View Full Version : Derby - first home game, RG issue?

23-07-2022, 04:28 AM
Just wondering if anyone can make head nor tail of RG comments that having the Derby as the first home game will somehow knock 4-5k off the attendance because we're only due to finish the West Stand touch ups a few days beforehand?

Perhaps he's being misquoted, but sounds like a lot of havering to me. Or am I missing something?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/62268508

DJ HIBBY
23-07-2022, 04:32 AM
Just wondering if anyone can make head nor tail of RG comments that having the Derby as the first time game will somehow knock 4-5k off the attendance because we're only due to finish the West Stand touch ups a few days beforehand?

Perhaps he's being misquoted, but sounds like a lot of havering to me. Or am I missing something?

Think his argument was that our first game of season would normally see extra an extra few thousand attending whoever we were playing and Derbys sell themselves. Thus we’ve missed out on a normal game with extra few thousand attending.

23-07-2022, 04:34 AM
I could be wrong but my impression of it was that he felt like the derby shouldn't be too early in the season.

He wanted to play non cat A teams in the summer as walk ups are higher. We would then sell derbies in high numbers later in the season.

I felt like I was waffling giving my thoughts on what he meant 😁.

23-07-2022, 04:37 AM
Just wondering if anyone can make head nor tail of RG comments that having the Derby as the first time game will somehow knock 4-5k off the attendance because we're only due to finish the West Stand touch ups a few days beforehand?

He made sense - basically we miss out on the bigger crowd that the first home game of the season usually gives us. So, say we were at home to Dundee United, we might usually get 11,000 but on the first home game that fixture might draw 15k due to more walk ups age away fans.

The derby would sell out regardless, so while you get a bumper crowd, when Dundee Utd comes up a few weeks later (for example) we get the 11k attendance for that fixture and miss out on the benefit of the opening home game attendance.

Total attendance.for the two games if we have United first, then the derby would be c35k, with the derby then United it's 31k.

That's what he meant.

23-07-2022, 04:39 AM
Ah ok. Poorly worded or edited interview/article then. Attendances will look after themselves if his son and cronies sign the right players and stop making comedy admin cock ups.

Dmas
23-07-2022, 05:32 AM
Ah ok. Poorly worded or edited interview/article then. Attendances will look after themselves if his son and cronies sign the right players and stop making comedy admin cock ups.

Just wanted another dig rather than an explanation of a perfectly reasonable point, should have just joined one of the many other threads.

23-07-2022, 06:33 AM
Here’s a novel idea.

Put a team on the park that can win against Hearts and can get us a few wins back to back at Easter Road and maybe just maybe the crowd will increase all season and not just for the first game at home.

23-07-2022, 06:34 AM
Feels like the thread title is a dig at RG.

Ron has a valid point.

When was the last time they played Rangers v Celtic 1st or 2nd game ?

ClermistonGreen
23-07-2022, 06:36 AM
Here’s a novel idea.

Put a team on the park that can win against Hearts and can get us a few wins back to back at Easter Road and maybe just maybe the crowd will increase all season and not just for the first game at home.

What team would that be ? :wink::thumbsup:

23-07-2022, 06:53 AM
Just wondering if anyone can make head nor tail of RG comments that having the Derby as the first home game will somehow knock 4-5k off the attendance because we're only due to finish the West Stand touch ups a few days beforehand?

If anything knocks a few thousand off the gate it will be the depressing cup exit and the lunch time ko.

23-07-2022, 07:06 AM

It is my impression that our owner cares more about generating income than he does about what's taking place on the field.

23-07-2022, 07:25 AM
Our owner stands up for our club and challenges the authorities in a way I haven't seen since Tom Hart and half the comments on here are having a dig at him. I despair at times.

23-07-2022, 07:25 AM
Perhaps if we had a winning team on the park we wouldn't need to worry about extra numbers coming through the door in the opening match as Easter Road would be sold out for every game anyway.

