View Full Version : Are we being too negative

dastardly8
24-07-2022, 11:33 AM
Me included but all us Hibs fans have a throw the towel in attitude before we even start the season , we haven’t even seen what’s going to be our settled side yet , yes the Falkirk and Morton games were awful and not acceptable but we won’t play as badly over the course of the season.

24-07-2022, 11:39 AM
Yes, absolutely. The overreaction to anything negative is very frustrating. For once I appear to be in minority when it comes to the happy clapper / overly negative scale.

There is a long season ahead, let's get behind the team and the new manager who hasn't even had his first league game yet. Support the team and they're more likely to reward us with good results.

My favourite time supporting hibs in recent memory is when we were in the championship with Stubbs, we'd all been deflated as a fanbase, Stubbs didn't start well either, then we started to gel as a squad and get the results expected and fans get onboard. All it will take is a few good results and signs of progress then we'll all be onboard.

24-07-2022, 11:41 AM
Tbf, can you really blame people?

We’ve had a terrible start to the season on and off the pitch before we’ve even started any league action.

Sign a quality CB, a quality CM and make a decent start in the league and more people will be onside

Fail to do that then people will continue to be sceptical. Fwiw I reckon it’s the club that’s shot itself in the foot as opposed to fans being overly negative.

If it was hearts who’d started the season this way would we not be pissing ourselves laughing?

24-07-2022, 11:50 AM

mayo hibee
24-07-2022, 11:54 AM

The whole place is a mess behind the scenes.

24-07-2022, 11:56 AM
Getting launched out at the league cup group stage will only bring negativity to be fair.

We’re also a week before the start of the league campaign and don’t appear to have a left back that can play. Midfield is still a mess and we’ve got the same strikers that couldn’t score goals last season.

24-07-2022, 11:57 AM
Yes. I get that the results aren't good enough. I feel that we lack patience though.

JamesHFC
24-07-2022, 12:00 PM
Every season in world football there are teams who start the season off slowly but finish off being successful. Nottingham Forest in the Championship last season for example.

New manager and about a dozen new players. I actually think the World Cup break could end up being a very good thing for us.

NC1875
24-07-2022, 12:04 PM
It’s not a surprise that the season starts next week and we’re nowhere near ready.

We were underprepared last season and look where we ended up.

We are underprepared again.

Everything’s far too laid back.

24-07-2022, 12:18 PM
Ffs we been a shambles so far losing to Falkirk and morton and played an uneligible player and your questioning why some are being negative? If thats not obvious to you i dunno what is

24-07-2022, 12:22 PM
It’s not a surprise that the season starts next week and we’re nowhere near ready.

We were underprepared last season and look where we ended up.

We are underprepared again.

Everything’s far too laid back.

Agreed. It seems like we are really unprepared going in to every new season, which often leaves us having to sign 4/5 players in January to clear up the mess of the summer transfer window. From what I've seen of some of the new boys I can see it being similar in January 2023.

24-07-2022, 12:24 PM
I don’t think we’d be as negative if we didn’t get so much misguided PR from the club. Saying we are buying players then nothing for weeks. Telling us players will be a available for a game, then mow and behold they arent. Putting out a PR on the squad for today and then we have others missing that arent mentioned. 🤷🏻*♂️

24-07-2022, 12:27 PM
No we are a shambles ahead of next week - still not addressed glaring deficiencies in cb and midfield, now appears there is nobody fit or available to play left back for next week neither - the whole club screams shambles at the moment. I hope I'm wrong but fear the worst and am dreading the Derby tbh - but I'm going today and renewed my ST, just hope we are all surprised in the weeks ahead

JammyDoidger
24-07-2022, 12:28 PM
No, we are negative for a reason, we weren't negative under stubbs or lennon. When dempster and mathie etc were around. The place was buzzing, we are negative because we've let standards slip that far, and let that many good people leave, we are back in this position.

