View Full Version : Announce Martin Boyle

Torto7062
01-08-2022, 09:26 PM
@BarryAnderson

Hearing Martin Boyle would be open to a return to Hibs. Club will push to bring him back to Easter Road if a contract issue at Al-Faisaly can be sorted out first.
#Hibs #Football #Transfers

He's here!
01-08-2022, 09:57 PM
@BarryAnderson

Hearing Martin Boyle would be open to a return to Hibs. Club will push to bring him back to Easter Road if a contract issue at Al-Faisaly can be sorted out first.

Blimey!! How good would that be?!

01-08-2022, 10:11 PM
The word ‘if’ is doing a lot of heavy lifting in that sentence.

BlackSheep
01-08-2022, 10:19 PM
Yeah the sorting out of a contract issue could be the huge hurdle…

Let’s hope it’s mutually beneficial for the contract to just get scrapped and let home come home.

01-08-2022, 10:35 PM
Bringing him back would be unbelievable.

1. He’s a top player
2. He’s perfectly suited to Johnson’s type of football - high press and quick play
3. A front 3 of him, Youan, McGeady, Melkersen or Tavares etc has potential to be a real handful and with Henderson suppling them
4. The positive effect it will have on the club, fans and players. It could even help convince guys like Porteous to sign an extension as he’ll see the ambition etc.

Would love it to happen.

Stokesy's on fire
01-08-2022, 10:40 PM
This is one of those deals the club has to get done fast hope they dont hang about

AdidasHibernian
01-08-2022, 10:40 PM
Come on Ron..dig deep here and get him home

Would be massive and would help shift tickets for Sunday never mind the season in general.

Please 🤞🤞

01-08-2022, 10:42 PM

1. He’s a top player
2. He’s perfectly suited to Johnson’s type of football - high press and quick play
3. A front 3 of him, Youan, McGeady, Melkersen, Tavares has potential to be a real handful and with Henderson suppling them
4. The positive effect it will have on the club, fans and players. It could even help convince guys like Porteous to sign an extension as he’ll see the ambition etc.

Would love it to happen.

If we can play 5 players as a front 3 then we are defo onto something [emoji12]

01-08-2022, 10:48 PM
If we can play 5 players as a front 3 then we are defo onto something [emoji12]

🤣 teams wouldn’t know what’s coming!

02-08-2022, 12:41 AM
🤣 teams wouldn’t know what’s coming!

But the taxman would.

cocteautwin
02-08-2022, 01:22 AM
He's only been away for a few months in the tax years on both sides of 5 April hasn't he? He's going to have a pretty hefty tax bill if he moves back.

Earlydelivery
02-08-2022, 04:30 AM
As I said on the transfer section earlier he’s not going back to Saudi’ wants to come home if we can get it done he’ll be delighted.. Dons defo sniffing about.

02-08-2022, 04:32 AM
As I said on the transfer section earlier he’s not going back to Saudi’ wants to come home if we can get it done he’ll be delighted.. Dons defo sniffing about.

They are but that won’t happen

Yorkshire HFC
02-08-2022, 05:14 AM
Wow - are Hibs going to buy a player for £3m?

02-08-2022, 05:18 AM

No. If that's the asking price, it won't happen

02-08-2022, 05:46 AM

The 3m hasn’t been paid by all accounts

02-08-2022, 06:32 AM

1. He’s a top player
3. A front 3 of him, Youan, McGeady, Melkersen or Tavares etc has potential to be a real handful and with Henderson suppling them

Would love it to happen.
Forget McGeady, out for a good 2-3 months

02-08-2022, 06:53 AM
Forget McGeady, out for a good 2-3 months

It’s a recurrence of the injury that led to the end of his time at Sunderland. There must be some doubt in Aiden’s mind as to whether a full recovery is possible?

02-08-2022, 08:06 AM
It’s a recurrence of the injury that led to the end of his time at Sunderland. There must be some doubt in Aiden’s mind as to whether a full recovery is possible?

It was done by contact but yes, it will be a worry every time he gets tackled.

02-08-2022, 08:21 AM
The most likely situation here is that the Hearts Evening News sycophant and all round dullard is trolling the week before the derby.

Another, like Ewan Murray, who spends as much time obsessing about Hibs than their own clubs.

DIXIHIBS
02-08-2022, 08:28 AM
The most likely situation here is that the Hearts Evening News sycophant and all round dullard is trolling the week before the derby.

Another, like Ewan Murray, who spends as much time obsessing about Hibs than their own clubs.

That's exactly it. Winding hibs fans up in the lead up to Sunday. Building things up and just waiting to knock it down again.

02-08-2022, 08:30 AM

My thoughts exactly, when I saw BA’s name attached to it.

sahpaton
02-08-2022, 08:32 AM

If this was the case you’d like to think Patrick McPartlin would have rubbished it by now

02-08-2022, 08:38 AM

I used to think the same about Barry until I actually spent time in his company a few times. He’s a good lad.
Ewan Murray on the other hand is a complete and utter whopper.

Stokesy's on fire
02-08-2022, 09:11 AM

based on?

Percy Vere
02-08-2022, 09:56 AM
based on?

Based on them sniffing about of course 😂

02-08-2022, 09:58 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-working-on-martin-boyle-return-but-must-negotiate-contract-complexities-3790236

Hibs working on Martin Boyle return but must negotiate contract complexities

Earlydelivery
02-08-2022, 10:00 AM
based on?
That's what i was told Sat night .. it's come from a great friend who was out with him .

02-08-2022, 10:01 AM
That's exactly it. Winding hibs fans up in the lead up to Sunday. Building things up and just waiting to knock it down again.Banderson, this is the guy who bought into the Hearts self sufficient story and also stuck an extra zero or two in some of his sums when reporting how many millions they had if I remember correctly.

Not the finest investigative journalist in the world and no doubt trying to self promote a bit with his preferred audience.

02-08-2022, 10:09 AM
My thinking on this is that Hibs will be gutted that this has got traction in the press as they'll have made the enquiry but surely it's either going to be too costly for the club or Boyle or his existing club will either not want to move or receive better offers.

It turns a good news week, especially with the choose Hibs stuff being put out and the new strip, into a bad news week as fans have the hump. Not ideal going into a derby.

02-08-2022, 10:11 AM
29 days until the transfer window closes, Hopefully we don’t pursue MB to the last minute, miss out, then don’t have time to secure someone else.

BlackSheep
02-08-2022, 10:17 AM
I think its reasonable to assume that should the contract issue, or whatever has caused the speculation / Boyle going AWOL from SA, be resolved then Martin will be back at hibs.... be it til January or next summer.

I think Ron Gordon, being the shrewd business man he is, will see the commercial value in spending a little to secure Boyle AS WELL AS other targets... it would go a long way getting some fans back on side and i am sure it would sell more Season Tickets.

NC1875
02-08-2022, 10:21 AM
That's what i was told Sat night .. it's come from a great friend who was out with him .