23-07-2022, 07:42 AM

Ron has a valid point.

Rangers' second home game of 2019/20 was against Celtic. It was also their first home game of last season back at full capacity after Covid-19 restrictions were lifted.

23-07-2022, 07:56 AM

Ron has a valid point.

Yup it's a totally valid point. We're losing tens of thousands from this. And as you say, it would never happen with the OF.

23-07-2022, 07:59 AM
Yup it's a totally valid point. We're losing tens of thousands from this. And as you say, it would never happen with the OF.

Tbh. If we had a decent team that was winning our league cup games, we would sell all our tickets. That’s more of an issue than the timing of the match.

Don’t mind him challenging what he sees isn’t good for the club mind you…

23-07-2022, 08:01 AM
It is my impression that our owner cares more about generating income than he does about what's taking place on the field.

You do know there’s a very clear correlation between a clubs income and success on the football field.

23-07-2022, 08:16 AM
I don't get it, it's not unheard of to play Hearts or the OF early in the season. Someone has to, right?

23-07-2022, 08:17 AM

See above, Rangers played at home in their first home game of last season following the lifting of all Covid-19 restrictions.

Their first home game at full capacity in almost 18 months would have sold out regardless of who the opposition was so surely for them it would have been better to have played the likes of St Mirren or Ross County in that game and then played Celtic (which would sell out regardless of when it was played) at another time?

23-07-2022, 08:18 AM
He made sense - basically we miss out on the bigger crowd that the first home game of the season usually gives us. So, say we were at home to Dundee United, we might usually get 11,000 but on the first home game that fixture might draw 15k due to more walk ups age away fans.

The derby would sell out regardless, so while you get a bumper crowd, when Dundee Utd comes up a few weeks later (for example) we get the 11k attendance for that fixture and miss out on the benefit of the opening home game attendance.

Total attendance.for the two games if we have United first, then the derby would be c35k, with the derby then United it's 31k.

That's what he meant.

Matty, I think it was a 2 pronged attack. You are correct with the above but I think he also hinted that he we had asked the league for some leeway on early home games giving us decent time to complete the west stand upgrades, which i think he felt the league just completely ignored.

RG was right to stick up for Hibs but some wont to make it into an issue.

23-07-2022, 08:18 AM
Did he not mean the early kick off on a Sunday?

23-07-2022, 08:22 AM
Ron is right about what he says, and it will cost us a few bob with the derby game coming first, but what will cost him a lot more is having a pish football side to watch, with a midfield and forward line as potent as Pele.

23-07-2022, 08:28 AM
Perhaps if we had a winning team on the park we wouldn't need to worry about extra numbers coming through the door in the opening match as Easter Road would be sold out for every game anyway.

Yeah and when have Hibs sold out every game of the season EVER?

Clearly open season on Ron for some but at least try and keep it semi sensible. About as silly as the other post moaning that the owner only cares about revenue while totally ignoring the fact that Ron has repeatedly stated that higher revenue means more funds for the first team.

As it is he has a perfectly good point and one that I’m sure other leagues understand and apply for the BENEFIT of their clubs.

I’m glad he is standing up for Hibs and our interests and he should get the backing of all fans when he does so rather than snarky remarks and sniping.

23-07-2022, 08:30 AM

You should put that on your protest banner.

Need a big sheet mind.

23-07-2022, 08:33 AM
I love that Ron actually takes the authorities to task and asks questions that should be asked which is what people have wanted for years to not sit down and take whatever garbage the league feed us.

Somehow people are still using this as something to moan about though.

23-07-2022, 08:35 AM

Clearly open season on Ron for some but at least try and keep it semi sensible. About as silly as the other post moaning that the owner only cares about revenue while totally ignoring the fact that Ron has repeatedly stated that higher revenue means more funds for the first team.

As it is he has a perfectly good point and one that I’m sure other leagues understand and apply for the BENEFIT of their clubs.

