View Full Version : Cosgrove and Cowan

31-07-2022, 10:40 AM
How sweet would it be if this pairs teams were both relegated this season. On current form they must both be in the frame.

31-07-2022, 10:42 AM
I don't care who gets relegated, but what have you got against those 2?

Did they make a naughty joke about Hibs or something? :dunno:

31-07-2022, 10:44 AM
Cosgrove has always been very complimentary about Hibs. Definitely has a soft spot for us.

31-07-2022, 10:47 AM
I don't care who gets relegated, but what have you got against those 2?

Did they make a naughty joke about Hibs or something? :dunno:

Cowan is a fud who p!$$€$ me off with his twaddle and Cosgrove supports that team of cheats we shared a pitch with yesterday

31-07-2022, 10:49 AM
I'd rather that Celtic and Rangers were relegated. IMO,these guys get a lot of flack for having nothing to do with the OF

31-07-2022, 10:54 AM
I remember when they were funny

31-07-2022, 11:01 AM
This isn't directed at anyone in particular, but why do folk watch or listen to people that they don't like?

Is it because they enjoy complaining and moaning about them?

It's one of the things I dislike about Twitter, folk following people with whom they totally disagree and dislike just so they can vent their childish spleens every time there's a tweet.

It's madness gone mad.

31-07-2022, 11:15 AM
I like them, two salt of the earth type guys having good banter and are actually quite funny. On top of that they don't have any old firm ties and aren't afraid to put the boot in. When these two retire I will miss them for sure.

31-07-2022, 11:16 AM
I'm a fan, eh.

The dalmeny
31-07-2022, 11:18 AM
Cowan is a fud who p!$$€$ me off with his twaddle and Cosgrove supports that team of cheats we shared a pitch with yesterday

what will you find to get angry about next?

31-07-2022, 11:21 AM
Cosgrove is brilliant. Smart, articulate and anti old firm.
His books are also terrific.
Cowan however...

31-07-2022, 11:24 AM
I must say I quite enjoy Off the Ball on a Saturday, not so much on a Sunday.
Don't like the way Tam Cowan talks up the jambos regularly though. Still it makes a change to have two non old firm supporters as presenters.

yerauldda
31-07-2022, 11:27 AM
I like them both. Media in Scotland would be lesser without them.

random sub
31-07-2022, 11:32 AM
I think they are excellent- decent banter and generally supportive of all non old firm teams. Obvs they occasionally land a joke centred blow on the Hibs, but that’s what they are about.

Certainly wouldn’t mind seeing St Johnstone relegated mind you, but just for their boring stuffy football and that recent final with us- get them down😀

31-07-2022, 11:40 AM
I like both of them.

Cowan gets a hard time from some Hibs fans because he helped Hearts out when they were in bother. He did the same for Dundee and Motherwell obviously and had a night for the St Andrews Hospice for Andy Goram as well. Think he's just a decent sort who loves Scottish football.

Him and Cosgrove are a good double act. The latter is a bit more intellectual and less reactionary than the former which makes him a nice counterbalance. I still enjoy Off the Ball and Cosgrove's music books are well worth a read.

I wouldn't mind seeing St Johnstone relegated but spiting Stuart Cosgrove would be down my list of reasons why.

31-07-2022, 12:03 PM
I remember when they were funny

Still think they are and have some decent guests on. Don't mind listening to it driving to a game.

31-07-2022, 12:04 PM
I like them both. Media in Scotland would be lesser without them.

Absolutely

stu in nottingham
31-07-2022, 12:24 PM
I went a long time and didn't tune in to Off the Ball but in recent months have picked up on it and am really enjoying it. I also have a couple of mates who are English football fans who love it whilst detesting a lot of the English football media stuff. One said to me that it's like the kind of chat you'd have with your mates in the pub and I agree. That is the appeal for me.

I like Stuart Cosgrove's books and appreciate his music taste also.

Refreshing too that the programme isn't Celtic/Rangers-centric.

