View Full Version : That time of year again

LewysGot2
23-07-2022, 09:22 PM
The pandemic gave us our city back in August and September for the last two years and it was both eerily spooky and beautiful at the same time. However, the full boona is back again from next week and we will no doubt grind to a halt for 4 weeks, get pissed off with not being able to walk from A to B without it being an obstacle course and the bleeding nightly fireworks will frighten the dugs.

It's a love hate thing.

Is anyone going to anything?

23-07-2022, 09:28 PM
I love it :greengrin

I'm just going through my ritual of whittling down a long-list of about 80 shows to something more sensible.

I have noticed that prices have jumped a bit since 3 years ago, so I'll try and restrict myself. Currently have about 15 on my wanna-see list, but that will probably increase as the month goes on.

LewysGot2
23-07-2022, 09:33 PM
I'm going to see Darren McGarvey. Possibly Larry Dean. Very likely Myras Story

24-07-2022, 06:29 AM
Got tickets for a few things. We just have one day where we go and see multiple shows starting at about 2 and finishing up with a midnight show. We'll probably take the kids to see some of the street acts as well. I enjoy the buzz around the city even if it is a bit more difficult to go about your day to day.

I don't have much love for the Fringe as an organisation itself though. I follow a lot of smaller comedians on Twitter and other social platforms. I also know a few people involved in a show personally (Spontaneously Potter, very funny btw) and a lot fo them are very much of the opinion that the Fringe has now become everything it was meant to be the antithesis of. Them withdrawing the app at the last minute this year was the final straw for a few and a lot have said they won't be back next year as the organisers don't really want their type anymore.

24-07-2022, 07:31 AM
Used to love Edinburgh in the festival when I lived there.

Some of the best things I saw were free - for example the shows promoted by the various European cultural exchanges.

Enjoy!

Jay
24-07-2022, 08:40 AM
I love it. Love the buzz of the place and the random madness of it all. Can't wait to take my 3 year old grandson in for the first time. He will love wandering about watching the street acts , putting money in their hats and interacting with them and choosing shows to go to.

24-07-2022, 09:48 AM
The pandemic gave us our city back in August and September for the last two years and it was both eerily spooky and beautiful at the same time. However, the full boona is back again from next week and we will no doubt grind to a halt for 4 weeks, get pissed off with not being able to walk from A to B without it being an obstacle course and the bleeding nightly fireworks will frighten the dugs.

It's a love hate thing.

Is anyone going to anything?

You should try living in Glasgow during July.

The Edinburgh Festival is a dawdle compared to all those stupid Orange Walks :rolleyes:

24-07-2022, 04:41 PM
The only thing I’ve got booked so far is Susie McCabe (also going to see Simple Minds but that’s not technically in the festival 😄)

I will still moan about the festival and tourists walking in front of the car when trying to get anywhere though :greengrin

LewysGot2
24-07-2022, 04:46 PM
The only thing I’ve got booked so far is Susie McCabe (also going to see Simple Minds but that’s not technically in the festival 😄)

I will still moan about the festival and tourists walking in front of the car when trying to get anywhere though :greengrin

It's our birthright 😉👍

24-07-2022, 06:05 PM
The Festival is brilliant. It might be a pain at times, but I'd 100% rather have it than not.

24-07-2022, 06:27 PM
Right now I’d rather live in Edinburgh than Dover!

24-07-2022, 07:47 PM
Love it. It's one of the things that makes Edinburgh amazing and the best place in the world to live/visit.

I've never really understood the narrative of it impacting locals getting about either in all honesty. Maybe I'm just looking back with rose tinted glasses on that argument after 3 years though.

It will be a shame to not have the fringe app to hand this year. It was a tremendous app in the past years to guide you to shows - understand how the fringe may have struggled to make the financial investment in the build up to this year though with the fear of a cancellation, and the lingering financial consequences of the previous cancellations.

24-07-2022, 08:26 PM
I'll go against the grain here and say I can't stand it.
95% of the shows are a lot of *****, imo of course.
the city gets waaay to busy.
it shows up the ridiculousness of the property situation in Edinburgh when some entertainers can't even afford to stay in the city.
Having to put up with the promotion of the most ridiculous and **** looking shows on news/TV.

I agree there are good sides to it and Edinburgh no doubt rakes it in and gets a lot of promotion but it comes at a cost.

24-07-2022, 08:35 PM
I'll go against the grain here and say I can't stand it.
95% of the shows are a lot of *****, imo of course.
the city gets waaay to busy.
it shows up the ridiculousness of the property situation in Edinburgh when some entertainers can't even afford to stay in the city.
Having to put up with the promotion of the most ridiculous and **** looking shows on news/TV.