Of course the sheep will be sniffing about. And anyone who thinks he wouldn’t sign for them is deluded.

It will all come down to ££££, the same reason he went to Saudi in the first place.

02-08-2022, 10:23 AM
My thinking on this is that Hibs will be gutted that this has got traction in the press as they'll have made the enquiry but surely it's either going to be too costly for the club or Boyle or his existing club will either not want to move or receive better offers.

It turns a good news week, especially with the choose Hibs stuff being put out and the new strip, into a bad news week as fans have the hump. Not ideal going into a derby.

Works in Hibs favour, we hold the aces in my opinion, any club other than Hibs trying to buy him will have to pay the club's valuation which I can't see happening and still pay us what we are due or Hibs just have to say forget all the future payments just hand him back

02-08-2022, 10:23 AM
Of course the sheep will be sniffing about. And anyone who thinks he wouldn’t sign for them is deluded.

It will all come down to ££££, the same reason he went to Saudi in the first place.

Well, Hibs still have a big say here, as the Saudi club still owe us money. So either Aberdeen pay the Saudis a huge transfer fee so that the Saudis can then pay off what they owe Hibs, or it's a no-go.

02-08-2022, 10:25 AM

Aberdeen or any other club after him will have to spend millions to get him as if he goes anywhere else then Hibs will still be due our fee paid in full

NC1875
02-08-2022, 10:28 AM
Aberdeen or any other club after him will have to spend millions to get him as if he goes anywhere else then Hibs will still be due our fee paid in full

No one knows how much we’ve been paid so it’s all guesswork. But if there’s a chance of him coming back here I’ll be delighted.

But let’s not pretend Aberdeen won’t be sniffing about or that Boyle wouldn’t actually sign for them.

02-08-2022, 10:31 AM
Works in Hibs favour, we hold the aces in my opinion, any club other than Hibs trying to buy him will have to pay the club's valuation which I can't see happening and still pay us what we are due or Hibs just have to say forget all the future payments just hand him back

But that money isn't really a problem for so many other clubs that could also be interested beyond Scotland. And Hibs have budgeted for the future with the Boyle money in mind, I don't think we can just write it off and take him back.

02-08-2022, 10:32 AM
No one knows how much we’ve been paid so it’s all guesswork. But if there’s a chance of him coming back here I’ll be delighted.

But let’s not pretend Aberdeen won’t be sniffing about or that Boyle wouldn’t actually sign for them.

Ron has specifically stated that payments are in installments with Boyle and Doig, so we clearly haven't been paid in full, Aberdeen or anyone else would have to pay the going rate but it seems we have leverage on our side

Broxburn Greens
02-08-2022, 10:32 AM

This is my thinking. Not sure how much Hibs are still due but I’d read £1.5m may be the case?

That being the case where exactly do the sheep or any other SPFL club outside the OF get that sort of money from?

Hibs may have to “pay” £1.5m in the above scenario but in reality we don’t as we never had it in the first place…

I have a sneaky feeling this may happen and pretty confident thatRon may be willing to pay any salary Aberdeen might… Fly in the ointment may not be in Scotland but maybe the North of England with say Middelsborough or Sunderland.

NC1875
02-08-2022, 10:35 AM
This is my thinking. Not sure how much Hibs are still due but I’d read £1.5m may be the case?

That being the case where exactly do the sheep or any other SPFL club outside the OF get that sort of money from?

Hibs may have to “pay” £1.5m in the above scenario but in reality we don’t as we never had it in the first place…

I have a sneaky feeling this may happen and pretty confident thatRon may be willing to pay any salary Aberdeen might… Fly in the ointment may not be in Scotland but maybe the North of England with say Middelsborough or Sunderland.

The Saudi club just going to write off the 1.5 million they’ve already paid us ? They’ll want to recoup as much as possible as well.

No one knows, we’ll just have to wait and see I suppose. 🤞

Broxburn Greens
02-08-2022, 10:39 AM
The Saudi club just going to write off the 1.5 million they’ve already paid us ? They’ll want to recoup as much as possible as well.

Just a hypothetical scenario. The Saudi club may realise they can’t afford the remaining fee and just have to cut their losses but as I said above there may be clubs in England willing to part with nearer the £3m they paid for him.

If it’s to be the full £3m or even £2 then he won’t be coming back to any SPFL club other than one of the OF.

02-08-2022, 10:40 AM
But that money isn't really a problem for so many other clubs that could also be interested beyond Scotland. And Hibs have budgeted for the future with the Boyle money in mind, I don't think we can just write it off and take him back.

Plenty of other clubs could have bought him for a bargain when the Saudis did but didn't, appreciate what you say about his fee being budgeted for but sometimes you just need to take a risk, having him back could mean additional funds due to league and cup placings not to mention the boost the whole club would get bringing him back

May well all be wishful thinking on my part but genuinely think we have a hand to play here

BlackSheep
02-08-2022, 10:44 AM

They might have to write it off and consider it a loan fee.... they did have him for 6 months, we are entitled to something.

02-08-2022, 10:51 AM
There will be rules, FIFA rules, governing situations where players are transferred and payments aren't made as agreed? That must surely be the case, alongside rules around players not being paid etc?

02-08-2022, 10:56 AM
There will be rules, FIFA rules, governing situations where players are transferred and payments aren't made as agreed? That must surely be the case, alongside rules around players not being paid etc?

There's a Court of Arbitration for Sport, it might end up there I guess.

Maybe we could call in football legal expert Leslie Deans. He sorted out Hearts and their £8m compensation after all.

GreenGray
02-08-2022, 11:55 AM

My thoughts exactly, I hope fans don't get too annoyed with the club if it doesn't happen because it sounds like a messy situation and one that no one really understands so speculating won't help. That being said if he ends up at Aberdeen then fans have every right to be annoyed.

02-08-2022, 12:02 PM
There's a Court of Arbitration for Sport, it might end up there I guess.

Maybe we could call in football legal expert Leslie Deans. He sorted out Hearts and their £8m compensation after all.

Is he the guy who specialises in cases that end with his client being (ahem) "demoted", or, as others might call it, relegated?

Was he on the Hearts board too when they tried to take Mallorca to UEFA for having goalposts that were the wrong size? Outcome - Hearts kicked out of Europe and handed a hefty fine.

The opposite of the Midas Touch, coupled with the classic jambo unrealistic sense of entitlement.

02-08-2022, 12:06 PM
Blimey!! How good would that be?!
Unbelievable so much so just don't see it happening

02-08-2022, 12:11 PM
Is he the guy who specialises in cases that end with his client being (ahem) "demoted", or, as others might call it, relegated?

Was he on the Hearts board too when they tried to take Mallorca to UEFA for having goalposts that were the wrong size? Outcome - Hearts kicked out of Europe and handed a hefty fine.

The opposite of the Midas Touch, coupled with the classic jambo unrealistic sense of entitlement.

