View Full Version : The International Bar

29-07-2022, 12:39 AM
Hi folks, just looking for a little bit of clarity and info. If I recall correctly the International Bar (IB) in Brougham Place, was owned by Harry Swan of Hibs in the 50s, is this correct? At this point my brief and very limited research has turned up nothing to confirm my recollection.

The IB is owned and run by Hibs supporters who are very interested in the history of the bar.

Ta in advance, Andy :D

hibeg
29-07-2022, 02:44 AM
Hi folks, just looking for a little bit of clarity and info. If I recall correctly the International Bar (IB) in Brougham Place, was owned by Harry Swan of Hibs in the 50s, is this correct? At this point my brief and very limited research has turned up nothing to confirm my recollection.

The IB is owned and run by Hibs supporters who are very interested in the history of the bar.

Ta in advance, Andy :D

All I know about the IB is that it used to be full of Celtic fans. I think they ran buses to the games from the pub
Have the Hibee owners kicked them out ? :greengrin

Juice-Terry
29-07-2022, 05:46 AM
All I know about the IB is that it used to be full of Celtic fans. I think they ran buses to the games from the pub
Have the Hibee owners kicked them out ? :greengrin
I thought it was a Hun pub?

29-07-2022, 05:48 AM

Definitely not.

29-07-2022, 05:48 AM

Was certainly a Celtic pub a few years back in the 80s when I worked in that area.

SideBurns
29-07-2022, 06:19 AM

Been a couple of years since I was in, but was definitely still a Celtic pub at that point. If it has ceased to be or ever does, can't see it making such a drastic transformation into a Hun pub - would require a completely different clientele!

NC1875
29-07-2022, 06:25 AM
Was defo a Celtic pub as recently as 15 years ago. Used to work with a Celtic fan who watched a lot of games in there.

29-07-2022, 06:41 AM
Definitely a Celtic pub in days gone by and was until as recently as 5 or so years ago which would be the last time I was in.

I'd heard it informally referred to as 'The Vatican' on occasion.

29-07-2022, 07:21 AM
We stayed in Morrison Street for a number of years when I was growing up and when I was doing my teenage drinking it was definitely a Celtic-minded pub with a fair number of Hibbies drinking in there as well. Pretty sure they had "the rebs", as I understand they call them, on the jukebox

I was told that it's named after the Spanish Civil War "International Brigade" and seem to recall a stained glass window in the back commemorating the International Brigade. That might be total nonsense of course as it was the 80s and I was usually hammered after two or three under-age pints.

29-07-2022, 07:30 AM
Ma faither and his pals used the IB for years.I did too,when "up the toon"

Back in the day a couple of teachers from St Tams school nearby used to meet Edin Uni guys after work for a bevvy.
They were Celtic fans.I knew two of them.
Heriot Watt & Edin Uni CSC used the IB for years as a meeting place/pick up point.
The pub would be busy with Celtic fans to watch games.Particularly Celtic away games/European games on telly.
Other than match days ,the IB was just a regular pub. :greengrin

Harry Swan had his fingers in a few pies.!
Edinburgh Zombies will stick to their Haymarket pubs.
Going up to the IB ? I dont think so !

29-07-2022, 07:41 AM
Was the scene of some pavement dancing versus Hearts a few years back IIRC

https://youtu.be/P1noODLaNKI

hibby rae
29-07-2022, 07:49 AM
We stayed in Morrison Street for a number of years when I was growing up and when I was doing my teenage drinking it was definitely a Celtic-minded pub with a fair number of Hibbies drinking in there as well. Pretty sure they had "the rebs", as I understand they call them, on the jukebox

I was told that it's named after the Spanish Civil War "International Brigade" and seem to recall a stained glass window in the back commemorating the International Brigade. That might be total nonsense of course as it was the 80s and I was usually hammered after two or three under-age pints.

I've been told similar, and you're right about the window. The colours on it are the same as the colours of the flag of the Spanish Republic.

The story I was told was it was called the International as that is where people would congregate before making the journey to Spain, which they had to do secretly. So the same might apply for the one in Glasgow and others.