24-07-2022, 12:33 PM
No, we are negative for a reason, we weren't negative under stubbs or lennon. When dempster and mathie etc were around. The place was buzzing, we are negative because we've let standards slip that far, and let that many good people leave, we are back in this position.

You have a short memory if you don’t remember the negativity during the winter of 2018/19 while Lennon was here and the subsequent shambolic situation with his dismissal and recruitment of his successor.

JammyDoidger
24-07-2022, 12:34 PM
You have a short memory if you don’t remember the negativity during the winter of 2018/19 while Lennon was here and the subsequent shambolic situation with his dismissal and recruitment of his successor.

I was more leaning towards when he first came in the buzz after the cup win etc, that was a quality season. If there's something worth backing we will back it.

24-07-2022, 12:44 PM
Nobody should be surprised at negativity among the support.
The last couple of weeks have been an embarrassment and the next couple of weeks could define our season.

Torto7
24-07-2022, 12:44 PM
I've always thought the two Edinburgh clubs have some of the biggest greetin faced moaning gimps in football and just now it's our turn. Between the obsession with every Hearts signing being 'top quality' and the navel gazing bohemian pish that follows any defeat I've managed to drown out the noise now. I'm not the uber fan but it takes time to build a team and I'll give any new manager a fair shot before I go all radge. In Scotland only Celtic and the Huns play any sort of decent football building from the back. We're trying to go down that route which I admire but we're being punished for playing like that. Hopefully with the players all bedded in and practice we can become a good footballing team. I fear the misery and doom and gloom will consume the place prior to any chance of that happening.

The worst part is the flat out xenophobia and lies aimed at the Gordons and Kensall which resembles the hillbillies from the hills have eyes. Edinburgh is a very international city but a large portion of our fans don't seem to like outsiders.

OldEast
24-07-2022, 12:45 PM
Who decides what too negative is. Everyone is allowed to have a pretty negative view of the club for now if they choose. Perhaps if we beat Hearts, Huns, and are sitting top of the league at Xmas and somebody moans about Newell's hair then maybe that might fit the too negative category 😀 It won't ever change and I'm constantly amazed how upset people get at views which they deem negative.

24-07-2022, 12:47 PM
Nobody should be surprised at negativity among the support.
The last couple of weeks have been an embarrassment and the next couple of weeks could define our season.Regardless what happens over the next few weeks, it won't define our season

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

JammyDoidger
24-07-2022, 12:48 PM
I've always thought the two Edinburgh clubs have some of the biggest greetin faced moaning gimps in football and just now it's our turn. Between the obsession with every Hearts signing being 'top quality' and the navel gazing bohemian pish that follows any defeat I've managed to drown out the noise now. I'm not the uber fan but it takes time to build a team and I'll give any new manager a fair shot before I go all radge. In Scotland only Celtic and the Huns play any sort of decent football building from the back. We're trying to go down that route which I admire but we're being punished for playing like that. Hopefully with the players all bedded in and practice we can become a good footballing team. I fear the misery and doom and gloom will consume the place prior to any chance of that happening.

The worst part is the flat out xenophobia and lies aimed at the Gordons and Kensall which resembles the hillbillies from the hills have eyes. Edinburgh is a very international city but a large portion of our fans don't seem to like outsiders.

Bollocks. Russell Latapy came from Trinidad, Sauzee from france, if they do a job we will get behind them. Right now they've taken the club backwards..and the fans are losing patience as everything they seem to do is wrong when it comes to putting a decent product on the park which is the most importaint thing, we were told we would re invest money, I got quite excited that Doig was away as I thought we could use the money to strengthen the squad and would be better for it, it's not looking that way.

JammyDoidger
24-07-2022, 12:49 PM

I was more leaning towards when he first came in the buzz after the cup win etc, that was a quality season.

24-07-2022, 12:51 PM
Nah because there comes a point where enough is enough! As the Sphinx said, "He who fails to prepare, prepares to fail!" Two of us in my circle have had enough of this perpetual cycle of rubbish. For now anyway.

