View Full Version : Ron Gordon Q&A

21-07-2022, 05:53 PM
Ron met with the various Hibs podcasts to discuss the state of the club at the moment:

https://youtu.be/q-FOOhigQYQ

21-07-2022, 05:55 PM
https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/longbangers/id1474463560?i=1000570727977

https://open.spotify.com/episode/5rFV6I4FDrDL4yD7c6YaSo?si=6AsJBetkRz6cxgyuDkpQDg

21-07-2022, 05:58 PM
Good podcast so far. Think Ron can talk but strikes me as full of waffle.

21-07-2022, 06:02 PM
I tried to put some of the concerns I’ve seen on here across to him firmly but fairly. Think the rest of the guys did exactly that too. No real softballs, so hopefully it’s at the very least a useful listen, even if it’s not an enjoyable one.

Won’t be on the Hibs.pod channels, but the same interview will be posted on all the other guys’ outlets.

21-07-2022, 06:04 PM
Ron met with the various Hibs podcasts to discuss the state of the club at the moment:

Struggling to watch this just now, when was this recorded, after last nights game?

21-07-2022, 06:07 PM

Yes, our club is certainly a state at the moment.

Matty, I won't be able to listen until tomorrow could you give us a wee summation of what was said as I am an impatient bugger.

LewysGot2
Struggling to watch this just now, when was this recorded, after last nights game?

Today.

Couple of hours ago

TheHibernator
21-07-2022, 06:12 PM
He talks up all the work being done behind the scenes. Ian’s fantastic, Ben Kensell’s a terrific CEO. Why have been a shambles for the past year then. He talks a good game but it’s clear there’s too many people in prominent positions who are simply not good enough.

LewysGot2
21-07-2022, 06:14 PM
The Football Operations person mucked up re Rocky. Confirmed by Ron.

LewysGot2
21-07-2022, 06:17 PM
Two players being sought for specific positions.

Boyle and Doig money not all up front but will go into the squad

21-07-2022, 06:18 PM
Started listening but as soon as I heard the bit about progress, I decided that was enough.

21-07-2022, 06:19 PM
Two players being sought for specific positions.

Boyle and Doig money not all up front but will go into the squad

Has to be a centre half and central midfielder, surely.

21-07-2022, 06:20 PM
He see’s the squad as challenging for 4th?

Was the that 4th in our league cup group

Like someone’s said he can certainly talk but there’s been nothing to back up his claims with regards to on the pitch.

21-07-2022, 06:20 PM
Started listening but as soon as I heard the bit about progress, I decided that was enough.Hes a waffler of the highest order

21-07-2022, 06:21 PM
Usually quite enjoy listening to Ron and appreciate his enthusiasm but it's just the same stuff as last interview. He really can't take any criticism.

Chorley Hibee
21-07-2022, 06:25 PM
Gave up after he started talking about Ronaldo having an adverse effect on Juventus and Man Utd performances.

Full of wind and pish.

21-07-2022, 06:25 PM
He see’s the squad as challenging for 4th?

Was the that 4th in our league cup group

Like someone’s said he can certainly talk but there’s been nothing to back up his claims with regards to on the pitch.

I think we will too.

21-07-2022, 06:26 PM
Haven't listened to it yet but certainly will listen to all in full.

Thanks for posting the links.

CL0762
21-07-2022, 06:27 PM
He talks up all the work being done behind the scenes. Ian’s fantastic, Ben Kensell’s a terrific CEO. Why have been a shambles for the past year then. He talks a good game but it’s clear there’s too many people in prominent positions who are simply not good enough.

Ian’s fantastic 😂😂😂

Jesus wept

21-07-2022, 06:27 PM
I think we will too.

So do I.

HendoDelivered
21-07-2022, 06:29 PM
Stopped listening after he said we had a talented squad and we’d only bd looking at another one of two players.

21-07-2022, 06:35 PM
I think I'm going to struggle to listen to this.

There's only so much of listening to words that don't tally up with what my eyes and brain are telling me that I can really handle.

So has he already given up on 3rd?

MelbourneHibees
Did he actually come out and see they've invested in the Hibs Training Centre by claiming that the canteen was now better?

Also, he claims that the Rocky mistakes was thankfully not Materially bad. I think he should have a look at the Group and see that we had a chance of qualifying still until that mistake.

Chorley Hibee
21-07-2022, 06:36 PM

There's only so much of listening to words that don't tally up with what my eyes and brain are telling me that I can really handle.

Gaslighting the support right now.

21-07-2022, 06:36 PM
What was all the stuff about Hibs Kids being defunct? That's just nonsense.

21-07-2022, 06:39 PM

I think that is known as being economical with the truth.

21-07-2022, 06:40 PM
Yeah he’s talking a lot of *****. More sound bites to try appease a few folk. Not good enough.

LewysGot2
21-07-2022, 06:41 PM
Not finishing in top 6 or Europe cost us.

Yes, it did…

21-07-2022, 06:42 PM
Can I edit my post on a previous thread from “Owner - Absent” to “Owner - Clueless” please - I honestly feel like crying after listening to that.

Cheers to the guys for doing it anyway 👍

Sounds like we might win a food award this year then for the HTC canteen 😂 call the engraver……..🏆

itslegaltender
21-07-2022, 06:42 PM
Confirmed they are actively moving in on a centre half transfer in.

Said top 5 expected, will be tough to get ahead of Hearts and Aberdeen.

Monies for Boyle and Doig coming in "dribs and drabs'.

For me eye popping moment was when he cited signing Aiden McGeady when a boy asked about lack of signing a striker....:brickwall

21-07-2022, 06:43 PM
He’s clearly invested a lot of money into us and the non-playing side of things are good. He needs to get someone in that understands Scottish football and let whoever it is get on with the playing side of things.

21-07-2022, 06:44 PM
10 mins in and all the boys look piss bored listening to him.

21-07-2022, 06:44 PM

For me eye popping moment was when he cited signing Aiden McGeady when a boy asked about lack of signing a striker....:brickwall

Just for transparency, the last point was clarified off the record to mean ‘forward’ in a 4-3-3 sense, rather than Ron thinking McGeady is a striker. Just wasn’t mentioned in the call.

21-07-2022, 06:46 PM

Has a new scheme not just been launched?

21-07-2022, 06:48 PM

It’s been revamped bit he said it hasn’t existed for years and had been defunct. Which is not true.

21-07-2022, 06:48 PM

They've revamped it a bit but it was still very much in existence last season. There were Hibs Kids games and birthday cards sent out and all that stuff that has been around since I was a bairn (and sadly that wasn't yesterday).

MelbourneHibees
21-07-2022, 06:49 PM
Just for transparency, the last point was clarified off the record to mean ‘forward’ in a 4-3-3 sense, rather than Ron thinking McGeady is a striker. Just wasn’t mentioned in the call.

Was anything clarified around signing of Rocky? His answer made it sound like we just took advantage of the loan clause. Despite us wishing him all the best. He made it sound like it was a decision made by Hibs rather than Rocky.

21-07-2022, 06:50 PM

Yep, in early July. It had more or less died off but now relaunched.

LewysGot2
21-07-2022, 06:51 PM
Football performance is the key performance indicator was the parting shot

21-07-2022, 06:53 PM
It’s been revamped bit he said it hasn’t existed for years and had been defunct. Which is not true.

I just read an EEN article about the relaunch and it said that covid put the scheme away - maybe that was his take on things.

21-07-2022, 06:53 PM
Was anything clarified around signing of Rocky? His answer made it sound like we just took advantage of the loan clause. Despite us wishing him all the best. He made it sound like it was a decision made by Hibs rather than Rocky.

Nah nothing else to report outside of the interview itself I’m afraid

LewysGot2
21-07-2022, 06:54 PM
I just read an EEN article about the relaunch and it said that covid put the scheme away - maybe that was his take on things.

Think so and now relaunched with Joelle

The Captain....
I'll say one thing for him, and I don't agree with a fair amount of what he says, but I give him credit for fronting up.

I don't think he has some nefarious plan with Hibs. I think he's made some poor appointments in key positions that are costing us in poor performances and results.

I am delighted to hear there are a couple of experienced players to come in key positions. Let's hope the manager rethinks the midfield and can get a player in there who can dictate the pace of a game. We sorely lack that quality.

Thanks to the podcasters for taking the time to ask the questions.
I still don't feel particularly reassured but that will only really come with improved results and performances.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

'different club operating at a different level' over the last 3 years.

LewysGot2
21-07-2022, 06:55 PM
I'll say one thing for him, and I don't agree with a fair amount of what he says, but I give him credit for fronting up.

I don't think he has some nefarious plan with Hibs. I think he's made some poor appointments in key positions that are costing us in poor performances and results.

I am delighted to hear there are a couple of experienced players to come in key positions. Let's hope the manager rethinks the midfield and can get a player in there who can dictate the pace of a game. We sorely lack that quality.

I still don't feel particularly reassured but that will only really come with improved results and performances.

Yup, he could have bailed after last night but didn’t

21-07-2022, 06:57 PM
'different club operating at a different level' over the last 3 years.

Well we certainly are operating at a different level on the pitch so he got that right.

Groathillgrump
21-07-2022, 06:59 PM
I would've been all over this a couple of weeks ago but really can't be arsed listening to his waffle at the moment.

Get the ****ing first team sorted out Ron and then I'll be happy to hear about the off-field progress.

21-07-2022, 06:59 PM
Well we certainly are operating at a different level on the pitch so he got that right.

I need to listen to it again but an incredible answer.

Now slaughtering Ronaldo. 🤣

Mikey_1875
21-07-2022, 07:00 PM
He’s clearly invested a lot of money into us and the non-playing side of things are good. He needs to get someone in that understands Scottish football and let whoever it is get on with the playing side of things.

That’s pretty much my take on it as well. The business stuff sounds convincing but the answers on the football side didn’t really fill me with confidence.

I suppose he has hired folk to take care of the footballing side but I just fundamentally disagree with where he thinks our squad is quality wise.

The tone to the Q and A was certainly a lot more tense than previous ones and I think Ron felt that and was under pressure during a few questions. Thanks for uploading the video!

21-07-2022, 07:00 PM
Hes a waffler of the highest order

He would fit in well on here then with all the constant Wafflers

21-07-2022, 07:04 PM
i think Ron means well and all and can't say he has not put money into the club but i am really starting to think he aint got a clue about owning a football club?

Scotty Leither
21-07-2022, 07:06 PM

Top 5 "expected"?

FFS that's a real climbdown from challenging for the league...maybe he now realises that means laying a few quid out on players, hence the clutch of B team imports and youngsters with zero first team experience?

Talks a great game does oor Ron, at least with Petrie he didn't make any grand proclamations, nor set any expectations, and generally delivered on that.

21-07-2022, 07:06 PM
i think Ron means well and all and can't say he has not put money into the club but i am really starting to think he aint got a clue about owning a football club?