Aye, the Jambo wi nae neck and squeals a lot. Was accused of committing fraud (not sure if that narrows it down much).

yerauldda
02-08-2022, 12:15 PM
Worthwhile to remember that we would recoup some of the outlay to bring him back with him going to the World Cup in December.

02-08-2022, 12:20 PM
The club will have set their football budgets with the expectation of the Boyle money coming in, contracts issued to some of our new signing on fees/salaries committed to with that in mind. Would love Martin back but I’d imagine this could be a pretty messy affair.

BlackSheep
02-08-2022, 12:27 PM
The club will have set their football budgets with the expectation of the Boyle money coming in, contracts issued to some of our new signing on fees/salaries committed to with that in mind. Would love Martin back but I’d imagine this could be a pretty messy affair.

While you are correct, thats business... things can change at any time and I am sure RG and BK will be working hard behind the scenes to re-evaluate given the potential change in circumstances.

Let's not write this off due to it meaning the club has some work to do.

hibeesjoe
02-08-2022, 12:30 PM
What do people realistically think Hibs could afford as a weekly wage for Boyle? Even if it was £10k a week that's still some drop from what he's on at the moment.

Sent from my Pixel 6a using Tapatalk

02-08-2022, 12:31 PM
I think they'll take a punt on a deal in the hope he has a good world cup and gets sold again.

02-08-2022, 12:33 PM
I think they'll take a punt on a deal in the hope he has a good world cup and gets sold again.

I was thinking this earlier, might make more sense for the Saudi’s to send him out on loan before the WC rather than a permanent move in the hope he plays well and some desperate team want to make a January purchase at an inflated price.

02-08-2022, 12:34 PM
I think the prospect of this happening seems really difficult, yet somehow possible.

The club would deserve immense credit if they pulled it off and would probably take our summer window to a 6/7 out of 10 to a 8/9 in my eyes.

02-08-2022, 12:37 PM
@BarryAnderson

No chance this will happen.

BlackSheep
02-08-2022, 12:39 PM
Long gone are the days when folk at least scanned the thread before posting...... so many quoting tweets and articles that have been discussed to death, both optimism and pessimism thrown around and all of us just hoping that a new post ha some new info.... ah the good old days lol

Mcbizz1998
02-08-2022, 12:41 PM
No chance this will happen.

Nope. There is a chance, quite a good chance.

02-08-2022, 01:02 PM
What do people realistically think Hibs could afford as a weekly wage for Boyle? Even if it was £10k a week that's still some drop from what he's on at the moment.

You assume he is actually being paid.

02-08-2022, 01:04 PM

He went abroad for the money-Quite rightly. He’s not going to come back and lose it all in back taxes.

Hibiza
02-08-2022, 01:06 PM
Come Home Martin :flag:

02-08-2022, 01:07 PM
From the Sun

"Hibs, though, are believed to have secured first refusal on Boyle within the original agreement with Al-Faisaly. Club owner Ron Gordon last week admitted he’d already spoken to the player about coming back to Easter Road.

However, Gordon played down their chances of success as he confessed Hibs had badly missed the inspirational winger in a poor second half of the season which saw them finish in the bottom six.

The obvious hurdle for any deal is finance, though there’s talk of a compromise with the Saudis over transfer payment instalments.

However, Boyle is understood to be keen to listen to any Hibs proposal.

02-08-2022, 01:09 PM
He went abroad for the money-Quite rightly. He’s not going to come back and lose it all in back taxes.

Why would he lose it all in back taxes? He might have to pay tax on earning etc, but even this country doesn't take 100%.

Maybe Martin's stint away has helped him realise that there's more to life than money, like a heavily pregnant wife.

cammy1969
02-08-2022, 01:19 PM
If can get him back 3 year contract and a testimonial, which would off set a good bit of the money he would lose, just a thought

hhibs
02-08-2022, 02:53 PM
If can get him back 3 year contract and a testimonial, which would off set a good bit of the money he would lose, just a thought

That is smart thinking,hope the committee at Hibs have thought of that.

hibby rae
02-08-2022, 02:59 PM

45% of the earnings maybe?

So if all the wage reports etc were correct, he'd still be left with maybe £300k-£350k? Not taking into account possible bonuses and signing on fee etc

Not bad for 5 months work. His house is paid off anyway.

02-08-2022, 03:06 PM

It is really strict in terms of the SFA granting a testimonial. Sadly, we wouldn’t be allowed to include a testimonial as a pay package as you’ve described.

02-08-2022, 03:51 PM
as i said on the transfer section earlier he’s not going back to saudi’ wants to come home if we can get it done he’ll be delighted.. Dons defo sniffing about.

based on?

proof ! 26074

02-08-2022, 04:07 PM
Hope this doesn't come across as negative but I hope that if we sign him we don't pin all our hopes on him and try and play everything through him. He's very much a Hibs level player. I'd like to see him return but he isn't going to transform us on his own. As part of an exciting, forward thinking side as we're trying to be he would compliment it very well and allow others more space. I think he'd be a good part of the jigsaw.

02-08-2022, 04:25 PM
Hope this doesn't come across as negative but I hope that if we sign him we don't pin all our hopes on him and try and play everything through him. He's very much a Hibs level player. I'd like to see him return but he isn't going to transform us on his own. As part of an exciting, forward thinking side as we're trying to be he would compliment it very well and allow others more space. I think he'd be a good part of the jigsaw.

Unless we re-hire Jack Ross, I don’t see that being a problem.

EricM
02-08-2022, 04:28 PM
I would have thought he will get hammered with tax by not doing a full year April to April in Saudi before coming back here?

But maybe football isn’t like the office based jobs I’ve heard about

02-08-2022, 04:36 PM

Wondering what a Hibs level player means ?

Of course he's not going to transform us on his own, but he's more than a good part of a jigsaw. He's a guy who has fans off their seats, he makes for exciting viewing and he scores lots of goals (they win games, something we haven't been doing too often since he left).

He's a talismanic figure who has game winning attributes, no one outside of the Old Firm will be signing better.

02-08-2022, 05:59 PM
I would have thought he will get hammered with tax by not doing a full year April to April in Saudi before coming back here?

But maybe football isn’t like the office based jobs I’ve heard about

As things stand, he'll be due UK tax at his top rate on everything he's been paid in SA.

02-08-2022, 06:03 PM
Wondering what a Hibs level player means ?

Of course he's not going to transform us on his own, but he's more than a good part of a jigsaw. He's a guy who has fans off their seats, he makes for exciting viewing and he scores lot's of goals (they win games, something we haven't been doing too often since he left).

He's a talismanic figure who has game winning attributes, no one outside of the Old Firm will be signing better.

By Hibs level player I mean not good enough for the old firm.

BlackSheep
02-08-2022, 06:03 PM
Let’s not get bogged down too much on the financial side of a potential Boyle return… some things are more important than money, and yes, he chose the move for the big pay packet but I am going to say it’s hardly a surprise if he’s experienced SA for 6 months and said, it’s not worth it!

Come home, pay your tax and put it all down to experience.