Greenio
24-07-2022, 12:51 PM
Some folk are too negative aye. Is what it is though. Free to think, say and act how they want. Thats the beauty of supporting a team...

Bunch of moaning fecks so they are!

24-07-2022, 12:55 PM
Based on todays team no .But in 10 games time it will look completely different and hopefully people will be more positive then

24-07-2022, 12:59 PM
Nah because there comes a point where enough is enough! As the Sphinx said, "He who fails to prepare, prepares to fail!" Two of us in my circle have had enough of this perpetual cycle of rubbish. For now anyway.Perpetual cycle of rubbish?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

24-07-2022, 01:08 PM
Normally I would say yes we are but this week has been such a shambles that I can’t help but feel it’s justified.

24-07-2022, 01:09 PM

The club is a shambles. People running it have no idea what they’re doing in terms of running a Football Club. And the squad is still very poor.

24-07-2022, 01:13 PM

There was plenty negativity under Stubbs!! Don't re-write history for the sake of blaming the club further now

24-07-2022, 01:14 PM
Just reading the thread about the email that came through that said we’re playing Morton today, not Norwich; then the error with naming Josh Campbell in the team twice, then the price mix up with the PPV. That’s three mistakes made around this game alone: who is in charge of this and why is nothing being checked before it gets published?

It’s the continual drip drip of little mistakes that compound an make the club look amateurish.

24-07-2022, 01:20 PM
Negative or not, we'll all likely find out after the first 4 or 5 games so not long to wait. Until then, you can only go with performances to date and perceived quality of players that we've signed. Very little that is said on this forum will have an impact on the field. Read today's Sunday Mail piece and you'll see that some of those in the media share our concerns.

Ron won't have long to wait :cb

delbert
24-07-2022, 01:21 PM
In answer to the original question, no if you have working eyes !

WestCoastHibby
24-07-2022, 04:16 PM
Tbf, can you really blame people?

We’ve had a terrible start to the season on and off the pitch before we’ve even started any league action.

Sign a quality CB, a quality CM and make a decent start in the league and more people will be onside

Fail to do that then people will continue to be sceptical. Fwiw I reckon it’s the club that’s shot itself in the foot as opposed to fans being overly negative.

If it was hearts who’d started the season this way would we not be pissing ourselves laughing?
I can assure you that Hearts fans are loving our recent nonsense

24-07-2022, 04:23 PM
Na, most folk just call what they see.

League Cup was a disaster. There was nothing positive to post after Wednesday, in particular.

We’ve had the type of incident this week that I never thought I’d see from Hibs as well.

And that’s off the back of a season where we sacked two managers, finished 8th in the league and lost to Hearts at Hampden.

Today there were a few more positives to take and, on the back of that, mainly positive posts are popping up. Especially about the likes of Tait.

24-07-2022, 04:27 PM
In all the pre season games including the cup and friendlies we've had one poor 45 minutes against Falkirk. Unfortunately that cost us dearly. We battered Morton just couldn't put the ball in the net more than once. It's not all doom and gloom as some make out.

24-07-2022, 04:34 PM
In all the pre season games including the cup and friendlies we've had one poor 45 minutes against Falkirk. Unfortunately that cost us dearly. We battered Morton just couldn't put the ball in the net more than once. It's not all doom and gloom as some make out.

Clyde 2nd half

LunasBoots
24-07-2022, 04:39 PM

We'll soon find out when the season starts. As for not putting the ball in the net that seems a very common thing for Hibs recently, not scoring enough.

24-07-2022, 04:40 PM
Of course people are being too negative.

It's over reaction central.

We're a work in progress, the league season hasn't even started and the transfer window still has the best part of 6 weeks to run.

But folk seem to love wallowing in depressed states so while their moaning solves absolutely nothing, it's pointless to argue with them.