I’m glad he is standing up for Hibs and our interests and he should get the backing of all fans when he does so rather than snarky remarks and sniping.

This is where i have issues with him, i look at most of these plaayers that we've signed for our first team, and i'm not convinced most of them are ready for first team football yet.

There's no argument from me about off field business, i'd just love to see us sign better players than we currently are.

23-07-2022, 08:41 AM
Our owner stands up for our club and challenges the authorities in a way I haven't seen since Tom Hart and half the comments on here are having a dig at him. I despair at times.

Well said. All this pish folk spout about all him caring about is income is hilarious. Higher income = better players.

What he’s done so far behind the scenes is more than Dempster and Farmer achieved in a decade. Problem is and he’d be the first to admit it, is on the parks not been good enough. We need a rock solid club behind the scenes to achieve a consistently good first team.

23-07-2022, 08:43 AM

Correct on poorly worded. It’s now been updated so Ron’s comments make more sense.
But RG is dreaming if he thinks there would have been bumper crowd for St Mirren or some such… He just wasn’t acknowledging any kind of disconnect with fans during that interview.

heid the baw
23-07-2022, 08:46 AM
Souness 2-1 game was 1st home game of the season as was Chic Charley's screamer against Celtic.
I think he might have a point that we don't have a 3pm Saturday kick off until September, but that's just another product of the game being run for the benefit of TV companies.
Listening to his interview it was like he was running scared of the derby and of hearts in general.
Given our recent record against them and the comparative signing policies of the clubs we may well lose this derby, but Ron needs to think about how he comes over in the press. Giving these podcasts is all well and good but after a shambolic run of results and amateur mistakes, a wee bit of damage limitation is required

23-07-2022, 09:00 AM

It's hardly not a semi sensible thing to say, if we had a team on the park capable of winning more often than not then we wouldn't care who our opponents were in our opening home game.

I wouldn't slate him for increasing revenue, it's important to do so, so I don't think the point I made is equivalent to the point about complaining about people criticising him for only worrying about revenue.

I don't see why he should be backed for making a point if people genuinely feel like they have an opposing point of view like I do.

You should put that on your protest banner.

Need a big sheet mind.

Excellent idea, thanks. 👍

23-07-2022, 09:18 AM
It's hardly not a semi sensible thing to say, if we had a team on the park capable of winning more often than not then we wouldn't care who our opponents were in our opening home game.

I wouldn't slate him for increasing revenue, it's important to do so, so I don't think the point I made is equivalent to the point about complaining about people criticising him for only worrying about revenue.

I don't see why he should be backed for making a point if people genuinely feel like they have an opposing point of view like I do.

Excellent idea, thanks. [emoji106]

So when have Hibs sold out ER for every game before? Your putting a ridiculously high bar as your argument against him.

No doubt a winning team brings higher crowds but that isn’t particularly relevant to his point which is quite clear.

Opening home games against any opponent tend to have higher attendances and making that Hearts has very likely cost us revenue over the piece. Then you need to consider the fact that Hibs specifically asked for an away game at the start of the season to allow extra time to get the stadium renovations complete the outcome of that while granted it was followed by our biggest home game of the season being scheduled as the next game instead.

He’s looking for the league to give their teams some support and understanding as well as an opportunity to maximise revenue….what team we put on the park is a total aside from that point.

hibeejeebies
23-07-2022, 09:22 AM
Would we see an old firm getting scheduled this early in the season?

23-07-2022, 09:25 AM
What team would that be ? :wink::thumbsup:

If I could name that team then I’d be in a lot better paid job than I am now. However I do know that in the last 2( possibly 3 ) years we’ve not had many back to back wins at Easter Road, which we should be at least achieving if not beating Hearts too.

You just need to look at our attendances when we have a good team to watch which shows that when we get it right the fans will turn up.