I'm beginning to think along those lines too. :rolleyes:

21-07-2022, 07:07 PM
I tried to put some of the concerns I’ve seen on here across to him firmly but fairly. Think the rest of the guys did exactly that too. No real softballs, so hopefully it’s at the very least a useful listen, even if it’s not an enjoyable one.

Won’t be on the Hibs.pod channels, but the same interview will be posted on all the other guys’ outlets.

Thouhht it was excellent and the questions asked were just right.

Got the feelings of the fan base over in a courteous and decent, but firm, manner.

Impressed with RG too. I just totally disagree about the squad being good or LJ being the right man. Also disagree entirely about Ben Kensall.

Other than that, I love his enthusiasm and everything other than the first team issues sound pretty good.

21-07-2022, 07:07 PM

We are pish most years regardless of who owns the club to be fair.

Stokesy's on fire
21-07-2022, 07:09 PM
I can't believe he thinks the club is in good shape....unreal levels of delusion from him

21-07-2022, 07:09 PM

Me too I agree with him being available
But to be honest he’s on his last days at Hibs, he just doesn’t get us being a football club. It’s like watching Boris trying to justify his position

The bit about Hearts and Aberdeen was scandalous

21-07-2022, 07:10 PM
I can't believe he thinks the club is in good shape....unreal levels of delusion from him

The “club” probably is. The most important part for us (on the pitch) clearly isn’t. And I think he acknowledged that to some extent

21-07-2022, 07:11 PM
But to be honest he’s on his last days at Hibs, he just doesn’t get us being a football club. It’s like watching Boris trying to justify his position

Last days? Ron?

It is in good shape, just need to get the right few signings in to get the squad right over the next week

What bit? The bit where he said we won’t catch them yet? I took that to be financially rather than on the pitch

21-07-2022, 07:12 PM
I don’t dislike Ron Gordon at all and there’s no malice in him whatsoever but I’ve already had a **** of a day at work, compounded by the goings on with Hibs last night and the day, and I think listening to any of his what will no doubt be blinkered and patronising pish I’ll give it a miss as I cba forking out for a new phone after I’ve scudded it off the wall.

Mikey_1875

Was the bit about not catching Hearts and Aberdeen related to turnover rather than football results? I thought he should of clarified it at the time but i’m certainly hoping that’s what he meant.

Sent from my SM-G935F using TapatalkI quite like waffles, and in terms of our immediate priorities there could be an opportunity selling preformed potatoes at a price point just below our new expensive pie offerings?

21-07-2022, 07:13 PM
What bit? The bit where he said we won’t catch them yet? I took that to be financially rather than on the pitch

That’s exactly what he was talking about.

21-07-2022, 07:13 PM

Really don’t get all this stuff. Hibs have averaged mid table at best for a long time before Ron Gordon.

Last season was awful sure. This guy has invested his own money in Hibs and committed to doubling the wage bill. I think he deserves a bit more time before we write him off.

LewysGot2
21-07-2022, 07:14 PM
Yup, took it to mean financially too - he specifically mentioned Hertz European campaign cash this season

21-07-2022, 07:15 PM
Top 5 "expected"?

FFS that's a real climbdown from challenging for the league...maybe he now realises that means laying a few quid out on players, hence the clutch of B team imports and youngsters with zero first team experience?

Talks a great game does oor Ron, at least with Petrie he didn't make any grand proclamations, nor set any expectations, and generally delivered on that.

Do you want to go back and quote what Ron Gordon said about winning the league?

Instead of talking nonsense as if he promised a league title.

HIBS NUTS
21-07-2022, 07:18 PM
Thought he spoke very well as usual, and did say he was gutted about last night.

Aberdeen have sold 1 player and we’ve sold 2
Not sure what Hearts will earn in Europe

That tells me he is out of touch with reality.

21-07-2022, 07:20 PM
I think everyone is being way too critical and quick to judge here.

You just need to look around our own stadium to see the steady and very positive changes occurring (soon to have massively revamped and improved corporate hospitality as well). Ron Gordon is carefully laying strong revenue-generating foundations which will give us a really strong platform to perform on the park with in the future.

Yesterday was a disaster, Falkirk was a disaster and the Bushiri suspension was also a nightmare. It's almost like we shouldn't have sacked Jack Ross when we did, but the majority on here were calling for his head and it more to me looks like a collective case of be careful what you wish for. We as a support have a miraculously low-patience for any form of crisis (our managerial turnaround past 20 years is among the worst in the UK), although given the scarring of the Calderwood, Fenlon and Butcher era I can also get it. Lets just not start hounding our new owners as well who are blatantly invested in making us better.

Let's see where we are at by Christmas with this squad and take it from there.

Bridge hibs
21-07-2022, 07:20 PM
Not sure what Hearts will earn in EuropeAberdeen sold Ramsay and Ferguson

HIBS NUTS
21-07-2022, 07:22 PM

i think we are talking millions because the are certain for some form of group stages, so home attendances and tv money, a lot is the answer. 👎

21-07-2022, 07:22 PM
Sadly the only people who think are a big club are us the fans. Fans of other clubs across Scotland don’t rate us above Hearts or Aberdeen. RG gets things wrong, who doesn’t but unless someone else is willing to spend £10m or so he’s here for the long term. I’m still willing to give him the benefit of the doubt but we need results not spin. I think our real problem lies with BK and him listening to SK. Young players may come good we are signing too many. I really couldn’t care if our youth teams and womens team are great I just want Hibs 1st team to be competitive.

Scotty Leither
21-07-2022, 07:24 PM
Do you want to go back and quote what Ron Gordon said about winning the league?

Instead of talking nonsense as if he promised a league title.

Sorry it's the S*n, but here's the quote you wanted.

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/4438202/ron-gordon-hibs-celtic-title-ambition-challenge/

Here's the "Atletico Madrid" one, with a reference to challenging the Old Firm.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/atletico-madrid-of-scotland-ron-gordon-talks-of-his-hibs-ambitions-and-how-challenging-rangers-and-celtic-is-something-club-can-target-3246469

Fill yer boots...

21-07-2022, 07:26 PM

Will you be editing your post about that being a scandal considering you actually misunderstood the point?

For years we have folk moaning about Aberdeen having more financial muscle.
In recent years we have made big strides under Ron to close that gap.

Yet still all we get are complaints

21-07-2022, 07:27 PM

£4m up front for Ramsay
£2.1m up front for Ferguson

21-07-2022, 07:28 PM
Owner of the club conceding 3rd to Hearts already. ****ing embarrassing.

21-07-2022, 07:30 PM

You just need to look around our own stadium to see the steady and very positive changes occurring (soon to have massively revamped and improved corporate hospitality as well). Ron Gordon is carefully laying strong revenue-generating foundations which will give us a really strong platform to perform on the park with in the future.

Yesterday was a disaster, Falkirk was a disaster and the Bushiri suspension was also a nightmare. It's almost like we shouldn't have sacked Jack Ross when we did, but the majority on here were calling for his head and it more to me looks like a collective case of be careful what you wish for. We as a support have a miraculously low-patience for any form of crisis (our managerial turnaround past 20 years is among the worst in the UK), although given the scarring of the Calderwood, Fenlon and Butcher era I can also get it. Lets just not start hounding our new owners as well who are blatantly invested in making us better.

All the revenue in the world is worth nothing if it isn't being used properly.

I said it earlier that Hearts have generated revenue and other income far beyond us since they existed administration, in no small part thanks to their fans handing over a vast sum every month.

Yet we outperformed them every season since we were promoted back to the top flight until last season. What changed? It wasn't even more revenue and income. It was them appointing someone to a key football position who actually knew what he was doing whilst we tore our system apart and replaced it with 'something'.

Revenue and non football infrastructure is fine but until Ron, Ben and whoever else realises that the football operation is all over the place we will continue to trail Hearts and, if last season is anything to go by, clubs with a fraction of our budget as well.

21-07-2022, 07:33 PM
Will you be editing your post about that being a scandal considering you actually misunderstood the point?

100% won’t. So Hearts after 1 year in the championship have raced ahead of Hibs
Who’s taking responsibility for this? 3rd manager in a year and a completely new recruitment team, no wonder they are ahead of us financially
We could have got a good fee for an under contract Porteous, but someone gave Mueller a ridiculous contract. No wonder Ryan is turning down offers

Scotty Leither
21-07-2022, 07:33 PM

Do you want to edit your post about Gordon not saying he wanted to challenge for the league?

21-07-2022, 07:35 PM

Have to disagree with you Billy.

He’s clearly going nowhere. And he makes clear throughout that the football is the number one priority, and everything surrounding the business needs to improve to help the product on the park. Links that the teams with the highest turnover tend to be more successful on the park and that we won’t catch Aberdeen or hearts on that front this season due to player sales and Europe.

Dmas
21-07-2022, 07:35 PM

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/4438202/ron-gordon-hibs-celtic-title-ambition-challenge/

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/atletico-madrid-of-scotland-ron-gordon-talks-of-his-hibs-ambitions-and-how-challenging-rangers-and-celtic-is-something-club-can-target-3246469

Fill yer boots...

Do you think hibs are going to close a gap created over a 40+ year period over night just because the owner has ambitions to get there?

21-07-2022, 07:37 PM

Where does he say that? He said a successful season was “top 4”.

21-07-2022, 07:39 PM
Have to disagree with you Billy.

He’s clearly going nowhere. And he makes clear throughout that the football is the number one priority, and everything surrounding the business needs to improve to help the product on the park. Links that the teams with the highest turnover tend to be more successful on the park and that we won’t catch Aberdeen or hearts on that front this season due to player sales and Europe.

Callum, I thought there was a large emphasis on the non-footballing metrics.

He said at the end the football was his priority but I never got that impression. I will need to watch it again

21-07-2022, 07:39 PM

Maybe top 5. Didn’t mention a cup

21-07-2022, 07:40 PM

Yeah he didn’t say that. Folk just making stuff up now.

21-07-2022, 07:40 PM
The bit about hearts and Aberdeen, I think he was meaning catching them in terms of our turnover, not on the pitch.

Paulie Walnuts
21-07-2022, 07:41 PM

I had a bit of a listen and it’s pretty much as you described.

All a load of wind and pish.

Thanks to the guys for doing it though.

21-07-2022, 07:42 PM

Fill yer boots...

What he’s said today is in no way a climb down from the quotes you have shared there.

Top 3 always the aim in summary. It needs to be an ambition to win the league.

Nothing has changed. No “climb down” or goalpost being moved

21-07-2022, 07:42 PM
Maybe top 5. Didn’t mention a cup

He was asked what would be a successful league season for us

DTS
21-07-2022, 07:43 PM
Whilst on the call there were numerous quotes etc that Ron came out with that surprised myself & the other DTS guys some of which will definitely be easily taken out of context.

For example, the quote about hearts wasn’t him conceding first that was in context talking about finances and being difficult to overtake them for obvious reasons this year.

Personally feel like the chat probably has done more harm than good however I certainly appreciate the owner of our club being this open and transparent. The call was arranged prior to last nights game and he could have easily cancelled and stayed out the light however he was insistent of it taking place albeit on a much different path than the original conversations I’m sure he’d planned for.