24-07-2022, 04:44 PM
Clyde 2nd half

Also thought the 90 against Morton was dreadful stuff. Loads of the ball but not much happening. Falkirk second half was what I would describe as battering a team without scoring. Woodwork, goal line clearances, saves, scrambles. There wasn’t much of that against Morton, we just huffed and puffed.

Paulie Walnuts
24-07-2022, 04:50 PM
Also thought the 90 against Morton was dreadful stuff. Loads of the ball but not much happening. Falkirk second half was what I would describe as battering a team without scoring. Woodwork, goal line clearances, saves, scrambles. There wasn’t much of that against Morton, we just huffed and puffed.

I was going to say the same. The last thing I would have described the Morton game as was a battering.

24-07-2022, 04:57 PM
I'm negative about Hibs because of last season and the start of this one. Getting knocked out of one of the two competitions we have a slight chance of winning before the knockout stages is just sheite.

We've just won a friendly, great but struggled through games that mean something, that does not bode well in in my opinion, hence the negativity.

loanheadhibby
24-07-2022, 05:44 PM
Do you really think we battered Morton?
You were at a different game to me.

24-07-2022, 05:45 PM
Yes, we are being too negative

24-07-2022, 05:55 PM
I'm negative about Hibs because of last season and the start of this one. Getting knocked out of one of the two competitions we have a slight chance of winning before the knockout stages is just sheite.

We've just won a friendly, great but struggled through games that mean something, that does not bode well in in my opinion, hence the negativity.

Pretty straight forward I’d have thought

Course we’re going to be negative due to the above

24-07-2022, 07:55 PM
It's all relative though, we've won today with a severely depleted first 11 and a 2nd half development side and all the posts are mainly positive. Fans are rightly concerned about recruitment and not being properly prepared for start of a season,but if we win again next week am sure most of us will be happy

24-07-2022, 07:58 PM
No we're not being too negative.

For a club like Hibs, finishing 8th in the league with 7 league wins in 8 months, losing to Hearts at Hampden yet again, then arguably starting this season in an even worse state by failing to qualify from a League Cup group containing Morton, Falkirk, Clyde and Bonnyrigg and then having that compounded by the ineligible player farce will always provoke a negative reaction from the support.

Fans of any club our size would behave exactly the same in these circumstances.

If anything I think the reaction has been quite tame so far.

24-07-2022, 10:20 PM
There was definitely an air of optimism today. Maybe the League cup shambles proves to be a bit of a watershed moment and the team take on a bit more of a entrenched mode.

Maybe not, but I've strangely got a good feeling about this season. I think we'll be underestimated in the early part of the season.

uwxm07
24-07-2022, 10:28 PM
Pretty straight forward I’d have thought

Course we’re going to be negative due to the above

We are Hibs fans - we focus on the negatives and lack belief in whoever is leading or in charge .
Then again it’s easier to criticise than it is to lead and Make a difference

Mcbizz1998
24-07-2022, 10:33 PM
Don’t think so. I’ve been a Hibs supporter long enough to know when to be worried. I see nothing so far to suggest we will have a good season.

We might have an average one, 7th or 8th, but I could just as easily see us being in a battle at the bottom as well. The fans can only go on what we have seen and it’s not an overreaction to say we have been ****ing humming so far.

Mcbizz1998
24-07-2022, 10:37 PM
Clyde 2nd half

That’s where the alarm bells started for me. As mental as that sounds.

At 5-0 up at HT, a good team goes out a and scores at least another couple to send out a bit of a message & start a real feel good factor amongst the fans.

Clyde came out more organised and we couldn’t lay a glove on them second half. We then see in the Falkirk and Morton games what this Hibs team is all about.

24-07-2022, 10:49 PM
Regardless what happens over the next few weeks, it won't define our season.

The voice of reason!

Paul1642
24-07-2022, 11:38 PM
There was plenty negativity under Stubbs!! Don't re-write history for the sake of blaming the club further now

Exactly. Even some of Hibs better spells in recent history have been full of negativity. Had we not won the 2016 final on a injury time winner it would have been “Stubbs out” rather than Stubbs the hero. He really didn’t do that great.

