continue to sing swing low sweet chariot, even though its slavery origins have been highlighted and black players said they would prefer they didn't

05-08-2022, 01:00 PM
Wow, touchy [emoji23]

I was making the point that I have heard these comments and have heard from bar staff of inappropriate songs being sung by Rugby fans in their pubs.
It seems that sport is used as an excuse for people to behave like idiots.

05-08-2022, 01:38 PM
I was making the point that I have heard these comments and have heard from bar staff of inappropriate songs being sung by Rugby fans in their pubs.
It seems that sport is used as an excuse for people to behave like idiots.

Rugby has it's own faction of neds, it's just they're posh neds, exchange the Bucky for fancy beers but still use coke and there you have it.

06-08-2022, 09:59 AM
Enough of the rugby chat.

And please to god nobody call it “Twickers” again. Boggin.

06-08-2022, 10:02 AM

And please to god nobody call it “Twickers” again. Boggin.

Don't get your twickers in a nist.

HTD1875
06-08-2022, 11:04 AM
Wow, touchy [emoji23]

Must be a rugby forum somewhere for this pish.

06-08-2022, 11:08 AM

What a fabulous post. Saved me reading through all the knee jerk nonsense that those incidents tend to induce.

06-08-2022, 11:20 AM

And please to god nobody call it “Twickers” again. Boggin.Guessing you don't see the tongue in cheek swipe I attempted to take at the engerlund rugger types there?

Many do refer to "twickers" that way, only affectionately.