23-07-2022, 09:37 AM
The League already allowed us our first game away from home to complete work on the stadium (hospitality). Not unusual to play Derby early. Good we are home as we will get at two home derbies. The publicity from this is not good after performances and admin screw up. He is beginning to sound a bit hysterical. Good we are having them early as get close to sell out. If we had other than category A home game, the way we are playing, there would have been few non season ticket holders. Think this just adds to the shambles if our club since JR was sacked.

23-07-2022, 09:38 AM
Here’s a novel idea.

It still wouldn't get back the missing 4,000 tickets lost though would it? Scottish football should be doing all they can to maximise revenue for the clubs, especially just after the impact of Covid, as we don't have the buffer of over a billion coming in from Sky to support our football. Ron is 100% right, complete idiotic decision from the authorities.

23-07-2022, 09:49 AM
It still wouldn't get back the missing 4,000 tickets lost though would it? Scottish football should be doing all they can to maximise revenue for the clubs, especially just after the impact of Covid, as we don't have the buffer of over a billion coming in from Sky to support our football. Ron is 100% right, complete idiotic decision from the authorities.

We are not losing 4000 ticket sales.

Look back at opening day fixture numbers over last few years and compare to the corresponsding fixture later in the season.

The difference is in the low hundreds, at best.

23-07-2022, 10:07 AM
Here’s a novel idea.

Gloucester Hibs
23-07-2022, 10:09 AM

Look back at opening day fixture numbers over last few years and compare to the corresponsding fixture later in the season.

Correct. Season 2019/20:

Hibs v St Mirren in August Att: 16,631
Hibs v St Mirren in February Att: 16,320

Can’t compare equivalent fixtures from the last 2 seasons due to Covid.

23-07-2022, 10:11 AM
He's clutching at straws with this to be honest.

23-07-2022, 10:18 AM
I get the point he was making but it very much feels glass half full to me. He could have also said what a great opportunity to stick it to Hearts get above them in the league and build for the season. That would guarantee lots of good sized crowds. I like he is standing up to us but I get the feeling he is feeling the heat with so many things going wrong.

23-07-2022, 10:22 AM
Correct. Season 2019/20:

It's all a bit of a moot argument given attendance figures are completely unreliable now. There would be a few thousand between the two games you've quoted there - even then, a lot of that could have been season ticket no shows so little impact on gate income.

I do see his point, especially as the Old Firm are typically kept apart for a few weeks, but the league is never going to end up scheduled in a way that suits individual games or clubs. Apart from Rangers/Celtic, obviously.

23-07-2022, 10:26 AM
It's all a bit of a moot argument given attendance figures are completely unreliable now. There would be a few thousand between the two games you've quoted there - even then, a lot of that could have been season ticket no shows so little impact on gate income.

I do see his point, especially as the Old Firm are typically kept apart for a few weeks, but the league is never going to end up scheduled in a way that suits individual games or clubs. Apart from Rangers/Celtic, obviously.

I dont understand what you mean.

We count STs as attending even if they dont bother, so both of those numbers are counted consistently.

August attendances are very slightly higher than later in the season, its in the order of 300 or so.

The 4000, if RG thinks that is the number, is nonsense and the difference has never been close to that.

23-07-2022, 10:29 AM
Rangers' second home game of 2019/20 was against Celtic. It was also their first home game of last season back at full capacity after Covid-19 restrictions were lifted.

Ok how many times have they played..

1st game of the season ?

2nd game of the season ?

23-07-2022, 10:32 AM

The part I agree with is there should be a weekend in the season where it’s like Derby weekend where possible.

The Edinburgh clubs
Glasgow clubs
Dundee clubs

All obviously if possible play each other that weekend to generate league interest. You can also spread them out but my point is Rangers and Celtic rarely play 1st game or 2nd game.

Feels like the Edinburgh derby is often quite early.

23-07-2022, 10:53 AM
So when have Hibs sold out ER for every game before? Your putting a ridiculously high bar as your argument against him.

No doubt a winning team brings higher crowds but that isn’t particularly relevant to his point which is quite clear.