LJ is giving me plenty of things to be positive about. I’m a little bit gutted about leaving the league cup so early however our biggest downfall in the first half of last season was fixture congestion and the associated injury’s / fatigue.

If we can hit the ground running it the league campaign there should be nothing stopping us fielding our strongest, well rested, team every game.

24-07-2022, 11:43 PM

The whole place is a mess behind the scenes.

🙈 care to elaborate as I’d strongly disagree. Mistakes have been made but imo we are mikes away from your comment about behind the scenes

24-07-2022, 11:46 PM
Absolutely not

Crashing out of the league cup is simply a massive a red flag

Jury rightfully out

AZhibee
24-07-2022, 11:54 PM
I don’t feel negative yet. I agree with those who said that there is/was a fine line between 4th and 10th. A little improvement will go a long way, lots of games to go.

JammyDoidger
24-07-2022, 11:56 PM

We had negative times under him with some crazy results, your always going to get that as a hibby, but the football in general was fantastic to watch, and we had a real connection with the team and players. Something that's sorely missing atm, someone pointed out on another thread about signing players with real character and I think that's also something we are in real need of.

25-07-2022, 12:12 AM
We are Hibs fans - we focus on the negatives and lack belief in whoever is leading or in charge .
Then again it’s easier to criticise than it is to lead and Make a difference

It’s no lt us that can “lead and make a difference” though, it’s the manager and the players on the park

Get put out the league cup at the group stages against 4 lower league teams shouldn’t be happening and people are pissed off about it understandably

League season starts next week so we go again.

25-07-2022, 02:48 AM

hibbydog
25-07-2022, 04:50 AM
The only positive thing I can say is that I’m glad we’re f***ing it up early this year. Lowers our expectations and I’d rather that than constantly being kicked in the nuts.

Last season started really well in the league, ended disastrously with our usual cup final defeat and a Hampden doing from Hearts thrown in for good measure.

It’s the hope that kills you !

Joking aside. Turning this mess around will take more than the few weeks that LJ has had so far. We need to give him time. Sacking managers doesn’t work IMO. 15 managers in 20 years proves that.

I expect we’ll get off to a poor start then hover around mid table until we get injured players back, probs squeezing into the top 6.

That would be a decent first years work for our new manager and coaching team

25-07-2022, 05:22 AM
Some things maybe wrong but we have a lot right.

25-07-2022, 06:31 AM
I think opinions are poles apart on this subject so I think the nuetral position of being positively negative is likely to prevail this season

25-07-2022, 08:23 AM
Yes. And I think a few prolific posters are going to feel pretty embarrassed about last week's hysteria, once we bed in.

25-07-2022, 08:31 AM
Its not going to be anywhere near as bad as the doomsayers predict, equally it won't be as good as they demand to not constantly moan about everything, so we will end up in the middle with them still calling for the manager/Ron/Ben/Ian to leave the club.

25-07-2022, 12:19 PM
This place was never full of negativity towards Lennon whilst he was here, even in the last few weeks before he left.

The vast majority on here were totally behind him, we were blaming the players and the recruitment from the summer when we lost McGinn.

The hate for Lennon only became real after he’d left.

25-07-2022, 02:10 PM
This place was never full of negativity towards Lennon whilst he was here, even in the last few weeks before he left.

The vast majority on here were totally behind him, we were blaming the players and the recruitment from the summer when we lost McGinn.

There was a few who never wanted him from the start, one was even slaughtering him when we had won a couple of games in Europe and were sitting i think 2nd in the league behind Hearts.

This place can be absolutely mental at times.

25-07-2022, 02:30 PM

Dunno about that. I rated Lennon but he got plenty stick towards the end.

And he signed much of the dross in question.