I feel like the questions asked where in the main all challenging & fair. Hopefully it ticks a lot of questions fans wanted to be asked.

21-07-2022, 07:44 PM
Whilst on the call there were numerous quotes etc that Ron came out with that surprised myself & the other DTS guys some of which will definitely be easily taken out of context.

For example, the quote about hearts wasn’t him conceding first that was in context talking about finances and being difficult to overtake them for obvious reasons this year.

Personally feel like the chat probably has done more harm than good however I certainly appreciate the owner of our club being this open and transparent. The call was arranged prior to last nights game and he could have easily cancelled and stayed out the light however he was insistent of it taking place albeit on a much different path than the original conversations I’m sure he’d planned for.

I feel like the questions asked where in the main all challenging & fair. Hopefully it ticks a lot of questions fans wanted to be asked.

It's done nothing but given him the opportunity to provide soundbites.

He's clueless. There's no malice in his intentions, but he hasn't got a clue how to run a football club, and neither does his CEO or his Head of Recruitment.

21-07-2022, 07:44 PM
I had a bit of a listen and it’s pretty much as you described.

All a load of wind and pish.

Thanks to the guys for doing it though.

Did you listen to all of it or only bits? There is a lot of good and positive info in there, including the club trying to sign experienced players in key positions.

21-07-2022, 07:45 PM
Fickle fans. The same ones who probably wanted Ross gone with ridiculous chants at Livi. Not long after pumping Rangers in the SF and looking forward to a League Cup Final. And only 3 months after having competed in Europe having finished 3rd in the league.

Maloney has been and gone. Now it is Johnson's turn to face the wrath of the fickle fans. And Ron Gordon. And Ben Kinsella.

Let's sack everyone.

Pathetic.

21-07-2022, 07:46 PM
So do I.

And me

Scotty Leither
21-07-2022, 07:47 PM
Do you think hibs are going to close a gap created over a 40+ year period over night just because the owner has ambitions to get there?

I was challenged by someone on this thread to find a quote directly attributable to our owner on Hibs ultimately challenging for the league.

I gave him two.

FWIW hearing something approaching a wee bit of ambition from the Hibs' owner after years of grinding mediocrity and lowering of expectation under Petrie and Farmer was really refreshing at the time, and I initially took to Gordon.

Now I think he's all talk, as he's following the same model set by Petrie in selling our best players for top dollar and then spending nothing approaching adequate amounts to augment the team with decent replacements.

Opinions can change and fluctuate, but it appears the more things change at Easter Road, they more they stay the same.

The bit about hearts and Aberdeen, I think he was meaning catching them in terms of our turnover, not on the pitch.

He 100% was you're right.

Who’s taking responsibility for this? 3rd manager in a year and a completely new recruitment team, no wonder they are ahead of us financially
We could have got a good fee for an under contract Porteous, but someone gave Mueller a ridiculous contract. No wonder Ryan is turning down offers

You’re all over the place. None of that relates to your original comment.

Does Ron deserve all the credit for the Boyle and Doig sales? Or just criticism for Porteous not signing a new deal?

You just want to blame Gordon for anything

21-07-2022, 07:48 PM

Don’t think he said much wrong. But as usual some will twist things how they want to suit their agenda.

21-07-2022, 07:50 PM
I was challenged by someone on this thread to find a quote directly attributable to our owner on Hibs ultimately challenging for the league.

I gave him two.

FWIW hearing something approaching a wee bit of ambition from the Hibs' owner after years of grinding mediocrity and lowering of expectation under Petrie and Farmer was really refreshing at the time, and I initially took to Gordon.

Now I think he's all talk, as he's following the same model set by Petrie in selling our best players for top dollar and then spending nothing approaching adequate amounts to augment the team with decent replacements.

Opinions can change and fluctuate, but it appears the more things change at Easter Road, they more they stay the same.

Think you need to read his quotes again.

He never said we’d be challenging for the league.

21-07-2022, 07:51 PM
Callum, I thought there was a large emphasis on the non-footballing metrics.

He said at the end the football was his priority but I never got that impression. I will need to watch it again

His starting point is always on the financial side, but at least he confirmed that it needs the team to be doing well to get the business side ticking upwards.

FWIW, I thought he was honest in his position on the football side of things, and said as much a number of times.

More pressure has to be brought onto those at HTC to get some of those boys developed.

Scotty Leither
21-07-2022, 07:52 PM
What he’s said today is in no way a climb down from the quotes you have shared there.

Top 3 always the aim in summary. It needs to be an ambition to win the league.

Nothing has changed. No “climb down” or goalpost being moved

So just for clarity, we agree that he did at least talk about challenging for the league then, in the quotes from him that you asked me to provide?

21-07-2022, 07:52 PM
I could have named the posters who would dismiss everything he says before the interview even took place.
They are like vacuums sacking every piece of goodwill and optimism out of everything.

21-07-2022, 07:53 PM
You’re all over the place. None of that relates to your original comment.

Does Ron deserve all the credit for the Boyle and Doig sales? Or just criticism for Porteous not signing a new deal?

You just want to blame Gordon for anything

Boyle and Doig were Hibs players at Hibs before RG bought Hibs. He was lucky he inherited them

LewysGot2
21-07-2022, 07:54 PM

Liverpool gave them millions for Ramsay and they've sold Ferguson?

21-07-2022, 07:56 PM
Liverpool gave them millions for Ramsay and they've sold Ferguson?

Sorry missed the LF one, but Hibs have done OK on sales

Nitten
21-07-2022, 07:59 PM

Rubbish, abject blinkered view. RG answered every question fully,never ducked a question and did not waffle in any way. Supporters like you are a joke. The clubs has improved immeasurably but in no way was last night acceptable to rubbish RG is a cheap shot. There was very little in his responses I could disagree with. I know where the waffle is coming from on this thread.

So just for clarity, we agree that he did at least talk about challenging for the league then, in the quotes from him that you asked me to provide?

I never suggested otherwise. I asked you to look at the quotes.

The most relevant sections are…on winning the league “It needs to be an ambition and we should never give up on that ambition”. I’m sure he’d say the same today.

In same Sun report he also says “Hibs are very solid in the top half. Top 3 should always be the goal”.

You characterised his comments today as a climb down. The second quote above is near enough exactly what he said again today.

are you seriously suggesting that Hibs signing mueller stopped other clubs making us good offers for porteous? :confused:

pretty sure Ryan’s been getting offered contracts for a while, totally unrelated to mueller or any other signing we’ve made

21-07-2022, 08:00 PM
I think we will too.

Well we can’t go any lower than 4th place in the group now

21-07-2022, 08:01 PM
I could have named the posters who would dismiss everything he says before the interview even took place.
They are like vacuums sacking every piece of goodwill and optimism out of everything.

Not me this time!!

I think he came across very well. He definitely cares about results, you could tell when he spoke about last night being a kick in the guts.

It’s easy to forget that there are a lot of people putting in a lot of effort to make things happen. It must be hugely frustrating for them though when it’s obvious what we need to do but fail to do it.

If only he could see what we see, things would improve massively for everyone at the club.

21-07-2022, 08:01 PM
Boyle and Doig were Hibs players at Hibs before RG bought Hibs. He was lucky he inherited them

And both signed new deals under Gordon’s watch before they were sold.

Again. No credit for anything positive, just criticism.

LewysGot2
21-07-2022, 08:02 PM
are you seriously suggesting that Hibs signing mueller stopped other clubs making us good offers for porteous? :confused:

pretty sure Ryan’s been getting offered contracts for a while, totally unrelated to mueller or any other signing we’ve made

Yup, Ryan's had offers on the table prior to Mueller being a thing. He's clearly seen his future elsewhere for some time.

21-07-2022, 08:04 PM

Optimism vs Realism

21-07-2022, 08:04 PM

BigKev
21-07-2022, 08:05 PM
I enjoyed that. Well done to the guys interviewing RG.

Thought he explained things as well as he could. It’s not rocket science to understand more sponsorship and hospitality sales increases revenue and in turn the playing squad.

He wasn’t happy about last night, like us all and confirmed it’ll be a financial hit because we’ve failed to progress.

Admitting 4th would be a successful season is probably about right. Most reasonable fans would accept it.

Don’t really see what he’s said wrong and it was good to see him answer openly.

Folk nitpicking and reading his answers negatively should just find something else to do on a Saturday. If you want to moan your life away and disbelieve everything others say or turn it into an argument then it says more about you than them.

Scotty Leither
21-07-2022, 08:05 PM
Think you need to read his quotes again.

He never said we’d be challenging for the league.

Alright, one last try then...in quotes below is a straight lift from the article you asked me to find:

"After taking control in a move exclusively revealed by SunSport, the US-based multi-millionaire said: “Getting to the top of the Premiership is a big ask but it is totally an ambition.

“It needs to be an ambition and we should never give up on that ambition.

“It would be great for Scottish football if that happened.”

So your take on that, to quote you from above is: "He never said we'd be challenging for the league".

That interpretation baffles me, so "am oot" for now.

21-07-2022, 08:06 PM
Optimism vs Realism

That's a view I suppose.

21-07-2022, 08:08 PM

Says he wants to challenge the OF, branded as clueless. Realistic aim for finishing 4th, branded embarrassing. He won't win over most of the folk in this thread ever. Some of the stuff people are coming out with is OTT.

21-07-2022, 08:10 PM
Rubbish, abject blinkered view. RG answered every question fully,never ducked a question and did not waffle in any way. Supporters like you are a joke. The clubs has improved immeasurably but in no way was last night acceptable to rubbish RG is a cheap shot. There was very little in his responses I could disagree with. I know where the waffle is coming from on this thread.

Aye ok pal. Only joke around here are people like you with your heads in the sand

21-07-2022, 08:10 PM
They are like vacuums sacking every piece of goodwill and optimism out of everything.Could also name the posters who would post utter pish like this

21-07-2022, 08:11 PM
There’s something a bit Donald Trump esque about how he responds to some of the questions, that same deflect / not really answer style mixed with things like ‘we’ve hired good people, the best people’ type exaggeration.

An interesting listen, as much for picking out the things he didn’t really answer as the stuff he did.

Leighonel

Just a hypothetical one...

If he says we will finish third, would you criticise him for being deluded, we need more quality etc to catch hearts?

Not at the wind up just asking.

Also to those taking one sound bite about the canteen and using it as a stick to beat the club...at least be fair and reference that he also mentioned that they have revamped the gym. From what I can see in videos the physio rooms are new, the upstairs in the gym is new. The facilities outside for recording matches for analysis have improved. They have redecorated, what was quite a tired and unenthusiastic environment. Another thing I am aware of is the tech being brought up to date, new laptops, computers etc. There has been obvious developments and money spent there.

Optimism vs Realism

It's football and it's Hibs, why can't it be optimism all the time?

21-07-2022, 08:13 PM
And both signed new deals under Gordon’s watch before they were sold.

Again. No credit for anything positive, just criticism.
Your wasting your time trying to point out the better aspects of R G's tenure, certain "fans" will never be convinced.