There's an expert on the war at Ed Uni called Dr Julius Ruiz, his email is online. He would be worth contacting to ask if he can confirm this.

I live around the corner now and have popped in now and again, it's no longer a Celtic pub, just a pub now. Although the last time I was there, it was full of Huns after they'd come through from the west to walk through the Meadows 😬😬

29-07-2022, 09:07 AM
Was in Yesterday having a couple of drinks before we headed to the 02 to see SLF. Chatting to the bar manager about it and she said, hasn't been a Celtic bar for over ten years. They stopped it due to too much trouble during old firm matches. The owners are Hibees and looking to find out more about the IB. Was great in there, such a friendly bunch, good beer and cheap. I'm sure I read it in an Hibs book that HS was the owner in the 50s after being our manager.

SideBurns
29-07-2022, 09:24 AM
Was in Yesterday having a couple of drinks before we headed to the 02 to see SLF. Chatting to the bar manager about it and she said, hasn't been a Celtic bar for over ten years. They stopped it due to too much trouble during old firm matches. The owners are Hibees and looking to find out more about the IB. Was great in there, such a friendly bunch, good beer and cheap. I'm sure I read it in an Hibs book that HS was the owner in the 50s after being our manager.

"Friendly...good beer...cheap." and run by Hibbies; think I'll pay it a visit when next in the area!

hibby rae
29-07-2022, 09:25 AM

Would the current owner not be able to find out by looking at the property deeds?

29-07-2022, 09:29 AM

Not to be pedantic but HS was our chairman, not our manager. As Mick says Harry had his fingers in lots of pies in those days so it's entirely possible. My Dad used to drink there a lot, mind you he used to drink in most places a lot! He never mentioned a HS connection nor an International Brigade connection but my dad was good friends with a lovely man called Donald Renton who fought in the IB. Donald was a communist until Hungary was invaded in 1956 and IIRC he later became a Labour councillor for Craigmillar.There's a book called Homage to Catalonia which details Scotland's involvement in the IB, we provided proportionately more volunteers than any other country. Donald is mentioned in the book. The book is fairly recent, ie 21st century, by a guy called Daniel Gray. I suspect he may be a good source of information re the International Bar.
Good luck!

29-07-2022, 10:12 AM
Not to be pedantic but HS was our chairman, not our manager. As Mick says Harry had his fingers in lots of pies in those days so it's entirely possible. My Dad used to drink there a lot, mind you he used to drink in most places a lot! He never mentioned a HS connection nor an International Brigade connection but my dad was good friends with a lovely man called Donald Renton who fought in the IB. Donald was a communist until Hungary was invaded in 1956 and IIRC he later became a Labour councillor for Craigmillar.There's a book called Homage to Catalonia which details Scotland's involvement in the IB, we provided proportionately more volunteers than any other country. Donald is mentioned in the book. The book is fairly recent, ie 21st century, by a guy called Daniel Gray. I suspect he may be a good source of information re the International Bar.
Good luck!

Cheers for that :D I did think HS was our manager but happy to be corrected. Will pass on any information to the bar manager (loves the hibees) and she can take it from there back to her employers.

29-07-2022, 10:18 AM
I've been told similar, and you're right about the window. The colours on it are the same as the colours of the flag of the Spanish Republic.

The story I was told was it was called the International as that is where people would congregate before making the journey to Spain, which they had to do secretly. So the same might apply for the one in Glasgow and others.

There's an expert on the war at Ed Uni called Dr Julius Ruiz, his email is online. He would be worth contacting to ask if he can confirm this.

I live around the corner now and have popped in now and again, it's no longer a Celtic pub, just a pub now. Although the last time I was there, it was full of Huns after they'd come through from the west to walk through the Meadows 😬😬

Cheers for that Rae :aok:

Good to know it wasnt a figment of my teenage shenanigans :greengrin

The Spanish Civil War is a fascinating topic and one in which Scotland had strong connections.

It would be great if the current owners can find out more and post on here.