31-07-2022, 12:24 PM
I like listening to them on my way to games, dont take themselves serious, dont support the rangers or celtic and take the P out of every team in the league when something has happened

Stokesy's on fire
31-07-2022, 12:25 PM
Dinosaurs

random sub
31-07-2022, 12:34 PM
I think they are excellent- decent banter and generally supportive of all non old firm teams. Obvs they occasionally land a joke centred blow on the Hibs, but that’s what they are about.

Certainly wouldn’t mind seeing St Johnstone relegated mind you, but just for their boring stuffy football and that recent final with us- get them down😀

31-07-2022, 12:51 PM
Our very own FilipinoHibs is a regular contributor to the show.

hibby rae
31-07-2022, 12:58 PM
This isn't directed at anyone in particular, but why do folk watch or listen to people that they don't like?

Is it because they enjoy complaining and moaning about them?

It's one of the things I dislike about Twitter, folk following people with whom they totally disagree and dislike just so they can vent their childish spleens every time there's a tweet.

It's madness gone mad.

I agree with this. I don't find them funny so I don't listen to it. Likewise I don't respect a lot of opinions on Sportsound and find them to be dinosaurs, so don't listen to that either.

Conversely, I really enjoy AVFTT and the Terrace podcast, so listen to that. Whereas any thread about that will also have folk posting just to say how they don't like it!

31-07-2022, 01:08 PM
enjoy listening to both of them :agree:

31-07-2022, 01:20 PM

I was about to defend them, until I read that.

:duck:

SideBurns
31-07-2022, 02:27 PM
I went to their live show at the Fringe years ago - it was brilliant. Paul Daniels and the lovely Debbie McGhee were on it 😆

Maybe we should be careful what we wish for. They're a couple of ordinary guys on a Saturday fitba' show, both support provincial clubs, self-deprecating ("petty and ill-informed") and happy to take the piss out of anything and everything. I don't listen every week but when I do I always enjoy it and could easily imagine spending a few hours in a pub in their company. Of course, as ever if you don't find them funny or they annoy you, just don't listen!

31-07-2022, 02:33 PM
I went to their live show at the Fringe years ago - it was brilliant. Paul Daniels and the lovely Debbie McGhee were on it 😆

Maybe we should be careful what we wish for. They're a couple of ordinary guys on a Saturday fitba' show, both support provincial clubs, self-deprecating ("petty and ill-informed") and happy to take the piss out of anything and everything. I don't listen every week but when I do I always enjoy it and could easily imagine spending a few hours in a pub in their company. Of course, as ever if you don't find them funny or they annoy you, just don't listen!

It’s a must listen show for me on a Saturday

31-07-2022, 02:35 PM
I'd much rather listen to that pair than the vast majority of Scottish ex-players we get thrust on us. Glasgow Centered half-heided morons for the most part, do the Scottish channels make it their remit to find half wits to commentate on Scottish football?

HibsNibs
31-07-2022, 02:39 PM
Dinosaurs

+1.

Cosgrove's arch right-onnery does my nut in

31-07-2022, 02:40 PM
I've never undertood the hate that especially Tam gets, I honestly could not imagine my weekend without them. It's utterly baffling.

SideBurns
31-07-2022, 02:54 PM
I've never undertood the hate that especially Tam gets, I honestly could not imagine my weekend without them. It's utterly baffling.

From Hibbies, it seems to be because he appeared at a fund raiser for the Jambos when they were in soapy bubble and is occasionally complimentary of them. I think we have to try to understand that not everyone hates Hearts, and that most people wouldn't want a Scottish club with their history to go doon the swanny...

Cat Stanton
31-07-2022, 07:06 PM
How sweet would it be if this pairs teams were both relegated this season. On current form they must both be in the frame.

I like them so I listen to them. If you don't like them, don't listen to them. Simples!

31-07-2022, 07:24 PM

Yes they let me rip into Hearts and Rangers. Today's show I had a text saying I was delighted about beating the hammer throwers.