Could also name the posters who would post utter pish like this

You were on the list funnily enough.

Alright, one last try then...in quotes below is a straight lift from the article you asked me to find:

"After taking control in a move exclusively revealed by SunSport, the US-based multi-millionaire said: “Getting to the top of the Premiership is a big ask but it is totally an ambition.

“It needs to be an ambition and we should never give up on that ambition.

“It would be great for Scottish football if that happened.”

So your take on that, to quote you from above is: "He never said we'd be challenging for the league".

That interpretation baffles me, so "am oot" for now.

TD’s point is correct, there’s nothing in those quotes that said we’d be challenging for the league. They say we should always have the ambition to do so, not that we’ll be challenging for the league. Nor did he specify a particular season for doing so, although you seem to think we should be aiming for the league title this season.

you're twisting RG’s words just to have a dig

i take it if we finished second by 20 points this year (however unlikely that is), you’d consider it to be a poor season since we didn’t challenge for the title :rolleyes:

21-07-2022, 08:15 PM
Just a hypothetical one...

If he says we will finish third, would you criticise him for being deluded, we need more quality etc to catch hearts?

Not at the wind up just asking.

Also to those taking one sound bite about the canteen and using it as a stick to beat the club...at least be fair and reference that he also mentioned that they have revamped the gym. From what I can see in videos the physio rooms are new, the upstairs in the gym is new. The facilities outside for recording matches for analysis have improved. They have redecorated, what was quite a tired and unenthusiastic environment. Another thing I am aware of is the tech being brought up to date, new laptops, computers etc. There has been obvious developments and money spent there.
It's beyond belief that the same people who claim we won't finish top 6 and may even get relegated are now slating him for saying 4th might be where we end up.

21-07-2022, 08:15 PM
You were on the list funnily enough.

21-07-2022, 08:17 PM
It's beyond belief that the same people who claim we won't finish top 6 and may even get relegated are now slating him for saying 4th might be where we end up.

exactly! It’s just any excuse (real or manufactured) to have yet another pop at him and the club

21-07-2022, 08:18 PM
You were on the list funnily enough.Thanks for reminding me why i dont post on this joke of a forum much these days.

21-07-2022, 08:21 PM
It's football and it's Hibs, why can't it be optimism all the time?

It's is. Just not in the real world 😊

Dmas
21-07-2022, 08:22 PM

Thought he explained things as well as he could. It’s not rocket science to understand more sponsorship and hospitality sales increases revenue and in turn the playing squad.

He wasn’t happy about last night, like us all and confirmed it’ll be a financial hit because we’ve failed to progress.

Admitting 4th would be a successful season is probably about right. Most reasonable fans would accept it.

Folk nitpicking and reading his answers negatively should just find something else to do on a Saturday. If you want to moan your life away and disbelieve everything others say or turn it into an argument then it says more about you than them.

Enjoyed that well done to all involved.

Wonder who the possible signing is 👀

Martymck
21-07-2022, 08:25 PM
Agree word for word,some fans need to get real with

You just need to look around our own stadium to see the steady and very positive changes occurring (soon to have massively revamped and improved corporate hospitality as well). Ron Gordon is carefully laying strong revenue-generating foundations which will give us a really strong platform to perform on the park with in the future

21-07-2022, 08:27 PM
There’s something a bit Donald Trump esque about how he responds to some of the questions, that same deflect / not really answer style mixed with things like ‘we’ve hired good people, the best people’ type exaggeration.

An interesting listen, as much for picking out the things he didn’t really answer as the stuff he did.

I was going to post the exact same thing about him being a bit Trump-ish. He sounds a bit like him too.

The guy is deluded. He gets very defensive about his son and Kensell.

He seemed amazed fans were worried about the way the club was being run. Seems to love putting the boot into the fans as well. Don’t bite the hand that feeds, Ron.

Scotty Leither
21-07-2022, 08:28 PM
TD’s point is correct, there’s nothing in those quotes that said we’d be challenging for the league. They say we should always have the ambition to do so, not that we’ll be challenging for the league. Nor did he specify a particular season for doing so, although you seem to think we should be aiming for the league title this season.

you're twisting RG’s words just to have a dig

i take it if we finished second by 20 points this year (however unlikely that is), you’d consider it to be a poor season since we didn’t challenge for the title :rolleyes:

No, it's you that's paraphrasing me now (which is what you're accusing me of doing with the owner) who mentioned an ambition of "challenging for the league" when he took over.

Sorry to indulge in semantics, but at no point did I say that Gordon said we'd win the league either when he came in, my point was there was talk of us eventually challenging for the league, to today's latest realignment from him about finishing 4th/5th.

It's you and the other poster that's conflated it onto dancing on a pin about "winning" v "challenging".

If we finish second this year whether it's by one point or twenty, it will be something approaching a miracle with that dire squad, so I'll not be thinking about "what might have been" re a league challenge.

Dmas
21-07-2022, 08:28 PM
I was going to post the exact same thing about him being a bit Trump-ish. He sounds a bit like him too.

He seemed amazed fans were worried about the way the club was being run. Seems to love putting the boot into the fans as well. Don’t bite the hand that feeds, Ron.

Where does he put the boot into the fans?

21-07-2022, 08:30 PM
It's done nothing but given him the opportunity to provide soundbites.

He's clueless. There's no malice in his intentions, but he hasn't got a clue how to run a football club, and neither does his CEO or his Head of Recruitment.

And it would seem given folk the opportunity to misinterpret and misquote what he said to suit their own agenda. Which seems to happen every time he, the CEO, the manager etc say anything.

Martymck
21-07-2022, 08:31 PM
Spot on

21-07-2022, 08:35 PM
I’m about halfway through it so far and been enjoying it. Only bit I’ve completely disagreed with was his staunch defence of Kensell, stating how far he’s brought the club in a year while completely ignoring the shambles we’ve been on the park is laughable.

21-07-2022, 08:36 PM
No, it's you that's paraphrasing me now (which is what you're accusing me of doing with the owner) who mentioned an ambition of "challenging for the league" when he took over.

Sorry to indulge in semantics, but at no point did I say that Gordon said we'd win the league either when he came in, my point was there was talk of us eventually challenging for the league, to today's latest realignment from him about finishing 4th/5th.

It's you and the other poster that's conflated it onto dancing on a pin about "winning" v "challenging".

If we finish second this year whether it's by one point or twenty, it will be something approaching a miracle with that dire squad, so I'll not be thinking about "what might have been" re a league challenge.

Did Ron give an update today to say it was no longer an ambition to win the league?

Case closed 😉

Dmas
21-07-2022, 08:38 PM

Scotty the guy was giving a statement about his ambitions for hibs, a target, an end goal. Not what he was going to turn us into with 2 transfer windows he’s no running some Saudi pension fund.
Judging where we are now to an ambition to one day win the league is mental it’s shows an agenda to just dislike/distrust the guy rather than judge him with realistic aims.
We where a shambles for a fair chunk of the petrie/farmer era it’s not like your used to tasting success, this is the first time RG’s not made a cup semi final and had what 1 shan league campaign?
We all want a good hibs team, we have the 5th largest budget in the league to compete we need to find an extra trick or 2 some will work some won’t

21-07-2022, 08:39 PM
I've just watched it.

Not that easy a listen when you're a bit pissed off.

1st off - fair play to him for coming on and saying his piece, it would have been easy to hide. If things do get worse in future i can't help but think he might be better calling off rather than coming out and speaking as he is in a bit of a no win situation. There's nothing he can say will placate some.

As ever, he speaks well. Talk is cheap though. It's simple - if the team on the pitch is good, we'll hang on his every word. When the team is crap (which it is right now) then he'll be slaughtered for everything he says. There are a few bits and pieces I disagree with but I respect the fact that he's confident, believes many of the decisions that he has made have been good ones.

There's a nagging bit of me that needs and wants to be patient. I think that team looks very different with some changes, exactly the ones we seem to be targeting. Youan transforms that front line imo. We need to get the centre of that defence sorted. Maybe the middle of that midfield just needs one of them taken out and replaced with someone/ something else.

It just feels a bit too much like last summer for my liking. There's the core of a team that needs added to and you know what needs to be done. It didn't happen then though, it didn't happen in January and I have little confidence we'll get it done this window. I think we're going to be light in key positions AGAIN, I think we're going to scrambling around for late bargains AGAIN and I think we're going to be desperately lacking in depth AGAIN.

I might have a day out at hospitality at some point to see if I can notice all this progress we're making because it's still quite hard to see any progress on the park.

21-07-2022, 08:41 PM
Where does he put the boot into the fans?

He sarcastically calls the fans that are giving criticism “really good fans”, he then says a lot of fans aren’t getting behind the club. In isolation they probably don’t sound like sticking the boot in too much but along with his comments about the fans being his biggest disappointment about the club when LJ was appointed, it isn’t great.

Scotty Leither
21-07-2022, 08:41 PM
Did Ron give an update today to say it was no longer an ambition to win the league?

Case closed 😉

Don't know, but he might have used the word "challenge".

I think.

21-07-2022, 08:44 PM
Don't know, but he might have used the word "challenge".

I think.

He also used the word "ambition".

21-07-2022, 08:46 PM
I never suggested otherwise. I asked you to look at the quotes.

The most relevant sections are…on winning the league “It needs to be an ambition and we should never give up on that ambition”. I’m sure he’d say the same today.

In same Sun report he also says “Hibs are very solid in the top half. Top 3 should always be the goal”.

You characterised his comments today as a climb down. The second quote above is near enough exactly what he said again today.

Good luck.

Martymck
21-07-2022, 08:47 PM
I always try to look at the positive stuff with hibs ,but in the last year it’s some so called fans on various social media,so much negativity it sucks the enjoyment out of it :grr:but I still believe cause that’s what a fan does

Scotty Leither
21-07-2022, 08:47 PM
He also used the word "ambition".

He's only got "aspiration" to go, and then someone should tell him to fling his hat in the ring for the Tory Party leader gig.

21-07-2022, 08:48 PM
Wont be long now until the press start picking up on this. I reckon they'll pick up on him criticising the league for scheduling the derby as the 1st home game of the season. Arguably a criticism of the SPFL's admin so not great timing against the backdrop of our massive gaffe with Rocky yesterday.

Stuarty1875
21-07-2022, 08:49 PM

Agree with this. Fair play to Ron for fronting up.

We’ve brought in a lot of new players to remediate last seasons issues. LJ is going to need time to turn us around.

21-07-2022, 08:50 PM
Fickle fans. The same ones who probably wanted Ross gone with ridiculous chants at Livi. Not long after pumping Rangers in the SF and looking forward to a League Cup Final. And only 3 months after having competed in Europe having finished 3rd in the league.

Maloney has been and gone. Now it is Johnson's turn to face the wrath of the fickle fans. And Ron Gordon. And Ben Kinsella.

Let's sack everyone.

Pathetic.