25-07-2022, 03:05 PM
I'm generally a happy clapper, but I moaned about Lennon when he stopped attending after match press interviews when we lost and sent a vagrant in his place (edit...someones just told me that was actually Gary Parker !). I remember there being plenty who were not at all positive about Lennon before he left...I was glad to see him go TBH

25-07-2022, 03:05 PM
Nobody seems to have a scooby how to run a business.

A Hibs board who find it necessary to change almost the entire coaching team every year and turnover 40-50% of the playing squad.

Some fans who fail to appreciate that the board’s approach is the complete opposite of what successful businesses do to maintain stability and success.

The same fans who can’t understand that massive management and squad churns ensure that we don’t have any chance of building a settled team for months after the new players are signed.

When are we ever going to learn?

25-07-2022, 03:12 PM

A Hibs board who find it necessary to change almost the entire coaching team every year and turnover 40-50% of the playing squad.

Some fans who fail to appreciate that the board’s approach is the complete opposite of what successful businesses do to maintain stability and success.

The same fans who can’t understand that massive management and squad churns ensure that we don’t have any chance of building a settled team for months after the new players are signed.

Leeann and Mathie had a great start to their careers at Hibs but at the time they left they had plenty detractors and there were many business decisions that are on par with the current regime (no sponsor being a big one, plenty of grumbles about transfer activities).

The current regime can't be accused of not spending money or being pro-active. It's arguable (and been argued many times) they were too pro-active when it came to getting rid of Ross but I've seen few who disagree with the decision to get rid of Maloney.

With many businesses when there's a change at the top or a restructure then there are things that go wrong as the new regime/management find their feet. Hibs are no different, the problem is that football fans (not just Hibs) demand immediate results, so talk of accepting poor results while the team rebuild would not go down well, hence we end up in the situation we are now.

25-07-2022, 03:48 PM
I'm generally a happy clapper, but I moaned about Lennon when he stopped attending after match press interviews when we lost and sent a vagrant in his place (edit...someones just told me that was actually Gary Parker !). I remember there being plenty who were not at all positive about Lennon before he left...I was glad to see him go TBH

I don’t disagree.

The level of negativity was nothing compared to what we’ve seen under Heckingbottom, Maloney or now though.

Also, think of the 5-3 Killie and 5-5 Rangers games. We’ve not had performances or an atmosphere at ER since.

LewysGot2
25-07-2022, 03:58 PM
KamberiGate and the Derby just before he went and how he reacted to it meant there were a fair number of folk questioning what was going on.
History will probably always have mixed recollections of his pros and cons. Everybody probably misses his approach to derbies and the games versus the Uglies.

25-07-2022, 06:50 PM
Yes

Garymcl
25-07-2022, 06:59 PM
Yes season not even started more positivity for those that can start of with getting your ***** up to Perth on Saturday and get right behind the team I for one canny wait honestly think we will start the season with a win :flag:

loanheadhibby
25-07-2022, 07:36 PM
Yes season not even started more positivity for those that can start of with getting your ***** up to Perth on Saturday and get right behind the team I for one canny wait honestly think we will start the season with a win :flag:

Think or hope?

25-07-2022, 10:58 PM
Think or hope?

He wrote think.

26-07-2022, 02:40 AM
Yes - maybe understandably after getting dumped out the League Cup, but I feel a sense of optimism rather than gloom.

Our new signings have a lot to prove yet in the rough and tumble of Scottish football - but from what I've seen so far we can expect to see an injection of pace and flair into our options up front - and with both Henderson and Melkerson looking like improved players on last season I think we look more creative going forward and hopefully the goals will flow.

As well as that there's still plenty of time left in the transfer window and surely some room left in the budget after Doig's departure.

Re LJ - he's not had the best of starts with the LC exit but it's early doors yet and I'll cut him some slack. At times the team has actually played really well over these games and I think we will be in for a season of entertaining football compared to last season - hopefully resulting in many wins for the Hibees!