29-07-2022, 10:20 AM
There's a book called Homage to Catalonia which details Scotland's involvement in the IB, we provided proportionately more volunteers than any other country. Donald is mentioned in the book. The book is fairly recent, ie 21st century, by a guy called Daniel Gray.

The book is Homage to Caledonia – a play on the title of Orwell's book.

29-07-2022, 10:38 AM
Harry Swan owned Littlejohn's the big bakery in Leith Street.So he certainly had his fingers in a lot of pies but as far as I remember had no connection with the pub trade.

hibby rae
29-07-2022, 10:41 AM
Harry Swan owned Littlejohn's the big bakery in Leith Street.So he certainly had his fingers in a lot of pies but as far as I remember had no connection with the pub trade.

Thankfully hygiene standards are different these days.

hibby rae
29-07-2022, 10:42 AM

The Spanish Civil War is a fascinating topic and one in which Scotland had strong connections.

I came very close to choosing that as my dissertation topic.

29-07-2022, 10:43 AM

The goodies lost.

29-07-2022, 10:47 AM

When i used the phrase about pies i did recall Littlejohns at the top of Leith Street corner of Waterloo Place.
Very popular place it was too .A landmark in its day. Just as Binns( at the West End was.

29-07-2022, 11:09 AM

There is a memorial in East Princes Street Gardens

https://canmore.org.uk/site/282453/edinburgh-east-princes-street-gardens-spanish-civil-war-monument

http://www.royal-mile.com/princes-st.gnds/spanish-war.html

The last Scottish volunteer to pass away was Steve Fullerton in 2008

I hasd the honour of meeting Steve back in the 80s
The late Leith MP Ron Brown,who i worked for,was a good friend of Steve,as was Ron's wife May who had a fine knowledge of the Spanish Civil War and the Brigades.
Her contribution to a sing song at parties was the Woody Guthrie song about the SCW "Jarama Valley"

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jarama_Valley_(song)

No Pasaran !

29-07-2022, 11:19 AM
The book is Homage to Caledonia – a play on the title of Orwell's book.

Predictive text I'm afraid, and I even checked it! :greengrin

He's here!
29-07-2022, 11:30 AM

How were SLF? Must be knocking on a bit now. Anyone original members bar Jake Burns still with them?

hibby rae
29-07-2022, 11:49 AM
The goodies lost.

I wouldn't have time for anyone with the opposite view!

29-07-2022, 11:57 AM
How were SLF? Must be knocking on a bit now. Anyone original members bar Jake Burns still with them?

They were excellent as always. This year is their 45th anniversary so was a bit of an eye opener for all of us who have been there since the start. Jake Burns (64 yo) is massive these days and now bald, can still sing though and get the songs over of which, is the important part. The Skids acoustic set was top drawer.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yBsFcZnj5n8

29-07-2022, 12:24 PM

Ten years ago, rAngers went out of business/bust/defunct/oot the box !!

Most of the guys on the Celtic bus that left from the IB would be ST holders.
So they would be at the huns games at home,not in the IB.(maybe the other 2 games :greengrin)
They moved on to a bar up George IV Bridge/Forrest Road way and their bus for some time left from Candlemakers Row.

LewysGot2
29-07-2022, 12:29 PM
Was certainly a Celtic pub a few years back in the 80s when I worked in that area.

A few years back in the 80s? 😂

I'm bad for that, too. A few 40 years back - just yesterday, no? 🙈😂

SideBurns
29-07-2022, 12:29 PM
Ten years ago, rAngers went out of business/bust/defunct/oot the box !!

Most of the guys on the Celtic bus that left from the IB would be ST holders.
So they would be at the huns games at home,not in the IB.(maybe the other 2 games :greengrin)
They moved on to a bar up George IV Bridge/Forrest Road way and their bus for some time left from Candlemakers Row.

McSorley's in Forrest Road? That was a big Irish bar (sure the Wolfe Tones even played there), been shut for a while as a victim of the pandemic.

29-07-2022, 12:45 PM
McSorley's in Forrest Road? That was a big Irish bar (sure the Wolfe Tones even played there), been shut for a while as a victim of the pandemic.