02-08-2022, 06:58 PM
The Hibs family who met him on holiday in Florida reported on Facebook that Martin said:

Hibs have not been paid (could mean beyond the first installment);

Money is not everything; and

He's not going back to Saudi.

Another ITK poster with connections to the club said Hibs had received £800,000 so far, Martins wages were going to be halved in Saudi to £15k and Hibs were offering £8k.

Don't shoot the messenger.

02-08-2022, 07:56 PM
I don’t see Boyle being difficult to deal with. He knows the script. If he wants to come back then he’s going to need to sacrifice some cash. That’s all he went for in the first place, maybe he’s just realised that it’s not worth it. Even if he has to pay tax, what he’ll have earned in six months will probably have him mortgage free. And it’s not like he’s coming back for minimum wage.

I’d be more concerned about dealing with the Saudi lot. If some of the rumours are correct then there could be it could end up with FIFA disputes or anything.

hibeesjoe
02-08-2022, 08:02 PM
You assume he is actually being paid.If he's not being paid his move has been a total disaster for him. Unless they pay in lump sums in Saudi every few months instead of monthly I wouldn't have went back after the first couple of missed wages.

Hibees1973
02-08-2022, 08:05 PM
Unless the Saudi club are willing to write off a sum of around £2m (the estimated unpaid transfer fee), then Boyle is not coming back to Hibs.

I'm just guessing, but the only other possible avenue is for Boyle to take the Saudi club to court over the alleged unpaid wages, which could smooth the path for a way back to ER.

Whatever, Boyle and his agent have chased the money and signed for a club in a country which UEFA have discouraged players to go to.

Much as I enjoyed watching Boyle I don't want our owner to jeopardise the financial stability of the club. The club have this long-term plan of signing development players and will have put financial plans, including the fee provided by Boyle, in place to support this.

Maybe Ron can finance the signing of Boyle out of his own pocket.

02-08-2022, 08:14 PM
Unless the Saudi club are willing to write off a sum of around £2m (the estimated unpaid transfer fee), then Boyle is not coming back to Hibs.

I'm just guessing, but the only other possible avenue is for Boyle to take the Saudi club to court over the alleged unpaid wages, which could smooth the path for a way back to ER.

Whatever, Boyle and his agent have chased the money and signed for a club in a country which UEFA have discouraged players to go to.

Much as I enjoyed watching Boyle I don't want our owner to jeopardise the financial stability of the club. The club have this long-term plan of signing development players and will have put financial plans, including the fee provided by Boyle, in place to support this.

Did that warning about Saudi Arabia come before or after Boyle went there?

02-08-2022, 08:18 PM

Am I missing something? Why would the Saudi club be writing off 2M? They aren't paying the full transfer fee AND letting Boyle return?

02-08-2022, 08:19 PM
Just come home

02-08-2022, 08:21 PM
Am I missing something? Why would the Saudi club be writing off 2M? They aren't paying the full transfer fee AND letting Boyle return?

surely defaulting

but what a real mess this has become

BlackSheep
02-08-2022, 08:29 PM
If the situation is unpaid wages then the dispute with Al Faisaly comes down to this - they need to either agree with Boyle when he will receive his wages to date…

Or they have to allow him to walk due to breach of contract.

If this is the case and they allow Martin to walk away, then Al Faisaly still are on the hook for the fee to Hibs.

This is where the complexity comes as Al Faisaly could try and ‘return’ Boyle to Hibs and cancel the transfer…. But Boyle and Hibs would need to agree to this as well. All parties may have to write off cash, be it Al Faisaly writing off whatever they’ve paid Hibs so far, and Boyle may have to write off what wages he is yet to receive.

That’s the simple solution but it comes down to whether Boyle can afford to write it off.

Otherwise this could be drawn out for a while… and possible end up in front of CAS.

02-08-2022, 08:32 PM
is their a Hibs possibility Hibs could end up suing the Saudi club

02-08-2022, 08:33 PM
Just come home
If the announcer plays come home by James the whole ground would be hyper 😂

Hibees1973
02-08-2022, 08:46 PM
is their a Hibs possibility Hibs could end up suing the Saudi club

100%. The Saudi club will have another chunk of the fee to pay and if it's not paid on the due date this would be another bargaining tool for Hibs.

Remember the Yams had outstanding fees to pay to several clubs when they had their self-inflicted administration mess. The problem with this was that their creditors only got around 10% of what they were entitled to. But hey, a new £15m stand pops up at Tiny a couple of years later. What a stinking club they are.

Sorry to digress.

I would love to see Boyle back at Hibs. But not at a major financial cost to Hibs. As others have said, Boyle and his agent should take the financial hit and put it down to experience. If he is not willing to do this I would rather Boyle moves elsewhere.

02-08-2022, 08:49 PM
100%. The Saudi club will have another chunk of the fee to pay and if it's not paid on the due date this would be another bargaining tool for Hibs.

Remember the Yams had outstanding fees to pay to several clubs when they had their self-inflicted administration mess. The problem with this was that their creditors only got around 10% of what they were entitled to. But hey, a new £15m stand pops up at Tiny a couple of years later. What a stinking club they are.

Sorry to digress.

I would love to see Boyle back at Hibs. But not at a major financial cost to Hibs. As others have said, Boyle and his agent should take the financial hit and put it down to experience. If he is not willing to do this I would rather Boyle moves elsewhere.

Ron knows the score!

02-08-2022, 08:54 PM
All the Twitter 'ITK' folk are out in force this evening posting Starman posts and Boyle soon posts so they look good if it comes off. I'm still very sceptical but would be delighted.

Willis1875
02-08-2022, 08:56 PM
Is there a possibility that we blow our transfer wad on bringing Boyle back thus leaving nothing in the kitty to strengthen other areas of the park such as centre half and midfield and leaving us a bit short like we were last season

02-08-2022, 08:58 PM

Nope. There isn’t.

02-08-2022, 09:01 PM
Is there a possibility that we blow our transfer wad on bringing Boyle back thus leaving nothing in the kitty to strengthen other areas of the park such as centre half and midfield and leaving us a bit short like we were last season

Hopefully aye.

02-08-2022, 09:13 PM

Sorry to digress.

i do kinda agree with this

02-08-2022, 09:15 PM

Sorry to digress.

And if it is paid on time?

02-08-2022, 09:16 PM
The question is what number will he get now Tavares is 10.

Are free. Will we see something daft like 31 for the rangers game or 77?

Can’t wait for him to score on Sunday.

02-08-2022, 09:21 PM
Surely Deek set the precedent and he’d get 01?

Edit: obviously 1 isn’t free, too much excitement for me.

LustForLeith
02-08-2022, 09:22 PM
Heard this was happening last week. Kept it to myself and had a wee chuckle reading the comments in the thread saying he won’t come back!

Think another player is coming in…

Anyway. Back for a chuckle

02-08-2022, 09:30 PM
Heard this was happening last week. Kept it to myself and had a wee chuckle reading the comments in the thread saying he won’t come back!