Opening home games against any opponent tend to have higher attendances and making that Hearts has very likely cost us revenue over the piece. Then you need to consider the fact that Hibs specifically asked for an away game at the start of the season to allow extra time to get the stadium renovations complete the outcome of that while granted it was followed by our biggest home game of the season being scheduled as the next game instead.

He’s looking for the league to give their teams some support and understanding as well as an opportunity to maximise revenue….what team we put on the park is a total aside from that point.

The last time we finished 3rd in the top flight (with the exception of 20/21 which obviously had no fans present) was 2004/05. Our opening home match that season was v Kilmarnock, when we played them at home for the second time that season the attendance was more than 15% higher than it had been for the first game.

Build a team that the fans can be proud of and excited to go and see and we won't be worried about opening game bounces in attendance figures.

andyf5
23-07-2022, 10:56 AM
I love that Ron actually takes the authorities to task and asks questions that should be asked which is what people have wanted for years to not sit down and take whatever garbage the league feed us.

Somehow people are still using this as something to moan about though.

My thought is this is deflection to stop us focusing on the other things at ER. Nothing was said when the fixtures came out. Will be surprised if we sell out for the Derby.

23-07-2022, 11:02 AM
My thought is this is deflection to stop us focusing on the other things at ER. Nothing was said when the fixtures came out. Will be surprised if we sell out for the Derby.

Totally. It was funny when Budge was spouting similar nonsense. Not so funny seeing it coming out of our club.

23-07-2022, 11:09 AM
I dont understand what you mean.

We count STs as attending even if they dont bother, so both of those numbers are counted consistently.

August attendances are very slightly higher than later in the season, its in the order of 300 or so.

The 4000, if RG thinks that is the number, is nonsense and the difference has never been close to that.

Our historically high season ticket sales have a good few people over the last few years who clearly aren't that fussed about attending every game which obviously eats into what would be the walk up figure. I'm not sure that environment really gives him much ground to make bold claims about X thousand missing punters.

That said, you'd definitely get a bigger travelling support from Paisley on opening day/fortnight than February.

I'm not saying I agree with his numbers, but I do think in your old money Hibs attendances - those actually at the game - an opening day Hibs-Dundee United could easily attract 15k/16k whereas October would be around 10k-12k.

percy veer
23-07-2022, 11:21 AM

Ron has a valid point.

Correct valid point, never thought the edinburgh derby should be played that early, never happens with rangers or celtic, can you still postpone a game for a pre season friendly like celtic and rangers used to do

23-07-2022, 12:06 PM
He’ll be in a better position to “take to task” the authorities when he is running a football club that can follow simple competition rules. As for the claims of loss of walk up fans, the numbers of such supporters attending early in the season will be absolutely negligible when the club is at such a low ebb as currently. Should be looking on it as an opportunity to beat Hearts in first home game & reverse the mood of gloom, resulting in higher attendances for the less high profile fixtures.

23-07-2022, 12:13 PM
He’ll be in a better position to “take to task” the authorities when he is running a football club that can follow simple competition rules. As for the claims of loss of walk up fans, the numbers of such supporters attending early in the season will be absolutely negligible when the club is at such a low ebb as currently. Should be looking on it as an opportunity to beat Hearts in first home game & reverse the mood of gloom, resulting in higher attendances for the less high profile fixtures.

:agree: Totally agree.

23-07-2022, 12:21 PM
The last time we finished 3rd in the top flight (with the exception of 20/21 which obviously had no fans present) was 2004/05. Our opening home match that season was v Kilmarnock, when we played them at home for the second time that season the attendance was more than 15% higher than it had been for the first game.

Build a team that the fans can be proud of and excited to go and see and we won't be worried about opening game bounces in attendance figures.

15% higher so not sold out for every game then?

And of course better teams playing better football bring bigger crowds. I’m not arguing that point and neither is Ron.