Agree with that

Dmas
21-07-2022, 09:01 PM
He sarcastically calls the fans that are giving criticism “really good fans”, he then says a lot of fans aren’t getting behind the club. In isolation they probably don’t sound like sticking the boot in too much but along with his comments about the fans being his biggest disappointment about the club when LJ was appointed, it isn’t great.

He isn’t wrong though is he, fans aren’t getting behind the club, 2 hampden semi finals last year where terrible turnouts and all we talk about is cup runs, people stopped going towards the end of JR era probably kicking off the alarm bells for what followed, Maloney was hammered from the go, signings been hammered online, people hammering the club channels for all sorts of rubbish you can certainly see his point if he was meaning it as a dig must be soul destroying having your every move turned into some sort of conspiracy theory or cash grab.

21-07-2022, 09:02 PM
It's is. Just not in the real world 😊

Hibs aren't the real world though 😁

21-07-2022, 09:03 PM

Trump-ish? Does trump sound Peruvian? What a pile of *****! 🤣

21-07-2022, 09:04 PM
Wont be long now until the press start picking up on this. I reckon they'll pick up on him criticising the league for scheduling the derby as the 1st home game of the season. Arguably a criticism of the SPFL's admin so not great timing against the backdrop of our massive gaffe with Rocky yesterday.

Tbf he made it clear that he had raised it with the SPFL so nothing they won’t know.

21-07-2022, 09:06 PM

nah, no one has used the word winning, neither you nor anyone challenging what you’ve said

However, you’ve only now just used the word ‘eventually’, it’s not been used this evening - but you’re now slating the guy for setting a reasonable target that’s short of challenging for the league. I bet if he’d come out and said he did want to challenge for the league you’d have slated him for being delusional. That’s the point folk are making, you’re going out your way to find a reason to have a go at him

RG’s got his work cut out for him, that’s for sure. I don’t think he’s tried to have a rough year of it, maybe trying to give him some encouragement rather than screaming blue murder for every little thing, actual or imagined, might just help. That’s not aimed at you, it’s a general observation of the last wee while

21-07-2022, 09:10 PM
He isn’t wrong though is he, fans aren’t getting behind the club, 2 hampden semi finals last year where terrible turnouts and all we talk about is cup runs, people stopped going towards the end of JR era probably kicking off the alarm bells for what followed, Maloney was hammered from the go, signings been hammered online, people hammering the club channels for all sorts of rubbish you can certainly see his point if he was meaning it as a dig must be soul destroying having your every move turned into some sort of conspiracy theory or cash grab.

Over 11K STs sold though. That was dreamland stuff not so long ago. The fans are digging deep and backing the club where it matters against a pretty grim economic backdrop.

I'm not excusing the online abuse, particularly that aimed squarely at individuals, but for worse or worse it's a part of owning a football club. Given some of what I read on the social media channels of the American sport I follow it's pretty tame stuff we see here in comparison. If you want to work in an environment where it's all praise and sycophantic plaudits then football is a strange place to pitch up.

I've said elsewhere that RG deserves credit for the good he has done. He surely understands the frustrations as well though and must accept that comes with the territory. It's worth remembering that we as fans are paying for a hell of a lot of the work he is trying to do.

MelbourneHibees
21-07-2022, 09:11 PM
That’s exactly what he was talking about.

Surely Aberdeen aren't very far away from our budget, recent player sales aside?

21-07-2022, 09:12 PM
Tbf he made it clear that he had raised it with the SPFL so nothing they won’t know.

Yes but as far as I know it hasn't been in the papers yet so has, until now, only been between Hibs and the SPFL. We'll see what they take from the podcast and it's fairly safe to say it will mostly or all be with a negative slant. Some of which will be justifiable.

21-07-2022, 09:13 PM
Finished it now and got to say there wasn’t much I disagreed with outside his comments on Kensell. He’s a very good talker but got to start getting some results on the park to back it up.

21-07-2022, 09:16 PM
I’m a happy clapper. But he worries the **** out of me. He’s so invested with the numbers that he doesn’t really understand the club. But he’s not going anywhere soon so buckle in.

21-07-2022, 09:19 PM
We'll soon be playing the odd "home" match in Lima. 😄

21-07-2022, 09:20 PM
I was sitting in the East Stand last night. Whole row behind me just seemed to love taking the piss out of anything and everything that was going on. One guy in particular completely overboard on Josh Campbell. Same last week at Falkirk. Couple of guys (probably around 50 yrs old) just slagging off anything and everything. Nothing was good enough. Commentating throughout the whole game. Even moaning about how long it took to take a throw in.

It's quite unbelievable. Just go along and support your team.

21-07-2022, 09:23 PM
I’m a happy clapper. But he worries the **** out of me. He’s so invested with the numbers that he doesn’t really understand the club. But he’s not going anywhere soon so buckle in.

Everything starts and stops with the numbers mate. You can make crap decisions with the cash (it's almost inevitable unfortunately in sport) but you need the cash in the first place. In almost every league in every sport the biggest and most successful clubs are those with the biggest income.

Basildon Hibs
21-07-2022, 09:23 PM
Good podcast so far. Think Ron can talk but strikes me as full of waffle.

Correct. I can't believe the amount of people that fall for his repetitive horse **** ...😐

Basildon Hibs
21-07-2022, 09:26 PM
nah, no one has used the word winning, neither you nor anyone challenging what you’ve said

However, you’ve only now just used the word ‘eventually’, it’s not been used this evening - but you’re now slating the guy for setting a reasonable target that’s short of challenging for the league. I bet if he’d come out and said he did want to challenge for the league you’d have slated him for being delusional. That’s the point folk are making, you’re going out your way to find a reason to have a go at him

RG’s got his work cut out for him, that’s for sure. I don’t think he’s tried to have a rough year of it, maybe trying to give him some encouragement rather than screaming blue murder for every little thing, actual or imagined, might just help. That’s not aimed at you, it’s a general observation of the last wee while

Well he should stop employing ***** managers - that would be a good start.

18Craig75
21-07-2022, 09:33 PM
I was sitting in the East Stand last night. Whole row behind me just seemed to love taking the piss out of anything and everything that was going on. One guy in particular completely overboard on Josh Campbell. Same last week at Falkirk. Couple of guys (probably around 50 yrs old) just slagging off anything and everything. Nothing was good enough. Commentating throughout the whole game. Even moaning about how long it took to take a throw in.

The fans are a big part of our problems at the moment. It’s one thing coming onto a message board for a moan, but the endless negativity at games and the targeting of players on social media is draining.

It’s not an environment conducive to players, especially young players, performing to the best of their ability.

Won’t be popular for saying this but it’s pretty clear to me. Atmosphere has been crap for ages, fans looking for any excuse not to go to semi finals, a proportion of the support base that actually seem to take joy in being proven right when we get beat. Not sure how it will change tbh, it’s like a chicken and egg scenario - “if the team performs the fans will back them”…well maybe the team, and club, would perform better under proper backing from the fans.

Just my 2 cents.

21-07-2022, 09:33 PM

thats a fair point, although I don’t think LJ has been given a proper chance yet

he could also do with appointing some people who know what they’re doing in type of roles that Dempster and Craig did well in. It’s no coincidence that hearts have got their **** together since appointing someone who knows how to do their job well in Savage

21-07-2022, 09:37 PM
Didn’t mind Ron’s answers tbh. When you are a club owner you can’t get as emotional about results as fans, you have to have a longer perspective. He gets the results aren’t good enough - made that clear.

He Also clearly realises the risk of the signing approach that’s currently the club strategy, players from outside the league, young talent, and acknowledges the need for a bit more experience. It’s a deliberate approach, which may or may not pay off this season. He knows that. But for him, it’s about evolution over a number of seasons, not just looking for a quick fix.

Revenue growth is critical for him. It’s probably the key metric. But he noted how critical that footballing success was to that growth. They now measure average revenue per fan. Despite season tickets reducing it will be going up - the increase in corporate partnerships, the huge increase in hospitality and the increase costs of catering, will more than make up for less ticket sales. Of course he will want both, but recognises that will only come via football success.

He can’t afford to get drawn into the catatastrophic mood of some of the fans. Not sure he realises how acute some of that is…

Gets prickly quickly at any criticism he doesn’t agree with. Will be a feisty owner to work for (and is apparently at times). Don’t mind that either, as long as he has a good team around him, to ensure he doesn’t always get his own way.

21-07-2022, 09:38 PM

That's Llamentable!

21-07-2022, 09:40 PM

He has only employed one...and corrected that decision pretty quickly and decisively

OstKurve Hibs
21-07-2022, 09:41 PM
Havent had a chance to listen to the interview yet but I do beleive rons intentions for the club are good but he has to get the right people in to support his plans/vision. People who know exactly what they are doing.
Stop trying to figure things out as he goes.

21-07-2022, 09:42 PM
Sadly the only people who think are a big club are us the fans. Fans of other clubs across Scotland don’t rate us above Hearts or Aberdeen. RG gets things wrong, who doesn’t but unless someone else is willing to spend £10m or so he’s here for the long term. I’m still willing to give him the benefit of the doubt but we need results not spin. I think our real problem lies with BK and him listening to SK. Young players may come good we are signing too many. I really couldn’t care if our youth teams and womens team are great I just want Hibs 1st team to be competitive.

We need to invest our budget judiciously....and that means our recruitment team needs to be headed by someone that is NOT the owners son. Let's get George Craig back to steady the ship and recruit someone who knows that they are doing

21-07-2022, 09:44 PM

I have a bit (!!) of sympathy for the critical fans.

We were being knocked out of the cup (one of only 2 realistically winnable competitions we enter each year) at home by lower division opposition. They'd lost their last game to the team we beat 5-0 and their manager has been coming out moaning about his budget and the lack of ability he has to bring in players. They're going to battling against being relegated to the third tier this season - and we'd lost to a team 2 leagues below us a week ago.

It was a pish performance with loads of red flags. How are you meant to support the team under those circumstances? Does support stop Cadden cutting back onto his right foot? Does it make Christian Doidge run faster or Joe Newell take less touches?

When the criticism is out of proportion to the situation (as it sometimes is tbf) then I think criticising the fans is fair.

There were parts of our play at the start of the second half that were fairly enjoyable to watch without us getting the end result we all craved.

Personally I don't think the fans are being unreasonable. We're fickle, critical at times, daft at times. If anyone at Hibs wants the fans to shut up then they need to shut us up by playing better. Much better.

21-07-2022, 09:52 PM

Im there in December so fingers crossed get a game in :wink:

21-07-2022, 09:53 PM

And get rid of Newell

21-07-2022, 09:53 PM
Are people suggesting 4th won’t be a good season? Plenty to criticise over just now but I’d def take 4th right now.

21-07-2022, 09:57 PM
Im there in December so fingers crossed get a game in :wink:

I wonder if they will have Peru Leith from Bake Off as guest of honour?

21-07-2022, 10:01 PM
We need to invest our budget judiciously....and that means our recruitment team needs to be headed by someone that is NOT the owners son. Let's get George Craig back to steady the ship and recruit someone who knows that they are doing

Was thinking similar but as he's retired would just bring him in as a consultant when we're after a new manager.

