View Full Version : Opening day wins

30-07-2022, 05:45 PM
Since promotion I think we have won every opening day game. That must be closing in on some record for us (could be talking pish).

Lennon:
Was it SJ? 3-1
Mwell 3-0

Heck:
SM 1-0

Ross:
Killie 2-0
Mwell 2-3

LJ:
SJ 0-1

For as long as I can remember leading up to relegation it was draws or defeats (could be pish also, certainly can’t remember constant wins).

Stubbs:
Livi 1-0
Dumbarton (L) 1-0?

Lennon.

Someone but sure we went on a 5 winning streak at that start of the champ.

30-07-2022, 06:46 PM
Yup as a child of the Miller era more often than no from there on in was build up expectation with a damp squib of a result.

30-07-2022, 06:50 PM
Beat Livi 2-1
Lost 2-1 to Dumbarton

Beat Killie 2-1

Beat Partick 3-1
Beat Falkirk 2-1 under Lennon

30-07-2022, 07:05 PM
Beat Livi 2-1
Lost 2-1 to Dumbarton

Beat Killie 2-1

Beat Partick 3-1
Beat Falkirk 2-1 under Lennon

We lost to Dumbarton first game of the season ? Honestly can't remember that

greenlad
30-07-2022, 07:11 PM

John McGinn's Hibs debut off the bench.

30-07-2022, 07:14 PM

The game where there was all that poison about Scott Allan iirc

30-07-2022, 07:15 PM
Been some crackers over the years

1997 Celtic 2-1 the Larsson assistant for Chico

1986 Rangers 2-1 Souness’ team of world beaters

1973 St Mirren 2-1 ( Dryborough Cup) Iain Munro scored against his old club and Jim Herriot lined up for Saints

30-07-2022, 07:15 PM
John McGinn's Hibs debut off the bench.

Must have blocked that game from my memory , Dumbarton ffs !

LewysGot2
30-07-2022, 10:17 PM
One of the lowest of low points in our recent history- a poisonous, horrible afternoon. Fans arguing with each other, Scott Allan abuse over Rangers supposed interest….horrendous

30-07-2022, 10:24 PM
Hibs 5 Dundee United 0

30-07-2022, 10:25 PM
Yup as a child of the Miller era more often than no from there on in was build up expectation with a damp squib of a result.

I don't disagree, but fair dues to the mauling of United in94..

30-07-2022, 10:25 PM
Hibs 5 Dundee United 0

Jinx.

30-07-2022, 10:27 PM
Jinx.

Billy Findlay scored a volley IIRC. Funny how I can remember that and cannae mind what I had for dinner yesterday!

Cat Stanton
30-07-2022, 10:29 PM
Since promotion I think we have won every opening day game. That must be closing in on some record for us (could be talking pish).

Lennon:
Was it SJ? 3-1
Mwell 3-0

Heck:
SM 1-0

Ross:
Killie 2-0
Mwell 2-3

LJ:
SJ 0-1

For as long as I can remember leading up to relegation it was draws or defeats (could be pish also, certainly can’t remember constant wins).

Stubbs:
Livi 1-0
Dumbarton (L) 1-0?

Lennon.

Someone but sure we went on a 5 winning streak at that start of the champ.

Think the first one (3 - 1) was Partick?

Stuarty1875
30-07-2022, 10:30 PM
Hibs 5 Dundee United 0

94-95? Did we also beat Dundee Utd 4-0 in other game at Easter Road that season?

30-07-2022, 10:37 PM
94-95? Did we also beat Dundee Utd 4-0 in other game at Easter Road that season?

:agree: Keith Keith Keith hat trick at Christmas time.

HendoDelivered
30-07-2022, 10:40 PM

Yep. Boyle, Murray and Whitts scored that day!

30-07-2022, 10:58 PM

Aye I think I have gotten a decent amount of that wrong, as I said in the OP.

Still, it is quite an impressive record we have gathered for ourselves of late.

I wonder how the stats compare to those pre relegation.