26-07-2022, 03:51 AM
A select few seem to revel in negativity on this forum. I think the admins should exact executive privilege and force the repeat offenders to have Eyeore avatars.

26-07-2022, 06:47 AM

To be fair, this season is not what I’d expect to be the norm for transfer activity. Gordon has already said the club needs stability when discussing the impact of going through two managers in quick succession.

The board are on record (last AGM, i think) in saying that there is a gap in quality from under 18’s to 23’s that needed to be addressed, it’s very evident through the investment in the development team and profile of some of the first team signings that they’ve taken measures to address that.

That shouldn’t be repeated season on season.

Throw in the need to strengthen the first eleven after the terrible season last season, again that’s not sustainable to do season after season.

26-07-2022, 06:59 AM

Ron Gordon didn't become a millionaire by not knowing how to run a business but it always puzzles me why any successful business man would be daft enough to fritter his money away by buying a football club.

26-07-2022, 03:46 PM
To be fair, this season is not what I’d expect to be the norm for transfer activity. Gordon has already said the club needs stability when discussing the impact of going through two managers in quick succession.

The board are on record (last AGM, i think) in saying that there is a gap in quality from under 18’s to 23’s that needed to be addressed, it’s very evident through the investment in the development team and profile of some of the first team signings that they’ve taken measures to address that.

That shouldn’t be repeated season on season.

Throw in the need to strengthen the first eleven after the terrible season last season, again that’s not sustainable to do season after season.

All fair points Matty.

I think the trouble with Hibs is that for the past twenty years you and I have witnessed a number of ‘root and branch’ reorganisations of the business.

Just over a year ago we finished third. It’s really hard to believe that after just fifteen months, the club needs such a massive overhaul of the football department.

We keep ripping up the previous organisational structure and replacing it with a different one with brand new personnel. That takes investment, energy and needs time to get the new machinery up and running.

And if the end result doesn’t improve on top three, will any of us be satisfied that all that time, effort and money was well spent?

I’ll pray that we start to see results in 2023

26-07-2022, 04:02 PM
All fair points Matty.

I think the trouble with Hibs is that for the past twenty years you and I have witnessed a number of ‘root and branch’ reorganisations of the business.

Just over a year ago we finished third. It’s really hard to believe that after just fifteen months, the club needs such a massive overhaul of the football department.

We keep ripping up the previous organisational structure and replacing it with a different one with brand new personnel. That takes investment, energy and needs time to get the new machinery up and running.

And if the end result doesn’t improve on top three, will any of us be satisfied that all that time, effort and money was well spent?

I’ll pray that we start to see results in 2023
Agree with that. I think we missed the boat with strengthening well when we finished third. It was good that the team wasn’t decimated but with a couple of good additions we could have been looking at back to back third place finishes.

26-07-2022, 04:07 PM
Yes. Big time. Thats Hibs fans for you though.

26-07-2022, 04:45 PM
Agree with that. I think we missed the boat with strengthening well when we finished third. It was good that the team wasn’t decimated but with a couple of good additions we could have been looking at back to back third place finishes.

Agree with that. A couple of real good signings would have made a world of difference and it’s where I did have a bit sympathy for Ross.

Thing that frustrates me is that, despite what some think, I don’t think we’re trying to do things on the cheap. We are definitely prepared to invest. Even if you look at that particular window we spent six figure fees on McKay and Tait who have went on to hardly kick a ball (hopefully that changes for Tait in the coming weeks). It just comes back to how we’re spending the money.

26-07-2022, 04:46 PM
Agree with that. A couple of real good signings would have made a world of difference and it’s where I did have a bit sympathy for Ross.

Thing that frustrates me is that, despite what some think, I don’t think we’re trying to do things on the cheap. We are definitely prepared to invest. Even if you look at that particular window we spent six figure fees on McKay and Tait who have went on to hardly kick a ball to (hopefully that changes for Tait in the coming weeks). It just comes back to how we’re spending the money.
Yeah, it’s not the money that’s been the issue.