Never re-opened after the lock downs. Was owned by Billy Lowe who sold it a few months ago. Opening very soon as a ‘ball pitt cocktail bar’ called Ballie Ballerson. No seriously!

He's here!
29-07-2022, 12:56 PM
They were excellent as always. This year is their 45th anniversary so was a bit of an eye opener for all of us who have been there since the start. Jake Burns (64 yo) is massive these days and now bald, can still sing though and get the songs over of which, is the important part. The Skids acoustic set was top drawer.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yBsFcZnj5n8

Jeez he's unrecognisable bar the voice! Great green guitar tho.

Last time I saw them must have been circa 20 years ago in the Liquid Rooms. Saw them a lot way back in the day. Fantastic band:

https://youtu.be/DjFu0Qgx1-8

SideBurns
29-07-2022, 01:04 PM
Never re-opened after the lock downs. Was owned by Billy Lowe who sold it a few months ago. Opening very soon as a ‘ball pitt cocktail bar’ called Ballie Ballerson. No seriously!

Ach well, plenty other pubs that are more my style 😁

29-07-2022, 01:07 PM
A few years back in the 80s? 😂

I'm bad for that, too. A few 40 years back - just yesterday, no? 🙈😂

Indeed depressing isnt it. My kids would rip me for that if I said that to them :greengrin

29-07-2022, 01:10 PM

I thought that was a joke so just googled it. Wtf?! Can't see that lasting long after the novelty factor has worn off.

29-07-2022, 01:16 PM

I thought that was a joke so just googled it. Wtf?! Can't see that lasting long after the novelty factor has worn off.

https://edinburgh.ballieballerson.com/ball-cleaning/

Potential new Hibs sponsor – cross-promotion with Manscaped?

29-07-2022, 03:42 PM
When i used the phrase about pies i did recall Littlejohns at the top of Leith Street corner of Waterloo Place.
Very popular place it was too .A landmark in its day. Just as Binns( at the West End was.

Yes that side of Leith Street had everything a young man needed. Food,drink,clothes ,Fairleys,Jerome for your photograph and the Imperial Hotel for extra curricular activities.

29-07-2022, 03:45 PM

It was Malones before that and I know a few celtic fans who'd watch their UCL games in there

29-07-2022, 04:03 PM

There's a couple of soft play and ball pit type bars in Newcastle that seem to do well. Same with the crazy golf bars that are popping up everywhere.

Not my scene but then as I approach middle age I daresay I'm not their target market.

hibby rae
29-07-2022, 04:12 PM
It was Malones before that and I know a few celtic fans who'd watch their UCL games in there

And whilst the new Malones near Haymarket undoubtedly attracts Celtic supporters I know it more as a Liverpool pub as that is where Auld Reekie Reds watch the games.

29-07-2022, 04:41 PM

And it was Oddfellows before all them (for all the older yins :greengrin)..........no tellies, no football, the only sport on show was dodging the pint glasses that would fall periodically from the upper floor a la Trainspotting style :greengrin

The IB was a good wee pub, certainly became a Celtic boozer years ago........used to be a cracking wee grocers opposite on the corner owned by DL and the family stayed just along the road on Brougham Place. The Spiders Web was a Rangers boozer too. They were the only Old Firm bars I knew of, perhaps The Carousel (Oceana) on Ferry Road too which attracted more than a few currant buns.

29-07-2022, 05:12 PM
And it was Oddfellows before all them (for all the older yins :greengrin)..........no tellies, no football, the only sport on show was dodging the pint glasses that would fall periodically from the upper floor a la Trainspotting style :greengrin

The IB was a good wee pub, certainly became a Celtic boozer years ago........used to be a cracking wee grocers opposite on the corner owned by DL and the family stayed just along the road on Brougham Place. The Spiders Web was a Rangers boozer too. They were the only Old Firm bars I knew of, perhaps The Carousel (Oceana) on Ferry Road too which attracted more than a few currant buns.

Oddfellows - and an indoor market of sorts, with second hand records.. Was it not some sort of church/religious hall long before that.