What he’s saying (with a bit of hyperbole to be fair) is that the scheduling doesn’t allow Hibs to maximise their revenue through their schedules and more to the point it doesn’t seem to even have entered into their considerations.

It’s clearly a dig at the league from Hibs perspective but he’s also making a broader point in that he wants the authorities to be cognisant of that across the whole schedule and for all clubs.

To conflate that with ‘aye but if we were better our crowds would be bigger anyway’ is mixing up two completely unrelated points.

Paulie Walnuts
23-07-2022, 12:30 PM

I did think that.

Not sure where the 4000 figure has come from but there’s absolutely no chance there’s an extra 4000 people turn up simply because it’s first game of the season.

23-07-2022, 12:47 PM
15% higher so not sold out for every game then?

And of course better teams playing better football bring bigger crowds. I’m not arguing that point and neither is Ron.

What he’s saying (with a bit of hyperbole to be fair) is that the scheduling doesn’t allow Hibs to maximise their revenue through their schedules and more to the point it doesn’t seem to even have entered into their considerations.

It’s clearly a dig at the league from Hibs perspective but he’s also making a broader point in that he wants the authorities to be cognisant of that across the whole schedule and for all clubs.

To conflate that with ‘aye but if we were better our crowds would be bigger anyway’ is mixing up two completely unrelated points.

We'll need to respectfully disagree.

23-07-2022, 01:12 PM
I actually did a summary of attendances on various days, opening game, Boxing Day, New year etc to present it to Dougie Cromb many years ago. I was surprised at the time that no one at the Club had even considered such a thing. At that time, over 20 years ago, there was a clear uplift on opening day of about 15%. This continued for quite a while, IIRC in 2001 ish I was at both Home Killie games and the opening day attendance was about 30% higher than the 2nd game, which we won 3 0 with a Deek hat trick.
The counting of season tickets does somewhat distort attendance comparisons now, for example I believe we were averaging about 500 to 1000 half seasons 3 or 4 years ago.
Regardless I think our owner makes valid points, the SPFL should be doing everything possible to maximise revenues for all its Clubs, and IMO Ron should be supported for calling them out when they fail to do so. Re the repeated comments about a successful team attracting increased crowds does anyone seriously think Ron doesn't know that or doesn't want that success? Every extra £ we take in can help us achieve our success goal.

heid the baw
23-07-2022, 01:35 PM
Ron would do well to remind himself that his managerial tinkering cost him 2 cat A home fixtures last season, one of which was a derby.

23-07-2022, 01:36 PM
Correct valid point, never thought the edinburgh derby should be played that early, never happens with rangers or celtic, can you still postpone a game for a pre season friendly like celtic and rangers used to do

Except it has happened this early in the season for the OF very recently as has been said on various occasions in this thread. So that's that one out the window.

My thread originated because the article as it was had been put together by some BBC idiot and it read like RG thought we'd be losing 5k off the derby attendance because the West Stand refurbishments were due to finish only a few days before the game. The article has apparently been updated to actually make sense now.

Still see it as a straw clutching exercise that can easily be addressed by signing the players we need to at least have the best chance possible of a winning team that people will come to see against v the "lesser" teams to almost the same degree that they will against Hearts.

mcohibs
23-07-2022, 01:37 PM
Ron would do well to remind himself that his managerial tinkering cost him 2 cat A home fixtures last season, one of which was a derby.

Correct. Pick your battles Ron, this isn't the one.

23-07-2022, 02:25 PM

I’m glad he is standing up for Hibs and our interests and he should get the backing of all fans when he does so rather than snarky remarks and sniping.Even if we had been playing well they would just find something else to whine about incessantly.

23-07-2022, 05:31 PM
He should be looking at it as an opportunity, beat hearts while playing really well and the 5500 walk ups will hopefully want to keep coming back

23-07-2022, 05:34 PM
Except it has happened this early in the season for the OF very recently as has been said on various occasions in this thread. So that's that one out the window.