I agree there are good sides to it and Edinburgh no doubt rakes it in and gets a lot of promotion but it comes at a cost.

Do you got to a lot of shows ?? Because the 95 percent rubbish thing is way off in my experiences….sure , some are hit and miss, but my experience over decades now of the fringe and festival, is that it is a whole lot of fun and great vibes…

24-07-2022, 08:40 PM
Do you got to a lot of shows ?? Because the 95 percent rubbish thing is way off in my experiences….sure , some are hit and miss, but my experience over decades now of the fringe and festival, is that it is a whole lot of fun and great vibes…

I think this really depends on what your personal taste is, I have been to shows and take a look at what's in but don't generally find much if anything of interest. I'll pick and choose if I do, mostly music gigs.

24-07-2022, 10:28 PM
Absolutely love the festival.

24-07-2022, 10:32 PM
Love the festival and always try and do a couple of full days.

First day this year seeing Vittorio Angelone, Daniel Sloss, Paul McCaffrey and Mark Watson.

Second day seeing a best of Edinburgh showcase, Spontaneous Potter, Ben Hart and Tom Lucy.

The first day is very heavily influenced by the Have a word podcast [emoji3]

24-07-2022, 10:33 PM
Actually, Have a word today put up a list of their former guests that are performing at the fringe this year. Some very funny folk on the list.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220724/3b9bbd1c8af8c8332b10395c055ae772.jpg

25-07-2022, 06:20 AM
Actually, Have a word today put up a list of their former guests that are performing at the fringe this year. Some very funny folk on the list.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220724/3b9bbd1c8af8c8332b10395c055ae772.jpg

One of the things that annoys me about the Fringe is that so much focus is on comedy. For me, that's only a part of it. There's so much more, and (uninformed) media often neglects that.

25-07-2022, 06:50 AM
One of the things that annoys me about the Fringe is that so much focus is on comedy. For me, that's only a part of it. There's so much more, and (uninformed) media often neglects that.

How much of that is customer driven though? :dunno:

Admittedly, it could be a bit chicken and egg as with more exposure then other genres could become more popular.

I assume there's a funding disparity between genres which doesn't help things either - posters and flyers are typically for the comedy acts from what I remember of previous years.

07-08-2022, 07:08 AM
I had my bairns at a couple of shows yesterday morning and the atmosphere was brilliant.

First show was at Surgeons Hall. A kids stand up show. The audience totalled 6 (which surprised me as the comedian had some kids TV exposure during lockdown) but he was a total pro. The kids who were there had a ball. 2nd show was at the Pleasance Courtyard. It was full of families and the set up for kids was brilliant. Started to get busy with a less family crowd about 1.30ish but everyone got along. Royal Mile was busy and really nice buzz about the place then down to the Grassmarket which was also heaving and atmosphere was great.

Highlight of the day was quite literally bumping into the super talented Phoebe Waller Bridge. She was charm personified and I admit to being a little bit starstruck.

07-08-2022, 04:09 PM
I love this time of year. I take a lot of pride in folk coming from all over the world to our wee town.

He's here!
13-08-2022, 08:03 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-62533592

Jerry Sadowitz show cancelled due to allegedly 'unacceptable' content.

13-08-2022, 09:39 PM

Strange statement from the Pleasance director.

"We don't censor..." and then they do.

I can't bear Sadowitz, but if I bought a ticket I'd know what I was getting. Similarly the Pleasance knew what they were getting.

The Fringe was set up 75 years ago as an alternative to the official Festival. It's meant to be edgy ffs.

Paul1642
13-08-2022, 09:42 PM

Any elaboration as to what’s wrong with his show? BBC article doesn’t really say anything.

Unless it’s grossly racist / homophonic I can’t really see any reason for a comedy show to be cancelled. They are almost all offensive in various ways and would be considerably less funny if they weren’t. Anyone who buys a ticket expecting otherwise would be very naive.

Obviously there need to be a limit and I’m just curious as to how this guy has managed to reach that limit.

13-08-2022, 09:58 PM
Any elaboration as to what’s wrong with his show? BBC article doesn’t really say anything.

Unless it’s grossly racist / homophonic I can’t really see any reason for a comedy show to be cancelled. They are almost all offensive in various ways and would be considerably less funny if they weren’t. Anyone who buys a ticket expecting otherwise would be very naive.

Obviously there need to be a limit and I’m just curious as to how this guy has managed to reach that limit.

By homophonic, is that like the pun threads on here? :)))

13-08-2022, 10:32 PM
Made it to my first fringe show this evening, Kai Humphries at the Stand on York place. It was very good. Made me realise I hadn't been to a sit down comedy gig for 3 years and realise what I'd been missing - will be making plans over the next few days to get out to more!

