View Full Version : If you could pick one club

hibbydog
28-07-2022, 01:07 PM
Just a bit of fun, but

If you could pick one club in Scotland to receive a Newcastle Utd/ Man City style investment from a billionaire ( outside of Hibs) that would lead to this club noising up the old firm and winning the league/ cups a few times, who would it be?

Id personally pick someone like Patrick Thistle or Morton. I have a begrudging admiration for weegies that don’t follow the old firm.

28-07-2022, 01:14 PM
I also have respect for folk who support Partick, Morton, St Mirren etc .... but I would hate to see another west coast club up there with the two we already have to contend with.

I would prefer it to be someone like Dunfermline or Dundee, two clubs with decent latent support and in Dundee's case it's long past time they won something.

28-07-2022, 01:17 PM
Brechin City. Really sad to see them languishing in the Highland league, have family from
there who support them so got a soft spot for them.

He's here!
28-07-2022, 01:21 PM
It wasn't Saudi-style investment but Brooks Mileson threw money at Gretna and they just became annoying IMHO (albeit they did almost beat the yams in a cup final).

28-07-2022, 01:22 PM
Someone on the North East coast to trump Aberdeen would be quite interesting.

hibbydog
28-07-2022, 01:25 PM
I also have respect for folk who support Partick, Morton, St Mirren etc .... but I would hate to see another west coast club up there with the two we already have to contend with.

I would prefer it to be someone like Dunfermline or Dundee, two clubs with decent latent support and in Dundee's case it's long past time they won something.

I fondly remember Dundee’s season 2000-2001 when they signed loads. Bonetti., caballerro, Sara, Canniggia. Was an exciting time as Hibs had a great team. We thumped them 5-1 at Easter road with Agathe scoring a stunner.

But Dundee eventually became annoying and succumbed to poor finances and administration

28-07-2022, 01:26 PM
Loch Ness Fc.................... because that have nice tops with a monster on it ( I have last years one , pretty smart)

28-07-2022, 02:06 PM
Cove...just because it would put the arrogant self entitled sheepies in their place

Mcbizz1998
28-07-2022, 02:18 PM
Certainly not Patrick after their wee love in with Hearts after the relegation.

I dislike pretty much every club in Scotland but probably go for…..Brora Rangers [emoji3]

28-07-2022, 02:20 PM
FC Edinburgh

LewysGot2
28-07-2022, 02:33 PM
Arbroath

28-07-2022, 02:34 PM
On the basis that it could lead to them usurping their namesakes it would have to be Berwick Rangers. Imagine if they became the dominant "Rangers" in Scottish football leaving the Glasgow version forevermore always to be referenced as The Glasgow Rangers to distinguish them from the more dominant Rangers.

28-07-2022, 02:36 PM
FC Edinburgh

Agree, but maybe too close to home.

28-07-2022, 03:05 PM
Thornton Hibs. Local team.

28-07-2022, 03:08 PM
St mirren

SideBurns
28-07-2022, 03:33 PM
St.Mirren
Jambos seem to hate them ( they still think the Buddies laid down to Celtic in '86, ignoring the fact Herts jambottled it as usual) and any team that starts with 'Saint..' is bound to be viewed with suspicion by the Huns.

28-07-2022, 03:48 PM
Yeh St.Mirren or Dunfermline

28-07-2022, 03:56 PM
St.Mirren
Jambos seem to hate them ( they still think the Buddies laid down to Celtic in '86, ignoring the fact Herts jambottled it as usual) and any team that starts with 'Saint..' is bound to be viewed with suspicion by the Huns.

We have a winner I think - for me anyway, on the grounds that it would piss off the Yams in extremis I choose St Mirren. That's enough isn't it? Oh aye - and in case of doubt there is always the fruits of Mrs McGinn's womb which we benefited from via the Paisley Buddies.

28-07-2022, 04:33 PM
Ach, just give to to Rangers or Celtic.

We'd all end up hating whichever club it was anyways.

28-07-2022, 05:43 PM
Ach, just give to to Rangers or Celtic.

We'd all end up hating whichever club it was anyways.

That's my view too, nae point putting mythical obstructions to success in Hibs way when we already have those 2 on the go.

28-07-2022, 05:49 PM
Elgin City.

28-07-2022, 06:02 PM
Morton? They aint weegies. Falkirk and Stirling are just as close to Glasgow city centre as what Greenock is.

28-07-2022, 06:04 PM
Just a bit of fun, but

If you could pick one club in Scotland to receive a Newcastle Utd/ Man City style investment from a billionaire ( outside of Hibs) that would lead to this club noising up the old firm and winning the league/ cups a few times, who would it be?

Id personally pick someone like Patrick Thistle or Morton. I have a begrudging admiration for weegies that don’t follow the old firm.Plastic Whistle without a doubt.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

28-07-2022, 06:09 PM
Queens Park

They can build a newer better Hampden

Let’s see what Leeann can do with some real dosh

She can talk the talk can she walk the walk ?