21-07-2022, 10:06 PM
Didn’t know wether to laugh or cry watching that

His rant about the timing of the hearts and rangers game for example

Then the hopes pinned on Magennis etc, guys not played in almost a year.

We are in big trouble

Lose to st Johnstone and it will be a long august month for the manager and young squad.

21-07-2022, 10:10 PM

We are in big trouble

Lose to st Johnstone and it will be a long august month for the manager and young squad.

What if we win against St Johnstone and beat hearts?

Making up hypothetical defeats in games we haven’t played yet is pointless.

LewysGot2
21-07-2022, 10:11 PM
If there is any good news tonight it's that Youan's permit expected through imminently 👍

21-07-2022, 10:12 PM

Forgive me for not quite feeling that way just yet given our last 2/3 results

21-07-2022, 10:13 PM

We are in big trouble

I think he was quite right to have a moan about the Hearts and Huns games

Ray Donovan
21-07-2022, 10:13 PM
I've just watched this and thought the guys asking the questions were very good. Asked difficult and important questions in a respectful manner. I'd also say fair play to Ron for doing it after the last 24 hours.

I think Ron wants the best for the club and is obviously very focused on the financial/business side of things. His point on missing out on a double attendance bump with Hearts at Easter Road for the first game was something I hadn't even thought about. I also like his confidence, positivity and enthusiasm.

However, he still doesn't get the football side of things enough. Anyone could have told you how important it was to start the season well to get the fans united and on side. Romping the league cup group would have done that. Big opportunity lost but I suppose we just need to get behind the club. A win at St Johnstone on the opening day will lift the doom and gloom!

21-07-2022, 10:14 PM
Forgive me for not quite feeling that way just yet given our last 2/3 results

That’s fine, but you’re still making up defeats that haven’t happened yet to create an even worse scenario than is the actual reality just now.

When there’s already a fair amount of negativity and hysteria about I find that an odd thing to do.

21-07-2022, 10:15 PM
I think he was quite right to have a moan about the Hearts and Huns games

He is but surely the same thing impacts every other club in almost the same manner, unless I’m missing something?

If there is any good news tonight it's that Youan's permit expected through imminently 👍

I actually think this is hugely significant.

More than ever I'm beginning to find our fanbase is a fickle and overly negative bunch.

I genuinely believe Ron is doing a lot of good and certainly had good intentions, but sometime soon he is going to look around and think wtf am I doing this for?

I get that it's a terrible result to be out the League cup already but ultimately we have lost and drawn two games we should have won during our pre-season. Two games. Just so happens that it has knocked us out the cup, but to me you could argue that Maloney is just as much to blame for not getting us top six and into the next round automatically. That way we wouldn't need to play key competitive matches during our pre-season and have the players and manager judged only a couple of weeks after turning up for day 1 of training.

The manager is just in the door and needs some time with his squad. Ron has good intentions. Let's just try not to overreact.

LewysGot2
21-07-2022, 10:17 PM
I actually think this is hugely significant.

Let's hope so. 🙏

21-07-2022, 10:18 PM
He is but surely the same thing impacts every other club in almost the same manner, unless I’m missing something?

He made the point about making a request due to the hospitality suites potentially not being ready but they were ignored. I also thought he made a fair point about not making the derby game the first home game as they wouldn’t ever do that for the Glasgow two

21-07-2022, 10:20 PM
More than ever I'm beginning to find our fanbase is a fickle and overly negative bunch.

I genuinely believe Ron is doing a lot of good and certainly had good intentions, but sometime soon he is going to look around and think wtf am I doing this for?

I get that it's a terrible result to be out the League cup already but ultimately we have lost and drawn two games we should have won during our pre-season. Two games. Just so happens that it has knocked us out the cup, but to me you could argue that Maloney is just as much to blame for not getting us top six and into the next round automatically. That way we wouldn't need to play key competitive matches during our pre-season and have the players and manager judged only a couple of weeks after turning up for day 1 of training.

The manager is just in the door and needs some time with his squad. Ron has good intentions. Let's just try not to overreact.

Good intentions don’t cut it. Results do. I believe he wants to do well for the club. I also believe he’s trusting the wrong people with the club’s fragile position.

21-07-2022, 10:23 PM

Couldn't agree with you more. Our fan base (sadly at large it seems) is unbelievable.

21-07-2022, 10:23 PM
The fans are a big part of our problems at the moment. It’s one thing coming onto a message board for a moan, but the endless negativity at games and the targeting of players on social media is draining.

It’s not an environment conducive to players, especially young players, performing to the best of their ability.

Won’t be popular for saying this but it’s pretty clear to me. Atmosphere has been crap for ages, fans looking for any excuse not to go to semi finals, a proportion of the support base that actually seem to take joy in being proven right when we get beat. Not sure how it will change tbh, it’s like a chicken and egg scenario - “if the team performs the fans will back them”…well maybe the team, and club, would perform better under proper backing from the fans.

Just my 2 cents.

I think you’re point about the chicken and egg scenario is spot on. All I ever seen to read is Hibs fans making comments about how they’ll not go to games unless x, y or z happens. Withdrawing your support until things are to your liking makes x, y and z even more difficult to achieve.

I’m struggling to even describe our support as fickle these days and I’m not surprised Ron Gordon is bemused. Yes we have a right to be annoyed when we frequently under achieve but I always felt Hibs fans had more pride in their club even 10-15 years ago. It’s miserable sitting amongst it most weeks.

21-07-2022, 10:29 PM
Good intentions don’t cut it. Results do. I believe he wants to do well for the club. I also believe he’s trusting the wrong people with club’s fragile position.

This is the bottom line for me.

21-07-2022, 10:31 PM
He's only got "aspiration" to go, and then someone should tell him to fling his hat in the ring for the Tory Party leader gig.

Cool.

21-07-2022, 10:34 PM
I think you’re point about the chicken and egg scenario is spot on. All I ever seen to read is Hibs fans making comments about how they’ll not go to games unless x, y or z happens. Withdrawing your support until things are to your liking makes x, y and z even more difficult to achieve.

I’m struggling to even describe our support as fickle these days and I’m not surprised Ron Gordon is bemused. Yes we have a right to be annoyed when we frequently under achieve but I always felt Hibs fans had more pride in their club even 10-15 years ago. It’s miserable sitting amongst it most weeks.

It’s miserable because of what is happening in front of us.

I’m currently trying to get the bairn in to going. He loves football, plays and watches it all the time. Of the games I’ve taken him to he’s seen Hibs win once in 90 minutes and that was against Bonnyrigg Rose. That includes games against the likes of Cove, Falkirk and Morton plus two or three league games last season. If we don’t start getting something decent going on in front of us and winning some games it’s going to put him off going. He still wants to go on Sunday right enough so the fickleness hasn’t quite kicked in yet. Point I’m making is that even at six, he just reacts to what he’s watching which is the same as most others. No wonder the place is miserable. I can’t understand why anyone would be bemused by the current atmosphere around the place.

21-07-2022, 11:14 PM

**** the permit, let's just play him anyway.

21-07-2022, 11:27 PM
**** the permit, let's just play him anyway.

Hahaha

21-07-2022, 11:31 PM
A really good listen overall

Like the last one I'm not sure how much negativity can come out of it

As Ron said though the proof will be in the pudding

Wonder who the player he almost let slip was though...

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Gus
21-07-2022, 11:33 PM
Are people suggesting 4th won’t be a good season? Plenty to criticise over just now but I’d def take 4th right now.

I’d take 4th from bottom right now

xqnq1875
21-07-2022, 11:41 PM
Found that quite hard to listen to, was contemplating turning it off the moment he said Kensell was doing an amazing job, Ron talks a good game but he cannot take criticism at all from what I’ve seen over the past 2 interviews, very worrying stuff

xqnq1875
21-07-2022, 11:42 PM
Found that quite hard to listen to, was contemplating turning it off the moment he said Kensell was doing an amazing job, Ron talks a good game but he cannot take criticism at all from what I’ve seen over the past 2 interviews, very worrying stuff

But that being said I do believe he has good intentions but he’s got the wrong people in charge with transfers and all that

21-07-2022, 11:49 PM
Think back to the season under Lennon with the Natural Order game and those against the old firm.

Easter Road was bouncing and the atmosphere was as good as it’s ever been. The fans were absolutely out of this world.

We haven’t collectively turned into the most critical, torn-faced wallopers that know nowt about football.

It’s what we’ve been watching for the last year or so that has changed. As soon as we’ve got a team challenging for Europe you’ll see Hibs’ fans at their best again.

22-07-2022, 12:07 AM

He may have all the good intentions in the world but the results are poor against lower league teams and to top it off we played an ineligible player in the cup.
Noone is overreacting and fans have a right to question how the club is being run as it doesnt look like its being run well.
Its going to be a long season

22-07-2022, 12:20 AM
Think back to the season under Lennon with the Natural Order game and those against the old firm.

Easter Road was bouncing and the atmosphere was as good as it’s ever been. The fans were absolutely out of this world.

We haven’t collectively turned into the most critical, torn-faced wallopers that know nowt about football.

It’s what we’ve been watching for the last year or so that has changed. As soon as we’ve got a team challenging for Europe you’ll see Hibs’ fans at their best again.

But the flip side of that is surly that a lot of these fans are fickle and only give that support when doing well? Ive seen comments tonight about folk wanting season tickets refunds, really? It’s totally fine to be annoyed and frustrated about things but I personally don’t feel the need to throw the baby out the bath water when things arnt going great. Clubs like ours and a hearts, Aberdeen are only a season away from fans having a melt down with fortunes changing drastically, it’s the very nature of the bracket of club we are in this country and every single one of us will be saying the same to constantly finish 3rd and win things where reality is we all very rarely do it will do that.

I sometimes feel some people have forgotten how to be a Hibs fan in really hard times, going out cups early doors, relegations, absolute dire players. It feels to me any sort of underperformance or bad decisions at the club and everyone suddenly wants to get rid of everyone and suddenly it will get better. Genuinely when has that ever worked in reality.

Supporting your club is hard very hard at times but I also believe this is what makes the special times so much better. We won the cup and I had boys saying they won’t likely be back as couldn’t top that feeling, I get the point to a degree but it’s also mental.

As for RG fair play to him coming out and facing it up today, he never shirks responsibility in what I’ve seen from him. He’s clearly frustrated in many things on the football front, at times I watch him and think this guys going to get fed up with the negativity and walk away, some would say that’s good but for me it’s not what we should be about. Yes demand better but also be realistic we will have ups and downs we are just in a down the last year which for me stemmed from the management sackings that’s derailed all the hard work done prior to that to which RG held his hands up and said he probably made a mistake. He’s learning how to own a football club at the same time and still relatively early days in his tenure including covid in there.

I know some won’t agree with my comments which is fine, just the way I see things I guess.