Must admit I was one, thought it was pure fantasy stuff. Probably never wanted to set myself up for disappointment 🤣

Never knew he wasn’t being paid etc which is what alot of folk are saying now

Would love him back though, think he’s suit Johnson’s team perfectly.

Paulie Walnuts
02-08-2022, 09:37 PM
Don’t know if this has been mentioned yet (it probably has) but Martin is definitely still in Scotland.

If that means anything or not I’ve no idea.

Paulie Walnuts
02-08-2022, 09:42 PM

He’s really not a Hibs level player.

He had us up in mid table as a one man team and finishing third as one the year before.

The minute he left our form became relegation like. It’s no coincidence.

Martin Boyle is an exceptional player at this level for any team including the OF at this level. Scott ****ing Wright regularly plays for Rangers and even started a Europa League final. Boyle is levels above him.

StevesFamau5
02-08-2022, 09:45 PM

Yeah but let's be honest. Until we see him with the scarf above the head or the wearing the new Jersey it's still all absolute speculation with a few good bits of hearsay.

If we're looking for a wee boost. It's halftime on Sunday. 0-0 and we're looking a bit laggy, half time announcement..
"ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, children of all ages, Hibernian FC are proud to present the return of the prodigal son

Maaaarrrrttttiiinnn Boooooyyyylllleeeee"

Cue pyro and delirium in the stands. The team is pumped and comes out second half to lose 1-0 to a deflection from Lawrence the forehead.

All is back to normal 🤣🤣

JimboHibs
02-08-2022, 09:47 PM
Yeah but let's be honest. Until we see him with the scarf above the head or the wearing the new Jersey it's still all absolute speculation with a few good bits of hearsay.

If we're looking for a wee boost. It's halftime on Sunday. 0-0 and we're looking a bit laggy, half time announcement..
"ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, children of all ages, Hibernian FC are proud to present the return of the prodigal son

Cue pyro and delirium in the stands. The team is pumped and comes out second half to lose 1-0 to a deflection from Lawrence the forehead.

All is back to normal 🤣🤣

🤣🤣🤣

02-08-2022, 09:48 PM

Remember The Daily Record originally posted it about 3-4 weeks ago now on Twitter 😉

Seriously though. Dealing with lawless and corrupt Saudi teams can't be easy.

Sgt. Hartman
02-08-2022, 09:50 PM

All is back to normal 🤣🤣

Parachuting in while Starman blasts over the tannoy 🤣

02-08-2022, 09:56 PM

All is back to normal 🤣🤣

It's the Hibs way 😂😂

02-08-2022, 10:17 PM
Don’t know if this has been mentioned yet (it probably has) but Martin is definitely still in Scotland.

If that means anything or not I’ve no idea.

He was at the Tranent Juniors game tonight. Poor guy didn't get any peace to watch the game as he was getting his photos taken with loads of kids. He's a star man

shetlandhibee
02-08-2022, 10:42 PM
He’s really not a Hibs level player.

He had us up in mid table as a one man team and finishing third as one the year before.

The minute he left our form became relegation like. It’s no coincidence.

Martin Boyle is an exceptional player at this level for any team including the OF at this level. Scott ****ing Wright regularly plays for Rangers and even started a Europa League final. Boyle is levels above him.
here here :top marks:agree:

Chorley Hibee
02-08-2022, 10:51 PM
Parachuting in while Starman blasts over the tannoy 🤣

Lands and breaks an ankle and is declared out for the season.

02-08-2022, 11:49 PM
Lands and breaks an ankle and is declared out for the season.

And also be declared injury prone by some .netters.....

Torto7
03-08-2022, 12:59 AM

Give us a name please or even a hint. :greengrin

03-08-2022, 01:18 AM
Ron, make him an offer he can't refuse... Squirrel head in a bed may seal the deal!

sadtom
03-08-2022, 05:01 AM
If only Hibs had held off the release of the 3rd kit. The return of MB would have been a perfect unveil with the ‘back in black’ tagline.

Be delighted to see it happen at any point though.
“He’s coming home, he’s coming home…” 🤞

03-08-2022, 05:45 AM
:hyper

03-08-2022, 09:18 AM

How about giving him 2016 as his squad number?

03-08-2022, 09:43 AM
How about giving him 2016 as his squad number?

70 or 62 or 32

03-08-2022, 09:56 AM

92 :greengrin

RossScott1991
03-08-2022, 09:59 AM
LJ on sky sports saying they are in negotiations and it’s a complex deal: but one they want to complete

03-08-2022, 10:03 AM
LJ on sky sports saying they are in negotiations and it’s a complex deal: but one they want to complete
Now that sounds positive, think LJ will definitely be ITK 😊

03-08-2022, 10:15 AM

Woohoo - this is exciting. From all I'm hearing, complex though it may be, there is an eminently doable deal in there somewhere. Al Faisili will be short of dosh if they've been relegated and, presuming as posted above, they are still owe money to both Hibs and Boyle, they should not be too hard to deal with.

03-08-2022, 10:25 AM
Now that sounds positive, think LJ will definitely be ITK 😊

Nah, he’s just attention seeking😏

Zambernardi1875
03-08-2022, 10:27 AM
Is there a possibility that Porto signs a new deal of Boyle comes back. Both seemed to be good pals

03-08-2022, 10:36 AM
As mentioned here is LJ talking about Boyle

https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/1554774404181229569?t=kxYmRxqkF0vUhGvRfha7AA&s=19

Mcbizz1998
03-08-2022, 10:42 AM
As mentioned here is LJ talking about Boyle

https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/1554774404181229569?t=kxYmRxqkF0vUhGvRfha7AA&s=19

Maybe just me but I feel like he knows more than he is letting on there. Wee bit of wry smile at points.

03-08-2022, 10:59 AM
I'll be digging out the daffy duck gif if Boyler comes home. Make it happen Ron!

03-08-2022, 11:10 AM
Woohoo - this is exciting. From all I'm hearing, complex though it may be, there is an eminently doable deal in there somewhere. Al Faisili will be short of dosh if they've been relegated and, presuming as posted above, they are still owe money to both Hibs and Boyle, they should not be too hard to deal with.

I wonder if part of the complexity is around the rumoured unpaid wages to Boyler, and possibly Hibs not receiving the next instalment of the transfer deal. possibly uefa??? need to be involved to terminate the original deal?
I am totally guessing here, making it up as I go along.
Would love to get this deal done.

03-08-2022, 11:13 AM
I wonder if part of the complexity is around the rumoured unpaid wages to Boyler, and possibly Hibs not receiving the next instalment of the transfer deal. possibly uefa??? need to be involved to terminate the original deal?
I am totally guessing here, making it up as I go along.
Would love to get this deal done.

I wonder what would happen if Boyle just walked out on them due to unpaid wages. I think Stevie Mallan has done something similar.

Was there not a slightly different but similar issue when we signed Zemmama. He claimed he was a free agent and his club said he was still under contract and we ended up having to pay his old club something.