13-08-2022, 10:44 PM

I had ticket for this (not my choice but tagged along with friends) so was quite glad to learn it was binned.

13-08-2022, 11:14 PM
Strange statement from the Pleasance director.

"We don't censor..." and then they do.

I can't bear Sadowitz, but if I bought a ticket I'd know what I was getting. Similarly the Pleasance knew what they were getting.

The Fringe was set up 75 years ago as an alternative to the official Festival. It's meant to be edgy ffs.

:agree: Completely incoherent.

13-08-2022, 11:29 PM

It was claimed that he had used a racist term and exposed his ***** to an audience member.

Just a bit of fun!

14-08-2022, 06:47 AM
I'm not against it per se, although personally think its the same regurgitated middle class pish every year so its not for me, but I am absolutely against the Councils planning around it. Working in the town and after a 6am start and 10 hour shift it would be good to just be able to walk home without having to dodge a juggler and his crowd, the selfie takers at any view of the castle and the dozen walking groups who all seem to leave at the same place at the same time. Would also be handy if lothian buses never cut back services a week before Edinburgh invited the world to visit.

14-08-2022, 08:11 AM
I thought that this was the thread about huge spiders in the house. 🙄

14-08-2022, 08:28 AM
It was claimed that he had used a racist term and exposed his ***** to an audience member.

Just a bit of fun!

Yet I have been to 2 shows in the last week where a naked woman was part of the act. 1 of them was at the Pleasance.

14-08-2022, 08:44 AM
Yet I have been to 2 shows in the last week where a naked woman was part of the act. 1 of them was at the Pleasance.

Were they using racist slurs also?

Caveat: I'm not sure it's even been confirmed that racist (and misogynistic) slurs along with exposing himself was what actually happened - and I wasn't there to know either way. If you've experienced similar nudity though then it points to there being more to this which warranted/justified the cancellation of his show. :dunno:

It seems they've created a mini storm for themselves though, for what would have only been 1 more show.

14-08-2022, 09:10 AM

Just a bit of fun!

Sounds like he's challenging contemporary mores.

No mercy!

14-08-2022, 09:18 AM
I have no issue with an organisation such as the BBC not showing the likes of Sadowitz. His show is deliberately controversial and he's made his career of the back of that (well that and being an unbelievably good slight of hand magician). If you give someone intentionally provocative a platform on a show like Live at The Apollo then there is a chance those who don't wish to be subjected to his very particular humour will see it.

I can't get behind this idea that ticketed venues are refusing to let people perform though. People buying tickets for a Jerry Sadowitz, Chubby Brown etc etc gig know exactly what they are getting. What do the Pleasance even mean by him 'not aligning with our values'? Sadowitz has decades of material as evidence of what he does. Are they claiming they only became aware of his style of comedy this week? Did their values change since they agreed to platform him in the 1st place? Or is this just reactionary because there has been a bit of bad press? You book Sadowitz you know exactly what your are booking. There is going to be sexism, misogyny, racism, ageism etc etc etc. Don't pretend you weren't aware of that as a venue or as an audience member. If a member of a Sadowitz audience is offended by one thing he says then they must be willing to let a hell of a lot of other stuff go.

Paulie Walnuts
14-08-2022, 09:39 AM

Just a bit of fun!

I was at Trainspotting at the EICC. Let’s just say that should be cancelled as well going by their complaints about his show.

Paul1642
14-08-2022, 09:44 AM
I have no issue with an organisation such as the BBC not showing the likes of Sadowitz. His show is deliberately controversial and he's made his career of the back of that (well that and being an unbelievably good slight of hand magician). If you give someone intentionally provocative a platform on a show like Live at The Apollo then there is a chance those who don't wish to be subjected to his very particular humour will see it.

I can't get behind this idea that ticketed venues are refusing to let people perform though. People buying tickets for a Jerry Sadowitz, Chubby Brown etc etc gig know exactly what they are getting. What do the Pleasance even mean by him 'not aligning with our values'? Sadowitz has decades of material as evidence of what he does. Are they claiming they only became aware of his style of comedy this week? Did their values change since they agreed to platform him in the 1st place? Or is this just reactionary because there has been a bit of bad press? You book Sadowitz you know exactly what your are booking. There is going to be sexism, misogyny, racism, ageism etc etc etc. Don't pretend you weren't aware of that as a venue or as an audience member. If a member of a Sadowitz audience is offended by one thing he says then they must be willing to let a hell of a lot of other stuff go.

Doesn’t sound like something I would enjoy so simply wouldn’t go. Censoring certain comedy shows sets a pretty dangerous precedent, because I as I said previously, almost every stand up routine contains content that would offend certain people. It would become very hard deciding where to draw the line.