The Carousel (Oceana) on Ferry Road - You maybe thinking of the Coburg Bar on Coburg st, that was definitely a hun bar.

29-07-2022, 05:18 PM
Oddfellows - and an indoor market of sorts, with second hand records.. Was it not some sort of church/religious hall long before that.

The Carousel (Oceana) on Ferry Road - You maybe thinking of the Coburg Bar on Coburg st, that was definitely a hun bar.

Oddfellows market with the second hand records was amazing! I bought AC/DC Powerage album from there in the 80s and then Kenny Waugh junior (maybe Billy Lowe?) bought the bar not long after.

Fanforlife
29-07-2022, 05:23 PM

Carousel was a Tic boozer in the 90,s had the Celtic east boys club awards there when Haughchey was involved in it.

29-07-2022, 05:29 PM
What pubs in city centre would be defined as “Hibs Pubs”?

Football orientated pubs are not really places I’d desperately be seeking out anyway.
As I get older the quieter and more civilised the better!

29-07-2022, 05:50 PM

Yeah, think you're right mate, it was a church before it became a pub I think - was huge inside with a large square bar in the middle. Certainly had the feel of a church building inside. Was always where we would go for an underage pint before heading to Busters or Cinderellas down in Stockbridge :faf:

I always thought The Carousel was a Rangers pub but FanforLife is no doubt right.......I remember when we played Irvine Meadow there were buses of Rangers fans the came through and made their way there so assumed it was friendly to that persuasion. I'd never been in there, seem to recall there was a murder outside there in the early 90's so always gave it a wee swerve.

1875godsgift
29-07-2022, 07:40 PM
Oddfellows market with the second hand records was amazing! I bought AC/DC Powerage album from there in the 80s and then Kenny Waugh junior (maybe Billy Lowe?) bought the bar not long after.

Ezy Ryder was the record shop, they shared it with a jean shop, can't mind it's name.

DIXIHIBS
29-07-2022, 09:00 PM

Coburg bar used to be known as Billys Bar. Defo a hun boozer. Never saw you in there G:wink:

29-07-2022, 09:43 PM

My grandfather died in the Spanish civil war fighting Franco. Scotland's role in tge International Brigade was one of the reasons my mother sought refuge in Scotland. On the International Bar, used to pass it on the walk home. Was defo a Celtic bar although an international socialist group had their meeting their during the Make Poverty History march.

leith lynx
29-07-2022, 09:53 PM
Was Oddfellows not called the Preservation Hall at one point? pub/live music venue, anyway before all the pubs it was the place to go for the white label/bootleg records, oh and a pair of flared brushed denims!

1875godsgift
29-07-2022, 10:01 PM
Was Oddfellows not called the Preservation Hall at one point? pub/live music venue, anyway before all the pubs it was the place to go for the white label/bootleg records, oh and a pair of flared brushed denims!

Think Preservation Hall was on Victoria Street? There was a night club underneath I think, accessed from the Cowgate but again, can't mind the name of it!

30-07-2022, 01:34 AM
Think Preservation Hall was on Victoria Street? There was a night club underneath I think, accessed from the Cowgate but again, can't mind the name of it!

Think it was The Mission ? Could get to it through the pub on Victoria Street too, can’t mind the name of it. Used to go to The Kangaroo Club there in the 80’s.

Auckland Hibs
30-07-2022, 02:04 AM
IB was definitely a Celtic pub back in the early 2000's. Remember the hibs boys arranging to have a scrap with Celtic and that's where they were drinking before a midweek game at ER.

Cheers bar on High Street was another Celtic minded pub from memory - full of the best fans in the world but most of them had never stepped foot in Celtic Park.

30-07-2022, 04:33 AM
Pressy halls was definitely in Victoria Street until it turned into a Ceilidh style venue, I saw many blues bands there back in the 80s. The Mission was back up the hill and it became Espionage at some point in the late 90s early noughties. Sneaky Pete's in the Cowgate was awesome for live music back in the day. Lots of rock and blues bands played there, so many brill pubs back in those days. I think Playfairs? near the bridges was the Hibee bar in the late 80s. The lass running the IB said that the Celtic part was mostly student fans who ran a couple of buses from there during the season.