22-07-2022, 12:29 AM
But the flip side of that is surly that a lot of these fans are fickle and only give that support when doing well? Ive seen comments tonight about folk wanting season tickets refunds, really? It’s totally fine to be annoyed and frustrated about things but I personally don’t feel the need to throw the baby out the bath water when things arnt going great. Clubs like ours and a hearts, Aberdeen are only a season away from fans having a melt down with fortunes changing drastically, it’s the very nature of the bracket of club we are in this country and every single one of us will be saying the same to constantly finish 3rd and win things where reality is we all very rarely do it will do that.

I sometimes feel some people have forgotten how to be a Hibs fan in really hard times, going out cups early doors, relegations, absolute dire players. It feels to me any sort of underperformance or bad decisions at the club and everyone suddenly wants to get rid of everyone and suddenly it will get better. Genuinely when has that ever worked in reality.

Supporting your club is hard very hard at times but I also believe this is what makes the special times so much better. We won the cup and I had boys saying they won’t likely be back as couldn’t top that feeling, I get the point to a degree but it’s also mental.

As for RG fair play to him coming out and facing it up today, he never shirks responsibility in what I’ve seen from him. He’s clearly frustrated in many things on the football front, at times I watch him and think this guys going to get fed up with the negativity and walk away, some would say that’s good but for me it’s not what we should be about. Yes demand better but also be realistic we will have ups and downs we are just in a down the last year which for me stemmed from the management sackings that’s detailed all the hard work done prior to that to which RG held his hands up and said he probably made a mistake. He’s learning how to own a football club at the same time and still relatively early days in his tenure including covid in there.

I know some won’t agree with my comments which is fine, just the way I see things I guess.

Well said👍

22-07-2022, 12:44 AM

As for RG fair play to him coming out and facing it up today, he never shirks responsibility in what I’ve seen from him. He’s clearly frustrated in many things on the football front, at times I watch him and think this guys going to get fed up with the negativity and walk away, some would say that’s good but for me it’s not what we should be about. Yes demand better but also be realistic we will have ups and downs we are just in a down the last year which for me stemmed from the management sackings that’s derailed all the hard work done prior to that to which RG held his hands up and said he probably made a mistake. He’s learning how to own a football club at the same time and still relatively early days in his tenure including covid in there.

I agree with you.

CL0762
22-07-2022, 12:52 AM
It’s miserable because of what is happening in front of us.

I’m currently trying to get the bairn in to going. He loves football, plays and watches it all the time. Of the games I’ve taken him to he’s seen Hibs win once in 90 minutes and that was against Bonnyrigg Rose. That includes games against the likes of Cove, Falkirk and Morton plus two or three league games last season. If we don’t start getting something decent going on in front of us and winning some games it’s going to put him off going. He still wants to go on Sunday right enough so the fickleness hasn’t quite kicked in yet. Point I’m making is that even at six, he just reacts to what he’s watching which is the same as most others. No wonder the place is miserable. I can’t understand why anyone would be bemused by the current atmosphere around the place.

I think the child going part is quite important.

My first ST was in 98/99 season when I was 7. Back when we still had the old main stand. Me and my Grandad would be down there by 1pm. Trying to get my autograph book filled up. Whether that had been Hibs or whoever we were playing that day. Then round to the FF lower to try and catch a few wayward shots or shout over the players as they’re warming up to get a signature I’d missed.

Fast forward to now (and I appreciate football has evolved a hell of a lot, that entire element has been taken away, albeit the autograph book has been swapped for selfies but the point remains. The players come in via the car park between the east & FF I believe? And the away coaches right in the opening beside the west/Dunbar end.

Even with the upgrades to the FF lower with the advertising boards, the walkway has been removed. Wee things like that got me absolutely hooked as a kid.

22-07-2022, 12:58 AM
I am working on a project with an entrepreneur. The entrepreneur says Ron is keen to invest in and wants out of Hibs. If true can hardly blame him given the attacks on him by many Hibs fans.

ozhibs
22-07-2022, 01:04 AM

Totally agree been a hibee for nearly 60 years and it has never been plain sailing

Tha Cabbage Kid
22-07-2022, 06:01 AM
Listening to RonGo I don't see him talking waffle, he's not controlling what's going on on the park. To say Johnson hasn't a clue is nonsense. Given some time once the players settle in I think we have a good team given we need to sign an other couple of players ( who in turn will also have to settle in)

What signing have we made that's been p*sh?

As far as I understand Rocky was a player they took advantage of and signed. Who is showing signs of a good player

Sent from my moto g(8) power using Tapatalk

WellingtonHibby
22-07-2022, 06:08 AM
I am working on a project with an entrepreneur. The entrepreneur says Ron is keen to invest in and wants out of Hibs. If true can hardly blame him given the attacks on him by many Hibs fans.

I would be astonished if that's the case. He's at it. B

22-07-2022, 06:08 AM

So if we win we are title contenders?

I’m sorry but I think most fans are currently fearing the worst.

I’m struggling to pick up positivity out of anything hibs currently other than a work permit from Youan hopefully coming through.

I think it’s fair comment to say a loss against st Johnstone and LJ and the players are right up against it.

Let’s however hope we win and players get confidence

22-07-2022, 06:11 AM
I actually feel a bit sorry for him.

Since last time he spoke to everyone he’s brought in a new management team, we’ve signed about 11 new players and we’ve made lots of improvements to the stadium.

We’re out the league cup already which is awful, no doubts about it.

But we’ve yet to see if half our our new players/management team are good or not, we’re claiming we don’t have x,y and z but realistically we might or we might in the process of signing one (as alluded to with a centre back).

He’s getting the same stick despite a lot having changed at the club, but because of a poor start people are still saying the same.

Let’s see in a couple of months time if it’s the same or improved.

Kensell gets loads of stick but realistically who knows how good he is/what he does?

I think there is loads of good things being done at the club and we probably are a lot healthier than previous years, but fans will always base it on the on pitch performance, rightly so.

Recruitment again get loads of stick but since January,

Rocky - Now getting alot of praise since settling and getting pre season
Melkersen - Looks a new player after pre season
Henderson - Looks a new and potentially key player
Clarke - Looked a very good addition before leaving
Mitchell - Looked good before injuries
Marshall - Looks a great addition

That’s without the unknown quantities of Tavares, Youan, Cabraja, Bojang, Kenneh, Miller and then McGeady is getting sharper every game.

The recruitment team could have played a blinder 😅 we just don’t know yet.

Get all them fit, sharp, time to settle along with this new centre half and other signing and let’s see where we’re at.

Clarence
22-07-2022, 06:18 AM

What is Ron keen to invest in?

22-07-2022, 06:30 AM

I’m sure everyone will believe this given your impeccable record with the truth and financial predictions

22-07-2022, 06:31 AM

Are you now? Did he now? Interesting.

Dmas
22-07-2022, 06:33 AM
I actually feel a bit sorry for him.

Since last time he spoke to everyone he’s brought in a new management team, we’ve signed about 11 new players and we’ve made lots of improvements to the stadium.

We’re out the league cup already which is awful, no doubts about it.

But we’ve yet to see if half our our new players/management team are good or not, we’re claiming we don’t have x,y and z but realistically we might or we might in the process of signing one (as alluded to with a centre back).

He’s getting the same stick despite a lot having changed at the club, but because of a poor start people are still saying the same.

Let’s see in a couple of months time if it’s the same or improved.

Kensell gets loads of stick but realistically who knows how good he is/what he does?

I think there is loads of good things being done at the club and we probably are a lot healthier than previous years, but fans will always base it on the on pitch performance, rightly so.

Recruitment again get loads of stick but since January,

Rocky - Now getting alot of praise since settling and getting pre season
Melkersen - Looks a new player after pre season
Henderson - Looks a new and potentially key player
Clarke - Looked a very good addition before leaving
Mitchell - Looked good before injuries
Marshall - Looks a great addition

That’s without the unknown quantities of Tavares, Youan, Cabraja, Bojang, Kenneh, Miller and then McGeady is getting sharper every game.

The recruitment team could have played a blinder 😅 we just don’t know yet.

Get all them fit, sharp, time to settle along with this new centre half and other signing and let’s see where we’re at.

This is it, time, there’s too many wanting right now this second, I think RG’s major mistake since coming in is state his intentions and ambitions for the club he’s now being judged directly against that.
A team who previously barely finished top 4 in a 20 year spell now has supporters expecting top 4 or a 3rd place as minimum, a club who have consistently had a revolving door of free transfers and journey men now has supporters expecting big money signings.
It’s fine to want hibs to be better we all want that but there needs to be some perspective of where we are coming from in comparison to others in the league, Aberdeen have had 2nd and 3rd place finishes on a consistent level for some time plus generate a decent amount more than us financially as do hearts we can’t compete if we want the same players we’ve seen that with guys like mcrorie, we need to find other ways to catch up, the youngsters coming in and the B team are our attempt to do things differently it’ll take time and the young guys will be inconsistent it’s the nature of the beast, in time hopefully we’ll see it come good, I think we have a manager who can steer us now but again he needs time to get his feet under the table.

22-07-2022, 06:35 AM

Aye ok then

Dmas
22-07-2022, 06:35 AM

Well said.

22-07-2022, 06:43 AM
I like Ron - we have definitely seen improvements around the stadium which were badly needed and that includes a major upgrade to hospitality. (This was well over due and hopefully Famous Five stand is next with safe standing).

Expectations have grown and rightly so - fantastic stadium, training ground and a club in a major capital city - Hibs have a lot going for it.

The part as fans we all want improved though is simply on the pitch.

I’ve said before I think they should change the structure and bring in someone to look after the football side. Let Ben run the other areas. Improving our recruitment and football structure would help.

The fans aren’t to blame for any of this - of course fans have been negative / upset over the past 12 months or so but to be fair many of the results and performances and results have simply not been good enough.

To get 11,000 ST renewals is quite remarkable considering the cost of living and cost to attend Scottish football.

The good news is everyone is setting up nicely behind the scenes for success but the product needs more attention.

We have probably spent more on upgrading hospitality / stadium improvements than getting a centre midfielder. But hopefully long term we will look back and see the importance of doing this.

You could even argue signing a 16 year old (yes with serious potential) ahead of a starting midfielder will get fans asking questions.

It’s been an embarrassing week for Hibs on and off the pitch and I hope their is a siege mentality developing to bring the group together. I just hope they care enough and understand that the fans need something to cheer and they will get brilliant support back.

First 2 league games are massive - let’s see how we get on. Looks like a near full away end in Perth and Easter Road should sell out for the derby.

LJ and the players need to get some credit in the bank but before then we need to add 2 players minimum. A left footed centre back and a central midfielder with energy and wins the ball - think Omeonga type.

None of us expect a winning team every week supporting Hibs but there are ways to perform and we shouldn’t be losing to part time lower league teams with the resources we have. Having standards isn’t a bad thing and the players and club need to realise the minimum expected.

22-07-2022, 06:46 AM
I’m sure everyone will believe this given your impeccable record with the truth and financial predictions

Well if you look back you will see at the start of the year I predicted a big fall in the stockmarket, rising interest rates and high inflation. That all turned out to be true.