31-07-2022, 07:27 PM
Cosgrove is brilliant. Smart, articulate and anti old firm.
His books are also terrific.
Cowan however....
. Is funny

31-07-2022, 07:48 PM
This one of the weirdest threads ever started on Hibs.net

Greenfly
31-07-2022, 07:50 PM
I rarely listen to the Sunday show - a bit more magazine style of programme - but life on a Saturday would be much duller without Cowan and Cosgrove to hear : down-to-earth, often very witty, some great listener contributions, and no caps being doffed to the twisted sisters of Glasgow. You don't have to agree with everything they say to have a good laugh and to know they're generally on the side of the ordinary fan.

31-07-2022, 08:36 PM
Like them both. They are both intelligent and witty and yes, it is refreshing that neither are old firm fans.

But their programmes are too long.

It’s starting to wane in my view. And even my mum (I’m 50) asked me who the old rambling farts are who come on the radio early Saturday afternoon.

RMQ1967
31-07-2022, 09:13 PM

It seems to be the way of things on here, threads about hating comedians, amiable sports presenters like Richard Gordon, our own young players like Rocky & Josh Campbell, the general hysteria/paranoia about programmes like Sportsound.

Some people seem to look for any reason however obscure or irrational to criticise or rubbish the decent & good.

Tiring reading all the negative **** - be nice if people had a think about the positives before they post the negative.

BS44
31-07-2022, 09:59 PM

Haters gotta hate.

31-07-2022, 11:30 PM
At least they can talk grammatically and don't say "definAtely"!

jingler1954
01-08-2022, 05:38 AM
From Hibbies, it seems to be because he appeared at a fund raiser for the Jambos when they were in soapy bubble and is occasionally complimentary of them. I think we have to try to understand that not everyone hates Hearts, and that most people wouldn't want a Scottish club with their history to go doon the swanny...
Soapy bubble and boon the swanny aye right Tam

01-08-2022, 08:55 AM
I listen to them here in Berlin - I don't know much about either of the guys outwith "Off the Ball", but I enjoy the shows when I listen - they often have decent guests, they are open to discussing things in Scottish football and I find their views on various issues coupled with their banter about any old team refreshing. I've even laughed at the "odd" dig at Hibs and certain players ...

01-08-2022, 09:14 AM
While the show is naturally maybe becoming a little tired, it’s understandable given it’s been in the air for almost 30 years.

It’s a bit of a comfort blanket really and part of many fans match day as they travel to watch their clubs and offers a bit of light relief before the more sober Sportsound comes on. In a similar way to how for years travel home from away matches was accompanied by the skirl of Robbie Shephard’s “Take the Floor” after Sportsound went off air.

That they can still produce engaging and entertaining content aster so long is a credit to both Cosgrove and Cowan. Two naturally funny men who have an easy rapport with each other, and ultimately have the mindset as genuine fans who understand the trials and tribulations of life as a football fan.

Long may they continue.

01-08-2022, 09:48 AM
It seems to be the way of things on here, threads about hating comedians, amiable sports presenters like Richard Gordon, our own young players like Rocky & Josh Campbell, the general hysteria/paranoia about programmes like Sportsound.

Some people seem to look for any reason however obscure or irrational to criticise or rubbish the decent & good.

Tiring reading all the negative **** - be nice if people had a think about the positives before they post the negative.

Too many torn-faced buggers and grumpy auld men

Groathillgrump
01-08-2022, 10:40 AM
Too many torn-faced buggers and grumpy auld men

I'm a grumpy auld man and I love listening to Stuart and Tam on a Saturday. :wink:

01-08-2022, 11:09 AM
At least they can talk grammatically and don't say "definAtely"!

And don't start every sentence with "listen"

supermcginn
01-08-2022, 11:26 AM
Very strange post. There's a good reason they have lasted so long on the radio.

01-08-2022, 11:51 AM
I like Off the Ball. It's a good programme, presented by two down too earth football fans who don't take themselves too seriously.