WestStandWillie
03-08-2022, 11:30 AM
What a shot in the arm if Martin re-signs.

from a purely selfish pov, it suits aw parties concerned :thumbsup:

Stokesy's on fire
03-08-2022, 11:53 AM
I'll be digging out the daffy duck gif if Boyler comes home. Make it happen Ron!

if Hibs land Boyle i will be digging deep and buying my wee one a season ticket. :flag:

03-08-2022, 11:54 AM
I wonder what would happen if Boyle just walked out on them due to unpaid wages. I think Stevie Mallan has done something similar.

Was there not a slightly different but similar issue when we signed Zemmama. He claimed he was a free agent and his club said he was still under contract and we ended up having to pay his old club something.

Reading between the lines of Patrick McPartlands article yesterday, sounds like hibs actually have a lot more of a voice in this deal than was the case with zemmama as we are owed money. The real issue is timing - bit like the de Jong situation at Barca. As they owe the player money, its likely to take longer to resolve than a typical transfer

Martin Boyle is worth the wait, in my opinion, even if it means the slightly raw tavares ends up starting more games than he's ready for, before the window shuts

03-08-2022, 12:53 PM
Nah, he’s just attention seeking😏
That's naughty 😊

03-08-2022, 01:01 PM
Maybe just me but I feel like he knows more than he is letting on there. Wee bit of wry smile at points.

He must know more, even people on twitter know its a done deal.

03-08-2022, 01:27 PM
He must know more, even people on twitter know its a done deal.

Maybe The Cat isn't keeping LJ up to date?

03-08-2022, 03:14 PM
I'd be delighted and utterly flabbergasted if this happens. Keeping expectations very low for the time being

03-08-2022, 03:23 PM
Will be a few more STs sold on the back on a Boyle return. For much of last season, he was the only player worth paying money to watch :cb

Make it happen, Hibs.

03-08-2022, 04:09 PM
I've stated i just can't see Boyle returning and i'm more than willing to eat a slice of humble pie ! Would be delighted if MB came home !! Would love it to be true

Logie
03-08-2022, 04:21 PM
Really hoping this happens, felt like it would be very difficult to get MB back when the rumours started but the fact LJ has came out confirming our interest makes me think it’s further down the line than could be imagined. Surely Hibs would know quite early if it was possible, seems strange to me to public declare an interest and let the fans down if the deal did not happen. (Appreciate this happens with players but the MB situation is pretty unique as per his love for Hibs and fans love for him)

03-08-2022, 04:25 PM
Really hoping this happens, felt like it would be very difficult to get MB back when the rumours started but the fact LJ has came out confirming our interest makes me think it’s further down the line than could be imagined. Surely Hibs would know quite early if it was possible, seems strange to me to public declare an interest and let the fans down if the deal did not happen. (Appreciate this happens with players but the MB situation is pretty unique as per his love for Hibs and fans love for him)

I think it means Hibs WILL make it happen if they CAN and MB wants to return. LJ made it clear that it's a complex situation and that it's not in our hands. As others have pointed out, dealing with Saudi clubs is not like dealing with St Mirren !

Logie
03-08-2022, 04:28 PM
I think it means Hibs WILL make it happen if they CAN and MB wants to return. LJ made it clear that it's a complex situation and that it's not in our hands. As others have pointed out, dealing with Saudi clubs is not like dealing with St Mirren !

I agree that’s how I view it also, seems to be like Hibs know it’s do-able or LJ would distance himself from the speculation like we normally would with a transfer? Just my 2p’s worth, it’s exciting!!

03-08-2022, 05:00 PM
The pessimist that is… me says it won’t happen. Always set the bar low !

Hannah_hfc
03-08-2022, 05:40 PM
The pessimist that is… me says it won’t happen. Always set the bar low !

This is where I’m at, I can just see the Saudis digging their heels in until the window shuts.

Would love to be wrong though!

03-08-2022, 05:44 PM
This is where I’m at, I can just see the Saudis digging their heels in until the window shuts.

Would love to be wrong though!

Why would they do that? That's means they would have to pay him and they can't afford him now after getting relegated.

03-08-2022, 05:47 PM
Why would they do that? That's means they would have to pay him and they can't afford him now after getting relegated.

They don’t have to pay him, if they choose not to..and it will be virtually Impossible to sue for the money in that jurisdiction . In my Experience in doing business in the Middle East, decision makers will make decisions when they wish to..and normally never before .

03-08-2022, 05:48 PM

And they would have to pay us as well

03-08-2022, 05:55 PM
I think this one will be long and drawn out possibly till the last few days of the window

03-08-2022, 06:22 PM
I think this one will be long and drawn out possibly till the last few days of the window

Every possibility. It’s been on the go for 2-3 weeks already

03-08-2022, 06:42 PM
The club should have some kind of hall of fame Hibs player legends (Willie Groves David Gray Pat Stanton etc)
We might already have this somewhere already but Boyler should be in if he resigns.

03-08-2022, 06:51 PM
The club should have some kind of hall of fame Hibs player legends (Willie Groves David Gray Pat Stanton etc)
We might already have this somewhere already but Boyler should be in if he resigns.

What a great idea. :greengrin

03-08-2022, 06:57 PM
What a great idea. :greengrin

And whoever makes it in should have a picture in the tunnel at Easter road.

JamesHFC
03-08-2022, 09:01 PM
Al-Faisaly are currently awaiting the result of an appeal they have made which could see them return to the top division of the Saudi Professional League.

It’s became apparent that a team they drew against last season fielded a player who had ‘illegally’ joined the club so they are trying to get this changed to a win.

03-08-2022, 09:07 PM
Al-Faisaly are currently awaiting the result of an appeal they have made which could see them return to the top division of the Saudi Professional League.

It’s became apparent that a team they drew against last season fielded a player who had ‘illegally’ joined the club so they are trying to get this changed to a win.

Mon the Carlos Tevez precedent

03-08-2022, 09:15 PM
And whoever makes it in should have a picture in the tunnel at Easter road.

I was being sarcastic Waxy, we have had one for years and all their photos are in the West Stand Reception Area. People get inducted every few years.

BlackSheep
03-08-2022, 09:22 PM
Mon the Carlos Tevez precedent

Depends on what is meant by ‘illegally joined’.

JamesHFC
03-08-2022, 09:35 PM
Depends on what is meant by ‘illegally joined’.

The player was under contract for some team in Egypt but went to Saudi and played for this team without any sort of agreement etc.

03-08-2022, 09:38 PM
Hope its happening if Chrissy Mueller was on alleged wages then Surely Ron will see sense

03-08-2022, 09:42 PM

👍🤞

03-08-2022, 09:51 PM

Hmm this is a concern

03-08-2022, 09:55 PM

No club keeps an unhappy player against his will

03-08-2022, 09:58 PM

Where did you get this from?

timewilltell
03-08-2022, 09:59 PM
EXCLUSIVE! Hibs escalate Martin Boyle transfer return as Easter Road chiefs make offer |
@ScottBurns75

https://bit.ly/3oTMwro

HIBS NUTS
03-08-2022, 10:05 PM
I’ve not noticed anyone saying that the club a internationalist plays for, gets a very substantial fee if their player plays in the world cup, it might help with any fee due towards martin boyle.