14-08-2022, 10:48 AM

I wasn't there but did pick up a staff member after his show the other night and she was raging about it. Said it was beyond obscene and more like hate speech and couldn't believe he was getting away with it.

Said she had an Asian colleague who was in tears listening to it.

I'm not saying it's right but perhaps he's going too far right with some of the stuff he's saying?

14-08-2022, 11:06 AM

Happened yesterday at the Arthur Smith gig. Very odd.

14-08-2022, 11:13 AM

That's one of them.

I thought it was funny, and made his point.

14-08-2022, 11:30 AM
That's one of them.

I thought it was funny, and made his point.

Aye, but not so sure there was a need for the encore while nude though. That was slightly odd.

14-08-2022, 04:45 PM
Was at the Mark Thomas gig today.

His comment on the JS affair was that it's a bit rich for the Pleasance to take a moral stance when they don't pay most of their staff the Living Wage.

14-08-2022, 04:49 PM

We went to see him in 2018 I think, pre-Covid anyway, and the naked lady made an appearance then too. I can’t remember thinking it was particularly likely to cause offense, she was nude but there wasn’t anything sexualised about it, just seemed to be an exercise in silliness and a self fulfilling prophecy sketch. He’s a funny man.

I used to like Sadowicz, haven’t seen his act for about 30 years though. He’s just a guy who likes to tell you how much he hates people. He also hates himself which always makes the misanthropy more excusable.

14-08-2022, 08:34 PM
Robert Peacock who edits the Wee Review nailed it on Twitter earlier.

Most taboos were broken decades ago. The only taboo left at the Fringe is to admit that it's not actually taboo breaking and hasn't been for a long time. It's conformist and if you don't conform you get the Sadowitz treatment.

I said it on about the 3ed post on this thread. I enjoy the Fringe but it's gone mainstream and that happened years ago. Everything it was supposed to stand against has been absorbed into it as it's become a bloated extension to the Festival itself rather than an edgy protest. It's often expensive, it's exploitative of both performers and workers and there's large chunks of it that really could be anywhere.

hibby rae
14-08-2022, 08:50 PM
Was at the Mark Thomas gig today.

His comment on the JS affair was that it's a bit rich for the Pleasance to take a moral stance when they don't pay most of their staff the Living Wage.

A lot of their staff don't get paid. Instead they are given free bed and board and free entry to shows at thr big 4 venues, which is probably fine if you live in London and wamt to avoid paying at least a grand for a bed, but it's of little use to someone who lives in/is from Edinburgh and is looking for an opportunity to gain experience working in the arts.

hibby rae
14-08-2022, 08:56 PM
Robert Peacock who edits the Wee Review nailed it on Twitter earlier.

Most taboos were broken decades ago. The only taboo left at the Fringe is to admit that it's not actually taboo breaking and hasn't been for a long time. It's conformist and if you don't conform you get the Sadowitz treatment.

I said it on about the 3ed post on this thread. I enjoy the Fringe but it's gone mainstream and that happened years ago. Everything it was supposed to stand against has been absorbed into it as it's become a bloated extension to the Festival itself rather than an edgy protest. It's often expensive, it's exploitative of both performers and workers and there's large chunks of it that really could be anywhere.

Like most things in life the truth lies between what you're saying and the opposite.

Yes, there are many mainstream venues and shows, but there are also many that couldn't be further removed from that.

Being from Edinburgh, and having previously worked for EFFs, I've seen it from the outside and the inside. And there's a kot I can, and will criticise it for, but it wasn't intended to be an edgy protest, rather than a space for anyone to perform who wants to. Generally, that is still the case.

One final thing to add, having met Anthony Anderson before, and through knowledge of colleagues dealings with him, I can say he's an entitled ********

15-08-2022, 10:31 AM
Did my first bit of Fringe-ing this weekend, saw 1902 for the second time (but first time at the Fringe) - it's a great show if you haven't already go see it, lots of Hibs related content, but it's also about family and friendship. This is it's last year at the Fringe, but it will be going on tour in England later this year.

Also saw Andrew Maxwell (Irish and a big Hibby, I believe) - still very funny and obviously revelling in being able to perform again in front of an actual audience.

15-08-2022, 10:43 AM
Went to see "The Road to Ballina" with Jakko Jakszyk, guitarist for King Crimson.
It's the story of his family and upbringing, tells of his adoptive parents and his search for and discovery of his birth mother.
A difficult story to hear - covers some of the key world themes of the 20th Century (war, migration, family).
There's a bit of him playing guitar, a bit of flute, but it's mostly him laying open his life.

Emotional stuff.

15-08-2022, 11:12 AM
Saw quite a lot over the weekend.

Favourite things were:-

The Death of Anna Mann.

Dreams of the Small Gods.

Mark Thomas