OldEast
30-07-2022, 05:24 AM
Pressy halls was definitely in Victoria Street until it turned into a Ceilidh style venue, I saw many blues bands there back in the 80s. The Mission was back up the hill and it became Espionage at some point in the late 90s early noughties. Sneaky Pete's in the Cowgate was awesome for live music back in the day. Lots of rock and blues bands played there, so many brill pubs back in those days. I think Playfairs? near the bridges was the Hibee bar in the late 80s. The lass running the IB said that the Celtic part was mostly student fans who ran a couple of buses from there during the season.

Showing my age here but was The Mission previously The Place? And before that Nicky Tams which was probably my favourite pub in town?

30-07-2022, 06:08 AM
Showing my age here but was The Mission previously The Place? And before that Nicky Tams which was probably my favourite pub in town?

Nicky Tams!! That was the bar next door to the Mission when coming down Victoria Street. Brill bar and always great fro pre-drinks before the the Mission Rock Club - The Rockin Horse - opened :D Really liked Stones Bar another rock club, I think, was in Castle St. Does anyone remember the Carousel on Ferry Road having a regular Rock night in the early 90s? Very vague memory of being there once.

30-07-2022, 06:24 AM
Coburg bar used to be known as Billys Bar. Defo a hun boozer. Never saw you in there G:wink:

Only under the cover of darkness and with my disguises on :greengrin

30-07-2022, 06:32 AM

Liquid Rooms underneath i think

Presevation Hall is where Finnigans Wake is now. There's a Ceilidh place on the Cowgate along from Sneakys, Stramash i think.

Nicky Tams!! That was the bar to the right of the Mission when coming down Victoria Street. Brill bar and always great fro pre-drinks before the the Mission Rock Club - The Rockin Horse - opened :D Really liked Stones Bar another rock club, I think, was in Castle St. Does anyone remember the Carousel on Ferry Road having a regular Rock night in the early 90s? Very vague memory of being there once.

There were 4 floors, Nicky Tams was over 2 floors top at street level and the floor underneath. The Place disco/nightclub were the bottom two floors.
I cit my teeth as a young rocker/hippy type in the late 70's early 80's there.

Sneaky Petes I remember going as The Nips O Brandy.

30-07-2022, 07:18 AM
Good memories there :D My mates band Laughing Sam's Dice played Sneaky Petes a lot in the mid 80s. Finnegan's Wake was what PH turned into, I had forgotten. Many great rock bars have gone since the 90s, Southern, Black Pig, Venue etc, all the old character is leaving this city.

30-07-2022, 07:24 AM
Good memories there :D My mates band Laughing Sam's Dice played Sneaky Petes a lot in the mid 80s. Finnegan's Wake was what PH turned into, I had forgotten. Many great rock bars have gone since the 90s, Southern, Black Pig, Venue etc, all the old character is leaving this city.

Haha, we're probably just getting old and don't now where the new rock bars. I need a passport to get past Tamsons these days :greengrin

Arch Stanton
30-07-2022, 07:49 AM

I seem to remember Hare Krishna being based there before it was a market.

30-07-2022, 08:17 AM
There's a couple of soft play and ball pit type bars in Newcastle that seem to do well. Same with the crazy golf bars that are popping up everywhere.

Not my scene but then as I approach middle age I daresay I'm not their target market.

Young team at my work are mad about all that. Already booked in for the ball pit bar. Has a slide into the pit and everything. Wouldn’t fancy being the one to clean it after the inevitable puke into it 🤢

Re the original post, my youngest brother was a barman there in the 90s. Had buckfast on optic.

Arch Stanton
30-07-2022, 08:33 AM

That's a shame. I saw Sharron Shannon play there a couple years ago and thought it worked well as a small scale music venue.

30-07-2022, 09:38 AM
Haha, we're probably just getting old and don't now where the new rock bars. I need a passport to get past Tamsons these days :greengrin

Good FB group here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/98300375891

Brings some memories from back in the day.