22-07-2022, 06:46 AM

Don't often agree with your posts mate but you're bang on the money. Our managerial and player appointments as a whole, have been uninspiring since Lennon, and that's the root cause of our current predicament.

22-07-2022, 06:48 AM
Well if you look back you will see at the start of the year I predicted a big fall in the stockmarket, rising interest rates and high inflation. That all turned out to be true.

Yip, you are a financial genius, no one seen it coming apart from you😂😂😂😂

22-07-2022, 06:48 AM
Don't often agree with your posts mate but you're bang on the money. Our managerial and player appointments as a whole, have been uninspiring since Lennon, and that's the root cause of our current predicament.

I’d say our dreadful recruitment started under Lennon and hasn’t improved massively since. From the second season he was with us in the top flight onwards it’s been largely terrible.

Not sure what the answer is to fix it.

Paulie Walnuts
22-07-2022, 06:49 AM
Did you listen to all of it or only bits? There is a lot of good and positive info in there, including the club trying to sign experienced players in key positions.

All of it.

There’s no doubting he talks well. If you didn’t actually watch Hibs you’d probably think we were flying.

There is a lot of positive stuff in there. It simply doesn’t tie in with what we’re actually seeing though for me. Things like “I can guarantee and assure you that staff is if a much higher quality across the club” since he came in yet the staff that really matters has seen us sack 3 managers (admittedly one of them not appointed under him) and have our two worst top flight finishes since getting relegated due to our playing squad being on the whole, pretty crap. We’ve also now got a CEO who is woefully inept when it comes to the football side of things who’s replaced a CEO who rebuilt our club after relegation, overseen us winning the Holy Grail, regaining promotion and one of the best Hibs sides of the last 50 years.

Likewise we’re now apparently operating at a completely different level now yet we finished 8th last year, our worst league finish in years. It probably is operating at a different level, but not in the positive way he makes it out to be.

Sports science etc is apparently at another level from when he took over yet we’re sitting here with constant injuries and an inability to get players fit at anything quicker than a snails pace. We even had Magennis injured for 2 or 3 months before we even worked out why he was injured last season. Hardly smacks of another level.

What he’s seeing isn’t what I’m seeing and doesn’t tally up with the facts of our league finishes/sacked managers/constant fitness issues etc.

And for me signing quality players in key positions is nothing more than words until you actually go and do it. We’re now knocked out the league cup in no small part because we haven’t signed proven quality players in the key positions we needed them yet.

He’s said numerous times how talented our squad is when it’s abundantly clear it’s not. Ron and alot of Hibs fans it would seem have completely different ideas of what can be classed as quality and talent.

He talks a great game. It’s really just not anything close to being the reality imo and our season last season and start to this season would back that up.

22-07-2022, 06:50 AM
I like Ron - we have definitely seen improvements around the stadium which were badly needed and that includes a major upgrade to hospitality.

The part as fans we all want improved though is simply on the pitch.

I’ve said before I think they should change the structure and bring in someone to look after the football side. Let Ben run the other areas. Improving our recruitment and football structure would help.

The fans aren’t to blame for any of this - of course fans have been negative / upset over the past 12 months or so but to be fair many of the results and performances and results have simply not been good enough.

To get 11,000 ST renewals is quite remarkable considering the cost of living and cost to attend Scottish football.

The good news is everyone is setting up nicely behind the scenes for success but the product needs more attention.

We have probably spent more on upgrading hospitality / stadium improvements than getting a centre midfielder. You could even argue signing a 16 year old (yes with serious potential) ahead of a starting midfielder will get fans asking questions.

It’s been an embarrassing week for Hibs on and off the pitch and I hope their is a siege mentality developing to bring the group together. I just hope they care enough and understand that the fans need something to cheer and they will get brilliant support back.

First 2 league games are massive - let’s see how we get on. Looks like a near full away end in Perth and Easter Road should sell out for the derby.

LJ and the players need to get some credit in the bank but before then we need to add 2 players minimum. A left footed centre back and a central midfielder with energy and wins the ball - think Omeonga type.

None of us expect a winning team every week supporting Hibs but there are ways to perform and we shouldn’t be losing to part time lower league teams with the resources we have. Having standards isn’t a bad thing and the players and club need to realise the minimum expected.

This is a good post to me.

There are clearly areas we need to improve on but its still July and things can get a lot better pretty fast.

OldEast
22-07-2022, 06:56 AM

Whether this is true or not it would come as no surprise to me if we were to hear that Ron was selling up within the next year or two. I think running a football club is nothing like he expected it to be. Business side of things ok. Product on the pitch and keeping fans happy is not quite so easy and seems to cause him annoyance.

22-07-2022, 07:07 AM

Is the entrepreneur James Anderson?

22-07-2022, 07:19 AM
This is it, time, there’s too many wanting right now this second, I think RG’s major mistake since coming in is state his intentions and ambitions for the club he’s now being judged directly against that.
A team who previously barely finished top 4 in a 20 year spell now has supporters expecting top 4 or a 3rd place as minimum, a club who have consistently had a revolving door of free transfers and journey men now has supporters expecting big money signings.
It’s fine to want hibs to be better we all want that but there needs to be some perspective of where we are coming from in comparison to others in the league, Aberdeen have had 2nd and 3rd place finishes on a consistent level for some time plus generate a decent amount more than us financially as do hearts we can’t compete if we want the same players we’ve seen that with guys like mcrorie, we need to find other ways to catch up, the youngsters coming in and the B team are our attempt to do things differently it’ll take time and the young guys will be inconsistent it’s the nature of the beast, in time hopefully we’ll see it come good, I think we have a manager who can steer us now but again he needs time to get his feet under the table.

I expect Hibs to be top 6 every season. I don’t think that’s unreasonable. We won’t always be third or fourth especially when hearts and aberdeen are in good shape but we should not be outperformed by clubs who average a few thousand for home games. Of course blips happen, football would be a boring game if they didn’t, but if it’s happening regularly then those running the club are failing.

22-07-2022, 07:29 AM

Details.

22-07-2022, 07:38 AM
Surely Aberdeen aren't very far away from our budget, recent player sales aside?

They've been miles ahead for years.

Sure they're wage bill was double ours the season Gordon came in.

They get millions of pounds worth of donations from the owner anonymous benefactors each season

22-07-2022, 07:38 AM

🤣

22-07-2022, 07:40 AM

Literally laughed out loud at that.

22-07-2022, 07:41 AM

Posting this without any depth of content is as unhelpful as any attack on RG…it is only going to cause a negative reaction

and frankly yes we would be resentful - does any football investor think they re not going to get hammered if the results aren’t going well ??

22-07-2022, 07:44 AM

Does Ron just go about with his heid doon telling everyone about his hurt feelings now?

You're working on nothing.

Shut up.

22-07-2022, 07:45 AM
Does Ron just go about with his heid doon telling everyone about his hurt feelings now?

You're working on nothing.

Shut up.

[emoji1787][emoji1787]

22-07-2022, 07:48 AM

Sounds like a sound guy to be working on a project with who you aren't sure if what he says it true or not.

What a very strange post.

22-07-2022, 08:00 AM
Sounds like a sound guy to be working on a project with who you aren't sure if what he says it true or not.

What a very strange post.

Nothing strange. I know the entrepreneur well. He is not a football fan and did not know I was a Hibs fan. The current owners have links with Ron Gordon who is keen to be a major investor. I posted this a few weeks ago but the administration must have deleted. It was at the time of Brian Mclauglin interview with Ron who said he would sell if the right buyer came along. The owners of the business told the entrepreneur that Ron was keen to get of Hibs. Of course I was not the direct recipient of that information and I can only report it second hand. But given the entrepreneur has no knowledge of Hibs, it does seem to be true given Ron's interview with Brian McGlaughlin. I honestly can't see anybody wanting to buy us though given the shambles we have been in for a year and disquiet amongst the fan base and falling attendances.

Dmas
22-07-2022, 08:00 AM
I expect Hibs to be top 6 every season. I don’t think that’s unreasonable. We won’t always be third or fourth especially when hearts and aberdeen are in good shape but we should not be outperformed by clubs who average a few thousand for home games. Of course blips happen, football would be a boring game if they didn’t, but if it’s happening regularly then those running the club are failing.

We’ve finished outside the top 6 once in RG era and that was by a point, he’s up until now never not made semi final stage of cup competition, but here we are with a bunch of people on a thread telling us it’s not good enough even though he himself is saying the same and has made moves to improve that with signings and management team. We’re 5th biggest club in the league by finance and I’m unsure by how big a margin to the likes of Dundee Utd top 6 is always going to be our first battle anything above that (for now) is good work

22-07-2022, 08:02 AM

I agree with you in that we do need to be innovative and try and compete with a different strategy, only throwing money at the first team is short sighted, in part because we know we can't currently match Hearts or Aberdeen's benefactors donations and the revenues raised by fans (that's one that rankles-Gordon needs to find a solution and get on board with HSL-then promote the **** out of it).

It's worth pointing out that prior to Gordon, we had the same owner for nearly 30 years. Most of us perceived that the football side of things was run to a budget and that we hadn't seen the level of investment we needed. There was a hope that this would change under new ownership and Gordon himself fuelled that. Achieving third place in his second season (first full season) cemented the idea that we could compete, with shrewd management and recruitment. Then that notion was trashed by last year's carnage.

We've all sat and wondered what the response would be, and now we are close to the start of another league campaign, it's clear that that response has been found wanting. fans then react badly to adverse results, well blow me over, who'd have thought it.

Dmas
22-07-2022, 08:04 AM
Nothing strange. I know the entrepreneur well. He is not a football fan and did not know I was a Hibs fan. The current owners have links with Ron Gordon who is keen to be a major investor. I posted this a few weeks ago but the administration must have deleted. It was at the time of Brian Mclauglin interview with Ron who said he would sell if the right buyer came along. The owners of the business told the entrepreneur that Ron was keen to get of Hibs. Of course I was not the direct recipient of that information and I can only report it second hand. But given the entrepreneur has no knowledge of Hibs, it does seem to be true given Ron's interview with Brian McGlaughlin. I honestly can't see anybody wanting to buy us though given the shambles we have been in for a year and disquiet amongst the fan base and falling attendances.

He also didn’t directly say he would sell hibs, what he said was if Brian McLaughlin could find someone more driven and focused to make hibs successful than he was he would sell it to them. different to yeah I’m
Open to selling hibs and want out.

Paulie Walnuts
22-07-2022, 08:08 AM
We’ve finished outside the top 6 once in RG era and that was by a point, he’s up until now never not made semi final stage of cup competition, but here we are with a bunch of people on a thread telling us it’s not good enough even though he himself is saying the same and has made moves to improve that with signings and management team. We’re 5th biggest club in the league by finance and I’m unsure by how big a margin to the likes of Dundee Utd top 6 is always going to be our first battle anything above that (for now) is good work

Twice surely? He’s been here 3 seasons and we’ve finished 7th, 3rd and 8th under Ron Gordon.