JamesHFC
03-08-2022, 10:06 PM
Where did you get this from?

It’s touched upon here but I spoke to someone who knows the league for more detail.

https://twitter.com/shdadd_mu/status/1554930827296968706?s=21&t=WTmu2BsRynNZxjCzSx_klg

JamesHFC
03-08-2022, 10:12 PM

This is usually true. The club must have one Asian player for their AFC Champions League campaign though and Boyle is probably one of the best they will get. They don’t want to lose him but as you say if he doesn’t want to be there and they understand that then they may reluctantly let him go.

04-08-2022, 03:16 AM
This is usually true. The club must have one Asian player for their AFC Champions League campaign though and Boyle is probably one of the best they will get. They don’t want to lose him but as you say if he doesn’t want to be there and they understand that then they may reluctantly let him go.

Eh? Their squad is almost exclusively made up of Asian players.

Or does it have to be a foreign Asian players? Bizzare rule if that's the case

04-08-2022, 04:56 AM
I was being sarcastic Waxy, we have had one for years and all their photos are in the West Stand Reception Area. People get inducted every few years.

Cool haha i thought we’d maybe already have that.

04-08-2022, 05:11 AM
Got to give Ron and co credit for trying to make this happen. I'm still doubtful it will but if you don't try you don't get.

04-08-2022, 06:29 AM

I have absolutely no idea what is meant here....

04-08-2022, 06:30 AM

What a pathetic joke of a league. All that money, but no history and still the equivalent of the Scottish Sunday League.

04-08-2022, 08:03 AM
What a pathetic joke of a league. All that money, but no history and still the equivalent of the Scottish Sunday League.

Agreed, imagine fielding a player illegally and getting launched out the competition. Only a joke club and would let that happen.

04-08-2022, 08:08 AM

Pot kettle with ourselves.

04-08-2022, 09:03 AM
Wonder if Martin has put in a transfer request? Going by what i've read so far he seems keen on the move.

04-08-2022, 09:06 AM

To be fair we aren't really best placed to be talking about administative balls-ups :rolleyes:

JamesHFC
04-08-2022, 12:54 PM
Eh? Their squad is almost exclusively made up of Asian players.

Or does it have to be a foreign Asian players? Bizzare rule if that's the case

Yes so for example if you are a team from Saudi you can have one Asian player from a country like Japan, Australia etc.

You are allowed to have up to 4 players from a country other than your own team but one of them must be from another Asian country or you have to go with 3.

I'm Spartacus
04-08-2022, 01:37 PM

[Man United] HOLD MY BEER!

04-08-2022, 09:31 PM
So, is it going to happen anytime soon? Thoughts from any ITK.

Hibees1973
04-08-2022, 09:33 PM
Sorry, no, not happening.

Pie in the sky.

04-08-2022, 09:43 PM

Pie in the sky.

You wish.

04-08-2022, 09:51 PM

Pie in the sky.

Less wordy than your usual drivel.....but still drivel

04-08-2022, 09:54 PM
Less wordy than your usual drivel.....but still drivel

The only post of his I’ve actually made it to the end of.

MelbourneHibees
04-08-2022, 11:29 PM
Changed his Twitter Cover photo recently?

04-08-2022, 11:49 PM

Are you asking or telling us?

MelbourneHibees
05-08-2022, 12:00 AM
Are you asking or telling us?

05-08-2022, 12:05 AM

Thanks for clearing that up.

05-08-2022, 12:07 AM

I noticed that had changed a week or two ago

cameronw-hfc
05-08-2022, 12:26 AM
I noticed that had changed a week or two ago

Pretty sure it's been that for a while

06-08-2022, 09:05 AM
Why has he not signed, twitter said it was a done deal, i've a feline that was more pish as usual?

06-08-2022, 09:30 AM
Why has he not signed, twitter said it was a done deal, i've a feline that was more pish as usual?

Because Martin isn't the messiah, he's just a very naughty Boyle when it comes to cats?

BlackSheep
06-08-2022, 09:38 AM

Always looking to get a dig in eh! Lol

06-08-2022, 09:41 AM

Did The Cat tell you that?😏

BlackSheep
06-08-2022, 09:53 AM
Al Faisaly am have announced Boyle is coming to Hibs on their Twitter… here he comes!!!

06-08-2022, 09:56 AM
Al Faisaly am have announced Boyle is coming to Hibs on their Twitter… here he comes!!!

Was coming on to say the same…. It’s happening! :flag::flag::flag:

06-08-2022, 09:56 AM

It was a done deal. Just needed to iron out some contract finances.

Stairway 2 7
06-08-2022, 09:57 AM
Confirmed by Al faisaly wooohoo

https://mobile.twitter.com/AlFaisaly/status/1555851690896756737

06-08-2022, 09:57 AM
OH MY GOD HE'S COMING HOME!!

Just had a call from Hibernian Verse saying to get on the official Al Faisaly Twitter Account and translate the 3rd post on their page with a big picture of Martin saying "Good Luck". Translation is:

"The club management approved the offer submitted by the Scottish club Hibernian regarding the transfer of the Australian first-team football player “Martin Boyle”, wishing him more success and success".

This is as big a signing as we could have made this window. He is easily our best player and the thought of him in this team is frightening. Just a shame he won't be quite in time for tomorrow.

Welcome back Martin :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

06-08-2022, 09:59 AM
Hes coming home!!!

JoeT
06-08-2022, 10:10 AM
Club will be spewing that this has gone out from ALFaisaly before their own announcement

Stairway 2 7
06-08-2022, 10:10 AM
Confirmed by hibs

https://mobile.twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1555858505319464960

one day maybe...
06-08-2022, 10:11 AM
I'll wait until Hibs confirm :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

Be still my beating heart :thumbsup:

hulk
06-08-2022, 10:12 AM
Confirmed by hibs

https://mobile.twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1555858505319464960

Brilliant Hibs. Welcome home Boyler

BlackSheep
I'll wait until Hibs confirm :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

Be still my beating heart :thumbsup:

Didn’t have to wait long lolololol

OldEast
Club will be spewing that this has gone out from ALFaisaly before their own announcement

Sure they'll be fine

06-08-2022, 10:15 AM
https://i.gifer.com/SRs.gif

06-08-2022, 10:15 AM
We can confirm that Hibernian FC has come to an agreement with Al-Faisaly FC for the transfer of @MartinBoyle9.

He's coming home, he's coming home, Boyler's coming home

06-08-2022, 10:16 AM
I had my doubts and gutted he won’t be available tomorrow but woooooooop !