My thread originated because the article as it was had been put together by some BBC idiot and it read like RG thought we'd be losing 5k off the derby attendance because the West Stand refurbishments were due to finish only a few days before the game. The article has apparently been updated to actually make sense now.

Still see it as a straw clutching exercise that can easily be addressed by signing the players we need to at least have the best chance possible of a winning team that people will come to see against v the "lesser" teams to almost the same degree that they will against Hearts.

No - how often does it happen to Rangers playing Celtic ?

I’ve seen only x1 example of 2nd game - how come they have never played 1st game of the season?

23-07-2022, 05:51 PM
No - how often does it happen to Rangers playing Celtic ?

I’ve seen only x1 example of 2nd game - how come they have never played 1st game of the season?

When was the last time the Derby was first game of the season?

23-07-2022, 06:06 PM

Brian Kerr, 2007, £33, worth every penny.

23-07-2022, 07:33 PM

2000 before that.

It’s been 2nd game of the season quite a few times.

Now tell me about when Rangers played Celtic 1st game of the season?

23-07-2022, 07:35 PM
2000 before that.

Exactly.

mcohibs
23-07-2022, 07:55 PM
2000 before that.

So Edinburgh Derby has only been first game of the season twice in 22 years? In a 12 team league. Hardly that bad really. How often has it been second game?

23-07-2022, 08:01 PM
So Edinburgh Derby has only been first game of the season twice in 22 years? In a 12 team league. Hardly that bad really. How often has it been second game?

Never said it was bad - just awaiting someone to tell me about Rangers and Celtic playing each other early.

X4 occasions 2nd game of season since 2000 Hibs v Hearts.

All the data is on the London Hearts website.

https://www.londonhearts.com/scores/misc/hibernianhall.htm

percy veer
23-07-2022, 10:25 PM
Never said it was bad - just awaiting someone to tell me about Rangers and Celtic playing each other early.

X4 occasions 2nd game of season since 2000 Hibs v Hearts.

All the data is on the London Hearts website.

https://www.londonhearts.com/scores/misc/hibernianhall.htm

Over 25% that's only the last 22 seasons bearing in mind we were not in the same league for 3 of them 6 times out of 18 seasons we have played in the first 2 games, I'll go back 30 seasons and I'll guess they have played each other max 3 times first 2 games

24-07-2022, 09:15 AM
Correct. Season 2019/20:

The February 2020 game was a Hibs Kids day which would have boosted the attendance.

24-07-2022, 09:30 AM

Me too.

Some may not like it but Ron is trying to drag us into the 21 st century off the park.

On the park, I’ll leave that up to the manager.

Greenio
24-07-2022, 09:39 AM
Don't let anything detract from the fact RG is right in calling this out. If we'd won all our matches everyone would be backing him. The point about the old firm scheduling after the Covid break isn't legitimate...that was a rescheduling not scheduling

Stop looking for a chance to put the boot in and support your team when it's right you do

24-07-2022, 09:46 AM
There's a surprise, another poorly worded article. I watched the interview, there wasn't even a hint of ambiguity in what Ron said.

Honestly, proper journalists are few and far between these days.

24-07-2022, 09:46 AM
Me too.

Some may not like it but Ron is trying to drag us into the 21 st century off the park.

On the park, I’ll leave that up to the manager.
:agree: At long last we have an owner that will challenge decisions that he feels are detrimental to our club.

On the park there’s only so much RG can do with supplying LJ the players he feels will benefit and move the club forward. Given the time I feel & hope that LJ will get it right on the park.

24-07-2022, 09:52 AM
Don't let anything detract from the fact RG is right in calling this out. If we'd won all our matches everyone would be backing him. The point about the old firm scheduling after the Covid break isn't legitimate...that was a rescheduling not scheduling

Stop looking for a chance to put the boot in and support your team when it's right you do

If you're talking about last season I think we're talking about different games - you talking about the game at Parkhead and me talking about the game at the start of the season at Ibrox, that game wasn't rescheduled.