AdidasHibernian
28-07-2022, 06:13 PM
Stenhousemuir

Bridge hibs
28-07-2022, 06:35 PM
Newtongrange Star

28-07-2022, 06:46 PM
Hearts. For Edinburgh.

Joking

28-07-2022, 07:09 PM
Forfar Athletic

28-07-2022, 07:12 PM
Ayr United as they turned down David Murray
He would have driven them out of business

HibsIntl
28-07-2022, 08:44 PM
Only one answer

Gretna part 2

Only this time they’d be Hearts in the final and wouldn’t have to play their football in the disgrace that was Fir Park that season.

1875Sean
28-07-2022, 08:45 PM
Fc Edinburgh, get it up those west coat media firms

28-07-2022, 08:56 PM
Falkirk. They'd have to commit to rebuilding a replica of Brockville right down to the greasy pie stalls and little wooden bridge of death.

28-07-2022, 08:58 PM
Elgin City.

Me anaw :greengrin

vercol36
28-07-2022, 09:08 PM
County, for family reasons. But only if Mackay wasn’t there

28-07-2022, 09:33 PM
St. Mirren

Hearts fans detest them. Job done.

lenny leith
28-07-2022, 09:45 PM
East Fife. Just cos it’s a fine wee club and always take my wee dug for a walk around bayview.

28-07-2022, 09:53 PM
Brora Rangers or Wick Academy. It would open up new Ferry Routes

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

28-07-2022, 10:34 PM
Hibs Women

LongJohnBanger
28-07-2022, 11:15 PM
Trying to think of a ground I've enjoyed being at where I've come away without a reason to dislike absolutely anything about the club

I haven't, admittedly been to all the grounds in Scotland but of those that I have, Brechin and Glebe Park stand out.

Home made soup!

cameronw-hfc
28-07-2022, 11:29 PM
Would say Broxburn as they're the local team for me but nah, horrible wee club. Probably Livi UTD or something would be funny to see.

29-07-2022, 06:09 AM
Trying to think of a ground I've enjoyed being at where I've come away without a reason to dislike absolutely anything about the club

I haven't, admittedly been to all the grounds in Scotland but of those that I have, Brechin and Glebe Park stand out.

Home made soup!
The good thing is that Craig Levein is a footballing advisor there so even if they end up as direct competition with us they won’t win anything.

29-07-2022, 06:45 AM
Hearts. For Edinburgh.

Joking

But I thought someone did do that to hearts? Are they not world dominating?

29-07-2022, 06:46 AM
Stenhousemuir

Actually yeah, Stenny for me.

Crunchie
29-07-2022, 06:49 AM
Just a bit of fun, but

Id personally pick someone like Patrick Thistle or Morton. I have a begrudging admiration for weegies that don’t follow the old firm.
It would be Dundee for me, I really feel for fans of that club. A once great club that have been in the shadow of their wee neighbours for decades now.

29-07-2022, 05:15 PM
Patrick Thistle all day long

Just_Jimmy
29-07-2022, 06:58 PM
East Fife.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

29-07-2022, 10:38 PM
Actually yeah, Stenny for me.Dundee thing is definitely a recent thing . I started watching Hibs in late 60s and regularly in 70s . At that time Dundee were a big team who brought a huge support to ER for cup matches ( Dundee would bring 8000 to 10000 while Dundee United brought a couple of thousand though they were already a slightly better team ) . a big support with a big hooligan , mini Hun element - Dundee were more mini Huns than Hearts then . Mid 70s saw Dundee relegated on goal difference ( Aberdeen and DU were saved ) and I think that`s when Dundee FC`s decline started apart from a few years upturn this century . Can`t imagine any Hibs fan old enough to remember undee support of last century would have any soft spot for them .

Silky
29-07-2022, 10:56 PM
Berwick Rangers. No idea why, just thought of them randomly!

30-07-2022, 01:27 AM
Raith Rovers

30-07-2022, 07:20 AM

I agree, Dunfermline for me.

30-07-2022, 08:33 AM

I think I would go for the Pars.

Always had a soft spot for them and a great away day.

TBF a big spender could get great returns with minimum (relatively speaking) investment.

30-07-2022, 08:35 AM
Falkirk. They'd have to commit to rebuilding a replica of Brockville right down to the greasy pie stalls and little wooden bridge of death.

Na, they have blotted their copy book in recent years. That can languish with the dregs in the meantime.

Bobo
30-07-2022, 09:32 AM
East Fife.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Same here, they're my father in laws' team so would be my choice too.

LongJohnBanger
30-07-2022, 11:10 AM
The good thing is that Craig Levein is a footballing advisor there so even if they end up as direct competition with us they won’t win anything.

That changes everything. **** them and **** their homemade soup!

cannastar
30-07-2022, 11:23 AM
campbeltown pupils who travel 260 mile round trip most weekends. i know they are amateur but still some commitment and dedcation. fantastic film of it on you tube. hats off to them.