06-08-2022, 10:19 AM
Didn’t think this was going to happen . Welcome back Martin , delighted to see you return

06-08-2022, 10:19 AM
https://c.tenor.com/NL3wBH0yYw0AAAAd/hibs-hibernian.gif

06-08-2022, 10:21 AM
Great to have him back but I hope he gets a bit of time to settle back in and get himself match sharp.

aberhibsfc
06-08-2022, 10:30 AM
Confirmed, struth, bloody awesome!!! Boylers coming hame!

06-08-2022, 10:33 AM
Was that was what the Trainspotting runner video was all about.

BlackSheep
06-08-2022, 10:34 AM
I’ve got a feline a few folk will be putting their tails between their legs after this news, not all ITK posts are made up!!

06-08-2022, 10:37 AM
Did not think this would happen. Buzzing!

MelbourneHibees
06-08-2022, 10:38 AM
If another offer similar came in I think he would be away again. You can't turn that sort of money away.

Edit. That was a quote for aldot who has now deleted his post!

06-08-2022, 10:38 AM
Imagine his first game back fully fit is the home game against Rangers :greengrin

06-08-2022, 10:39 AM
Outstanding from Hibs. What a lift for the club ahead of the derby.

06-08-2022, 10:41 AM
If another offer similar came in I think he would be away again. You can't turn that sort of money away.

Edit. That was a quote for aldot who has now deleted his post!

No it wasn't

TAHibby
06-08-2022, 10:43 AM
The best thing about this news is that the spamming on every social media post will stop

MelbourneHibees
06-08-2022, 10:43 AM
No it wasn't

Literally says it was deleted by you at 10.35.

06-08-2022, 10:44 AM
Literally says it was deleted by you at 10.35.

Yeah i deleted my post but thats not what it said so stop talking nonsense thanks

06-08-2022, 10:45 AM
Be good if Porteous extended his contract now as well

MelbourneHibees
06-08-2022, 10:46 AM
Yeah i deleted my post but thats not what it said so stop talking nonsense thanks

I meant I had quoted you and was replying. Because you deleted it the quote disappears.

06-08-2022, 10:46 AM
https://youtu.be/TrUOo3ppBlg

MelbourneHibees
06-08-2022, 10:48 AM
Wonder what the offer we made them was. I know they were still due us most of the transfer fee they were due to pay. Maybe we have forfeited a portion or all of that.

06-08-2022, 10:50 AM
Wonder what the offer we made them was. I know they were still due us most of the transfer fee they were due to pay. Maybe we have forfeited a portion or all of that.

Without knowing I'd say we just called it quits on what they were due us.

Scotty Leither
06-08-2022, 10:51 AM
Outstanding from Hibs. What a lift for the club ahead of the derby.

Fantastic signing.

MelbourneHibees
06-08-2022, 10:52 AM
Without knowing I'd say we just called it quits on what they were due us.

Would assume so. Nearly 2 million I had heard.

06-08-2022, 10:54 AM
I’ve got a feline a few folk will be putting their tails between their legs after this news, not all ITK posts are made up!!

Great when it comes to frutition.

Sometimes it's not worth the hassle though.

06-08-2022, 10:55 AM
It was a done deal. Just needed to iron out some contract finances.

So not a done deal then?

Anyway great news, looks like he's signed, now that is a done deal. :thumbsup:

BlackSheep
06-08-2022, 10:56 AM
Great when it comes to frutition.

Sometimes it's not worth the hassle though.

Yup… if only the doubters felt moaning wasn’t worth the hassle as well!

Thanks to all those who did hear things and kept us all excited til this morning!

Won’t be able to wipe the smile from my face all day!

Weeeeeeee aaaarrrrreeeee Hibernian FC…..!!!

06-08-2022, 10:56 AM
Great news and fair play to all at Hibs. This goes a long way to winning over doubters.

RossScott1991
06-08-2022, 10:59 AM
I wonder if this signing will be followed by Porteous signing a new deal. His best mate back

06-08-2022, 11:00 AM
Another Aussie signing from a team who nobody’s heard of.

Could have had Nicky Clark

06-08-2022, 11:02 AM
Genuinely ecstatic right now, this is brilliant from Hibs.

I always hoped I might see Martin Boyle back in a Hibs shirt one day but never for a second thought that it would be 7 months after he left!

Welcome home, Martin! 🇳🇬💚

Capt Mainwaring
06-08-2022, 11:03 AM
An outstanding piece of business from Hibs. Sounds like a lot of negotiations took place to seal the deal acceptable to all parties. So can we put this “Ron the Con” sh@te to bed now and give Ben Kendall a bit of credit for once

Welcome home Boyler💚

Hibiza
06-08-2022, 11:06 AM
Fantastic news !!!!! Welcome Home Martin.:flag::flag:

06-08-2022, 11:07 AM
Brilliant Hibs.

This is what ambition looks like.

Reading through a few posts - quite funny some folk ever doubted this could happen.

Definitely a few good ITK posters had this predicted.

06-08-2022, 11:07 AM
Holy ****ing ****!!!! Outstanding!! Absolutely buzzing about this.

06-08-2022, 11:10 AM
GOBSMACKED and humbled.

I was adamant that this would not happen. I bow to those who thought otherwise.

In the Hibs sense, I’ve never been so happy to be wrong.

AdidasHibernian
06-08-2022, 11:10 AM
Yaaaaaaas

Welcome home Boyler

🇳🇬👍🐿

06-08-2022, 11:12 AM
If we did waive 2 mil you’ve got to think higher league position , good cup runs , more bums on seats can possibly create more revenue , no pressure boyler

Never thought we would see him so soon Boyle on right McGeady on left 👌

You're a bit like the cat that got the cream with this post.

I cant remember a more exciting return, i was a kid when Joe Baker came back against Aberdeen, and watched it from the old north enclosure.

Riordan was probably the nearest, but Boyle i think tops the lot simply because of how exciting a player he is, and he's in his prime.:top marks

06-08-2022, 11:13 AM
Never thought we would see him so soon Boyle on right McGeady on left 👌

Here I am, stuck in the middle with Youan.

06-08-2022, 11:16 AM
Another Aussie signing from a team who nobody’s heard of.

Could have had Nicky Clark

To be honest though, Nicky Clark is a Hibs legend for SC Final 2016. Gave a way possession and you know what happened next.

06-08-2022, 11:17 AM
Paraded tomorrow before game but not in squad sadly! Lets back up tye excitement with a derby win!

06-08-2022, 11:17 AM
Brilliant news. That signing completely changes the Outlook for Hibs this season. So excited about that. Now I wonder if Villa would be easy to deal with about McGinn🤔

06-08-2022, 11:18 AM
If we did waive 2 mil you’ve got to think higher league position , good cup runs , more bums on seats can possibly create more revenue , no pressure boyler

Definitely, that and we probably weren't confident in actually receiving all the payments.

supermcginn
06-08-2022, 11:22 AM

Oops

LustForLeith
06-08-2022, 11:22 AM
Glad it’s happening and I look less of an idiot for saying it!

Now another player will arrive